__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 3, NO. 2

January 27, 2019

Better at knowing what matters to you Lunar New Year 2019: The Year of the Pig

Celebrate the year of the pig at the Lunar New Year celebration at Children’s Discovery Museum of San Jose. Traditionally observed by many Asian cultures, visitors can revel in the lively Lion Dance, make a kitchen gods’ hat, try a turn at calligraphy, learn the art of paper cutting, play the game of Bau Cua Ca Cop, and much more. Enjoy traditional and contemporary music and dance performances – all while learning the cultures and customs of family, friends and neighbors. Meet the calligraphy artist Chan Le and try your hand at Vietnamese calligraphy in the Art Loft.

Continued on Page 6

Music Lessons Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

$1

5

Piano, Guitar, Drums, Bass & Flute

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051 Y1Z


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor, Public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2019 Embarking on the 30th Anniversary of their signature Summer Fest, the iconic Bay Area institution San Jose Jazz kicks off 2019 with dynamic arts programming honoring the jazz tradition and everexpanding definitions of the genre with singular concerts curated for audiences within the heart of Silicon Valley. San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2019 features some of today’s most distinguished artists alongside leading edge emerging musicians with an ambitious lineup of more than 20 concerts from February 14 - 27, 2019. The Jazz Beyond series, co-curated in partnership with San Jose Jazz and local production house Universal Grammar, presents buzzy young stars pushing the boundaries of jazz, soul and hip-hop and the Next Gen performances showcase top regional student jazz ensembles. Tickets to San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2019 are now on sale ranging in price from $15 - $38; a Fest Pass is available for $260, and an array of shows at Cafe Stritch are free admission. For detailed ticket information as well as updates on the artists and performance schedule, please visit: sanjosejazz.org/winterfest. About San Jose Jazz Founded in 1986, San Jose Jazz is a public

"Winter Fest has turned into an opportunity to reprise the summer's most exciting acts, while reaching out to new audiences with a jazz-and-beyond sensibility." -KQED Arts benefit corporation celebrating jazz as a dynamic, evolving art form and is producer of the annual San Jose Jazz Summer Fest and Winter

Fest. With its singular music programming and innovative educational offerings, San Jose Jazz preserves the jazz tradition while actively supporting

the next generation of performers within the genre and beyond. For more information, please visit sanjosejazz.org.

Thursday, February 14 - Wednesday, February 27, 2019 Downtown San Jose, CA @ The Hammer Theatre, Cafe Stritch, The Continental, and Art Boutiki Tickets: $15(Advance)/$18(Door) - $35(Advance)/$38 (Door); All Concert Fest Pass: $260; Next Gen student ensemble shows are free. sanjosejazz.org/winterfest (408) 288-7557 Cash and credit accepted at door National Headliners:

Gilles Peterson (DJ Set) Catherine Russell With the SJSU Jazz Orchestra Charles McPherson Anton Schwartz and Kenny Washington Aaron Diehl Bells Atlas La Dame Blanche Tiffany Austin with Leon Joyce, Marcus Shelby and Adam Shulman JC Smith Band All-Star Blues Blowout Featuring Fillmore Slim, Kid Anderson and Rick Estrin The Rad Trads Kathy Kosins SJZ Collective plays Mingus ChĂŠjere Richie Goods

"Next Gen" Bay Area Student Ensembles: San Jose Jazz U19s Kuumbwa Jazz Honor Band Folsom High School Jazz Band Berkeley High School Jazz Combo Rio Americano The Inner Circle

Y2Z


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Night Out Don’t Miss Out: Flamenco Directly from Spain, Antonio Rey who undoubtedly is one of the greatest Flamenco guitarists of his generation. Antonio presents his latest release “Two Parts of Me”. Along with the amazing Mara Rey who has worked as a Flamenco dancer and singer with great Flamenco figures. This powerful performance combines both, the influential force of Antonio's flamenco guitar and Mara's stunning voice. showcasing Bianca Rodriguez, dance and Marlon Aldana, percussionist. Antonio Reyes has been awarded with the “Premio Nacional de Guitarra” – prize also won by names like Paco de Lucía and Vicente Amigo -, his concerts are considered, by both music experts and public, of an extraordinary quality, combining on-stage power and musical sensitivity with a great charisma… Masters of the Guitar - Online Review

Y4Z


The Year of Lunar New Year 2019: The Year of the Pig cont’ As part of the museum’s Cultural Celebration series, the museum is committed to promoting the region’s diversity so families of all backgrounds can explore the many cultures and traditions in Silicon Valley. Lunar New Year joins other museum celebrations including Dia de los Muertos, Diwali Festival, Menorahs and Miracles, El Dia de los Tres Reyes Magos, Children of the Dragon, Proud of My Family, Lantern Festival, and Family Lunadas. The Lunar New Year is created in partnership with the Museum’s Cultural Advisors.     ACTIVITIES: • Fashion a kitchen gods’ hat • Learn line art and design 3D paper creations • Make Chinese seal stamps • Paint a firework design • Play the game Bau Cua Ca Cop • Create figurines from dough SATURDAY PERFORMANCES: • Orchard School Asian Cultural Performance Troupe – lion dance, ribbon dance and fan dance • Crystal Children’s Choir • Able2Shine dance performances • Yoyo demonstration by the Fremont Chinese School • Aimusic School – Chinese and Western orchestra music SUNDAY PERFORMANCES: • Lion dance by Buu Kim Tu • Vietstep dance troupe • Yoyo demonstration by Fremont Chinese School • Tuoi Than Tien dance performance • Andrew Hill VSA dance troupe • Berryessa Chinese School – Chinese classical orchestra

Y6Z


The Pig 2019 Lunar New Year Celebration 2019

February 2, 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. & February 3, 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Children’s Discovery Museum of San Jose 180 Woz Way, San Jose, CA 95110 Save the Date! Spring Wine Walk Saturday, May 4 Y7Z


Empowerment Women’s March in San Jose, Saturday, January 19 The #WOMANSWAVE IS HERE.

And we’re sweeping the world forward with us.

Out-of-market games only. Select int’l games excluded.

AT NO Y TICKET INCLUDED GET 2018 NFL SUNDA TV. DIREC ITCH TO SW U within two YO cancel EN to call ST you WH unless ) CO ly $293.94/season EXTRA season at then-prevailing rate (current each Subscription renews automatically weeks after the start of the season.*

Choose any live game you want to watch on Sunday, all in HD. Only DIRECTV lets you watch every Sunday NFL game live, from start to finish – no matter where you live. (Out-of-market games only. Select int’l games excluded.)

CHOICE

All-Included Package

MO.

Plus taxes and Regional Sports fee. For 12 months w/ 24-mo. TV agmt. Autopay & paperless bill req’d. $105/mo. in months 13-24 (subject to change). Regional Sports fee up to $7.49/mo. is extra and applies.**

Includes: ■ Over 185 Channels ■ Monthly fees for HD DVR

WATCH LIVE GAMES WHEREVER YOU GO

Stream every live out-of-market game, every Sunday afternoon, from virtually anywhere ■ with a tablet, device or computer. ■

RED ZONE CHANNEL®†^ Never miss a play inside the 20, all on one channel, all in HD.

DIRECTV FANTASY ZONE® CHANNEL†^

This exclusive channel lets you watch your favorite fantasy players live from game to game with real-time analysis from our fantasy experts.

WATCH up to 8 GAMES AT ONCE OR PICK ONE† Game Mix Channel lets you watch up to 4 or 8 games live on one screen.

†Only available in HD. ^With NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX.

ALL OFFERS REQUIRE 24-MO. AGREEMENT. **$35 ACTIVATION FEE, EARLY TERMINATION FEE OF $20/MO. FOR EACH MONTH REMAINING ON AGMT, EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD’L FEES APPLY. Price incl. CHOICE All-Included Pkg & is after $5/mo. autopay & paperless bill discount for 12 mos. Pay $50/mo. + taxes until discount starts w/in 3 bills. New approved residential customers only (equipment lease req’d). Credit card req’d (except MA & PA). Restr’s apply.

Ask me how to Bundle and save. CALL TODAY! Iv Support Holdings

1-855-532-1951 CHOICE ALL-INCLUDED PACKAGE OFFER: Ends 11/30/18. Available only in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). 1st & 2nd Year Pricing $45 for first 12 mos. only. After 12 mos. or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing rate applies (currently $105/mo. for CHOICE All-Included) unless canceled or changed prior to end of the promo period. Pricing subject to change. $5/Mo. Discount: Must enroll in autopay and paperless bill within 30 days of TV activation to receive bill credit starting in 1-3 bill cycles. First-time credit will include all credits earned since meeting offer requirements. Must maintain autopay/paperless bill and valid email address to continue credits. No credits in 2nd year for autopay/paperless bill. Includes: CHOICE All-Included TV Pkg, monthly service & equipment fees for one Genie HD DVR, and standard pro installation. Exclusions: Price excludes Regional Sports fee of up to $7.49/mo. (which is extra & applies to CHOICE and/or MÁS ULTRA and higher pkgs), applicable use tax expense surcharge on retail value of installation, custom installation, equipment upgrades/add-ons (min. $99 one-time fee & $7/mo. fee for each extra receiver/DIRECTV Ready TV/Device), and certain other add’l fees & charges. Different offers may apply for eligible multi-dwelling-unit and telco customers. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. Offers may not be combined with other promotional offers on the same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Other conditions apply to all offers. *2018 NFL SUNDAY TICKET OFFER: Package consists of all live out-of-market NFL games (based on customer’s service address) broadcast on FOX and CBS. However, games broadcast by your local FOX or CBS affiliate, and select international games, will not be available in NFL SUNDAY TICKET. Games available via remote viewing based on device location. Other conditions apply. 2018 NFL SUNDAY TICKET regular full-season retail price is $293.94. 2018 NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX regular full-season retail price is $395.94. Customers activating CHOICE Package or above or MÁS ULTRA Package or above will be eligible to receive the 2018 season of NFL SUNDAY TICKET at no additional cost and will receive a free upgrade to NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX for the 2018 season. NFL SUNDAY TICKET subscription will renew automatically in 2019 and each season thereafter at the then-prevailing rate (currently $293.94/season) unless you call to change or cancel by the date specified in your renewal notice. Up until two weeks after the 2019 season starts, you can cancel anytime and receive any applicable refund. To renew NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX, customer must call to upgrade after the 2018 season. Subscription cannot be canceled (in part or in whole) after the first two weeks of the season and subscription fee cannot be refunded. Only one game may be accessed remotely at any given time. Compatible device/operating system required for online/mobile access. Additional data charges may apply. Visit directv.com/nfl for a list of compatible devices/system requirements. For full Mix Channel and interactive functionality, HD equipment model H/HR 21 or later is required. NFL, the NFL Shield design and the NFL SUNDAY TICKET name and logo are registered trademarks of the NFL and its affiliates. ©2018 AT&T Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. AT&T, Globe logo, DIRECTV, and all other DIRECTV marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks are the property of their respective owners.

Y8Z


District 2 News

LET’S KEEP OUR PROMISE AND PROTECT COYOTE VALLEY. In November, San Jose taxpayers voted to approve Measure T, which allowed bond funds to be spent on a number of projects including protection and restoration in Coyote Valley — the wetlands, open space, and farmland in South San Jose. The San Jose City Council is bringing the future of North Coyote Valley to a special Study Session. Now is the time to stand together and protect Coyote Valley as the City Council considers public purchase of land with up to $50 million of proceeds generated by Measure T bond funding. As your District 2 Councilmember and representative for this area of South San Jose, I believe that it is crucial to ensure that the full $50 million taxpayers approved for Coyote Valley is allocated to our regional treasure.

Y9Z


Public Health PUBLIC HEALTH DEPARTMENT AWARDS $310,000 TO SIX CITIES TO HELP REDUCE TOBACCO USE AMONG YOUTH AND EXPOSURE OF ALL RESIDENTS Aims to help cities implement tobacco prevention policies that protect public health The County of Santa Clara Public Health Department announces a total of $310,000 in grants and in-kind support through June 30, 2021 to the cities of Cupertino, Milpitas, Morgan Hill, San Jose, Santa Clara, and Sunnyvale for tobacco prevention. This funding will prevent and reduce tobacco use, and reduce exposure to secondhand smoke.  In Santa Clara County, 1 in 8 deaths annually is attributed to smokingrelated illness or diseases, such as cancer, heart disease, and respiratory diseases. More than 1 in 4 adults living in

multi-unit housing in the county report smelling tobacco smoke drifting into their home from nearby apartments or from outside. Exposure is even higher for Latino adults and low-income residents, at 1 in 3 adults. “Tobacco continues to have devastating impacts on the health of our residents,” said Santa Clara County Supervisor Dave Cortese. “The County has led the way on implementing some of the strongest tobacco control measures in the nation. In partnership with all cities, we must double down on efforts to address the tobacco industry

Your Home Owners Insurance Is Not Complete A Home Warranty Is the Perfect Complement to Your Home Owners Insurance. Home appliances and systems break down, that’s when you need a home warranty from American Residential Warranty to help with the repair or replacement cost.

LIMITED TIME OFF ER:

20

$

OFF *

All our plans can be tailored to fit your needs. ARW’s Most Popular Plans: Platinum Premier Our best, most popular and comprehensive warranty plan that covers home appliances, air conditioning, plumbing and more.

$54.99 per month

The Ultimate Electronics Protection Covers your new and used electronics, from laptops to TVs and Tablets plus more. No proof of purchase required... Ever!

$24.99 per month

CALL NOW: 855-901-7381 One-Time Discount

*

Kitchen Plus Covers all your major kitchen appliances, electrical and water heater.

$29.99 per month 3-in-1 Bundle Stay worry-free knowing your home is pro-

tected all-around, our bundle plan includes 3 of our best coverages in one bundle plan: Platinum Premier, Deluxe Advantage (extends coverages) and The Ultimate Electronics Protection. Promotional Price:

$89.99 per month

marketing of flavored products, including menthol cigarettes and vaping products that are impacting our youth.” “We saw the benefits of this partnership firsthand in South County with the CDC Community Transformation Grant where both Morgan Hill and Gilroy successfully implemented tobacco prevention policies that reduced youth access to tobacco products,” said County Supervisor Mike Wasserman. “These grants will help expand these healthy policies.”  “I commend our cities for stepping up to do their part to fight for healthier communities through proactive tobacco-prevention work,” said Santa Clara County Supervisor Susan Ellenberg. “Our youth are some of our community’s most vulnerable members, and it is our duty as civic servants to ensure we do our part so they have the best chance for success.”  The funding aims to: • ¾ Decrease secondhand smoke exposure in living spaces with a shared wall, such as condominiums, townhomes and apartments. • ¾ Restrict the sale of flavored tobacco products, including menthol

Y 10 Z

cigarettes. • ¾ Decrease the availability of tobacco products within cities, including prohibiting new businesses from selling tobacco near youthpopulated areas, such as schools, parks, and community centers. All cities that submitted proposals received awards at the level requested.  “Smoking leads to death and disease and harms nearly every organ in the body. And there’s no risk free level of exposure to second-hand smoke, either,” said Dr. Sara Cody, County Health Officer and Director of the Public Health Department. “These funds support cities in doing the essential work of protecting residents from the harms of tobacco products, both cigarettes and e-cigarettes.”  Funding also comes in the form of inkind support from a professional consultant for research and reports, stakeholder outreach, placement of signage, and materials to educate the public.  Funding to reduce exposure to secondhand smoke in multi-unit housing: • ¾ Milpitas will receive $25,000, with

anticipated reach of 13,678 residents. • ¾ Morgan Hill will receive $25,000, with anticipated reach of 7,056 residents. • ¾ San Jose will receive $70,000, with anticipated reach of 256,488 residents. • ¾ Santa Clara will receive $34,000, with anticipated reach of 52,790 residents. Cities of Cupertino, Morgan Hill and Sunnyvale will receive funding to implement strategies to prevent youth access and exposure to flavored tobacco products. Additionally, Cupertino and Morgan Hill will also reduce the availability of tobacco products: • ¾ Cupertino will receive $56,000, with anticipated reach of 17,677 youth under 21 years old. ¾     Morgan Hill will receive $25,000, with anticipated reach of 12,412 youth under 21 years old. • ¾ Sunnyvale will receive $75,000, with anticipated reach of 36,795 youth under 21 years old.  Total funding includes estimate of in-kind support for each city.  Tobacco use is still the number one preventable cause of death and disease


Public Health

in California, killing nearly 40,000 Californians every year. Tobacco use carries a hefty price tag, both in the annual cost of $689 million in Santa Clara County, and impacts on families due to preventable diseases. More than 1 in 10 youth in the county currently use tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices. “We are seeing an increase of vaping among youth, and this is alarming because these products contain nicotine which we know is addictive,” said County of Santa Clara Tobacco-Free Communities Program Manager Nicole Coxe. “We know that flavors

in vaping products and other tobacco products are attractive to teens and make them seem less risky. This funding helps cities address these growing concerns.” Over the past eight years, the Santa Clara County Public Health Department has provided over $1.2 million in funding to cities to support implementation of tobacco prevention strategies known to have the greatest impact on reducing tobacco-related disparities and inequities. Partnerships with cities have already resulted in over 65 tobacco prevention policies in 13 cities in Santa Clara County.

All cities in the county were invited to apply for funding. The funding is available through Proposition 56, the California Healthcare, Research and Prevention Tobacco Act of 2016, which increased the tax on cigarettes and other tobacco products by two dollars. Santa Clara County voters strongly approved the proposition in November 2016, with over 73 percent voting yes to increase the tax.  About the Santa Clara County Public Health Department The Santa Clara County Public Health Department focuses on protecting and improving the health of communities through education, promotion of healthy lifestyles, disease and injury prevention, and the promotion of sound health policy. To learn more about how the Public Health Department serves the people who live, work, study, and play in Santa Clara County. Please visit our website: sccphd. org, and follow us on Facebook: facebook. com/sccpublichealth and Instagram @SCC_ PublicHealth.

Y 11 Z

All Star Dental Office Mohsena Ahmad D.D.S., FICOI, DICOI Family, Cosmetic & Implant Dentistry

3540 Union Ave. San Jose, CA 95124

Telephone: (408) 275 - 0768 Fax: (408) 275 - 0838 dentist@allstardentaloffice.com

A Healthy 2019


Making a Difference Good Medicine

MARSHANELL, BAY AREA CHAPTER PRESIDENT AND CEO OF BLACK NURSES ROCK

My name is Marshanell Wright. I am a nurse have been for 27 years now. Nursing is my heartbeat. Truly my passion is to help others through my calling in the Healthcare field; to get to know what it means to be a whole person. In order to make a tangible contribution to your community - more directly to your own life -- self care is paramount to ones personal overall health.   As a volunteer in my community for many years by educating people in health disparity; I am inspired to pursue my profession at an even deeper level. It’s about giving encouragement to people, especially women, “do your best, give your best, accept only the best” for yourself. 

THE BLACK NURSES ROCK TEAM ON CALL

Y 12 Z

As many of us have, I have experienced some obstacles in life. But I had to push through to the other side of those circumstances - by maintaining a mantra of “failure is not an option for me in this.” Currently, I am CEO of Nursing on Purpose, LLC, Marshanell Consulting and Women Empowering Women.  Of course, everyone’s journey is different and one key point to remember is - that this Life - is indeed a journey to be savored, railed against, confused about, and basically accept (nay) surrender to ... this amazing experience we are all subject to.  My first book, Purpose

to Passion, is written as an Anthology. This compilation of stories is meant to encourage and inspire others when circumstances make you feel, “I am the only one in the world dealing with (whatever)this problem.” Each of the people chronicled in this book counter such defeatist attitudes by pushing themselves to understand the importance of self care. Each individual story is written from that person’s truth -- to honor that core pursuit of a healthy life.

Marshanell Wright DNP(C), MSN, RN CEO/Founder Nursing On Purpose


Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984 www.Boydstreeservice.com Michael W. Boyd – Owner

Fully Insured PL & PD and Worker’s Compensation Second Generation Experience Contractor License #665121

Structural Pruning Tree trimming Stump removal

boydstslm@gmail.com

408-371-5040


Center Stage California Pops Orchestra: Broadway in Concert California Pops Orchestra, the country’s only all-request pops orchestra, begins the new year with “Broadway Hits in Concert” at Cupertino’s Flint Center, featuring guests pianist Frederick Hodges, vocalists Carly Honfi and Matthew Hall and the Pops Singers.  Part of the Pops’ 30th season, “Broadway Hits in Concert”performs one time only on Sunday, February 10, 2019, at 3 pm.   Decades of Broadway hits are brought to life: everything from Camelot and My Fair Lady to Mamma Mia and Les Miserables! The Pops delivers an afternoon full of Tony Award-winning, spotlight-stealing songs and Broadway musical stylings of Rodgers & Hart, Lerner & Loewe, Cole Porter, George Gershwin, Leonard Bernstein and more!

“Broadway Hits in Concert” will include such beloved tunes as “With a Song in My Heart”, “I Feel Pretty”, “Oklahoma”, “Phantom of the Opera”, “Bewitched” and “Climb Every Mountain” as well as many other stage gems like “Mamma Mia”, “Everything’s Coming Up Roses” and an entire medley of George & Ira Gershwin classics. This show also features audience favorite and piano phenomenon, Frederick Hodges, called “a gifted pianist in the Gershwinian mold, and also one of the great ragtime players of our time,” by CounterPunch’s David Yearsley. A native of California who earned a doctorate in history from Oxford in 2001, Hodges has a world-spanning career performing throughout the United States as well as tours throughout Europe and the Far East and

always to rave reviews. Venaas describes a typical engagement with Hodges as, “an opportunity to experience musical perfection - from impeccable authenticity in Frederick’s arrangements to stunning technical mastery all aimed at delighting his audience.” Venaas says he reserves time in each show for Hodges to do anything he wants. “And it’s always amazing and surprising. So I can’t tell you what exactly Frederick will play during those solo spots. I’ll find out when you find out. During these times I just go sit with the audience and enjoy!” Guest singer Carly Honfi, a Pops audience favorite since 2013, will also lend her talents to the performance. She’s been seen locally with South Bay Musical Theatre in “Jerry’s Girls” and as the lead character of Fanny Brice

Y 14 Z

in “Funny Girl,” as well as singing regularly in their musical showcases, Broadway by the Decade. Honfi’s on-stage wit and warmth enhance each song and are part of the reason she is the biggest audience request the Pops receives. Maestro Venaas says, “Carly is multi-faceted – with rich and gorgeous vocals, stagecraft honed from years of theater performing, a completely honest and guileless presence that immediately captures your heart.” Joining Carly Honfi and the Pops will be Tenor Matthew Hall who

continues to enchant Pops’ audiences. Hall was seen as Jinx in “Forever Plaid” with South Bay Musical Theatre as well as in “The Drowsy Chaperone” with Sunnyvale Community Players. He also appeared in the ongoing musical review Broadway by the Decade (1920’s). Venaas describes Hall as, “very, very talented, passionate about this music and is fearless, up for any idea I throw at him.”  Musical theater has been touching hearts for hundreds of years — whether it’s the lighthearted melodies of “Oklahoma!” or the


Center Stage

soul-stirring choruses of “Les Miserables,” the classic “Guys and Dolls” or the latest Broadway sensation “Hamilton,” musical theater has the ability to linger in people’s consciousness long after the curtain goes down.  Among performers, it’s often said that songs occur in a musical when the emotion of the characters becomes too large to be expressed in mere speech, and the emotive power of many of our favorite Broadway songs is what makes them near and dear to our hearts. Although recent musicals have benefitted from well-known pop icon composers such as Cyndi Lauper and Elton John, more traditional musicals

from the 30s, 40s, and 50s as well as more recent revivals are on Broadway each and every season and draw sold out audiences. Some of the longest-running Broadway musicals include: Mary Poppins, Hairspray, My Fair Lady, Hello Dolly, Fiddler on the Roof, Grease, 42nd Street, Miss Saigon, Jersey Boys, Rent, Wicked, Beauty and the Beast, Mamma Mia, Oh Calcutta, A Chorus Line, Les Miserables, Cats, The Lion King, Chicago, and Phantom of the Opera. For more information, visit www.calpops.org. About the California Pops Orchestra California Pops Orchestra has spent three decades proving that orchestral performances

by highly trained and talented musicians do not have to be stuffy affairs!  The Pops includes many of the Bay Area’s leading musicians with training from conservatories including Oberlin, Julliard, and the Eastman School of Music.  The Pops also draws from very talented musicians who by day are scientists, educators, engineers, marketers, technology leaders, and other highly creative individuals. This diversity in background plus a single-minded purpose makes the Pops a delight to play with and a neverending source of ideas, inspiration, and humor.   California Pops Orchestra’s musicians and featured guests bring fun,

Y 15 Z

family-friendly shows to the live stage with selections from the full range of the popular music repertoire.  Every one of the Pops’ performers loves the music of Broadway musicals, television, Hollywood movies, jazz, pop, comic novelties, and big band.  This popular music is often scored for a unique set of instruments found

in movie and recording studios but not in classical symphony orchestras: so concerts often include flugelhorns, a saxophone section, harmonicas, congas, taxi and car horns, whips, theramins, accordions, marching machines, thunder sheets, sirens and other colorful instruments.   For more information, visit www. calpops.org.

February 10 @ 3 p.m. Flint Center 21250 Stevens Creek Blvd Cupertino, CA 95014 Tickets: $20-$55 (standard ticket service fees apply) @ www. ticketmaster.com or go to the Flint Center Box Office (Tues-Fri 10-4pm).


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review January 27, 2019  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 3, Number 2

The Bay Area Review January 27, 2019  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 3, Number 2