__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 1

January 13, 2020

A Season of Community

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

Farewell 2019! Hello 2020!

The Bay Area Review

October 3, 2019

Volume 1 • Issue 1

encourage

enlighten

Downtown Drop Down

“Operation: SantaPaws” is a community event that began organically in 2014 by two K9 Deputies. The Leland High school wrestling will be teaming up with Santa Clara County Sheriffs in this event, our wrestlers at Leland and not just good athletes, they are good people. The Leland wrestling team has three core values, Attitude, Gratitude, and Fortitude.

This event is helps out athletes to build their Attitude and Gratitude. During the Christmas Season of 2014, then Deputy TJ Monroe with his K9 partner, Niner and then Deputy Jeremy Jones with his K9 partner, Raider, responded to a burglary call in Eastside San Jose. While investigating the burglary, they discovered the items stolen where Christmas gifts for a little girl. They

All Your Shoe Repair Needs!

See Page 4

were unable locate the suspects or the stolen gifts. However, they were determined to provide the little girl a Christmas. On Christmas Day 2014, they responded back to the residence with gifts in hand and found that other children in the same complex had not received Christmas gifts. [Continued on Page 7]

Come on in 3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 Hamilton/Meridian

See Page 11

enrich

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95118 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 95037 95051

The Gardenia Society to Partner With The Bay Area Review

The 3rd Annual DOWNTOWN DROP DOWN was held in San Jose on September 21 and 22 at Adobe, the event’s site and host. This event challenges participants to “Go Over the Edge” to end homelessness by raising money for the opportunity to rappel 236ft from the Adobe Headquarters building in San Jose. Participants this year included San Jose Mayor,

This publication marks the first article from The Gardenia Society which is the social Outreach of The Billie Holiday Memorial Foundation. Our efforts are aimed at music appreciation and education through live music events. We were asked to start The Gardenia Society in the Bay Area to establish a cross-cultural awareness of Billie Holiday’s life and legacy. The Bay Area Review’s offer to host an ongoing Sam Liccardo and Silicon Valley Leadership Group

CEO, Carl Guardino.

April 15, 2019

Better at knowing what matters to you Happy Birthday, Billie!

Hot Blues by All-Stars

Things are getting a lot more BLUESY in San Jose with the inaugural show on April 7, by the Gardenia Society celebrating Billie Holiday’s Birthday. Local entrepreneur and music aficionado, Mark Hughes and his wife Mariana look forward

to introducing a bit of a different groove into the South Bay music scene. This first, a promise of more to come, event did feature some local well known talent - Lady Bianca, Guitar Mac and Lloyd Gregory to name a few taking part in this showcase.

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 95037 95051

Mark, says the “Gardenia Society is first a music appreciation fellowship. And all are welcome to be part of the celebration of such a great American Art form.”

Continued on Page 7

Music Lessons Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

$1

5

Piano, Guitar, Drums, Bass & Flute

Y1Z

series of articles on the local music scene was eagerly accepted. Our goal is to highlight the intimate venues, the behind-thescenes visionaries and the artists performing jazz, blues, and folk music. [Continued on Page 10]

[Continued on Page 8]

Lincoln Shoe Repair Most Complete Shoe Repair Service in the South Bay

South Valley Review

VOL. 3, NO. 7

Orange Sunrise Come on in

3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 2208 Lincoln Ave, San Jose, CA 95125

408-978-2589

Meridian/Hamilton See Page 7

View Us Online @ TheBayAreaReview.com

Our Year in Review See on Page 9

See Page 5


January 13, 2020

Go to https://live.stanford.edu for more information, events, and to purchase Tickets. Kronos Quartet The 60’s, The Years that Changed America Jan 15 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

Selma, Film with Live Score: Jason Moran & Marvin Sewell Jan 25 @ 7:30 pm Memorial Auditorium

San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2020 Friday, February 14 - Saturday, February 29 The Hammer Theatre Center's Sobrato Auditorium and Hammer 4, Oshman Family JCC, Cafe Stritch, The Continental, Art Boutiki, Poor House Bistro

Tickets:

$15 (Advance)/$25 (Door) - $35 (Advance)/$40 (Door)

For more info and to purchase tickets, go to: sanjosejazz.org/winterfest

National Headliners:

Miguel Zenón Quartet: "Sonero" Quincy Jones Presents Sheléa, with SJSU Jazz Orchestra Georgia on My Mind: The Music of Ray Charles International Guitar Night featuring Mike Dawes, Cenk Erdogan, Olli Soikkeli & Jim Kimo Wes Stacey Kent Halie Loren Aaron Abernathy Matt Wilson's "Honey and Salt" Quintet Shayna Steele The Revelers Black String Los Hermanos Arango SJZ Collective Plays Weather Report ("World Premiere") Yuko Mabuchi Trio "Next Gen" Bay Area Student Ensembles: San Jose Jazz U19s Kuumbwa Jazz Honor Band Prospect High School

"Winter Fest has turned into an opportunity to reprise the summer's most exciting acts, while reaching out to new audiences with a jazz-and-beyond sensibility." -KQED Arts

Jason Danieley Jan 18 @ 7:00 pm Jan 18 @ 9:00 pm Bing Studio

Laurie Anderson The Art of Falling Jan 29 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic with Bomsori Kim, violin

La Passion de Jeanne d’Arc with Orlando Consort

Jan 31 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

Feb 1 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall


January 13, 2020

Humane Society Silicon Valley Gets New President in January 2020

Humane Society Silicon Valley is delighted to welcome former Board Chair Kurt Krukenberg as their new president on January 6, 2020. Current president Carol Novello is stepping down after 10 years with the organization as she moves across country to spend more time with family. She will continue to stay connected to HSSV by becoming part of the non-profit’s Board Alumni Ambassadors, as well as serving as an advocate and spokesperson for Mutual Rescue (HSSV’s national animal-welfare initiative). “I deeply love this organization and all of the people who collectively come together to accomplish such amazing outcomes for both animals

and people in Silicon Valley and beyond,” says Carol. “Kurt’s deep love of our mission combined with his business acumen and emotional intelligence, in addition to being a fellow Harvard Business School graduate, make him a natural choice for this role. I am confident he will continue to build upon the incredible foundation that so many people have worked with me and prior leaders to forge over the years.” Kurt is enthusiastic about stepping up to lead a talented and passionate team that is advancing the cause of animal welfare locally, regionally, and nationally through shelter medicine, scalable rescue partnerships, effective homeless animal

prevention strategies, and innovative community engagement programs. “I am thrilled to step into this role at a time when HSSV has both a strong foundation of existing capabilities and an ambitious strategic plan to further expand our mission impact,” he says. “We have a world-class facility with equally impressive people and programs. The incredible support from our community has allowed us to make significant investments in shelter operations, shelter medicine, and collaborative partnerships. These unique capabilities enable us to continue to be a safety net for our local community and pilot innovative new programs here in Silicon Valley

Mahin Beauty Lounge Mahin offers a place of Tranquility to experience her Artistry

Microblading Eyelash Extensions Facial Service

Dog Gone Good while also expanding our support of other shelters to drive change at the regional and national levels. I look forward to sharing more in the future as we move ahead with these strategic initiatives.” He also expresses gratitude for Carol’s time as HSSV president: “I am grateful beyond words for Carol’s extraordinary leadership over the past decade and her unwavering commitment to HSSV’s success. It’s inspiring to see everything HSSV has accomplished with the support of our amazing staff, dedicated volunteers, and generous donors. Carol has brought and taught amazing leadership skills during her time here at HSSV.” Prior to HSSV, Kurt spent 20 years helping companies create sustainable growth in a variety of operating and advisory roles. As an executive coach, he

worked with business and nonprofit leaders to design effective organizations, build high-performing teams, and develop their own leadership skills. As a management consultant at Oliver Wyman, Kurt led engagements for Fortune 500 clients in media, technology, healthcare, and life sciences. He also has deep cross-functional experience in marketing, sales, and product development at industryleading technology companies including HP/ Agilent and Tektronix. Kurt received his MBA from Harvard Business School and his bachelor’s degree in electrical and computer engineering from Rice University. Kurt is eternally grateful to have been rescued by his wife Charu and their dogs including Cooper, a pittie/chihuahua mix and proud HSSV alum. For more information, visit www.HSSV.org.

Satellite Internet That is Unlimited With No Hard Data Limits! 2

FREE Standard Installation

Face and Body Massage Eyebrow Design and Treating

Page 3

3

Limited Time Offer! Restrictions may apply.

25 Mbps Download Speed 25mbps download and 3mbps upload1

“You can get High-Speed Internet wherever you live!”

No Hard Data Limits

2

5

Wi-Fi Built-In

Connect your wireless devices at home

Tuesday - Friday 10:00am - 6:00pm Saturday 10:00am - 4:00pm Closed on Sunday & Monday

408.606.8989 1465 Bird Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125 Reserve Your Appointment Today!

Call For Special Offers In Your Area Pricing varies by region

CALL TODAY - LIMITED SPECIAL OFFERS IN YOUR AREA!

1-877-695-7948

HughesNet is a registered trademark of Hughes Network Systems, LLC, an EchoStar Company. 1 The HughesNet Gen5 service plans are designed to deliver download speeds of 25 Mbps and upload speeds of 3 Mbps, but individual customers may experience different speeds at different times of the day. Speeds and uninterrupted use are not guaranteed and may vary based on a variety of factors including: the configuration of your computer, the number of concurrent users, network or Internet congestion, the capabilities and content of the Websites you are accessing, network management practices as deemed necessary, and other factors. When you connect to the HughesNet service using Wi-Fi, your experience will vary based on your proximity to the Wi-Fi source and the strength of the signal. 2 If you exceed your monthly plan data, you will experience reduced data speeds until the start of your next billing period. Reduced speeds will typically be in the range of 1 – 3 Mbps and may cause Web sites to load more slowly or affect the performance of certain activities, such as video streaming or large downloads/uploads. 3. Free standard installation applies to new Lease subscribers only. Not valid with Purchase option. Limited-time offer. Restrictions may apply. 5. Per the “5th, 6th, 7th and 8th FCC Measuring Broadband American Reports.”


January 13, 2020

District 2 News

Dear District 2 Neighbors

Lincoln Shoe Repair Most Complete Shoe Repair Service in the South Bay

2208 Lincoln Ave, San Jose, CA 95125

408-978-2589

San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2020 Friday, February 14 - Saturday, February 29 The Hammer Theatre Center's Sobrato Auditorium and Hammer 4, Oshman Family JCC, Cafe Stritch, The Continental, Art Boutiki, Poor House Bistro

Tickets:

$15 (Advance)/$25 (Door) - $35 (Advance)/$40 (Door)

For more info and to purchase tickets, go to: sanjosejazz.org/winterfest

National Headliners:

Miguel Zenón Quartet: "Sonero" Quincy Jones Presents Sheléa, with SJSU Jazz Orchestra Georgia on My Mind: The Music of Ray Charles International Guitar Night featuring Mike Dawes, Cenk Erdogan, Olli Soikkeli & Jim Kimo Wes Stacey Kent Halie Loren Aaron Abernathy Matt Wilson's "Honey and Salt" Quintet Shayna Steele The Revelers Black String Los Hermanos Arango SJZ Collective Plays Weather Report ("World Premiere") Yuko Mabuchi Trio "Next Gen" Bay Area Student Ensembles: San Jose Jazz U19s Kuumbwa Jazz Honor Band Prospect High School

"Winter Fest has turned into an opportunity to reprise the summer's most exciting acts, while reaching out to new audiences with a jazz-and-beyond sensibility." -KQED Arts

Two of my top priorities since taking office have been increasing public safety and productively addressing our City’s homeless crisis. I am committed to exploring the most compassionate, immediate options that benefit all residents of our community. I understand and sympathize with your concerns related to homelessness and the multitude of encampments that seem to be popping up across our City. My team and I received your emails and phone calls, and we want you to know that we are listening and taking action to address your concerns while simultaneously providing resources and services to unhoused residents. I would like to explain to you how the City currently handles calls for removal of homeless encampments and shopping carts. Our City’s under-staffed, yet hard working

Homeless Concerns Team is tasked with the tremendous responsibility of responding to every resident concern, noticing abatements, removing encampments and shopping carts, and providing outreach to the unhoused individuals. When Homeless Concerns receives a request for abatement from a resident, a Council Office, or a City Department, the team first must assess the concern for: health and safety issues, size, and environmental impact before taking action. Larger encampments with greater impacts on the environment are prioritized. The prioritized concern enters the queue for abatement and a schedule for noticing is set. This can take several weeks because the City is currently under court mandate to prioritize litter and trash removal as well as maintenance along creek beds and waterways. This means that more

than 80% of abatement resources are directed towards cleanups along Coyote Creek, Guadalupe River, and other water tributaries that feed into the San Francisco Bay. Additionally, case law requires reasonable notice prior to seizing or destroying a person’s belongings. The City Attorney has determined that a minimum of 72 hours notice is sufficient under the Fourteenth Amendment right to due process. Encampments are noticed by posting signage in the area warning of an imminent abatement as well as through communication and outreach from non-profit organizations contracted to provide resources and services to the unhoused residents. After the encampment has been noticed and the minimum 72-hour period has passed, clean-up crews arrive on site to remove tents, debris, and other items left behind. During most

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


January 13, 2020 abatements, Homeless Concerns staff allow unhoused residents to take their belongings and even offer storage options for those who need and accept them. All unhoused individuals and families displaced by abatement are offered mental health services, medical care, case management, and emergency shelter. These outreach services are provided by the County of Santa Clara and nonprofit organizations, not the City of San Jose. Some individuals accept the services and are placed in shelters while many others choose to relocate their encampment to another area. The abatement process is time consuming, costly, and unfortunately, does not address the root of the

problem: a countywide shortage of services and shelter beds. In addition to cleanups and abatements, San Jose funds various programs intended to provide unsheltered residents with relief from living on the streets, including: Safe Parking programs, Overnight Warming Location (OWL) programs, Bridge Housing Communities, and permanent supportive housing units. Unfortunately, there simply is not enough shelter space for the 6,000+ unhoused individuals on our streets. I remain committed to pursuing real, thoughtful, and productive solutions to our housing crisis. I have directed City staff to evaluate Bridge Housing

Communities, sanctioned encampments, navigation centers, and storage lockers. I have supported Safe Parking programs and Overnight Warming Locations in District 2. I put forth a memorandum recommending zoning changes to reduce regulatory barriers and streamline emergency shelter and transitional housing. I am working with Code Enforcement to improve or City’s shopping cart ordinance to prevent carts from littering our streets. Solving homelessness in San Jose will require coordination and collaboration among all levels of government and with multiple stakeholders. Together, we must make significant investments in

Page 5

District 2 News comprehensive wraparound services that include: compassionate mental health, drug rehabilitation, medical services, job training and assistance, and other needed support to help people become selfsufficient. And of course, we need to build more affordable and accessible housing for all. Most importantly, we as a society need to change the narrative around homelessness. We need to approach this crisis with empathy -- not fear. We MUST stop treating houseless individuals differently than

our other neighbors simply because they do not have a stable place to call home. We need to accept solutions, developments, and services in all our neighborhoods and all our communities. I hope that as we navigate this statewide housing crisis, we will all treat each other with dignity and respect. This will not be easy, but I am determined to support and implement a multitude of innovative solutions to address this complex and longstanding problem.

HELPFUL CONTACTS FOR HOMELESS CONCERNS: For non-emergency situations such as noise complaints or parking concerns, call 311 or 408-277-8900. For concerns related to Homelessness: homelessconcerns@sanjoseca.gov For more information on Monterey Road cleanup efforts with Union Pacific please contact: Olympia Williams (Olympia.Williams@sanjoseca.gov) and Angel Rios (Angel.Rios@sanjoseca.gov) To report concerns along Union Pacific Railroad tracks, contact: 1-888-877-7267, RMCC_in@up.com To report concerns in District 10, which borders our District 2 on the west side: Councilmember Johnny Khamis, district10@sanjoseca.gov (Councilmember Khamis represents the west side of Monterey Road, from Senter Road to Branham Lane).

up/ k Pic ivery! l De

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning 408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm


January 13, 2020

A Season of Community

Helping Hands

[Continued From Page 1] It was in that moment that they decided to buy additional gifts and food to host a mini Christmas party out on the street with the children and their K9 partners. Over the following years, the K9 Unit has continued to share the holidays with families in our community. The event now includes a monthlong toy drive, collecting gift donations for the kids. It has truly turned into a total community effort to provide holiday cheer to families, regardless of their financial status. The number of attending families has also grown larger each year as word has gotten out and donations have increased. In 2019, the event has gained momentum again. The K9 Unit has secured

donations to hand out gifts and provide Christmas dinner to families. The block party will be held on Friday, December 20th from 6:00pm-8:30pm at Madeline Drive and Kirk Avenue, in an unincorporated area of San Jose where there are several apartment complexes. These are the names grades and ages of the Leland Student Athletes that will be going on the 20th. Connor Cormier Senior Age 17, Hriday raj sophomore age 15, Niko Chiotellis Sophomore age 15, Caitlin Lu Senior Age 17, Sara Mukai Senior Age 17, Nathan Vasquez Sophomore Age 15, Zoi smith senior age 17, Shawn Haslam Senior age 17, Andrew Sarah junior age 16, Nathaniel Luna

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

• Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute

junior age 16, and Austin Niemi junior. Leland High School’s new Wrestling coaches, brothers Thomas and Matthew Hamamjy aim to build the team on three core values: Attitude, Gratitude, and Fortitude. This season, for the first time, the Leland Wrestling team joined forces with Sgt. Jeremy Jones from the Santa Clara County Sheriff’s office. The Student Athletes spent the morning of December 23rd at the Valley Medical hospital’s pediatric branch delivering toys with Sgt. Jeremy Jones, Luisa Rapport a public informations officer for Santa Clara Fire, Ana Spear a retired member of the Campbell Police Department, and Brent Rapport a Santa Clara Fire Battalion Chief. The event was a opportunity to help and give back to the community for the Team. The high school athletes were taught by Sgt. Jeremy Jones a

person with his fair share of athletic success, that the importance of being a good person is far more greater than being a good athlete. As the Wrestlers and Officers delivered Toys to several parts of the Hospital the Wrestlers

learned that just about everyone has something to complain about, and just about everyone also has something to be thankful for, and how it is totally up to them wether they focus on complaining or being grateful.


Page 8

January 13, 2020

Auld Lang Syne

Aopt A Dog - Volume 1 Issue 1

125 Years of Strong Women - Volume 1 Issue 5

Farewell

Downtown Drop Down - Volume 1 Issue 1

The Bay Area Review

October 3, 2019

Volume 1 • Issue 1

encourage

enlighten

Downtown Drop Down

enrich

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95118 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 95037 95051

Open to Page 7

!! W W W WOO

The Gardenia Society to Partner With The Bay Area Review

The 3rd Annual DOWNTOWN DROP DOWN was held in San Jose on September 21 and 22 at Adobe, the event’s site and host. This event challenges participants to “Go Over the Edge” to end homelessness by raising money for the opportunity to rappel 236ft from the Adobe Headquarters building in San Jose. Participants this year included San Jose Mayor,

This publication marks the first article from The Gardenia Society which is the social Outreach of The Billie Holiday Memorial Foundation. Our efforts are aimed at music appreciation and education through live music events. We were asked to start The Gardenia Society in the Bay Area to establish a cross-cultural awareness of Billie Holiday’s life and legacy. The Bay Area Review’s offer to host an ongoing Sam Liccardo and Silicon Valley Leadership Group

CEO, Carl Guardino.

Lincoln Shoe Repair

April 15, 2019

Better at knowing what matters to you Happy Birthday, Billie!

Hot Blues by All-Stars

Things are getting a lot more BLUESY in San Jose with the inaugural show on April 7, by the Gardenia Society celebrating Billie Holiday’s Birthday. Local entrepreneur and music aficionado, Mark Hughes and his wife Mariana look forward

to introducing a bit of a different groove into the South Bay music scene. This first, a promise of more to come, event did feature some local well known talent - Lady Bianca, Guitar Mac and Lloyd Gregory to name a few taking part in this showcase.

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 95037 95051

Mark, says the “Gardenia Society is first a music appreciation fellowship. And all are welcome to be part of the celebration of such a great American Art form.”

Continued on Page 7

Music Lessons Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

$1

5

Piano, Guitar, Drums, Bass & Flute

Y1Z

series of articles on the local music scene was eagerly accepted. Our goal is to highlight the intimate venues, the behind-thescenes visionaries and the artists performing jazz, blues, and folk music.

Orange Sunrise Come on in

3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 2208 Lincoln Ave, San Jose, CA 95125

408-978-2589

Meridian/Hamilton See Page 7

Levine Calls for Creation of Public Administrator for PG&E

South Valley Review

VOL. 3, NO. 7

[Continued on Page 10]

[Continued on Page 8]

Most Complete Shoe Repair Service in the South Bay

November

View Us Online @ TheBayAreaReview.com

Governor Gavin Newsom, announced the formation of a hand picked team to oversee PG&E’s service and safety responsibilities to the public.

As Pacific Gas and Electric’s (PG&E) second Public Safety Power Shutoff (PSPS) continues to leave millions without power, Assemblymember Marc Levine (D – Marin County) today announced urgency legislation to authorize the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) to temporarily appoint a Public Administrator to oversee the management of PG&E. Levine plans to introduce the legislation when the legislature reconvenes in January 2020.

Under Levine’s proposal, the CPUC would establish a test to determine if a Public Administrator should be appointed to oversee PG&E. The test would include an analysis of PG&E’s financial health, the reliability of the utility’s infrastructure and its safety record. The Public Administrator would be authorized to work with PG&E leadership and make decisions necessary to restore critical infrastructure, ensure that proper safety protocols are followed and increase public confidence in the utility. Once the CPUC is able

to determine that PG&E has complied with these financial, infrastructure and safety requirements, full management responsibilities would be returned to PG&E. During the week of October 7, 2019, PG&E initiated a Public Safety Power Shutoff (PSPS), forcing blackouts on over 2 million Californians, preventing 130,000 students from attending school and causing economic losses estimated in the billions. After that event, PG&E’s CEO William Johnson speculated that these blackout events could occur for another decade.

[Continued on Page 5]


January 13, 2020

Page 9

Auld Lang Syne

Santa Clara Library Comic Con - Volume 1 Issue 1

Bridge The Gap - Hunger At Home Fundraiser - Volume 1 Issue 2

2019 Volume 1 • Issue 5

December 13, 2019

The Gardenia Society bay@gardeniasociety.org - Volume 1 Issue 1

Dave Cortese Hosts Reception for State Senate - Volume 1 Issue 2 Volume 1 • Issue 4

November 28, 2019

Hello 2020! Rebuilding Together One Project at a Time

125 Years of Strong Women

49ers Hope for the Holidays presented by United Airlines

A new floor by the volunteers.

San Jose Woman’s Club Celebrated it’s 125th Year Anniversary with a Tea at the Historic Downtown location on 11th Street. Since 1894, the San Jose Woman’s Club has been supporting and empowering women while enriching the fabric of one California’s most vibrant cities.

The 49ers transformed Levi’s® Stadium into Niners Land as players, their families and staff host 450 underserved boys and girls from around the Bay Area for the first-ever 49ers Hope for the Holidays presented by United

[Continued on Page 5]

All Your Shoe Repair Needs!

See Page 14

See Page 5

Come on in 3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 Hamilton/Meridian

See Page 7

Airlines event. Each child recieved a oncein-a-lifetime experience traveling through the stadium and left with a brand new bike, helmet, lock, haircut, shoes, toys, glasses, backpack, dinner and more. Asian Americans for Community Involvement

[Continued on Page 14]

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley hosted yet another much needed Rebuilding Day on October 19. Volunteers rallied together to help local facilities as well as a San Jose resident in need. This day, Rebuilding together and their volunteers did work to help three non-profit facitilies. [Continued on Page 7]

All Your Shoe Repair Needs!

See Page 14

See Page 12

From Our Family To Yours, May your Thanksgiving be peaceful and plentiful. We Thank You for continuing to support The Bay Area Review.

Come on in 3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 Hamilton/Meridian

See Page 7

Thank you for your continued support of The Bay Area Review! We look forward to another great year!


January 13, 2020

SJB Child Development Centers

Be The Change www.sjbcdc.org

SJB Child Development Centers now number more than a dozen locations, with recent additions in the past 2 years. Speaking with Kelly Mercurio, Executive Director of this far reaching Community Program that is driven to serve the various families in the South Bay that are in need of quality child care -- no matter their circumstances. Kelly is proud to

declare the SJB ‘reason for being’ is tackled everyday, in every way imaginable by all those who volunteer, work for and sponsor this program. It is clear all these incredible people are very aware of their place in fulfilling the mission of SJB founder, Bill Williams - a true visionary. In 1971 he believed it was time to support the diversity of what makes up a family and provide the various resources needed to “break the cycle of poverty by offering education-based childcare; thus,providing the same opportunities as those from more affluent families”. And the current leadership is clear that SJB is considered the “Agency of Choice” by demonstrating a strong

ability to be a good neighbor for our South Bay communities. These multiple locations offer children 3 nutritious meals each day along with a highly trained staff providing a successful educational environment that nourishes their minds, as well. The overall goal is to encourage participation, engagement and commitment by parents, educators, staff, volunteers and any and all who care about a thriving community. A goal being met with each and every family served.

Call for Contractors! Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County. If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org 1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

www.rtsv.org

23 Skidoo Vintage and Retro Clothing VISIT 23 SKIDOO FOR WHAT YOU DON'T KNOW YOU NEED. FUN, FABULOUS, AND AFFORDABLE FASHION!

2082 S. Winchester Blvd. Campbell, CA 95008 408.540.7781 23SKIDOOVINTAGE.COM FACEBOOK.COM/23SKIDOOVINTAGE


January 13, 2020

Levine’s New Year’s Resolution Following multiple Public Safety Power Shutoffs (PSPS) by PG&E in the fall of 2019 that left millions of Californians in the dark, Assemblymember Marc Levine (D – Marin County) today began the 2020 legislative year by introducing AB 1847, which would authorize the California Public Utilities Commission (CPUC) to temporarily appoint a public administrator to oversee the public safety operations of PG&E or any investor owned electric utility. During the week of October 7 and the week of October 27, PG&E initiated a series of PSPSs, forcing blackouts on over 2 million Californians, preventing 130,000 students from attending

school and causing economic losses estimated in the billions. PG&E’s CEO William Johnson speculated that these blackout events could occur for another decade. Under Levine’s proposal, the CPUC would conduct an independent analysis of the electrical utility’s financial health, the reliability of the utility’s infrastructure and its safety record. The public administrator would be embedded and authorized to work with electrical utility’s leadership and make decisions necessary to restore critical infrastructure, ensure that proper safety protocols are followed and increase public confidence in the utility. Once the CPUC is able to determine that

electrical utility has complied with these financial, infrastructure and safety requirements, full management responsibilities would be returned to the electrical utility. The public administrator would have oversight authority of an electrical utility’s activities that directly impact public safety, including decisions to de-energize all or part of its distribution or transmission system to reduce the risk of a wildfire. That authority includes the option, after

Page 11

District 10 News appropriate due diligence, of modifying a decision regarding the specific scope of a de-energization event. The appointment of the public administrator would not exceed 180 days but the CPUC could extend that appointment beyond 180 days if it makes further findings supporting the continued need for embedded oversight. “We cannot afford to wait for PG&E to do the right thing,” said Assemblymember Levine. “PG&E has proven themselves incapable

of prioritizing public safety over corporate profits. PG&E’s poor judgement continues to harm California residents and our state’s economy, which is more and more dependent upon a clean, safe and reliable supply of electricity. AB 1847 will help all utilities refocus their priorities on safety and increase needed public confidence in essential electrical utility services. California’s economy cannot afford to spend another decade in the dark. We must act now.”

OPEN HOUSE & NETWORKING

Orange Sunrise A Healthy New Year!

FRESH FRUIT JUICES, SMOOTHIES & MILK SHAKES • YOGURT • ICE CREAM • SPARKLING TEA

Come in and try a little something delicious! 1590 Meridian Ave/Hamilton Phone: 408-347-1951 2652 Alum Rock Ave, #F Phone: 408-677-4144

MIXER

0 Local Over 45 ! Invited s s e Busin

Join us for a professional networking mixer at the Silicon Valley Business Center

January 16, 2020 5:30 - 8:00pm Silicon Valley Business Center 1900 Camden Ave., San Jose CA 95124 Questions? Call Nelia or Tina at (408) 558-3600

MUSIC • OAK & RYE PIZZA • BEVERAGES


January 13, 2020

Making a difference

Haircuts with Heart

Sport Clips is always looking for ways to give back to the community. Sport Clips annually contributes to the Help a Hero Program where we collect contribution to help send veterans back to school upon their return from service, partners with St. Baldricks to support those who have been directly or indirectly affected by Cancer, and many other charitable events. While our store also takes part in these charitable events, we

personally wanted to reach out to the local community children and their families. It’s the little things that make these children smile and leave strong impressions. We wanted to bring a smile to these kids, and what better way than to treat them to a spa day. We were ecstatic that Tyler, GM of MOD Pizza, his team, our Manager and our team, all had the same excitement when we initially brought up the idea! We were even

more surprised to see the overwhelming amount of support we received from Cosmo Prof and Sport Clips Corporate! We were thrilled to know one of the kids was starting off on his new job that very same day. Getting a clean cut and relaxing hot towel/massage gave him the relaxation he needed to start off on his day 1. Since the kids at Unity care loved the event so much, we are looking to do this multiple times a year for them. We hope we can continue to spread happiness within our community. Key People/Partners involved: • Manisha & Amit Kinger - Owners of Sport Clips West San Jose • MOD Pizza General Manager (jumped

on the idea of sponsoring lunch/ dinner for all the Unity Care kids and their families) - Tyler Gillett • Sport Clips Store Manager, Christine Guevara • Sport Clips Senior Stylist, Long Mai • Cosmo Prof Representative who sponsored free hair care products from Style Sexy Hair Lisa Rolle • Sport Clips Communications who sponsored gift bags Amanda Palm

• Unity Care Development Supervisor, Linda Vu “It is a beautiful thing when a career and a passion come together. Our success depends on enabling the success of others, so to be able to help our community and do what we love most, is the greatest opportunity to be given to us. You will never regret being kind.” - Christine Guevara, Sport Clips Store Manager “It feels great to put smiles on kids and parents. Knowing that I

Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


January 13, 2020 can help the community is a wonderful feeling; passing it forward.” - Long Mai, Sport Clips Senior Stylist

Making a Difference

“We were blessed to have been able to receive so much support from our partners to host this event for Unity Care children and their families. We look forward to partnering together again so we can continue to spread happiness in our community.” - Manisha & Amit Kinger, Store Owners “Thanks for making each and every person feel special! We appreciate you and your team!” - Linda Vu, Development Supervisor, Unity Care

BOOK YOUR VACATION NOW

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

$

FROM

1,549 *

$

1,299 *

$

$

FREE ONBOARD CREDIT

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121

FROM

2,349 *

2,099 *

FREE INTERNET • FREE BEVERAGE PACKAGE

GRAND ALASKAN CRUISE & TOUR

HAWAIIAN ISLANDS CRUISE & TOUR

Seattle • Vancouver • Ketchikan • Juneau • Skagway • Glacier Bay • Anchorage • Denali • and more

Oahu • Kauai • Maui • Hawaii “Big Island”

12 days, departs May - September 2020 Enjoy 7 nights aboard Holland America Line’s ms Westerdam and 4 nights on land. You’ll cruise the Gulf of Alaska and the Inside Passage—a sea lane teeming with marine wildlife, where you’ll pass glaciers, mountains, and lush forests, with stops in Ketchikan, Skagway, and Glacier Bay. On land, you’ll go deep into Denali National Park, tour Anchorage, and see the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center.

12 days, departs year-round Enjoy Hawaii on this island-hopping cruise tour. Spend 7 nights aboard Norwegian Cruise Line’s renovated Pride of America. Experience the Iao Valley on Maui, the beauty and charm of Hilo, Kona’s coffee-rich “Gold Coast,” and Kauai’s Na Pali coast and Waimea Canyon. Your land tour includes Pearl Harbor and Honolulu city tours, and time to relax on Waikiki Beach. Guided on Oahu by our friendly Tour Directors— your local experts.

GUIDED TOUR EXPERTS – CALL FOR YOUR FREE BROCHURE TM

Promo code N7017

CALL 1-877-818-2936

*Prices are per person based on double occupancy plus $299 in taxes & fees. Cruise pricing based on lowest cabin category after Instant Rebate is applied. Single supplement and season surcharges may apply. Add-on airfare available. Onboard Credit requires purchase of Ocean View or Balcony Cabin. For Hawaiian Islands Cruise & Tour, Free Internet and Free Beverage Package offers vary based on cabin category purchased. Additional service charges are required and payable to YMT with final balance for select Set Sail offers. For full Set Sail terms and conditions ask your Travel Consultant. Offers apply to new bookings only made by 12/31/19. Other terms & conditions may apply.


Page 14

January 13, 2020

District 24 News “The budget that Governor Newsom unveiled today is a reflection of the bold and progressive values we hold dear in California. I am particularly impressed by the governor’s proposed investment in computer science education, including nearly $20 million for teacher training and resource coordination. Since my days working at the Silicon Valley Education Foundation, it

has been a longstanding goal of mine to close the STEM education gap in California schools. In the 24th Assembly District, too few students have access to computer science courses, despite living in the heart of the Silicon Valley. “I am also encouraged by the governor’s proposed funding to support food pantries on community college campuses. In a recent survey of nearly 40,000

Assemblymember Berman Reacts to Governor Newsom’s Budget Proposal students at 57 California Community Colleges, half had experienced food insecurity in the previous month. We must do even more to address the basic needs challenges of our higher education students, including homelessness and housing insecurity. “On a similar note, I am pleased to see the governor’s proposal to improve the quality of school meals, including

CALL TODAY FOR A FREE ESTIMATE (669) 999 0669 www.windowgenie.com/santaclara

Window Cleaning

Window Tinting

Gutter Cleaning

Whole house interior/exterior window cleaning

Any purchase of $500 or more

All professional gutter cleaning services

Limited time offer. Valid only at participating locations. Not valid in combination with separate offer. Independently owned and operated franchise.

Limited time offer. Valid only at participating locations. Not valid in combination with separate offer. Independently owned and operated franchise.

Limited time offer. Valid only at participating locations. Not valid in combination with separate offer. Independently owned and operated franchise.

$50 OFF $100 OFF $25 OFF

funding to establish a Farm to School Grant Program to promote partnerships between California agriculture and schools. “As a strong advocate for universal preschool, I am very supportive of the governor’s proposal to fund 10,000 new full-day preschool slots. Children who attend high-quality preschools are more likely to go to college and earn higher wages. These news slots would put thousands of children on the path toward

academic success and economic security. “I look forward to working with my colleagues and the administration over the next several months to refine and finalize the state budget, continuing to save for a rainy day while also tackling some of California’s most pressing challenges.” Assemblymember Marc Berman represents the 24th Assembly District, which includes southern San Mateo County and northern Santa Clara County in the heart of the Silicon Valley. Website of Assemblymember Marc Berman: www.assembly. ca.gov/Berman


January 13, 2020

Santa Clara County Gets X-BAND RADAR Valley Water joined local, regional, state, and federal agencies to unveil the first permanent X-Band radar in the San Francisco Bay Advanced Quantitative Precipitation Information (AQPI) System. The radar, located on top of the Penitencia Water Treatment Plant in San Jose, is the cornerstone in a new network of highresolution, low-elevation radars that will improve weather forecasting of atmospheric rivers and extreme weather events across the region. “Today marks a great milestone in a collaboration that will provide vital information during storms,” said Valley Water CEO Norma Camacho. “We and our partners across the region are committed to helping keep our communities safe from floods.” Forecasting rainfall from powerful Pacific storms can be a challenge for meteorologists due to

the complex terrain of the San Francisco Bay Area. Precipitation from these storms often forms at low levels, well below the range of existing radars. Once complete, the AQPI network will consist of four X-Band Radars and one C-Band Radar placed at strategic locations across nine counties in the Bay Area. “We are aligning our regional expertise and resources to provide critical information for flood emergency response and integrated water management tailored to a specific area’s needs,” said Michael Anderson, State Climatologist for the California Department of Water Resources. “This is an excellent demonstration of our Weather-Ready Nation initiative, to help communities prepare for extreme weather, water, and climate events,” added NOAA’S Rob Cifelli, who will monitor the system, designed by

Colorado State University. The system will provide improved data for forecasting, which will assist water managers, reservoir operators, wastewater plant managers, flood, and emergency responders to make operational and safety decisions during extreme weather events. “As a former longtime firefighter, I am very aware that every minute counts in critical situations and your decisions depend on the information that is available to you”, said Director Richard P. Santos, District 3, who represents the area where the Penitencia Water Treatment plant is located. The SF Bay Advanced Quantitative Precipitation Information (AQPI) System was funded in 2016 by a $20 million grant from the California Department of Water Resources (DWR) and awarded to Sonoma Water and partners from Santa Clara to Sonoma. “Working together with our partners across the region, allows us to

Into The Future improve our resiliency, and enhance our water operation’s reliability,” explained Steve Ritchie, Assistant General Manager for the San Francisco Public Utilities Commission, one of thirteen agencies collaborating on the project. “We know that the climate is changing, and we need to be ready for whatever it throws at us,” said Sonoma Water General Manager Grant Davis. “AQPI will give us the information about storm impacts that we need to manage extreme storms in an era of climate change.” As of January 2020, two X-Band radars are operational, including one in Sonoma County and one in Santa Clara County. Two more X-Band radars are slated for installation during 2020. Valley Water manages an integrated water resources system that includes the supply

of clean, safe water, flood protection and stewardship of streams on behalf of Santa Clara County’s nearly 2 million residents. Valley Water effectively manages 10 dams and surface water reservoirs, three water treatment plants, an advanced recycled water purification center, a state-of-the-art water quality laboratory, nearly 400 acres of groundwater recharge ponds and more than 275 miles of streams. We provide wholesale water and groundwater management services to local municipalities and private water retailers who deliver drinking water directly to homes and businesses in Santa Clara County.

For our January workshop, we are excited to feature as our main speaker:

Timothy O. McLaughlin C.P.M., CPSD, Director of Supplier Diversity Tim is responsible for developing, maintaining and administering San Jose Water’s Utility Supplier Diversity Program (USDP) and San Jose Water Group (SJW Group) Supplier Diversity Programs in Connecticut, Maine and Texas. Tim was the President of the Industry Council for Small Business Development (ICSBD) from 2016 to 2019. ICSBD is a Silicon Valley Based organization focusing on the growth of small and diverse businesses in the Bay Area. Tim has also served on the Institute of Supply Management’s (ISM) Diversity Committee, the Disabled Veteran Business Alliance Advisory Council and the National Utility Diversity Council’s (NUDC) Advisory Committee. Tim earned his Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering from The Ohio State University and his Masters of Science in Computer Integrated Manufacturing from Brigham Young University. He is also a Certified Purchasing Manager (C.P.M.) and a Certified Professional in Supplier Diversity (CPSD), through the Institute of Supply Management (ISM). Don't miss this event, sign up now to reserve your spot.

To Secure Your Spot, Go To: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/jan-2020-luncheon-speaker-timothy-o-mclaughlin-cpm-cpsd-director-of-supplier-diversity-tickets-88091248295


408-608-8246

info@esiremodeling.com

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review January 13, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 1

The Bay Area Review January 13, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 1