__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

Volume 2 • Issue 3

Februrary 9, 2020

SHARKS FOUNDATION TO PROVIDE $200,000 COMMUNITY ASSIST GRANT TO THE SAN JOSE PUBLIC LIBRARY FOUNDATION

TBAR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95008 95032 95037 95051 95118 95119 95123 95124 95125 95126 95128

CAPCON 2020

The Sharks Foundation (@ SharksCare) is kicking off its February Education Month campaign by providing its largest Community Assist Grant of the 2019-20 season with a $200,000 donation to the San José Public Library Foundation (@ SJPLF). Grant funds will be used to create

Fine Gardener Time to plant!

See Page 6

San Jose Public Library’s (@SanJoseLibrary) new Wee Explore PlaySpace in the Children’s Room of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Library. The PlaySpace will be a destination for children ages 0-5 to ignite their imagination and learn through open-ended play and exploration. [Continued on Page 6]

Come on in 3 Juice “Taste Sampler” $8.99 Hamilton/Meridian

See Page 15

Governor Gavin Newsom at the Welcome Reception

Recentyly, California News Publishers Association (CNPA) held its annual conference, in Sacramento and what a jam packed agenda. The news print industry has been under stress from such a myriad of factors

See Page 8

in recent years - those still in the game are working strenuously to hold on to their hard fought ground, without losing too much more to new political constraints. [Continued on Page 8]


Februrary 9, 2020

Go to https://live.stanford.edu for more information, events, and to purchase Tickets. An Evening with Common

with Professor of Education, Adam Banks

Mar 3 @ 7:30 pm Memorial Auditorium

Dreamers Circus Mar 12 @ 7:00 pm Mar 12 @ 9:00 pm Bing Studio

Sounds of Cuba: Bobi CĂŠspedes Mar 21 @ 7:00 pm Mar 21 @ 9:00 pm Bing Studio

Dorrance Dance SOUNDspace

Mar 10 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

Colin Quinn: The Wrong Side of History Mar 13 & 14 @ 7:00 pm Mar 13 & 14 @ 9:00 pm Bing Studio

Fly Higher

Charlie Parker @ 100

Mar 28 @ 7:30 pm Bing Concert Hall


I’m running for State Senate as an independent State Senate Candidate because I want to serve you – the people. Johnny Khamis

My priorities for District 15 are: Accountability for Our Tax Dollars Californians are overtaxed, yet we can see in too many areas, such as fighting homelessness, that we still don’t get value for the tax dollars we are already spending.

Address Housing Costs California’s housing prices are pushing the American Dream further out of reach. I will work to address the causes of these inflated housing costs and work with members of both parties to pass legislation to make the dream of affordable, attainable housing for Californians a reality.

Protect Public Safety As your State Senator, I will support public safety protections and close the loopholes that release violent criminals that voters never intended for early parole.

Fight climate change Climate change is real and our generation’s solemn responsibility to address. California should lead the way.

Putting People Over Political Parties. Text KHAMIS to 66866

PAID POLITICAL ADVERTISEMENT

www.cinequest.org


Page 6

Februrary 9, 2020

SHARKS FOUNDATION TO PROVIDE $200,000 COMMUNITY ASSIST GRANT TO THE SAN JOSE PUBLIC LIBRARY FOUNDATION

In Community

[Continued From Page 1]

San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2020 Friday, February 14 - Saturday, February 29 The Hammer Theatre Center's Sobrato Auditorium and Hammer 4, Oshman Family JCC, Cafe Stritch, The Continental, Art Boutiki, Poor House Bistro

Tickets:

$15 (Advance)/$25 (Door) - $35 (Advance)/$40 (Door)

For more info and to purchase tickets, go to: sanjosejazz.org/winterfest

National Headliners:

Miguel Zenón Quartet: "Sonero" Quincy Jones Presents Sheléa, with SJSU Jazz Orchestra Georgia on My Mind: The Music of Ray Charles International Guitar Night featuring Mike Dawes, Cenk Erdogan, Olli Soikkeli & Jim Kimo Wes Stacey Kent Halie Loren Aaron Abernathy Matt Wilson's "Honey and Salt" Quintet Shayna Steele The Revelers Black String Los Hermanos Arango SJZ Collective Plays Weather Report ("World Premiere") Yuko Mabuchi Trio "Next Gen" Bay Area Student Ensembles: San Jose Jazz U19s Kuumbwa Jazz Honor Band Prospect High School

"Winter Fest has turned into an opportunity to reprise the summer's most exciting acts, while reaching out to new audiences with a jazz-and-beyond sensibility." -KQED Arts

The new PlaySpace will be free and open seven days a week for families to enjoy. On Friday, January 31, the Sharks, families, and SJPL staff gathered to officially announce the project with a welcome address and check presentation by San Jose Sharks President John Tortora to City Librarian Jill Bourne and District 3 City Councilman Raul Peralez. The event also featured story time and a question and answer session with Sharks players Mario Ferraro and Evander Kane. Sharks loveable mascot S.J. Sharkie was onsite for photo opportunities. Guests took home Sharks branded literacy-themed

gifts. The partnership between the San Jose Sharks, SJPLF, and SJPL began during the 2018-19 hockey season with the launch of the San Jose Sharks library card, which to date has been issued to more than 18,000 community members. ABOUT THE SAN JOSE PUBLIC LIBRARY: San José Public Library (SJPL), located in the Capital of Silicon Valley, serves a culturally diverse population of more than one million in the country’s 10th largest city. SJPL is one of the busiest library systems nationwide with nearly 7-million visits, annually. Award-winning staff strive to ensure library services reflect the city’s

rich diversity and that every library member’s experience is exceptional. SJPL is recognized for its innovation and leadership and has received a number of recognitions and honors, including the 2011 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor for a library. For more information, visit www.sjpl.org. ABOUT THE SAN JOSE PUBLIC LIBRARY FOUNDATION: The San José Public Library Foundation (SJPLF) was established in 1987 by a group of dedicated community volunteers who understood that a great library system needed more than public funding. Today, SJPLF provides


Februrary 9, 2020

advocacy, financial support, and leadership to our public libraries and educational programs throughout San José to create an educated, equitable, and engaged community. SJPLF’s support of the San José Public Library helps to make many programs, resources, and services available to over 1 million adults, children, and youth in San José. As a partner of the San José Public Library, SJPLF is committed to keeping the Library thriving for generations to come to

cultivate an educated, equitable, and engaged community where everyone has access to lifelong learning. For more information, please visit www.sjplf.org ABOUT THE SHARKS FOUNDATION: Established in 1994, the Sharks Foundation is dedicated to enhancing the lives of youth and families in the community with an emphasis in the areas of education, health and safety, and character development. Since inception, the

Sharks Foundation has positively impacted the lives of individuals in the community through its contributions to local nonprofit organizations. To learn more about how the Sharks Foundation is helping underserved youth and families in need in the community, visit the Sharks Foundation’s website, view the 201819 Community Annual Report or connect via Facebook, Instagram or Twitter.

In Community

Evander Kane and Mario Ferraro reading to the kids

Sharkie messing around with Mario Ferraro

Nurse Builders Academy

Your first step towards a career in Healthcare.

www.nursebuildersacademy.org

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) (408) 972-5025


Page 8

February 9, 2020

Banding Together

CAPCON 2020 [Continued From Page 1] An article by Maria Dinezo to California Publisher’s Winter Edition, was titled “Our Stifled First Amendment” which detailed instances of multiple efforts to intimidate, restrict and otherwise prevent journalist in doing their jobs. This from physical altercations by the public to judges signing off on police raids at journalists’ homes. Certainly, the effect of all these stressors are having an impact on those who provide our communities with quality

news - especially in print. And then there is AB5, a Bill that wants to strictly limit who can be classified as an Independent Contractor. Free-lance journalist, photographers, and even those who distribute papers part-time for publications are under scrutiny by Law Makers -the idea is to protect these workers on the fringe - in payroll classifications. CNPA conference provided an opportunity for those who believe in a FREE PRESS and FREE SPEECH for all, to gather and show support with each other in our

Maricela Rodriguez, Director of Civic Engagement and Strategic Partnerships Office of CA Governor, Gavin Newsom

Regina Wilson, Executive Director of California Black Media Fanny Miller, CEO El Latino and President of National Hispanic Association of Hispanic Publications

collective mission to tell the story that matters. Great people doing great work ... everyday. For more information about the California News Publishers Association, visit https://cnpa.com.

Dan Dunmoyer, President of California Building Industry Association Graham Knaus, Exacutive Director of California State Association of Counties Carolyn Coleman, Executive Director of League of California Cities

up/ k Pic ivery! l De

Senator Scott Weiner

Benson’s Cleaners Services

• Full Service Dry Cleaning and Alterations • Wedding Gowns Special *Stored with Care* • Convenient Wash N Fold *We Sort, Launder, and Fold* • It’s Getting Cold! *Bring in Your comforters and blankets* • Ask about Rug Cleaning *Hand Made Persian Style* • Drapery Cleaning 408-997-6144 bensonscleaners.com

5965 Almaden Expressway #160 Mon - Fri 6:30 am - 6:30 pm Saturday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm


3-4 Person Office Space For Rent! $1500/month Roughtly 180 ft2

408-558-3600 1900 Camden Avenue San Jose, CA 95124 siliconvalleyworkspace.com

Paid for by Committee for Carmen 4 State Assembly 2020 | FPPC 1421354


February 9, 2020

Safe Support

Santa Clara County Now Serving Sexual-Assault Survivors at Stanford Hospital The Santa Clara Valley Medical Center (SCVMC) sexual assault forensic exam (SAFE) team began performing medical forensic exams for sexual assault at Stanford Hospital’s new Emergency Department. Rape crisis advocates have also started

responding to survivors at that location. The expanded services are particularly timely given a 79% increase in the number of medical forensic exams performed by the SCVMC SAFE Team from 2015 to 2019. The location is at the new Stanford Hospital

Emergency Department. It will operate 24-hours a day with specially trained SCVMC sexual assault forensic exam (SAFE) nurses on-call to perform the exams. Previously, exams were primarily conducted at Santa Clara Valley Medical Center in San Jose, which will

Highlights

• Sexual assault medical forensic exams are now available at Stanford Hospital. • Specially trained nurses from SCVMC are available 24 hours a day to perform the exams. • From 2015 to 2019, there was a 79% increase in the number of sexual assault medical forensic exams performed by the SCVMC SAFE Team in Santa Clara County.

Call for Contractors!

continue to operate as a SAFE site. In addition to the new response location, Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, the local Police Chiefs’ Association, the District Attorney, the Crime Laboratory, and the YWCA and Community Solutions signed a

new shared protocol outlining procedures and cooperation aimed at responding to sexual assault in a coordinated manner that supports the survivor.

Marc and Laura Andreessen Adult Emergency Department 900 Quarry Road Extension Standford, CA 94304 Phone: 650-723-5111 www.standfordheadlcare.org

Santa Clara Valley Medical Center 751 S Bascom Ave San Jose, CA 95128 Phone: 408-885-5000 www.scvmc.org

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984

Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley is hiring local contractors to repair roofs, perform plumbing and electrical work, carpentry, flooring and other special projects in homes throughout Santa Clara County. If you are you a licensed contractor looking to expand your client base, please contact us! Minority and women-owned contractors are encouraged to apply. Learn more at:

http://contractors.rtsv.org Qualifications: • Licensed General Contractor, HVAC, Electrician, Plumber, or Roofer • General Liability Insurance and Worker's Comp (if applicable)

Contact: Kevin McCarthy 408.578.9519 ext. 1007, kevin@rtsv.org 1701 South 7th St., #10 San Jose, CA 95112

www.rtsv.org

www.Boydstreeservice.com

boydstslm@gmail.com

Clear Away Fire Hazards Around Your House • Structural Pruning • Tree Trimming • Stump Removal We Specialize in Redwood Trees!

408-371-5040 Contractor License #665121


February 9, 2020

District 2 News

Educating and empowering neighbors at the Rental Rights Workshop / Roundtable N.A. Meeting

Sharing core City services with our diverse, multilingual residents is vital to ensure that our entire community is informed and engaged. Thank you San José Police Captain Gina Tibaldi and the San José Housing Department for educating and empowering our residents at the Roundtable Neighborhood Association Meeting and Rental Rights Workshop at Christ the King Church! I am proud of how far our newest Neighborhood Association, the Roundtable N.A., has

come. It’s great to witness the transformation of this previously under-served area. My vision of uniting neighbors in the Roundtable Neighborhood began in 2018 when I secured money from the City’s Budget to dedicate to activating this area. Since then, my team has worked hand in hand with Project Hope to empower this neighborhood by: meeting community members -many of whom are primarily Spanish or Vietnamese speakers, leading meetings and events, and helping them develop into a strong, selfsustainable,

and action-oriented neighborhood organization. Additional great news: My office was able to connect the Roundtable N.A. to the Santa Clara County Realtor’s Association, who granted the N.A. with $5,000 for a landscaping project to deter trash behind Christ the King Church, where Roundtable N.A. holds their neighborhood meetings. These neighborhood leaders are hitting the ground running with initiatives to improve their community!

Promote Your business with Us! Email The Bay Area Review at advertising@thebayareareview.com or call (408) 898 - 7534


February 9, 2020

Continuing the fight to protect mobile home parks A few weeks ago I felt again compelled to speak up for the protection of mobile home parks, and this is the letter I sent to the City’s Housing and Community Development Commissioners on January 23, 2020: “I am proud to have coauthored a memorandum with Councilmember Peralez and former Councilmember Rocha in 2018 to initiate a General Plan land use amendment on the Westwinds Mobile Home Park in District 4 and the Mountain Springs Mobile Home Park in District 7. My colleagues and I saw the writing on the wall nearly two years ago -- certain mobile home communities were vulnerable to redevelopment putting at risk of displacement thousands of working families and uprooting long established communities. In that memorandum, I stated ‘that we must protect our affordable housing stock with the same vigor we protect our threatened employment lands.’ I firmly believe this to be true. We must continue to work on solutions that ensure our City remains a home to all of our residents, regardless of income level. In the midst of a housing crisis, our City cannot bear to lose any of its mobile home parks. The last few weeks we have all been made aware of just how

vulnerable our mobile home communities are. Hardworking, longtime residents of our City in the Westwinds Mobile Home Park are terrified by the looming risk of displacement for approximately 35,000 residents, the largest number of mobile home households in any city in California. More concerning is that we know displaced residents would very likely have no comparable housing available to them in San José or Santa Clara County. Our City has prioritized the protection of mobile home parks and residents since 2014. We reaffirmed our commitment to this endeavor on October 17, 2017, through the priority setting process, ranking Mobile Home Conversions as number three on our Council priority list. Unfortunately, prioritizing mobile home parks has not been enough and the process for a General Plan land use amendment has lingered at City Hall for years. On March 13, 2018, I adamantly opposed delaying this process any further because delays have only exacerbated our housing crisis and created uncertainty for residents. Though I am grateful that Mayor Liccardo and other Councilmembers have finally caught on to the urgency we presented in 2018, it is disheartening that this process has

taken so long. I look forward to seeing our Planning staff speed up the work to create a land use designation that is exclusively reserved for mobile home parks, so that we make it clear once and for all that mobile home communities are an integral part of our City’s future.” I am happy to report results of this item from the Housing and Community Development Commission meeting: On February 12, 2020, the “City-Initiated General Plan Amendments for Mobilehome Parks” will go to the Planning Commission. On March 10, 2020, it will be heard by the full San José City Council.

District 2 News

Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters is modernizing voting Starting with the March 3, 2020 Presidential Primary Election: • Every registered voter will receive a Vote By Mail ballot starting 29 days before Election Day • Voters can vote at any of the Vote Centers in Santa Clara County • Approximately 22 Vote Centers will open for 11 days including Election Day and approximately 88 Vote Centers will be open for 4 days including Election Day for a total of 110 Vote Centers throughout the County on Election Day

• Vote Centers will offer more space, additional services and new enhanced voting equipment​ ​VOTERS w​​ill have more options an​d will get to choose WHEN, WHERE, and HOW to vote​! USE YOUR VOTE BY MAIL BALLOT or GET A BALLOT AT A VOTE CENTER. For more information, go to https://www.sccgov. org/sites/rov/VCA/Pages/ home.aspx.

Mahin Beauty Lounge Mahin offers a place of Tranquility to experience her Artistry

Microblading Eyelash Extensions Facial Service

Tuesday - Friday 10:00am - 6:00pm Saturday 10:00am - 4:00pm Closed on Sunday & Monday

Face and Body Massage Eyebrow Design and Treating

408.606.8989 1465 Bird Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125 Reserve Your Appointment Today!


Page 14

February 9, 2020

District 1 News

Your Vote

The March 3 Presidential Primary Election is right around the corner! The Santa Clara County Registrar of Voters is modernizing and providing voters with greater flexibility and convenience. What’s changing? Every registered voter will receive a Vote-ByMail ballot starting now! Residents who have

registered to vote by the February 18 deadline can cast their ballot at any of the 110 Vote Centers, which will be open for multiple days prior to the election. Voters get to choose WHEN, WHERE and HOW to vote! For more information, visit https://www.sccgov. org/sites/rov/Pages/ Registrar-of-Voters.aspx.

Important Dates for the Presidential Primary Election

2/3 – 3/2 2/18 2/22 – 3/2 2/25 3/3 4/2

Early voting period at the Registrar of Voters Office Last day to register to vote Vote Centers open to all registered voters Last day to request a Vote by Mail Ballot replacement by mail Election Day. All Vote Centers and ROV Office open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ROV deadline to certify election results

Creating Safe Places

According to the 2019 homeless census count, more than 3,600 people live in cars and RVs on the streets throughout our County, even though many of

them are employed and sending their kids to school. To help address this crisis, the Board of Supervisors last month approved a proposal from Supervisor Joe Simitian

Touch of London Wellness Retreat 1275 Lincoln Ave Suite 8 A&B San Jose, CA 95125 408-297-4899 www.violetjspa.com wellness@violetjspa.com Violet Johnson is a retired nurse, midwife, and psychologist from England. She has numerous credentials in cosmetology, aromatherapy, and infant massage. She is a public speaker and specialist in multinational skin care and has worked in Willow Glen for 20+ years.

to expand the County’s current investment in safe parking programs, providing people a safe and legal place to park at night. The primary goal of County and non-

profit housing partners is creating affordable housing – something that is being accomplished in part through Measure A investments. While safe parking programs are not long-term solutions, they

offer safety and stability at night for car and RV residents while they seek permanent housing. These safe parking initiatives are underway in numerous cities.

• Natural Skin Care Products • Luxuary Facials • Massage Therapy • Custom Nutritional Plans

Todd Belcore, Brigitte Jones and Ethan Stone pictured visiting Lawmakers Senator Nancy Skinner, Senator Jim Beall, and Senator Holly Mitchell in Sacramento on behalf of SocialChange.site seeking changes to our Criminal Justice System.


Februrary 9, 2020

District 1 News

Gilroy Resiliency Center The South County Youth Task Force – a public safety collaborative that I’m honored to chair – recognized our community’s need for a designated place where people can go for support, services and to start to heal from the trauma of the Gilroy Garlic Festival shooting. I am very proud of the teamwork led and funded by our District Attorney’s Office that pulled together to create the “Gilroy Strong Resiliency Center,” which provides evening services at The Neon Exchange located at 7365 Monterey Road in Gilroy. The Center provides the public with a vast array of both in-person and online services to help victims build strength and resiliency in the aftermath of the traumatic incident. The Center is open to the public Tuesdays and Thursdays 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Expanded hours

will begin in April. And mark your calendars for “El Festival de Resiliencia” – a bilingual, family-friendly event offering workshops, music, Youth Resilience Awards, lunch and a keynote speech by Father Greg Boyle, the celebrated Jesuit priest and founder

the world’s largest gang-intervention and rehabilitation program, Homeboy Industries. For more information on the Gilroy Strong Resiliency Center and El Festival de Resiliencia, please contact Bernice Aguilera Toney, South County Youth Task Force Program Manager at (408) 846-0337 or baguilera@dao.sccgov. org.

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

• Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute

Orange Sunrise A Healthy New Year!

FRESH FRUIT JUICES, SMOOTHIES & MILK SHAKES • YOGURT • ICE CREAM • SPARKLING TEA

Come in and try a little something delicious! 1590 Meridian Ave/Hamilton Phone: 408-347-1951 2652 Alum Rock Ave, #F Phone: 408-677-4144

0

(? Bayside Pavers hardscape company -----------­ lie. #933876

Walkways & Steps Driveways Retaining Walls• Patios Pool Decks• Artificial Grass

FREE Demolition

r--------------- ,-------------------•

and removal of your existing concrete (min. 300 sq.ft.)

$500 OFF: Any proJ· ect :

1 1 I I Must present coupon at time of bid. Cannot be combined with ott1er offers. : Expires 2/29/� 1 700 sq.ft. or more

-----------------------------------4

408.617.9337 • Accredited Contractor• BaysidePavers.com


Residential Only

Additions Bathrooms Kitchens Whole House

415-964-9203 Residential Only

408-608-8246

info@esiremodeling.com

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review February 9, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 3

The Bay Area Review February 9, 2020  

The Bay Area Review Encourage - Enlighten - Enrich The San Francisco Bay Area Volume 2, Issue 3