__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 13

August 11, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you

Tzu Chi Foundation Wildfire Aid

Page # 4 Local Events

Page # 10 Worship Directory

Tzu Chi will be hosting a wildfire relief distribution on the weekends of August 11th and 12th and the 18th and 19th, from 8:30 AM to 6:00 PM located at 2685 Hilltop Dr., Redding CA 96002. Our volunteers will lovingly be providing cash cards, blankets, and emotional support to individuals and families impacted by this disaster. The Tzu Chi Foundation is launching an online registration system to provide emergency financial aid

to those impacted by the Carr Fire. We urge all survivors to apply for wildfire relief by registering here.

Continued on Page 5 Y1Z

Page # 15 Legislature Passes Bill to Preserve Health Care for Wildfire Victims

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051


When...Where Heritage Theatre Announces 15th Anniversary Season

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Campbell’s historic Heritage Theatre’s 20182019, 15th Anniversary season opens Saturday, October 20, with a musical and visual journey into the world of Michael Jackson. I AM KING – The Michael Jackson Experience is as close as you’ll get to seeing the King of Pop in concert. The creators of I AM KING have put together an incredible cast of tribute artists, talented musicians, and Broadway and Las Vegas dancers to bring audiences an explosion of unmatched energetic entertainment. Following 20 years of sell-out performances across the globe, Australia’s premier classical-crossover group THE TEN TENORS perform on Friday, November 16. Celebrated for their colorful repertoire and breathtaking arrangements, the group respectfully tips their hats not only to the great classical performers, but to contemporary music’s most popular artists. From Queen, Bowie, Lennon, and Whitehouse, the evening is guaranteed to surprise and delight. 2019 kicks off on Saturday, January 26, with a swingin’ concert event by the CHERRY POPPIN’ DADDIES. Over a 25-plus year period, the Daddies have made it their mission to

veer from genre to genre across the musical map, tempered and informed by an adherence to an older tradition grounded in Tin Pan Alley, Swing music, and the great American songbook. Powered by a prominent horn section, the evening features a musical journey through the band’s lengthy discography, from 1990’s Preciously Stoned to 1997’s Zoot Suit Riot to CHERRY POPPIN’ DADDIES perform at Campbell’s Heritage 2014’s Please Return The Theatre on Friday, Saturday, January 26, 2019, at 8:00pm. Evening, a salute to the killer ballads. The album the hypnotically melodic music of the Rat Pack. from which these singles “Burnin’ for You” from Country crooner came spent a year on the 1981’s Fire of Unknown JOE NICHOLS takes US Charts selling double Origin, BLUE OYSTER center stage on Thursday, CULT rocks the HT stage platinum. More hits February 14. Beginning were to follow with the on Friday, March 15. with his 2002 Man With a now classic “Get Outta For over four decades, Memory album, Nichols My Dreams; Get Into BOC has been thrilling harnessed a passion as My Car,” another No. fans of intelligent hard a steady hit maker. He 1 hit, “When the Going rock worldwide with racked up six Number gets Tough,” “Love on powerful albums loaded Ones and eight Top 10s, Delivery,” “Stop Me,” with classic songs and including chart-topping and “Red Light Spells occupies a unique place modern classics like Danger.” in rock history as one “Brokenheartsville” and of very few hard rock/ Season Tickets (5 or “Tequila Makes Her heavy metal bands to earn more shows) are available Clothes Fall Off.” He’s both genuine mainstream now through the Heritage a four-time Grammy critical acclaim, as well as Theatre Box Office (phone nominee, an ACM, commercial success. 408-866-2700 or walk-up Billboard, CMA, and The 15th Anniversary only). Individual Show CMT Award winner, and season wraps up on Tickets range from $49 his last album offering, Wednesday, April 3, to $70, and go on sale Crickets, kept the success featuring an evening with September 19, through the going, sending both the legendary BILLY Box Office, or online at “Yeah” and “Sunny and OCEAN, an artist who HeritageTheatre.org. 75” to Platinum-certified has sold over 30 million All performances are Number One status. records in his lifetime. at 8:00pm in Campbell’s With a canon of hits The number one single historic Heritage Theatre that includes the truly “Caribbean Queen” won located at the Campbell haunting “(Don’t Fear) Billy a Grammy for Community Center at: The Reaper” from 1976’s best R&B Vocal. It was 1 W. Campbell Avenue, Agents of Fortune, the followed by “Loverboy,” Campbell, California, pummeling “Godzilla” and “Suddenly,” which 95008. from 1977’s Spectres, and became the first of Billy’s

Y2Z


LIBRARY TOURS Discover the hidden treasures of the

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library

Level Babel - Lower

Fiction/Fic

tion - First Floor

Owl of Minerva - Seventh Floor

FREE DROP-IN TOURS AVAILABLE Thursdays • 11:30 a.m. Groups of 10+ should register in advance by visiting: sjpl.org/Tours Become a Library Tour Guide: sjpl.org/Volunteer


Local Events Tri-Chamber Mixer 8/23/18

Downtown Los Gatos 3rd Thursday Block Parties 5-9 pm Town Plaza Park • Grays Lane • Old Town

August 16

August 23, 2018 - 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM PDT Toll House Hotel 140 S. Santa Cruz Ave. Los Gatos, CA 95030 Join us at the Toll House Hotel for a mixer with your neighboring Chambers from Saratoga & Campbell. Enjoy the beautiful patio while making new connections. Fee includes one complimentary drink and light appetizers from Verge. Take advantage of great networking in a fun and relaxed environment at our Business After Hours Mixer! Bring plenty of business cards! Enter to win a fun door prize from one of the three chambers. Members please feel free to bring any marketing materials. We will have tables for display. Go to https://www.losgatoschamber.com/ events/details/tri-chamber-mixer-8-23-18-12717 to register $10 for Members of Los Gatos, Campbell & Saratoga Chambers $20 for Prospective Members

Music • Beer & Wine • Street Performances Shops open till 8pm Summer Fun for All Ages

THE SANTA CLARA MARRIOTT SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA

Kris Vallotton

Bishop Vaughn McLaughlin

Ed & Ruth Silvoso Dave Gibbons Pastor Po-Ling Wong

Apostle Daniel Wilson

Poncho Murguia

https://pebblebeachconcours.net

Derek Johnson with Jesus Culture

ALSO FEATURING Barbara Chan Michael Brown Clifford Daugherty AND MANY MORE!

Loren Cunningham

GLOBAL-CONFERENCE.TRANSFORMOURWORLD.ORG

Y4Z


World Impacts Tzu Chi Foundation Wildfire Aid Con’t While the wildfire rages through Redding, California, our Tzu Chi volunteers will continue their efforts on providing disaster relief to those affected. We ask for everyone’s support by sharing this information

with those who may need it. About Tzu Chi Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation is a humanitarian non-profit NGO whose footprint of aid at the forefront of poverty reduction and

disaster relief has reached over 95 countries since 1966. In 2017, Tzu Chi USA distributed over $9 million in aid, benefiting those impacted by 68 disasters in the USA. To learn more, visit: www. tzuchi.us.

HOW TO HELP Send a donation, or sign up as a volunteer. • Fundraising Hotline: 1-888-9TzuChi (888-989-8244) • Online donations: www.tzuchi.us/ WildfireRelief • Mobile donations: Text TZUCHI to 91999 For more relief information, please call 408457-6969 / 415-682-0566 / 510-879-0971.

Y5Z


Summer Fun After School Specials Film Series Always informative and often entirely mockable, the television “After School Specials” during the 1980s paved the way for legit cool movies starring “teens” to really show kids the ropes when it came to relationships, friendships, hating your parents, understanding your parents, sex, drugs, and alcohol, and other challenges. From The Breakfast Club to Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, from The Goonies to Clueless, these favorite teen angst and teen comedies form a modern-retro After School Special film series for the summer with more wonderful films to come in the Fall.

Film Schedule August 15 at 5:15pm & 7:30pm: The Goonies August 22 at 5:15pm & 7:30pm: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off August 29 at 5:15pm & 7:30pm: The Goonies

3Below Theaters & Lounge 288 So. Second Street San Jose, CA 95113

Tickets: $10.00  (Discounts available for Students, Seniors, Military and Educators) Special Youth Price: $8.00   Online at www.3Belowtheaters.com or 408.404.7711

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

Home. Cooked.

GOODNESS The taste of togetherness.

Save 75%* on Omaha Steaks

For more information visit BHPrinting.com or email dave@BHPrinting.com Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y6Z

The Family Gourmet Buffet 2 (5 oz.) Filet Mignons 2 (5 oz.) Top Sirloins 2 (4 oz.) Boneless Pork Chops 4 Boneless Chicken Breasts (1 lb. pkg.) 4 (3 oz.) Kielbasa Sausages 4 (4 oz.) Omaha Steaks Burgers 4 (3 oz.) Potatoes au Gratin 4 (4 oz.) Caramel Apple Tartlets OS Seasoning Packet (.33 oz.) 51689FLA $ $199.90* separately Combo Price

Plus, get 4 more Burgers and 4 more Kielbasa

FREE!

4999

*Savings shown over aggregated single item base price. Limit 2 51689 pkgs. Your 4 free burgers and 4 free kielbasa will be sent to each shipping address that includes 51689. Standard S&H will be added per address. Flat rate shipping and reward cards and codes cannot be used with this offer. Not valid with other offers. Expires 7/31/18. All purchases acknowledge acceptance of Omaha Steaks, Inc. Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. Visit omahasteaks.com/terms-of-useOSI and omahasteaks.com/info/ privacy-policy or call 1-800-228-9872 for a copy. ©2018 OCG | Omaha Steaks, Inc. | 18M0094

1-866-778-0901 ask for 51689FLA www.OmahaSteaks.com/like82


Helping Hands Shop with a Cop: Destinee Shop with a Cop Foundation of Silicon Valley is reaching out to you for some needed help. Throughout the years, our non-profit organization, has come across many young and energetic children through our Readers are Leaders program and the Heroes and Helpers Holiday shopping spree. One such child is a 10 year old girl named Destinee, a sweet, carefree, bright ray of sunshine who comes from a very close-knit family. With the amazing support of family and friends and a life full of passions for

her future, no one ever imagined that her life would look like it does right now. On April 14th, Destinee was taken to the ER because she wasn’t feeling right and was having a constant pain in her abdominal area. After many tests and a CT scan, it was discovered that Destinee’s pain was a Stage 3, malignant cancerous tumor growing in one of her ovaries. Destinee’s and her family’s world was turned upside down in a moment’s notice. The size of the tumor (11 x 19

cm) forced the family to follow Doctor’s orders to have the tumor removed immediately. Destinee underwent surgery to have the tumor removed the very next day on April 15th. At the time, the Doctors were confident that they had removed the cancerous tumor but after the pathology reports came back, certain markers showed that there were traces of cancer cells by Destinee’s belly button area. It is believed that when the tumor was removed, some of the fluid leaked and affected that area. Because of this, Destinee is undergoing chemotherapy treatments to kill the cancer cells. Her first treatment was on April 27th. The brutal chemo treatments are taking a toll on her body. She has lost quite a bit of weight, her hair has fallen out and she gets nauseous. Despite the unfortunate circumstances, Destinee

has a positive attitude and a smile on her sweet face. As you can imagine, the family was devastated by this news. Destinee’s mother, Miriam, will not be going back to work until Destinee is finished with her chemo treatments and gets a clean bill of health. This will obviously put a huge financial strain on the family as Miriam will be staying at home without any income and she does not qualify for Family Leave since she hasn’t been at her place of employment for more than one year. Being new homeowners with a pending increase of HOA fees and having only 80% insurance coverage, the medical co-pays will be high and the fear of losing their home is imminent. The last thing Destinee’s family needs during this difficult time is

the added stress of making ends meet. We are asking for your help in raising enough money to help cover the 20% of medical bills that the family is responsible for and to help them not fall behind on their mortgage payments. Please share Destinee’s story and consider making a donation. Any amount is appreciated. We can do this together for Destinee! Thank you in advance for your support.

To help Destinee and her family, go to https://www.gofundme.com/destinee10 Tax ID: 45-2780795

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute Y7Z


SPONSORSHIP PERKS ARE REAL! When YOU become a sponsor of Downtown Drop Down, you receive: • • • • •

Premier logo placement on marketing materials, An opportunity to schmooze with Silicon Valley executives and civic leaders, In-kind rappel spots (with a GoPro to capture it all), Recognition in media stories and most importantly...PRIDE in your efforts to END HOMELESSNESS!

No need to fundraise! Show your community just how much your company cares, while also getting to rappel.

Sponsorship levels vary. Get Started at http://streetsteam.org/downtowndropdown2018. A BIG THANK YOU TO OUR CURRENT 2018 SPONSORS!

Sign up to become a Sponsor today! Email Logan@streetsteam.org

OUR MOST POPULAR SPONSORSHIP PACKAGE


Sweet Notes September 23, 2018 5:30 pm The Greek Theater 2001 Gayley Rd Berkeley, CA 94720 Tickets start at $50 http://bit.ly/2GL3xLT As summer turns to fall, celebrate under the stars in the stunning Greek Theatre, with one of the greatest jazz orchestras in the world! International jazz ambassador, ninetime Grammy winner, and Pulitzer Prize recipient Wynton Marsalis and his legendary Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra transform the magnificent outdoor theater into the biggest— and swinging-est—party in town. The orchestra is joined by charismatic pianist and music director of The Late Show with Stephen Colbert’s house band, Jon Batiste, for a program celebrating the legacy of Duke Ellington. Expect the full panorama of Ellingtonia, from early Cotton Club “jump” classics, to dreamy big-band ballads, to selections from the Duke’s lushly orchestrated suites.

August 15th Luncheon with Speaker Denise Lombard For the August luncheon, we are excited to announce as our featured speaker - Denise Lombard, Director Supplier Diversity, Risk & Ethics Global Procurement Services at Cisco. Denise is well known for her ability to build and lead high performing global teams. Her expertise in solving complex business problems and providing outstanding service to internal and external customers sets her apart in transforming operations. Denise will discuss - “Cisco’s Supplier Diversity Program: Increasing your chances of breaking in”. Don’t miss this event, Register early to reserve your spot.

Classified

$30 for members | $40 for non-members | $45 for walk-ins

Senior Application Engineer

Review & recommend mods & approve product designs & specs. Provide production support. Adv deg & exp. Send resume: HR, Samsung Electro-Mechanics America, Inc. 3655 N 1st St, San Jose, CA 95134

August 15, 2018 - 11:00 am - 1:00 pm Biltmore Hotel and Suites 2151 Laurelwood Road Santa Clara, CA 95054 https://www.eventbrite.com/e/august-15th-luncheon-speakerdenise-lombard-director-supplier-diversity-risk-ethicsglobal-tickets-48149496440

Y9Z


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Andy Nguyen

Special Assignment

National Night Out in San Jose

Rainbow Funding ITALIAN FAMILY FESTA & Realty Italian American Heritage Foundation proudly presents the

August 25 & 26

History Park San Jose

WINE TASTING

MUSIC

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

CULTURE

(800) 782 - LOAN

SAT 11-8pm

FREE ADMISSION

SUN 11-6pm

italianfamilyfestasj.org | 408.293.7122 | @italianfestasj Y 11 Z

www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Making a Difference

Legislature Passes Bill to Preserve Health Care for Wildfire Victims The Legislature has unanimously approved Assembly Bill 2941, authored by Assemblymember Marc Berman (D-Palo Alto), to ensure that victims of wildfires and other natural disasters have continued access to health care. “The passage of this bill could not be timelier as wildfires rage throughout our state. Every Californian deserves the assurance that their health care needs will be met during a state of emergency,� said Berman. Under the bill, health plans and health insurers

would be required to provide access to medically necessary health care services to patients who have been displaced by a Governor-declared state of emergency. If signed into the law, health plans and health insurers could authorize care to be provided by an out-ofnetwork provider, extend filing deadlines for claims, suspend prescription refill limitations and allow prescriptions to

be refilled at an out-ofnetwork pharmacy, relax time limits for referrals, and allow for medical equipment or supplies to be replaced. In the last month, Governor Brown has declared six states of emergency in nine counties due to wildfires. In 2017, Governor Brown declared 14

Y 15 Z

states of emergency in 18 counties due to wildfires that tore through the state destroying homes, threatening critical infrastructure, and displacing over one hundred thousand residents. AB 2941 recognizes the importance of consistent health care coverage for patients with

chronic conditions as well as those with injuries and illnesses caused directly by wildfires and other natural disasters, and will ensure that they have continued access to medically necessary health care services. The bill now awaits Governor Brown’s signature.


Make Your Backyard

Pay Your Mortgage! -

Easy to assemble cottage kits Old World quality craftsmanship Many n,odels to choose from Affordable!

Call: 1-855-872-7868

www.UnforgettableFireLLC.com www.UnforgettableTinyHouse.com

Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review August 11, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 13

The Bay Area Review August 11, 2018  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 2, Number 13