__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 3, NO. 7

April 15, 2019

Better at knowing what matters to you Happy Birthday, Billie!

Hot Blues by All-Stars

Things are getting a lot more BLUESY in San Jose with the inaugural show on April 7, by the Gardenia Society celebrating Billie Holiday’s Birthday. Local entrepreneur and music aficionado, Mark Hughes and his wife Mariana look forward

to introducing a bit of a different groove into the South Bay music scene.   This first, a promise of more to come, event did feature some local well known talent - Lady Bianca, Guitar Mac and Lloyd Gregory to name a few taking part in this showcase. 

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 95037 95051 Y1Z

Mark, says the “Gardenia Society is first a music appreciation fellowship. And all are welcome to be part of the celebration of such a great American Art form.” 

Continued on Page 7

Music Lessons Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

$1

5

Piano, Guitar, Drums, Bass & Flute


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com

We're adding to our 2018-19 season with more cabaret nights and a special theater event at the Coupa Cafe at Stanford's Golf Course!

Malpaso Dance Company Fri, May 1, 7:30 pm Sat, May 2, 7:30 pm Memorial Auditorium

Lang Lang Sun, May 3, 2:30 pm Bing Concert Hall

Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen

Comedy Night Adam CaytonHolland

Two Pints Abbey Theater on Tour

Sat, May 4 at 7:00 PM & 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Wed-Sat, May 15-18 Coupa Cafe at the Stanford Golf Course

Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor, Public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Bing Fling The History of Frost Sat, May 11 at 8:00 PM Bing Concert Hall

Comedy Night Gina Brillon Fri, Jun 7 at 7:00 PM & 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Donny McCaslin Sat, Jun 8 at 7:00 PM & 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Y2Z

https://live.stanford.edu


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


Making a Difference 7th Annual Crime Stoppers Crab Feed What a Feast of do-gooders came together in San Jose to celebrate our folks who serve in Law Enforcement. Silicon Valley Crime Stoppers organization held its 7th annual Crab Feed, April 5th at the Police Officer’s Association Hall and this event welcomed members of the public, corporate sponsors, volunteers and many friends and family. An eager and appreciative crowd kept the night fun by bidding on great swag from the silent auction items on display. This event is held as a fundraiser for Silicon Valley Crime Stoppers and the proceeds are important  to the organization’s efforts to acknowledge and support our various Law Enforcement in the Bay Area.  What Good Company    **   What Good Food    **   What a Good Cause Supervisor, Dave Cortese (middle) and Bud LoMonaco, Vice President of Crime Stoppers (right) with a few friends

a few of the night’s volunteers

Silent Auction Treasure

These guys mean business Johnny Khamis, Chris Horton, Chippy, Dave Cortese

www.svcrimestoppers.org Dee Barragan, President of Crime Stoppers, Chippy and Kermit “Moe” Edwards, Jr.

Y4Z


Tickets on sale now! Go to https://www.losgatoschamber.com/wine-walk

https://www.signupgenius.com/ go/5080b49afae2ca6f58-spring


Celebrate Happy Birthday, Billie! Cont’ Jazz is rooted in Gospel, Blues and Folk Music as its own language. Having the program follow the roots and migration of music from the rural South up through the industrial cities of the North/ East of America. The Caravan of All-Stars from the West Coast Blues Society did their thang for

an eager audience. And Lady Bianca put her touch on several Billie Holiday songs for the appreciative crowd. A Latin flavor was given to some Jazz standards by LaMariana, Latina Holiday. www.gardeniasociety.org 

Mark says Let’s do this

Lady Bianca

Y7Z

LaMariana Hughes


District 2 News

When I think about what it looks like for a community to come together with a common purpose, I am proud to say I picture District 2's Annual Great American Litter Pick Up on Saturday, April 13, 2019: Hundreds of residents of all ages spending a sunny morning with my team to #beautifySJ and help us achieve #D2CleanStreets! Our biggest community clean up event of the year was a hugely successful collaboration between the City's AntiGraffit Anti-Litter Program, the City's Project Hope initiative in the District 2 Roundtable Drive neighborhood, our generous sponsors, and our diverse volunteers, including: Neighborhood Association leaders, local business owners, Oak Grove High School students, Santa Teresa High School students, local Boys and Girls Clubs, UA Local 393 members and apprentices (and even their children!), and more. Here's what we accomplished at our 2019 Great American Litter Pick Up: 240+ Volunteers 240+ Trash bags collected 3 Sites (Pictured above: Oak Grove High School, Christ the King Church, Santa Teresa High School) 1 day! As always, I am grateful to our Sponsors who made this day even more enjoyable for our volunteers: UA Local 393, Astrid Tromp, Angie Cocke, Gabi's Petite Cafe, Delizias Bakery, 7-Eleven, Mercado California, and TacoMania. Let's continue to work together to move our City forward and make our neighborhoods more beautiful, inclusive, and welcoming. Please follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Nextdoor as I provide timely updates on opportunities and issues that affect you in South San Jose and beyond. In community, Sergio Jimenez

http://www.sanjoseca.gov/index.aspx?NID=149 Y8Z


https://icsbd.org

8th Annual Small Business Summit of Entrepreneurship and Innovation Join the Silicon Valley SBDC, the County of Santa Clara, City of San Jose and the Hispanic Chamber of Commerce Silicon Valley and the Industry Council for Small Business Development, for informative and inspirational workshops, networking and resources for you and your business, in celebration of National Small Business Week.

To Register, Go To

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/8th-annual-small-business-summit-of-entrepreneurship-and-innovation-tickets-56536013739

Upcoming Event April 30, 2019 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM PDT Santa Clara County Building 70 West Hedding Street San Jose, CA 95110 For any questions regarding the event, please contact: Antoinnae Comeaux at 408.491.7418 or Christina Romero at 408.338.5058


Experience you can Trust

SE REN 0 GROUP

CAROL CAMILLI-MONTGOMERY REAL ESTATE PROFESSIONAL

■ WWW.CAMILLIHOMES.COM ■ CAMILLIHOMES@SERENOGROUP.COM

BRE #01210160

CELL: 408.209.7809

Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984 www.Boydstreeservice.com Michael W. Boyd – Owner

You can recycle your old mattress for free.

Stop illegal dumping.

Don’t dump your old mattress. Not only is it illegal, but it will end up in a landfill when it could be so much more. On the other hand, recycling the mattress and box spring lets the steel, foam, fiber and wood become new products. Like steel parts, filters, carpet padding and even mulch for your garden. Find out about your FREE recycling options at ByeByeMattress.com.

To learn more about the benefits of mattress recycling, visit

ByeByeMattress.com

Fully Insured PL & PD and Worker’s Compensation Second Generation Experience Contractor License #665121

Structural Pruning Tree trimming Stump removal

boydstslm@gmail.com

408-371-5040


Tickets:

Free - $75 https://www.healdsburgjazzfestival.org/buy_Tickets

Join us for the second annual Silicon Valley Half Marathon, 10K, Food Truck 5K and Kids Run races

Sunday, April 28, 2019 in Downtown San Jose!

The Healdsburg Jazz Festival is a celebration of the indigenous American art form known as Jazz. Over the past decadeplus, the Healdsburg Jazz Festival has become a favorite local tradition with a growing national reputation. This 10-day festival of public performances by world-renowned musicians in diverse settings, including the historic Raven Theater, the glamorous Hotel Healdsburg, and several boutique restaurants and wineries, has grown into one of the North Bay’s most celebrated annual musical events.

Represent Running presents the second annual Silicon Valley Half Marathon with Silicon Valley Education Foundation (SVEF) as the official benefitting nonprofit partner. This year, all Silicon Valley Half events will take place on Sunday, April 28, 2019, in Downtown San Jose at East Arena Green. Run or walk any distance! This day of family-fun includes a Half Marathon, 10K, Food Truck 5K, and a Kids Run race, as well as a post-race festival featuring live music, artists, food trucks, craft beer and wine. Don't want to participate in the run, but still want to be a part of the fun? Volunteer for the event instead! Non-runners, over the age of 18, age are encouraged to volunteer as 'course monitors' to help keep runners stay on-track! Additionally, we invite anyone to help as a 'water station' volunteer. After volunteering, we invite all course monitors to join us at the post-race festival.

Use promo code SVEF for 10% off any event!

To Register, Go To

https://raceroster.com/ events/2019/17927/2019-silicon-valley-half


District 10 News 6TH ANNUAL LATINO ALZHEIMER’S CONFERENCE

Assemblymember Levine’s Firearm Tax Measure Approved

An education program presented by the Alzheimer’s Association® Free diabetes & blood pressure screenings Complimentary breakfast & snacks! MAIN TOPICS: » Why are there so many Latinos with Alzheimer’s? Come find out! » Planning for Future Care Cost » Finding Wellness through Self-Empowerment » Tips to Nourish a Healthy Brain SPECIAL GUESTS: » Stephanie Piña-Escudero, MD

Geriatrician (Specialist in Dementia) GBHI Memory and Aging Center-UCSF

» Serggio Lanata, MD

Neurologist, – GBHI Memory and Aging Center-UCSF

» Juan M. Calderón Jaimes, Consul General of Mexico in San Jose, CA

Invite your family, friends & neighbors

Saturday, April 27, 2019 8 a.m.-1 p.m. Program starts at 9 a.m. » Program presented in Spanish Mexican Heritage Plaza 1700 Alum Rock Ave San Jose, CA 95116 TO REGISTER CALL SANDRA 408.372.9919 OR REGISTER ONLINE: tinyurl.com/SJLatinoConference2019 Contact us if you need caretaking assistance for an adult with Dementia during this event.

ALL ARE WELCOME! THIS IS A FREE EVENT

Visit alz.org/CRF to explore additional education programs in your area.

6TA CONFERENCIA LATINA ANUAL SOBRE ALZHEIMER Un programa educativo presentado por Alzheimer’s Association® Exámenes gratuitos de diabetes y presión arterial ¡Desayuno y aperitivos gratuitos! TEMAS PRINCIPALES: » ¿Porqué hay tantos Latinos con Alzheimer? Entérese! » Planificación para Costos de Cuidado Futuro » Armonía sin Estrés » Como Nutrir un Cerebro Saludable INVITADOS ESPECIALES: » Dra. Stephanie Piña-Escudero,

Geriatra (Especialista en Demencia) GBHI Memory and Aging Center-UCSF

» Dr. Serggio Lanata,

Neurólogo – GBHI Memory and Aging Center-UCSF

» Juan M. Calderón Jaimes, Cónsul General de Mexico en San Jose, CA

Sábado, Abril 27, 2019 8 a.m.-1 p.m. Programa comienza a las 9 a.m. » Este programa será presentado en Español Mexican Heritage Plaza 1700 Alum Rock Ave San Jose, CA 95116 PARA REGISTRARSE LLAME A SANDRA 408.372.9919 O REGISTRARSE EN LA LÍNEA tinyurl.com/SJLatinoConference2019 Déjenos saber si necesita asistencia de cuidado para adulto con Demencia durante este evento

Invite a sus familiares, amigos y vecinos

¡TODOS SON BIENVENIDOS!

EVENTO GRATUITO

Visite alz.org/CRF para explorar más programas educativos en su área.

Legislation by Assemblymember Marc Levine (D-Marin County) to impose a statewide excise tax of $25 on the sale of handguns and semiautomatic rifles was approved yesterday by the Assembly Public Safety Committee on a 5 to 3 vote. Co-authored by seven legislators from throughout California, AB 18’s firearm tax would create a stable, ongoing revenue stream to support the California Violence Intervention and Prevention Grant Program (CalVIP). CalVIP supports violence intervention and prevention activities, with preference given to programs that have been shown to be the most effective at reducing violence and to applicants in cities or regions disproportionately affected by violence.   CalVIP, which is overseen by the Board of State and Community Corrections, issues grants to cities and communitybased organizations. Grant recipients in 2018 included Los Angeles, Oakland, Richmond,

Y 12 Z

San Bernardino, Stockton, Compton, Vallejo, Pasadena, Salinas, Oxnard and Santa Rosa. More than a dozen communitybased organizations serving at-risk youth also received grants of up to $500,000. “We must end gun violence in every California community,” said Assemblymember Levine. “A token $25 is a small amount for gun owners to pay to stem the tragic violence guns inflict on innocent Californians and will create a permanent and desperately needed funding source for CalVIP.”  AB 18 now heads to the Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee for further action.  Assemblymember Marc Levine represents California’s 10th Assembly District, which includes Marin and southern Sonoma Counties. Connect with Assemblymember Levine on social media: @AsmMarcLevine.


Wet Your Whistle Whiskies of the World

https://whiskiesoftheworld.com

San Jose was the place for a taste of Whiskies of World. Douglas Smith, the local organizer and true enthusiast for all things Whiskey -- Psycho Donuts infused with a wee dram of BLACKENED WHISKEY for a prelim event leading up to WOW.   To say the evening can make quite an impression - with each and every choice your palate can  experience flavors - intense to subtle to spectacular - all in the same tasting selection.  Ah, such a variety of Whiskies being paired up with just the right array of nibbles -- just what the well versed modern drinks connoisseur seeks out.

Y 13 Z


A Global Feast Pebble Beach Food & Wine Each year Pebble Beach Food & Wine is the gathering for all those looking to taste the best the Culinary World has to offer -- in one of the best locales in all the world. What’s not to love ... Incredible Food, Excellent Wines, Beautiful Scenery .... it is a given to put everyone in pretty Good Spirits. Ha. Ha. I had to do that! Take in a cooking

demonstration with your favorite celebrity Chef and then make it over to a tasting for a Wine, Champagne, Whiskey and/or Tequila while partaking of the unbelievable array of culinary offerings -- the whole experience is mind blowing and waist challenging to say the least.   This event offers the perfect opportunity to

mix, mingle and munch your way around the world, that is meant to introduce you to libations you never knew existed and experience talented food creations that delight and challenge your taste buds ... in the same bite. The Global Food & Wine scene is just outside your door in California on any given day - most assuredly in Pebble Beach -- it’s Par for the course.

Pebble Beach Food & Wine -- the Perfect Blend to indulge in each year. Chef Dangond said, “It is a privilege to be at this event, I would say imperative. It means you (as a Chef) are making it in your career. This is an honor for me to be invited and represent LYNX Grills, an amazing product. I am the Culinary Director with this product and presenting this equipment that is super easy to work with and just happens to be beautiful as well.  Powerful and

yet user-friendly for the novice and great for the professional cook with power from low to over 1000 degrees, if you want. And I love the pizza oven - thin crust in 3 minutes”. Chef Dangond was demonstrating the New high-tech Lynx Professional All Trident Grill that has an option of a groundbreaking safety technology, FLAMETRAK.  Designed to address and ultimately eliminate gas grill accidents.  www.lynxgrills.com

LEXUS offered up something good

Lexus created an New Orleans experience

Y 14 Z


A Global Feast

Chefs At Play

Driscolls

Andres Dangond, LYNX Executive Chef

Y 15 Z


Profile for The Bay Area Review

The Bay Area Review April 15, 2019  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 3, Number 7

The Bay Area Review April 15, 2019  

The Bay Area Review, formerly South Valley Review Volume 3, Number 7