Page 1

F

RM Review

E E R

Asquith, Borden, Conquest, Delisle, Donavon, Grandora, Harris, Kinley, Langham, Laura, Milden, Outlook, Perdue, Pike Lake, Sonningdale, Swanson, Tessier, Vanscoy, Zealandia Volume 20 Number 12

Your COMMUNITY... Your NEWSPAPER

December 2019

Merry Christmas... feature on Page 5

T

Delisle Players win Gold and are off to New Zealand

wo Delisle Pride Fastball Club players are off to the U18 Men’s World Cup in New Zealand from Feb 22 - Mar 2, 2020. Max Major(Delisle) and teammate Ryan Bicknell(Prince Albert) joined coach Kalen Kovitch(Prince Albert) and the rest of Team Canada at the Pan American Softball Qualifier in Guatemala in November where they won the gold medal game. Canada got some great pitching and a key hit in the fifth to defeat Mexico 4-1 in the Gold medal game of the Pan American Softball Championship. Reese Yantzi (Shaskespeare, Ont.) was stellar in the pitcher’s circle limiting Mexico to only four hits, while Joey Rousseau (St-Charles-de-Bellechasse, Que.) delivered a tie-breaking three-run inside-the-park home run to provide the offence. In the top of the first, Mexico got a two-out single, but the next batter grounded out, while Canada got a leadoff single by Ryan Bicknell (Prince Albert, Sask.) followed by a hit by pitch but a sacrifice bunt, ground out and strikeout left two runners stranded. Both teams put two runners on base with a single and a walk in the second but neither team was able to open the scoring. Mexico got on the board first in the top of the third, getting a leadoff infield single with the runner stealing second, moving up to third on a passed ball and scoring on a sacrifice fly. Connor Brooks (Napanee, Ont.) lined a one-out double to center in the bottom of the inning but was caught in a rundown on a fielder’s choice on the next play. In the bottom of the fourth, Rousseau was hit by a pitch, stole second and took third on a ball in the dirt before scoring on a single off the end of the bat of Jack Becker (Drumbo, Ont.) that the third baseman was unable to get to, evening the score at 1-1. Mexico got their leadoff batter on base to start the fifth, but he was caught stealing at second, and Yantzi got out of the inning with a fly out and a strikeout.

at the Delisle Hotel 50’s Themed Bash ! Prizes for Best Male and Female Costumes

EE e FR Karaouknch

L  & s DJ night vour a d i F M rty Pa

NO CH COV D r i A R G ER nks E!

Ca fe $5.5 4 - Open 0 10

Party from 9:00pm - 3:00am Designated Driver Rides Homes $5 in Town, $20 in 20 mile radius

INDEX

Canada was able to break the tie in the bottom half of the fifth. Jackson Pegelo (Cargill, Ont.) hit a one-out double to right, and after a strikeout for the second out of the inning, Andrew Van Boekel (Bright, Ont.) drew a walk to put two runners on base. Rousseau then stepped up and put a charge into a deep fly ball to centerfield, with the centerfielder falling shy of the warning track and the ball hitting off his glove and to the fence, allowing both runners and Rousseau to score on the insidethe-park home run and put Canada ahead 4-1. Yantzi allowed a two-out single and a walk in the sixth but struck out the following batter, and retired Mexico in order in the seventh to end the game. Yantzi earned the complete game win, allowing one run on four hits and five walks, striking out 10 batters over seven innings. Rousseau had the three-run home run, Becker had a run-scoring single and Brooks and Pegelo each hit a double. Max Major (Delisle, Sask.) added two singles and Bicknell hit one. The win gave Canada the gold medal, winning six straight games after losing their opener to the United States. Mexico earned the silver medal, with their two only losses coming to Canada. Argentina defeated Guatemala 4-0 to win the bronze medal. All four teams will compete at the World Cup in New Zealand. Max Major, Asst. Coach Kalen Kovitch, Ryan Bicknell

Borden Student is on Provincial Youth Council

J

ade Matte, a Grade 11 student at Borden School, has been selected as a member of the inaugural Provincial Youth Council for the 2019/20 school year. Jade is an active and committed student in Borden School, a K-12 school with an enrolment of 99 students. She says growing up in Borden is a “good starting place”, with many opportunities to get involved and serve the school and community. She is one of three SRC presidents at the school. She helps coach the Junior Girls volleyball team. She actively volunteers in her community at the various annual events in the village. The Ministry of Education describes the Youth Council as an opportunity for students to “address meaningful issues directly with the Minister of Education… while also providing guidance on how to better engage students.”

Education making the final selections. The Youth Council participants all attend different school divisions in the province. The Youth Council met for the first time in mid-October in Saskatoon. The meeting included the Minister of Education and Ministry officials. “It’s kind of new,” Jade said. “It’s not a concept that we’ve ever been offered before: having somebody in a position like that ask you what you think.” Jade added that she believes that students should have the opportunity to talk about their experience in school. “I was honoured to be part of that and share my opinions,” she said. “My small impact can make a big impact on the province.” She observed that the Youth Council members are focused on the same goal: improving education and helping students be prepared for life after high school.

Twelve students from around the province were chosen to participate in the Youth Council. Students were nominated to be part of the Youth Council through their school divisions, with the Ministry of

The Youth Council will meet throughout the upcoming year. Some of their meetings may be online, as the students are from around the province and have busy schedules.

In addition to the Provincial Youth Council, Jade is also participating in a Student Voice Focus Group with Prairie Spirit School Division. This student-led work will help guide the school division in designing effective learning environments for students.

Jade Matte selected for Provincial Youth Council

Christmas Recipes, Carols, Games, Student Writings.... Feature on Pages 5 - 11

Editorial........................... p. 2 RCMP Reports................. p. 3

Council Reports............... p. 4 MP Report....................... p. 13 Community Calendar........ p. 15 School Reports................. p. 13 Community Reports........ p. 14 Business Directory............. p. 16

Read the RM Review on your computer, tablet or phone with our FREE On-Line Reader at www.rmreview.net


2

December 2019

Editorial

I

RM Review

www.rmreview.net

More Than Just a ‘Printed’ Community Newspaper

n this day and age of the digital revolution, the print industry continues to struggle against the convenience and immediacy of internet news services and social media. The recent exit of the Davidson Leader newspaper in Saskatchewan, which had been operating since 1904, is just the latest example of closures and layoffs in the industry around the globe. Many print media outlets have tried to re-invent themselves as a digital on-line service, but many have also just gone away. In the midst of this evolution the RM Review has managed to not only survive as a print medium, but we are actually expanding and thriving.

Our unique format of publishing monthly, direct mail distribution and free pick-up on news stands, along with the valuable support of community contributors, allows us to keep the cost of production down to a viable level. Advertisers pay these bills, but the contributions of local stories and events from many members of the community keep our readers coming back. We would like to recognize these contributors for what they do !

We also provide a weekly service with our Weekly Events Update email every Sunday and a weekly updated website for more regular features like the RCMP Reports or the weekly school activities. Find it all at www.rmreview.net We also provide a daily service through Facebook and Twitter for breaking news and reminders of upcoming events. Please join us at www.facebook.com/rmreview and www.twitter.com/rmreview

That said, we do not just offer this printed product. Readers can find our free on-line reader at www.issuu.com/rmreview This allows you to read the monthly newspaper on your digital devices anywhere, anytime.

Thank you to everyone who has helped us in making this another successful year. We wish you all a very Merry Christmas and the best of luck in the New Year !

Promote your Business in 2020 with the annual RM Review Contests

Valentine’s Day Contest January Issue - Participation Deadline January 3rd Keep sales going in January by promoting your “Day of Love” Products, Services and Events.

Contest runs January 9 - February 3rd

Mother’s Day Contest April Issue - Participation Deadline March 27th Kick off Spring by Promoting your “Just for Mom” Products, Services and Events with us.

Contest runs April 2 - April 27th

Summer STAY-cation Contest June Issue - Participation Deadline May 22nd Keep your Christmas sales going in January by promoting your Products, Services and Events.

Contest runs May 28 - June 22nd mail@rmreview.net 306 - 668- 1312

www.rmreview.net

Ken Sowter - Editor

DELISLE HOTEL NHL Draft Standings (on December 3rd) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46

Double “DD” 2 795 The Rad Gyck 789 Chicken Fingers 787 Mel O. 784 The Flamingos 784 Norma Rae 780 Vanisaac 778 FOMOCO 777 Will’s Team 776 Lanny’s Muzzy 769 Jo’s Picks 767 Big Chubb 767 Tean H 765 Charlie 759 Wakey’s picks 759 TML 756 Cmack 756 Keep the Change 756 Pumper 751 TIKI 750 Gohawks 745 Howe itzer 744 Rando’s Kamando’z 739 Gary’ Goats 736 Dildo Shwaggins 735 Finger The Chicken 735 KT 734 Buzzards 733 Top Strand 730 You Know Who I Am 728 Robin Hood 728 The Eagle 725 Bone Ranch 721 Frank’s “Not Loser’s” 718 Bubba’s Boys 717 EH Team 717 The Beez Kneez 712 EDOILRS 709 B97Rath 708 Bobbinfordoughnuts 703 Blue and Gold 699 Bears and Bruins 698 JUMBOlicious 682 Scott’s Picks 654 Double D1 645 The Free Sisters 487

Part-Time Office Assistant Resumes will be accepted until 4:30 P.M., December 31st, 2019 for the part-time position (approximately 20 hrs/week) of

Office Assistant for the Town of Delisle The successful candidate will have extensive computer and accounting skills, with specific knowledge in MS Office software. Primary duties include maintaining website, producing monthly newsletter, social media/ promotional activities, reception, receipting and other assigned duties. Specific hours and wage negotiable depending on experience. Submit resume to:

Town of Delisle, Box 40, Delisle, Sask., S0L 0P0 or e-mail delisle@sasktel.net.

DWEIN TRASK REALTY INC. Saskatoon, SK (306) 221- 1035

Nov 4, 2020

8 Seats Left

Vanscoy

Delisle

302 acres of farmland 1km East of Vanscoy. Includes old yardsite. Call for info.

40 acres with pavement under 30 min. from Saskatoon. $98900

Pike Lake

Highway 7 exposure near Delisle. 18 acres easy to develop. $114900

40 acre parcel on quiet location between Pike Lake and Delisle ready to develop. $97500

For these listings or any other Real Estate matters please call Dwein

For pictures and additional details check out

www.traskrealty.ca

CONTACT THE RM REVIEW CONTACTS

ON-LINE VERSION

DISTRIBUTION & SUBSCRIPTIONS

Phone: 306-668-1312 mail@rmreview.net www.rmreview.net Box 333, Vanscoy, SK S0L 3J0

Every issue is available for free, in full color, with our online reader. Click on the link on our website at... www.rmreview.net

4,000 issues of the RM Review are published monthly and direct mailed for free to homes in the communities shown in the map to the right. Out of area subscriptions are available for $36/yr. As well, it is available for free pick-up at local news stands throughout this distribution area.

We reserve the right to edit copy for libel or other legal, spelling or grammatical errors. We accept no liability for any such errors.

January Issue comes out January 9th - Submission Deadline January 3rd


RM Review

December 2019

www.rmreview.net

RCMP REPORT

Warman, Martensville, Delisle, Radisson Detachments September 30 - October 28, 2019

Collision with Deer near Langham October 28, 2019 at 8:05 p.m. RCMP received a call on highway 16 by Langham. Vehicle vs deer. Some damage to his front bumper but the vehicle was still drivable. No injuries. Car Stolen from Langham Residence October 30, 2019 at 7:52 a.m. RCMP received a call of a stolen car in Langham. Car was unlocked and running with keys in it. This car was located and towed. Garage Vandalized in Delisle October 30, 2019 at 4:49 p.m. RCMP received a call in Delisle. A building has graffiti sprayed on the front and on the garage. Still under investigation. Collision with Deer near Asquith October 30, 2019 at 6:58 p.m. RCMP received a call on highway 376 by Asquith. Vehicle vs deer, the vehicle was still drivable, no injuries.

Fear & Loathing in Pike Lake November 1, 2019 at 2:30 p.m. RCMP received a call in Pike Lake. Male walking, seemed confused and didn't know where he was when asked. Dressed in dark clothes and had a red back pack. Patrols made and male not located. Lost in Vanscoy November 1, 2019 at 11:51 p.m. RCMP received a call on highway 7 by Vanscoy. Male walking along the side of the highway wearing nothing reflective, and all in dark clothing. Member made patrols and found the male and was given a ride back to Saskatoon. Two Ticketed for Passing School Bus November 7, 2019 at 8:41 a.m. RCMP received a call in Asquith. A two vehicle went past a bus while school bus stop sign was extended. Tickets were sent out to the registered owners.

Fake $50 Bills Passed at Langham Business November 5, 2019 at 2:28 p.m. RCMP received a call in Langham. A business received a fake $50dollar bill. The bank confirmed it was a fake $50. Still under investigation. Stolen Vehicle Found in Maymont November 6, 2019 at 8:57 a.m. RCMP a call in Maymont. Recovery of stolen vehicle. Vehicle was not damaged and towed. Registered Owner advised. Victims Hospitalized in Hwy 14 Accident November 8, 2019 at 7:42 a.m. RCMP, Saskatoon fire and Ambulance received a call on highway 14 near Saskatoon. Two vehicle collision. Occupants of the vehicles were rushed to hospital with serious injuries. Both vehicles towed.

RM of Vanscoy Rural Crime Watch

S

eason’s Greetings from the RM of Vanscoy Rural Crime Watch. 2019 was a year of growth for both the Rural Crime Watch program and RM of Vanscoy Police Service. The Rural Crime Watch program welcomed 36 new households to the membership in 2019 and currently serves over 550 neighbours from 270 households in the RM of Vanscoy and communities of Asquith, Vanscoy, Pike Lake, and Delisle. Thanks to our friends at QuikSigns, we are happy to report that over 110 crime watch signs are, or will be, posted by our members across the RM. If you are a member and would like to purchase a crime watch sign, they are available for $10.50 each at the RM office (exact cash or cheque made out to RM of Vanscoy Rural Crime Watch accepted) during regular hours. The Rural Crime Watch organizing committee was out and about in the community this fall, attending the Vanscoy School Community Open House in September and the Area Crime Watch Leads meeting in October. In November, thanks to a generous donation from our friends at Moon Insurance, we hosted the 2nd Rural Crime Watch Anniversary Event to mark two years since the launch of the program. The highlight of the event for many members was

the opportunity to meet Sgt. Jason Mochoruk, the newest member of the RM of Vanscoy Police Service. Until a call forwarding system is in place, Sgt Mochoruk can be reached at (306)-3816150 when on duty and Sgt. Murray McCracken can still be reached at the main number – (306)-2916050. During the event, we held a membership drive, sold signs, and had some great discussion over coffee. We discussed the benefits of security cameras both for preventing and solving crime, we brainstormed opportunities for improvement of the Provincial Crime Watch System which we intend to pass along to the RCMP for consideration, and members shared some of their stories and concerns about recent suspicious activity in the RM. As we enter the final days of 2019, the RM of Vanscoy Rural Crime Watch would like to offer season’s greetings and leave you with these tips for a safe holiday season: • Expecting a doorstep delivery? Try to plan deliveries to limit the amount of time a package is visible on your doorstep. • Leave a timer on your house lights and/or radio/tv if you are away. • Do not announce your winter holiday plans on social media. • Ask a neighbour you trust to keep an eye on your property while you are away.

• Use motion detectors on outdoor lights. • Ask a neighbour or house sitter to drive into the yard after a fresh snow to leave tracks. Ask them to brush the snow off of any sitting vehicles if you will be away so it looks like they were used recently. • Switch to LEDs and run your outdoor or porch lights all night. • Don’t leave your garage door opener in your car as it is an easy way to gain access to the garage. • Move rain barrels, garbage bins, or other large items away from fence lines and entry points of the house as they can be used as a step to hop a fence or access a window. • Trust your dogs. If they bark at night, there is likely a good reason. • Keep everything locked up tight, especially vehicles, and instruct any holiday guests to do the same. • Use warning signage such as “beware of dog”, “This Property is Under Surveillance”, signage provided by your alarm company, and, of course, your RM of Vanscoy Rural Crime Watch Sign. • Early in 2019 we received a lot of reports of stolen mail in the RM. Be sure to check your mailboxes regularly and follow up on any expected items that do not arrive. Stay aware, stay connected, stay safe and have wonderful holiday season. RM of Vanscoy Rural Crime Watch Committee

Stolen Truck Found Snow Mobile Missing November 8, 2019 at 5:52 p.m. RCMP received a call in the RM of Warman. A vehicle and a snow mobile were stolen. White 2016 Toyota Tundra SK plate 144 KEY, still missing. 2009 Mirage snow mobile was later located. Still under investigation. Walker on Hwy 14 Returned to Saskatoon November 19, 2019 at 3:02 p.m. RCMP received a call on highway 14 by Saskatoon. Male walking westbound on highway. Member attended and gave the 52-year-old male a courtesy ride to his residence in Saskatoon. Lab Discovered near Donavon (dog that is) November 19, 2019 at 5:40 p.m. RCMP received a call off of highway 45 by Donovan. Abandoned Black lab was found by a hunter. No tags. Very friendly. Members attended several farms yard to locate owner. APSS contacted.

3

If you have information regarding any crimes contact Warman/Martensville RCMP 306-975-1670/306-975-1610 If you wish to remain anonymous please contact Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-TIPS (8477) You can also submit a tip at the website: saskcrimestoppers.com or text in a tip: TIP206 plus your tip to CRIMES (274637). ATV and Tools Stolen From Corman Park November 20, 2019 at 5:33 p.m. RCMP received a call in the RM of Corman Park. Stolen from a property Honda ATV, building supplies, lumber and tools. Still under investigation.

Stolen Vehicle Burns in Corman Park November 21, 2019 at 1:59 a.m. RCMP received a call in the RM of Corman Park. A stolen vehicle from Saskatoon was seen on fire. Vehicle towed to Saskatoon Police Service.

Erratic Dodge Van on Highway 16 November 20, 2019 at 6:43 p.m. RCMP received a call on highway 16 by Radisson. Erratic driver in a red Dodge van swerving all over the road. Battleford RCMP intercepted and stopped and warned the 55-year-old female about her driving.

Three Youths Injured near Delisle November 30, 2019 at 4:15 a.m. RCMP received a call in the RM of Delisle. A single vehicle collision with three occupants. A 19-year-old male and two 19-year-old females sent to hospital with minor injuries. Alcohol a factor. Tickets issued to occupants

SASKATCHEWAN CRIME WATCH ADVISORY NETWORK Receive Texts of Local Crime Alerts Sign up at www.saskcrimewatch.ca to receive crime watch notifications.

Become an RM Review Online member to get the Weekly RCMP Report in FREE email updates

www.rmreview.net

Cash & Carry Tupperware Sale ! December 3rd - 5th & 9th - 12th from 1pm - 7pm daily 1/2km North of Sandyridge (Hwy 14) on Range Road 3081 - watch for signs

Thousands in Stock - up to 75% off while quantities last  TO UP % 75 F OF

Bri n Frie g a nd

Call, text, or WhatsApp for directions or to book your January modular mate party with double host credits!

Call or email Cindy Monea Today !! 306 - 716 - 2515 cindythetupperwarelady@gmail.com Find me on Facebook at Cindy the Tupperware Lady

cindythetupperwarelady.my.tupperware.ca


4

December 2019

COUNCIL REPORTS

Reports are submitted by Council Administrators. Check with your Council if report is not printed here.

RM OF MONTROSE

TOWN OF ASqUITH

VILLAGE OF BORDEN

(Next Meeting December 12, 9:00am)

(Next Meeting December 11, 7:00pm)

(Next Meetings December 9, 7:00pm)

M

ontrose Municipal Council held a regular meeting on November 14, 2019.

November has brought us brutally cold days with snow and pleasantly warm days leading to mud. In saying that the winter weights are now in effect as of November 16, 2019. Details can be found on our website. Our railroad crossing at Donavon has been repaired and is in safe conditions today. With the late harvest, our crews were delayed with our bottom cut in the ditches. We were able to finish all mowing by mid-November. During our November council meeting, council revisited the pipeline agreement with Daniel Lingnau and approved the revised agreement as per the Water Security Agency recommendation. Council also entered into the Municipal Gas Tax Fund Agreement Amendment No. 1 as outlined by the Canada Gas Tax Fund to qualify for funds relating to infrastructure. Applications for Pest Control Officers closed on October 31st. Council will be hiring a new contractor for 2020. We thank Crystal Kearnan for her years of service as our Pest Control Officer in the municipality. The RM has been focusing on enforcing our Abatement of Nuisances Bylaw 2009-1. We want to remind all ratepayers that all outdoor storage of materials, building materials, lumber, scrap metal, boxes or similar items stored in a yard shall be neatly stacked in piles and elevated off the ground so as not to constitute a nuisance or harborage for rodents, vermin and insects. Materials must be elevated at least 0.15 metres off the ground and shall be stacked at least 3.0 metres from the exterior walls of any building and at least 1.0 metre from the property line. The transfer station hours returned to regular winter hours Saturday and Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm. Our waste station is located at NW 31-32-07 W3.

VILLAGE OF VANSCOY (Next Meeting December 11, 7:30pm)

V

anscoy Village Council held a regular meeting on November 13, 2019.

There were only 38 Emergency Measures Organization Resident Information forms returned to the office. In the event of an emergency the committee needs to know how many residents are in the Village and if anyone needs assistance. Please complete the forms and drop them off at the Village Office. If you would like to be part of the committee, contact the Village Office. The Village Office will be closed Monday December 23 to Monday December 30; December 31 the office will be open until noon. If payments are made online, please ensure they are received in the office no later than December 31. Tax that remains unpaid as of January 1 will be assessed a 10% penalty. Join Village Council and Rec Board representatives on Saturday December 7 for the Holiday Refuge at the Hall from noon to 3pm; enter your name for a draw for 2 Hampers each valued over $100. There will be crafts for the kids and a baking exchange. Council and Staff would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and all the best in 2020.

TOWN OF DELISLE (Next Meeting December 10, 7:00pm)

D

RM Review

www.rmreview.net

elisle Town Council held a regular meeting on November 12, 2019.

The Town adopted a Harassment Prevention Policy. The Town will be advertising for the position of a part-time office assistant. Certain outstanding accounts will be added to taxes if they remain unpaid as of December 31st, 2019. The Town entered into a land lease agreement with Sask Energy for the stockpile site immediately north of the east highway entrance. SPECIAL EVENT - The Delisle Recreation Association, Town of Delisle and the Delisle Chiefs invite you to attend the game on December 18th vs the Westleys as there is a Special Presentation during the 1st intermission. On behalf of the Delisle & District Recreation Association, we look forward to seeing you there.

A

squith Town Council held a regular meeting on November 13, 2019.

Attending were Mayor Gail Erhart, Councillors Dylan Claypool, Jeff Eide, Ted Goodnough, Jordan Claypool, Sue Sawicki, and Harold Edwards. Also attending was CAO Kathy Picketts and Foreman Darren Kraft. The meeting was called to order at 7:01 p.m. A resolution was made to accept the council minutes from the October 9, 2019 regular council meeting . Council made a motion to accept the October 2019 financial and October 2019 bank reconciliations as presented to them at the meeting. Accounts paid in the amount of $29,924.84 and accounts payable of $100,267.77 were accepted as presented. Foreman Kraft reported that the sewer main lines were flushed out, as well as the lagoon was pumped out. There was some ditching done on Charles Street and Hartley Street to improve drainage. The new fire hall addition now has been insulated and a furnace as well was installed. The lights will be also installed soon. The Asquith Sports Center had new lights installed on the inside. The Asquith Recreation Board issued grant cheques to the Asquith Fencing Club, LAS School Community Council, Asquith Elk’s Club, and LAS Athletics. January 1, 2020, council plans on raising the water rates by $.25 per 1000 gallons used which will bring the monthly minimum charge for water to $29.25 a month. Recycling rates have also gone up, so there will be a cost increase of $.25 per month. The basic monthly minimum for all utility bills will now be $93.00 as of January 1, 2020. A public meeting was held on November 5, 2019 regarding the Town of Asquith zoning bylaw to allow shipping containers in residential areas as storage units. Those who attended were very much against this amendment and Asquith Town Council has decided to abandon this amendment. Council would like to remind all residents that if you see something that is a crime or looks criminal, to call the RCMP at 306-975-1670. If you see individuals driving dangerously, speeding, or if you see something that just doesn’t look right, please call the RCMP. It does not do any good to come into the Town office the next day to report it to office staff. It is extremely important that the RCMP have a handle of how much crime, no matter how petty, is occurring in town.

Local Council Holiday Hours RM of Eagle Creek Office Closed Dec. 24 - 26 RM of Great Bend Office Closed Dec. 24 - 27 RM of Harris Office Closed Dec. 23 to 30 RM of Milden Office Closed Dec. 23 - 27 RM of Perdue Office Closed Dec. 18 - 29 RM of Vanscoy Office Closed Dec. 23 to 27 (Open Dec 31 from 8am - 3pm only)

Town of Asquith Closed Dec. 20 - 27 Town of Delisle Closed Dec. 23 - 27 Town of Langham Office Closed Dec. 25 to 27 (Open Dec 24 from 9am - 12pm only)

Village of Borden Office Closed Dec. 24 - 26 Village of Harris Office Closed Dec. 24 - 27 Village of Kinley Office Closed Dec. 23 27 Village of Milden Office Closed Dec. 25 - 30 Village of Vanscoy Office Closed Dec. 23 to 30 (Open Dec 31 from 9am - 12pm only)

H

ello Borden! It was nice to see the first snowfall, but also nice to see it go away! Our new snow plow was put to work, keeping our staff nice and warm in the truck. BJ also gave a workout to our new backpack blower clearing our sidewalks, thanks for getting out there and clearing the path for us guys! Since the last newsletter we have been a busy little village. The community hall has seen a number of events, all very well attended. It is truly heartwarming seeing how many people show up to support all that they can. Thanks to all of you, this is how a village survives and prospers! You have received a notice in your mailbox about the Community Potluck on Friday, November 22nd. This is a joint effort initiated by the School Community Council, the RM of Great Bend and the Village of Borden. You will have an opportunity to meet your council members and village staff, asking questions or making suggestions, as well as, talking to Loraas about the possibility of compost bins. Please mark this event on your calendar and plan to come! We had another visit from our commissionaire on October 30th. Judy, who is our new officer, would like to say hello to the community and that everything looks great. Thank you to all those who worked hard during our clean up, and thanks to BJ and Ross for the speedy pick up of all the branches and leaves. If we missed anyone, please let us know in the office. Do you have a carbon monoxide detector in your home? Do you know what to do if it starts alarming? Our fire department has had 2 calls since the weather turned cool. These are very serious, possibly lifethreatening calls. If you think you have a leak or your detector is alarming, call 911. Our fire department has the equipment to enter your home and test the air. They can advise you on the next steps to take if there is a leak. We have included a coupon from SaskEnergy for a natural gas/carbon monoxide detector. If you do not have one or think you need to replace, please make use of this. It’s that time of year again to start thinking about, dare we say, Christmas shopping. Please don’t forget we have Borden campfire mugs for sale at the village office for $10. We also have the REC cards for sale at $20, with local discounts for the following: Action Bowling, Gold Jacket Golf Room, Dalmeny Glow Curling, D-Town Fitness, Langham Rink and Museum, Road to Serenity Farm, Radisson Swimming Pool and Skating Rink, Glenburn Regional Park and Blue Mountain Adventure Park! Visit us at the office or shoot us an email for more information. Please consider shopping local this Christmas season. We have many home based and brick and mortar businesses right here in Borden that would appreciate your support.

RM OF CORMAN PARK (Ratepayers Meeting December 16, 7:00pm)

RM OF EAGLE CREEK (Next Meeting December 10, 8:00am)

RM OF HARRIS (Next Meeting December 4, 1:00pm)

RM OF MILDEN (Next Meeting December 11, 8:00am)

RM OF VANSCOY (Next Meeting December 12, 9:00am)

TOWN OF LANGHAM (Next Meeting December 16 6:30pm)

VILLAGE OF HARRIS (Next Meeting December 4, 7:00pm)

VILLAGE OF KINLEY (Next Meeting December 10, 7:30pm)

VILLAGE OF MILDEN (Next Meeting December 18, 7:30pm)

VILLAGE OF PERDUE (Next Meeting December 17, 7:30pm) All regular council meeting are open to any, and all, members of the public, regardless of residency.


RM Review

www.rmreview.net

December 2019

5

Share this pull-out Christmas Holiday Section with your Family & Friends Thank You to all of the Local Sponsors for making this feature section possible ! Thank you to all of our Contributors, Advertisers and Readers for your tremendous support in the past year

We wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy and Prosperous New Year Ken, Shelley & Remington Sowter

Thursday December 12 5:30 pm Delisle United Church

Saturday, Dec 7th

Christmas Church Services

Join the Staff for our Customer Appreciation Christmas Supper Complimentary Supper Served at 6pm

Holiday Hours

Asquith - Catholic Church

Christmas Eve: 11am - midnight Christmas Day: 12pm - 6pm Boxing Day: 11am - midnight New Years Eve: 11am - 2am  New Years Day: 11am - midnight

Dec 24 - Christmas Eve - 5:00pm Dec 31 - New Years Eve - 5:00pm

Asquith - Baptist Church Dec 15 - Christmas Concert - 7:00pm Dec 24 - Christmas Eve - 7:00pm

December 31st - Conquest Arena

Borden - Anglican Church Dec 15 - Charity Drive/Potluck - 4:00pm Dec 22 - Christmas Eve - 7:00pm

Delisle Community Chapel Dec 17 - Salad Extravaganza - 6:00pm (at Delisle Senior Centre)

Dec 24 - Candlelight Service - 6:00pm

Delisle-Vanscoy United Church Dec 15 - Christmas Pageant - 11:00am Dec 18 - Blue Christmas - 7:00pm Delisle at Vanscoy Circle Hall - Potluck Follows Dec 24 - Christmas Eve - 7:00pm Delisle

Pike Lake - Anglican Church Dec15 - Christmas Program - 2:00pm Dec 24 - Christmas Eve - 7:00pm

Vanscoy - Catholic Church Dec 24 - Christmas Eve Mass - 7:00pm

New Years Day Mass 10:00am - St. Francis Church - Vanscoy


Songs of the Season

Visit our website at

www.rmreview.net or follow us on...

All I Want For Christmas Rudolph the Is My Two Front Teeth Red-nosed Reindeer Every body stops and stares at me These two teeth are gone as you can see I don’t know just who to blame for this catastrophe! But my one wish on Christmas Eve is as plain as it can be! All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth, my two front teeth, see my two front teeth! Gee, if I could only have my two front teeth, then I could with you “Merry Christmas.” It seems so long since I could say, “Sister Susie sitting on a thistle!” Gosh oh gee, how happy I’d be, if I could only whistle (thhhh) All I want for Christmas is my two front teeth, my two front teeth, see my two front teeth. Gee, if I could only have my two front teeth, then I could wish you “Merry Christmas!”

Angels We Have Heard on High Angels we have heard on high, Sweetly singing o’er the plains: And the mountains in reply echoing their joyous strains. Refrain Glo-ria in excelsis D-eo, Glo-ria, in excelsis D-eo. Shepherds, why this jubilee? Why you joyous songs prolong? What the gladsome tidings be Which inspire your heav’nly song? Refrain Come to Bethlehem, and see Him whose birth the angels sing; Come, adore on bended knee, Christ, the Lord, our new-born King. Refrain

You know Dasher and Dancer and Prancer and Vixen Comet and Cupid and Donner and Blitzen But do you recall The most famous reindeer of all? Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Had a very shiny nose And if you ever saw it You would even say it glows All of the other reindeer Used to laugh and call him names They never let poor Rudolph Join in any reindeer games Then one foggy Christmas Eve Santa came to say, “Rudolph with your nose so bright Won’t you guide my sleigh tonight?” Then how the reindeer loved him As they shouted out with glee Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer You’ll go down in history!

Frosty the Snowman Frosty the snowman Was a jolly happy soul, With a corn cob pipe and a button nose And two eyes made out of coal; Frosty the snowman, is a fairy tale they say, He was made of snow but the children know How he came to life one day. There must have been some magic In that old silk hat they found ‘Cause when they put it on his head He began to dance around Oh, Frosty the snowman Knew the sun was hot that day, So he said, ‘Let’s run and we’ll have some fun Now before I melt away!’ Down to the village, with a broomstick in his hand, Running here and there all around the square, Saying, ‘Catch me if you can!’ He led them down the streets of town Right to the traffic cop, And he only paused a moment When he heard him holler ‘Stop!’ For Frosty the snowman had to hurry on his way. But he waved goodbye, saying, ‘Don’t you cry I’ll be back again same day!’ Thumpety thump thump, (2) Look at Frosty go, thumpety thump thump, (2) Over the hills of snow

I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus I saw Mommy kissing Santa Claus Underneath the mistletoe last night. She didn’t see me creep down the stairs to have a peep; She thought that I was tucked up in my bedroom fast asleep. Then, I saw Mommy tickle Santa Claus Underneath his beard so snowy white; Oh, what a laugh it would have been If Daddy had only seen Mommy kissing Santa Claus last night.

O Holy Night O holy night! The stars are brightly shining, It is the night of the dear Saviour’s birth. Long lay the world In sin and error pining ‘Till He appeared and the soul felt its worth A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices, For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn, Fall on your knees! O hear the angels voices! O night, divine! O night, when Christ was born, O night, divine! O night, O night divine!

Santa Claus is Coming To Town You better watch out You better not cry Better not pout I’m telling you why Santa Claus is coming to town He’s making a list, And checking it twice; Gonna find out who’s naughty and nice. Santa Claus is coming to town He sees you when you’re sleeping He knows when you’re awake He knows if you’ve been bad or good So be good for goodness sake! O! You better watch out! You better not cry. Better not pout, I’m telling you why. Santa Claus is coming to town. Santa Claus is coming to town.

Silent Night Silent night, Holy night All is calm, all is bright, ‘Round you virgin mother and child Holy infant so tender and mild. Sleep in heavenly peace, Sleep in heavenly peace. Silent night, Holy night Shepherds quake, at the sight Glories stream from heaven afar, Heavenly hosts sing,”Alleluia!” Christ the Savior is born Christ the savior is born. Silent night, Holy night Son of God, love’s pure light Radiant beams from Thy holy face With the dawn of redeeming grace, Jesus Lord at Thy birth Jesus Lord at Thy birth.

Jingle Bells Dashing through the snow In a one horse open sleigh O'er the fields we go Laughing all the way Bells on bob tails ring Making spirits bright What fun it is to laugh and sing A sleighing song tonight Oh, jingle bells, jingle bells Jingle all the way Oh, what fun it is to ride In a one horse open sleigh Jingle bells, jingle bells Jingle all the way Oh, what fun it is to ride In a one horse open sleigh A day or two ago I thought I'd take a ride And soon Miss Fanny Bright Was seated by my side The horse was lean and lank Misfortune seemed his lot We got into a drifted bank And then we got upsot Oh, jingle bells, jingle bells Jingle all the way Oh, what fun it is to ride In a one horse open sleigh Jingle bells, jingle bells Jingle all the way Oh, what fun it is to ride In a one horse open sleigh yeah Jingle bells, jingle bells Jingle all the way Oh, what fun it is to ride In a one horse open sleigh Jingle bells, jingle bells Jingle all the way Oh, what fun it is to ride In a one horse open sleigh


Family Favorites from your Community FALL SALAD CHRISTMAS CARROT PUDDING 1/2 recipe makes 1 pudding mold & 2 pint jars

1cup flour 2 tsp. baking soda 2 tsp. ground cinnamon 1 tsp. ground cloves 1 tsp. salt 2 cups bread crumbs Fruit Mixture: 1 cup margarine 2 cup brown sugar 2 cups of each grated carrots, grated apple, grated potato 2 cups currents 1/2 cup mixed glazed fruit 1/2 cup glazed cherries 1/2 cup nuts (optional ) Combine first 6 ingredients in large bowl. Combine Fruit Mixture and add to bowl. Put in mold (or jars) steam 3hrs to seal. Remove from mold, can now be frozen. To serve, warm pudding in mwo on glass dish, heat 2 or 3 tbsp. of rum and pour over pudding and flambe. Serve topped with rum sauce. Rum Sauce: 1/2 c. butter, 3/4 c. brown sugar , 1/4 c. cream, melt butter add sugar mix well, boil for 2 min, add cream and boil for 2 min. Remove from heat and add 2 tbsp of rum. Adele Sowter - Saskatoon ROLLED OATS SHORTBREAD 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour 1 tsp. baking powder 1/4 tsp. salt 1 cup soft butter 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup granulated sugar 1/2 tsp. vanilla 1 1/2 cups rolled oats (put oats in blender to make a bit finer) Sift flour, baking soda and salt. Cream butter well, gradually add sugars a bit at a time, creaming well after each addition, then vanilla and rolled oats. Using your hands add the flour gradually, just enough to make the dough stiff.

Salad 12 ounces "Spring Salad” mix 1 pear, sliced and chopped 1 apple, sweet - sliced and chopped 1/4 cup red onion, chopped 1/2 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds) - roasted and salted (If you can only find raw pepitas - heat a drizzle of olive oil in a nonstick skillet, add your 1/2 cup pepitas along with 1/4 teaspoon salt, stir until toasted. Turn onto parchment paper to cool.) 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds 4 ounces Gorgonzola cheese, soft - crumbled 1 Recipe of "5 Minute Perfect Caramelized Nuts” (using pecans) - Recipe to right... Roasted Squash 3 cups butternut squash, peeled and chopped into 1/2” - 3/4” cubes 2 teaspoons olive oil 1 tablespoon maple syrup 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon 1/4 teaspoon salt 1/8 teaspoon pepper dash of cayenne 1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. 2. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray. Add butternut squash followed by olive oil, maple syrup, cinnamon, salt, pepper and cayenne and toss until evenly coated. Lay in a single layer and roast for 15 20 minutes, or until tender. Pomegranate Vinaigrette 1/2 cup pomegranate juice 1/3 cup olive oil 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar 2 tablespoons sugar (more or less to taste) 1 tablespoon poppyseeds 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder 1/4 teaspoon salt 1/4 teaspoon pepper 1/8 teaspoon ginger powder 1. Combine all of the Pomegranate Vinaigrette ingredients in a bowl or jar with a tight-fitting lid. Either whisk or shake vigorously until combined. Store in the fridge until ready to serve (up to 5 days). Shake/whisk before serving.

Turn out and knead dough to blend thoroughly. Pat or roll into 9” x 12” rectangle and cut into 1 1/2” squares. Set on baking sheet and bake at 325F (160C) oven for 20-30 minutes or until golden brown. Cool, eat. enjoy.

Assemble 1. When ready to serve, toss all of the salad ingredients together a large bowl. If serving right away and you don’t expect leftovers then you can drizzle with the desired amount of dressing and toss to combine. If you expect leftovers serve the dressing on the side.

Nancy Carlson - Outlook

Lori Knutsmann - Vanscoy

5 MINUTE PERFECT CARAMELIZED NUTS 1 cup nuts 1/4 cup sugar 1 tablespoon butter 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon 1. Heat a medium non-stick skillet over medium heat and add nuts, sugar, butter and cinnamon. Stir constantly with a rubber spatula for approximately 5 minutes (less time if your nuts are chopped ) until the nuts are evenly coated in the melted mixture. 2. immediately transfer nuts to parchment paper and immediately separate using 2 forks or let the nuts harden together and break them apart once cooled. Lori Knutsmann - Vanscoy

LIGHT FRUIT COOKIES 1/2 cup soft butter 1/2 cup soft shortening 1/2 cup brown sugar 1/2 cup white sugar 1 egg 1 cup sifted flour 1/2 tsp. baking soda 1/2 tsp. salt 1 cup coconut 1/2 cup chopped dates 1/4 cup chopped red cherries 1/4 cup chopped green cherries 1 tsp. vanilla 2 cups quick rolled oats Preheat oven to 325. Grease baking sheet. Cream butter and shortening until fluffy. Add brown and white sugars and cream together well. Beat egg lightly and add to sugar and shortening. Blend well. Add flour, sifted with baking soda and salt. Mix in coconut, dates and cherries. Add oats and blend with the other ingredients. Drop by spoonfuls on greased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes. Nancy Carlson - Outlook


Merry Christmas to all... Papertrail Legacy

...from your community... Merry Christmas

May your Christmas bring many Happy Memories

from the Town of Delisle

Town of Asquith May the Spirit of Christmas bring Happiness RM of Montrose

Wishing all my clients a Safe and Happy Holiday Delisle Hotel & Cafe

Best Wishes Back 40 Embroidery

Happy Holidays Robin’s Nest Cafe

Wishing Everyone a Safe & Happy Holiday

Have a Safe Holiday Asquith Fire Department

from Plainsman HVAC-R Ltd. 306 - 493 - 2414

Thank You for supporting my small business dream ! DeeAnna’s Boutique

Merry Christmas

Bernie’s Mobile Power Wash and the Zerbin Family

Wishing you all the best, Through the New Year From the Staff & Board of Directors


Seasons Greetings

...from your community...

Village of Vanscoy Staff & Council

Merry Christmas and Best Wishes for a Happy New Year

Thank you to our patrons...

RM Review On-Line

Northern Factory Workwear Saskatoon

Wishing you a Joyous Christmas R.M. of Perdue

Wishing you a Safe and Happy Holiday Season

John Arcand Fiddle Fest

Warm Tidings to All

PCCU Insurance Harris

Jim, Brenda & Connie

Best Wishes for a Prosperous New Year

Norma Sparrow Desjardins Financial Security Investments Inc.

Happy Healthy Holiday Season to All

Merry Christmas RED WING SHOES Saskatoon “Glory to God in the Highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men” Luke 2:14

RM of Harris

Wishing Everyone a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Jim Reiter, MLA Rosetown - Elrose Constituency 215 Main Street, Rosetown Tel: 306 882 4105 FAX 306 882 4108 E-mail: jimreitermla@sasktel.net Box 278, Rosetown, SK S0L2V0

May the Message of Christmas bring you Hope, Joy and Peace throughout the New Year !

Delisle Veterinary Service


The Writer’s Corner

306 - 493 - 2408 This is just some of the many creative writings from Grade 7 students at Delisle Composite School - Thank you all ! A Wonderful Winter Scene by Lukas K I take one step, then another, snow crunching softly under my heavy black boots. I take a quick glance up from the ground and the harsh cold bites my frozen face, but regardless I stop to view the wonderful, winter scene. I see the snow coated roofs of the mid-winter morning, and a long faded red fence of a nearby home. There is a young boy wearing a bright orange winter coat carrying a small green needled tree on top of his yellow sled, he then walks behind the nearest of the olive green houses and disappears behind it. I then begin to notice the snowflakes falling from the cloudy blue sky and being swept away by the powerful wind, also making the tall, golden grass dance wildly. Then, for what after seems a long while, I exhale a cold, smoky breath in the cold and I take one step, then another, snow crunching softly under my heavy black boots once more, and I go down the hill where I was viewing the wonderful, winter scene.

Winter writing by Nessa I could hear the horse bells come close. Me and my brother run outside to see father with our cousins. The sled is filled with presents and decorations for our house that is already filled. Snowflakes falls on our heads. Mother is chasing us in her big winter dress. Cousins waving to us with big smiles on their faces. The wind is pulling us and the horses to the side. All we can smell is the baked goods. Father comes to greet us, our cousins are hugging us strong because we haven’t seen them since last winter. All the kids go off to the back yard to play around in the snow. Mother, Father and Aunt are laughing and singing. The horses are running around their pen with their bell still on. We all run inside and take off our wet clothing. We all sit by the fire with huge wool blanks on to warm by the fire father made. We run around the house playing games. Are feet start to hurt because of the pointy pine needles on the floor! “Kids, cookies!” says mother. All the kids start to run to our big kitchen. We all grab 3 cookies each and a big glass of milk. By the end of the day we are all tried out, we head up to our tiny loft and get into our nice warm tiny beds. Tomorrow is church so we all get a good night rest. We all wake up nice and toasty we can smell the fresh out of the oven Cinnamon buns. We get dressed in our church clothing. We as a big family head outside to go in the sled, the horses are wearing big blankets to keep them warm. At church we sing, laugh and have big smiles on our faces.

Descriptive Writing by Anthony The sky was a deep purple with some bright pink holes escaping into the atmosphere. Through the holes there is moonlight shining down onto the city. The buildings in the city are the tallest buildings I have ever seen, the tallest of them all is the clock tower which is frozen at 5:48. It descends into the city which is covered in a bright green haze. The buildings around the tower are huge with tall towers coming off of them, the light inside of them let off a bright orange glow that shines out of the windows and goes onto the street. While walking on the street you could smell the cold fresh air going into your lungs, with cars zooming past you. The road was hard with a lot of freezing cold snow, but luckily I’m wearing warm and cozy clothes. There is so much snow that everything looks pure white, while walking on it you could hear the soothing sound of snow crunching beneath your feet. While you continue to walk you see trees with no leaves, they are just tall logs. There is ice everywhere and you even slip on it a few times. You walk past a factory and all you could smell for a moment is factory smoke, but when you get past the smoke you could hear birds chirping overhead as they fly south. The sight is overwhelming but it was the most beautiful sight you will ever see.

Christmas Writing by Libby I came running down the stairs, feeling the carpet tickle in-between my tiny toes. I barreled around the living room corner and stopped in front of the bright, crisp Christmas tree. The tree was covered in tiny bells and balls of every single colour. The bright gold ribbon twisted around the beautiful green tree. The white Christmas lights gave the tree a glittery touch. The beautiful wrapping paper covering every present was a brilliant, shiny blue. I breathed in deeply inhaling the light, crisp smell of pine and sugar cookies. As I stared at the beautiful sight a little gold teddy bear caught my gaze. It sat just left of the tree right in front of a velvety red chair. Wrapped around the teddy bears paw there was a tiny tag that read “To: Jenifer From: Santa, Merry Christmas!” The teddy bear had a big smile plastered on his tiny face. Tied around his fluffy neck was a big, bright, yellow bow. His eyes were lined with gold and his nose was as black as my hair. As soon as I saw him I ran over and hugged him with all my strength. I then skipped up the stairs singing all the way “Santa came, Santa, Santa came, mom, Santa came!” I swung open their door and jumped onto their puffy bed. “Mom look what Santa brought me, he’s so fluffy I’m gonna die”! “That’s good sweetie,” she replied in a tired voice as she crawled out of the warm bed. I shook dad awake then we all went downstairs and opened the rest of the presents. It was an awesome Christmas!

Winter Place by Ethan The wind hit me like little knives; as I soared down the hill a smile grew on my face as I shouted “look out” to the people below. I start to slow down and edge my way up the long journey back to the top. A dog’s bark echoed across the shining valley as the sun peaked down making it the perfect winter day. Icing up the hill making you scream as you go down jumping off so you don’t hit the trees below, but your sled keeps on going and blows into pieces and ends your fun winter day. You wander back home and fight your way through snowball valley. When you get back your mom is making hot chocolate, the warm feeling of it hitting your throat soothes you. You drink and go to sleep and wait for tomorrow. But all this thinking makes you stay awake and you start asking questions: will there be snow tomorrow? Will I get a new sled? Where did all this snow come from? The next day all your questions are answered, as your dad meets you at the door with a new sled. It is snowing outside and in school science teaches you about precipitation and the weather network and you have another great day.

Winter writing by Luke I saw the little boy with the big heart as he dragged his families Christmas tree to his big red brick house. He was covered in layers of thick red jackets above his waist and stuffed with black ski pants below. While he was working his heart out, his older three brothers were enjoying the fresh powder like snow under their sleds. It seemed as if an artist had gone to each individual tree and painted it in a coat of frosty colored paint on the pine needles. The house in the distance looked like a ginger bread man’s house as it was a big box house with red and ginger colored bricks. It was simple but very welcoming type of a house as it had a very large chimney and multiple windows that functioned like cabinets. Although I could go on and on and on about the looks of this winter scene, it was truly the other senses that the human body has that makes it so enjoyable. The taste of the fresh air made it seem like you were drinking water. The smell of freshly cut pine wood burning in a fireplace was ten times better than smelling a candle. But above all, the sound of birds chirping and nothing else made it seem like you were lost in a true paradise.


Holiday Fun

Delisle Agricultural

“ You’re at Home Here “ 306 - 493 - 2212

Christmas Maze


12

December 2019

RM Review

www.rmreview.net

SCHOOL REPORTS T

Pike Lake Preschool

he months are flying by once again this school year!

We spent November learning about the number 3 and the colour brown. The 4-year olds are finishing up a "healthy bodies" theme, and the 3year olds ended the month with a fun pajama day. Thank you to all those who bought baked goods from our table at the annual craft sale! We appreciate your support of our preschool. We have started practicing Christmas songs for our Christmas concert/party on December 17th. That is always a fun day! And soon the preschool walls will be filled with decorations made by the kids to celebrate the number 4, the colour red, and other Christmas symbols. I hope everyone has a safe and happy Christmas and New Year's!

Happy Holidays! All the best to you and yours! HOLIDAY HOURS Dec 24: 7am - 4pm

Mon - Thur: 7am - 8pm Friday: 6am - 8pm Saturday: 8am - 8pm Sunday: 9am - 7pm

(kitchen closed at 3pm)

Dec 25 & 26 CLOSED Dec 31: 7am - 4pm (kitchen closed at 3pm)

Jan 1 CLOSED

‘Now is the time to arrange your 2019 catering’ Vanscoy 306-931-6996

4-H Reports Catherwood Beef and Sheep Club

O

n Sunday, October 20th, Catherwood 4-H Beef and Sheep Club held their first general meeting in Asquith. Elections took place and our General Leader is Brandy Magnus. Our Beef Leader is Stephanie Huber and our Sheep Leader is Mel Stevens. Our club executive is President, Faith Stevens, Vice President Julie Grinde, Treasurer Shyanne Magnus, Secretary Danielle Matonavich and Club Reporter is me, Claire Huber. We discussed fundraising for the club. Fundraising ideas included cleaning Mac Don Equipment, having a BBQ in the spring, a bake sale and preparing and marketing pizza kits. We are fundraising for our Christmas party and clothing items like jackets or vests for club members. We held our second general club meeting and project meeting on November 3 at a member’s farm near Asquith. The beef club members learned how to artificially inseminate a cow. This informative and hands on project meeting was led by Mike Millar. Mike showed members the different parts of the bovine female reproductive tract using real reproductive tracts on display. Once members knew the female reproductive parts, Mike showed them how to guide an artificial insemination syringe through the female bovine reproductive tract. We learned a lot about breeding cows! Thank-you, Mike. Sheep members learned more about ovine reproduction and watched a video of laparoscopic artificial insemination of ewes. The sheep group led by their leader Mel Stevens discussed the selection criteria for breeding rams and discussed various sheep breeds recognizing differences in maternal and terminal breed traits. The group ended their project meeting playing a sheep breed matching game. This past summer Catherwood 4-H club members, Faith Stevens and Wyatt Millar, competed in the Saskatchewan 4-H

Located on Highway 7 service road in Delisle, SK #300 2nd Street East PO Box 246 Delisle, SK S0L 0P0 Wheel Chair Accessible

Visit our

for Information and Updates

Vanscoy

Our club will be hosting a silent auction fundraiser in the new year. Evan Kielo Laura Multiple 4H Club Reporter

Saskatchewan Rush Tickets

Facebook

https://delislevet.clientvantage.ca

T

he Laura Multiple 4H Club has 11 members this year. On November 24, members of the Delisle Fire Department came out to teach us fire safety. We learned how to use fire extinguishers and each got to try one. We learned what the different types of fire extinguishers are and what each one is for. We also talked about campfire safety. Thank you to the Delisle Fire Department for volunteering to teach us.

Enter to Win !

Like us on

Webstore

Laura Multiple

Thank you for supporting our Friday BBQ’s that help raise money local organizations !

Medicine General Surgery Orthopedic Surgery Dentistry In-clinic Laboratory Digital X-ray Digital Dental X-ray Ultrasound Therapeutic Laser Therapy Nutritional Consultation Canine Reproduction “The Knee Clinic”

Companion Animal Veterinary Clinic

Provincial Judging Competition held in Moosomin, SK. Thirty eight 4-H members from across Saskatchewan competed, judging cheddar cheese, grains, beef, market lamb, grass, horse, cut flowers, and quiz. Faith placed second overall and earned a spot on Team 4-H Saskatchewan where she moved on to compete in the Canadian National 4-H & Youth Judging Competition at Agribition in Regina from Nov. 25-30. Team 4-H Saskatchewan won the High Overall Team Award at this event over other provincial 4-H and collegiate teams. Congratulations Faith! Our club accepted the provincial 4-H office’s challenge to collect non-perishable food items during 4-H Saskatchewan Club Week which was November 4 – 10. Our club members challenged themselves to collect twenty items each. When we all came together we gathered 255 pounds of food that will be donated to Asquith’s Secret Santa baskets for those in need in our community. Our next meeting will be our Christmas party on December 8 where members voted to jump on trampolines at Apex in Saskatoon. Merry Christmas!

with $50 Car Wash Card or Premium Gas Fill (min 35 litres) Groceries & Confectionary - Truck & Car Wash Gas Pumps & Card Lock - Propane & Bulk Fuel

Mon - Fri: 6am - 10pm

306 - 493 - 2212

Sat - Sun: 7am - 10pm

Delisle

CORMAN PARK VETERINARY SERVICE DR.H. DOMOSLAI AND ASSOCIATES

Large Animal Pharmaceuticals and Appointment Bookings

Ga s

Gas & Diesel Confectionary Post Office

Lottery ATM

DVD’s Coffee

C onvenienCe every day of the week!

&D iese $25 l Ga s (with Draw 30 li tre fi ll)

306-683-5024 Fax: 306-683-6307

Office Hours: Monday - Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm Office Phone Number: (306) 343-5773 Text: (306) 260-6729 Email: dorrie.cpvs@gmail.com

Small Animal Services Including 24 Hour Emergency Services Clinic Hours: Monday - Tuesday 8am - 5pm Wednesday 8am - 7:30pm Thursday - Friday 8am - 5pm Saturdays - 9am - 4pm Clinic Phone Number: (306) 384-7676 Email: cormanparkvet@gmail.com After hours emergency line: (306) 227-8062

BOx 60 SASKATOON, SK S7K 3K1 HIGHWAY 14 WEST


RM Review

MP REPORT

Y

Kelly Block, MP November 22, 2019

Officially Your MP

esterday I had the honour of being sworn in as the Member of Parliament for the riding of Carlton Trail – Eagle Creek in the 43rd Parliament. I would like to take this opportunity to once again express my deep appreciation for the responsibility you have given me to represent you in this new Parliament. This is a responsibility I take seriously. You elected me as your representative in Ottawa, not as Ottawa’s representative to you. I intend to fulfill that role to the best of my ability.

T

www.rmreview.net

Many of you have contacted me with your concerns, including our economy, the cost of living and Saskatchewan’s place on the national stage. Be assured, as this new session of Parliament begins, I intend to be a strong voice for both the residents of Carlton Trail – Eagle Creek in particular, and the people of Saskatchewan generally. As your elected Member of Parliament, I am also here to help you with any issues you may have in dealing with the various Federal agencies. If you need assistance please feel free to reach out to my staff in Martensville at 306-975-4004 or email me at kelly.block@parl.gc.ca. We will do whatever we can to help.

Delisle Senior Bruins Hockey

he Delisle Senior Bruins hockey team plays in the SVHL league and relies on the talent of local players. Darrell Starling has been the Manager and responsible for the team for many years. The Delisle Bruins do not pay any of their players (which is not the case for most of the other teams) and rely on gate receipts and fund raisers to cover costs. The team members contribute to the community by continuously being involved with events and fundraisers. Currently a large number are also coaching and/or involved with Minor hockey. The players, coaches and management would like to thank their sponsors and fan supporters, because without them there wouldn't be a team. Season Greetings to all, may beautiful moments and happy memories surround you with joy this holiday season.

2019/2020 Roster 1 Jared Dubkowski 30 Ryley Boeschen 31 Jake Middleton 2 Ryan Olson 5 Josh Brown 7 Will Major 8 Torrin Schumacher 9 Kevin Mryglod 10 Tave Schumacher 12 Dexter Bricker 15 Brendan Boyle 16 Tanner Olson 17 David Patenaude 18 Chad Laing

19 20 21 22 23 24 41 44

Brant Wiebe Blake Rolston Brett Casey Chad Starling Clayton McKenzie Bohen Mock Matt Feige Branden Scheidl

Coach: Daryl Souster Asst. Coach: Barry Oviatt Mgr: Darrell Starling Trainer: Jeff Peakman

Home Games Schedule Dec Dec Dec Jan Jan Jan

6 17 27 3 18 25

Friday Tuesday Friday Friday Saturday Saturday

8:00 pm Kyle @ Delisle 8:00 pm Kenaston @ Delisle 8:00 pm Loreburn @ Delisle 8:00 pm Central Butte @ Delisle 8:00 pm Lucky Lake @ Delisle 8:00 pm Rosetown @ Delisle

Delisle Ag Co-op Fuel Good Day Donates to the Delisle Spray Park

Delisle Ag Co-op Manager Darin Sekulich (left) presents a cheque for $881.70 to Brittany Wich for the Delisle Spray Park Project

December 2019

13


14

December 2019

RM Review

www.rmreview.net

COMMUNITY REPORTS Asquith’s ‘Operation Santa’ Christmas Hamper Program

A

squith’s Operation Santa is a Christmas Hamper program that was formed by a group of concerned citizens in Asquith who wanted to help needy people. The program is starting its twentieth year. Every year, the community of Asquith and area is generous in their support, both monetary and in donated grocery items. Gifts for the children of the needy families have been donated in past years, as well as lovely hand-knitted toques and mittens for the children. Last year, the program provided hampers and groceries to three seniors and fifteen family units, in which there were twenty-two children. Thanks to the generosity of

Happening in Borden December 7th, Saturday

Borden Farmers' Market Christmas Sale Borden Community Centre - 11 am-4 pm Grad 2020 selling lunch December 13th, Friday

Christmas Tea & Music Borden Care Home - 2 pm - 4pm hosted by Borden Lions December 18th, Wednesday

Turkey & Ham Bingo Borden Community Centre - 7 pm hosted by Borden Friendship Club December 13th, Friday December 19th, Thursday

Christmas Play & Games Borden School - 6:30 pm December 20th, Friday

Grad 2020 Pancake Breakfast Borden School Gym - 7 am - 10 am hosted by Borden Lions December 20th, Friday

Christmas Tea

the community, a small gift for each child was also provided with the hamper. The program is being run again this year, with a goal to provide grocery and Christmas Meal hampers, as well as small gifts for the children, to the families that are needy. Request forms are available at the Asquith Co-op, the Post Office and the Town office. All recipients’ names are very confidential; we protect each person’s dignity. Applicants are screened to ensure that help is directed where most needed. All requests for hampers MUST be turned in to the Asquith Town Office by December 6th, 2019. If you are wanting to donate a small gift for a child, this must be

turned in to the Town office prior to the December 6, 2019 deadline. We are appealing to our entire community to be a part of this. We would like to thank you for any help you might be able to give, be it in the form of a food drive for donated grocery items or a cash donation. We do not give cash out to families or individuals, rather all cash donations are used to purchase appropriate hamper items locally. For more information regarding Operation Santa, please contact Kathy at 329-4341 or Gail at 3294370.

Binocular Alert! Pike Lake Christmas Bird Count Saturday, January 4, 2020

E

very winter across the world, bird-watchers spend a day during the Christmas season counting the birds in their neighbourhood. The survey results go to Bird Studies Canada, to help identify trends in bird populations. On Saturday, January 4th, 2020, Saskatoon Nature Society volunteers and friends will be covering the Pike Lake area – a 10-mile circle that includes the Whitecap area on the east side of the river. Between 9 am and 5 pm you may spot a few bundled up folks with binoculars cruising the roads, scanning trees and fields, and checking feeders in search of birds to be counted. We’re harmless, I assure you, though possibly a bit nuts if the day is bitter cold. We’ve been doing this count for 35 years now. We can never be sure what to expect. Some years, we’ve found 30 to 35 species. Sometimes we get a bald eagle, a rusty blackbird, a northern shrike, or horned larks. We might find over 1000 snow buntings. There have been at least four counts that included over 100 robins. What we do find and what we don’t find, it’s all valuable information. I’m hoping that you will fill your feeders for January 4th, and at least tolerate our brief visit. We are very grateful to those landowners who have welcomed us on their property in past years. Even if you don’t have a bird feeder, you just never know what might be hanging around with the cattle, or skulking in the bush!

And if you are interested, there are opportunities to be more involved. 1. Record and share information. If you live within 5 miles of the south end of Pike Lake (a rough description of our count circle), and would be interested in submitting your own feeder watcher report, we would love that. 2. Join the count! We are a mixture of experience and newbies, and always happy to have someone join us. We work in teams to cover different parts of the area, and we meet for lunch in a warm building. Most of us spend the day, but some do only a half day. To become a team member or feeder watcher, please register online, and we’ll be in touch to follow up. Visit saskatoonnature.org/pike-lake-whitecap-christmasbird-count/ and click the link to register. If you have questions or advice to offer, or are not computer-inclined, please contact me at 306-956-3437 or donna.bruce@sasktel.net Happy holidays everyone! See you on January 4th. Donna Bruce Pike Lake-Whitecap Count Organizer Saskatoon Nature Society

Vanscoy & District Agricultural Society Report

O

Borden Lakeland Library - 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Record Attendance at Annual Turkey Bingo

n November 16th, 2019, the Vanscoy & District Agricultural Society presented their Annual Turkey Bingo. More than 170 people attended, creating a record number for the Society!

For info call Lorraine @ 306-997-2159

Wishing all of our patrons the very best this holiday season!

201 - 1st St W 306 - 493 - 8288

HOLIDAY HOURS CLOSED: Wednesday Dec. 25th & Friday Dec. 27th OPEN: Monday Dec. 30th - 12:00pm - 4:00pm CLOSED: Wednesday Jan. 1st

Request/Renew Books at www.wheatland.sk.ca Wednesday Noon - 4pm & 7pm - 9pm

The Vanscoy & District Agricultural Society would like to thank our many sponsors, as well as the 4-H volunteers from the Vanscoy Multiple 4-H Club for helping out with clean up and running the event. The Agricultural Society would also like to thank our Bingo Caller, Glenn Wright, who did a fantastic job keeping our event running quickly and smoothly.

Delisle Branch

Monday Noon - 4pm

There were raffle prizes, door prizes, 50/50 tickets, as well as hours of bingo played.

Friday 10am - 5pm

The Turkey Bingo was a huge success and the Agricultural Society can’t wait to see everyone come out again next year!

The Vanscoy & District Agricultural Society is holding its AGM on December 4th, 2019 at the Senior Center in Vanscoy. The AGM begins at 7 pm and we will hold a regular meeting after as well. We would love and need to have new members join and participate in the elections of our Secretary and Treasurer. Volunteering is a great way to meet new people in the community and the Ag Society is a wonderful group of people to work with. If anyone is interested in helping out with volunteering at events, sponsorship, advertising and social media, or planning events contact us at vanscoyag@gmail.com or by calling (306) 493-3023.


RM Review

www.rmreview.net

COMMUNITY CALENDAR

December 2019

15

Scan Code with your phone to go to our Online Calendar for more details !

December 5 Thursday 6:00pm Turkey Bingo Delisle Senior Centre

December 7 Saturday 6:00pm Customer Appreciation Supper Asquith Hotel

December 15 Sunday 8am - 2pm Jingle Day Delisle Town Hall

December 20 Saturday 10-5 Ladies Craft Day Langham & District Museum

December 6 Friday 10:30am/7pm Singing with Sylvia Holiday Hoopla The Refinery, Saskatoon

December 7 Saturday 6:00pm Church Christmas Supper Asquith Baptist Church

December 15 Sunday 2:00pm Turkey Bingo Perdue Recreation Complex

December 20 Saturday 7:30pm Delisle Chiefs vs Carrot River Delisle Arena

December 6 Friday 10:30am Holiday Dance Delight Delisle Public Library

December 8 Sunday 3:30pm Delisle Chiefs vs Assiniboia Delisle Arena

December 17 Tuesday 6:30pm School Community Council Meeting Lord Asquith School

December 27 Friday 8:00pm Delisle Sr Bruins vs Loreburn Delisle Arena

December 6 Friday 8:00pm Delisle Sr Bruins vs Kyle Elks Delisle Arena

December 11 Wednesday 8:00pm Delisle Chiefs vs Quakers Delisle Arena

December 18 Wednesday 7:00pm Turkey & Ham Bingo Borden Community Centre

December 31 Tuesday 5:30pm Roast Beef Supper Conquest Arena

December 18 Wednesday 8:00pm Delisle Chiefs vs Westleys Delisle Arena

January 3 Friday DEADLINE for submissions to January issue of RM REVIEW

December 7 Saturday 10:30-11:30am December 12 Thursday 10:30am/1pm Homemade Cookie Exchange Singing with Sylvia Holiday Hoopla Delisle Community Chapel The Refinery, Saskatoon December 7 Saturday 11am-4pm Christmas Farmers Market Borden Community Centre

December 12 Thursday 5:30pm Messy Church United Church, Delisle

December 19 - 21 Festival of Lights Pike Lake Provincial Park

January 3 Friday 8:30pm Delisle Sr Bruins vs Central Butte Delisle Arena

December 7 Saturday 12pm - 3pm Holiday Rush Refuge Vanscoy Circle Hall

December 12 Thursday 7:30pm A Milk Money Concert The Refinery, Saskatoon

December 20 Friday 1:30pm-3:30pm Christmas Tea Borden Lakeland Library

January 4 Saturday 9am - 5pm Christmas Bird Count Pike Lake

December 7 Saturday 5:30pm Supper & Social Tessier Community Hall

December 13 Friday 2pm - 4pm Christmas Tea & Music Borden Care Home

December 20 Friday 8:00pm Delisle Chiefs vs Royals Delisle Arena

January 9 Thursday JANUARY issue of RM REVIEW on News Stands TODAY

Find More Event Details at www.rmreview.net or Scan the QR Code above with your phone

Snow Clearing & Removal

SATELLITE+ Residential Commercial

ges rea ays c A ew ots v Dri ing L s k rd r Pa inya B

Battery Powered - 56 Volt 5 Year Warranty www.egopowerplus.com

Darcy Stack Journeyman Electrician

PIKE LAKE LAWN & GARDEN

306 - 229 - 3813

FOR ALL YOUR SMALL ENGINE SALES, SERVICE, PARTS & REPAIRS

Call Bar ney at 306 - 270 - 4353

Phone: 306 - 221 - 8558 Email: wattdave530@gmail.com

Dave Watt

EGO Cordless Snow and Leaf Blowers in stock.

“Your Window to the Entertainment World”

Come check them out.

W W Rock & Gravel

Certified

Organic Beef Halves, Quarters, Custom Packages Samples Available Your satisfaction is guaranteed.

FOR ALL YOuR SAND & GRAVEL NEEDS

Office 306-329-4768 Cell 306-222-6095 A Division of Rice Lake Sand & Gravel

306 - 493 - 2408

RENOVATION SPECIALISTS

S andyridge B akery & C afe

Stobbe’s Backhoe Service

KITCHENS & BATHROOMS, BASEMENT DEVELOPMENT PAINTING & DRYWALL, CARPENTRY & FLOORING

Gas, Premium & Diesel / Confectionary Grocery / ATM / Post Office

Sparlyn Organic Farm 306 - 668 - 4216

FREE ESTIMATES, TOP QuALITY MATERIALS PROFESSIONAL WORKMANSHIP Local Business Quick Service Best Value

Call John 306-290-1772

Grandora, SK

Leo Stobbe 306-668-4289

Monday - Friday 6:30am - 9:00pm Sat, Sun, Holidays 7:30am - 9:00pm “ Merry Christmas to all our staff & customers ” Thank you for your support in 2019 and many Blessings to you all in 2020

Grandora

306 - 668 - 4362

Installation of Rural Water & Sewer Systems Pumps - Tanks - Switches - other Trenching & Excavation

SK Sew Kleen Trenching & Waterworks

Septic Tank Pumping Septic Repairs Hydrovac Services

306 - 230 - 4653

306 - 283 - 4406

M obile Animal Health Care Companion and Commercial Animals

Dr. Colton McAleer eaglecreekvet@gmail.com

306-831-8387

Bovine Services Small Ruminant Equine Wellness Companion Animal

Sid’s Auto Service Oil Change/Lube Job Clutch & Brake Work

Tune-ups

Rear Ends Transmissions

COMPLETE SERVICE on FARM MACHINERy ENGINES Gas & Diesel

V anSCoy 306-668-2013 or 306-229-2016

Sand - Gravel - Topsoil

Super B outfits hauling grain and fertilizer in Alberta and Saskatchewan

Sand & Gravel Spreading Hauling

Troy May owner/operator tmay@hotmail.ca

306 - 237 - 7671

Ken Klassen RR1 Box 15

Delisle, SK S0L 0P0

Bus. (306) 493-7579 Fax. (306) 493-8135 ken@klassentrenching.com


16

December 2019

RM Review

www.rmreview.net

DIRECTORY TO BUSINESS

Find more Detailed Listings at www.rmreview.net or Scan the QR Code with your phone

Accommodations

Electrical

Grocery

Painting

Roofing

Delisle Hotel Delisle 306-493-2462

SATELLITE + Asquith 306-229-3813

Schneider’s Gourmet World Neuanlage 306-225-5764

Jeannie’s Place Delisle Text/Call 306-717-0841

Embroidery

Little Rainbow Roofing & Exteriors Inc. Saskatoon 306-382-4884

Hairstylist / Beauty

Ken’s Professional Painting 306-856-3036 klassenken02@gmail.com

Back 40 Embroidery Delisle 493-3033/493-2751

Delisle Hairstyling & Barber Delisle 306-493-2467

Financial

Julie’s House of Style Delisle 306-493-2950

Milden Hotel Milden 306-935-2051

Agricultural Canpulse Foods Ltd Saskatoon 306-931-7775 Crop Production Services Delisle 306-493-8188 Delisle Agricultural Co-op Delisle 306-493-2212 Innovative Ag Performance Group Ltd Delisle 306-493-3167 Orchard Transport - Ag Div. Delisle 306-493-2408 Air Conditioning & Heating PLAINSMAN HVAC-R Ltd 24 Hour Emergency Service Vanscoy 306-242-3002

Delisle Credit Union 1st St, Delisle 306-493-2414 Desjardins Financial Security Investments Inc. 330 - 20th St. E. Saskatoon Norma Sparrow 306-242-1188

Like A Rock Grandora 306-382-3978

Taylor Mechanical Vanscoy 306-381-7998 taylormechanical@sasktel.net

Gas / Confectionary

Automotive

Delisle Esso Delisle 306-493-2251

Bridge City Driveline Saskatoon 306-933-4440 Sid’s Auto Service Vanscoy 306-668-2013 Trusty Appraisal Service & SGI Arbitration Delisle 306-222-0456

Bookkeeping Services A1 Bookkeeping Services Vanscoy 306-850-5204

Chiropractor Dr. Jolene Palmer, BSc. Community Health Chiropractic Clinic Delisle Primary Health Centre 306-493-2800

Delisle Ag Co-op Delisle 306-493-2212

Home Care Products and Housewares

Moon River Golf Club Valley Road 306-931-8960

Tupperware W NE Cindy Monea 306-716-2515

Oasis Golf Resort Perdue 306-237-4653 Valleyview Golf & Country Club Delisle 306-493-3288

Government

Cleaning Service

Jim Reiter, MLA 215 Main Street, Rosetown 1-855-762-2233

Just Clean Vanscoy 306-491-5769 teresalindalziel@gmail.com

Kelly Block, MP 4 - 309 Main Street, Rosetown 1-306-882-6447

Construction

Gravel / Sand

Flatlander Construction Garbage Disposal Delisle 306-493-7547

Graham Contracting Asquith 306-230-4653

Disposal Flatlander Disposal 14 yard Roll-off Bins Delisle 306-493-7547

Klassen Trenching Delisle 306-493-7579 W.W. Rock & Gravel Asquith 306-329-4768 Westland Enterprizes Ltd Delisle 306-493-2709

www.cindythetupperwarelady.ca Excellence in service since 1989 Watkins - Anne Plummer 725 Valley Rd 306-382-1284

Insurance PCCU Insurance Ltd. Harris 306-656-4555 HUB International Delisle 306-493-2260

RYJO Tours Inc. Tessier 1-866-656-4786

Potash Mine

Pike Lake Preschool Pike Lake 306-978-8164 Vanscoy Early Learning Center Vanscoy 306-668-6338

Veterinary Corman Park Vet Services Hwy #14 (SLS) 306-384-7676 Delisle Veterinary Service Delisle 306-493-3143 Eagle Creek Veterinary Services Rosetown 306-831-8387 eaglecreekvet@gmail.com Outlook Veterinary Clinic Outlook 306-867-8777

Pressure Washing Markuss Power Wash 306-371-2409 markusspowerwash@gmail.com

Water / Septic FRP Manufacturing (2010) Inc. Asquith 306-329-4884

Promotional Items

Graham Contracting Asquith 306-230-4653

C & S Promotions Delisle 306-493-3191 candspromotions@sasktel.net

Klassen Trenching Delisle 306-493-7579

Real Estate

Starlings Septic Services Delisle 306-493-2241

Great Rate Realty Sue Stene REALTOR® - Delisle Full Service Agents at a Fair Price ! Call / Text 306-370-6306 www.saskhousehunter.com

Sew Kleen Hydro-vacing & Septic Asquith 306-283-4406

RE/MAX Shoreline Realty Jocelyne Petryshyn - Owner Outlook 306-867-8380

Hoots Welding & Ironworks Delisle 306-380-8730

Royal Lepage Saskatoon Real Estate - Lisa Aron Saskatoon 306-850-0320

Big Pines Services Inc. Vanscoy 306-230-7399

Welding

Yardwork/Excavation

Graham Contracting Asquith 306-230-4653

Restaurants D and E Cafe Asquith 306-221-6936

Lawn & Garden

Delisle Hotel Cafe Delisle 306-493-2929

Pike Lake Lawn & Garden

Dragon’s Diner Delisle 306-493-2022

Pike Lake 306-221-8558

www.vrbo.com/795739 “Cavendish Dunes Chalet” www.vrbo.com/1223913 Cindy and Frank Monea 306-716-2515

Taylor Mechanical Vanscoy 306-381-7998 taylormechanical@sasktel.net

Moon Insurance Vanscoy 306-668-2181

W Sales, Service, Parts, Rentals NE

Prince Edward Island

Plumbing & Heating

PreSchool

Clubs Driving Range Valley Road 306-221-0842

Travel/Vacation

Vanscoy 306-382-6224

Voxxlife Wellness Products Grandora 306-221-2420 ejholst.voxxlife.com

HERE

Golf

A1 Bookkeeping Services Vanscoy 306-850-5204

Vacation Homes W Lynn Ross Dog Grooming NE “Warm Water Landing”

Nutrien Potash Mine Vanscoy 306-668-4343

Are People Seeing Your Business

Vanscoy Tempo Vanscoy 306-683-5024

Taxes

Reflexology - Carrol King Delisle 306-493-2452

LOOK

Sandyridge Bakery & Cafe Grandora 306-668-4362

Animal InnSpaRations Delisle 306-493-3143

Lynne Road Kennels Grandora 306-270-5831

Air & Alkaline Water Purifiers Perdue 1-877-652-6853

Garden / Yard

RixEdge Sharpening Services Saskatoon 306-270-8048

Salon 360 Delisle 306-493-2486

Health

ServiceMaster Restore of Saskatoon 306-374-0941 1-877-448-6673

Sharpening

Bark Place Dog Grooming Spa Delisle 306-491-9335

Skin, Hair, Body Care Cindy Monea 306-716-2515 www.seacretdirect.com/cindymonea

Saskatoon Fire & Flood Saskatoon 306-934-7477

Pet Care ‘A’ Deb’s K-9 Kennelling Delisle 306-220-4727

RODAN + FIELDS Lisa Reimer 306-227-6535 lisareimer.myrandf.com/ca

W SEACRET(deadsea) NE

Fire & Flood

www.littlerainbow.ca

Massage

Robin’s Nest Cafe Vanscoy 306-931-6996

Esthetics & Massage by Sarah Delisle 306-493-7840

Subway Delisle 306-715-1111

Klassen Trenching Delisle 306-493-7579 Markuss Landscaping Services 306-371-2409 markusslandscaping@gmail.com

MyAcres LawnCutting 306-493-7775 myacres@sasktel.net

Stobbe’s Backhoe Service Grandora 306-668-4289

BUSINESS CLASSIFIED ADVERTISING BBQ Rentals Hosting a Large Event this Summer ? Rent Locally and

Save Money Call Robin’s Nest Cafe

306 - 931 - 6996

FOR SALE 2009 Honda Pilot EX-L 4.3L, AWD, Trailer Package, Extra Winter Tires on Rims, Excellent Condition, 408K, $4,900 o.b.o.

306 - 554 - 3146 Dafoe, SK

Check out our FREE Community Bulletin Board at www.rmreview.net

Call 306-668-1312 or visit our website www.rmreview.net

FARMLAND WANTED TOM NEuFELD SASK LAND SALES

306-260-7838 tom@saskfarmland.com

BuYING OR SELLING FuLL SERVICE REALTOR®

Profile for RM Review

RM Review December 2019  

December 2019 Issue of RM Review

RM Review December 2019  

December 2019 Issue of RM Review

Profile for rmreview
Advertisement