Page 1

Tidings xperience: dream visits


Ads


New world 4 old world 10 Spas 11 Xperience meter You can enhance your Xperience by visiting wineries that offer a little something more. Here is a list of added features: A: Accommodations C: Food and/or wine courses F: Free tasting M: Must visit architectural and design marvel O: Organic or sustainable practices used R: Restaurant or food served S: Spa

With 300 issues under our belt, Tidings has garnered a lot of experience. This Dream Visits supplement gathers together some of the best wineries and spas our editors and writers have had the pleasure of visiting — not that we’re bragging. Over the years, we have sought to enrich your food and wine experiences. After all, it’s thanks to you, our great readers, that Tidings has become one of North America’s top wine and food magazines.

Tidings Xperience: Dream visits Supplement is published by Kylix Media 5165 Sherbrooke St. West, Suite 414, Montreal, Quebec, H4A 1T6, Tel: 514.481.6606, Fax: 514.481.9699. www.tidingsmag.com Editor-in-chief Aldo Parise Contributing Editors Gurvinder Bhatia, Tod Stewart Contributing food Editor Nancy Johnson Contributing Lifestyle Editor Rosemary Mantini Contributors Jonathan Smithe, Rick VanSickle, Sean Wood, Harry Hertscheg, Evan Saviolidis, Gilles Bois, Michael Pinkus, Matthew Sullivan, Carolyn Evans-Hammond, Tony Aspler COPY DESK Lee Springer, Jennifer Croll Creative by Paris Associates Art Direction Aldo Parise Production ww+Labs Advertising Representation Dovetail Communications National Account Executive Jacquie Rankin: jrankin@dvtail.com, 905-886-6640 ext 304 © 2011 Kylix Media Inc. Printed in Canada on 100% recycled paper. Tidings, Food & Wine Magazine, a registered trademark of Kylix Media, is published 8 times a year: (February/March, April, May/June, July/August, September, October, November, December/January). Opinions expressed in this magazine are not necessarily those of the publisher. ISSN-0228-6157. Publications Mail Registration No. 40063855. Member of the Canadian Federation of Independent Business.

dream visits \\ 3


new world

Argentina

Mauricio Lorca Winery Lujà n de Cuyo, Perdriel www.mauriciolorca.com Bodegas Y ViÑedos O. Fournier San Carlos, Mendoza www.ofournier.com x: R M

Australia

Briar Ridge Vineyard Mount View, Hunter Valley www.briarridge.com.au x: A R

Chapman Grove Wines Margaret River, Western Australia www.chapmangrove.com.au Geoff Hardy Wines Kuitpo, South Australia www.k1.com.au x: M

Peter Lehmann Wines Tanunda, Barossa Valley www.peterlehmannwines.com x: R M

Songlines Estates McLaren Vale, South Australia www.songlinesestates.com.au 4 \\ Tidings xperience \\ www.tidingsmag.com


Westend Estate Wines Griffith, New South Wales www.westendestate.com.au

Canada

Angel’s Gate Winery Beamsville, Ontario www.angelsgatewinery.com x: R

Domaine de grande Pré Grande Pré, Nova Scotia www.grandprewines.ns.ca x: R M

jackson triggs

Hillebrand Estates Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario www.hillebrand.com x: R M

Inniskillin Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario www.inniskillin.com Jackson-Triggs Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario www.jacksontriggswinery.com

See Ya Later Ranch Okanagan Falls, BC www.sylranch.com x: R

Sumac Ridge Summerland, BC www.sumacridge.com x: R

Chile

India

x: R M

x: A R M

ViÑa La Rosa Peumo, Cachapoal Valley www.larosa.cl

Mexico

Concha y Toro Pirque, Cordillera www.conchaytoro.com

x: M

Nk’mip Osoyoos, BC www.nkmipcellars.com x: R M

Vineland Estates Vineland, Ontario www.vineland.com x: M

ViÑa Montes’ Apalta Vineyard Santa Cruz, Colchagua Valley www.monteswines.com

Sula Vineyards Nashik, Maharashtra www.sulawines.com

L.A. Cetto’s Tijuana Winery Tijuana, Baja California www.cettowines.com

x: M dream visits \\ 5


South Africa

Ataraxia Wines Hermanus, Western Cape www.ataraxiawines.co.za High Constantia Winery Constantia, Western Cape www.highconstantiawines.co.za Nederburg Daljosafat, Paarl www.nederburg.co.za

United States

Castoro Cellars Templeton, Paso Robles www.castorocellars.com

Domaine Drouhin Dayton, Oregon www.domainedrouhin.com

x: R

Chateau St Jean Kenwood, California www.chateaustjean.com

Francis Ford Coppola Winery Geyserville, California www.franciscoppolawinery.com

Bonny Doon Santa Cruz, California www.bonnydoonvineyard.com

Burgess Cellars St Helena, California www.burgesscellars.com Caduceus Cellars Jerome, Arizona www.caduceus.org

x: R M

x: R M

Chateau Ste Michelle Woodinville, Washington www.ste-michelle.com x: C

Frank Family Vineyards Calistoga, California www.frankfamilyvineyards.com

Castello di Amorosa Calistoga, California www.castellodiamorosa.com

Darioush Napa, California www.darioush.com

Hanzell Vineyards Sonoma, California www.hanzell.com

x: M

x: M

x: M

Nitida Cellars Durbanville, Western Cape www.nitida.co.za x: R

flat rock

6 \\ Tidings xperience \\ www.tidingsmag.com

Jordan Ontario www.flatrockcellars.com

The simple, glass encased tasting bar offers year round enjoyment of the grounds — and wines. Ask for Ed Madronich, President and founder of Flat Rock Cellars, to walk you through the winery and find out more about the 5 level gravity flow system. To explore your inner winemaker, book the WMB seasonal series to prune or help pick the grapes. Look into the unique WMB blending session.


West Kelowna Okanagan Valley BC www.missionhillwinery.com

Breath-taking scenery and architecture are the hallmark of this esteemed Okanagan winery. With a number of B&Bs within walking distance of the winery, you can make this first visit on your tour of Kelowna. During the summer months a number of outdoor concerts are held in the amphitheatre. There are also a number of impressive culinary workshops held throughout the year.

mission hill

dream visits \\ 7


Peter Lehmann

Moon Mountain Sonoma, California www.moonmountainvineyard.com Opus One Oakville, California www.opusonewinery.com x: Appointment Only

Pride Mountain Vineyard St Helena, California www.pridewines.com Quintessa Wine St Helena, California www.quintessa.com Hedges Family Estate Benton City, Washington www.hedgesfamilyestate.com

Jarvis Winery Napa, California www.jarviswines.com

Kuleto Estate St Helena, California www.kuletoestate.com

Jordan Winery Healdsburg, California www.jordanwinery.com

Ladera Vineyards Angwin, California www.laderavineyards.com

x: F

Hogue Prosser, Washington www.hoguecellars.com

Ironstone Vineyards Murphys, California www.ironstonevineyards.com

x: R

Joseph Phelps Vineyards St Helena, California www.jpvwines.com x: O C

x: R M

8 \\ Tidings xperience \\ www.tidingsmag.com

Lancaster Estate Healdsburg, California www.lancaster-estate.com Medlock Ames Healdsburg, California www.medlockames.com

x: M

Quixote Winery Napa, California www.quixotewinery.com x: M O

Schramsberg Vineyards Calistoga, California www.schramsberg.com Sokol Blosser Winery Dayton, Oregon www.sokolblosser.com


Soter Vineyards Carlton, Oregon www.sotervineyards.com x: Appointment Only

Spring Mountain Vineyard St Helena, California www.springmountainvineyard.com Shafer Vineyards Napa, California www.shafervineyards.com

stratus

x: Appointment Only

Steltzner Napa, California www.steltzner.com Willamette Valley Vineyards Turner, Oregon wvv.com WĂślffer Estate Sagaponack, Long Island www.wolffer.com

Niagara-on-the-Lake Ontario www.stratuswines.com

At the heart of this LEED-certified contemporarily designed winery is the idea that assemblage is the key to modern winemaking. The building is subtle and soft — a true church to the art of wine. Plus it is located right next to another architectural gem, Jackson Triggs. Take a walk around the outdoor terrace while enjoying a glass of the signature Stratus Red. Joining the assemblage wine club gives you an exclusive opportunity to taste the individual barrel lots before the final Stratus White and Red are assembled. dream visits \\ 9


Austria

Champagne Gardet Chigny-les-Roses, Champagne www.champagne-gardet.com

Château de Sours Saint-Quentin-de-Baron, Bordeaux www.chateaudesours.com

x: M

Château Canet Rustiques, LanguedocRousillon www.chateaucanet.com

x: M A

Weingut Höpler Winden, Burgenland www.hoepler.at

France

Cave Vinicole Hunawihr Hunawihr, Alsace www.cave-hunawihr.com

x: A M

Château GrandPuy-Lacoste Pauillac, Bordeaux www.haut-batailley.fr

Château Moncontour Vouvray, Loire www.moncontour.com x: Wine Museum

Château Vignelaure Rians, Provence www.vignelaure.com Clos Cantenac Saint-Émilion, Bordeaux www.closcantenac.com Domaine des Romarins Domazan, Côtes du Rhône www.domaine-des-romarins.com Domaine Vincent Pinard Sancerre, Loire www.domaine-pinard.com J.M Monmousseau Montrichard, Loire www.monmousseau.com

old world 10 \\ Tidings xperience \\ www.tidingsmag.com

Le Closel Château des Vaults Savennières, Loire www.savennieres-closel.com Masson-Blondelet Pouilly-sur-Loire, Loire www.masson-blondelet.com x: O

Greece

Santos Wines Santorini www.santowines.gr


Italy

Altesino Montalcino, Tuscany www.altesino.it

Elena Walch Tramin, Alto Adige www.elenawalch.com x: R

Castello di Ama Siena, Tuscany www.castellodiama.com

Fontodi Panzano, Tuscany www.fontodi.com

x: Contemporary Art

x: O A

Exhibits

Castello di Brolio Siena, Tuscany www.ricasoli.it x: A M R

Ceretto Aziende Vitivinicole Alba, Piedmont www.ceretto.com x: M

Le Caniette Ripatransone, Marche www.lecaniette.it Nardini Distillery Bassano del Grappa, Veneto www.nardini.it Ornellaia Bolgheri, Tuscany www.ornellaia.com x: Appointment Only

Corte d’Aibo Monteveglio, Emilia-Romagna www.cortedaibo.it x: A

Domodimonti Montefiore dell’Aso, Marche www.domodimonti.com

Planeta’s Cantina Ulmo Sambuca Di Sicilia, Sicily www.planeta.it Querciabella Greve, Tuscany www.querciabella.com x: O

x: A O R M

Donatella Cinelli Colombini’s Fattoria il Colle Estate Siena, Tuscany www.cinellicolombini.it x: A R C

Tenuta di Capezzana Carmignano, Tuscany www.capezzana.it x: C M

Tenuta Cocci Grifoni Ripatransone, Marche www.tenutacoccigrifoni.it

spas

Les Sources de Caudalie

Bordeaux-Martillac, France www.sources-caudalie.com Located among the vineyards of Château Smith-Haut-Lafitte, Les Sources offers bathing in grape marc — giving you a new outlook on cognac. The 50-minute facial treatment is a real … treat.

Patios de Cafayate Winespa

Cafayate, Salta, Argentina www.winespagroup.com The location will send you into immediate relaxation. Grape treatments abound. The Grape Syrup exfoliant will get you ready for the next couple of days of wine tours in the Calchaquí Valley.

Adler Thermae Spa Resort

San Quirico d’Orcia, Siena, Italy www.adler-thermae.com At the centre of Tuscany’s rolling hills and vibrant vineyards, the Adler Thermae offers a myriad of massages and organic grape exfoliation. You’ll drink up the wine bath and the Brunello Envelopment. Make sure to take some time for a side trip to the beautiful Bagno Vignoni — a UNESCO world heritage site.

Wine Spa Peralada

Girona, Spain www.wine-spa.com You’ll enjoy the White Wine Essences Shower. After you are truly relaxed book a foursome at the 18 hole golf course next door. Well, maybe you should do it before walking into the spa.

Santé Winelands

Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, South Africa www.santesa.co.za Santé sits on a 160-acre working wine estate in the Paarl/ Franschhoek Valley. We highly recommend the VinAqua Vine Therapy or the Theravine treatment. Interested in little fish nibbling your toes, ask for the Doctor Fish therapy. dream visits \\ 11


Tenuta Col d’Orcia Montalcino, Tuscany www.coldorcia.it

Villa di Maser Maser, Veneto www.villadimaser.it x: M R

Tenute Piccini’s Fattoria di Valiano Siena, Tuscany www.tenutepiccini.it

Villa Vignamaggio Chianti, Tuscany www.vignamaggio.it x: A

Villa Calcinaia Greve, Tuscany www.conticapponi.it

Portugal

Bacalhôa’s Quinta dos Loridos Winery Bombarral, Leiria www.bacalhoa.com

Luis Pato Amoreira Da Gândara, Aveiro www.luispato.com X: C; Appointment

recommended

x: M

Caves Aliança Sangalhos, Aveiro www.alianca.pt x: M; Underground Art

Museum

x: A

Niepoort Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto www.niepoort-vinhos.com Quinta do crasto Sabrosa, Vila Real www.quintadocrasto.pt

relais san Maurizio Santo Stefano Belbo Piedmont Italy www.relaissanmaurizio.it

Food and wine are a huge part of this resort spa. The Grotta del Sale is an exhilarating combination of mineralized water and salt arriving from the Cagliari saltworks in Sardinia. If the weather fares well, there are several 18 hole golf courses around the corner. 12 \\ Tidings xperience \\ www.tidingsmag.com


Radda in Chianti tuscany Italy www.volpaia.com

Most of us have dreamt of renting a villa in the heart of Tuscany. Volpaia has four villas and five apartment complexes for rent. Make this your piedà-terre while touring storied Chianti or taking a cooking class inside the castle walls. You can purchase honey, wine vinegar or extra virgin olive oil from the wine shop. You can also stay at La Locanda, a rustic hotel with a swimming pool overlooking the vineyards.

castello di volpaia

LE MAITRE D’ & SOMMELIER Purveyors of fine foods

Shop Online for your Gourmet food and gifts this Holiday Season and receive a 15% discount on your order

Enter promotion code LMD15 Offer expires December 15, 2011

www.lemaitred.com

1 866 947 2282

Canada’s No.1 Online Gourmet Food Store

dream visits \\ 13


Spain

Bodegas Lar de Paula Álava, Rioja www.lardepaula.com

Clos Montblanc Barbera de la Conca, Tarragona www.closmontblanc.com

Finca Antigua Los Hinojos, Cuence www.familiamartinezbujanda.com

Marques de Riscal Elciego, Álava www.marquesderiscal.com

x: M

x: M A S R

Bodegas Los Aljibes wChinchilla de Montearagon, Albacete www.fincalosaljibes.com

Codorníu Sant Sadurní d’Anoia, Alt Penedès www.codorniu.es

Finca Constancia Otero, Toledo www.gonzalezbyass.com

Osborne’s Malpica Winery Toledo, Toledo www.osborne.es

x: M; Appointment

recommended

Freixenet Sant Sadurní d’Anoia, Alt Penedès www.freixenet.es

x: M

Bodegas Valduero Burgos, Ribera del Duero www.bodegasvalduero.com

loisium world of wine

Langenlois Lower Austria www.loisium.at

Visit this intriguing wine museum woven through a labyrinth of the old wine cellars. Since it is not linked to one specific winery, you can taste and buy wines from the eight wine growing regions of Lower Austria. An exquisitely designed hotel and spa are located around the corner. A great place for bikers or hikers.

14 \\ Tidings xperience \\ www.tidingsmag.com


Ads

union wine believable

Union brings together the grapes that

grow best in our local soils. It’s a wine that

exemplifies quality, authenticity and versatility. You can confidently serve Union Red

on its own or pair it with grilled red meats, pastas, tapas or local fare.

Learn more at unonwines.com.

13

$

unionwines

95

union wines

LCBO # 197152 PROUDLY REPRESENTED BY VON TERRA


BETWEEN A COFFEE

WHAT’S THE DIFFERENCE AND A LATTE ? AdsBETWEEN A COFFEE

OTHER HOME BREWERS HAVE NO IDEA.

AND A LATTE?

Tassisimo OTHER HOME BREWERS HAVE NO IDEA.

Most home brewers treat every

And only TASS IMO makes

drink exactly the same, they just

over 30 beverages exactly the

add hot water.

way they were meant to be,

Most home brewers treat every

And only TASS IMO makes

drink exactly the same, they just

over 30 beverages exactly the

add hot water.

way they were meant to be,

But a TASS IMO home brewer

from coffee, tea and espresso to

reads a barcode on each TASS IMO

cappuccino, chai tea latte and hot

beverage disc and automatically

chocolate. Most home brewers don’t

But a TASS IMO home brewer

from coffee, tea and espresso to

adjusts temperature, brew reads awater barcode on each TASSIMO

even brew and cappuccino, chaispecialty tea latte beverages, and hot

time and water levelautomatically to the exact beverage disc and

the ones use don’t powdered chocolate. Mostthat homedo, brewers

specifications adjusts water temperature, brew of

orbeverages, require you eveningredients, brew specialty andto froth

time and water level to the exact each beverage.

theyour ones own that milk. do, use powdered But not TASSIMO.

The barcode on every T DISC brews each brand to its exact specifications.

The barcode on every T DISC brews each brand to its exact specifications.

specifications of Don’t all brewers

ingredients, or require youone to froth So choose the with the

each beverage.

your own milk. But not TASSIMO.

Don’t all brewers

So choose the one with the

do that? Well, no.

barcode. The difference is black and

Only TASS IMO. do that? Well, no.

Only TASS IMO.

The perfect cup, every time.

The perfect cup, every time.

white. For more, go to TASSIMO.ca

barcode. The difference is black and

white. For more, go to TASSIMO.ca

Some of the world’s best brands trust TASSIMO. Some of the world’s best brands trust TASSIMO.

together with

together with

Tidings Xperience: Dream Visits  

With 300 issues under our belt, Tidings has garnered a lot of experience. This Dream Visits supplement gathers together some of the best win...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you