Issuu on Google+

June 2010


Why Vote No on Amendment 4? RPAC – Your defensive tool By Veronica Malolos The effort to place Amendment 4 on the ballot began several election cycles ago. Florida Realtors have fought this effort every step of the way, from fraudulent signature gathering to constitutional language and non-disclosure of financial repercussions, fueled only by our RPAC dollars. Our Realtors Political Action Committee has been an asset to our association in affecting positive legislation in Florida for many years. Florida’s RPAC galvanized in the 1980’s to defeat a threat of sales tax on real estate commissions which our industry considers double taxation (income and sales tax). While that issue continues to rear its ugly head, the defeat of Amendment 4 will require even greater expense. In fact, it will require all of us – from reaching into our pockets to fund RPAC to explaining to our friends and family why Amendment 4 will be so detrimental. Often I am asked, “What is RPAC?” The REALTORS® Political Action Committee (RPAC) is the nation's largest, most successful and most bipartisan political action committee. Our voluntary investment is used to improve our bottom line in several ways: Through issues mobilization, political advocacy, and by directly supporting candidates at the local, state, and federal levels of government who champion the ideals and principles of REALTORS®. Giving to RPAC is one of the best investments we can make in our industry. In fact, all of the funds utilized by the Realtors Political Action Committee must come from voluntary member contributions. Those funds cannot come from membership dues. Of every dollar you contribute, 30 cents goes to the National RPAC for grassroots activities and supporting candidates running for office on the federal level. The remaining 70 cents stays in Florida and is divided between the state and local associations to support state and local candidates and issues. Through extensive research and ongoing monitoring, RPAC keeps us informed, involved, and influential in the legislative decisions that are important to us and our businesses. Our Board of Directors, as the request of Bob Caldwell, our district RPAC Trustee, chose to fund Florida Realtors effort to defeat Amendment 4 with 16% of our RPAC issue funds. OSCAR is fortunate to have two strong RPAC Chairpersons, Renee Clark and Kim Goodwin, who made that recommendation to the Board. As they initiate our upcoming RPAC auction, make sure to thank them for giving their valuable time and respond with your time and talent. Making a contribution to RPAC is investing in our industry’s future and one of the only ways to influence the decisions of voters that may not have access to the resources that you do to understand why voting NO ON AMENDMENT 4 is so important.

2

June 2010


PRESIDENT ’S REPORT President’s Report NAR Midyear Legislative Meeting By Veronica Malolos I am pleased to report to our membership that the OSCAR Leadership Team comprised of myself, Tim Weisheyer (President-Elect), Carol Platt (AE), Hope Andrews (Past President) and Mike Levine (Past President), had a very productive week in Washington, DC last week. As a first time attendee, I was very excited to have represented our Association during the 5 day convention where I had attended meetings with Realtor Association Leadership Teams across the nation. Here are the highlights of the convention from a President’s perspective: 1. It was our honor to have been at the graduation ceremonies of the recent NAR Leadership Academy where our very own Hope Andrews was a graduate. Hope and the other 53 graduates from the nation participated in a 9 month long journey of national leadership development and OSCAR should certainly be proud to have one of our own chosen to participate. Congratulations, Mrs. Hope Andrews! 2. Our visits to the Hill were very productive as well. We were able to team up with other Florida Associations to present key Legislative talking points to Congressmen Putnam and Posey and Senators Nelson and LeMieux. In my view, perhaps the best visit was with Congressman Posey as it was a very personal visit by the OSCAR Team only. This was arranged by our Association Executive, Carol Platt, who felt strongly that an OSCAR visit would give us an opportunity to speak about Osceola specific talking points. Check out a more detailed report by our Public Policy Chair and President-Elect, Tim Weisheyer. 3. A visit to the NAR operations center building a few blocks from the Capitol Building was indeed an exciting opportunity to see the REALTOR® landmark in the heart of America’s No. 1 City on Capitol Hill. This building is the first newly constructed building in D.C. to meet “green” standards and was awarded the Silver Certification from LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design). If you are planning a visit to Washington, D.C., don’t forget to visit this remarkable building. 4. It was at this building’s rooftop that our very own Hope Andrews was inducted in the RPAC Hall of Fame for her generous RPAC contributions totaling $25,000.00 since she became a REALTOR® in the year 2000. The OSCAR Team was present during the ceremonies and we are grateful and proud of Mrs. Hope Andrews’ accomplishments!

5. The Presidents/President-Elects Round Table events are always eye-openers. I had an opportunity to sit with other medium size Boards (500-1999 members) to discuss issues that prevail in REALTOR® Associations. Here are some of the great ideas that I have noted from these discussions: • Encouraging and developing local Leaders is a challenge for Associations across the nation. One of the ideas that is worth noting is to establish term limits for existing leaders. This gives way to a new generation of leaders. • Grass roots leadership at the committee level is perhaps the best place to develop skills required to become a Board Director/Officer. Robert’s Rules of Order should be practiced in committee meetings. • Professionalism should not only be practiced with the public but in the Association as well. Boards should set a high professional standard for Directors and Officers. • Having a local Board Leadership Academy is already being adopted across the nation’s REALTOR® Associations. A well developed Academy will entice members to participate. Some REALTOR® Associations have already seen great success with this. • Gathering a list for a “pool of expertise” where members can contribute to and educate others will encourage volunteerism without the long term commitments associated with Board leadership. 6. An update on NAR’s initiatives such as the new radio ad that will be aired across the nation was shared during the convention. A new Promo for REALTORS® as the “Heart of the Market” was also rolled out. As well, a progress report on the REALTOR® Property Resource website was presented. Check out the NAR website for more details. It was indeed a very hectic week for your Leadership Team and I am grateful to our Leaders for taking a week off their personal and business lives to represent OSCAR at the NAR Midyear Legislative Meetings on behalf of all OSCAR members. Here are the other highlights worth noting from the convention: • Professional standards, MLS policy changes. In addition to the vote to ban discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, the Board passed a number of policy changes.

3

June 2010


TECHNOLOGY OMMITTEE Update UPDATE TechnologyCCommittee Top Ten Things You Can Do With Your REALTOR® Tools Mining the Data You Already Pay For Kemp Howland, GRI, SFR OSCAR Technology Committee Using the MLS Find "hot spots" of sales activity, even in a slow market It's a fact: even in a down market there are always hot spots of sales activity. Wouldn’t it be helpful if you could identify these hot spots and get a share of the business? Using your MLSA query tools, you can find out which neighborhoods are selling the fastest; which subdivision is brining the highest percentage of asking price; which home style will sell in the shortest period. Identify trends based on price, terms and compensation Are prices beginning to rise? What is the percentage ratio of mortgage purchases to cash purchases? Which way is compensation heading? The answers to these and myriad related questions are easy to get if you know how to query the data in the MLS. Why wait for the government to tell us what happened? We can see it for ourselves on a daily basis, long before the government compiles the data for us. Learn to ask the right questions and the MLS will provide a treasure trove of valuable and timely information you can use to make more money today! Determine the top listing and selling agents and brokers in a given geographic area Do you want to partner with winners? Do you want to join or form a team of high producers to capitalize on the synergy of success? You can easily find the agents you want to work with by mining the data in the MLS. Your query can be broad and all-encompassing, or it can be granular and precise. Whatever you need to know to form the best alliances is right there in the MLS, waiting to be uncovered. Create compelling price and DOM analysis to help sellers understand their market The only thing worse than an uninformed buyer or seller is a misinformed buyer or seller. Everyone has an opinion, and everyone likes to argue about their opinion. But nobody can argue with the facts! When you encounter a highly opinionated buyer or seller, show him or her the facts, and watch the arguments disappear! Overcome hearsay with knowledge and get the price right the first time, every time. Search for listings that are either expired or about to expire If you know the date a property was listed, and you know the average time to expiration in a given market, can you predict when an active listing will expire? Using MLS data to predict expiration date

4

is usually (although not 100%) accurate. By predicting expirations, an agent can get ahead of the market and prepare to capture those expired and withdrawn listings as they happen. Being the first to offer a solution may be all it takes to get a seller to listen to your logical arguments regarding price, time on market and probability of sale. Using IRIS/IMAPP Find owner/lender/attorney information for pre-foreclosures and foreclosures Did you know that every foreclosure and pre-foreclosure is listed in IRIS? Learn to query IRIS for the data you need, and you'll have attorney names, owner phone numbers, lender names, and everything you need to talk to anyone about pending foreclosures, lis pendens and sale options. The amazing data in IRIS will help you become a better informed REALTOR®. Create specifically targeted mailing lists for effective farming If you are not now farming several neighborhoods or zip codes, you 'd better get started! The market is shifting and regular sellers haven’t a clue about who might be the best Realtor® to help them sell. Why? Because everyone has been working with short sales and REO's. Regular sellers have been sorely neglected for the past two years. Using IRIS you can identify every homeowner in any area who has: owned for more than four years; has no mortgage; has a small mortgage; has seen his/her neighborhood change; is predictably ready to move up or down. Armed with this information a Realtor® can mount an impressive farming campaign targeted at those homeowners most likely (and able) to sell. Prepare more accurate comps IRIS has one of the best mapping features of any geo-data service in the country. Using the geo-mapping feature, the astute Realtor® can widen or narrow a search for comparative sales using a visual representation of the neighborhood, subdivision or zip code. Defining elements that are not apparent in a data-based search become obvious when using the geo-mapping tool. Properties that don’t belong in a comparative analysis are obvious, when viewed in this mode, and this helps to insure the accuracy of the analysis. Better data means a better-informed seller. That could translate into a more marketable property for the listing agent. Identify and segregate rental properties from owneroccupied properties Sometimes you just want to contact renters. Sometimes you just want to contact landlords. Sometimes you just want to talk to owner-occupants. Using IRIS, the Realtor® can easily identify the group that he or she believes will be most inclined to do business. If you have a compelling reason for a renter to look at a specific listing, you can find scores of renters using IRIS. If you know of a rental property that would appeal to an investor, you can find that investor using IRIS. If you want to send a message only to homeowners who are currently living in their homes, you can get that information from IRIS, too. Continued on page 5

June 2010


Continued from page 4 Properly utilized, IRIS can make your prospecting work seem like play. You might even begin to think of prospecting as something you LIKE to do! Prepare market-specific mailing lists and mail-merge files IRIS allows the Realtor® to find the information he or she needs, and then download it into an Excel spreadsheet or a CSV file for easy manipulation and conversion to mailing labels and marketing letters. If all you need is mailing labels, you can download the label-printing file directly from IRIS and begin printing labels immediately. No muss – no fuss. Just a quick and effective way to get your marketing program into high gear. The tools we have as Realtors® are often overlooked. Most of us are busier than ever. However, these tools will, in the long run, save both time and money. Why not take a closer look and see if there are benefits you may have been missing? Kemp Howland is a career-long member of OSCAR, holds GRI, SFR and SRES designations, and is co-owner of Howland International, Inc., providing training, marketing and data-based solutions to the real estate industry.

NewNew andand Improved Improved website!! website!! By Chris Florence Please allow me to formally introduce myself to our valued members; I am Chris Florence, your new Technology and Communications Director. I’m not much for titles, but when it comes to technology and communications that benefit our members and leaders, I’m your man! My background is in business administration and marketing, plus I worked in commercial real estate for 8 years. I am a Certified Commercial Investment Manager designee, serving on the Florida CCIM Chapter Board of Directors, where I taught portfolio development statewide. I love technology, particularly in its application toward making the real estate profession more profitable and more streamlined. Those passions and creative thinking patterns have carried over to the needs here at OSCAR and I’m excited to help whenever and wherever I can. The new site is hopefully intuitive in its functionality. I made sure to include everything content-wise that was in the previous version, plus some improvements. Some of those improvements include a news blog with the ability to post your comments about the articles along with the ability to Twitter, Facebook, email, etc. the articles that you would like to share with your clients, family or extended Realtor family! I’m most excited about the translator function of the site. The site is, of course, defaulted to English, but you can also read the articles and content in Spanish. The eViews will be linked directly to the news that the Association feels strongly about communicating to its members, however, there are more articles beyond the content posted in the eView. There are several options to follow feeds for the website. There is an RSS feed for the monthly calendar and for the blog, as well. If you are not familiar with what an RSS feed is or what it does, stay tuned as I will be posting some video tutorials on technology tools to provide better ongoing technology education for our membership. We also have a quick menu to get an overview of what is happening with the latest blog posts, quick links to our Twitter, Facebook and the RSS feed that I was referring to in the previous paragraph. On all the subpages throughout the site there is a CLICK ME! Tab in the upper right hand corner under the main menu. That tab will reveal the quick menu. To view a live tutorial about “where everything is”, type in Website Overview in the search field. Your comments and questions are always welcome. Just email me at communications@osceola-realtors.com or call the office. I’m at extension 223.

June 2010

5


A Nichol’s Worth of of Information A Nichol’s Worth Information Carol K. Platt, CRB Association Executive ae@osceola-realtors.com Chris Florence Communications/Technology Director communications@osceola-realtors.com Bob St. Gordon Controller accounts@osceola-realtors.com Anneris Rivera Membership and Educational Administrative Services memberservices@osceola-realtors.com Yessica Colon Membership and Event Services membership@osceola-realtors.com

By Nick Nichols A FEW THINGS TO KNOW l. Check the date of the contract form that you are using or receiving from another company. The date is on the lower left. If the contract is too old, it may be illegal. Also, there are many Disclosures that are required by law and may not be in the old contract form. If you want to see what forms are current and you cannot figure it out, just call 407-5871450 and the Tech Hotline will help you understand and tell you where to find all the information you need!! 2. FINANCIAL CLAUSE: Be aware that if the blanks stating the % rate and the years of mortgage are not filled in, the buyer may not be able to afford the loan if their credit is such that they may have to pay a much higher interest rate (because the rate was not filled in) and cannot afford the payments and they may lose their deposit money.

(Hey…..did you know that if you come to the “MLS Marketing Meeting” (at our board office), you can learn a bunch of stuff like this article as well as have a little free breakfast and coffee and meet your fellow Realtors!! Time is 8:30 to 9:30 each Tuesday. We bring in a new speaker each week!!!

Eli Perez Leader and member Services membership@osceola-realtors.com

ASSOCIATION OFFICE 1105 Shady Lane Kissimmee, Florida 34744 NEWSLETTER SUBMISSIONS In order to share the wealth of information contained in this newsletter in an efficient manner, please submit your articles via e-mail or fax by the 10th of the month. Please clearly indicate that submission is for the Osceola ReVIEW. Articles: communications@osceola-realtors.com Advertising: accounts@osceola-realtors.com For advertising inquiries please contact Bob St. Gordon at the Association Office. Your advertising defrays the cost of publishing. Thank you for your support. The Osceola ReVIEW is published exclusively for the Association by Osceola Press Kissimmee, Florida 407.933.1820 • 407.933.1835 fax graphics@osceolapress.com Disclaimer: The Osceola ReVIEW is published for the members and affiliates of Osceola County Association of REALTORS®, Inc. by Osceola Press as a courtesy. Osceola Press nor the Association assume any responsibility for article content or advertising message as submitted for inclusion in the newsletter. Advertising and articles are not endorsed by the Association, nor is there any implied warranty by the Association or its staff.

DEARDear OSCAR Oscar Dear Oscar, I know that I am always asking you questions, but this time I think that what I need is very important. I have a buyer who wants me to give a “verbal offer” to the owner. The agent for the owner tells me no! She said that the owner had told her to “Withhold verbal offers”. That is not possible …right Oscar? NoRead Nonley

Dear NoRead, Good to hear from you again. I also see that you have not been reading much lately. Let’s get to the point without any foolishness. It IS possible NoRead. The Realtor, who listed the property, discussed the “Exclusive Right of Sale Agreement” (ERS-tb Rev.11/09) line #56 with the owner. The owner said to check the box that said “Withhold verbal offers” and the Realtor did as his owner directed. The owner then signed the listing contract. NoRead, if you do not understand this, my friend, you need to read more often! Always your friend OSCAR

6

June 2010


PROFESSIONAL TANDARDSCorner CORNER Professional SStandards By Robert St. Gordon, Controller, Professional Standards Coordinator Purchasing Used Supra Electronic Lockboxes (iboxes) Buyer Beware! Please note that if you are buying/selling Supra Electronic lockboxes (iBoxes) online or otherwise outside of the Association, the lockbox must first be physically deprogrammed at the original Association purchased, then reprogrammed in your name at our Association, otherwise it will not work. We will also need some form of documentation (receipt, letter from previous owner) showing the transfer ownership of the lockbox(s) to you. The Association is in the process of reviewing our Supra contract and lower cost lockbox alternatives for you the member. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us at 407-846-0117. !

Purchasing Used Supra Electronic Lockboxes We realize in today’s market environment that many Realtors® are using manual pushbutton/combination lockboxes. However, one must keep in mind that great care and screening should be exercised before giving out manual lockbox and/or other property access codes. Once this code is given out, the person in possession of this code has unlimited 24 hour-7 day access to the subject property, unless or until the listing agent physically goes to the property to change the access code. And even if you frequently change access codes, the property keys may have been previously duplicated or other ways devised to gain access to your listed property. The list of horror stories is numerous, and the potential for unscrupulous and/or criminal acts occurring at a listing property is unlimited. And if you have given someone access to this property, you could potentially be held accountable or liable for such acts. We recommend the use of Supra Electronic Lockboxes whenever possible. Such lockboxes are only accessible to REALTOR®/Affiliate members, and the time, date, and member name of each entry into this lockbox is tracked. Supra rules prohibit the sharing of any SupraKey with anyone, subject to a maximum fine of $5,000 and/or suspension of Supra services. A complete list of the Supra Rules is available at the top of our website www.osceolarealtors.org under the “forms” link. We also recommend that you take great care when meeting clients or potential clients in any setting/situation. Just Google “Realtor Safety” and/or go to the Florida Association of REALTORS®’ (floridarealtors.org) and NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS®’ (Realtor.org) websites and you will find all kinds of stories and safety tips.

property. The 2010 Code of Ethics and Arbitration Manual, “Pathways to Professionalism” are recommended professional courtesies to be used by REALTORS®. The “Pathways to Professionalism” section recommends, in part, that you: “Be responsible for everyone you allow to enter listed property.” “Never allow buyers to enter listed property unaccompanied.” “Never allow unaccompanied access to property without permission.” “Enter property only with permission even if you have a lockbox key or combination.” As the listing agent, you may want to consider specifically instructing other REALTORS® of your intended limitations of the use of property access codes in the appropriate MLS Listing field(s). Again, if you have given someone access to a property, you could potentially be held accountable or liable for their actions. If you have any questions regarding such liabilities or legal ramifications regarding property access, please contact your attorney or call the Florida Association of REALTORS® Legal Hotline at 407-438-1409.

It has been reported to us on numerous occasions that REALTORS® are giving out manual lockbox and/or other property access codes directly to potential buyers for their personal unaccompanied property viewing. We highly recommend that you never give such unattended access to a

7

June 2010


2010 N ATIONAL SSOCIATION OF REALTORS® 2010 National AAssociation of REALTORS® Mid-Winter Meetings – Washington, DC: NAR Leadership Academy Graduate Perspective By Hope Andrews, GRI I am a member of the National Association Of REALTORS® State and Local Issues Committee. I attended my committee meeting in Washington D.C. last week and it was very exciting! One of the major issues on the committee floor was property registration in cities and counties throughout the nation. Committee members shared the solutions that their local and state associations were presenting to local and state governments to help avoid what many members of our committee called, “the tax on REALTORS® and Banks”. It was great to hear of other associations providing their local municipalities with resources and information to help them get a handle on foreclosures. National Association Of REALTORS® governmental affairs staff from across our nation spoke at the microphone, thanking our committee for bringing this property registration issue to their attention. They are now initiating collective research which makes me realize that NAR can be important to us in local issues, too. I also brought to the committee floor the Florida issue of Amendment 4. I had the opportunity to explain Amendment 4 within our national alliance and reiterate our unfortunate commonality that, if we do not defeat Amendment 4 in our state, it will spread to their state and they certainly don’t want that to happen! At the very same moment that I was sharing this information, I received a text from John Sebree, Florida REALTORS® state lobbyist saying that President Wendell Davis, Florida REALTORS® Association President, and he had just presented the Amendment 4 issue to the National Association Of REALTORS®’ Leadership Team and received $100,000.00 to help fight against Amendment 4 back home. Thank you President Wendell! Other issues on the committee floor revolved around transportation, water resources and sewage issues. I felt honored to be able to bring both Osceola’s and Florida's issues to the table. I also felt fortunate to have such an opportunity to learn so much about issues that other states are facing and about the resources that we can use to help fellow REALTORS® nationally on issues we have either already faced or have some knowledge of. The take away: REALTORS® really care about the members of their REALTOR® family. These REALTORS® were so willing to help each other. They care about property rights and consumers with passion and pride, as they looked for solutions in their current crises. The REALTORS® Political Action Committee events that I had the honor of attending were elegant and held in beautiful places. However, once again, what was the take away from that honor? These attendees were REALTORS® that are savvy enough to see how important it is to support our PAC and are confident about the difference our PAC makes locally and state-wide, but being in Washington D.C., I saw first hand that when we are sitting and speaking to your Congressmen and Senators on the Hill, that the

investment you make in your own personal business and our industry comes back to you twofold. It is my opinion that these REALTORS®, loyal to our industry through their contributions, keep us in business! I learned so much more about RPAC last week and I was able to share that information with President Veronica, President-Elect Tim, and our Association Executive, Carol. Those thoughts and ideas that I heard from others around the Nation can help us make more of difference locally. I appreciate this opportunity to help our members become more aware of where their funds go and what great things have happened due to their professional contributions. Another highlight for me on the trip: I had the honor of addressing the National Association Of REALTORS®’ Executive Committee as a Leadership Academy Graduate. After speaking, I was allowed to stay for some of executive committee. I will tell you that the National Association of REALTORS® Leadership Team is really working hard for every member in every state of the union. To see National Leadership in action was amazing. We are blessed to have the finest REALTORS® in the country working on benefits to their members on a regular basis. However, these great REALTORS® would not be able to accomplish so much without their staff. NAR’s staffs, from every department, are some of the most impressive people that I have ever met. Each one of them is so humble, caring and hard working. They remind me of our Osceola staff! Next time you see a staff member, just remember to say thank you, for they are the forces that keep our association's day to day service to our members going. At the President's Circle Luncheon, I heard from America's top Democrat Consultant and America's top Republican Consultant. They gave their perspectives on the outcome of the 2010 elections in many different races and states and how they feel these outcomes will affect our real-estate issues. It was interesting to hear what they think about the Florida Race to the Senate!! I know you’re curious, but for political correctness, I will not put it in print, but you can call me and I will share! There were so many great speakers, so much education, but the thing that I will end with is something that is most near and dear to my heart - the work of the Osceola County Association of REALTORS® Leadership team. I witnessed what they were doing in Washington to ensure our voices were heard at the Hill. I want to thank President Veronica Malolos, President-Elect Tim Weisheyer, Past-President Mike Levine and our Association Executive, Carol Platt for the work they did on our behalf in Washington. They were recognized for meeting with Congressman Bill Posey, Congressman Adam Putnam, Senator LeMieux, and Senator Nelson. They brought our issues straight to the Capitol Hill. I saw them make an impact and that impact was shared with me by other leaders in NAR who noted that our association was represented very well. Osceola, you are on your way to making a difference by ensuring that our issues are heard all across the state and all across our country. Thank you for your leadership and thank you for giving me the privilege to serve.

8

June 2010


All classes will be held at the Association (unless noted otherwise) To register for any classes please visit the Association website www.osceolarealtors.org, click on “Member Login” link, enter your username and password and then click on the Education Calendar. If you have any questions, please call the Association at (407) 846-0117. PLEASE NOTE: If you are registered and unable to attend, please call the Association to cancel within 24 hours of the class, or you will incur a $20 cancellation fee. If you are late for the class you will also incur a $20 late fee. Thanks in advance for your cooperation. MLS Training Classes There is one MLXchange Basic Training class held each month. This is a mandatory class for new members. Even if you have already taken this class, you are invited to attend as a refresher course at any time.

Property Management for the Real Estate Practitioner Thursday, June 17, 2010 Time: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm Instructor: Marilyn "Charli" Phelps Location: Association Classroom, 1105 Shady Lane, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Description: Basic knowledge of why you are needed, what will be expected of you, how to operate a management office, the legal environment and ideas on where to obtain prospective tenants. Cost: Free CE Credit: 4 CE Hours

MLXchange Advanced (Spanish) Monday, June 21, 2010 Times: 9:00 a.m. –12:00 p.m.

Maximizing Your MFR Productivity Toolbox (Spanish) Monday, June 21, 2010 Times: 1:00 p.m. –4:00 p.m. Location: Association Classroom, 1105 Shady Lane, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Cost: Free

How New Government Regulations Effect Your Business Wednesday, June 23, 2010 Time: 9:00 pm - 12:00 pm

Brokerage Relationships Disclosures Thursday, July 15, 2010 Time: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm Instructor: Chuck Bonamer Location: Association Classroom, 1105 Shady Lane, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Description: This fast moving course provides a resource manual, examples, case studies, and all the forms necessary to practice safe agency. Cost: Free CE Credit: 4 CE Hours

Code of Ethics Thursday, July 22, 2010 Time: 9:00 pm - 12:00 pm & 1:00pm - 4:00pm Instructor: Dick Fryer Location: Association Classroom, 1105 Shady Lane, Kissimmee, FL 34744 Description: This class provides an update on the Code of Ethics and other Professional Standards issues. This course also fulfills the NAR membership requirement. Cost: Free CE Credit: 3 CE Hours

Green for Real Estate Professionals Certification Wednesday, June 23, 2010 Time: 9:00 pm - 12:00 pm

9

June 2010


GREENGreen CARDS DRAW FOREIGN INVESTORS TO to FLORIDA Cards Draw Foreign Investors Florida Distressed real estate feeding frenzy has other benefits other than great investment opportunities for foreign investors. By Carlos ThurdeKoos Foreign investors are after much more than just great investments in the state of Florida these days. Not only are they after the green but they are also after the green card.

investors sponsored by a U.S. company. The alternative would be 12 to 15 years for those sponsored by a family member. (THE MIAMI HERALD, MONICA HATCHER AUTHOR MHATCHER@MIAMIHERALD.COM)

If the great deals in the southern region of the United States weren’t enough, investors’ interests have been peaked even more with the prospect of obtaining an investors’ visa. There is an increasing draw from investors because of these opportunities and every little push we can get in real estate in this economy is welcomed. This opportunity to obtain a visa is certainly no walk in the park. There are strings attached to help stimulate the economic climate in Florida. The goal and main focus for this program that has been around for approximately twenty years is to encourage progress from immigrants to help stimulate the economy. This concept is counterintuitive to those who migrate as a result of family relationships and have little to do with stimulating the economy. Monica Hatcher from the Miami Herald is quoted as saying, “Developers and entrepreneurs are catching on to the program. They are hoping the attraction of U.S. residency will help generate new sources of badly needed capital at a time when access to credit has all but dried up. They have new reason to hope.” Hope is good and necessary to bolster consumer confidence. The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has recently implemented a pilot program in Miami-Dade and Monroe counties to allow short term stays for foreigners involved in active investing. The program does require that the participant invest at minimum $500,000 in a business, new or existing, that helps to create at minimum 10 new full-time jobs. These jobs can be created in other ways than just direct hiring from the investor. The old rules prior to the new pilot program had to be a minimum investment of $1,000,000 with the creation of 10 new direct hires. This flexing of the rules will hopefully help to stimulate a larger demographic of investor.

GRI GRI Deborah Goodwin received her GRI (Graduate REALTOR® Institute) pin this month at the Osceola County Association presented to her by Carol Platt, AE. The Graduate REALTOR® Institute (GRI) symbol is the mark of a real estate professional who has made the commitment to provide a high level of professional services by securing a strong educational foundation. REALTORS® with the GRI designation are highly trained in many areas of real estate to better serve and protect their clients. If you have any questions about this designation, or any others, contact us at the association. We would love to facilitate you in any way possible even push to host the class for the designation you are interested in.

A small percentage of visas were issued under the current program. Out of 10,000 spots available only 1,000 were approved and issued under the current guidelines. There were 3,000 out of the 10,000 spots reserved for the pilot program and there are talks in Congress to adopt the pilot programs for good as there is a growing demand for cashing in on a weak economy. The new pilot program for investors will be the fastest ways possible to obtaining residency. The time frame is that it could take up to four or five years for those

10

June 2010


MFRMLS VENT MFRMLS2010 2010ANNUAL AnnualSHAREHOLDERS Shareholders EEvent Another year has passed for MFRMLS and what a great year it was. Sadly we are saying goodbye to 20092010 president Carlos A. Fuentes. On the flip side we are all looking forward to Aaron Chandler the now officially acting 2010-2011 president for MFRMLS. It’s going to be a great year. On April 23, 2010 a few of our members were at the Shareholder’s event acting in their capacities and witnessing a memorable day at the Grand Bohemian in Orlando. Those from our association in attendance were Kim Goodwin, Jose Alverez, President Veronica Malolos, and our very own Carol Platt. Kim Goodwin our 2008-2010 Class II Director has been officially replaced by Jose Alvarez who was installed as our 2010-2012 Class II Director. Tim Weisheyer is also taking on new responsibilities as a Class I Director. President Veronica Malolos has previously served as an MFRMLS Director wanted to share a few words. President Malolos made a statement and is as follows: “I served as an MFRMLS Director for one and onehalf years. It was one of the most rewarding leadership experiences. My main objective was to serve our members through representing our interests. The other leaders that I was able to network with helped me to establish my current REO business. The standards of leadership on this Board are so high that it was a growth opportunity for me, as well. It inspired me to bring back that level of professionalism to our own association.” Prior to the Annual Shareholder’s Meeting the Directors approved By Law Amendments to include the Immediate Past President of MFRMLS to automatically serve as an Additional Director atLarge without need for further appointment or election. The shareholders approved ByLaw Changes in regards to Definition and Purpose of Service, License of Intellectual Property Rights, and CIE Service Bylaws. OSCAR Representatives were also treated to a presentation by Clarity Security on the upcoming SAFEMLS login authentication system. As a shareholder, OSCAR does the best job that it can to represent the membership but we need your help as well. Get involved with questions or concerns about MFRMLS so that with a combined effort we can improve on an already great tool.

11

June 2010


Advertising/Publications

Construction/Repair/Renovations

Osceola News Gazette

A Better Choice Pools

Paula Stark 108 Church St Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-846-7600 Fax: 407-846-8516 Email: pstark@osceolanewsgazette.com Website: www.aroundosceola.com

Michael Evans 3213 13th Street Saint Cloud, FL 34769 Office: 407-414-7379 Fax: 407-870-9978 Email: m_abcpools@yahoo.com Website: www.abetterchoicepools.com

Orlando Sentinel

Franks Air Conditioning Inc.

Laura Kohler 633 North Orange Avenue Orlando, Florida 32803 Office: 407-420-6126 Fax: 407-420-5201 Email: lkohler@orlandosentinel.com Website: www.orlandosentinel.com

Dean Bullock 800 Armstrong Blvd Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-870-7755 Fax: 407-846-1312 Email: dean@franksac.com Website: www.franksac.com

The Real Estate Book Tammy Birchler 2305 NewPoint Parkway Lawrenceville, GA 30043 Office: 407-702-4761 Fax: 407-581-1491 Email: tbirchler@treb.com Website: www.realestatebook.com

The Real Estate Book Doreen McGauvran 2305 NewPoint Parkway Lawrenceville, GA 30043 Office: 407-310-7443 Fax: 407-581-1491 Email: dmcgauvran@treb.com Website: www.realestatebook.com

Attorneys Charles P. Castellon, PA Law Firm Charles Castellon 12934 Deertrace Ave Suite A Orlando, FL 32837 Office: 407-851-0201 Fax: 407-847-5618 Email: ccastellon@centralflattorney.com

Law Office of Daniel Villazon Daniel Villazon, P.A. 1420 Celebration Blvd., Suite 200 Celebration, FL 34747 Office: 407-483-0041 Email: dvillazon@yahoo.com Website: frecattorney.com/

Engineering, Surveying, Planning Hanson, Walter & Associates, Inc. Diane Salisbury 400 Emmett St. Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-847-9433 Fax: 407-847-2499 Email: dsalisbury@hansonwalter.com

Entertainment Services Elegant Entertainment DJ Services Joe Marolis 7812 Fern Leaf Drive Orlando, FL 32836 Office: 407-414-6239 Email: joem15@earthlink.net Website: www.elegantentertainment.org

Financial Services and Institutions Equilliance Mortgage Nancy Knapp 4417 13th Street, Suite 101 Saint Cloud, FL 34769 Office: 321-624-1560 Fax: 407-957-6892 Email: nancy@nancyknapp.net

Farm Credit Regina Thomas P.O. Box 8009 Lakeland, FL 33802 Office: 863-682-4117 Fax: 863-688-9364 Email: rthomas@farmcreditcfl.com Website: farmcreditcfl.com/

MortgageOne Financial Services John Smoley 1637 E Vine St Ste D Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office: 407-870-9090 Fax: 407-870-2809 Email: john@m1fs.com Website: www.m1fs.com/

MortgageOne Financial Services Graham Aistrop 1637 E Vine St Ste D Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office: 407-870-9090 Fax: 407-870-2809 Email: graham@m1fs.com Website: www.m1fs.com/

Qubty Financial Group Sami D. Qubty 7680 Universal Blvd., Suite 405 Orlando, FL 32819 Office: 407-370-3030 Fax: 407-370-2040 Email: squbty@qubtyfinancialgroup.com Website: www.qubtyfinancialgroup.com

Qubty Financial Group David Qubty 7680 Universal Blvd., Suite 405 Orlando, FL 0 Office: 407-370-3030 Fax: 407-370-2040 Email: squbty@qubtyfinancialgroup.com Website: www.qubtyfinancialgroup.com

Trustco Bank Walter Alvarez 1525 East Osceola Parkway Kissimmee, FL 34746 Office: 407-932-0398 Fax: 932-0719 Email: GC-573@TRUSTCOBANK.COM Website: trustcobank.com/

Home Builders - Developers DR Horton, Inc. Nelson Garcia 2520 T G Lee Boulevard Orlando, FL 32824 Office: 407-556-2100 Fax: 407-556-2106 Email: ndgarcia@drhorton.com Website: www.drhorton.com/

12

June 2010


ICI Homes

Budget Services, Inc.

Allison Pope 3400 W. Osceola Parkway Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 321-219-0304 Fax: 407-943-1904 Email: apope@icihomes.com Website: www.icihomes.com/HomeBuilder/

Ed Hogan 3617 Crosley Ave. Saint Cloud, FL 34772 Office: 407-892-8811 Fax: 407-892-8516 Email: budgettermite@earthlink.net Website: www.budgetservicesfl.com

KB Home

Chief Inspection Services, Inc.

Elle Voorhees 9102 South Park Center Loop, #100 Orlando, FL 32819 Office: 407-587-3403 Fax: 407-587-2386 Email: elandry@kbhome.com Website: www.kbhome.com/

Jeff Clair P.O. Box 700937 Saint Cloud, FL 34770 Office: 407-383-7241 Fax: 407-891-7410 Email: jclair@chiefinspections.com Website: chiefinspections.com/

Maronda Homes Olga Ortega 955 Keller Rd., Suite 1500 Altamonte Springs, FL 32714 Office: 407-846-4397 Fax: 407-846-4398 Email: oortega@maronda.com Website: maronda.com

Maronda Homes Inc Of Florida Jordan Keathley 955 Keller Rd., Suite 1500 Altamonte Springs, FL 32714 Office: 407-475-9112 Fax: 407-475-9115 Email: keathley@maronda.com Website: maronda.com

Home Warranty 2-10 Home Buyers Warranty Tony Fletcher P.O. Box 701857 Saint Cloud, FL 34770 Office: 321-437-8765 Email: tonyf@cfl.rr.com Website: www.2-10.com

Inspection Services Amerispec Home Inspection Services Mike Woodard P.O. Box 233 Eagle Lake, FL 33839 Office: 863-401-3692 Fax: 863-294-7773 Email: mwoodard@amerispec.net

Envirotect Building & Termite Steve Rohal P.O. Box 450206 Kissimmee, FL 34746 Office: 407-460-4450 Email: reliablepest@cfl.rr.com

Wind Mitigation Inspections Randy Cooper 5 Wisconsin Ave Saint Cloud, FL 34769 Office: 407-892-9661 Fax: 407-892-9661 Email: compurvc@aol.com

Real Estate Schools/Education Giumenta School of Real Estate Ric Giumenta 4871 NW Palm Coast Pkwy#2 Palm Coast, FL 32137 Office: 386-246-3131 Fax: 386-246-3162 Email: ric@ricgiumenta.com

IFREC Real Estate Schools Robin Pickett 5029 Edgewater Dr Orlando, FL 32810 Office: 407-644-7277 Fax: 407-647-5227 Email: robin@ifrec.com Website: ifrec.com/

MCT Real Estate & Mortgage School Maria ThurdeKoos 4301 Vineland Road Suite E6 Orlando, FL 32811 Office: 407-236-0120 Email: mctschools@mctgroup.us Website: www.mctrealty.com/

Title/Escrow/Insurance Services A-Z Team Title, LLC Bernard S. Edwards 102 Park Place Blvd. Kissimmee, FL 34743 Office: 407-932-0529 Fax: 407-932-1587 Email: bernie@azteamtitle.com Website: azteamtitle.com/

Allstate Insurance Kristy Bolin 2785 Wrights Rd., Suite 1113 Oviedo, FL 32765 Office: 407-657-5867 Fax: 407-657-5961 Email: bolininsurance@gmail.com

First American Title Cara Brown 1101 Miranda Lane, Suite 101 Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 321-624-4212 Fax: 866-621-6816 Email: carbrown@firstam.com Website: firstam.com/

First American Title Paul Peterzell 1101 Miranda Lane, Suite 101 Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-273-1955 Fax: 866-621-6816 Email: ppeterzell@firstam.com Website: firstam.com/

Health Insurance Store, Inc. Wes Fischer 1007 E. Vine Street Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office: 407-932-0023 Fax: 407-932-0068 Email: wes@4insurancestore.com Website: www.4insurancestore.com/

Mason Title & Escrow Company Shelly Kiker 1101 Miranda Lane Suite 122 Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 321-443-6901 Email: skiker@masontitle.com Website: www.masontitle.com/

Osceola Title Insurance Agency Marianne Conerly 109 North Beaumont Ave. Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-847-4077 Fax: 407-847-4393 Email: mc@osceolatitleins.com

13

June 2010


Prominent Title Insurance Agency Betty M. Dobbie 827 Cypress Parkway Kissimmee, FL 34759 Office: 407-343-1560 Fax: 407-343-1561 Email: bdobbie@prominenttitle.com Website: www.prominenttitle.com

Real Estate Closing Solutions Heidi Foster 7575 Dr. Phillips Blvd #140 Orlando, FL 32819 Office: 407-615-8550 Fax: 407-615-8555 Email: hfoster@recsfl.com Website: recsfl.com/

Southeast Professional Title, Inc. Yaritza Logrono 2699 Lee Rd Ste 120 Winter Park, FL 32789 Office: 407-539-0781 Fax: 407-537-3416 Email: ylogrono@southeastprofessionaltitle.com Website: www.southeastprofessionaltitle.com

The St. Cloud Greater Osceola Chamber of Commerce presents...

BUSINESS AFTER HOURS

Wednesday, June 16, 2010 5:30 - 7:30 PM 1105 Shady Lane - Kissimmee

Food ~ Drinks ~ Fun ~ Prizes ~ Networking For more information, call the Chamber at 407.892.3671

Stewart Approved Title, Inc. Becky Sheive 1201 Emmett St. Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-846-7477 Fax: 407-846-6573 Email: bsheive@stewart.com Website: www.stewart.com

Shelly Kiker Account Executive 321 443 6901 Cell skiker@masontitle.com 866 326 2097 Fax

Stewart Approved Title, Inc. Rayelynne Woeste 1401 Budinger Ave. Saint Cloud, FL 34769 Office: 407-957-9000 Fax: 407-957-8055 Email: rwoeste@stewart.com Website: www.stewart.com

Total Title Solutions Tina Johnson 8 Broadway St Ste 225 Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-847-0412 Fax: 407-847-0429 Email: tina@a1landtitle.com Website: www.totaltitlesolutionsinc.com

Sujeil Gerena Closer/Office Manager sgerena@masontitle.com 866 321 4722 Fax

We are your Short Sale Specialist and will help you from Listing to Closing! Call us today and ask us how we will make it easier for you to do what you do best

Stewart Approved Title, Inc. Jolene Sheive 1201 Emmett St. Kissimmee, FL 34741 Office: 407-846-7477 Fax: 407-846-6573 Email: jsheive@stewart.com Website: www.stewart.com

1101 Miranda Ln, Ste 113 Kissimmee, FL 34741 407 343 7406 Office www.masontitle.com

List and Sell!

Solar Energy Allsolar Service Company, Inc. David Bessette 1507 Damon Ave. Kissimmee, FL 34744 Office: 407-846-7830 Fax: 407-847-5013 Email: Dbessette1@cfl.rr.com Website: www.allsolarflorida.com

Web Design & Marketing Howland International, Inc. Kemp Howland 355 Falling Waters Drive Kissimmee, FL 34759 Office: 407-222-4847 Email: kemp.howland@gmail.com Website: www.seminaronsite.com

Stationary/Printing St. Cloud Stationers Bill Coughtry 423 13th Street Saint Cloud, FL 34769 Office: 407-892-1319 Fax: 407-891-0695 Email: scstationers@netzero.net Website: www.scstationers.com

14

June 2010


National Association of REALTORS REALTORS National Association of Global Business and Alliances Committee Mid Year Business Meetings 2010 promotes democracy, a safer world and By Mike Levine Introduction The National Association of REALTORS' (NAR) Global Business and Alliances Committee (GBA) is the vehicle by which NAR manages our international interests. Ten years ago, REALTORS' primary objective for GBA (formerly known as the International Operations Committee) was to promote business opportunities for REALTORS. And, this certainly is the primary purpose of the GBA today. That being said, it is truly inspiring to see this business opportunity platform evolve into much more. In true REALTOR style, NAR now utilizes the GBA to serve humanity around the world in the area of housing. I would like to give you a brief overview of three organizations spawned by NAR through the GBA committee that unites real estate professionals around the world in humanitarian service.

higher standard of living for international populations. The IRPF's work began in Central and Eastern Europe in support of the newly independent states formed by the dissolution of the Soviet Union. The smooth transition from a centralized economy to a free market economy was its objective. Today the IRPF is also active in Asia, Africa and the Americas. The IRPF's strategy is to identify newly established real estate associations, or assist in the creation of real estate associations, with the ultimate goal of furthering the organization and transparency of the transfer of real estate in the emerging markets that it serves.

Since 1992, the IRPF has assisted in the development of 84 real estate associations around the world. To learn more about the International Real Property Foundation visit www.IRPF.org

International Consortium of Real Estate Associations (ICREA)

International Housing Coalition (IHC)

The International Consortium of Real Estate Associations (ICREA) was the beginning of NAR's efforts to unite real estate professionals around the world. Globalization necessitated international acknowledgment, recognition and co-operation in the area of business practices for international real estate professionals. ICREA is the organization where our Trans National Referral Certification (TRC) resides. TRC provides a platform for the standardization and enforcement of cooperation agreements for international real estate practitioners. The ICREA website, www.WorldProperties.com identifies 34 member countries in the ICREA network.

The International Housing Coalition (IHC) is a partnership between NAR, the Canadian Real Estate Association and Habitat for Humanity. Thirty three other organizations including private companies, non profit organizations and academic/research organizations have joined the movement. The objective of the IHC is to promote "Housing for All" as an essential element for ending poverty worldwide. IHC is particularly concerned about urban population growth caused in part by the migration of sub urban and rural populations into urban centers. More than One Billion people live in slums or sub standard housing without access to clean water and sanitary services. Over 1 million people per week are either born into or migrate into urban centers. Listed below are some of the benefits of public investment in urban housing in developing countries.

There are certain criteria that must be met by an applying nation in order to be considered for inclusion into the ICREA network. • All member associations must agree to maintain its own web site and link to ICREA's web site. Content must comply with posting specifications which specify English as the site's language. • Members must agree to abide by the terms of technical standards relating to electronic data transfer. • Members must agree to maintain a code of ethics governing the conduct of its constituents. • Members must make current membership information available at the ICREA web site. • Members agree to bear financial responsibility for its own involvement and pay a proportionate share of ICREA's operational expenses. In addition to the basic framework of membership outlined above, there are other standards and best practices required of member associations. These standards and best practices are delineated in the form of protocols, or sub ordinate agreements. See the ICREA web site www.WorldProperties.com for more information. International Real Property Foundation (IRPF) As NAR's international efforts became more robust, The International Real Property Foundation was formed in 1992, past NAR President Norm Flynn heads up the initiative for NAR today. The IRPF is grounded in the belief that private property rights, the individual ownership of land and real property,

Public Investment in Urban Housing: • Spurs the economic advancement of the urban poor. • accelerates economic growth • stimulates private investment in housing • addresses many basic human needs including health • engages the urban poor, one of the world's most marginalized populations The IHC is a broad based advocacy group that aggregates the efforts of many housing and urban planning organizations. To learn more about the International Housing Coalition visit www.intlhc.org. Being a part of something larger than ourselves brings deeper meaning to life. The National Association of REALTORS provides access to a wide range of opportunities to expand the impact of each of our civic activities. I strongly recommend that we as OSCAR members embrace the National Association of REALTORS and seek out opportunities to partner with NAR in common initiatives. The dividends of thinking locally and acting globally are immense.

15


NAR M ID-YEAR LEGISLATIVE MEETINGS NAR Mid-Year Legislative Meetings By Tim Weisheyer President-Elect Chairperson, Public Policy Committee

Recently, members of your OSCAR Leadership Team went to our nation’s capital to bring a local voice to national issues. As Chairman of your Public Policy Committee, our legislative meetings and appointments were at the front of my mind and a top priority. As we all know, the decisions made in Washington, DC have a direct impact on how we conduct our businesses, provide for our families and sustain our local community. Below are four of the issues we discussed with our Senators and Congressmen: Protecting Affordable, Safe Financing for American Families Our Representatives were urged to pass H.R. 5072 and H.R. 2483. The passage of these bills will strengthen the FHA mortgage insurance program, make permanent the higher FHA loan limits and ensure caution is exercised before considering additional proposals that may have a profound adverse impact on FHA programs that serve such a critical role for our nation’s families. Likewise, our Senators were urged to take action on this important matter.

2. Urge the Federal Reserve and Treasury to encourage banks to provide term extensions for performing properties. Without these extensions, many qualified borrowers, that have been making their payments, will be forced out of their properties and market recovery could be further retarded. Lastly, and as you can imagine, the oil leak in the Gulf of Mexico was a subject discussed quite frequently. Florida’s economy is built upon two major factors – real estate and tourism. As Realtors® we have all been working hard to rebuild Florida’s real estate market and to stabilize our economy. The last thing we need is our tourism industry to take another blow. Congress knows Florida’s Realtors® are concerned about the oil leak and the impact it will have on our economy. In closing, we should all be proud of Osceola’s very own Congressman Bill Posey. Congressman Posey has been a champion for Realtor® issues and has been praised by Realtors® nationwide for his understanding and support of Realtor® issues – America’s issues… Thank you, Congressman Posey!

Affordable and Available Property Insurance Congress was urged to adopt legislation that encourages the availability and affordability of property insurance, including a long-term reauthorization of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) and natural disaster coverage. GSE Reform and GSE Loan Limits With the availability of financing being a major factor in the current market, Congress was urged to enact legislation to restructure Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac in a manner that provides the federal government with a continued role in the secondary market in order to ensure mortgage liquidity in all markets. Further, Congress was urged to enact legislation that makes permanent the higher GSE loan limit formula and caps in order to provide affordable financing for all borrowers in all markets. Commercial Mortgage Market Liquidity One of the toughest aspects of selling/buying commercial real estate in our current climate is the availability of financing. A solution to this problem is Congress taking action to enhance liquidity in the commercial real estate market. With more than $1.4 trillion in commercial real estate loans maturing by 2014 action is required to avoid driving down economic recovery. Congress was urged to take action on the following two points: 1. Increase credit union commercial lending caps from 12.25% of total assets to 25% of total assets. Credit Unions play a vital role in our communities and are hampered by their current lending caps. Allowing credit unions to meet the needs of their members is a step in the right direction and will open additional funding to commercial borrowers.

Top left: Tim, Veronica, Hope, Carol, & Mike at Hope’s NAR Leadership Academy Graduation Top right: Tim, Veronica, Hope, Carol, & Mike at Hope’s NAR Leadership Academy Graduation Middle left: Carol, Tim, Mike and Hope strategizing on congressional visits during a break at the Wardham Hotel. Middle right: OSCAR joined East Polk County Association of Realtors and the Lakeland Association of Realtors in the NAR Capitol Hill visit to Congressman Adam Putnam. Bottom left: Mike, Veronica, Congressman Posey, Tim and Carol

June 2010

16

June 2010


Top right: Tim and Senator LeMieux Top left: Tim and Veronica head the board room at the NAR Headquarters. Is this a vision of things to come or do they look natural as “Real Estate News at 9:00”?! Middle right: Tim and Mike stand sentinel at the “Unity” engraving inside the US Capitol. A symbol of our nation, our industry, and OSCAR! Middle left: Congressman Putnam and Tim meet for the first time to discuss Realtor issues nationally and on the home front. Bottom left: Tim and Veronica call an impromptu NAR Board of Director’s meeting – notice that Mike Levine and Hope Andrews are automatic appointments to that Board! Bottom right: The White House and the Washington Monument.

17

June 2010


THEThe 2010 CLASS 2010 ClassOFof'30 '30UNDER Under 30’ 30’ By Tanya Loh and Katherine Tarbox | June 2010

From a field of more than 700 applicants, we've narrowed it down to 30 honorees. Watch for information in the coming weeks on how you can be part of the 2011 class.

REALTOR® Magazine's 2010 class of "30 Under 30" is here! They are a stellar collection of passionate and motivated young professionals at the vanguard of real estate. With their strategic vision, deep commitment to clients, outstanding leadership, innovative uses of technology, and active community involvement, these individuals provide a promising snapshot of the real estate industry's future. More than 150,000 votes were collected in our online poll to select the "30 Under 30" Web Choice Award winner. Voting closed at midnight on March 28. Even though they're young, they've got plenty of wisdom to share. This year's honorees offer tips on how to achieve great things. Balancing independent thinking with a healthy respect for their mentors, our honorees for 2010 are integrating new media with old-school touches.

Still Dreaming Big After earning a RE/MAX 100 percent award his first year, the rookie had to regroup to survive the 2007 decline. He thrived by gaining mastery in the short-sale and REO markets. His family team closed 160 transaction sides in 2009 and is aiming for 500 this year. Always goal-oriented, Bustamante says he'd eventually like to found a national franchise. Focus on the Positive "All things are created twice: first in your mind, then in real life," says Bustamante. In other words, keep a positive mental attitude, and surround yourself with like-minded people. He has taken his own words to heart by serving in leadership positions with his local REALTOR® organization and Young Professionals Network. Age: 25 | REO specialist, team leader, ABR®, CRS® RE/MAX Properties SW | Orlando, Fla. 2009 Sales Volume: $15.4 million | Sides: 161 | www.teambustamante.com

Many of this year's 30 Under 30 honorees started their real estate careers while in college—and most of these highly educated young pros favor higher standards for the business. They’re demonstrating vision and commitment as they bridge generation gaps, turn around tough situations, and help manifest their clients’ dreams. We asked this year’s class to share their "secret sauce" for success. Click on their names to find out what they had to say. The Relentless Competitor Jaime Andrey Bustamante moved to the United States in 1992 with a modest command of English and a lifelong goal of playing professional soccer. After graduating from high school in 1992, he completed one year of college than traveled to Columbia to pursue his dream but it wasn't long before he was back in the United States pursuing another dream: Jaime Andrey Bustamante Financial independence.

18

June 2010


AE P ERSPECTIVE AE Perspective 2010 NAR Mid-Winter Meetings Washington, DC By Carol K. Platt, CRB As my first National Association of R E A LT O R S ® m e e t i n g w i t h O S CA R leadership, I felt like a proud facilitator, receiving kudos for leadership involvement that I was not here to encourage in the past. If this is just the beginning, then we have a strong future ahead! Our association team included our President Veronica Malolos (accompanied by her husband, Manny), President Elect Tim Weisheyer (supported by his wife, Pam), past President, 2010 RPAC Hall of Fame Inductee, President’s Circle Member and NAR Leadership Academy Graduate, Hope Andrews, and former CFCAR President, OSCAR representative to the Florida REALTORS® Leadership Academy and OSCAR 2011 NAR Leadership Academy nominee, Mike Levine. Our preconvention meeting outlined our participation plan to maximize our time according to our association needs and priorities. Opportunities were often overlapping so; our team strategy became even more important. Association Executive and Governmental Affairs Director sessions were covered by me. I was not only able to learn more about AE Competencies and the Realtor Association Certified Executive program, but I was able to access the ability to bring that program, on an administrative, management and leadership level, back to our staff here at OSCAR! I attended roundtables with AE’s across the country on social media strategies (including RSS feeds and multi-posting apps), successful leadership relationships, cost reduction strategies, educational planning for generational differences and geographical footprints, leadership development for past, present and future leadership, successful RPAC fundraising, professional standards and mediation program development, membership communication strategies, and Realtor Association Model Planning Tools. Information on access to grant funded initiatives and governmental affairs resources was an added plus! We were able to attend in-depth presentations on political affairs (both Terry McAuliffe and Ed Gillespie were on sight and insightful regarding the national political scene) and the expert panel on “Stabilizing the U.S. Mortgage Finance Delivery System” was indicative of the quality current and projected market (combined with policy) information that we have come to expect from our affiliation with the National Association of REALTORS®. Clearly, cutting edge! In fact, attending events and visiting our NAR Headquarters left this AE with greater confidence of our role and influence on Capitol Hill. Rest assured that your leadership team is a group of experienced networkers. Both Hope and Mike made sure that the President Elect and I began to build important relationships with top leaders across the nation and throughout Florida. Veronica made a special effort to introduce me to our new neighboring AE at ORRA and Miami-Dade as well. As I reviewed the committee agendas and position needs, I couldn’t help but think of so many of our members whose expertise would benefit our industry by

serving there. In fact, I realized just how fortunate I was whenever an AE who had served for over 35 years noted that she had never had a member who was inducted to the REALTORS® Political Action Committee Hall of Fame and other AE’s who noted that they had never been invited to escort REALTORS® at these events. I beamed with pride as the editor of our national REALTOR® magazine spoke of our own, Andrey Bustamante, who was photographed in Chicago and will be featured in their June edition as one of the nation’s top, “30 under 30” REALTORS®! While I had expected to meet with our Senators and Congressmen on Capitol Hill to express our NAR policy agenda in personal and local terms, I was not yet sure of how well our team would work together on the “national scene”. This leadership team naturally focuses and compliments each other in these presentations and the elected officials respond accordingly. It was an honor to represent this membership. We returned stronger and even more committed to success. In our first NAR MidWinter Meeting, the bar has been set very high – and that’s a good thing!

U

nder all is the Land. Upon its wise utilization and widely allocated ownership depend the survival and growth of free institutions and of our c i v i l i z a t i o n . T h e Re a l t o r i s t h e instrumentality through which the land resource of the nation reaches its highest use and through which land ownership attains its widest distribution. He is a creator of homes. A builder of cities. A developer of industries and productive farms. Such functions impose obligations beyond those of ordinary commerce. They impose grave social responsibility and patriotic duty to which he should be diligent in preparing himself the Realtor. Therefore is zealous to maintain and improve the standards of his calling and shares with his fellow Realtors a common responsibility for its integrity and honor. In the interpretation of his obligations he can take no safer guide then that which has been handed down through twenty centuries, embodied in the golden rule. Whatever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even unto them. Published by the National Association of Real Estate Boards, 1924

The Red Cross Building and Quilt: this is President Veronica Malolos’s 2010 Charity

June 2010

19


GREAT ®D AYS GreatAMERICAN AmericanREALTOR Realtor® Days

By Tim Weisheyer President-Elect Chairperson, Public Policy Committee

As President-Elect and Chairman of your Public Policy Committee, Great American Realtor® Days is a very important event to attend. The issues we monitor and shape on the local, state and national level have a dramatic impact on our businesses, families and communities. This year is and was no exception. Once again, Osceola Realtors® showed their interest, concern and strength as we embarked on our journey to Tallahassee to meet with our Legislators. As Chairman of Public Policy I was proud of our members involvement and am excited to share some of our successes with you. Among the many bills we discussed with our Representatives and Senators, below are a sample of some Realtors® made a difference in bringing to fruition. Oversight of Appraisal Management Companies (HB 303) With the passing of this legislation, AMC’s will now be subject to state oversight. The new law will require AMC’s to register with the DBPR, and establishes applications requirements (including background checks), qualifications for registration and standards for disciplinary actions. As you can imagine, with the increase of AMC’s, due to the implementation of the HVCC, oversight and regulation of this industry is a step in the right direction. Thank you OSCAR Realtors® for your response to our Call-To-Action… Repeal of Windstorm Mitigation Disclosure (HB 545) In 2009 the My Safe Florida Home program expired, but the disclosure requirement was a remnant that needed to be addressed. This disclosure requirement was fraught with peril and would have cost homeowners in windborne debris regions thousands of dollars and caused immense confusion for potential home buyers. Realtors® came together to have this confusing disclosure repealed and have once again made a difference in Florida. Osceola County’s Rep. Steve Precourt was successful in getting HB 7179 passed in the Legislature. This bill allows local government agencies to loan money to residential and commercial property owners for energy and stormresistant improvements. The loan would then be paid back via non-ad valorem assessments. Seller’s participating in the program will have to provide Buyers with a disclosure letting them know about the assessment to ensure Buyers aren’t paying for the improvements twice – once in an increased price and a second time in the assessment… Congratulations Rep. Precourt! Although there is much more we can discuss regarding our trip to Tallahassee and the bills we discussed with our legislators, I will close by letting Realtors® know the state budget allocates $400,000.00 to combat unlicensed activity. As you can imagine, stopping unlicensed activity will ensure more business is directed to Realtors® abiding by our Code of Ethics and will protect the reputation of our praiseworthy industry.

OSCAR Realtor Showcase Booth at the Osceola County Earth Day Celebration at Shingle Creek Top photo: Arlene Conow, Tim Weisheyer, Kissimmee Mayor Pro Tem and OSCAR past president, Cheryl Grieb, Denise Sacks and Carol Platt Bottom photo: Arlene Conow, Tim Weisheyer, Kissimmee Commissioner Mike Hartford, Osceola County Commission Chairman Fred Hawkins with his daughter, Denise Sacks and Carol Platt.

20

June 2010


Public Policy Commitee The City of Kissimmee, Florida Additional parking for Courthouse Square in Kissimmee and a contract for designing a new 900-space parking garage is set to go before the County Commission in June. Approval of a design contract would start a 10-month process to make the project “shovel ready.” Once construction starts, it will take nine months to build the parking garage, which would be on the block that contains the former Herring Carpet property between Emmett and Bryan streets east of the square. On the ballot Aug. 24, Kissimmee residents will consider several minor changes to the city charter, most of which involve removing or updating outdated passages as recommended by the resident charter committee last year. The first change deals with how the city’s utility board members are appointed; the second adds “In God We Trust” to the charter. Mech-Tech College, a technical college based in Puerto Rico, is in the process of buying the 6.3-acre former Truck Heaven USA property at 2499 N. Orange Blossom Trail to house its new educational facilities. The school will offer eight technical associate degree programs and is scheduled to open late this year or the beginning of 2011. Last January, Commissioner Art Otero learned of the college and its intentions to move into Orlando or Orange and persuaded college President Edwin Colón Cosme to open a new campus in Kissimmee.

The Villages of Poinciana Residents of Poinciana are planning to meet Dan Miller, President of Hospital Corporation of America’s (HCA) West Florida Division. He is coming to Poinciana Community Center, Tuesday, June 1 at 6 PM and answer questions that the community may have as regards the building of the new hospital slated to be built in Poinciana. The Poinciana Area Council, which operates under the umbrella of the Kissimmee/Osceola County Chamber of Commerce, has been organizing the business and community leaders of Poinciana to determine the best objectives and goals for the area’s future. The group is now in the process of organizing a community-wide event where all members of the Greater Poinciana Area may attend, as well as personally give input in this visioning process. The event, scheduled for Thursday, July 15, from 6:30 to 9 p.m. at Liberty High School, will be a great opportunity for all residents and businesses to participate and determine plans for the future. These plans will be conveyed to our local, state and federal representatives and offer a way for everyone to come together for common goals. Submitted by: Robert Loos, Broker Robert@EllisRealty.net 321-284-2560 Your Osceola: Public Policy Committee

21

June 2010


ASSOCIATION LEADERSHIP

LEADERSHIP MEETINGS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

President .....................Veronica Malolos President-Elect ..................Tim Weisheyer Vice President........................Renee Clark Treasurer.............................Gerald Kelley Secretary .............................Kim Goodwin Past President ........................Jose Alvarez Directors Andrey Bustamante Daisy Cid David Courtney David DeLoach

Wednesday, June 30, 2010, at 8:00 A.M. - 9:00 A.M.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Wednesday, June 30, 2010, at 9:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M.

Susan Graves Richard Knapp Angel Ortiz Denise Sacks

Legal Counsel ..................Danny Villazon

22

June 2010


SUN.

MONDAY

TUESDAY

WEDNESDAY 1

Father’s Monthly Planner

Public Policy 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

14

CCIM: CI 101 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Location: Florida Association of Realtors

15 MLS Marketing Meeting 8:30 am - 9:30 am

21

22 MLS Marketing Meeting 8:30 am - 9:30 am

OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

27

By Laws and5 Policies Committee Meeting 9:00 am - 2:00 pm in the OSCAR Auditorium

10

11

12

New Member Welcome 9:00 am - 12:00 pm FR AE Retreat iMAPP - Interactive Tax 16 and Mailing Labels (Spanish) 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

17

18

19

25

26

2

3

9

10

16

17

Property Management for the Real Estate Practitioner 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

St. Cloud Chamber - After Hours 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Maximizing Your MFP Productivity Toolbox (Spanish) 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Father’s Day

June 2010

MLXchange Advanced (Spanish) 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

4

WCR Meeting 9:00 am - 11:00 am

MLS - Creating Custom Reports 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

20

3

9

Afilliate Committee Meeting 9:45 am - 11:00 am

OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

13

8

MLS Marketing Meeting w/Public Policy Update 8:30 am - 9:30 am

SAT.

Completing an Effective S&P Contract 9:00 am -1:00 pm

MLS- Entering & Updating Listings 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

7

3 CE hrs- Run a Consumer Friendly Website 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

FRIDAY

2 MLXchange Basic 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Day

6

THURSDAY

28

29 MLS Marketing Meeting 8:30 am - 9:30 am

OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

Hispanic Network Meeting 9:45 am

23

How New Government Regulations will Impact your Transactions and Closings by Dana Ward, MBA Sponsored by Real Estate Closing Solutions, LLC 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

24 Hispanic Network Event (Diversity Class Part II) 11:00 am – 2:00 pm

OSCAR Staff in Rapattoni Training Session 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

30 Executive Committee Meeting 8:00 am - 9:00 am Board of Directors 9:00 am - 10:30 am

1

Monthly Planner

OSCAR Staff in Rapattoni Training Session 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

4 Independence Day

11

5

6

ASSOCIATION CLOSED ALL DAY

8

MLS- Entering & Updating Listings 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

12 OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

7

MLXchange Basic 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

13 MLS Marketing Meeting 8:30 am - 9:30 am Affiliates Council Meeting 9:45 am - 10:45 am

WCR Meeting 9:00 am - 11:00 am OSCAR Staff in Rapattoni Training Session 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

14 New Member Welcome 10:00 am - 12:00 pm

15 Brokerage Relationships Disclosures 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

OSCAR Staff in Rapattoni Training Session 8:00 am – 12:00 pm

GRI 3 with ORRA

July 2010

18

19 OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

25

26 OSCAR Toastmasters Club 4:30 pm - 6:00 pm

MLS Marketing Meeting 8:30 am - 9:30 am

20

Property Management Committee Meeting 9:45 am

MLS - Using MLXchange to Effectively Manage Time and Contacts 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

21

MLS - Creating a Professional CMA 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Code of Ethics 9:00 am - 12:00 pm 22

23

24

30

31

Code of Ethics 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GRI 3 with ORRA

27

MLS Marketing Meeting 8:30 am - 9:30 am

Executive Committee Meeting 28 8:00 am - 9:00 am Board of Directors 9:00 am - 10:30 am

Green for Realtors Certification - 29 Carlos ThurdeKoos, MCT Real Estate School 9:00 am - 12:00 pm OSCAR Auditorium

23

June 2010


PRSRT STD. US POSTAGE PAID PERMIT #3172 ORLANDO, FL

NEW AFFILIATE OFFICES Standard Pacific Homes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Stephanie Bower 200 S. Orange Ave., Suite 124 • Orlando, FL 32801 Office: 407-304-2803 • Fax: 407-304-2835

Lorri A. Maiorano . . . . . . . . . . . . . Barboza & Goffredo, LLC Carbeth M. Golding. . . . . . . . . . . Florida All Star Realty, Inc. Timothy F. Li. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Coldwell Banker Feltrim Brahim Abouhi . . . . . . . . . . . . Coldwell Banker Ackley Realty Wilson Rivera . . . . . . . . . . . . Coldwell Banker Ackley Realty Maribel Vazquez. . . . . . . . . . . . DC Real Estate Services, LLC

John Naumann & Associates . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . John Naumann 1149 Periwinkle Way • Sanibel, FL 33957 Phone: 239-472-0176 • Fax: 239-472-0350

Maria E. Medina . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Exit Realty Access LLC Carmen M. Gonzalez . . . . . . . . . . Coldwell Banker Solomon Jesus E. Rivera . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 365 Realty, Inc. Hansel Pintos . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bustamante Real Estate Inc, Adriana Ines Serrano . . . . . . . Orlando Kissimmee Realty LLC Jomar Gonzalez . . . . . . . . . . . . Property Outlet International Luz Solano . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Property Outlet International Richard Gonzalez . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . RE/MAX Pros Monica M. Huerta . . . . . . . . . . . . . Florida Buyers Realty, LLC Carmen Bonilla . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Jackie Guelde Realty INC. Barbara J. Macgregor . . . . . TLC HOME MANAGEMENT LLC Dorothy Newcome Benson. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Evista Resources Edgar A. Boyer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Evista Resources Francis E. Tiffany . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Evista Resources Juan J. Montes. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bristol Real Estate, Inc. Myraida Melendez . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Remax Pioneer

24

June 2010


ReView June Issue