Page 1

MY

g n i d d e W The Princess Bride Our essential wedding guide for tips, trends and style inspiration for the season.

32 My Weekly Preview | March 2, 2018

32.indd 1

myweeklypreview.com.au

26/02/2018 2:33:24 PM


TWIN WATERS GOLF CLUB

THE WOODS

Wedding Open Day Sunday 11th March 2018 - Free Entry 10am-2pm

THE GARDENS

GREAT SPECIALS & PRIZES

Come and see why Twin Waters Golf Club can create the perfect ambiance for your special day over a glass of wine or beer and canapés.

THE RECEPTION

Work with our team to create highly personalized, tantalizing menus within a spectacular surrounding. We have a wide variety of reception options, from cocktail functions to more formal sit-down dinners. We also offer free menu tasting. Contact our dedicated Wedding Coordinator to discuss your plans.

THE SET TING

T i W Twin Waters t G Golf lf Club Cl b 151 Ocean Drive, Twin Waters 5457 2444 wedding_venue@twgolf.com.au www.twinwatersgolfclub.com.au myweeklypreview.com.au

33.indd 1

My Weekly Preview | March 2, 2018 33

26/02/2018 2:34:14 PM


MY WEDDING

elegant

A royal affair

FLORAL CHANDELIERS

IMAGE: CASSANDRA LADRU

With couples seeking a more natural feel for their weddings, the floral chandelier concept has been soaring. Ginger Lily & Rose Floral Studio owner Julia Hails has received state and national awards for her designs and she says there is something magical about seeing floral chandeliers suspended from the ceiling.

ADD A TOUCH OF ROYALTY TO YOUR WEDDING There is nothing quite like the excitement of a royal wedding and on May 19, millions of eyes will be on Prince Harry and Meghan Markle as they exchange vows in what will no doubt be an elegant and sophisticated affair. With a modest guest list of 800 and St George’s Chapel in Windsor as the backdrop, there is no doubt that expense will not be a consideration for these love birds. Sadly, this is not the case with those of us not marrying into royalty, and the average Australian

34 My Weekly Preview | March 2, 2018

34.indd 1

wedding, now coming in at around $50,000 if the latest figures are to be believed, is already putting newlyweds in a financial pinch before their lives together can properly start. So, while the temptation might be there to imitate what the soon-to-be newlyweds do, it is best to try to emulate instead. There are several hot trends for 2018 that you can add to your big day, here are three that will add a touch of sophistication and charm fit for a royal wedding.

WEDDING OPEN DAY Come and see why Twin Waters Golf Club can create the perfect ambiance for your special day over a glass of wine or beer and canapés.

Sunday March 11 FR E E Entr y 10am–2pm

Twin Waters Golf Club – 151 Ocean Drive, Twin Waters – 5457 2444

myweeklypreview.com.au

26/02/2018 2:12:27 PM


MY WEDDING

Looking for a venue?

ON TREND

balloons

Balloons are not just relegated to the realm of children’s birthday parties. Chic balloons filled with gorgeous flower petals, greenery or even colourful confetti and glitter are appearing at weddings this year. When complementing ceremony or reception décor, these balloons become an eye-catching addition to the atmosphere of your wedding.

Elegantly set dessert tables are a popular offering at large-scale, sophisticated weddings. Create your own spread with a high-tea style focus. We love this pretty example.

myweeklypreview.com.au

35.indd 1

THE NEW BOUQUET MUST-HAVE Pampas grass is the new baby’s breath of 2018. Its wispy elegance makes pampas a gorgeous addition to bouquets, arbours and table settings, while larger fronds make spectacular statement arrangements for ceremony and reception decorations.

No matter what size your wedding, there are stunning venues to cater for all sizes from an intimate gathering to a sit-down affair for hundreds of guests. The Coolum Beach Hotel, Alex Hotel, Pelican Waters Tavern, Noosa Reef Hotel, Kawana Waters Hotel, The Wharf Tavern, Villa Noosa and Waterfront Hotel are all part of the ALH Group, which has a strong focus on providing personal service to ensure your wedding is a great event. Budgets are also an important consideration for any couple and the team at ALH Group will work with you to ensure you get the best value for money. To find out more check out the venues’ individual websites, or visit alhgroup. com.au and go to venues.

BEAUTIFUL WEDDING FLORALS Wedding and Event styling featuring jaw dropping installations and wildly romantic, lush arrangements that take your breath away.

Contact Julia Hails 0402 014 256 julia@gingerlilyrose.com.au

My Weekly Preview | March 2, 2018 35

26/02/2018 2:35:15 PM


MY WEDDING

THE INS AND OUTS OF GOLD

Find

Here are some quick facts to get you started before you go on the hunt for those forever rings. • A karat is a unit of purity and 24 karats is the highest. • 24 karat gold is soft and malleable. • 14 or 18 karat gold rings are mixed with other metals or alloys, making them more durable. • Plating means the core is another metal coated in gold. • Plated rings are a more affordable option if you have a tight budget. • Gold can come in varying colours, however the most common are yellow, white and rose, with black gold becoming a popular choice for men’s rings.

YOUR PERFECT WEDDING JEWELLERY

Argyle Pink and White Diamond Ring, NY2K

These diamond earrings will complement any style... Diamond Set Earrings, NY2K

Australian blue sapphire and diamond ring, NY2K

STATEMENT

jewellery

Zirconium wedding ring, Buderim Jewellers

Coeur De Lion matching necklace & bracelet, from $135, Buderim Jewellers

Avenue J has a wide selection of antique and collectable pieces to suit all styles.

Dansk Smykkekunst earrings $55, Buderim Jewellers

The popularity of embellished dresses with maximum detail have seen couples pare back the ear, neck and wrist bling in favour of more plain pearls or simple precious metals. But, in 2018 minimalist dresses are making a comeback, meaning statement jewellery can once again make a grand entrance. If you want to look regal at your wedding and beyond, the Avenue J team has some incredible antique and collectable pieces adorned with sapphires that have the potential to become your family heirloom. Avenue J 5444 6204

STOCKISTS: Buderim Jewellers 5445 1039, NY2K Jewellers 5443 1955

LOVE Queensland’s d’ss ve most extensive range of ANTIQUE & FINE JEWELLERY Together with their in-house designer and manufacturing team, Avenue J offers a beautiful range of handmade and exquisite fine jewellery, or can create a piece to your specifications. Mention this ad in store to recieve a free ring clean

Gift Vouchers and Laybys Available

Avenue J Jewellery SHOP 14 ZANZIBAR RESORT, 47-51 MOOLOOLABA ESP, MOOLOOLABA. 5444 4422 avenuejcouture.com.au

@avenuejjewellery

36 My Weekly Preview | March 2, 2018

36.indd 1

Avenue J Jewellery

info@avenuejjewellery.com.au

NOW AVAILABLE IN BLACK BJ

BUDERIM JEWELLERS

6/67 Burnett Street, Buderim | Phone: 5445 1039 myweeklypreview.com.au

26/02/2018 4:57:54 PM


MY WEDDING

Purple passion

PREP FOR YOUR DAY WITH COTTON TREE CLINIC

It is the colour that has often been associated with counterculture, with musical icons Prince, David Bowie and Jimi Hendrix adopting shades of ultraviolet to the mainstream to signify their individuality. But this year, this blue-based purple will no doubt be springing up in weddings across the Coast after it was named the Pantone Colour of the Year. Here are some ways you can incorporate pops of purple into your wedding.

THE DRESS: Dare to be different and choose a gown with a splash of purple.

Assist nature rather than changing it. Cotton Tree Injectables’ biostimulant works by restarting your skin’s natural process of producing collagen, to look fresher and more youthful. This facial collagen-replenishing effect helps to gradually reduce lines, wrinkles and folds. Contact Cotton Tree Clinic for more information.

THE CAKE: Go as subtle or as bold as you like, but adding some purple to your wedding cake or dessert will make it a conversation-starter.

Brighten and stimulate your skin with a microdermabrasion and new-generation skin peel package, $99.

Jazz up your table with different purple tones.

Start the day with a fresh face using… FLOWERS: Talk to your florist to find out which purple blooms will be in season for your chosen wedding date. SIGNATURE DRINK: FOR THE GROOM: Get the guys in on the act with gorgeous ties and buttonholes that complement the colour scheme.

Your ring, your design, your personal jeweller

Get creative with a purple-inspired signature drink for guests to enjoy.

SYNERGIE MICELLUTION Like the idea of removing makeup and cleansing in one go? Try Synergie Micellution – a gentle 4-in-1 micellar cleansing water that will effectively remove traces of makeup, oil build-up and impurities from the skin. No water needed, $59. Cotton Tree Injectable Clinic 5479 5355

Make Cotton Tree’s best kept secret

your little secret..

FOR FLAWLESS

5443 1955

rovera plaza, cotton tree

www.ny2k.com.au

ny2kjeweller

member of the gold and silversmiths guild of australia

myweeklypreview.com.au

37.indd 1

Wedding SKIN...

Call now for FREE consultation 5479 5355 ✓ Anti-wrinkle treatments ✓ Lip and cheek enhancement ✓ Facial volumising (Liquid Lift) ✓ Skin needling

✓ Medical grade IPL for pigmentation, hair removal, broken capillaries

✓ Synergie clinical grade skin care ✓ Microdermabrasion and peels

cottontree Injectable Clinic suite 10, level 1, cnr the esplanade & second ave, cotton tree info@cottontreeclinic.com.au | www.cottontreeclinic.com.au My Weekly Preview | March 2, 2018 37

26/02/2018 4:56:31 PM

Wedding feature March 2018  

My Wedding feature as seen in My Weekly Preview magazine Issue 489.

Wedding feature March 2018  

My Wedding feature as seen in My Weekly Preview magazine Issue 489.