__MAIN_TEXT__
feature-image

Page 1

Caloundra

SHOP

FREE

Your local retail guide GET OUT & SUPPORT THE RETAILERS WHO LOVE OUR TOWN

Giveaways prizes to be won See inside

+ FASHION HOMEWARES food food

WINTER 2021

01.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:30:56 PM


NEW Pop into town and grab the latest collector

recycled water bottle

It’s here, the new Shop Caloundra Spring Water bottle is now available in selected stores and restaurants throughout Caloundra and Moffat Beach. Visit our website for details shopcaloundra.com.au / @shopcaloundra

02.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:48:13 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

The future’s bright for Caloundra Out and about with Terry Landsberg Local retail guide School holiday fun Follow our foodie guide Having fun in Caloundra

Shannons Shoes

Whitepepper

4 5 11 24 26 30

Proudly supported by:

Meet, discover, shop &

Caloundra

SHOP

The Tea Merchant

Caloundra

Book today!

5491 2000 #Supportlocal www.accomcaloundra.com.au If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Danielle on 5444 0152.

FREE

Sales: dbussa@myweeklypreview.com.au Design: mearney@myweeklypreview.com.au

Your local retail guide GET OUT & SUPPORT THE RETAILERS WHO LOVE OUR TOWN

Read the digital version of Shop Caloundra online at myweeklypreview.com.au

Giveaways prizes to be won See inside

+

FASHION HOMEWARES foodd

WINTER 2021

Cover image: Bluey’s Photography

Follow us on Instagram at myweeklypreview

/ shopcaloundra Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 3

03.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:33:01 PM


Together we can shine A few words from the CEO, Brady Sullivan

W

inter is a wonderful time in the Caloundra region. Beautiful crisp mornings, light winds and stunning ocean views – it is the perfect place to come for a morning breakfast catch-up with friends or a sneaky family weekend staycation. There has been much excitement recently in the area, with Caloundra Chamber of Commerce partnering with local businesses and community organisations to support community and economic building events. The inaugural Pumicestone Rocks festival was a wonderful opportunity for locals to kick back and enjoy some great music and kids activities. These events are only possible through collaborations, with Caloundra Chamber, Golden Beach and Pelican Waters Community Association and Pelican Waters all working together to deliver a great outcome for the community. The Hot Weekend in Caloundra was expected to bring all things hot to Caloundra and it didn’t disappoint. Caloundra Chamber was proud to support Sunshine Coast Council and the Beachfest operators to see hot cars, hot food and hot entertainment put smiles on the faces of young and old who came from near and far.

         

The Skyline Ferris Wheel has also been a welcome addition to the backdrop of Bulcock Beach for many. Its amazing views of the Pumicestone Passage and breathtaking sunsets over Glass House Mountains remind us all of what a special place we live in. Caloundra Chamber of Commerce continues in our mission to enable, connect and promote our region to drive improved business and community outcomes. In addition to supporting our business members, we’ve recently been successful in bringing the leader of the opposition, David Crisufulli MP, and state treasurer, Cameron Dick MP, to Caloundra to continue the conversation around our region’s needs as our significant growth continues. It has been a buoyant few months for the Caloundra region and we are excited about the many great events and opportunities we have on the horizon to support our local business community. If you have a business and aren’t a member of the Caloundra Chamber, we would love to hear from you or see you at one of our upcoming events. Together we can support each other to build sustainable opportunities and prosperity on the Sunshine Coast.

It’s been a busy year

T

o say 2021 is going to be a busy year for the Caloundra Business Alliance would be an understatement. This year started with the launch of the long-awaited Shop Caloundra Gift Cards. The gift cards are an integral part of a Shop Local program that the Caloundra Business Alliance has been engaged in since our inception in 2017 . The cards work just like an EFTPOS card works and are available to purchase in Caloundra. By partnering with Why Leave Town Gift Cards, we were able to create a Shop Caloundra Gift Card that helps to keep funds local and support small business in our CBD. We are able to offer this partnership free to all our members. I am very proud of our committee who have worked tirelessly over the last 12 months to promote Caloundra as the go-to shopping destination on the Coast. In February we also launched the Shop Caloundra website, which was a natural progression with the great success of our Shop Caloundra Facebook page. Our Shop Caloundra quarterly liftout

in My Weekly Preview has gone from strength to strength with the amazing support from both local business and community and will continue to grow throughout 2021. We also launched the Caloundra ‘7 Beaches’ spring water bottle. Each edition representing one of the seven fantastic beaches we have in Caloundra. Bottles can be purchased at participating businesses throughout the CBD and Moffat Beach. Our membership has increased to more than 80 businesses in the Caloundra CBD and we expect this to grow in 2021 as we deliver on our extensive marketing campaign for the Caloundra CBD. WHAT’S ON FOR JUNE/JULY • ‘Meet and Greet’ Bluey and Bingo • Subscribe and win with over $2500 worth of prizes to be won. See the Shop Caloundra website or Facebook page for details. The Caloundra Business Alliance continues to deliver a very busy 2021 calender by ‘connecting business to community’. Selina Smith, president Caloundra Business Alliance

DON’T MOVE - RENOVATE!

askin cabinets WHERE IT ALL COMES TOGETHER EASILY Cost effective solutions for every budget

BEFORE

Kitchens

Vanities

Shelving • Custom joinery Finance Option Available

Office • Commercial

4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

QBCC 742429 HIA 956774

4 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

04.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:50:22 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Out and about There’s been much happening in and around Caloundra recently, as Sunshine Coast councillor Terry Landsberg explains.

Councillor Terry Landsberg, Division two

John Örning (Caloundra Tourism), Cr Terry Landsberg & Brady Sullivan (Caloundra Chambers of Commerce) with Caloundra Community Information Centre volunteers

HAVE YOU SEEN THE RED BENCH AT HAPPY VALLEY? It was a pleasure to attend the launch of the Red Bench at Happy Valley and Caloundra on May 26 to create awareness of domestic and family violence. The Red Bench project is the brainchild of not-for-profit charity the Red Rose Foundation, which started the campaign in the hope that the benches will raise public awareness and provide an opportunity to remind people of the unacceptable presence of domestic and family violence in communities. DICKY BEACH SKATE PARK UPDATE The Dicky Beach Skate Park project is also coming along nicely with approximately 20 workers on site each day. The project has already helped deliver some economic benefits to our local businesses during the construction phase. The team from Convic Skateparks has

recently arrived to fit out the skate bowl and skate park area. Convic specialises in skatepark installations and has just finished up with a similar project in Darwin. I can’t wait to see the finished product. CLEANTECH NETWORKING EVENT Recently I attended the cleantech industries and building designers networking event at Alexandra Headland Surf Club. This is a wonderful collaboration from local planners, architects and builders, looking at ways of minimising our carbon footprint and future opportunities through recycling our waste. The event also covered how we can build our new homes and infrastructure to minimise the impact to the environment for a more sustainable future. MALENY SHOW ATTRACTS RECORD NUMBERS Maleny show also received record numbers in attendance. The weather was great,

and I had the pleasure of taking my niece and nephew to experience all the fun on rides in sideshow alley as well as the centre ring for a display of the finest horses and cattle from around the district. The showbag section was a definite favourite with the kids! CALOUNDRA COMMUNITY INFORMATION CENTRE OPENS The new Caloundra Community Information Centre is officially open thanks to a great partnership between Sunshine Coast Council, Caloundra Tourism, the local business community and the fantastic volunteers that have stepped up to operate this important service. The centre will help our community and visitors alike, to really capitalise on all that Caloundra has to offer, thereby strengthening the local economy. If you’d like to volunteer, drop by the centre to find out how.

COMMUNITY AND CREATIVE HUB – DRAFT CONCEPT DESIGN UNVEILED I’m thrilled to have unveiled the Draft Concept Design for the Community and Creative Hub in Caloundra – a place where arts, community and creativity can come alive. The design creates green public spaces within Felicity Park and provides pedestrianfriendly streetscapes on Omrah and Otranto avenues, connecting the new town square to the main street. You can view the design at a series of pop-up sessions and speak with a council officer in person or view the information and provide your feedback online before June 22. Visit Council’s Have Your Say website for details and to take the survey. You can also contact my office directly by sending an email to Division2@ sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au. Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 5

05.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:51:21 PM


W E N RA ALOUND

C

STORE

SUNSHINE COAST WHOLESALE

WINSOME SUITE Queen bed $1199 King bed $1299 Bedsides $349, Tallboy $899, Dresser $999

HAMPTONS SUITE Queen bed $1099 King bed $1279 Bedsides $349, Tallboy $849

NEWPORT SUITE KING SPECIAL $999 includes King Bed + 2 Bedside Tables Add King Pocket Spring Mattress for an extra $500

BACK IN STOCK EARLY JULY

OAKBRIDGE SUITE Queen bed $999, King bed $1099 Bedsides $249, Tallboy $699

STERLING ROUND TABLE WITH 4 CHAIRS $999 Also Available in square and rectangle. Full living range available.

HAMPTON SUITE Queen bed $799, King bed $899 Bedsides $249, Tallboy $549

FARROW/ALBERT SUITE Available in 7 colours. All seats recline - Suite $2399 1 seater $799, 2 seater $1199, lift chair $1179

PARKER SUITE Queen bed $899, King bed $999 Bedsides $249, Tallboy $549

DENVER LOUNGE, RECLINER AND CHAISE. Available in grey and shroom. $1795

WE BELIEVE WE HAVE THE BEST PRICES ON THE COAST*

THIS IS OUR OPINION - NOT PROVEN*

Home Central Kawana - next to Anaconda, Kawana Way, Birtinya Caloundra - 31B Bulcock St - opposite Rivers 6 Shop Beerwah - 1/4 Caloundra | Winter 2021 Turner Street - opposite Post Office 06.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:18:17 PM

F


E

FURNITURE OPENING

ALBERT LIFT CHAIR OR RECLINER Rhino suede fabric with timber arms. Available in 4 colours - Grey, Avocado, Jet and Ruby Red.

LIFT CHAIR $1179 - RECLINER $799

BUY NOW PAY LATER OPTIONS AVAILABLE

D COMFORT LIFT ADJUSTABLE BED Massage function, LED lighting, USB port, one touch zero gravity and lounge functions. Battery operated remote - no cords. Price includes mattress, delivery and assembly.

SPLIT KING $3,800 - SPLIT QUEEN $3,500 - LONG SINGLE $2,000

MEDI LI LIFT ADJUSTABLE BED ED Hi-lo function, massage function, LED lighting, USB port, one touch zero gravity lounge functions.Battery operated remote (no cords). Price includes mattress, delivery and assembly,

KING SINGLE $2,200

LAURA ADJUSTABLE BED Adjustable head and foot. Battery operated remote - no cords. Price includes mattress, delivery and assembly.

KING SINGLE $1,799 - QUEEN $1,999 SPLIT KING $2,699

FREE LOCAL DELIVERY WITHIN 15KM OF STORE

PHONE 0414 748 223 www.swcwf.net.au Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 7

07.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:19:38 PM


1 of 5 Fer erris Wh er Whee el tick ket etss – Valu lue e $4 $40 0 Co C urte tesy sy of Sk Skyl y in yl ine Attr trac tr a tions ho Ca hop aloundrra $550 gift g ift carrd an and d 6 pa p ck k of coll llec e torr wa water bottles bo – 1 of 2 Sh Valu Va lue $7 lu $70 Co Cour urte tessy off th he Ca Calo loun lo u dra Bu un Busi sine ness s Allia an ncce zie e gift ft pac ack k – Valu lu ue over er $25 250 0 Co Courteesy off Co C zi z e Sw Swim mwe w ar Cozi afta ans – Val allue $69.9 95 each h Co Cour urte tesy s of Co ozziie Sw S im i wea ar 1 of 5 Ka K ing siz ize bed iz d sp sprread ad d – Val alu ue $ 30 00 Co Cour u te tesy syy off Ch heryllro osee Hom mewearss Ba amboo o Eco o wea ar pack ck k – Value ue $70 Co ou urttesyy off Man nnequiin Lan ne Bo ook pack k – Va V lue $555 Co Cour urteesy of Th The B ook k sh hop at Calo ound dra Whitep pep ppe er Hom mewa aress vo ouche h r – Va Vallue $3 300 Cou ou urteesyy of W hiitep tepepp per An insp An pectio on, cle lean an and pol o is ish h of you ourr je jewe ellerry ite em by ou our In In Housse se ller” eg Eng ll gag a em me en nt riing ng,, wedd ddin ing g ri ring, dr dre ess ri ring ng g or br braccelet or chain. Jewell V lu Va ue of $60 Courrtesy tesy of K Sm mit ith h & S ons ns Chap ps Mens nswe wear g if we i t pa pack c – Vallue $11 ck 110 0 Co Courrte tesyy of Chap ap ps Mensswear nii Cutting ng Cre rew Ca Calo loundra – Cut and d Bl Blow Dry to the Value Va of $60 Frangipani

08.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:12:10 PM


Frangipani Cutting Crew Caloundra – Cut and Blow Dry to the Value of $60

09.indd 1

A jewellery inspection, clean and polish Value of $60 Courtesy of K Smith & Sons

17/06/2021 2:12:42 PM


#GovernmentGrants are you ready? Are you experiencing growth in your business, or expecting significant growth in the near future? Perhaps you have an innovative new product ready for commercialisation and need assistance getting it to market? Are you a manufacturer with a cutting-edge project in mind that requires advanced equipment or innovative technologies and/or processes? Or maybe it is as straightforward as admitting that you need some help with bringing your business into the digital age? Did you know that you may be able to access government funding to assist you with this? Both the Queensland and Federal Government have a number of grant initiatives available to help you achieve your business goals. The time period available to access these initiatives is usually incredibly tight, in many cases less than a month. Additionally, the application process is becoming more onerous and most grants are now competitive offerings. So, what do you need to do to ensure your business is best placed to take advantage of these Grants?

Follow our 7-Step process to ensure your business is poised to take advantage of these opportunities:

01

Consider whether your business is really ready to apply for a competitive government grant. Do you have a business and strategic plan that clearly articulates your business goals and vision? Does this show where your organisation is, where it plans to be in the future and how it will get there? And more importantly, is this plan supported by detailed financial forecasts?`

02

Identify a project that supports your business vision that you would like to fund. How does the project you’re requiring grant funding for fit within your strategic plan? Is there a government initiative that could help you achieve this? Does this project meet the grant eligibility requirements? If not, how could it?

03

Understand the detail. The application processes and documentation requirements are becoming more onerous and the funding available is allocated on a competitive process. How can your application address all the required grant outcomes? Successful grant applications are those that clearly map their submission to the relevant grant guidelines and assessment criteria.

04

Preparation is Key. A successful business is one that plans for success. The planning process will ensure your business already has a lot of the supporting documentation required for grant applications. In addition to business and strategic plans larger grant programs may require financial projections, industry benchmarking, project and risk management plans and vendor quotes. Could you really pull all this together in a month?

05

Maximise your funding potential. Have you scoped out all the project requirements? Are there any supporting activities that could also be funded? Is there more than one grant that you could apply for? How can you leverage from one government program to another?

06

Understand and prepare your financial contribution. Most grant programs now require you to commit to some sort of co-contribution, usually around 50% of the total project costs. How will your fund your co-contribution? What evidence do you have to support this?

07

Work with your advisor. There is more to a grant application than meets the eye. Achieving your business goals requires both a plan and funding to implement that plan. Grants remain a wonderful opportunity to do just that. At SRJ Walker Wayland we can ensure you maximise your potential for both business and funding success.

Contact Dianne Brown goals and ensure your business is best placed to access government funding please contact Dianne Brown of SRJ Walker Wayland on 0404 016 808

10.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:55:28 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

A fabulous

range

We are a local business supporting the Caloundra community and we live and shop locally. Our store has been servicing Caloundra for more than 15 years. Being a husband and wife team with great staff, we believe in impeccable service, quality products and great prices. You will find everything for your home from a new bed and mattress to that new lounge or dining suite and everything in between. Being part of two major buying groups, FURNITURE COURT and BEDS R US, gives us a wide range of products and product knowledge. We pride ourselves on being able to find what you need and within your budget. We can also provide interest-free terms. Our staff are trained bedding specialists with excellent product knowledge and listen to your needs to be able to match you with the perfect mattress. If you’re not sleeping, have a bad back or are just uncomfortable, it is probably time to pay us a visit; we would love to help you. Our mattresses are Australian made using Australian steel and Australian-made foam.

WE

love

47 CALOUNDRA ROAD, CALOUNDRA. TEL 07 5492 7188

bedsrus.com.au *Conditions apply. Limited time from participating store. Selected items. Discounts off the recommended retail price. Pictures for illustration only.

Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 11

11.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:56:36 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA New-season shoe o s are in shoes store now

New-season Thomson & Richards dress shirts in store now

ready

Get race season

at Chaps

Large range of new-season socks, belts, ties and shoes in store now

All products available from Chaps Menswear

Tailored for style and comfort Ranging from casual wear through to formal wear for that special occasion - Chaps menswear can provide you with it all! Carrying a large range of labels including Ben Sherman, John Lennon by English Laundry, Thompson and Richards, New England, Ferracini and Hush Puppies Boston, Studio Italia, Gloweave and City Club plus more and staff to assist you with sizes and style. WELCOME TO CHAPS!

47 Bulcock Street Caloundra Phone 5491 1137

Locally Owned and Operated Company

12 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

12.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:57:22 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Something for every season with beautiful swimwear & clothing from

Cozie All products available from Cozie

Baku Swimwear Seafolly Sunseeker Sunsoaked Sea Level Jantzen Poolproof Back Beach Sea Level Australia And more Cozie specializes in all cup sizes A-F Large range of ladies boardshorts and rashies

38 Bulcock St, Caloundra

Phone 5437 2523 | OPEN 7 DAYS

Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 13

13.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:57:58 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Winter

style

locals

love

Shannon’s Shoes

The Louenhide Rachel handbag set is a customer favourite. A classic structured style, this top handle bag features an internal bag as well as detachable extension strap for versatile use. Style it your way.

stocks the best in quality comfortable footwear and accessories. Brands include FRANKiE4, Django & Juliette, Mollini, Zeta, Revere, Bueno, Kompanero, Taos and many more.

The Douglas Boot by Walnut Melbourne is a new favourite. It features a super-easy and comfortable pull-on style in a soft classic weaved leather.

All products available from Shannon’s Shoes

IN STORE AT SHANNON’S SHOES

32 Bulcock Street, Caloundra | 5491 1303 14 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

14.indd 1

17/06/2021 12:58:43 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Shop

Find the perfect Stitch & Hide bag in store now.

new-season styles for every wardrobe

So much to LOVE: Visit Ginger Lilli Boutique in Caloundra or Maleny for a wide selection of European and Australian fashions for a woman seeking natural fibres and a variety of styles. All products available from Ginger Lilli Boutique

Ginger Lilli Boutique European and Australian fashion brands for a woman seeking natural fibres in a variety of styles. TRIBAL DESIGUAL NAUDIC IMAGINE SEE SAW

12/43 Maple St, Maleny Shop 1/ 33 Bulcock Street Caloundra 0402 392 836. Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 15

15.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:14:22 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA Angel Wings dress, $215

SHOP ONLINE danscottstyle.com

Ortego lamp, $279.95 (in store only)

The Beckworth throw, $155.95 (available online) Staten Island Knit top, $140

Winter styles & homewares

20% OFF:

Get your dream bed now with 20 per cent off Azalea Bedding (available online and in store). Limited time only: ends June 30 or earlier if stock sells out.

Crisp white need not be plain. The Azalea range has a soft embossed pattern woven into it, giving it a superior style, and being 100 per cent cotton it is pure bliss to sleep under, allowing your body to breath while you sleep. All products available from Dan Scott Style

EL K

EL M S

&

K IN G

H O L I D AY

Shop 6/38 The Esplanade,Grand Pacific Resort, Bulcock Beach

EB &I VE

0423 353 933

w w w. d a n s c o t t s t y l e . c o m

16 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

16.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:00:29 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Beachfront

boutique

WE

love

Pearl Perf shoes

Mor Marshmallow range – the silky Hand & Body Milk and Hand & Body Wash Cowl-neck 100 per cent French linen top made in Italy, colour shown is Ochre

This 100% Italian leather belt completes any garment Courtney crossbody or wristlet clutch – fits cards, cash, glasses, phone and is ready to go!

All products available from Lured Lifestyle

Lifestyle clothing, handbags and jewellery.

0403 369 094 Shop 5b/38 The Esplanade, Bulcock Beach, Caloundra luredlifestyle.com.au

Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 17

17.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:35:08 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Modern-bohemian

fashion

WE

love

Handmade handbag with full hand-cut leather, hand tooling and dying with hand stitching.

Beautiful bohemian jewellery

Brown leather boot

All products available from Tirzart Boutique

beautiful Clothing • 100% Recycled hand made Jewellery Sterling Silver Jewellery • Leather Bags

Feel good about yourself 0402 820 708 Shop 2, 104 Bulcock Street, Caloundra www.tirzart.com.au @tirz.rose

@tirz_ART__

18 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

18.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:51:59 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Frames and sunglasses at Better Vision

Coastal

new-season styles in store

New accessories are in store – perfect for your new-season wardrobe

Shop new-season frames and sunglasses in store at Better Vision Eyewear

We love

Shop in store for beautiful Escada frames and sunglasses in gorgeous colours for that special look All products available from Better Vision Eyecare

All products available from Mannequin Lane

Beautiful

CLOTHING & ACCESSORIES Large range of quality fashion and accessories Exceptional Customer Service

STOCKING ALL MAJOR BRANDS RAYBAN | VOGUE | OROTON | BOLLE 5492 8033 | Shop 5/50 Bulcock Street, CALOUNDRA

Call in and visit us today. 1/8 Ormuz Ave, Caloundra Tel: 5491 6499 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 19

19.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:02:39 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Coastal

essentials

Beautiful tiful new-season son accessoriess in store This gorgeous lightweight dress is available in store now

Beautiful luxury candles in store now

WE

love

Shop these amazing winter bottoms in store now in a variety of colours

Stay stylish and comfortable with these gorgeous lightweight tops available in store now

All products available from Cherylrose Homewares & Gifts

Visit in store for beautiful homewares, keepsakes, clothing & gifts... 5341 8395

Shop 4/28 Minchinton Street, Caloundra

20 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

20.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:17:20 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Jewellery

New in store: Pink Caviar diamond jewellery from our Australian Argyle mine. Get in quick as stock is limited.

Gorgeous

Visit K Smith & Son and browse through the selection of in-house jewellery that is available for purchase right now. You will find everything from colourful stone rings to engagement rings, wedding bands and watches.

Hand-crafted and designed by K S & S, freshwater pearl & diamond pendant, normally $1595, special price $950

All jewellery available from K Smith & Son Jewellers

Manufacturer and Retailer of fine Jewellery Custom handmade Jewellery Engagement & Wedding Rings Diamonds Restorations & Remodelling Jewellery Repairs Valuations Watches & Clocks Extensive range of Giftware

Family owned and operated in Caloundra for over 40 years 40 Bulcock Street, Caloundra Phone 5491 8733 www.ksmithandson.com.au Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 21

21.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:04:09 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Whitepepper

home

Whitepepper Home is situated in Caloundra’s main street at 26 Bulcock Street. The iconic building is home to beautiful wares to help make your house your home. The store specialises in beautiful bed linen, ceramics, textiles, lighting, plants and pots; basically anything gorgeous! This year, Whitepepper Home celebrates its 10th anniversary in Caloundra, five years in the current location. It also supports five individual lady startup businesses, run by five extraordinary local women, who all have their own pods in Whitepepper. The beautiful plant conservatory is the latest addition. whitepepperhome.com | insta @whitepepper

All products available from Whitepepper Home

whitepepper Home BEAUTIFUL HOMEWARES and home to our lovely PODS @whitepepper @goforzero_au @willelaine.aromatherapy @blushingivy_hf

@bespokeplants @organicnights @chloe.collective

26 Bulcock St Caloundra ph: 0428 821 251 New store: 27 Latrobe Terrace, Paddington www.whitepepperhomewares.com wp 22 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

22.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:32:41 PM


WIN

a

W TOTA L G ETAWAY PA CKA G E WORTH OVER $1,50O!!

MONACO RESORT

2 N I G H T S TAY I N A 1 B E D R O O M A PA R T M E N T W I T H O C E A N V I E W S F O R 2 P E O P L E . FULL ACCESS TO ALL THE RESORTS FACILITIES.

L E R E N D E Z V O U S C A F E W E L C O M E P L AT T E R O F W I N E A N D C H E E S E S I N R O O M O N A R R I VA L P L U S 1 C O M P L I M E N T A R Y B R E A K F A S T S H A R E P L A T T E R D U R I N G Y O U R S T A Y. CALOUNDRA JET SKI

A PREMIUM FUSION OF SPEED & SCENERY 90 MINUTE JET SKI HIRE D E E P I N T O T H E M O R E T O N B AY M A R I N E PA R K .

A P E R F E C T B L E N D C U S T O M I S E D 9 0 M I N U T E M A S S A G E T H E R A P Y PA M P E R I N G S E S S I O N F O R 2 T O C O M P L E T E Y O U R U N I Q U E 2 D A Y G E T A W A Y. T O E N T E R T H E D R A W, P U R C H A S E A C O F F E E , C A K E , B R E A K F A S T O R L U N C H AT L E R E N D E Z V O U S C A F E , FILL OUT AN ENTRY FORM & DEPOSIT INTO THE BARREL.

T E R M S & C O N D I T I O N S A P P LY. S E E L E R E N D E Z V O U S C A F E F O R F U L L D E T A I L S .

1 2

O T R A N T O

A V E ,

C A L O U N D R A

Q L D

4 5 5 1 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 23

23.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:06:16 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

School holiday

fun

Australia’s tallest transportable Ferris Wheel is back and operating in Caloundra until August 22. The 56-tonne wheel has plenty of room for everyone who wants to have a go with 24 gondolas (it seats a total of 144 people). Jump on the Ferris wheel from 10am to 9pm daily. A single ticket is $12 per person (senior cardholders are just $10) or a gondola is $40 (each sits up to six people, includes all small children and babies).

   

OPEN FROM 9.30AM 7 DAYS: RAIN, HAIL OR SHINE Caloundra: (07) 5337 8826 Shops 12 & 13 The Strand, 11 Bulcock Street, Caloundra Kawana: (07) 5326 2890 Kawana Shoppingworld, Buddina 24 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

24.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:07:08 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

favourites

The Bookshop at Caloundra has all your hard to find WE

love

Meet

Bluey & Bingo

Wackadoo!

Wildcraft by Heidi Merika Australia's Creative Native Cuisine

Meet and greet Bluey and Bingo at Centrepoint during the school holidays. The much-loved characters from ABC’s Bluey will be visiting Caloundra from 10.30am to 11.30am on Monday, June 28, Tuesday, June 29 and Wednesday, July 7.

Planet Arcades Planet Arcades have two fun-filled locations on the Sunshine Coast, Kawana Shoppingworld and 11 Bulcock Street, Caloundra. This fantastic family entertainment centre has some of the hottest new arcade games available. Planet Arcades deliver excellent customer service in a safe, friendly and clean environment. Whether you’re looking to celebrate an event or just want a fun time out of the house, bring your friends and family for an unforgettable time at Planet Arcades Kawana or Caloundra.

The Wildlife of Greater Brisbane

NEW

games A Nature Poem for Every Day of the Year The Magic of Mary Cairncross Scenic Reserve : A celebration of Art and Nature

The Accidental Australians All products available from The Bookshop Caloundra

Shop 1, 18 Bulcock Street, Caloundra

Phone 5491 4836

www.thebookshopatcaloundra.com.au

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK!

Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 25

25.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:07:42 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

There is a market for everyone in

Caloundra

Strolling carefree through an open-air market – with the scent of freshly cooked street food filling the air – is an almost therapeutic experience and one we are well accustomed to in Caloundra. Markets give locals the opportunity to catch up with friends and family, fill tourists with envy over our laid-back lifestyle and stunning coastline, and offer small businesses the chance to share their wares and talents with the community. The Caloundra Chamber of Commerce is proud to deliver the following community markets every month. Caloundra Street Fair Check it out @caloundrastreetfair Currimundi Lake Twilight Market Follow along @currimundilaketwilightmarkets Baringa Twilight Market Learn more @baringatwilightmarket Caloundra Twilight Market Follow along @twilightmarketscaloundra

Artea, The Tea

Merchant

J

oin us at our Tea Bar for not just a cup of tea but a tea experience! We are Artea The Tea Merchant, serving organic loose-leaf tea blends in iconic downtown Caloundra, right at the entrance of Bulcock Street. Founded by a local tea enthusiast in 2018, we have been providing cafes around town with our artisanal tea blends. Now we have a dedicated tea bar where you can enjoy our entire tea range, served hot and cold as well as specialty tea drinks and, of course, teas to take home. All our blends are hand curated on the Sunshine Coast from ethically sourced 100 per cent natural ingredients. We blend an assortment of unique and traditional teas and powders to suit any occasion or taste. We also carry a range of ethically produced white, green and black teas from around the world. With good intentions, we create small-batch, award-winning, organic fairtrade and vegan loose-leaf teas, herbal tisanes and powder blends without

Monica, the owner and tea blender behind Artea, The Tea Merchant artificial colours, flavours or additives. Our goal at Artea is to fill your cup with tea in its purest form so you can turn your tea time into a special ceremony.

Sunshine Coast’s Sunday Best A vibrant, creative and entertaining street market full of discoveries, hidden treasures and delights.

Every Sunday. 8am - 1pm Bulcock Street, Caloundra. Tel. 5492 5977

caloundrastreetfair.com.au 26 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

26.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:36:15 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Everything you need

Co nven ie ntly located in th e hear t of tow n. Loca lly ow ned an d operated by M ichael & Ke rr y Dren na

n

AT KERRY’S KORNER SHOP

We are a family-owned shop with a small, friendly group of staff who will always do their best to help you. We stock a selection of everyday items such as groceries, snack foods, lollies (including a great pick and mix selection), toiletries, extra-cold drinks and frozen Coke, tobacco products, newspapers, ice-creams including Frosty Boy soft-serve cones and sundaes,

milkshakes and thickshakes, fresh and frozen products and ice, barista-style coffee at prices you won’t believe. We also have a fresh range of ready-to-eat meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus hot pies and a selection of other hot foods to go. We are proud to offer a range of locally produced products and enjoy being part of our local community.

WINTER WARMER MEALS $10 EACH

ee & e coff l y t s ns a barist y meal optio a w takea

*Photos for advertising purposes only

Kerry’s fried chicken, chips and gravy

Chicken and vege chips with aioli

everyday gro cery & fresh food items Open extended hours 365 5 days days ys a year, yea ear r, why not come in & say hi!

20/50 Bulcock St, Caloundra Ph: 07 5491 8624 Seafood basket and chips with tartare

27.indd 1

Salt and pepper calamari and chips with tartare

Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 27

17/06/2021 1:09:52 PM


eats

Caloundra

FOOD,

fabulous

FOOD

Whether you are in a hurry and need a quick bite to eat or feel like hitting the town for a stylish night out, Caloundra has dining options for all. With spectacular ocean views and cosy twilight street settings, sharing a meal with friends and family in Caloundra will become one of your favourite things to do.

Follow these businesses on Facebook or Instagram to see their latest offers and menu updates!

The Easiest Air Fryer Book ever RRP: $24.99 For more great specials including free postage, please visit: 4ingredients.com.au/product/the-easiestair-fryer-book-ever

Kim McCosker, creator of 4 Ingredients

Roast chicken Serves 4 • 1.5kg whole chicken, at room temperature, giblets and neck removed • ¼ cup melted butter • 3 fresh whole rosemary sprigs Preheat air fryer to 180ºC, for 4 minutes. Pat the chicken dry with paper towel. Brush completely with butter. Season with sea salt and cracked pepper and lots of lovely fresh rosemary. Place chicken into air fryer basket. Cook at 180ºC, for 50 to 60 minutes. Let the roast chicken rest for a few minutes before removing carefully with tongs. Seasonings: There are many ways to season a roast chicken. Before roasting, base a chicken with any of these lovely options: mix ¼ cup mayonnaise with 1 clove garlic; sweet paprika, dried oregano, olive oil; lemon zest and olive tapenade; harissa, salt & pepper. Air-fried roast chickens are juicy and tender on the inside and nice and crispy-skinned on the outside.

Good vibes. Cold drinks. Great food. Cracking live music. Located just minutes from the beach, you’ll find the newly renovated Kings Beach Tavern perched on a hill overlooking the ocean. It is your classic coastal pub with a refreshed modern feel for locals and holiday makers alike. Undoubtedly a favourite among locals, Kings Beach Tavern has stood proudly as a community landmark for more than half a century. Kings Beach Tavern, 3051 7647 kingsbeachtavern.com.au

The place to meet Caloundra Power Boat Club has great restaurants and large function rooms, all with spectacular views overlooking the beautiful Pumicestone Passage! Head on down and enjoy the Caloundra Power Boat Club, Caloundra’s best kept secret. Caloundra Power Boat Club, 5492 1444 caloundrapowerboat.com.au

28 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

28.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:38:56 PM


In the market for some fun?

As fresh as it gets The winter chill is setting in, so why not warm up with one of our mouthwatering omelettes? Made using locally sourced produce and paired perfectly with one of our smooth and delicious coffees, they’re available for breakfast, brunch or afternoon tea! Le Rendezvous Cafe 0412 096 669 1/12 Otranto Avenue, Caloundra

Every Sunday from 8am to 1pm, Caloundra main street hosts the lively markets. Featuring 100 unique stalls, enjoy fresh local food and produce, fresh juices, breakfast, lunch and delicious treats. Caloundra Street Fair, 5492 5977 caloundrastreetfair.com.au

The Pastry Lab Welcome to The Pastry Lab. We make artisanal and small batch pastries and cakes. You can take your chances and see what is in store, or you can pre-order online if you want your favourite! Savoury/ light lunch options. Dine-in or takeaway The Pastry Lab 5437 0191 thepastrylab.com.au

It’s all

french!

Do you fancy French wine, cheese and charcuterie? How about French pastries and bread, gourmet sandwiches and craft beer? Then head down to one of the newest venues in town. One Third French, 0499 909 992, follow on Facebook

Caloundra cafes & restaurants Kings Beach Tavern

3051 7647

Caloundra Power Boat Club

5492 1444

Le Rendezvous Cafe One Third French

The place to be in T

Caloundra

Ba Baringa Tavern is a new addition to the Caloundra foodie scene, offering wood-fired pizza, Asian-inspired dishes and classic of Australian pub meals. The tavern boasts a superb curved bar as Au its centrepiece with a perfect north-east-facing deck for casual outdoor dining. Baringa Tavern, 5318 7200 ou baringatavern.com.au ba

0412 096 669 0499 909 992

Baringa Tavern

5318 7200

The Pastry Lab

5437 0191

Caloundra Street Fair

5492 5977

Visit their Facebook pages for more information! Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 29

29.indd 1

17/06/2021 2:39:15 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Caloundra

Downunder Beachfest 2021

@DownunderBeachfest

This is a retro car festival that celebrates the hot rod and classic car lifestyle. The event included five days of cruising and sharing the roads with some of the best cars in Australia. Organised by the Australian Street Rod Federation Queensland Branch, previous festivals had been a great success, but unfortunately due to COVID, last year’s event had to be cancelled. However, the street show was back in Caloundra this year and locals loved it. Photos: Barry Allsop

30 Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021

30.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:14:39 PM


SHOP CALOUNDRA

Henzells Agency 85th anniversary celebration dinner

@HenzellsAgency1935

Celebrating 85 years in Caloundra, Henzells Agency hosted a special evening of dining, dancing and entertainment. The 85th anniversary event was also a chance to support Drought Angels to help the organisation with its work with drought-affected farmers and townships.

Photos: Supplied

Shop Caloundra | Winter 2021 31

31.indd 1

17/06/2021 1:15:39 PM


HENZELLS PROPERTY MANAGEMENT

A team that cares KATHERINE ALLAN General Manager

JULIE GARLAND Trust Officer Letting

TANYA JIMMIESON Senior Property Manager

CAITLIN ALLEN Property Manager

JONATHAN ELSTON Business Development Manager

MIKAELA SIMPSON MICHELLE SOMMERFELD Senior Property Manager Senior Property Manager

LAURA BAKER Leasing Consultant

“Can I just say how grateful I am to have had you as my Property Manager and how great the landlord has been during my tenancy. Both of you provided quick turnaround times on any questions or requests, whether they were maintenance issues or general lease requests. You certainly made my move to the Sunshine Coast so much easier and provided me with the opportunity to enjoy Birtinya and the lovely townhouse. Please pass on my grateful thanks and appreciation to the owner and the rest of the team at Henzells.” - T Wills (Tenant)

If you have a property that is vacant or you’re considering renting out your home in the future, Henzells would love to help. Contact us today on 07 5491 2000 | rentals@henzells.com.au 32.indd 1

www.henzells.com.au

17/06/2021 1:17:12 PM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

Shop Caloundra Winter 2021  

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded