Page 1

AUGUST 3, 2018 SPECIAL EDITION

01.indd 1

Honouring those who have gone before and leading the way for those to come forth and shine, the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network celebrates the 20th anniversary of the Business Women of the Year Awards this August.

24/07/2018 12:47:37 PM


PRINT IS DEAD

said no one ever

Proudly Supporting Business Women and the Sunshine Coast

02.indd 1

25/07/2018 1:46:47 PM


AWARDS H ISTORY

TWO DECADES OF SUCCESS The Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network Awards have gone from strength to strength.

PRESIDENT’S LETTER It is a great honour and a privilege to be at the helm of the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network. I have a big responsibility to ensure the legacy of the presidents, committee members and members before me continues and the network delivers its purpose of meeting the needs of the business community, as well as driving new agendas that are relevant and current. I am most excited at the opportunity to lead the network with the support of the talented and diverse group of successful businesswomen around me, which is what inspires me the most. This group of women, and those who have come before us, have a vast and successful history that has seen the network adapt and evolve into the amazing support system it is today, and drawing on the lessons we have learned over more than 20 years, I know we will continue inspiring, empowering and assisting businesswomen on the Sunshine Coast. It is a prestigious honour and a high accolade to be recognised through the SCBWN awards program, which is now celebrating its 20th anniversary. Many successful award nominees, finalists and award recipients have gone on to become leaders and mentors to the new and emerging businesswomen and that’s the true power of the network and the awards program. I look forward to congratulating the 2018 awards recipients and celebrating the magnificent achievements of all of the winners we have had over the past 20 years. – Roz White, SCBWN president

The 2012 SCBWN Young Award finalists celebrate at the gala

A

s the business community across the Sunshine Coast prepares to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network Awards, we take a walk down memory lane to acknowledge two decades of outstanding business women, the people who supported them and an incredible community of tireless volunteers, coordinators and leaders. These awards were created under the presidency of Celena Ross. At that time, the network was named Women in the Workforce. These awards were part of the strategy to encourage more women to work by celebrating the outstanding achievements made by other women blazing the trail. Since 1998 the network has uncovered many inspiring women who are excelling in a range of industries, many who do this in addition to supporting the community and raising families. Coast businesswoman Michelle

Hamer assisted with the creation of the awards and took on the role of judging chair for a further 11 years. In that time, she estimates she has listened to around 500 women talking about their businesses while undergoing the judging process. She says the criteria and processes in place for the awards were created to give nominees an often-overlooked

Nutritionist and author Cyndi O’Meara, voted Small Business Woman of the Year, with sponsors Brendan Bathersby and Ken Waddington of Garland Waddington Solicitors

opportunity to reflect on themselves and their work. “We have been very fortunate that the model we developed early in 2002 has stood the test of time, only this year, we have moved totally online for the first time,” Ms Hamer says. “Despite that, the face-to-face interview component remains an important part of the process, because you can see the passion in their eyes, which sometimes can’t be expressed in writing.” “Some of these women don’t even understand how outstanding they are. They just go along quietly, unassuming as a business person, so it’s wonderful to have this spotlight to shine on them and highlight the true diversity of the business women that we have.” Ms Hamer says the strong sponsorship partnerships that have been developed over the years, with both business women and business men, has ensured the longevity of the awards and continued page 5> SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 3

03.indd 1

26/07/2018 4:41:20 PM


Women with drive Rebecca Pikora I have always loved cars – I grew up spending nights with my father in the garage tinkering on cars and weekends participating in dirt track speedway. I even helped build a car that my sister and I raced for years. Pursuing a career in mechanics did not seem extraordinary to me, and I landed an apprenticeship at Mike Kelly’s North Point Ford (later Pacific Ford). I was one of only two females in the Australian 2004 intake. As an apprentice I found I had an aptitude for communicating with customers. I enjoyed being able to clearly explain the repairs carried out on their vehicles. After completing my Cert III I left Pacific Motor Group for a short time and continued my career in the industry working my way through the ranks from booking clerk to service advisor and warranty clerk. The path I have taken over the past seven years, as I juggle a full-time career with motherhood, would not have been possible without the loving support of my family. Returning to Pacific Motor Group feels like coming home and with the guidance of the management team I have grown in the role of assistant service manager. I can’t wait to see what the future holds.

FREE WINDOW TINT

Rebecca Pikora Assistant Service Manager

With the purchase of a new or used vehicle purchased and delivered by 30th September from Pacific Ford, Pacific Kia, Pacific Isuzu Ute, Caloundra Isuzu Ute and Pacific Jaguar Land Rover. Available to members of the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network

Proud sponsor of the Professional Business Women of the Year Category CALOUNDRA | MAROOCHYDORE | NOOSAVILLE pacificmotorgroup.com.au

04.indd 1

25/07/2018 9:43:39 AM


IMAGE: JASON HAY PHOTOGRAPHY

AWARDS H ISTORY

The 2012 Micro Small category finalists

allowed it to reach its potential as one of the most coveted awards on the Sunshine Coast. The longest standing sponsor of the awards is Garland Waddington, a business which has been on board for 16 years. The list of past winners is full of talented and remarkable business women in the areas of Corporate/ Government, Micro Small, Young, Sports and Sustainability. Ms Hamer says the awards were always intended to be a “launching pad” for winners to take on national and international awards, as well as a means of building confidence in both themselves and their businesses. “They might be unknowns to start with, but then they go on to become leaders and begin to chaperone other women to become the leading businesswomen that they are,” she says. Karen Neuendorf’s first interaction with the network was as a nominee, and eventual winner, of the Micro Small Business Woman of the Year title in 2000.

IMAGE: JASON HAY PHOTOGRAPHY

The 2015 award winners celebrate their win

The 2014 SCBWN Award winners

Lisa Harrison receives the 2012 Professional Award

“It is both the hardest thing to do and the most liberating”

Jimina Taylor, Michelle Hamer and Annette Sym

She went on to become heavily involved in the network and is the longest-standing president to date, heading up the network from 2002 to 2007. She is now a life member. “I think the awards process is the most perfect model because it draws out a lot of women who you would otherwise never hear about, and they would not be recognised,” she says. “No matter whether you have had a short career, or a

long one, being a nominee, finalist or a winner in these awards provides you with an extraordinary lens for both your professional and personal life. “You can really look back on and celebrate the body of work you have achieved. It is both the hardest thing to do and the most liberating.” Ms Neuendorf says because there are only a handful of categories, winning an award is a true indication that the recipient is deserving. “These awards are held in such high esteem that they afford more credibility to the recipients and you become a woman that people want to do business with. “For me, it opened up my eyes to other possibilities in upskilling and taught me there was so much more to learn.” With such strong foundations and hundreds of businesswomen being nominated or applying for the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network Awards each year, it is clear that the organisation has established the awards as one of the most respected and highly soughtafter in the region. There is no doubt that this legacy will continue well into the future. SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 5

05.indd 1

24/07/2018 12:48:53 PM


O UTSTAN DIN G AWA R D W IN NERS

20 YEARS OF OUTSTANDING WOMEN We chat with the previous winners of the prestigious SCBWN Outstanding Business Woman of the Year Award. 2017 Elaine Jobson, Jetts Fitness “When you lead a business the size of Jetts, you never take a moment to stop and ‘smell the roses’; this is what winning the award did for me,” Ms Jobson says. “It gave me a reason to stop and appreciate everything that had been accomplished in the business, having that opportunity reenergised me to keep going. “You don’t have to be perfect and you don’t need to be an expert before you start something, just start where you stand and take action.”

Elaine Jobson

Tania Turner

2014 Maria Woods, Sunshine Coast Grammar School

2016 Tania Turner, Shine Beauty Ms Turner says being nominated for the award took her down a new path in life. “Personally, you develop so amazingly and since I won the award I have completely transformed, discovering new things about myself and my family.” “I was amazed and humbled when I won. The biggest thing for me and my business was seeing the amazing amount of publicity, in the form of media that came from the win, and with the $10,000 media campaign prize we were able to create some fantastic advertisements.

Mrs White was inducted into the Independent Grocers of Australia (IGA) Hall of Fame last year and took the helm of the SCBWN as president earlier this year. “Winning the award has provided me with new, valuable local connections. Never underestimate the importance of connecting with attuned and successful people to share, empower and celebrate success.”

Roz White

Maria Woods

2015 Roz White, White’s IGA Roz and husband Michael bought a small convenience store in Maroochydore in October 1993. There began the humble beginnings of White’s Grocers. Since this time the business has grown from one store with three staff, to four stores across the Sunshine Coast.

“Winning such a prestigious award was incredibly humbling as I was nominated by colleagues and parents,” Ms Woods says. “To have the education industry recognised in such an important arena was fantastic. It was a chance to spotlight the value of education and that educational leaders are blessed to work with talented colleagues, supportive families and the next generation of leaders in our students. “Pursue your passion with purpose. Trust yourself and surround yourself with good people who will encourage you to give your best, to be your best.”

6 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

06.indd 1

26/07/2018 11:54:38 AM


OU TSTANDI NG AWARD WI NNE RS

2013 Tsu Shan Chambers, Yin Health

2010 Lindy Atkin, Bark Design

“The award was such a timely acknowledgment that all the hard work building Yin Health from scratch over five years was worth it,” Ms Chambers says. “I gained more confidence in my abilities as a businesswoman with three children, that I could be a role model for them and other emerging female entrepreneurs, making a positive difference in the area of women’s advocacy and inclusion and diversity matters. “My message for up and coming businesswomen is perseverance, keep alignment always with your values and integrity and create goals that involve making a difference to others.”

Tsu Shan Chambers

Ms Atkin won the award for her role in the architecture practice she established with Stephen Guthrie on the Sunshine Coast in 1997. The small team designs and delivers an increasing variety of projects, from private residential designs through to public facilities and commercial architecture. Bark’s work has attracted recognition through numerous awards, publications, lectures and exhibitions.

2012 Tania Hubbard, Gluten Free Grain Company

Kim McCosker

The Gluten Free Grain Company is Australia’s leading grain-free company. Speaking to My Weekly Preview a year after her win, Ms Hubbard said her award win led to an unanticipated collaboration with another SCBWN award winner in 2012 to create Australia’s only gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, dairy-free Christmas cake mix. Her advice to businesswomen is to “build a business around a model that adds value, meaning and joy to your customers’ lives and don’t shrink away from that.”

Long term affair provides cause for celebration When Garland Waddington was first offered the opportunity in 2002 to become a sponsor of the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network Awards, little did they know it would be the start of a long love affair with the Network - for 16 years to date! Partners Ken Waddington and Brendan Bathersby are proud that over the years they have had the privilege of presenting the Outstanding Business Woman of the Year Award to some of the Sunshine Coast’s most successful and inspiring women. “We initially supported the SCBWN Awards because most of our clients are business people and we liked the idea of supporting up and coming business people in our community,” Mr Waddington said. “In particular, we liked the idea of supporting women, who in our experience, are often the key decision-makers when it comes to making legal decisions within their business and family. However, over the years, our relationship with the Network has developed into much more. Our whole team enjoys the regular privilege of meeting dynamic women from across our region at networking functions, as well as meeting other business partners and sponsors who support the Network, and enjoy attending and guest presenting at events – all focussed on nurturing, promoting and empowering members of the Network.” Garland Waddington regularly invited winners to speak at events

Tania Hubbard

2009 Kim Edwards, Sea English Academy

Vicki Clark

2011 Kim McCosker, 4 Ingredients In 2007, 4 Ingredients was self-published and was an instant success. In that year alone, the cookbook sold over 400,000 copies in Australia. “It is a gift to do something you love, with people you love,” says Ms McCosker. “I tell women here on the Sunshine Coast and beyond, ordinary women just like me, that opportunity abounds everywhere, that success is there for anyone who has the vision and the drive to embrace it,” she says.

run by the firm and notes that numerous finalists and winners have continued to stay in touch with the firm, becoming regular clients and friends. “There is nothing pretentious about the Network. We’ve always found it to be incredibly supportive of women in business, with a genuine focus on bringing out the best in people, widening their horizons and expanding their skills” Mr Waddington said. Over the years, numerous members have contacted us either face-to-face or over the phone to seek legal advice and we enjoy being able to provide them with an obligation free consultation. Mr Waddington congratulated the Network on the continuing development and enhancement of the prestigious and highly coveted Awards, which have gone from strength to strength ping the Network into the over the years - assisting in developing most vibrant organisation of femalee leaders and members on the Sunshine Coast. “Not only have the awards assistedd in recognising our local ovided an opportunity to success stories, but they’ve also provided share and profile so many budding businesses within the ne Coast community,” Mr Network and to the broader Sunshine Waddington said. uch a progressive, diverse “Our team are proud to be part of such and supportive network. ast Business Women’s Congratulations to the Sunshine Coast Network on celebrating 20 years!” id reputation based on Garland Waddington has built a solid viding legal solutions expertise, trust and experience, providing for more than 35 years particularly in the areas of business and commercial law, conveyancing and property transactions, wills and estate planning, building and construction, and litigation.

Ms Edwards is now a business leader in Saudi Arabia. She was a pioneering Dean for a women’s vocational college for several years and is currently the director of an International School in Riyadh. She is also the only woman on the executive leadership team of the Australian Business Group in Saudi Arabia as part of the Australian Embassy Austrade office for the Middle East region. “The true achievement of the award was long before the winner was announced,” she says. “The process of being nominated and (preparing my) submission, provided an outstanding opportunity to reflect on my vision, refine my strategies, and articulate my goals. “It has been, by far, the highlight of my journey as an international business leader.”

Ken Waddington and Brendan Bathersby with some of the SCBWN Outstanding Business Woman of the Year Award winners.

Expert, effective legal advice. business & commercial law conveyancing & property wills & estates e building & construction c litigation litiga

5443 4866 garlandwaddi garlandwaddington.com.au Cnr The Esplanad Esplanade & Second Ave, Maroochydore Marooc

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 7

07.indd 1

25/07/2018 9:44:55 AM


O UTSTAN DIN G AWA R D W IN NERS

2008 Gina Van Wezel, Bank of Queensland

2005 Jennifer St. George, Red Chilli Marketing

Working for the Commonwealth Bank and then Bank of Queensland (BOQ) in a number of roles and offices around Southeast Queensland, Ms Van Wezel eventually decided to go out on her own, opening her Nambour branch in July of 2007. Her business experience coupled with her extensive community outreach saw her submission shine among the finalists. At one stage she stepped away from banking in 2006, taking six months to spend in the community by working with Laurel House.

Marketing guru and award-winning romance novelist Jennifer St George has gone from strength to strength since her award win 13 years ago. She spent the first 20 years of her career in corporate marketing and management consulting roles. In 2000, Ms St George started RedChilli and won a host of awards, before a move to Byron Bay saw her try her hand at romance writing and she hasn’t looked back.

Debra Robinson

Jennifer St George

2004 Zoe Sparks, Spectacular World Travel & Events

2007 Vicki Clark, ANZ Sunshine Coast Ms Clark has spent more than 30 years in strategic and operational management and development of retail banking business for ANZ. She is responsible for 16 branches, comprising 130 staff and gears her work towards passionate change leadership, actively working with others to develop skills and behaviours towards better customer and business outcomes. Ms Clark says, “The awards allowed me to give back to the community in which I live and which I love.”

2006 Debra Robinson, Juniper Development Group As the only female development manager for the Juniper Development Group at the time she won the

Zoe Sparks

Francis Howes

award, Ms Robinson has been paving the way in what was a heavily male-dominated field. Since the award win, Ms Robinson has held positions as the Queensland Urban Utilities manager of development services before moving into the local government realm as the Brisbane City Council manager development services between 2015 and 2017. She is now back on the Coast as a Sunshine Coast Council project director, where she provides leadership for significant regional projects.

It’s been 14 years since Ms Sparks won her award and she says there is no doubt it set the platform to make her businesses what they are today. “Today, Spectacular World Travel & Events manages approximately 20 group tours and six major conferences each year. Spectacular Enterprises sits behind zoesparks. com and manages my speaking, mentoring and the sales of my three business books: Strive & Thrive, Healthy & Wealthy and Award & Reward. We recently launched SHINE Business Women which supports, helps, inspires, nurtures and empowers women. Dare to dream, believe in yourself and be prepared to take risks. Work hard, nothing worth achieving comes easy, and surround yourself with the right people.”

LOVE OUR COMMUNITY AND S E R O V A C O L White’s IGA National Retail Excellence Award winners 2015 & 2016 White’s IGA National Community Award 2017 White’s IGA State Retailer of the Year 2015 & 2018 www.whitesgrocers.com.au

• BLI BLI • MOOLOOLAH • MT COOLUM • PEREGIAN BEACH

8 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

08.indd 1

25/07/2018 9:47:31 AM


OU TSTANDI NG AWARD WI NNE RS

2003 Francis Howes, TAFE Queensland Ms Howes was manager of TAFE Queensland for 12 years and it was during this time that she won the Outstanding Business Woman of the Year award. She was also a project manager on the Australian Pacific Technical College and in November 2016 undertook a role as Skills Supply Support Adviser for Tonga Skills, an Australian government funded program.

just a good cook, but I also had a good business head. “There’s three things that have kept me at the forefront of my industry – passion, commitment and vision. Never lose sight of your ‘why’ and never forget where you’ve come from, but most of all enjoy the journey, have fun and love what you do.” Deborah Ralston

Kate Weir

2002 Prof. Deborah Ralston, University of the Sunshine Coast “The award was an important recognition of both my own and the university’s contribution to the business community through our business seminar series, engagement with industry groups, in economic development of the region and in producing business graduates for the area,” Prof Ralston says. “Currently I am a member of the Payments Board for the Reserve Bank of Australia and Chair of the SMSF Association. I am also a member of the YBF Fintech Hub in Melbourne and a Professorial Fellow at Monash University.”

2001 Kate Weir, Lendlease When Ms Weir won the award in 2001, she was in the midst of a career managing property portfolios across

Annette Sym

Robyn Rulli

Australia. Now, with a young family, she is a qualified nutritional coach and the founder of The Wellness Assembly, which provides nutrition and wellness coaching services to individuals and teams.

2000 Annette Sym, Symply Too Good To Be True “Winning the award was such an honour,” says Ms Sym. “I’d gone from being a stay-at-home mum to having two best-selling cookbooks. This award showed that I was not

1998 Robyn Rulli (Prat), hospitality industry Robyn sends her congratulations to all of the finalists for this year’s awards. “Take the time to consider what got you to this moment – write it down and continue to build upon the positive elements of your success. Every day we learn something new and it is never definite where life will take us. As we teach, we learn – always take the time whenever you can to share your knowledge and experience with others as a way to learn and grow yourself. “While it is many years ago [since I won], I am still very proud to look at the award certificate hanging proudly on my office wall. This was my first general manager position with Starwood. I was extremely proud of the great team we had at the resort and I felt that this award was as much in the recognition of our team as for me. I have lived in Europe now for 18 years and following my career with Starwood Hotels & Resorts based in Brussels.”

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 9

09.indd 1

26/07/2018 12:17:43 PM


F E ATU R E

BOOSTING SKILLS, BUILDING NETWORKS Mervat Quirke has found studying at the University of the Sunshine Coast, with its close links to the SCBWN, an exciting career boost.

A

fter running a leading cancer care organisation for seven years, Sunshine Coast businesswoman Mervat Quirke made the daunting decision to branch out on her own. It was just over six months ago, when Ms Quirke left her job as chief executive officer of Bloomhill Cancer Care after she had enrolled in USC’s Executive Master of Business Administration earlier last year. It’s a decision Mrs Quirke says has been rewarded, thanks in part to meeting a strong support network of likeminded businesswomen through USC’s Executive MBA program. “I’ve connected with a number of businesswomen through the Executive MBA who I’m now engaging with almost daily,” Mrs Quirke says. This year she successfully launched her business MQ Consulting Group to support charities and social enterprises. “What I’ve really noticed through these connections is how much we have to offer as a region. As women in business, there is so much talent in our region and opportunities continue to present themselves all the time. “Undertaking the Executive MBA has given me the confidence and support to harness those opportunities and branch out on my own.”

USC’s Executive MBA is delivered as monthly weekend intensive sessions, with a unique opportunity to consolidate learning through an international study tour. Last year, students went on a one-week intensive trip to China, where they participated in meetings with multinational firms, local businesses, chambers of commerce, and international embassies. Mrs Quirke says the strength of the Executive MBA, apart from the hands-on experience and dedicated lecturers, was the close relationship it had with the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network (SCBWN). “The network is such a supportive environment,” Mrs Quirke says. “Connecting with the SCBWN, where I hear women share and discuss their passion and how they have become so successful, is very supportive.” Mrs Quirke – a mother of five – has excelled within the SCBWN, winning the Professional Business Woman of the Year award last year. USC’s Faculty of Business, Arts and Law has supported the SCBWN awards as a sponsor since 2010, most currently sponsoring the Micro-Small Business Women of the Year award. USC’s Executive Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Business and Law, Professor Tim

Smith, says sponsoring the award category was about celebrating success. “We are helping our students to rise, and shine via their studies at USC and similarly the SCBWN awards identify and celebrate the achievements of businesswomen who are making a positive impact on our region through their commitment to excellence,” Professor Smith says. USC’s close connection with the SCBWN is evidenced by the number of USC graduates who maintain close involvement with the group – including marketing professional Lizzie Henebery, who is

currently the network’s vice-president. Professor Smith says the university’s relationship with the SCBWN has helped empower the local business community. “We know the transformative power that education plays in enabling opportunities and enriching not only individual lives, but communities and economies,” Professor Smith says. “And we are proud to be associated with the SCBWN organisation, which has such a strong focus on empowering women in many diverse types of businesses to achieve and contribute to our local region.”

10 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

10.indd 1

24/07/2018 12:53:42 PM


F E AT U RE

PEACE OF MIND FINANCIAL ADVICE The 2004 Corporate Business Woman of the Year, Lyn Eddy, says running her own business has been liberating.

L

yn Eddy Financial started in 2015 with a few simple goals. Firstly, to be completely client-centric: finding the best outcomes for each client, at every stage of their lives Secondly, to work with my clients so that they have their own, individual bespoke plan for their future. Thirdly, to go to my clients, either at their home or workplace. The majority of my clients live and work on the Sunshine Coast. Plus Lyn Eddy Financial now has private client consulting rooms in Brisbane. “It was almost five years ago that I met Lyn Eddy of Lyn Eddy Financial. My husband and I were struggling financially – with the GFC, private school fees and crippling credit card debt – a very difficult time. Our first encounter with Lyn was supportive and encouraging – with no hint of judgement – just a can-do attitude. Within a few short months, it became apparent, Lyn is tenacious and resourceful, trustworthy and supportive. Here we are now almost five years later, working closely with Lyn and Laura, with all of our insurance needs catered for, savings in the bank and looking forward to our four week overseas holiday. There are not enough words to express my gratitude to Lyn and her team for their support, knowledge and vast

excellent handpicked team, with a Planning Associate, a Senior Paraplanner, a Client Service Assistant and an IT Support team to support the advice developed for my clients. “This note is to thank you so much for all the advice and great service you have given me over the past 10 years. How time flies… You have always been so regular with your follow-up meetings, keeping me informed of my options. I am very very happy with you guiding me towards the best financial solution for my retirement. The way things change I would hate to have to do it on my own!” – Bev Smith

experience. Lyn has ensured our financial security and given us an opportunity to enjoy our lives. I wholeheartedly recommend Lyn Eddy Financial to all of my friends, family and colleagues. Thank you Lyn, Laura and the team of Lyn Eddy Financial!” – Sandra Nightingale (Carina) MY STORY In 2015 after working for several years as a salaried adviser and partner in another advice business, I identified that financial advice businesses needed to move to a higher level of professionalism and client

focus. I felt that this was not possible for clients while I was involved in other businesses. So, after talking with key clients, stakeholders and my accountant, Lyn Eddy Financial officially began operating on July 1, 2015. I have found that operating my own business has been liberating – free from the constraints of being a business partner and salaried adviser; for the first time after 18 years of working for three different licensees. Lyn Eddy Financial is a family-owned business that is licensed through AIW Dealer Services Pty Ltd (AFSL 414256). I have an

MY CLIENTS I have always strived to educate and empower my clients so that their financial decisions are decisions they own, and have confidence in. The advice I give them lets them take control of their financial future: they are well-prepared for their lives today and are confident that they will achieve the retirement they want. This is at a time when 66 per cent of Australians feel unprepared for retirement, and only 54 per cent believe that their superannuation will be enough to see them through to their post-work lives. That’s true peace of mind.

Partnering with you on your Financial Journey My experienced team will guide you through the maze of information and options available to you for your financial journey. • Goal Setting • Budgeting • Debt Reduction & Recycling

• Building Assets & Wealth • Superannuation • Retirement

• Risk Management (Personal & Business) • Estate Planning

Congratulations on 20 Years to SCBWN Awards CONTACT US TO BOOK A CONSULTATION Phone 3868 3287 or 0412 710 119 www.lyneddyfinancial.com.au SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 11

11.indd 1

24/07/2018 12:54:47 PM


ent due m p o l ve 2019. n rede y o a i l l i M m by *$6 pleted m o c to be

Get Excited!

Amazing Moments | Great Memories The Events Centre, Caloundra is the Sunshine Coast's premier performing arts and conference centre. Perfect for conferences and special events which require a creative theatrical venue ZLWKĂ H[LEOHSHUVRQDOLVHGHYHQWPDQDJHPHQW Multiple conference/plenary areas, gorgeous theatres, meeting rooms and versatile open spaces to accommodate small meetings through to large gala dining events for 700. Only 5 mins walk to the stunning Pumicestone passage marine SDUN EHDXWLIXO EHDFKHV FRDVWDO ERDUGZDONV YLEUDQW FDIHV restaurants and shops. 9LVLWWKHZHEVLWHIRUPRUHLQIRUPDWLRQWKHHYHQWVFHQWUHFRPDX

What’s On BOOKINGS: 07 5491 4240 20 Minchinton Street, Caloundra

BELL SHAKESPEARE Julius Caesar

www.theeventscentre.com.au Thu 6 September at 7.30pm

12.indd 1

MELBOURNE CITY BALLET 0DGDPH%XWWHUĂ€\

THE GRUFFALO

GRIGORYAN BROTHERS

Fri 7 September at 7.30pm

Tue 18 September at 1pm

Sun 7 October at 2pm

26/07/2018 10:16:47 AM


2018 VISION

FORGING AHEAD The 2018 SCBWN management committee is passionate about creating a dynamic future for the organisation.

T

he Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network is driven by a strong purpose; to empower and celebrate women to achieve in business. The annual awards certainly form a large part in delivering on our purpose – by recognising those excelling, trailblazing and making a difference not only in our community but across the globe; we celebrate them and encourage others to step up to their potential. However, we aren’t just here to clink champagne glasses at a job well done. This committee and network, with such a proud history and an outstanding membership, has the opportunity and the responsibility to continue to rise and seek even greater futures. The 2018 management committee members elected to lead the 200-plus strong membership of businesswomen

on the Sunshine Coast are a passionate group of committed volunteers, eager to create opportunity and foster great business in our region. President Roz White is supported by vice president Lizzie Henebery, treasurer Anita Owens, secretary Michelle Hamer and committee

W E I V E PR

members Kaitlyn Akers, Dr Jackie Holt, Dr Brenda Jamnik, Min Swan and Paula Williamson. This is a powerful group of professional women leading this network to even greater heights. Recognised as the peak body representing professional and businesswomen in the region, the

KLY MY WEE

committee has identified key areas in which we can give members and the community real support and empowerment. Through exceptional events with remarkable guest speakers, officially recognised professional education, bursaries, community initiatives and more to come, the 2018 committee aims to do the past, present and future members proud. The network recognises that no single business person or group operates in isolation and in fact, we all achieve more when we work together and support one another. Not only do we recognise this among our fellow members, but we open the door and make space at the table for others in our community – we invite women and men to learn, celebrate and explore with us so that together we can grow stronger, make positive change and achieve more.

Proudly supporting

FREE

business women and the Sunshine Coast

WE E K H EARR TCANN’TT SSTOP

E MAKER HY TH T RT A PACEM KATE MCCAR S AFL’S

APORDE SINGDN LY EN FRIE D-F

A KI A ASIIA AS S E OF TAST

Mia dman Free WANTS UNDER AMIA FO IT’S OK TO FAIL THE MAM OW KN TO WOMEN

AUGUST

3, 2018 SPEC IAL

+

EDITION

Honouring those wh before and o have gone leading those to the way come for for th and shi Sunshine ne, Coast Bu siness Wo the Network men’s celebrate anniversa s the ry of the 20th Business of the Yea Women r Awards this Augu st.

TY PROPEJER T ECTS

PRO 3 NEW 17

28, 20 6 APRIL ISSUE 44 DIGITAL

EDITION

S & MORE

>> MYWE

EKLYP

COM.AU REVIEW.

myweeklypreview.com.au

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 13

13.indd 1

25/07/2018 1:48:37 PM


HISTO RY OF THE NETWORK

A HISTORY OF WOMEN JOINING FORCES

IMAGE: SUPPLIED BY SCBWN

From humble beginnings in 1992, the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network has truly blossomed.

Winner of the first monthly networking award, Helen Birch, is pictured with Sharyn Dimond, Kathy Garey and Adeli Georga.

I

n January 1992, a small group of women went to lunch to talk about all things business and to build connections with one another. They didn’t know it at the time, but this was the beginnings of a network that would go on to support, inspire, mentor and educate hundreds of women. This group, known as Women in the Workforce, elected their first president, Jan Revill, in 1994 and so began an evolution that would see a succession of nine remarkable women bringing their unique talents and vision to the head of the executive team to shape the successful Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network that we know today. In the early ’90s, members enjoyed speakers from not-for-profit

organisations before Celena Ross stepped into the presidency and immediately began to source inspirational business speakers, inviting women from across all industries on the Sunshine Coast to attend the new format breakfast meetings. “I would stand at my fax machine for one and a half days prior to the meeting, faxing information about the breakfast to as many professional businesses as well as businesswomen as possible, as well as direct phoning and media releases, and would not stop until I reached 100 booked for breakfast,” she says. “I understood a bigger breakfast, with an interesting speaker, would assist to quickly grow and develop the women’s group. This was a successful tactic.” Ms Ross says she volunteered around

with these foundations laid, has grown and developed as I had hoped.” After assisting Ms Ross with the establishment of the SCBWN Awards, Michelle Hamer was at the helm for two years and says she is extremely proud of the history that has been created by every single member of the network, from the members and volunteer executive, all the way through to the sponsors who have continually supported their mission. “The network is a business in itself, and we have constantly reflected on who our members are, who we are touching and influencing and as each new president takes over, she puts her own touch on it and that has allowed us to grow and evolve and remain connected with the wider community,” Ms Hamer says. “I am really proud when I sit here and look at this history and go, ‘Wow! Look at these amazing women who have been profiled in all different ways and shaped our future’.” Karen Neuendorf’s presidency from 2002 to 2007 saw membership grow from around 100 to more than 400. “We organised the first women’s golf day, because men do a lot of business on golf courses, and this had a two-pronged approach of proving a more social networking opportunity as well as being a great fundraising opportunity,” Ms

20 hours a week for two years as president to grow Women in the Workforce into a regional network, which included putting the awards into place in 1998 as well as creating opportunities for mentoring and professional development for members. “I realised the strategic importance of a stronger name to represent a regional association to assist with attracting government grants, sponsors and to attract more members – I initiated the change to the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network,” she says. “We had Joan’s (de Shan) Joke at the end of our breakfast, when we used to meet at the Mooloolaba Yacht Club. It was always so funny and often women left crying with laughter, we had such a fabulous fun atmosphere. The network,

14 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

14.indd 1

24/07/2018 12:55:32 PM


IMAGES: SUPPLIED BY SCBWN

HISTORY OF THE NETWORK

June 2004 breakfast: speaker Lyn Eddy, Gail Rehbein of the Professional Development Committee, speaker Helen Forbes and Telstra Business Woman of the Year Chris Cameron. Neuendorf says. “The network has always been quite philanthropic and the bursary that continues today was set up in my term. The network continues to give four bursaries to women studying at the University of the Sunshine Coast who have also shown a dedication to, and involvement in, the wider community.” Ms Neuendorf says she continues to be inspired by the professional and personal transformations she sees in network members. “In our society, we need to have much more social capital, we need to be giving much more to the community and not be working in isolation,” she says. Michalle Faulkner, who succeeded Ms Neuendorf, served in various positions within the network from mentor, mentor program facilitator, professional development chair, president and then chair of the awards judging. She is now a life member and self-confessed “raving fan” of the organisation. “(The success) is definitely due to the commitment and passion of the volunteers that drive the network,” she says. “It’s easy to forget sometimes that these networks are run almost entirely on volunteer commitment, many of whom have various other community commitments and run our own businesses, juggling families and other competing priorities. “I can only imagine the amazing network that will evolve over the next 20

years, but I trust it will continue to be an inclusive and supportive organisation, providing ongoing positive and influential connections, support programs, inspiration and educational opportunities for businesswomen in the community.” Immediate past president Vickie Magic, who won Micro Small Businesswoman of the Year on her first attempt in 2011, says the network has enjoyed such longevity because women everywhere want to be part of something bigger than themselves. “I believe the network truly inspires women to want to step up and be the best that they possibly can,” she says. “To be honest, I think that the network is on the right track, Roz White is nothing short of sensational, I could not have selected a better vice president and now president to step into my shoes. “I knew from the get-go that not only would Roz be as good as me, she would in a million ways and a million times surpass anything I could have ever done. “I totally believe in her and sincerely love her, she is the most inspirational and aspirational woman on the Sunshine Coast. She is strong, but humble, powerful but sweet – that’s the person you want at the helm.” With such a rich history and strong foundations, there is no doubt the SCBWN will continue to thrive and expand to support the growing number of successful businesswomen who are kicking goals across the region.

Outgoing SCBWN president, Michelle Hamer was presented with flowers in appreciation of her services by new president, Karen Neuendorf, at the network’s December 2002 breakfast.

The 2002 Professional Development Committee’s ‘Getting To Know You’ lunches proved popular. Pictured are Vicki Leeson, Dianne Ford, Caren Moroney, Roslyn Uttleymoore, Corals D’Ott, host Julie Lockeridge and Jeanne Marshall.

February 2003 keynote speaker Hannelie Whitehead of Whitehead Miller Asia Pacific, meets State Member for Glasshouse Caroline Male and Professional Development Committee chairperson Desirae French. SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 15

15.indd 1

24/07/2018 12:56:03 PM


PR ESS FO R P R O GR E SS

PAY PARITY REQUIRES BUY-IN BY ALL PARTIES Achieving gender equality in the workplace is a shared responsibility and something we all need to steadily work towards, says Roz White.

T

he push for gender equality came to the fore in late 2017 and has continued, with people around the globe campaigning for pay parity and for more women to reach into the upper echelons of businesses across all industries. White’s Supa IGA proprietor and SCBWN president Roz White has experienced first-hand the gender imbalance in the corporate world, noting just 26 per cent of businesses have women as members of their board. But rather than being discouraged by this, Mrs White says that means there is 74 per cent opportunity to help women propel their careers forward in a press for progress. “This is a shared responsibility, it’s not just women driving gender equality, it requires everyone’s involvement to push this forward,” she says.

“It’s not just about getting more women into senior executive positions for the sake of it, it’s about creating environments where businesses can get a holistic perspective and balanced views to get the best outcomes for their staff and clients.”

Although historically, the SCBWN has been based on empowering and celebrating women, Mrs White says they do all this with the support and involvement of men. “We know that we’re making progress, we certainly have made progress over the

last couple of years, but that has slowed a little bit of recent times,” she says. “This shows that we all need to stay committed and keep revisiting the topic and keep the conversation ongoing.” Mrs White says the network plans to host a Press for Progress forum later this year to engage with the community to identify some areas that can be worked on to enact change. “This will help to identify some barriers and discover if they are real or perceived. For example, 90 per cent of Australians support joint parenting, but men still face challenges with seeking flexible work arrangements to allow them to become the primary carer. “This could be a barrier preventing women from becoming the breadwinner,” she says. “Once we know what these barriers are, we can work on how to break them down.”

“FIRST HOME FEELS IMPOSSIBLE? NOT IF YOUR SUNSHINE COAST HOME LOAN SPECIALISTS CAN HELP IT STEVE HUNT

0434 072 299 Steve.Hunt@anz.com

AMANDA HOWARD

0434 369 994 Amanda.Howard@anz.com

PAULA RYAN

0435 962 436 Paula.Ryan@anz.com

ANZ First Home Coach

Applications for credit are subject to ANZ’s credit approval criteria. Terms and Conditions apply and are available on application. Fees, charges and eligibility criteria apply. ANZ’s colour blue is a trade mark of Australia and New Zealand Banking Group limited (ANZ) ABN 11 005 357 522. Australian Credit Licence Number 234527. Item No. 96120 07.2018 W597304

16 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

16.indd 1

25/07/2018 9:51:48 AM


17.indd 1

26/07/2018 4:30:47 PM


JU D G I N G CHA IR S

BEHIND THE SCENES OF THE AWARDS PROCESS Creating and running awards involves countless volunteer hours to ensure the integrity of the awards process.

W

here many of us may only see the end results with glamorous awards galas – the shining trophies and proudly hung certificates on the walls of many businesses across the Sunshine Coast – there is so much more that goes on that quite often no one sees. This is true of our award nominees, as well as the team that manages the awards process. These awards maintain their credibility in the Sunshine Coast community because of the integrity of process. A judging chair is appointed to guide this process and maintain the prestige of these awards for all past, future and current award holders. To the judging chairs, judges, committee members and volunteers over the past 20 years, we give our enormous thanks for the tireless and truly valued

Supporting your business through employment law

Since January 2006, Lisa has gone from strength to strength, winning the Sunshine Coast Small Business Woman of the Year Award in 2007 and the Sunshine Coast Corporate Business Woman of the Year in 2010, while the firm has also won a number of awards. In 2008, Lisa was one of the first lawyers in Queensland who the Queensland Law Society appointed as an Accredited

Specialist in Workplace Relations Law. Lisa has a team of exceptional Employment Lawyers at Aitken Legal, all of whom have a wealth of knowledge and experience and provide a quality of service equal to any top-tier firm in Brisbane. Their experience in general employment law, workplace health and safety and discrimination means they are perfectly placed to advise employers on all employment law issues affecting their business. From preparing Employment Contracts, to developing policies and Employee Handbooks, the expertise of the lawyers at Aitken Legal ensures the main assets of any business – its people – serve your business well. Lisa, and the team at Aitken Legal, advise employers every day in relation to transmissions of business issues, employee performance and misconduct, terminations and redundancies, and represents employers in unfair dismissal and general protection claims, breach

of contract claims, discrimination, harassment and workplace bullying complaints, WH&S prosecutions and investigations by the Fair Work Ombudsman, and more. They recognise the need for employers to have sound legal advice to guide them through the employment minefield they will have to traverse in running their business. The firm’s clients cover businesses of all sizes over an extensive range of industries; secondary and tertiary education facilities; not-for profit organisations and local government. Aitken Legal also prides itself on giving back to the Sunshine Coast community and over the last 10 years has raised more than half a million dollars net of all costs for local charitable causes including MixFM’s Give Me 5 for Kids campaign, Camp Quality, Montrose Access, Sunshine Butterflies, Bloomhill Cancer Care, as well as individuals who needed assistance, and ensured that all monies raised for these causes stayed in our local community.

Lisa recognises the need for employers to have sound legal advice to guide them through the employment issues they may face in running their business.

Lisa has been practicing Employment and Industrial Relations law since 1994 and opened the doors of Aitken Legal on the Sunshine Coast in January 2006. After working for more than 11 years in Human Resources and Industrial Relations law with national law firm Minter Ellison Lawyers in both Sydney and Brisbane, Lisa opened Aitken Legal – a boutique law firm specialising in Employment and Industrial Relations law and which specialises even further by only representing Employers. In 2011, Aitken Legal opened a second office on the Gold Coast and now also service the Toowoomba region.

Level 2, 20 Innovation Parkway, Birtinya 5413 4000 aitkenlegal.com.au Sunshine Coast | Gold Coast | Toowoomba

The Lawyers for Employers

18 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

18.indd 1

26/07/2018 3:06:24 PM


J U DGING CH AIRS

work you have contributed. The current Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network committee would like to give special mention to Michelle Hamer who was the inaugural and longest running judging chair to date, with 11 years in the role, as well as to Vicki Clark, Michalle Faulkner and Min Swan (the current judging chair in her

“The hardest part is being the only one who knows the winners and keeping it a secret” second year in the role). We honour you and applaud you as judging chairs and for your commitment to recognising and celebrating exceptional businesswomen in our region.

Working to a robust (and newly streamlined online) system, there is no margin for favouritism or error, with nine people involved throughout the selection round, written reviews and interviews and individual judges’ scores marked against specific criteria. Collecting all the scores from the judges, the judging chair identifies the winners of each category and facilitates a round table discussion on the selection of the overall Outstanding Business Woman of the Year. The hardest task of all is being the only one who knows the winners (not even the other judges know!) and keeping it a secret for three weeks until the envelopes are opened on stage at the gala event held each year in August. It’s a very involved process, but it is one that allows the finalists and winners to be exceptionally proud of their achievements knowing that their work has been so carefully reviewed by remarkable people with such care and attention.

1

2

3

1. Min Swan 2. Vicki Clark 3. Michalle Faulkner 4. Michelle Hamer

4

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 19

19.indd 1

26/07/2018 4:31:38 PM


2003 President: Karen Neuendorf Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Francis Howes Corporate/Government: Toni Averay Micro/Small: Dr Karen Woolley Young: Christine Braithwaite

OF SUCCESS – SCBWN AWARDS HALL OF FAME 1998 President: Celena Ross Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Robyn Rulli (Pratt)

1999 President: Celena Ross Corporate/Government: Allison Kerr-Jones Micro/Small: Linda Witton

2000 President: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Annette Sym Corporate/Government: Coral Brown* Micro/Small: Karen Neuendorf

2001 President: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Kate Weir Corporate/Government: Maureen Klinkert Micro/Small: Lynn Donaldson Young: Kelly Briese

2002

2004 President: Karen Neuendorf Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Zoe Sparks Micro/Small: Coral Brown* Young: Tamara Riesley Professional: Rose Ward Corporate: Lyn Eddy

2005 President: Karen Neuendorf Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Jennifer St.George Micro/Small: Debbie Ladd Young: Vanessa Naughton Professional: Fiona Wilson Corporate: Liisa McNeish

2006 President: Karen Neuendorf Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Debra Robinson Micro/Small: Louise Starr Young: Kylie Martin Professional: Kareen Dwyer Corporate: Julia Jones-Walker

2007 President: Karen Neuendorf Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Vicki Clark Micro/Small: Lisa Aitken* Young: Jade Guttridge Professional: Kaitlyn Akers Corporate: Nicole Hoffman

President: Karen Neuendorf Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Prof Deborah Ralston Corporate/Government: Chris Cameron Micro/Small: Cyndi O’Meara* Young: Mandy Henry

20 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

20.indd 1

26/07/2018 3:17:58 PM


2008

2013

President: Sue Willis Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Gina Van Wezel Micro/Small: Michalle Faulkner Young: Melanie Jacobson Professional: Christine Ballinger Corporate: Sue Dunlop

President: Michalle Faulkner Judging Chair: Vicki Clark Outstanding: Tsu Shan Chambers Micro/Small: Renee Blackwell Young: Carly Earl Professional: Michelle Evans Corporate: Tamara Wrigley

2009

2014

President: Sue Willis Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Kim Edwards Micro/Small: Genine Howard Young: Melissa Austin Professional: Sue Scheinpflug Corporate: Jodie Thompson

President: Michalle Falkner Judging Chair: Vicki Clark Outstanding: Maria Woods Micro/Small: Emma Louise Young: Melinda Bingley Professional: Brooke Bennett Corporate: Debbie Battaglini-Clarke

2010

2015

President: Sue Willis Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Lindy Atkin Micro/Small: Sarah Pye Young: Linda Ireland Professional: Rayeleene Elston Corporate: Lisa Aitken*

President: Vickie Magic Judging Chair: Vicki Clark/Michalle Faulkner Outstanding: Roz White Micro/Small: Dr Denise Ladwig Young: Courtney Aspland Professional: Angela Miles Corporate: Jodi Chapman Sustainability: Sam Spunner

2011 President: Sue Willis Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Kim McCosker Micro/Small: Vickie Magic Young: Julie Jacobson Professional: Carolyn Thompson Corporate: Dena Dillon Sports: Jennifer Forster

2016 President: Vickie Magic Judging Chair: Michalle Faulkner Outstanding: Tania Turner Micro/Small: Maria Faulder Young: Rebecca Walker Professional: Wendy Chadwick Sustainability: Cyndi O’Meara*

2012

2017

President: Michalle Faulkner Judging Chair: Michelle Hamer Outstanding: Tania Hubbard Micro/Small: Vicki Taylor Young: Natalie Tink Professional: Lisa Harrison Corporate: Jainey Bennett

President: Vickie Magic Judging chair: Min Swan Outstanding: Elaine Jobson Micro/Small: Dr Tegan Keogh Young: Angela Mansey Professional: Mervat Quirke Corporate: Jodie Hedley-Ward Sustainability: Anne Gibson * denotes a multi-award winner

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 21

21.indd 1

24/07/2018 12:58:20 PM


SC BW N F I NA L ISTS

The region’s best and brightest businesswomen will be celebrated at these annual awards.

CORPORATE

LOCAL WOMEN SHINE

ELIZABETH FAIRON Life Law Solutions

Who inspires you? Former lawyer Leisa Toomey, who built the Schultz Toomey O’Brien brand from a great local brand to an extremely successful powerhouse on the Sunshine Coast. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Working with a client through their separation and seeing their personal transformation as they make their way through their family law journey to what is often a more empowered and content space.

T

here may be plenty of glitz and glam, but it will be the region’s successful women who shine the brightest at the 20th annual Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network Awards, More than 300 people will come together on August 11 to celebrate and recognise the contribution women make to the business community. My Weekly Preview is once again proud to be the media partner for the event, which is being staged at The Events Centre, Caloundra. The 2018 Business Woman of the Year Awards has attracted the best of the best across four categories

including Corporate, Micro Small, Professional and Young. In addition, one finalist will receive the Sustainability Award and one finalist will be named as this year’s Outstanding Business Woman of the Year – an accolade that was last year awarded to Jetts Fitness CEO Elaine Jobson. Twenty-eight finalists were selected from a swag of nominations and then faced a panel of judges for face-toface interviews. Ahead of the gala, we chat with these woman about the secrets to their success. My Weekly Preview wishes all finalists the best of luck.

What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Put to one side any sense of self doubt because inside you have the courage and ability to realise big dreams. What is your secret weapon in business? The ability to see opportunities even in the most challenging circumstances and to always approach new paths with optimism.

15% off servicing for the month of August When the business part of your day is over and its time to hit the water....we keep you jetting

1/13-15 Fishermans road, KULUIN, QLD Tel: (07)54439653 Email: info@ijetski.com.au

22 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

22.indd 1

26/07/2018 11:57:33 AM


S CBWN F I NALI STS CORPORATE

MJJ Accounting and Business Solutions

CORPORATE

CORPORATE

MELANIE JACOBSON

LINDY KELLY

LINDA KING

Kelly & Co Finance

Moffat Beach Vets

Who inspires you? Oprah inspires me as she shows that your circumstances don’t dictate your life; only your desire does. She continues to raise awareness to causes through her ability to ask questions and to give those in need a hand up, not a hand out.

Who inspires you? Strong, ethical, passionate individuals who work tirelessly for the delivery of positive outcomes. These are people driven by a desire for the best possible results. A person who works true to their core values and demonstrates consideration for others.

What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I am passionate about working with small businesses to understand their numbers and the impact this has on achieving their business and personal goals. I am proud of how many families our business impacts over the years.

What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? More than 12 years’ experience mortgage broking and I never tire of helping people. The sheer joy of assisting somebody navigate their lending journey to achieve home, investment or business ownership goals energises me to continue in this ever-changing industry. Whether a returning client or being entrusted with their family and friends, it makes me proud that I can continue to have such a high level of service in my chosen industry.

What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? The advice I would give my younger self is make sure that you celebrate your successes along the way, not just the big things but the small wins as well. What is your secret weapon in business? My business’s secret weapon is myself and the team who all strive to be the accounting business partner to help our clients achieve their business and personal success.

What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Be aware of those who you surround yourself with. Don’t listen to the dream-stealers, back yourself and listen to your inner voice. It is okay to be guided by your gut instinct. Success is what you make it. What is your secret weapon in business? Active listening and clear communication.

Family Law Wills and Estates Property

Who inspires you? I am inspired by people who show generosity of spirit and turn compassion for others into action. Masami Sato founded the global giving initiative B1G1, which helps companies give back to disadvantaged communities. Her enthusiasm and generosity inspires me to turn my passion for helping pets and people into growing my community-focused pet care business. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Being a veterinarian is so much more than a job – it’s a career, it’s a lifestyle choice, and it’s my passion. It is rewarding to help animals recover from injuries or illness, and to live better lives. To do that with a team who share my commitment and passion fills me with pride. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Dream more, dream big and worry less. Invest in your own learning and development. Get a business coach and mentor. Take care of your physical and mental health – have a daily routine that includes meditation and exercise. Strive for balance between work and home life. Nurture relationships with friends and family and don’t sweat the small stuff. What is your secret weapon in business? An enthused and engaged team, who share the vision of caring for clients and pets as if they are family.

KonTiki Business Centre, Tower 2, Level 2 Suite 206, 55 Plaza Parade Maroochydore Phone: 07 5446 1745 www.lifelaw.com.au SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 23

23.indd 1

25/07/2018 10:03:39 AM


SC BW N F I NA L ISTS CORPORATE

Who inspires you? Tania Hubbard, for pioneering gluten-free and grain-free healthy food on the Coast and taking her message beyond her cafe walls to the big wide world. Our customers when they enjoy our food. Listening to what they are requesting pushes me to create. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? My passion would have to be providing food from scratch. Finding new exciting recipes and adapting them for people who otherwise find it difficult to eat out socially. What really makes me proud is when a new customer asks, “what is gluten free?” and I can say, “everything”. Watching their face light up and hearing that there’s so much choice. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Go for your dreams earlier. Coming to the hospitality industry six years ago, after a 28-year career in child care, was a huge leap of faith. My husband and I often wish we had come to Australia earlier – here anything is possible, you can reinvent yourself again and again. What is your business secret weapon? Being professional, meaning what I say and following through with commitments. Team work – being the kind of leader that isn’t afraid to get her hands dirty, listening to my staff and treating everyone with respect.

CORPORATE

CORPORATE

JILL MILNE Goodness Gracious Organic and Gluten Free Cafe

JULIANNA NEILL

RUTH NOORDIJK

Pharmacy for Life

Daisy Learning

What inspires you? My strong work ethic was developed through watching my grandfather and my parents work hard at their professions. They inspired me to study hard and work hard, which has got me to where I am today in business. Within the pharmacy industry I admire Rhonda White and what she has achieved as a female pharmacy owner and board director, particularly in a time when female ownership was rare. Even today ownership of pharmacies is still male dominated. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love being able to help people and being able to help them improve their health. Pharmacy for Life is a community-based pharmacy with a strong focus on providing health solutions for our patients. I love getting to know my patients and spending time with them, offering advice and working with other members of their health-care team. I am proud of the work my team also does in embracing my vision. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? To be successful you need to set goals and these goals need to be written down. Revisit your goals regularly and don’t be afraid to change them. Ask for help as no one knows everything. Find people with strengths that might be your weaknesses as this will help your business to grow.

Who inspires you? Apart from my family, I am most inspired by people who don’t let their circumstances dictate their future or their happiness. People, who despite their own situation, still are achieving success, and are kind and considerate of others and of our world. Examples are Nick Vujicic, born without arms or legs, doesn’t look at what he’s lacking, instead at what he has and lives life to the limit. In my own circle of friends, Sarah Lawson who has cerebral palsy. She is a member of Toastmasters, regularly giving speeches, has a university degree and is up for all sorts of adventure. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I am most proud of the ripple effect of having staff who look after our students who in turn get jobs where they make a positive difference in the lives of aged or disabled people. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Find something you enjoy and feel good about, then do what it takes to make that your job. You can do it. What is your secret weapon in business? Daisy Learning students receive more that just the training required to get a qualification. Before they enrol, we make sure they know what they are getting into. When they decide to go ahead they are fully supported through to completion.

24 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

24.indd 1

26/07/2018 3:01:02 PM


S CBWN F I NALI STS

Coastal Landscape Supplies

Evolution Fuel, Evolution Espresso, MINT

Who inspires you? My biggest inspiration is my father. He grew up in an orphanage, having lost both parents at a young age. He also lost his brother, and his infant son. Despite the hard knocks and setbacks, he built a successful farming business from nothing. He taught me to never give up, to see things through to the end and to be kind – you never know what someone might be going through. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I’m proud of what we have achieved and the direction we have taken our business in over the past 10 years. I am also proud that we have survived the economic downturn on the Coast, despite advice that it couldn’t be done. I love the nature of our industry. In a strange way, it feels like home to me, because of the down-to-earth people we deal with every day, and I get a sense that we are contributing to the growth on the Coast in a positive way. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? I think my younger self could probably tell me a thing or two. As a younger person I had no fear of failure. As you get older, you learn to be afraid because you have more to lose. Don’t lose your sense of fearlessness. Don’t be swayed by other people. Back yourself all the time. What is your secret weapon in business? There is no secret weapon. It is hard work.

Who inspires you? On a personal level, my family – I demonstrate to them that if you are dedicated and truly passionate about your vision it can become a reality. Professionally, Jamie Oliver and his message to educate communities and feed our children real food, and the incredible physical and emotional benefits this has. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love being creative with real food and ingredients and most proud when I am able to see ideas and visions become a successful business reality that our guests enjoy. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? If you have a true passion you are halfway there. The other half is pure hard work! What is your secret weapon in business? Keeping one step ahead and understanding the foreverchanging market we live in.

Congratulations Corrie Attneave! On being selected as a ´nalist for Professional Business Woman of the Year 2018. Your nomination recognises your excellent work and support you bring to both Secure Access and our clients.

MICRO SMALL

CORPORATE

CORPORATE

KYLIE PITT

MAREE RATCLIFFE

LISA CROWTHER Atlas Multisports Who inspires you? Anyone who has founded a start-up business. There are certain qualities in anyone who has ‘bootstrapped’ and grown their own business. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love what I do. I love event days when everything comes together. I enjoy talking to people and sharing their experience as they cross the finish line. I am also very proud of the fundraising we have been able to give back to charity and community groups over the years. I am proud of our ‘family business’. My husband and I can work together and involve our children as much as possible. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Learn, learn, learn. Listen to those more experienced and never think you have all the answers. Keep innovating and making mistakes. Build relationships with others. What is your secret weapon in business? Relationships with others. I am born and bred on the Sunshine Coast and am lucky to have a community around me who supports and encourages us in everything we do.

When you love what you do you’re already a winner Moffat Beach Vets Phone 5491 1056 10 Campbell Street, Caloundra moffatbeachvet.com.au SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 25

25.indd 1

26/07/2018 1:33:32 PM


SC BW N F I NA L ISTS

DIONE MAURIC

The Organic Lip Balm Company Who inspires you? Kim McCosker – she’s a legend. I seriously don’t know where she finds the energy. And my family – they continually inspire me every day. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Creating a new path is never easy yet always incredibly rewarding. Trusting myself and having the courage to step up. I am very grateful for the opportunity to share my knowledge. Knowing my ‘why’ keeps me on track as does hearing from my customers about their transformation after clarity they have experienced both on a physical and emotional level. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? You will learn through living your life’s toughest lessons your own resilience, determination and how to create your own magic. Never stop looking on the bright side of life as there is joy everywhere around you. Go with your gut and trust and back yourself. You can do anything when you set your mind to it.

MICRO SMALL

MICRO SMALL

MICRO SMALL

JANINE HALL

Finn Franchise Brokers Who inspires you? Indra Nooyi, the chairperson and CEO of PepsiCo, a truly inspiring woman and leader of this business for in excess of 17 years. While working in Europe for PepsiCo, I had the honour of meeting her on several occasions and learnt a lot about her leadership philosophies. She is a woman that walks the talk. Being a successful businessperson is about leadership, the philosophies you live by and the actions you take. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Helping families fulfil their dreams of becoming business owners, enabling them to take control of their destiny and lifestyle, and building their wealth through business. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? When an opportunity presents itself, grab it and go! What is your secret weapon in business? A positive can-do attitude to business!

What is your secret weapon in business? Trust in your vision and take small action steps towards them each day.

ROBYN PULMAN Speak for Impact (formerly Creating Winning Habits)

Who inspires you? My daughter, Michaela. She is fearless, bold, adventurous and fun, relentless in pursuing what SHE wants to pursue. Sometimes, she listens to her mum. Somehow, she always lands on her feet! What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? How does one put into words the pure ‘joy’ I experience when helping others ‘find their voice’ when leading, presenting or simply relating to others. Literally, hundreds of clients have told me that I cut through their emotional and mental clutter and help them distil their thinking so they can communicate clearly, concisely and compellingly in any situation. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? To believe that whatever ‘the universe’ dishes out to me is exactly what I am meant to be experiencing at that time, no matter how painful or discouraging. To remind myself that what I focus on expands and, thus, to only focus on the positives. To spend so much time improving myself that I have no time to criticise others. What is your secret weapon in business? A client said, “The sheer scope of your experience means you are able to provide skills for every occasion where clear communication and presentation are required.” With age comes wisdom from life, not a textbook.

You go girl! Jaymee Martin you rock! We’re so proud of you. To be shortlisted as a finalist for the Sunshine Coast Business Women of the Year is an achievement second to none. You started out as an advisor in our Call Centre and have rocketed up the ranks because of your talent, hard work and your ability to lift those around you to new heights. 26 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

26.indd 1

25/07/2018 10:15:32 AM


S CBWN F I NALI STS

Splash Marketing and PR

Villa Prestige Properties

Who inspires you? In one way or another each and every one of us has the capacity to inspire another. My grandmother, though, is the woman who I have been most inspired by. My grandfather left my grandmother alone in the 1950s with two young children. She did not fall apart. She did not abandon her children. In an era where divorce was taboo she took the challenge of finding a job and then worked full time at Myer in Adelaide. She bought a home, raised two young children on her own and she worked to support them. My father and aunt are a credit to the commitment my grandmother had – the resilience, the stubbornness, the heart and the focus. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Seeing how my support has helped build opportunities and change businesses is rewarding. However, I am also passionate about exploring and testing new concepts, solutions and ways of doing business. What advice would you share with your younger self about business, dreams and success? Never say no to an opportunity, even if you are not perfectly positioned to accept a challenge. What is your secret weapon in business? Agility and curiosity. My focus on learning in the field of innovation and engagement means I am able to offer unique perspectives and strategies to clients.

Who inspires you? Everyday people inspire me. The people who work hard to make ends meet to make themselves and their family, and life in general, work. I think life is not perfect and it is easy to feel overwhelmed by all of the everyday pressures. So this goes out to all of the “unrecognised” everyday heroes for just getting on with it and trying to make you and your families lives a happier one. You are the people who inspire me. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love real estate. I love being a part of buying and selling a home. It’s such an important decision in life and to think I am privileged to be a part of. It is an honour to me that I take very seriously. I am proud to be making a positive impact on an industry that is not always seen that way. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? It is never too early to dream big! Life whizzes by so fast! Travel. You will learn more from all types of life experience. Listen to the advice of your elders but also understand that our world is changing quickly and so you have to ultimately follow your gut. Financial success does not always equal happiness as I have found out personally from some of my wealthiest clients.

MICRO SMALL

MICRO SMALL

MICRO SMALL

TRACIE SANIM

LINDA SHORE-PEREZ

HAYLEY TREMAIN Ballistic Training Solutions

Who inspires you? My daughters and my husband. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Our clients and my students drive me and keep me absolutely passionate about what I do. Seeing them grow as individuals over the duration of their time with us and to form those strong relationships makes me so proud of what we do. I just love it. Our people are what make me ever-so proud. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Believe in yourself. Dare to dream and, most importantly, work hard and smile heaps – I have said these words constantly to my daughters since they were small, but feel this is extremely sound advice. Enjoying every moment along the way is key to achieving all your dreams and ultimately achieving success. What is your secret weapon in business? By providing an environment where clients and students feel they belong to the Ballistic family. Providing customer service excellence is just how we do things around here.

Party Now We’ll be here for you tomorrow. Congratulations Kendall on your finalist nomination for Sunshine Coast Young Business Woman of the Year. Changing the way the world ages one client at a time. We are an approved provider of Home Care Packages. Ask us how you can easily switch to Home Care Assistance. Sunshine Coast (07) 5491 6888 SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 27

27.indd 1

26/07/2018 11:26:30 AM


SC BW N F I NA L ISTS

Secure Access IT Who inspires you? My husband Paul is top of the list. Paul and I have been together for 23 years and every day he inspires me to be the best version of me I can be. Paul has supported me and our teenagers by being a stay-at-home dad for the past 10 years. He always listens and encourages my dreams. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love being a woman in the IT industry. Having the latest technical skills and knowledge is rewarding. I’m passionate about delivering technology solutions. Being recognised as a trusted and skilled professional gives me a feeling of accomplishment. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? I would tell my younger self to look up instead of down, look at the glass half full rather than half empty. To believe in yourself. To be successful in business you need help along the way from your peers and mentors. What is your secret weapon in business? I believe my straight-to-the point, driven, fair and quirky personality contribute to my success in business. My clients consider me as their trusted IT business partner and have the confidence in me to deliver services that meet their expectations every time. My clients have the trust in me that I would not sell them something they do not require, and I have their best interest at heart.

REBECCA HINES The Good Guys Kawana

Who inspires you? I find inspiration everywhere. Meeting ordinary people that have achieved extraordinary things, visiting beautiful places that take my breath away, listening to my elderly customers’ life stories and experiences, watching my young nephews and nieces grow and learn. I feel you can find inspiration everywhere in everything. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I feel grateful to have been given this opportunity. My staff and my customers make me proud of what I do each day. Also, most importantly, helping people, either in store or in our local community. The work we have done to help local charities and individuals makes me very proud to be a Good Guy. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Work hard at whatever you do. Even if it’s not exactly where you feel you need to be yet, give every task 110 per cent. Eventually with hard work and commitment you will get to where you desire to be. Be authentic; you can be different but be true to yourself. Try new things, step outside your comfort zone and never give up. What is your secret weapon in business? My people. I respect and invest in them.

PROFESSIONAL

PROFESSIONAL

PROFESSIONAL

CORRIE ATTNEAVE

ANGELINE MCLEAN McLean & Co Jewellers

Who inspires you? My husband Stuart McLean and his ability to talk and listen to others to create the jewellery of their dreams. He is an amazing wealth of knowledge and is able to problem solve efficiently and effectively. He is adaptable in any environment with a genuine empathy for people around him. Stuart has a dynamic attitude to make things work. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Our jewellery manufacturing is in store offering a high-end quality piece of jewellery ensuring security and quality control carried out by our jewellers. I am very passionate about providing jewellery manufactured on the Sunshine Coast. You can sit down with a jeweller any day of the week to design a new piece of jewellery or repair and restore your own jewellery. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Believe in yourself. What is your secret weapon in business? Set people up to succeed.

FUELLING SUNSHINE COAST BUSINESS WOMEN

Sunshine HOME, 100 Maroochydore Road, Maroochydore 5479 1433

Shop 8, 67 Burnett Street, Buderim 5370 9557

Splash works with Sunshine Coast and regional Queensland SMEs to find and secure their competitive edge. We develop solutions from an evidence-based perspective, delving into the business model and building a robust strategic approach as a result of market benchmarking, discovery and validation.

Shop 14/18 University Way, Sippy Downs 0497 970 011

splashmarketingandpr.com.au 0412 021 250

28 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

28.indd 1

26/07/2018 4:29:30 PM


S CBWN F I NALI STS YOUNG

BRIOHNY DE VERE

Goodstart Early Learning Maroochydore

Accelerate Auto Electrics & Air Conditioning

Who inspires you? I have modelled myself around many colleagues and mangers who have encouraged me to develop strengths needed to be successful in my field. They have taught me many skills which have supported me in implementing goals that are achievable – customerdriven skills, team building and work-life balance. Most recently, I have been inspired by local businesswomen Angela Collins. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? The ability to offer all families and their children early learning with qualified, inspirational and passionate educators who provide play-based learning, utilising our local community resources. Empowering children in my care to explore and understand the world around them. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Be ambitious. If you want something, aim for the top. Be passionate. If you are truly passionate about something it will become a reality. Have a sense of purpose. Believe that what you are doing is making a difference. What is your secret weapon in business? Delivering a home away from home. Having caring educators that are passionate about early learning for all children. I strive each and every day to deliver the best team of educators for families and their children.

Who inspires you? I draw inspiration from so many people, but the people that inspire me on a daily basis are my two boys (Cash, five, and Saxon, three), my mum who ran a multimilliondollar business and raised three kids on her own, and my sister who travelled the world as the captain on multimillion-dollar super yachts. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? My team – they make coming to work each day fun and they inspire me to challenge myself and expand the business. Also, I love the varying tasks being a business owner offers. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? At times business and life will be tough, but you will overcome it. Have confidence, take the risk, challenge yourself, don’t be scared to dream big. What you will achieve will be beyond your wildest dreams. And don’t be afraid to invest in a great team. What is your secret weapon in business? Good old-fashioned customer service is at the root of our business success. We answer the phone, we show up when promised, we call if we can’t, we always quote beforehand, we follow up on quotes, we ensure we do quality work and we ask our customers’ opinion and listen. Our other secret weapon is our amazing team.

The Good Girls Not only do we have the best brands at the best prices…

WE ALSO HAVE THE BEST STAFF! Congratulations Rebecca on your finalist nomination for Professional Business Woman of the Year, we are so proud of you! 220 Nicklin Way, Kawana Waters. 5490 2200 www.thegoodguys.com.au

JESS FREEMAN Ken Mills Toyota Who inspires you? I find inspiration in practically everyone. I love learning about people and their different strengths and weaknesses and how they approach life. However, if one person stood above the rest it would be my dad. He put everything he had when I was growing up into making sure I was happy. He would always tell me, “I don’t care what you choose to do when you get older, as long as you feel guilty about taking a pay cheque because you love it so much.” This continues to inspire me in everything I do every day. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? The team of people I work with. We all work so hard for a common goal to provide a fantastic experience for our guests and to support our community. I am so proud of how we come together to achieve a common goal and we do it with fun and laughter. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Don’t worry if you’re not sure where you want your life to go when you finish school. If you have the right attitude and put 110 per cent into everything you do, everything will fall into place and be better than you imagined. What is your secret weapon in business? Bluntness – I like to keep it simple. I call a spade a spade and ask hard questions of myself and others so I can find the fastest path for success.

GOODNESS GRACIOUS Gluten Free Organic Cafe 3 Conn Street, Yandina | 5446 8444

YOUNG

PROFESSIONAL

NATASHA SULLIVAN

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 29

29.indd 1

25/07/2018 10:22:44 AM


SC BW N F I NA L ISTS YOUNG

YOUNG

YOUNG

FELICITY GRIGOR IGA Landsborough and Glass House Mountains Who inspires you? My mum and dad. My parents drive me to achieve more and reach new heights both in my personal and professional life. My parents are resilient, determined, have sacrificed and are always demonstrating to my sisters and me their willingness to constantly achieve. My parents are determined and willing to learn new skills within the business and industry in order to grow and develop our business. It is these qualities and more that I one day endeavour to be remembered for. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I am fortunate to work in a complex, dynamic and competitive industry that challenges me every day. I wouldn’t change what I do for anything as each day I learn a new skill, I make a new business connection, and leave work feeling as though I have contributed to achieving our business goals as well as contributing to my communities. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? You can’t expect professional and personal success to occur without genuine passion and respect for your chosen industry. Love what you do! It will shine through to your work, colleagues, suppliers and customers. What is your secret weapon in business? Passion, pro-activeness and resilience.

- 4WD Accessories - 12 Volt Caravan Electrics

JOANNA KRISTOFFERSEN

The Kitchen Coach

iJetski

Who inspires you? As much as I love the adults and parents I work with, I am really doing my work for the benefit of their children – the next generation. Seeing these families come alive with delight when they discover how easy, tasty, and enjoyable real food can be, not only inspires me to get out of bed early every morning, and to work late into the evening, but to think bigger about ways I can help more people in an effective way. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? Witnessing the lives of families completely change for the better. Seeing the joy in a person’s eyes when they begin to feel better than they ever have and are able to dream about what is now possible because of it. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Dream like anything is possible, because it is. The only thing that will stand in the way of your success is you, so begin learning how to get out of your own way now. Health is truly wealth. What is your secret weapon in business? Yoga! It creates magic in my life in more ways than I could ever count.

- Air Conditioning - Starting Faults

1300 227 353 | www.amae.net.au

ASHLEY JUBINVILLE

- Towing Solutions - Wiring & Electrical Repairs

Who inspires you? The positive people in my life. I like to surround myself with ‘go-getters’ that really turn their passion into success, such as Hazel Larard from Riding for the Disabled. I volunteered for RDA and I wanted to be just like Hazel! She is an amazing, authentic, over-generous, inspirational woman. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love learning! You can never know too much. Throughout my science career, I have enjoyed researching, developing and entwining my innovative ideas into real-life tools! The Sunshine Coast drives my passion for succeeding in my small business and I do everything I can to give back to community and charity organisations. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Trust your gut instincts and know that your mother is usually right! Don’t wait for the ‘right time’ because time goes too fast and life is unpredictable! Enjoy every moment life gives you and be grateful. What is your secret weapon in business? Well, I have a few! Being a customer of my own business is a priceless business tool I use and review often. Embrace your passion, adapt to change and don’t lose direction. My best business tip would be to stay hungry, keep routine and keep utilising the power of learning!

Congratulations Ms Sullivan! We’re proud of everything you have achieved as Centre Director at Goodstart Maroochydore

Mobile Service or Maroochydore Workshop 17 Trinder Avenue, Maroochydore www.amae.net.au | 1300 227 373 30 SCBWN 20th Year | August, 2018

30.indd 1

26/07/2018 4:44:48 PM


S CBWN F I NALI STS

Youi Insurance Who inspires you? Mel Robbins is a motivational speaker and author who inspires people to push through their hesitations and fears, to take themselves out of their comfort zone and change their behaviour. She helps people make a positive change in their life to help them achieve their goals and dreams, which is something I aspire to do. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I am passionate and proud of the culture at Youi. We value both professional and personal development for our employees. Youi has provided me the opportunity to build a strong career for which I am grateful. I am also proud to be able to offer my staff the same. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Believe in yourself and step outside your comfort zone. Starting my career in leadership at 19 I faced many different challenges and obstacles as a young manager. A pivotal part of my growth came from my manager guiding me to ‘feel the fear, and do it anyway’. The more I challenge myself, the stronger and more confident I get. What is your secret weapon in business? Self-confidence is a huge factor. Know your strengths and always continue to work on your opportunities to be the best you can be. Being a young female in any corporate industry comes with its challenges.

YOUNG

YOUNG

YOUNG

JAYMEE MARTIN

KENDALL MORTON

DONNA NIAZOV

Home Care Assistance Sunshine Coast

Family Friendly Carpet Cleaning

Who inspires you? My children, Coty, Rafe, JJ and Tula. They have a way of keeping things in perspective and filling our universe with laughter and colour and craziness. I feel so lucky to have them. There are so many people in business that inspire me, people that are self-made, creative and have left an impact on the world. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? We strive to make a difference to the lives of our clients, our staff, and contribute to shaping the industry as a whole for more sustainable, efficient practices. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? The only limitations we have are the ones we put on ourselves. Working hard and taking risks are just as viable as playing it safe. Value relationships as everyone has something to offer. Make decisions that are right for yourself and those you love, and don’t compare them to the decisions others are making.

Who inspires you? My family gives me the most inspiration, but also the local community here on the Sunshine Coast. Watching people’s success inspires me to more forward with my own success. What makes you passionate about, and proud of, your work? I love business in general. The satisfaction we get from our customers is just amazing. The fact we are so local and operate as a family really makes me proud of the work we accomplish. Watching the market grow in our industry makes me passionate about developing further. What inspirational advice would you share with your younger self about business dreams and success? Aim for the highest you can think about, collaborate with as many people as you can and never lose your passion! What is your secret weapon in business? Systems, staff and mindset.

What is your secret weapon in business? Hard work, continual learning, authenticity and loving what I do!

SCBWN 20th year | August, 2018 31

31.indd 1

26/07/2018 12:22:21 PM


Join Us!

32.indd 1

26/07/2018 10:09:47 AM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

SCWBN 20th Year  

Honouring those who have gone before and leading the way for those to come forth and shine, the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network cele...

SCWBN 20th Year  

Honouring those who have gone before and leading the way for those to come forth and shine, the Sunshine Coast Business Women’s Network cele...