Page 1

RENOVATION PROJECTS | DESIGN | PRODUCTS

THE FORECAST

INTERIOR DESIGN TRENDS THAT WE WILL LOVE IN 2019

ISSUE 84 | FEBRUARY EDITION 2019 SUNSHINE COAST >> MYWEEKLYPREVIEW.COM.AU

01.indd 1

18/01/2019 9:48:33 AM


RENOVATION SALE - FIRST TIME EVER B U I L D I N G , R E N O VAT I N G O R S I M P LY U P DAT I N G Air Apache DC 1300mm m Matt Black

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

Available in matt white, brushed nickel, Koa & Bamboo timber look. ABS Blade construction, includes 5 speed Remote + timer.

$

34995

SAVE 50%

Air Elite II DC 1300mm Four Blade

Available in matt black, antique brass, brushed chrome, LED Light option avail. $359.95 or $305.95 when purchased in qtys of 2 or more includes remote

$ SKU160497

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

29995

SAVE 40%

Air Orleans 1370mm Matt White

15-70% OFF

15-70% OFF

DESK/FLOOR & LAMP SHADES*

PENDANTS/CHANDELIERS STOREWIDE*

Air Amalfi Classico 1300mm Antique Brass

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

Available in brushed nickel, white Available in matt black

$ SKU160465

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

30995

SAVE 30%

$ SKU160480

19995

SAVE 45%

SKU160473

ECO Down Light Avail. White or Brushed Chrome LED compatible, aluminium construction.

SAVE 70% STRICTLY WHILE STOCKS LAST!!! HUGE RANGE TO CHOSE FROM!

$ 95* Over 1000 options - largest range in Australia

Audio + Visual Intercom Kit

*When sold with an LED tublular globe

LUMEN 10w LED Tri Colour Down Light

DIY HDD Surveillance

Available in black or white, includes 7" touch screen internal monitor, surface mount touch screen external piece, gate strike can be attached. Video, snap shots of visitor, remote answer, view & door unlocking via smart phone (apple/android) application any where in the world.

1

Over 2000 options - largest range in Australia

4 x cameras + DVR hard drive Includes all cables required. 4 x 2.0MP cameras Infra red weatherproof (IP67), 1TB HDD hard drive. Able to view all footage via (apple or android applications of smart phones or tablets).

DESK, PEDESTAL & WALL FANS

S

FROM $19.95 HUGE RANGE

(warm, cool, day light) Avail. White or Brushed Chrome 3 year warranty, includes flex and plug, IC 4 Rated, Dimmable.

STRICTLY WHILE STOCKS LAST

INTRODUCTORY NTRODUCTORY OFFER

from $

$ $ 49995 SAVE 30% 56995 SAVE 30% 1995 SAVE 60% FREE LIGHTING | SOLAR | AIR CONDITIONING DESIGN SERVICE AVAILABLE. SKU158928

SKU160591

SKU 161567

AUSTRALIA'S LARGEST LIGHTING SHOWROOMS SUNSHINE COAST CURRIMUNDI 790 Nicklin Way P: 5492 6722

02.indd 1

NTH BRISBANE MORAYFIELD 379 Morayfield Rd P: 5498 7277

®

18/01/2019 12:42:24 PM

1


UP TO

ENTIRE SHOWROOM DISCOUNTED 70% OFF EVERYTHING

Air Synergy II 1200mm Matt Black

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

Air Glide II 1200mm White

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

Air Elite II DC 1300mm m Three ABS Blade

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

St Tropez II Fan

TAKE A FURTHER 15-30% OFF FANS

130cm diameter Light adaptable Available in brushed nickel, matt white, antique brass, light version available

$

13995

Available in Brushed Nickel

$

SAVE 20%

Available in matt white, brushed chrome, LED Light option avail. ABS blade construction, includes remote

8995

SKU160445

SAVE 40%

$ SKU 160453

STRICTLY WHILE STOCKS LAST!!! HUGE RANGE TO CHOSE FROM!

S

$

SKU 160844

10kw Rinnai Unit (includes all accessories i.e.duct, vents to a standard install*) + Free Efergy Energy Efficiency Monitor *Standard install based on 2 Zone, 6 Outlet, single story, access within ceiling cavityy see in store for further details.

SAVE 70%

95

19

NEW

25995

Ducted Air Conditioning Packages

Eco Surface Mount Oyster Lights

$

31995

HUGE RANGE OF TROPICAL FANS ON DISPLAY

$

5,99995

(22W, 32W, 40W)

SOLAR UNBEATABLE MEGA DEALS 5.1kw System + 10 x FREE LED Down Lights $3999.95*

5.1kw System + LG Chem RESU (expandable) 6.5kw Battery + 10 x FREE LED Down Lights $9995.95*

1 x 5.0kw Inverter +17 x 300w Panels + Racking + 10 x 9w LED Down Lights

1 x 5.0kw Hybrid Inverter + LG CHEM RESU (expandable) 6.5kw Battery + 17 x 300w Panels + Racking + 10 x 9w LED Down Lights

SAVE 30%

SKU160456

ASK WWOL FOR NO INTEREST EVER FINANCE!

SAVE 30%

All major brands available

ASK WWOL FOR NO INTEREST EVER FINANCE!

Split System Air Conditioners

ASK WWOL FOR NO INTEREST EVER FINANCE!

SKU161986

*Based on perfect scenarios, STC's assign to WWOL/Installer in full, see instore for details

12 Years Structural panel warranty + 25 Years Performance panel warranty + 5 Years (on site) Inverter warranty + 10 Years (on site) Battery Warranty

from $

59995

SAVE 25%

2.5kW Rinnai G Series Reverse Cycle Inverter Split, Wi-fi All Major brands on display.

*Excludes clearance and sale items, not to be used in conjunction with any other offer. Images for illustration purposes only, products may slightly differ from what is displayed. All electrical work must performed by a Licensed Electrician except DIY fittings. Refer to WWOL website for full T&Cs. *Free shipping is not valid in conjunction with any sale offers and only valid for online purchases. No interest ever finance available on normal RRP not available on sale items.

ASK FOR WWOL UNBEATABLE DEAL

BRING YOUR PLANS & DISCUSS WITH 150 YEARS OF KNOWLEDGE IN SHOWROOMS PRICE SMASH

03.indd 1

NO INTEREST EVER FINANCE AVAILABLE* OPEN 7 DAYS

GUARANTEE!

*FREE SHIPPING AUSTRALIA WIDE

Found a cheaper price elsewhere? We’ll either match it or SMASH IT!

wideworldoflights.com.au

18/01/2019 12:42:48 PM


EDITOR’S NOTE & CONTENTS //

TOUGH, DURABLE, LONG LASTING GARAGE FLOORING At a fraction of the price. WE HELP YOU DO IT YOURSELF!

FREE R ROLLERS OLLERS FOR ALL MY M RENOVATION ON N CUSTOMERS RS

DIY FLOORING SOLUTIONS SAVE THOUSANDS CONCRETE & FLOORING SOLUTIONS 1/24 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore Tel: 5451 0856 Email sales@cfsq.com.au

cfsq.com.au

What’s inside

12 Editor’s note

T

he start of a new year in the interior design world is always an exciting time. There are new trends emerging, and those in the know – the experts – share their thoughts and predictions. Perhaps the biggest statement of all is the release of Pantone’s Colour of the Year. Each December, as the design world waits with bated breath, the colour authority releases its selection. This colour sets the direction for not only interior styling, but fashion and makeup. Designers respond with new products – occasional chairs, sofas, artwork, wallpaper – all in this chosen hue. Coral Living has been selected as the colour of 2019 and we love it. It’s vibrant, lively and looks terrific when used sparingly throughout the home. In this month’s cover story we focus on the interior design portion of a home renovation. After all, the styling is almost as important as the build itself. Also in this edition we have the 2019 trends in bathrooms and kitchens, as well as tips and the latest in television technology. Enjoy, and happy renovating.

14 Cover story .............................6 Trends of 2019

Kitchen ........................................8 Emerging styles

Bathroom .............................10 What’s hot this year

Style............................................12 Take me to the Mediterranean

Tips.............................................14 Patios and planning

Expert advice............................18 With Emilia Johnston

Expert advice............................20 With Cassandra Fenaughty

Instagram..................................26 The best of social media

Technology ...............................27 The future of televisions

Finishing touches....................28 Products, looks and styles

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Bethan on 5444 0152. Sales: sales@myweeklypreview.com.au

4 My Renovation | February 2019

04.indd 1

18/01/2019 1:05:37 PM


$2000

Get

*

towards your holidays with Apollo To qualify, spend $5000 or more on an Apollo outdoor home addition!

T NOW W YI U

B

H IT

48 MONT

Interest frHS^ ee Ends 30/04 /19

FREE

APOLLO INSULATED

DESIGN APPRAISAL

ROOF SHEETING NOW AVAILABLE

Patios • Carports • Decks • Screen & Glass Enclosures • Apollo Patio Accessories Apollo Aluminium Louvres & Slats

& GET

+ Call to book in your

$100

Holiday Rewards

CALL YOUR LICENSED APOLLO PATIOS DEALER FOR AN OBLIGATION FREE DESIGN CONSULTATION:

*Save up to 60% towards the cost of your next holiday with Holiday Rewards. Plus save on thousands of everyday Lifestyle benefits. Visit apollopatios.com.au/holidayrewardsplus/ for details. See how our

Apollo Patios Sunshine Coast

07 5437 8124

customers are FREE DESIGN SERVICE | ADD VALUE TO YOUR enjoying their Apollo outdoors HOME | LARGE VARIETY OF STYLES & DESIGNS lifestyle 3 CHOICES OF ROOF SHEETING apollopatios.com.au

SHOWROOM: 112 NICKLIN WAY WARANA

^Approved applicants only. Fees, terms & conditions apply, incl $99 Annual Fee charged on the account open date and annually on the anniversary of that date. Annual Fee must be paid in full within 90 days or it will attract interest. Minimum monthly repayment required. Interest, (charged at the standard Expired Promotional Rate) payable on outstanding balance after any Interest Free term. See skyecard.com.au for current interest rates. Credit provided by FlexiCards Australia Pty Ltd ABN 31 099 651 877 Australian Credit Licence number 247415. Skye is a trademark of FlexiCards Australia Pty Ltd, a subsidiary of FlexiGroup Limited. 48 Months interest free minimum spend $1,600. Offer ends 30/04/19. †Apollo Durasheen paint finish with 15 year warranty. Photos are indicative only – Apollo Home Additions are individually designed and may vary from the photo. Construction by JTS Patio Constructions T/A Apollo Patios Brisbane & Sunshine Coast QBCC Licence No:15054065. JTS6193.

05.indd 1

18/01/2019 9:35:14 AM


COVER STORY //

2019: WHAT TO EXPECT Styling your home can be a daunting task. Colours, flooring materials, furnishings, the list is endless. Our suggestion is to begin with the right research. Find out what works, what you like and what it costs and go from there. To get you on the right track, we’ve compiled some of the top interior design trends the experts are predicting for the 12 months ahead. Living Coral The interior design world waits with bated breath ahead of each new year for the Pantone Colour Institute to announce its colour of the year. And, 2019 has got off to a vibrant start with Living Coral the chosen hue. Described as a “natural, playful shade [that] evokes a sense of comfort and buoyancy”, the striking hue should be used sparingly in the home to add pops of colour.

FROM THE EXPERTS Interior stylist Melissa Gullifer from Focus on Furniture shares her key interior trends for 2019. 1. Colours Matte black seems to be moving from fashion to our interiors and we love it! Expect to see bold, high-contrast furniture designs like luxurious marble with black steel. Or black leather with deep brown timbers. Move over rose gold, traditional metallic gold is going to make a major comeback in 2019, with dark gold, bright gold being paired with raw natural finishes. Metallic finishes will add the ooh la la back into your interior. 2. Sustainability With the anti-waste movement now in full swing, Australians are more conscious than ever of the war on waste. Retail companies are also taking charge and looking for new ways to improve their environmental processes. We have seen a massive trend towards customers looking for companies who are taking this seriously. 3. Earthy tones and greens Timber finishes are the perfect way to let the outdoors in and feel a little summery all-year round. Indoor plants are already here and they’re not going anywhere. With so many retail outlets stocking up on artificial plants that look like the real thing, it’s no wonder we’re buying up (and the best part is we don’t need to worry about watering them)! For inspiration, visit focusonfurniture.com.au

6 My Renovation | February 2019

06.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:46:05 PM


Natural Stone Specialists

GLOBAL INSIGHTS Haymes Paint colour and concept manager Wendy Rennie recently attended the Interior Lifestyle Living international trade fair in Tokyo. The event showcases upcoming lifestyle trends and concepts in the interior design field from around the world. Here are her key observations from her time in Japan.

TEXTURE Texture was all-encompassing in Japan, with sophisticated applications in design from small to large scale projects. There was a focus on ensuring textures weren’t clean or perfect, with the beauty in the imperfection. Variations I observed included texture in paper screens, woven papers, quilted upholstery, ribbed carpeting, linen and incredible textured applications for walls using layering to create a tactile, bespoke space.

• Marble, Granite and Reconstituted Stone • Kitchen and Vanity Tops • Domestic and Commercial Projects + MUCH MORE.

Ask about our offcuts, cut to size! Established on the Coast for over 20 years. Come in and see the reno specialists today 40 FISHERMANS RD, MAROOCHYDORE P: 5479 4033 E: info@lifetimestone.com.au

COLOUR There is a unique, subtle use of colour in Japan. It’s part of the fabric of the country and is blended with texture and materials to create its own aesthetic. Accents of colour are often used against white to create a striking contrast that includes the use of green and earthy tones found in the natural landscape and floral colours such as pink and lavender. These colour combinations create a serene beauty that would fit well in Australian interiors and lifestyle s. lifestyles.

Coral Serenade ade

MATERIALS Wood was showcased in many diverse forms from light to dark. There was a lot more light wood used, which was quite a contrast from Milan where dark wood was a focus. The use of wood in furniture exhibits simplicity in design that is effortless and refined.

Amber Brown

ON-TREND: Cast iron baths BATHROOM BUZZ A traditional freestanding bath is sure to make a statement in your newly renovated bathroom. It’s a symbol of relaxation and sophistication and is a surefire feature piece. Of course, they are also more expensive, so consider your budget before falling in love with this signature tub. For more 2019 bathroom trends turn to page 10.

PTY LTD

Give your Concrete a Colour It Australia Makeover N& COME I UGE RH SEE OU AREA Y DISPLA • stamp • stencil • topcrete • sealers • epoxy coatings • colour in the mix for domestic & commercial applications 24hr display: 20 Endeavour Dr, Kunda Park

PHONE: 07 5445 2399 E: sales@ciaconcrete.com.au www.ciaconcrete.com.au My Renovation | February 2019 7

07.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:49:05 PM


KITCHEN //

2019 design trends lt to stay It can be difficu st interior te ahead of the la we have so ds en design tr p four looks compiled the to in the 12 ge that will emer d. ea ah s th mon

1. Modular kitchens First there were modular sofas with the ability to change the pieces to suit your needs, now we will see more of a focus on flexible kitchens. With a moveable layout, these kitchens can be adapted on a daily basis to suit the tasks at hand. Mono workstations in varying sizes will give you a new sense of freedom.

2. Integrated appliances In this uber-modern approach to design, appliances are no longer taking centre stage in the kitchen. Instead, refrigerators, dishwashers and other kitchen staples will be integrated into the overall design with large cabinets and doors concealing the pieces.

design - supply - install

Drop into our showroom and speak to our friendly team about a free quote at 2/5 PREMIER CCT, WARANA

5437 8582 Mon-Fri 8-4.30pm, Sat 8.30-1pm

suitable for every budget INDOORS • OUTDOORS • BATHROOMS • LOUNGE ROOMS • BEDROOMS • POOLS • FEATURE WALLS • PATIOS FENCES & more!! www.jerryandthetilemakerssunshinecoast.com.au 8 My Renovation | February 2019

08.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:01:20 PM


PRODUCT ALERT With technology improving day by day, it’s no surprise that our kitchens are set to become smarter. The CES 2019, which was held in Las Vegas in January, unveiled an array of smart tech gadgets including the KitchenAid Smart Oven+. This gadget of course comes with ovenpowered attachments for grilling, baking and steaming. The oven itself is available as a single, double or combination model and uses its Even-Heat True Convection design for even cooking. For updates visit kitchenaid.com.au.

3. Black kitchens, particularly in matte materials Sleek, sophisticated, simple. These three words sum up this style where traditional gloss-look and light-coloured cabinets and bench tops will be replaced with dark matte finishes. Tapware and appliances are now also available to suit the style.

4. Smart storage Integrated and hidden cabinetry will be a popular choice as we go forward. Smarter storage options will be a vital focus of kitchen design.

s t s i l a Speci

STONE BENCHTOP

Engineered Stone, Marble, Granite and Porcelain Benchtops for Kitchens, Bathrooms and Alfresco Quick Lead times Free Quotes Travel to All Areas

Phone: 5442 2133 | info@stoneeffectsqld.com.au | 84 Sandalwood Lane, Forest Glen | www.stoneeffectsqld.com.au My Renovation | February 2019 9

09.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:01:46 PM


BATHROOM //

The new lookan

ises to be This year prom bathroom in e exciting tim w trends design with ne ng emergi .

Open design In days gone by having a bath tub take centre stage of your master suite may have seemed a little odd. However, open concept bathrooms are quickly gaining momentum and we are sure to see this style more frequently in renovations and new builds.

Statement tiling Who doesn’t love a beautiful work of art? This year, we will see tiled feature walls take over our bathrooms. Mosaic, subway, herringbone and artisan tiles in all sizes and colours are clear winners. The look works particularly well in bringing style to a powder room.

Coloured tapware Coloured tapware has been starring in bathrooms for some time now and the trend is going nowhere anytime soon. Picks for 2019 include gun-metal grey, brass, brushed nickel, copper and matte black. Oldfashioned tapware and exposed plumbing is also expected to make a huge comeback.

10 My Renovation | February 2019

10.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:02:18 PM


Statement basins Marble, concrete, terrazzo and pastel pink – we’ll find all of these colours and materials represented in bathrooms this year. The traditional white basin is making way for something a little more stylish and we love the look.

tip

When opting for a coloured basin be sure to let it shine as the feature piece in your bathroom.

PRODUCT ALERT We love the Jones & Jones Concrete Organic Rectangle Basin in grey from Highgrove Bathrooms.

Patios | Decks | Carports Phone: 5437 9525 QBCC# 15048228

Unit 1/32 Premier Cct, Warana | www.coastalpatios.com.au

My Renovation | February 2019 11

11.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:02:49 PM


STYLE //

Ocean spray With endless colour options available, it can be hard narrowing down the right hue for your space. One of our favourites is Reef Oasis from Haymes Paint. Visit haymespaint.com.au.

tip DID YOU KNOW?

HOW TO DO MEDITERRANEAN STYLE RIGHT We have all admired the images – azure blue water, clear skies and white on white. Who wouldn’t want to live there? We are, of course, talking about those gorgeous Mediterranean villas, which ooze warmth, style and traditional influences. Thankfully, with the right splash of paint, vibrant touches of blue and the right eye for detail, you can create your own Greek paradise at home.

Blue on blue ue Inspired by the work of Sicilian artisans, tisans the h Zilly Zillya cushion features a tiled pattern. With striped simplicity, the Ometepe cushion is the perfect accompaniment. Both are from Kas Australia. Visit the website for local stockists.

While we love the Greek Islands interpretation of Mediterranean design, the concept also encompasses the influences of many southern European countries such as Italy and Spain. It also takes in northern African countries including Egypt and Morocco. Each territory brings its own individual touch to the look.

Cool ceramic This pretty ceramic vase with its subtle colours and interesting texture will sit pretty on an indoor or outdoor table or shelf. It’s from Domayne.

Finding the right balance between old and new, charm and seduction, is the key to perfecting the style.

WE LOVE! The Island Lantern in blue is from Domayne.

12 My Renovation | February 2019

12.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:03:20 PM


We Create Award Winning Kitchens

Designer Alan Schull for Kitchen Shop Qld QBCC: 723287

WINNER OF THE 2018 CORIAN DESIGN AWARDS Capturing skillful design, functionality and modern luxury styling, this kitchen was designed to compliment the rest of the home, with the main focal point being the Corian-formed island bench top. Add in the ultra-modern appliances, handleless doors and drawers and touch-to-open Servo-Drive technology this kitchen was destined to be an award winner. Come and visit our showroom and meet with one of our qualified colour consultants and designers Phone 5491 6999 | 7a Industrial Avenue Caloundra | www.kitchenshop.com.au Open Monday-Thursday: 8am-4pm, Fri: 8am-3pm, Sat: 8am-12noon RENOVATIONS, MAKE OVERS & BRAND NEW KITCHENS | LOCAL CUSTOM MADE JOINERY | FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED My Renovation | February 2019 13

13.indd 1

18/01/2019 9:54:38 AM


TIPS //

Rug up In the market for a floor rug? Do your research and be prepared to invest. A handmade Persian rug will last a lifetime. However, if the budget doesn’t stretch that far, opt for an affordable patterned rug that you can replace down the track.

Kitchen consideration You can never have too much lighting in a kitchen, but the key is to installing smart and effective lights. LEDs are the best option to prevent unwanted shadows as you work. Strip lighting is also useful under overhead cupboards.

BRING YOUR OLD SURFACE TO

life

No more laundry woes Look at ways you can incorporate extra shelving and cupboard space to improve the functionality in your laundry space. It’ll make life easier.

DON’T MOVE...

RENOVATE

Where it all comes together easily

• STYLISH • DURABLE • SEAMLESS • CLASSIC LIVING

We will help you combine colours, textures and patterns to create that wow factor. Specialising in products for: • Spray on concreting; • Epoxy flooring; • Flake flooring for your garage; • Clear and colour concrete sealers; • Polished concrete; • Matt, semi gloss and gloss finishes; • Crack and grout repair • All the tools you need for the job • Open to the public Unit 1/28 Technology Drive, Warana Ph: 5493 2022 www.evergardcw.com.au

FREE UPGRADE Soft closing drawer system Conditions Apply.

BEFORE

Cost effective solutions for every budget

KITCHENS • VANITIES • SHELVING • OFFICE

FINANCE OPTION AVAILABLE

askin cabinets 4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

QBSA 742429 HIA 956774

14 My Renovation | February 2019

14.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:03:44 PM


Slow down Who doesn’t love a good vase or two? Keep in mind that you don’t want to end up with more décor accents than you need, or pieces that clash entirely. Once you have finished your renovation project, take your time to plan the interior elements. This way your look will come together nicely and feel more meaningful.

Improve your outdoor living Turning your existing wasted outdoor space into a usable, protected and functional area that your entire family can enjoy every day has many benefits. Apollo Patios specialises in the latest insulated roof sheeting, which provides strength and style. The sheeting also boasts absorption qualities. Apollo Patios can also complete the necessary plans and submit to council for approval.

MEGA Tile CLEARANCE SALE

Weigh it up Already booked a demolition crew? Slow down and think all your possibilities through. Work closely with an architect when designing your plans to determine which parts of the existing property can stay and which can be demolished.

2 y l On s left week

Sunshine Coast’s largest tile showroom with over 40 displays & Winners of Best Showroom

UP TO 75% OFF Queensland’s Leading Importer off Q Quality l European E Tiles Tl 110 SUGAR RD, MAROOCHYDORE P: 5479 5779. info@naturaltile.com.au

naturaltile.com.au

Natural Tile Find us on Pinterest, Facebook and Houzz!

My Renovation | February 2019 15

15.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:04:09 PM


QUALITY

windo w FURNISHINGS WE ARE ALWAYS COMPETITIVE

When you buy from Blinds Shutters Awnings Direct you are supporting a locally owned and operated family business that’s been providing quality window furnishings at affordable prices on the Sunshine Coast for over 10 years. We provide quality products, a friendly professional service, and genuine competitive pricing with no hidden surcharges. g

www.bsadirect.com.au SERVICING THE SUNSHINE COAST REGION 16.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:49:39 PM


Venetian Blinds Shutters

Panel Glides

Awnings

Roman Blinds

Roller Blinds

Ziptrak

Vertical Blinds

Curtains

Call 5457 0991 OR VISIT OUR WEBSITE TO BOOK YOUR FREE MEASURE AND QUOTE 17.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:49:57 PM


EXPERT ADVICE //

HOME IMPROVEMENT GOALS

D Home talk with Emilia Johnston Emilia Johnston is the owner of Coast Store, 67 The Esplanade, Cotton Tree Visit coaststore.com.au

id you start this year with good intentions to improve your health, your career, your lifestyle and possibly your home? Well, the new year is now a month in and February is a good time to check how your improvement goals are going to ensure you stay on track. When it comes to improving your home, the start of a new year is also the perfect time to complete a survey of what you’d like to rectify around the house during the year. Preparing a list is a good way to identify all the improvements you feel your home needs, prioritise them and then work out a plan to achieve them within your budget. A household typically requires organisational and repair improvements. Organisational improvements will streamline processes in the home. For instance, do your kids just dump their

school bags anywhere? Establishing a set spot for school bags, uniforms and homework paraphernalia to accumulate would be an organisational improvement. Repair improvements might include fixing hinges that are loose or replacing rotten fence palings. Working through a checklist like the one below is a good way to ensure you achieve your home improvement organisational or repair goals this year: Conduct an inspection – Walk around the whole house with a note pad, pen and camera. Look for loose floorboards, leaking windows, flaking grout, varnish that needs sanding, paintwork problems, squeaking hinges, leaking taps, cracks, any furniture repairs needed, loose door hinges, etc. Repair what you can and then with the photos you’ve taken, you can obtain quotes from contractors to repair the rest.

Pre-book servicing appointments – Write in your diary your yearly maintenance jobs – aircon servicing, pest control, pool checks, house wash, smoke detector checks, upholstery or carpet cleaning. If these are pre-booked and in your diary,

All your concrete needs Decorative Resurfacing

• Resurface Existing • New Concrete • Exposed Concrete • Internal Surfaces • Decorative Flooring • Retaining Walls • Landscape brick and block laying

TTN Concrete Services

Stencil Pave System

Epoxy Flake Finish

FREE QUOTES AND ADVICE Call Today 0434 264 032

18 My Renovation | February 2019

18.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:04:37 PM


they will actually be undertaken during the year. Review your appliances – Identify what appliances you might want to replace during the year and begin researching the best product replacements by looking at Choice and accruing cost comparisons. February is a great time to negotiate a good price for any improvements needed, as retail is at its slowest. Update your home inventory – For insurance purposes, it helps to have an updated list of your home contents in case a claim is necessary during the year. Taking a video inventory is an easy way of recording what is in the home. Annoyance list – Walk through the home and identify what annoys you about different areas in the household. Is there no central spot for bags to accumulate? Does everything end up in a pile on the kitchen bench? Think about your home and how the household runs. Can you put

a basket near the garage door for school bags? Put a tray with all the homework paraphernalia near the kitchen table? Find a spot for all the junk on the kitchen bench? A good rule of thumb is to identify a place for everything – everything should have a place that it belongs in. If there isn’t one, create a permanent home for it and make sure everyone knows where everything belongs. Rearrange furniture/accents – Tired of the same old, same old? Don’t spend money – simply rearrange things. Can that armchair be swapped with one in the study? Rework the pictures on the walls and take all your home accents off their shelves and rearrange them. Reorganise files – Each year we can eradicate a year of tax files that are being kept. Is there any other old paperwork being kept unnecessarily for policies or bank accounts no longer owned? Go through your warranties folder and

NORM EVANS FLOORS Personalised Service and Expert Advice

“Order mulch delivery and/or top soil if the garden needs top dressing”

throw out manuals and warranty cards for appliances you no longer own.

that you can allocate a budget towards them.

Garden to-do list – Order mulch delivery and/or top soil if the garden needs top dressing. It’s easy to get to the end of the year and realise these tiresome but necessary jobs haven’t been done.

A year goes by fast and it is always frustrating to get to the end of the year realising that the pest inspections haven’t been done, that leaking tap is still leaking, and your renos didn’t start. Hopefully this short checklist will help you get back on track with achieving your home maintenance and improvement goals in 2019.

Reno list – If there are renovations you would like to tackle in 2019, identify, list in order of priority, and secure costings so

ALUMINIUM SLATTED SCREENS AND GATES We stock a full range of patented non-weld aluminium screens and gates • DIY Kits cut to size • Ideal for Bin Enclosures • In stock at the best prices • Offering fast turn around • Locally based on the Sunshine Coast • Design and installation options available

SPECIALISING IN BUILDERS AND DEVELOPERS • DIRECT IMPORTERS OF TILES • SUPPLY AND INSTALL OF VINYL PLANK, CARPET, TIMBER AND BAMBOO

SHOP where the builders SHOP!

Call into our showroom 1-9 ENDEAVOUR DR, KUNDA PARK Open Monday to Friday from 8am PH: 5476 6022

ALUMAWOOD FINISH

ALUMINIUM GATES

ALUMINIUM SCREENS

A quick, easy & cost effective screening solution.

Ph: 07 5493 9779

Unit 2, 5 Dual Avenue, Warana QBCC 1283627

www.blitzglass.com.au My Renovation | February 2019 19

19.indd 1

18/01/2019 1:18:12 PM


EXPERT ADVICE //

ON-TREND – exteriors for 2019 It’s not so much about bringing the outdoors in, let’s take the indoors out!

A

Cassandra Fenaughty is a landscape architect with more than 20 years’ experience. She’s the founder and owner of an innovative new renovation design consultancy, creating photo-real renovation concepts for clients looking to visualise their dream renovation before it begins. For more visit cassandrafenaughty.com.

ll the talk in 2018 was bringing the outdoors into our internal spaces, but 2019 will see many renovators taking the indoors out. External kitchens, living rooms, dining and even bathrooms will feature in our external spaces of 2019. To achieve a series of defined outdoor spaces, consider the incorporation of low walls, level changes and different flooring surfaces. Even a simple row of potted citrus trees can delineate a space without enclosing it and breaking the visual flow. If you are after a luxe look for your home, why not bring it outside too? Pool houses, drinks carts and beautiful pendants, even contemporary chandeliers can really dazzle your outdoors.

DING??? IL U B R O G IN T A RENOV

L L A T I O D E W KITCHENS ENTRY DOORS EXTERNAL & INTERNAL DOORS WARDROBE DOORS AND FIT OUTS SHUTTERS RETRACTABLE FLYSCREENS BATHROOM VANITIES AND FITTINGS

DOORS KITCHENS BATHROOMS SHUTTERS & MORE 2/21 Trinder Avenue, Maroochydore Email: info@renowarehouse.com.au

P (07) 5451 1160 Website: www.renowarehouse.com.au

20 My Renovation | February 2019

20.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:21:30 PM


TOP 3 PICKS

Classic design: Hamptons meets British Colonial era The Hamptons trend has captured our hearts and will continue to be a classic go-to for styling in years to come. A British colonial era version will emerge in 2019, taking cues from the Hamptons style, but using bagged or rendered brick painted white, with either light coloured, dark grey, or dark brown roof colours in either a tile or Colorbond finish. For 2019 renovators, this means that many of those single-storey brick homes can have a facelift with some bagging, painting and perhaps the addition of a wrap-around veranda and patio. A formal sub-tropical garden with manicured lawns will really top it off.

Fresh and fun – Haymes Paint’s Carib Green

Glam and luxe – Dulux’s Old Money

Retro and sophisticated – Dulux’s Plasticine

Eco-modern – Resene’s Untamed

Spotlight on Green Fancy a feature colour for your front door or exterior accessories? Beautiful green tones will be one of the popular highlight colours in 2019. Team these greens up with fresh whites, dark greys or natural timbers for maximum impact.

1. Dulux’s Swamp Fox and Cornstalk 2. Resene’s Thumb’s up 3. Concrete by Haymes Paint

Feature earthy tones Earthy tones incorporating mustards, golden browns and even terracottas are coming back. These can be used as secondary colours on portions of building facades, feature walls, paving and tile selections or inlays, and outdoor upholstery.

You won’t believe just how affloordable updating your home can be with up to 20% off an amazing range of carpet, timber, laminate, luxury vinyl, and rugs. Visit one of our showroom, or go online at choicesflooring.com.au Offer valid 6 - 26 January, 2019. Prices as marked in-store.

only available at

Choices Flooring Maroochydore 3/32 Wises Rd, Maroochydore 5443 6280 choicesflooring.com.au

My Renovation | February 2019 21

21.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:15:29 PM


Something different: Spanish Mediterranean In 2018 we have been seeing a lot of Mediterranean and Mexican influences come through in fashion and homeware design. For a hint of Mexico, introduce some bagged brick walls painted in white or earthy tones teamed up with casual seating nooks in natural stained timbers with colourful planting and succulents. The Mediterranean style is similar, using a more free-form rendered block, always painted white, combined with painted timber, striped throw cushions and natural stone paving. The best part about these design styles is that once the look is complete, you will always feel like you are on holidays at a beautiful resort. A change is always as good as a holiday – we look forward to seeing some inspiring renovations on the Coast in 2019.

For style and strength choose COLORBOND® Steel This year we will be introducing something new to My Renovation – a Q&A column with renovation concept design and landscape architect Cassandra Fenaughty. If you have a burning renovation question or need some advice for your project, simply email it, along with your name, to cholznagel@ myweeklypreview.com.au. We will publish the column in each edition of My Renovation. To kick off the column, we are giving one lucky reader the chance to win a $200 renovation design consultation gift card from Cassandra. This talented designer/architect will consult with the winner at their Sunshine Coast home. To enter or view terms and conditions, visit myweeklypreview. com.au.

• Patios • Fencing • Metal Roofing • Guttering • Sheds

all made from versatile COLORBOND® steel

SYNTHETIC GRASS BY CUSTOM FLEK

• • • • •

Attractive styles to suit any situation Landscaping and Creative Features Gardens, Verges, Front and Back Yards Swimming Pool Surrounds Residential, Commercial, Industrial Applications

P: 5438 9338 or Mike 0487 999 902 19 Daniel St, Caloundra

www.customflek.com.au

®

Metroll BETTER SERVICE • BETTER BUILDING SOLUTIONS

PHONE TODAY 5493 7872 - 10 Bearing Avenue, Warana www.metroll.com.au - northcoast@metrollqld.com.au COLORBOND® is a trade marks of BlueScope Steel Limited. “The colours of Australia since 1966™” is a trade mark of BlueScope Steel Limited. © 2016 BlueScope Steel Limited ABN 16 000 011 058 All rights reserved

My Renovation | February 2019 23

23.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:32:44 PM


THE COAST’S BIGGEST & BEST R FREE STORAGE COVER VALU ED

$440

Up to 110kp/h wind rating with the canopy open!

Revolvashade De-Luxe 100% AUSTRALIAN MADE durable cantilever Umbrella with 360 o rotation, tilt & fully retractable! •Pick your shape, size and colour that best suits your decor •Option of single or double tilt •Seat Belt webbing instead of cable •Marine grade stainless steel fittings •Optional bolt down or inground base •Patented locking prevents canopy dropping • Unique non-square post (can be made to size) •Easy to install & no Council approval required

OPEN S 7 DAY 24.indd 1

MIX & MATCH

• Built for Quality and not just for price • Affordable, Long Lasting Quality • Full Weather Cushions • All Pieces Sold Separately • Locally Owned & Operated • Delivery & Assembly Available

FULL WEATHER CUSHIONS

18/01/2019 1:15:33 PM


T RANGE OF OUTDOOR LIVING Extensive range of all-weather Kwila, Weave, Aluminium settings

...and BBQ’s, Umbrellas, Weave Accessories, Sun Lounges and more

BUY INDIVIDUAL PIECES

NEW: Create the Alfresco Outdoor Kitchen that best suits your needs by choosing size, cabinetry, colour and appliances

21 Caloundra Road, Caloundra (Next to Rollerdrome) PH 5492 8399 www.livingontheoutside.com.au 25.indd 1

18/01/2019 1:16:01 PM


INSTAGRAM // @_bonniegray

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation

@hellotrader

@alex_bennett_design

@_bonniegray

@WE LOVE Looking for a painting with a difference, or perhaps just a little creative inspiration? Bonnie Gray may be the answer. The artist says that she thinks in technicolour, and this is evident in her artwork. The paintings are inspired by tropical summers, song writing bliss, pink flamingos and fruit smoothies.

@STYLE STYLE

@DESIGN

Hello Trader is a concept store originating on the Sunshine Coast. It boasts furniture, homewares and lifestyle pieces. The founder, Chelsea, works directly with artisans to source unique designs. It’s a quirky treasure chest of beauty. You’ll never know what you’ll find.

Byron Bay is a melting pot of artists and designers. It is also home to interior designer Alex Bennett. Alex says she is a designer, stylist, creative consultant and mother of two. We love her work. It is unique and boasts natural and interesting details.

Helping you to

TAKE YOUR LANDSCAPING IDEAS THROUGH TO COMPLETION • Pavers • Retaining Wall Blocks • Natural stone • Wall Cladding

• Living Walls • Paver & Masonry sealers • Living turf & synthetic grass • Garden edging

iLandscape.com.au is your first click in landscaping. iLandscape Sunshine Coast can assist you with everything you need to get the job done right, from quality landscaping products to choosing the correct contractor, we are here to assist you with your every landscaping requirement. As about our price match guarantee.

49 Caloundra Rd, Caloundra. Phone 5493 5975. www.ilandscape.com.au 26 My Renovation | February 2019

26.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:33:55 PM


AAP

// TECHNOLOGY

TV of tomorrow The world’s largest tech gathering, CES, took over Las Vegas in January with a range of new products unveiled to the marketplace. One of the most significant pieces to be revealed came from LG, which is set to define the next generation of televisions with the introduction of the world’s first rollable OLED TV. The LG Signature OLED TV R (model 65R9) boasts picture and sound quality, all in a form factor that gives home viewers the freedom to design their ideal viewing space. LG says that a rollable OLED TV is a true game-changer, liberating users from the limitations of the wall. For more visit lg.com.au.

• • • • •

Walk-in wardrobes Built-in wardrobes Robe interiors Sliding robe doors Robe hanging rails & pull-out racks

• • • • • •

Home office fit-out Walk-in pantry Linen shelving Shower screens Splashbacks Mirrors & more!

Hills Robes & Screens provide custom wardrobes, shower screens, splashbacks & storage solutions. Book your free measure & quote today.

07 5491 7567 www.hillswardrobes.com.au 23 Enterprise Street, Caloundra, QLD 4551

KITCHENS AND CABINETRY MADE EASY! CUSTOM DESIGNED - FLAT PACK OR INSTALLED • Quality craftsmanship made with the material you want • A price difference you just won’t beat when compared to a custom fitted kitchen • Our team of specialists will even come and install it!

Space saving wall beds now available

Buy direct from the factory

SERVICING THE COAST FOR 20 YEARS  Made to measure  Kitchens  Vanities  Laundries  Wardrobes  Vanities  Cabinetry refacing  Replacement doors and benchtops  Wall beds  No job too big or too small  Complete installation service

INSTALLATIONS ONSITE

COME AND SEE US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION AND QUOTE 1/11 Machinery Ave, Warana P. 5493 4577 www.cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au Email: info@cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au My Renovation | February 2019 27

27.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:34:37 PM


finishing touches

finishing touches Advice and ideas to turn your renovation into a home.

A LUXE LOOK You don’t have to break the bank to achieve a luxurious interior design. Yes, the style is all about gold, marble and rich jewel tones, but these days – with a little researching and scouting – you can find the perfect pieces at an affordable price. We’ve gathered a few of our favourite décor accents that will have your home looking sophisticated and stylish.

SVELTE AND SOPHISTICATED This ottoman from DoCo Lifestyle might not be glitzy, but it has a sophisticated feel that will up the luxe ante in any lounge room. Visit docolifestyle.com.au.

ADD SPARK Light up your room with the Beaker Gold Table Lamp. This tall and slim lamp is elegant and will add spark to any space. It’s from Domayne.

28 My Renovation | February 2019

28.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:35:08 PM


WE LOVE! The Mezze Slate Tray with gold handle from Maxwell &W Williams. Visit their website for local stockists.

AB BIT OF BIT O BLING BLIN BL You can add all the gold vases and side Y d tables ta ables you like, but there is something special about incorporating metal tones and texture in fabrics. This is why we can’t go past these cushions from Rob Larson’s Curtains and Interior Décor. Pop into the Mooloolaba store to view the current range.

tip Velvet is big. Don’t believe us? Turn to any interior designer and they will tell you the same thing. The modern take on the traditional material involves revised texture, sharp and shapely angles and deep gem tones. The best thing? Not only does it look great, it feels soft and luxurious too.

MAKE A STATEMENT The stunning Home Republic Newport Quilted Velvet Peacock Quilt Cover took our breath away. This modernised, soft velvet piece is the perfect combination of luxury and elegance. Talk about making a statement. It’s from Adairs.

Eclectic decor

and furniture You’ll SUNSHINE COAST HOME OVER 30 STORES INCLUDING:

 l 

O‫פ‬n 7

07 5443 9337 sunshinecoasthome.com.au 100 Maroochydore Rd, Maroochydore, Qld 4558

SunshineCoastHome @sunshinecoasthome

LAYBY WELCOME

Innovative

Furnishings & Decor sales@innovativefurnishings.com.au

100 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba • 5452 6885 My Renovation | February 2019 29

29.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:39:46 PM


finishing touches

STYLISH STORAGE Perfect for storing magazines, books and other bits and pieces, these gorgeous tropical sorbetcoloured baskets will bring an additional element to your g covered deck or outdoor dining area. They are from Coast Store. Visit coaststore.com.au.

tip Be sure to invest in sunproo sunproof cushions to avoid having to replac replace cushions reg regularly.

PIECE OF PARADISE We’ve given you the tips on how to better your backyard this year ar (see page 24) and to help you execute the final touches, we are sharing our favourite te finds for your y outdoor space. Whether you adopt the tropical, coastal or Hamptons ptons style, stores are brimming with beautiful décor accents to perfect the look.

The largest range of upholstery, fabrics & curtains on the Sunshine Coast Our talented design team can help you create beautiful interiors. Our showrooms offer an extensive range of fabrics, window treatments and soft furnishings, together with a wide selection of exclusive furniture, one-off design pieces and original works.

REST AND RELAX One of the best ways to relax outside outtside is with wit a comfortable daybed daybed. This teak va variety with oyster cushions is from Daydream Leisure Furniture. Furnitur

Beautiful & stylish homewares to decorate orate ome your home

- Re-upholstery - Cushions - Curtains & Blinds - Furniture - Shutters

Rob Larson’s CURTAINS INTERIOR DECOR

&

Proudly servicing the Sunshine Coast for 40 years Ph 5444 2412 117 Brisbane Road, Mooloolaba

Shop 2, 106 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba Tel: 0403 625 125

magnolialane.biz BEDROOM . BATHROOM . DINING . LIVING . DECOR . OUTDOOR . GARDEN

30 My Renovation | February 2019

30.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:40:48 PM


WE LOVE!

The Perry Futon with its vibrant citrus hue is from KKas. Visit kasaustralia.com. au for local stockists.

WONDER WALL This is the wall hanging you have to have. With its unique pattern and texture, it will shine against a simple wall. It’s from Empty Canvas, Mooloolaba.

FEET FIRST The humble doormat can be somewhat overlooked when it comes to designing the perfect outdoor area. And, while you don’t have to spend hours milling over different designs, it is worth investing in a solid and stylish piece. This one is from Coast Store in Cotton Tree.

STYLISH SETTING The Osby Outdoor 3-piece Balcony Setting is sure to bring a touch of class to your outdoor area. It consists of an aluminium frame and intricately spun woven rope. We love the curved profile, high back and sloping armrests. The set is from Domayne. Visit domayne.com.au.

Follow us

My Renovation | February 2019 31

31.indd 1

18/01/2019 12:41:20 PM


Su

ns

hi

M

ot or

wa y

Su

ga

rR

d

ne

Wises Rd

e Wis sR d

70 Su ga rR d

The Zone Maroochydore

32.indd 1

Bu

de

rim

e Av

18/01/2019 12:41:49 PM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

My Renovation February 2019, Issue 84  

The start of a new year in the interior design world is always an exciting time. There are new trends emerging, and those in the know – the...

My Renovation February 2019, Issue 84  

The start of a new year in the interior design world is always an exciting time. There are new trends emerging, and those in the know – the...