Page 1

RENOVATION PROJECTS | DESIGN | PRODUCTS

HEALTHY GLOW

TIPS FOR CREATIVE AND SUSTAINABLE HOME LIGHTING

ISSUE 53 | JULY EDITION 2016 DIGITAL EDITIONS & MORE >> MYWEEKLYPREVIEW.COM.AU

1.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:28:28 AM


YOUR LOCAL BUILDER

EDITOR’S NOTE & CONTENTS //

What’s inside

14 Our desire is to help turn your dream project

INTO REALITY The Team at Queensland Building Solutions are experienced in the delivery of Residential, Architectural designed Homes, Industrial and Commercial Projects.

CALL US FOR AN OBLIGATION FREE QUOTE ✓ New custom builds ✓ Kitchen makeovers ✓ Renovations ✓ Decks and outdoor rooms ✓ Bathroom renovations ✓ Extensions ✓ Paint repairs ✓ Concreting So why wait? Queensland Building Solutions will give you Attention to Detail, Quality Care, Courtesy, Commitment and best of all, a Quality Product.

Let’s discuss your next project!

Editor’s note W

hen it comes to renovating and interior design, my husband and I have two different styles. Currently, we are working towards incorporating my loves for minimalistic Scandinavian influences and moody, dark blues with his industrial tastes. One thing we completely agree on is lighting. One of our favourite features in our home is the three, exposed globe pendants hanging above the island bench in the kitchen. Not only does the feature look great but it’s practical as it provides terrific lighting in a room that requires it. This month, My Renovation takes an in-depth look into lighting for your home. From sustainable, cost-effective products, to tips and tricks to achieve the most out of your lighting design, there are lots of ideas for the renovator. Also, this month we take a look at the 1970s retro revival that is taking the interior design world by storm. We are not entirely sure of its longevity, but in the short-term it’s fun. You’ll love scouting around vintage stores and combining old and new to create a unique space. For inspiration, see page 12. Happy renovating!

26 Cover story ........................ 4 Tips for choosing lighting

Bathroom ........................... 6 Paint vs tiles

Living .....................................8 Space savers, flooring, style

Real life ................................10 Real life renovation project

Style .....................................12 Retro revival

Flooring ...............................14 Shades of grey

Instagram.............................18 The best of social media

Tips ......................................20 Water tanks and air conditioners

Outdoor...............................24 Expert gardening advice

Finishing touches .............. 26 Products, tips and looks

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Master Builders 68500 QBCC 1304991

Phone 5476 6072 or 0448 866 907 www.qldbuildingsolutions.com.au

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Bethan on 5444 0152. Sales: sales@myweeklypreview.com.au

2 My Renovation | July 2016

2.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:34:12 AM


Turn your dreams

into reality

in time for summer and You could

WIN A

$5,000 GIFT CAR Starts 01/0

6/16

D^

After Apollo really helped us improve our lifestyle. Scan the QR Code below to see how they can help you.

Before

Patios • Carports • Decks • Screen Enclosures • Patio Accessories • Shutters • Aluminium Louvres & Slats

FREE DESIGN SERVICE | ADD VALUE TO YOUR HOME | LARGE VARIETY OF STYLES & DESIGNS | 2 CHOICES OF ROOF SHEETING

CALL US NOW FOR YOUR PERSONALISED DESIGN ADVICE & RECEIVE YOUR COMPLIMENTARY QUOTATION:

Apollo Patios Sunshine Coast

OW W IT N I

BU

36 Y

TH

Apollo Patios can design an outdoor addition with your lifestyle in mind. Call today for an obligation free design consultation and see how you can start building a better lifestyle.

MONTHS

Interest free*

See how our customers are enjoying their Apollo outdoors lifestyle

Ph: 07 5437 8124 or visit us at apollopatios.com.au * Approved applicants only on a Once Agile Visa card. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply including a $99 Annual Fee charged on the account open date and annually on the anniversary of the account open date. Minimum finance amount $1200.00. Interest, currently 19.95% p.a., is payable on any balance outstanding after the interest free period. Ask in store for details. Finance provided by Once Credit Pty Limited ABN 99 112 319 632, Australian Credit Licence Number 386194. Apollo Durasheen paint finish with 15 year warranty. Photos are indicative only – Apollo Home Additions are individually designed and may vary from the photo. Construction by Freedom Patios Pty Ltd. QBCC Licence No: 1008851. ^Applicable to all Apollo patios, carports, enclosures and deck purchases made between 1/06/16 - 31/08/16. See Apollopatios.com.au/giftcards for full terms & conditions. FPA6128.

3.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:37:02 AM


COVER STORY //

Get your message across with th RENOVA TION

55,000 COPIES

PRO JEC

TS | DES IGN

| PRO DU

CTS

from only

$

315

ISSUE 49

| MARCH

DIGITAL EDITI

HANDY H

EDITION

ONS & MOR

E >> MYW

AVOIDING

2016

EEKLYPREV

IEW.COM.A

U

ELP

RENOVA PITFALLS TION

per month

RENOVATION The renovation industry on the Sunshine Coast is big business, accounting for the majority of residential building activity in 2015. Published monthly, and the only publication of its type on the Coast, My Renovation is inserted in My Weekly Preview and distributed to 55,000 homes. It is a must if your business is targeting the many thousands of home renovators across the region.

Contact Bethan Eaton

Proudly produced by

0413 958 196 beaton@myweeklypreview.com.au www.myweeklypreview.com.au

ORE M D N A S R O O D S R DOO

NEW DOOR RANGE The Moda Collection

Left to right: PMOD16GC glazed clear, PMOD16GT glazed translucent, PMOD16 MDF infill.

The Corinthian Moda internal door collection can add style and light into a space with their glazed range or warmth and privacy with their panelled styles. Stylish but simple panelled or glazed doors inspired by the principals of the Shakers can add a touch of classic American glamour to your home. Regardless, the Moda Collection will have a door to suit. Offering 24 designs in a range of infill options – MDF, MDF Mirror Backed, Clear Glass and Translucent Glass.

DOORS KITCHENS BATHROOMS SHUTTERS & MORE 2/21 Trinder Avenue, Maroochydore P (07) 5451 1160 Email: info@renowarehouse.com.au Website: www.renowarehouse.com.au

LIGHTBULB MOMENT Despite what you may think, there is more to lighting than choosing between pendants and downlights. Lighting can have a large impact on your electricity costs, not to mention the mood and purpose of a room. Keep practicality in mind but also think outside the square and use lighting to create accent features throughout the home.

HEALTHY GLOW According to the Australian Government’s Your Energy Savings website, switching to energy-efficient lighting could halve your household lighting costs. The cost of running a light is directly linked to the wattage of the light globe or lamp, so the higher the wattage, the higher the running cost.

4 My Renovation | July 2016

4.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:39:34 AM


DID YOU KNOW? Lighting consumes between eight and 15 per cent of the average household electricity budget. Source: yourenergysavings.gov.au

GET THE LOOK

TIP Pendants are a modern approach to lighting but, depending on the style, can limit the area light reaches Shade pendants will direct lighting downwards. Choose pendants that project light around the room.

The Re Reuben pendant will create a scandi look with a refined ur urban industrial edge. Availabl Available in small, medium and large large, cage or coolie, the ash wood wo coupled with striking black or white wire will crea create a focal point in a room. Th The range is available from Be Beacon Lighting. Visit beaconlighting.com.au beaco

DO’S AND DONT’S • Take advantage of natural lighting – it’s free, clean and will make a room feel open and airy • Use low-energy compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) or LED lighting to reduce running costs • Two-way switches are smart for use in long hallways or large rooms that have multiple entryways • The colour temperature of globes is an important consideration - warm soft lighting works in bedrooms and living spaces, while many people prefer cool, white light for areas such as the kitchen or bathroom • Keep wall colour in mind – light or neutral interior surfaces reflect more light, which in turn means you can use less artificial lighting.

My Renovation | July 2016 5

5.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:32:15 AM


BATHROOM //

TIP

Paint vs tiles Traditionally, bathrooms are tiled more often than not. However, if you are looking for something different, and a way to reduce your spend, consider skipping the wall tiles. My Renovation has some great tips on how to get a sleek looking bathroom without multiple tiled areas...

It’s important to get rid of any mould in the bathroom before you begin painting. Even if it’s not visible to the naked eye, it’s a good idea to give the walls a quick wash with a bleach solution to kill off any mildew or mould. Let the walls dry thoroughly before painting.

Minty fresh The cool, minty tones of this bathroom wall look fresh and modern thanks to the inclusion of the mirror and neutral timber. A double length on-the-wall cabinet provides plenty of additional storage.

THE kitchen & bathroom makeover SPECIALISTS Our Trend Surfaces engineered stone can be fitted directly over existing surfaces in as little as 1 day, with no demolition required. Heat, scratch, stain and impact resistant covered with a 10 year warranty. We specialise in kitchen makeovers, new kitchens, bathrooms and laundries.

‘The best kitchen renovation I’ve ever had was with Granite Transformations’

Fit your new kitchen directly over your existing surface

Ita Buttrose - Brand Ambassador

PHONE 5446 4548 3/4 Access Crescent, Coolum Beach www.granitetransformationsqld.com.au

BSA 1012813

6 My Renovation | July, 2016

6.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:40:19 AM


Think big Not convinced on the idea of no wall tiles? Take the alternative route and make a statement. This modern design uses different types of tiles including a mosaic mix of colour.

oz coat ssoluti olut tiions ns

Commercial - Industrial - Residential At Oz Coat Solutions we can bring the old back to new with plenty of options, colours and styles to choose from we’re guaranteed to have the solution for your next project.

Clean ‘N’ Reseals - Driveways Top Crete - Pool Surrounds Pathways - Patios - Custom Stencils

Lasting paint When choosing paint for a bathroom there are a couple of things to keep in mind. Firstly, paint should be an oil-based product with a low-sheen or semi-gloss finish. Secondly, make sure that it is mould resistant.

Give us a call today or drop into our suppliers showroom at Kunda Park

oaat oz ccoat soluti solu utions

info@ozcoatsolutions.com Dean - 0431 765 291 Office 07 5439 7392

Colour it Australia C.I.A Concrete 20 Endevor Dr Kunda Park QLD 4556 www.ciaconcrete.com.au

FULL BATHROOM RENOVATIONS Suitable for every budget

Jerry offers a wide range of tiling services. Specialising in supply and installation. INDOORS • OUTDOORS • BATHROOMS LOUNGE ROOMS • BEDROOMS POOLS • FEATURE WALLS • PATIOS FENCES & more!! Drop into our showroom and speak to our friendly team about a free quote 2/5 Premier Circuit Warana

5437 8582 www.jerryandthetilemakers.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8-4.30pm, Sat 8.30-1pm

TILEMAKERS My Renovation | July, 2016 7

7.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:53:26 AM


LIVING // Old meets new Renovations create a lot of old and unused materials. Rather than disposing of old wood flooring or walls, recycle the timber and create a feature wall. It will not only look great but it will be unique and retain some of the home’s history.

TIP

Space saver If you don’t have a large space for your living room but want to provide additional seating, consider adding a couple of ottomans. They are inexpensive and can also bring a pop of colour or pattern to an otherwise neutral living room.

When choosing flooring for a living room opt for something that is comfortable and fits in with the overall style. If you give carpet a miss, make sure to add a floor rug.

l i v i ng

er

Discover. Create. Live. with Inspiring Choices 2016 – out now! From entrances to the outdoors, Inspiring Choices 2016 features over 100 pages of the latest flooring trends, as well as decorating advice from your favourite interior writers and stylists - to help you discover, create and live your style.

Choices Flooring Maroochydore 3/32 Wises Road, Maroochydore

5443 6280 choicesflooring.com.au ONLY AVAILABLE AT

Visit our showroom to collect your free copy of Inspiring Choices 2016.

8 My Renovation | July, 2016

8.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:41:32 AM


H O M E - R E N O VAT I O N - E X T E N S I O N

DESIGN

[

[

EOFY - TAX CHEQUE’S THAT KEEP ON GIVING!

Set back A recessed wall is a great place to hang the television. Choose a paint or material that won’t take away from the screen. A block colour or plain wallpaper will work well.

Stylish finish Living rooms are a public space, which means renovators generally opt to finish walls in a good quality paint or wallpaper. If you use a patterned wallpaper consider painting the ceiling to complement the theme of the room. Choose a flat, pale colour in a matte finish.

Use your tax return to kick k start your design for your new home or renovation. We design to suit your: ✓ block ✓ lifestyle ✓ budget ld d.. and save you money when you build. Call us to ask about our latest design offer.

PHONE 0468 633 686 milnerconstructiongroup.com.au QBCC# 1318289

C

MILNER CONSTRUCTION GROUP

think kitchens... think Kauri Kitchens. Discover all your kitchen solutions in one location. Custom built kitchen, bathrooms, cabinetry, joinery and more Full design services Huge range of products Obligation free quotes Full project management

Talk to our

INTERIOR DESIGt soNmEe R

Drop into our modern SHOWROOM Open Monday to Friday 8-5 and Saturday by appointment

To ge inspirational ideas.

Unit 2/30 Enterprise St Kunda Park

Over 30 years on the Sunshine Coast New or renovations Appliances Uncompromising quality Domestic and Commercial Helpful, qualified service

kaurikitchens.com.au

5445 8277 My Renovation | July, 2016 9

9.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:44:42 AM


REAL LIFE //

DESIGNER BLISS

Before

Interior stylist Danni Morrison and her partner recently bought their forever home – an 18-year-old classic that is in need of some love. With huge grounds, hardwood floors, high ceilings, and a beautiful location, the couple are in the midst of transforming the home into a Hamptons-inspired masterpiece. My Renovation caught up with Danni to learn about her recent kitchen renovation… Q. Did you buy the property with the intent of renovating? A. We bought the property last year and instantly fell in love with beautiful old bones of the home. However, we did purchase it with every intention of reviving and renovating the home in a classic, coastal and luxurious style.

3

4

3

To follow Danni’s own home renovation, or to find out more about her business and the interior design services she offers, visit designbydanni.com

After

Q. Is this your first renovation project and why did you opt to renovate this property? A. No it wasn’t my first renovation project - until recently, I also owned a gorgeous little beach shack at Warana which I had previously renovated before turning it into an investment property. Q. How long did the kitchen renovation take? A. A long time. The design process was at least three months of back and forth between myself and the designer to ensure every single little detail was perfect. The actual renovation itself took around five weeks in total excluding a

PROTECT your pride and joy

CARPET | TIMBER | VINYL | BAMBOO LAMINATE | CARPET TILES

Skillion - Gable - Fly-over Proudly 20+ years local QBCC# 1242525

Unit 1/32 Premier Cct, Warana | Phone: 5437 9525 | www.coastalpatios.com.au

Suppliers of quality floor coverings to the Sunshine Coast and surrounding areas

P: 5443 1295 73-79 WISES ROAD, MAROOCHYDORE www.impactfloorsqld.com.au

10 My Renovation | July 2016

10.indd 1

17/06/2016 11:01:19 AM


couple of small outstanding items like the exposed and damaged timber floors. Q. Did you hire a team to do the work? A. I carefully selected a patient kitchen designer with serious attention to detail to work with me on my crazy detailed designs. I felt we could communicate easily and maintained a mutual respect for one another. Between us we chose tradespeople, some that I knew and others he knew. Q. Tell us about your kitchen? A. The only common aspect between the original and new kitchen was the quality of the products used. The 18-year-old kitchen was in mint condition, however it was unfortunately just a tad outdated. We relocated the fridge from the back wall to where the old phone desk was near the pantry. This allowed the cooker to move into the centre and, with its grand mantelpiece-like frame, it created a symmetrical flow from wall to wall. The window was removed all together and

WE LOVE

turned into cabinetry, once again to create consistency. The cabinetry was extended from the floor to the ceiling to accentuate our beautiful three metre ceilings. To prevent clutter in the kitchen itself, a mini butler’s pantry was installed. A massive rectangular stone island bench was installed and acts as our informal dining table which I find everyone gravitates towards.

DEALING WITH PESTS

Q. What tips do you offer others who are renovating their home? A. Calculate your budget always including an addition 10-20 per cent for incidentals as you never know what can happen during a renovation. When it comes to choosing designers and tradies, do your homework and select carefully as you’ll have quite a demanding relationship. It’s important you can easily communicate with one another and respect each other’s decisions. Try to relax and enjoy the moment. Renovating can be an overwhelming and stressful experience, however once it’s all over you’ll wonder what all the fuss was about.

Did you know that for every 1 cockroach you see there are 100 in your walls!

✓COCKROACHES ✓ANTS ✓SPIDERS ✓TERMITES ✓SILVERFISH ✓RODENTS ✓FLEAS

10% DISCOUNT* WHEN YOU BOOK ONLINE

We also do Pre-Purchase Pest Inspections and Pre-Construction Termite Management

www.accuratepest.com.au

1300 787 415

*Conditions apply - Pest control and termite inspections only.

Create your own private haven... with a designer fence system • High impact resistance • Will never crack or leach, no efflorescence • Increased street appeal • Highly adaptable to all sites • Unlimited design possibilities • Design service available • Sunshine Coast manufacturers • A network of qualified contractors • Patent pending

FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL 0416 158 045 sales@greenblocksystem.com.au | www.greenblocksystem.com.au au u My Renovation | July, 2016 11

11.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:46:57 AM


STYLE // Flow and form Colour is used in interior spaces to determine the flow and orientation of rooms. The Form palette from Haymes is about scale and using colour to create abstract spaces. Today it is not uncommon for spaces to have more than one purpose and this paint design shows how defining areas with bold colour can turn a room into a versatile area.

STYLING BY RUTH WELSBY AND WENDY RENNIE. PHOTOGRAPHY BY MARTINA GEMMOLA

RETRO REVIVAL This winter the trends are all about luxe textures and warm hues with materials like velvet, corduroy, suede and aged leathers set to be huge. Key colours take inspiration from the ’70s. Think of mustard yellow, teal and pale greens, peacock blue and brow browns.

Chasing shadows of Don’t make the mistake mist its sole treating a lamp as though th purpose is to create light. They pivotal role in can also play a pivot elements of a tying together all ele desk room. The Amalfi Clifton Cl home in a retro lamp will look at hom room, bedroom or inspired living room study. It retails for $1 $139.95 study

F Frosted glass When it comes to finding the perfect home W a accessories to fit with a 1970s theme you can’t g go past frosted glass. Look for pieces that are patterned or tinted in pale blue or green. The p Amalfi Cayne vase in teal retails for $49.95. For A llocal stockists visit amalfihomewares.com.au

Art collection Leading interior designer Shaynna Blaze has teamed with Urban Road to produce an art collection. This playful, youthful piece combines a mature outlook to deliver maximum impact. When scouting around for prints and paintings choose pieces that grab your attention. This piece retails for $135. Visit urbanroad.com.au

WE LOVE

The Bergman three seater sofa is available from Dare Gallery.

12 My Renovation | July, 2016

12.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:35:00 AM


Inspirational outdoor living with THE OUTDOOR FURNITURE SPECIALISTS

NOW

$1,249

SAVE $249

3 pce Mambo

NOW

$5,949

SEE US AT THE

0 SAVE $50

11pce Bardot Winton Setting

“I love that our teak furniture is made from recycled timber so not only is it beautiful, it is also environmentally friendly! friendly!” - Lea

QUEENSLAND GARDEN EXPO

“ Nice and comfy. Put your feet up after work with a glass of wine - or two!” - Melinda

Nambour Show Grounds Friday July 8 - Sunday July 10

NOW

“I love the Norfolk because it incorporates both lounge and dining, making it the perfect setting to have when spending time with friends and family!” - Dani

NOW

$2,249

2 SAVE $39

$4,869 6 pce Norfolk Setting

0 SAVE $39

“I love stone tone because it is everlasting, beautiful and unique!” - Tanya

9p pce Pom Pompeii - Nassau Setting

AND FOR THIS MONTH…PICK-A-BONUS! FREE REMOVAL

of your old setting*

FREE CUSHIONS

to the value of $100

FREE DELIVERY

FREE ASSEMBLY

to local area*

for local deliveries*

FREE HOMEWARES

FREE PROTECTION PACKAGE

to the value of $100

CHOOSE ANY BONUS FOR EVERY $1000 SPEND

to the value of $100

Whatever your space, taste and lifestyle talk to the Specialists today and Save!!

MAROOCHYDORE 5452 7833 Maroochydore Homemaker Centre, 55 Maroochy Boulevard ASPLEY 3263 8666 FORTITUDE VALLEY 3252 2077 JINDALEE 3279 3522

tofs.com.au My Renovation | July, 2016 13

13.indd 1

17/06/2016 9:49:17 AM


FLOORING //

Shades of grey As the minimalistic approach to interior design continues to shine through in terms of Scandinavian influence, the humble floorboard has received a makeover. For renovators who love the finish and benefits of hardwood floors, but who want a modern and contemporary design, the emergence of the grey commodity is hard to pass up. Grey flooring is joining the popularity stakes alongside the rustic white product and with a sophisticated finish it’s easy to see why. Unlike rich timber floors, the grey tone will seamlessly flow with almost any interior theme.

GET THE LOOK DID YOU KNOW If you have tiled floors that you want to renovate, don’t shy away from a timber finish. Floating floors are easy to install and are available in a range of colours and styles.

TRANSFORM

The Plantino engineered oak in Corsican Grey is a timeless flooring solution. It is composed of two or more layers of wood in the form of a plank and is available from Choices Flooring.

TILE & GROUT CLEANING

your wardrobe storage

• Glass splashbacks • Robe Interiors • Shower Screens • Walk In Wardrobes • Wardrobe Doors • Walk in Pantry • Linen Cupboard

AFTER

BEFORE

• Frameless Mirrors • Home Office

• Tile & Grout Cleaning • Grout Colour Sealing • Shower Regrout

• Bathroom Makeovers • Silicone Replacement

Strictly Grout 23 Enterprise St, CALOUNDRA P. 5491 7567 www.hillswardrobes.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8.30-5pm Sat 9-12pm

Contact us today 1300 795 539 www.strictlygrout.com.au

14 My Renovation | July, 2016

14.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:02:55 AM


LOOKING FOR FLOOR & WALL COVERINGS? Where can you use it? Grey floorboards will look great in any room – living, kitchen or bedroom. However, avoid using it in the bathroom and instead consider using bright, white tiles. It will bring lightness to your home and work well with the minimalistic theme.

TIP

Hardwood floors are durable and easy to clean. As an added bonus they are easy to dress up and create a great base to build your style from. Rugs will add texture and warmth to your flooring.

Refresh your home with a modern look at a competitive price

DIRECT IMPORTERS OF TILES, STONE, CARPET, TIMBER & BAMBOO FLOORING SUPPLY AND INSTALL - PERSONAL SERVICE - EXPERT ADVICE

Open Monday to Friday from 8am

NORM EVANS FLOORS

PH: 5476 6022

Your builders preferred supplier

1-9 ENDEAVOUR DR, KUNDA PARK

Flat packs made easy! We design and customise your flatpack kitchen Our point of difference from large hardware stores is that we perfectly design and manufacture your kitchen to your needs. You no longer have to compromise with a one size fits all product. Let Cut N Edge prove that we can make your kitchen, save you money and give you a kitchen you will be proud to show off for years to come. • Quality craftsmanship made with the material you want • A price difference you just won’t beat when compared to a custom fitted kitchen • Our team of specialists will even come and install it! CUSTOM SHELVING SERVICING THE COAST FOR 20 YEARS

Buy direct from the factory

 Kitchen makeovers  Replacement doors  Replacement benchtops  Flat pack  Kitchens  Vanities  Laundries  Wardrobes  Assembled units  TV entertainment units  Complete installation service

INSTALLATIONS ONSITE

COME AND SEE US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION AND QUOTE 1/11 Machinery Ave, Warana P. 5493 4577 www.cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au Email: info@cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au My Renovation | July, 2016 15

15.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:04:28 AM


REAL TIMBER WITH A MASSIVE 25 YEAR WARRANTY FROM TERMITES, BORERS AND DECAY! Pric That will save you time and money

$

ed from

7.75 per Lm Inc. gst

Now available for the first time at Harvey Norman Flooring, Platinum Eco 5000 will revolutionise traditional decking and timber projects like never before. Already hugely successful worldwide this product utilises a patented method of laminated timber made from impregnatable LVL construction using hardwood veneers that displays superior benefits to normal hardwood and pine and guarantees its quality for 25 years. Compare that to any other timber product.

Don’t buy another piece of decking timber without seeing Platinum Eco 5000. Visit our instore display or visit www.eco5000.com.au

16.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:06:12 AM


✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓

Impregnated LVL construction using hardwood veneers 5metre lengths helps speed up installation, reducing waste and labour costs

No tannin stain. Does not bleed.

FENCING AND SCREENING

DECKING

Available in Sizes 90mm x 20mm x 5000mm 140mm x 20mm x5000mm 140mm x 25mm x5000mm

POOL DECKING

BOARDWALKS

“Having used literally thousands of metres of Eco 5000 decking over a number of years, I feel confident in recommending this product. My initial introduction to Eco 5000 decking was due to the failure and unsatisfactory results of other products, mainly Australian and imported hardwood decking. I have experienced no twisting, cupping or warping in decking since using Eco 5000. The Eco 5000 decking gives a very acceptable and pleasing finish every time, as well as proving to be an economical choice. I have not received a single complaint or recall since using ECO 5000 decking.”

Gun barrel straight pieces, every time.

Superior dimensional stability

Supplied with an oil-based pre-sealer coating 25 year warranty for termites, borers, structural and decay

Fully FSC Certified

Paul Verhey, Builder

THE CARPET & FLOORING SPECIALISTS 17.indd 1

17/06/2016 11:42:14 AM


INSTAGRAM //

DESIGN LIFESTYLE

WE LOVE

Property gurus will love this page, which features daily inspirations from New York City’s number one real estate broker, Fredrik Eklund. From sky high apartments to beautiful streetscapes, it chronicles Eklund’s working and personal life.

Design Milk is dedicated to the modern design of many things things. From quirky interior style, unique architecture and interesting technology design, creator Jaime Derringer has won us over – along with one million other Instagram followers.

RENOVATE Cost effective solutions for every budget.

DON’T MOVE...

With more than 4000 0 ffollowers, llowers this interior and fashion lover has secured a substantial following on Instagram. The photo blog is a great place to source inspiration for your home and you are sure to find a pretty idea or two.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation

Give your Concrete a Colour It Australia Makeover N& COME I UGE RH SEE OU AREA Y DISPLA

BEFORE

FREE UPGRADE Soft closing drawer system Conditions Apply.

KITCHENS • VANITIES • SHELVING • OFFICE

FINANCE OPTION AVAILABLE

askin cabinets 4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

• stamp • stencil • topcrete • sealers • epoxy coatings • colour in the mix for domestic & commercial applications 24hr display: 20 Endeavour Dr, Kunda Park

PHONE: 07 5445 2399 BSA 742429

E: sales@ciaconcrete.com.au www.ciaconcrete.com.au

18 My Renovation | July, 2016

18.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:08:24 AM


er intPLACE HOT PRICES thisAT THEWBLINDS Support all ALL OUR CURTAINS ARE SEWN ON local sm THE SUNSHINE COAST business

*

F F O 20%

RICS B A F N I A CURT lop, Warwick, Zepel, M O T S U C s Dun e rics from Jam re. b fa g n ri tu a e F and many mo x e tt e N , e re ig Wilsons, Fil

PLUS

Free Blocko ut Liinn Selected Un iinng on coate Fabric Ran d ges

OUR EXTENSIVE FABRIC RANGE IS GROWING EVERY DAY. VISIT US IN STORE TO SEE THE FANTASTIC RANGE. VISIT OUR SHOWROOM TO SEE OUR RANGE & MEET OUR EXPERIENCED, FRIENDLY AND DEDICATED STAFF

>> CUSTOM MADE BLINDS >> READYMADE BLINDS >> SHUTTERS >> AWNINGS >> SECURITY >> CURTAINS

CALL NOW FOR A FREE MEASURE AND QUOTE FROM OUR LOCAL DÉCOR CONSULTANTS 20 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore 5475 4199 • Shop 9/70 Redland Bay Rd, Capalaba 3823 1388

www.theblindsplace.com.au *Conditions apply and minimum spend $1000. Offer ends August 31st 2016.

19.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:09:36 AM


TIPS //

Quick fix Looking for a quick fix bathroom remodel? Spruce up your bathroom by regrouting the tile. When mixing the grout aim to achieve a smooth consistency, about the same as toothpaste.

DID YOU KNOW? Think green During the planning stages of a renovation it’s a good idea to speak to an expert about green initiatives that will reduce carbon emissions and your energy bill. The Australian Government offers a home sustainability assessment. For more information visit yourenergysavings.gov.au/energy

Air conditioners don’t actually create cooled air. Instead, they simply remove the heat from the air before distributing it back through the room. This is why it is important to have shades drawn and minimise sun heat from coming through the windows while running your system.

View our wide range of International stone in our showroom and be inspired. 97 Enterprise St, Kunda Park P. 5453 4401 www.creativestone.net.au

creativestone • Marble • Reconstituted Stone • Granite

20 My Renovation | July, 2016

20.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:10:14 AM


Saving a drop Previously, new homes were required to have a water saving system such as a rainwater tank. The Queensland Government removed this requirement back in 2013 but it’s still a smart idea to install one if you are renovating and haven’t yet done so. A water tank not only helps reduce your bill but will assist in preserving an important resource. If you choose to install a system you need to comply with the Queensland Development Code and require approval from council. For those residents on town water, you will also need to install a backflow prevention device. Visit sunshinecoast.qld. gov.au for more information.

For style and strength choose Hot and cold When researching cooling and heat systems for your home think about what will work best for your situation. While ducted air conditioning looks nicer and will add value to your property, split system units are cheaper to run.

Colorbond® steel Metal roofing • Colorbond® fencing • Custom flashings • All rain water goods • Engineered patio & shed kits • Translucent sheeting

SPRUCE UP YOUR OLD CONCRETE And add real value to your home • STYLISH • DURABLE • SEAMLESS • CLASSIC LIVING

Stencil Pattern Concrete ®

We will help you combine colours and patterns to create an appeal that will optimise your settings • All decorative products • Safety gear & environmental products • All your major brands commercial & domestic

• Epoxy seamless floors • Comprehensive range of tools • Extensive range of pigments • Joint Flex • Construction Grouts

Unit 1/28 Technology Drive, Warana Ph: 5493 2022 www.evergardcw.com.au

• Water Proofing • Curing Compounds • Steel Mesh & Accessories • Repair Grout & Epoxies • Concrete Machinery

Metroll BETTER SERVICE • BETTER BUILDING SOLUTIONS

PHONE TODAY 5493 7872 10 Bearing Avenue Warana. www.metroll.com.au northcoast@metrollqld.com.au

My Renovation | July, 2016 21

21.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:12:41 AM


WE MAKE

STUNNING POOLS

...AN WE’VE GOT ONE ...AND SUIT YOUR NEEDS TO SU Barrier Reef Pools is the largest manufacturer of fibreglass inground swimming pools in Australia. entertaining, keeping cool on those hot summer days and just plain lazing around Family life, e takes on a co completely new meaning when it’s centred around a crystal clear pool from Barrier Reef. Let Bar Barrier Reef Pools, it’s skilled and local, experienced sales staff and any one of the Australia-wid Australia-wide network of professional and helpful agents work with you in selecting the very best design to me meet your special needs. When you invest in a Barrier Reef pool, you’re getting the benefit of ye years of extensive research, design, skill and experience.

22.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:13:48 AM


WHY CHOOSE A BARRIER REEF POOL We pride ourselves in our quality and workmanship providing all our customers with the best available fibreglass pool. Barrier Reef Pools has invested many years into the design and construction of our extensive pool range. We are the only fibreglass pool manufacturer to be awarded the Australian Standards 5 tick certified product award. WHAT DOES A 5 STAR TICK RATING MEAN FOR OUR CUSTOMERS? ✓ There are clear and standardised procedures for each manufacturing stage of our pool shells.

✓ The manufacturing process is monitored at every step from preparing the mould to transporting to your site.

✓ All materials supplied and used are rigidly controlled to meet performance specifications.

✓ Every pool is embossed with our name as well as a unique 5 digit number which enables everyone to identify that pool, tracking and tracing it throughout its life.

Our master files record quality tests and results. We also keep a sample cut out of every shell manufactured for future reference.

IT IS A SIMPLE DECISION... IF YOU WANT THE BEST, THEN BUY THE BEST.

CONTACT US FOR A FREE QUOTE Phone 1300 440 891 www.brpq.com.au

23.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:14:43 AM


OUTDOOR //

O

ne of the main elements of any outdoor renovation or landscaping project is grass. Whether you have a large space or a smaller grassed area, choosing the right product for your yard is important. It can be an expensive project and one that needs some thought as grass tends to be a long term investment. From Sir Walter premium buffalo turf to lawn seed, there are so many options. Speak to gardening experts to ensure you are finding the right product for your project.

Thinking of turf

TIP

Affordable 2 pack Buy direct from the manufacturer

Keep an eye out for lawn grubs between the months of September to March.

SUPA CHEAP CARPETS & INTERIORS

Ki Kitchens, Vanities & Robes a available in 2 Pack Gloss, Satin, Metallic finishes, and Melamine Various door designs Doors without handles

CUSTOMISED C USTOMISED DIY FLAT PACK KITCHEN SPECIALISTS

Cabinets pre-drilled for easy assembly Installation can be arranged

ColorVogue Kitchens is a family owned and operated business and has been established for 20 years on the Sunshine Coast.

FOR

“CALL NOWOTE!” U

A FREE Q

Open: Monday - Friday 8am-4pm, Saturday - By appointment

Phone: 5493 2566 Visit our display room at 14 Bearing Avenue, Warana (Off Main Dr) www.colorvogue.com.au E: info@colorvoguedoors.com.au

The carpet store with more! CARPETS, TILES, VINYL PLANKS, SYNTHETIC GRASS, BLINDS, AWNINGS, ADVICE

Unit 2/4 Waterview St Warana Phone 5493 7780

www.supacheapcarpets.com.au

24 My Renovation | July, 2016

24.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:17:24 AM


EXPERT ADVICE My Renovation’s resident gardening expert, Jason Kay from iLandscape Sunshine Coast, shares his tips on how to care for and maintain your new turf… • Watering is the most important thing you will have to do for the first month of your new lawn • Keep the top of your turf moist by watering regularly especially for the first week • Keep an eye out for the edges of the turf especially where the turf meets the concrete as these areas dry out the most • Keep an eye out for the roots developing underneath the turf, once you can see the roots the turf is now taking up moisture and nutrients from your soil • By week three you should be watering around two to three times a

week and you can now apply your first fertiliser application. Make sure to thoroughly water the fertiliser into the grass • Remember to fertilise grass at the change of each new season • Mowing your lawn regularly is important in controlling weeds and encouraging growth.

ALL GOOD RENOVATIONS FINISH UNDER YOUR FEET! from

$

CARPET

28m

2*

laid

LAMINATE

from

$

22m

from

$

2* Free

underlay

TIMBER

99m

2*

laid

6 months interest free only. *Not available in conjunction with any other offers.

MAROOCHYDORE

THE CARPET & FLOORING SPECIALISTS

Maroochydore Homemaker Centre, 11-55 Maroochy Boulevard 5452 1580 www.harveynorman.com.au/flooring

LIVING COLOUR LANDSCAPING IS A SUNSHINE COAST LANDSCAPING COMPANY OFFERING A COMPLETE RANGE OF SERVICES INCLUDING • Landscape make overs and creations • Paving • Retaining walls

• Feature walls • Pitched rock walls • Instant turf and artificial turf

• Plant selection • Earthworks & drainage • Pool surrounds

Phone Neil on 0411 890 447

QBCC Licence no 1102285

www.livingcolourlandscaping.com.au My Renovation | July, 2016 25

25.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:18:44 AM


finishing touches Advice and ideas to turn your renovation into a home

GET THE LOOK Blue Lobelia paint from the Dulux range is dark, moody and ideal for a feature wall.

TEXTURISE

MOOD MATTERS

PIC SOURCED FROM PINTEREST - LOVECHICLIVING.CO.UK/

Introduce soft texture and the illusion of bird feathers with the use of unusual cushions. This Mongolian lambs wool beauty is from Dare Gallery.

Think outside the box and draw inspiration from colours and things you love. The exotic peacock with its unique beauty is wonderful inspiration for the home. The deep blues, greens and purples will create a moody environment. This design from blogger and stylist Love Chic Living demonstrates how taking inspiration from an animal can transform a home.

Helping you to

TAKE YOUR LANDSCAPING IDEAS THROUGH TO COMPLETION • Pavers • Retaining Wall Blocks • Natural stone • Wall Cladding

• Living Walls • Paver & Masonry sealers • Living turf & synthetic grass • Garden edging

iLandscape.com.au is your first click in landscaping. iLandscape Sunshine Coast can assist you with everything you need to get the job done right, from quality landscaping products to choosing the correct contractor, we are here to assist you with your every landscaping requirement. As about our price match guarantee.

200 Nicklin Way, Warana. Phone 5493 5975. www.ilandscape.com.au 26 My Renovation | July, 2016

26.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:22:05 AM


WE LOVE This painting is simply stunning. It’s from Go Arty. Phone 5451 1445.

FEATHERY FIND

UPDATE WITH FINE FABRIC

The Falling Feathers cushion features a vibrant image of a magnified bird’s feather in blue. The overblown image exaggerates the texture of the soft hair to create a dramatic design. It’s available from Domayne. Visit domayne.com.au

Fabric is a smart way to update pre-loved furniture and cushions. We love the Tuileries range in Opal available from Warwick Fabrics.

NEW LIFE A lick of paint will update old furniture or home décor pieces such as a vase. Mix blues and greens to create an interesting colour combination. The addition of crisp white, as demonstrated in this image, will balance bold design.

WE HAVE THE HEATER FOR YOU WHILE STOCKS LAST

$

1799

$1799 SPECIAL! BLAZE FS500LE Including a flue kit (RRP $495) and Tool set. FEATURES A 3 SPEED FAN AND CAN HEAT UP TO 180m2!!

FS500LE*

* Picture is for illustration purposes only and installation is not included

We have the Coast covered and can organise all your installation needs Wood • Gas • Electric • Ethanol

DON’T BUY TILL YOU TRY THE BBQ & FIREPLACE CENTRE - NOW IN 3 GREAT LOCATIONS! MAROOCHYDORE Shop 4/125 Sugar Road 5443 7275 BIRTINYA Home Central, 566 Kawana Way 5493 3744 NOOSAVILLE 1/1 Gateway Drive 5473 0023 www.bbqandfireplace.com My Renovation | July, 2016 27

27.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:22:57 AM


finishing touches FLOWERS ON TREND

FLORAL FLAIR Using floral patterns in the home is no longer considered a favourite only for the elderly. Loud and proud, or pretty pastels - today’s designs can be interwoven into any room to bring colour and softness to the styling.

This beautiful aqua and floral canvas will dress up your walls. It’s available from Go Arty. Phone 5451 1445.

BATHROOM BEAUTY Don’t limit florals to fabrics and linens. Elegant, or even gothic style, tiles can create a contemporary and unusual bathroom. This indigo blue and white tile is a perfect example.

CONTEMPORARY DESIGN An inexpensive and simple way to introduce floral and a pop of colour into your living room is with cushions. This design from Harvey Norman is stylish with a gentle colour palette. To find out more about the Alto two piece fabric lounge suite and cushions visit harveynorman.com.au

The largest range of curtains on the Sunshine Coast Our talented design team can help you create beautiful interiors. Our showrooms offer an extensive range of fabrics, window treatments and soft furnishings, together with a wide selection of exclusive furniture, one-off design pieces and original works. Proudly servicing the Sunshine Coast for 40 years.

- Re-upholstery - Curtains & Blinds - Furniture - Shutters - Cushions Phone 5444 2412 117 Brisbane Road Mooloolaba

Rob Larson’s CURTAINS INTERIOR DECOR

&

28 My Renovation | July, 2016

28.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:24:02 AM


WE LOVE The Anywhere floral rug in orange is from Domayne. Visit domayne.com.au

Your local art gallery GENUINE HAND PAINTED ART - ART CLASSES - HOMEWARES - JEWELLERY

NEW TO goarty 1-Day Colour Workshops Learn how to decorate confidently with colour. From choosing a paint scheme to mixing and matching the finishing touches. Perfect for renovators! BOOK NOW. WORKSHOP ONLY $147.

1-Day Workshop - From $105 Be able to say I did that myself. Create any Go Arty Beginner design in your colour and size. Lots of TLC and guidance provided.

MIX IT UP A mix of materials can bring excitement to a living or dining space. Vintage wallpaper such as this will dress up the room and bring a dramatic element to your interior design.

Purchase from our gallery - Commission a piece - Paint your own

goarty Gallery Classes Homeware

7 Norval Crt, Maroochydore | Phone 5451 1445 Open Mon-Fri 9-5pm & Sat 9-2pm | goarty.com.au | facebook.com/goingarty

F F O % 0 5 CKTAKE SALE

MOOLOOLABA & NOOSA STORES FOR A LIMITED TIME ONLY ENDS 24TH JULY 2016

UP TO 75% OFF SELECTED ITEMS

STO

SapienArts MOOLOOLABA 5452 6480 Open 7 Days - 9am to 10pm • Zanzibar Building, 47 The Esplanade NOOSA 5447 4447 Open 7 Days - 9am to 6pm • Shop 8/14 Hastings St, Noosa Heads My Renovation | July, 2016 29

29.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:25:23 AM


END OF FINANCIAL YEAR C STUNNING BARGAIN LAST ONE!

Red Chaise Lounge Bargains D

DON’T DON T PAY $4000 Sale Price

Sale Price

$1490

$2950

3 Corner 2RH Facing Chaise featuring eaturing electic recliner and electric chaise. Coffee colour leather.

DON’T PAY $7000+ $7000

One Off Bargain!

2 to choose from. Red cowhide leather.

Electric Recliner Bargain Set

DON’T PAY $4500

3.5M LENGTH Sale Price

Sale Price

COFFEE COLOUR LEATHER

$2200 4 seater lounge clipped in the middle.

$2450

$

2.5 seater dual electric + 2 single. e All electric action action. Available in white only.

Australian Label Mattresses

DON’T PAY $4500 (Image for illustration purposes only)

2 Seater Leather Sofas

QUEEN SIZE

QUEEN PILLOWTOP

$299

$299

AUSTRALIAN MADE SB KSS DB QB ensemble

FAMOUS QUALITY BRANDS

White Cowhide Leather Storage Ottoman

30.indd 1

each

First in best dressed! Available in grey, chocolate or white. Full cowhide leather.

Superior Quality Recliner Lounge

Sale Pr

ice

$2400

$99

* All pictures for illustration purposes only.

$750

$149 $165 $260 $650

Suburb Value for Money ONE ONLY!

Sale Price each

Sale Price

DON’T PA PAY AY $6600 White cowhide leather corner lounge dual electric recliner & entertainment wedge.

JUST

DON’T PAY $4500

Sale Pr

ice

$2400

4x electric reclining actions. Silver grey colour colour. Small lounge for people who are space poor.

LOUNGES 17/06/2016 10:31:50 AM


R CLEARANCE! 3 Seater Qualityy Leather Look DON’T T ONE PAY ONLY!

NO EXCEPTIONS! ALL MUST BE SOLD THIS MONTH!

Dual Recliner Bargain DON’T PAY $3200

$1900 0

Sale Pr

DUAL ELECTRIC RECLINER

$990

2 seater dual electric recliner. Cream colour, cowhide leather.

3 Seater Fabric Lounge ONE ONLY! NLY!

rice

Sale P

3 seater dual electric recliner. Black cowhide leather.

ONE ONLY!

Buy of the Year! r!!

Sale P

ri

$225c0e

rice

Sale P

$690

for both

2 + 3 Seater set. Full cowhide d lleather. h Available in beige. (Cushions for display purposes only).

Half Price Dual Electric Recliner Sale Price

$1290 DON’T PAY $3000 Black co colour only.

URED AS PICT e + 2 chais 2 seater

Sale from

$1900

$2500

2 seater and right or left hand chaise in white, brown, coffee and grey.

TRADING HOURS Thursday 10-3.30pm

DON’T PAY $4000+

Sunday 10.30-1pm

Friday 10-3.30pm

Monday 10-3.30pm

Saturday 9.30-1pm

Wednesday 10-3.30pm

WE ARE NOW HERE

Technology Drive

CLOSED TUESDAY CLOSED ALL PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

Waterview St Super A-mart

Nicklin Way

DON’T PAY $2500

$1350

Contemporary Styled Chaise Lounge

Production Ave

Tandem Ave

Sale Price

Chaise lounge R/H facing plus l matching t hi 2 seater t all in black cowhide leather.

Texile Ave

Best Buy! 2 For the Price of 1!

LAST ONE!

DON’T PAY $4500 500 Quality Q li fabric. f b i IImpossible ibl to purchase at this price of $690.

Kawana Way

DON’T PAY $4200

Comprising 3x electric recliners. 2x entertainment wedges.

e

Sale Price

ice

Quality Fabric Home Theatre Set

0 $115

DON’T PAY $3500

$1250

Sale Price

$990

Supreme Comfort for $990!

Main Drive

20 Technology Drive, Warana Phone John 0437 717 780 (rear of Super Amart)

31.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:33:21 AM


20

to

60

%

off

*

6DYLQJV$FURVVDOO6WRUHV

32.indd 1

17/06/2016 10:35:05 AM

Myreno53 july 2016  
Myreno53 july 2016