Page 1

RENOVATION PROJECTS | DESIGN | PRODUCTS

RAW MATERIAL THE BARE BEAUTY OF CONCRETE

ISSUE 51 | MAY EDITION 2016 DIGITAL EDITIONS & MORE >> MYWEEKLYPREVIEW.COM.AU

1.indd 1

22/04/2016 11:07:46 AM


FRESH Autumn Savi 20% OFF

MASSIVE fabric library available. Ask our colour consultants to help with your selection.

ics in tain fabr r u c r e e s* ALL sh e curtain d a m m o our cust

Custom curtains made to suit every application – save on price without sacrificing quality.

VISIT OUR SHOWROOM TO SEE OUR RANGE & MEET OUR EXPERIENCED, FRIENDLY AND DEDICATED STAFF >> CUSTOM MADE BLINDS >> READYMADE BLINDS >> SHUTTERS >> AWNINGS >> SECURITY >> CURTAINS

CALL NOW FOR A FREE MEASURE AND QUOTE FROM OUR LOCAL DÉCOR CONSULTANTS *Conditions and minimum $1,000 spend applies. Offer valid until May 31st, 2016

2.indd 1

22/04/2016 9:54:41 AM


vings THIS MAY

SHOP LOCALLY

Support sm all business

LLocal production with fast turnaround!

20% OFF

nds* roller bli m o t s u c ALL

FEATURING FABRICS FROM:

www.theblindsplace.com.au 20 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore 5475 4199 Shop 9/70 Redland Bay Rd, Capalaba 3823 1388 3.indd 1

22/04/2016 9:56:03 AM


EDITOR’S NOTE & CONTENTS //

What’s inside

FLOORING

22

The Renovation Specialists! CARPET | TIMBER | LAMINATE | RUGS | VINYL

HUGE RANGE OF QUALITY FLOORING AT BUILDERS PRICES

We GUARANTEE you cannot buy better! Hard flooring from only $17m2

(Product only)

MAROOCHYDORE Maroochydore Homemaker Centre Maroochy Boulevarde 5452 1580 Harvey Norman® stores are operated by independent franchisees.

www.harveynorman.com.au/flooring

A better way to build Hebel is your 21st century alternative of the traditional brick and mortar construction method when building or renovating. Hebel provides the look and solid feel of masonry and then adding comfort, environmental and acoustic benefits that only a home built out of Hebel can deliver. • Speedy construction process • Fire resistant • Lightweight yet still tough and strong • Sound proof qualities • Thermal properties - great insulator Suppliers to the Sunshine Coast & hinterland regions Qualified licensed installers Call to arrange quotation for supply only and or install 0410 633 947

QEBS Quick Easy Building Solutions

Editor’s note A

ustralians love to renovate. So much so, that an expected $30.59 billion will be dropped on projects this year alone. And, with a projected growth forecast, the industry shows no signs of going backwards. The HIA Renovations Roundup market report reveals that the spend rate will steadily increase during the next three years. By 2019, we are expected to be spending around $33 billion annually on renovations. In Queensland, the industry has grown by some 8.8 per cent during 2015 and will increase a further 5.9 per cent this year. Spend will grow from a projected $7.53 billion in 2016 to $8.57 billion in 2019. Interestingly, 24 per cent of renovation jobs fall within the cost range of $12,000 to $40,000 while 13 per cent fall in the category of $200,000 to $400,000. There is no denying that Aussies love their homes and enjoy undertaking reno projects, whether it be a major overhaul or the addition of a new outdoor entertainment area. Whatever your project is, we want to hear about it. Share your story, just like Bec and Craig have in this month’s edition. See page 8. Email me at: cholznagel@myweeklypreview.com.au

26 Cover story ........................ 6 Concrete design

Real project ....................... 8 Real life renovation project

Kitchen ................................10 Going white

Style .....................................12 Dish it up

Bathroom ............................14 Designing a luxurious bathroom

Paint .....................................16 What’s new in paint

Tips ......................................20 Wallpaper, windows and work

Instagram.............................22 The best of social media

New product .......................23 Latest products on the market

Outdoor...............................24 Hints for barbecuing

Finishing touches .............. 26 Products, tips and looks

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Bethan on 5444 0152. Sales: sales@myweeklypreview.com.au

4 My Renovation | May, 2016

4.indd 1

22/04/2016 9:59:50 AM


RENOVATE NOW WITH

48 MONTHS INTEREST FREE*

IT NOW W Y U

B

H IT

48 MONTH

Interest

VISIT OUR SHOWROOM ROOM 112 NICKLIN CKLIN WAY, WARANA

Ends 30

S

f r e e*

/04/16

Y NT RA

RRANTY WA

WARRANTY

Apollo Patios Sunshine Coast

YEAR

WARRANTY † WA R

CALL US NOW FOR YOUR PERSONALISED DESIGN ADVICE & RECEIVE YOUR COMPLIMENTARY QUOTATION:

WARRANTY W AR

WARRANTY

FREE DESIGN SERVICE | ADD VALUE TO YOUR HOME | LARGE VARIETY OF STYLES & DESIGNS | 2 CHOICES OF ROOF SHEETING

15

TY AN

Y NT RA

Apollo Patios can design an outdoor addition with your lifestyle in mind. Call today for an obligation free design consultation and see how you can start building a better lifestyle. Patios • Carports • Decks • Screen Enclosures • Patio Accessories • Shutters • Aluminium Louvres & Slats

WA RR

Apollo really helped us improve our lifestyle. Scan the QR Code below to see how they can help you.

See how our customers are enjoying their Apollo outdoors lifestyle

Ph: 07 5437 8124 or visit us at apollopatios.com.au *Approved applicants only on a Once Agile Visa card. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply including a $99 Annual Fee charged on the account open date and annually on the anniversary of the account open date. Minimum finance amount applies and is based on the promotional term. Interest, currently 19.95% p.a., is payable on any balance outstanding after the interest free period. Ask in store for details. Finance provided by Once Credit Pty Limited ABN 99 112 319 632, Australian Credit Licence Number 386194.48 Months Interest Free Offer. Minimum purchase $1,700. Offer ends 30/04/2016. Not available at all Apollo Patios Dealers. Apollo Durasheen paint finish with 15 year warranty. Photos are indicative only – Apollo Home Additions are individually designed and may vary from the photo. Construction by Freedom Patios Pty Ltd. QBCC Licence No: 1008851. FPA6121B.

FPA6121 RenovateNow indd 2 5.indd 1

16/02/16 9:50 AM 22/04/2016 10:02:27 AM


YOUR LOCAL BUILDER

COVER STORY //

Our desire is to help turn your dream project

INTO REALITY The Team at Queensland Building Solutions are experienced in the delivery of Residential, Architectural designed Homes, Industrial and Commercial Projects.

CALL US FOR AN OBLIGATION FREE QUOTE

Cool runnings Concrete in bathroom design is a no-brainer. It’s easy to clean and looks stunning. When planning your bathroom think about each individual element. You can mix concrete and tiles or simply opt for a complete concrete look using different finishes. Vanity units, benchtops and bench seats can also be created by specialised designers.

✓ New custom builds ✓ Kitchen makeovers ✓ Renovations ✓ Decks and outdoor rooms ✓ Bathroom renovations ✓ Extensions ✓ Paint repairs ✓ Concreting So why wait? Queensland Building Solutions will give you Attention to Detail, Quality Care, Courtesy, Commitment and best of all, a Quality Product.

Let’s discuss your next project! Master Builders 68500 QBCC 1304991

Phone 5476 6072 or 0448 866 907 www.qldbuildingsolutions.com.au

Shining style If you don’t like the natural colour of concrete – use an epoxy coating to achieve a polished effect. Epoxy resin is a coloured or clear substance that will also protect your floor or walls.

6 My Renovation | May, 2016

6.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:03:49 AM


TIPS The team at Kunda Park’s Concrete Design House share these secrets for successfully creating a concrete paradise… • It is a versatile product and can be used indoors and outdoors • Concrete can be incorporated into various interior designs including industrial, contemporary, urban and traditional styles like the Hamptons’ influence • Using the correct mix design and the right proven and tested sealers, you will get great water, oil and acid resistance.

GET THE LOOK: This kitchen was designed by Concrete Design House.

BARE BEAUTY Concrete dates back long before the phrase ‘stylish design’ was bandied around. Recent years have seen the re-emergence of concrete in a completely new light, bringing the product into the interior design limelight. Concrete can be used for purposes that go beyond floors and walls. My Renovation shares some ideas on how to give your home the urban feel…

DID YOU KNOW? Glass fibre reinforced concrete, also known as GFRC, is lighter in weight and can be poured as thin as 10mm. It has high flexural strength, is less prone to cracking and can be used to make integrated sinks, wall panels, tables, barbecue areas and kitchen counters.

TREND ALERT According to Rebecca Bevan from Concrete Design House, concrete incorporated with natural elements such as jute, hemp and timber, work in perfect harmony together adding warmth and softness to a space. Add bright splashes of yellow and green with plants, pots, artwork and decorative accents.

Luxe lighting Carry the urban theme through your house with industrialstyle lighting. Hanging pendants, particularly geometrical metal designs, work well. Hanging round globes are another option. When using pendants stick to an odd number – three will always look better than two.

My Renovation | May, 2016 7

7.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:04:26 AM


REAL LIFE //

A HOME TO LOVE Coast duo Craig Patterson and Bec Hann purchased their Pelican Waters home with the intent of renovating it. My Renovation caught up with them to learn about their real life project… Q. Is this your first renovation project? A. We have done a few renovations in the past. We wanted to renovate because we could see it would add value and add equity to the property, so at its completion we could either sell for a profit, or use the equity to renovate a different property. Q. How long did it take to complete the project? A. The actual work took eight months. Q. Did you do the work yourselves or hire a team? A. We did most of the work ourselves. Craig owns Ocean Tiling so we had a great tiler for the job, however we had to hire a plumber, electrician and a chippie.

4

2 Total cost

2

$73,000

Q. What was the hardest part about the renovation? A. Living in a worksite definitely has its challenges but didn’t worry us too much. The hardest part was definitely for Craig, having to work hard at home after finishing a normal day of work and being committed for such a long time to get the job finished. Q. What is your favourite feature of the newly-renovated home? A. We definitely love the butler’s pantry and the main

View our wide range of International stone in our showroom and be inspired. 97 Enterprise St, Kunda Park P. 5453 4401 www.creativestone.net.au

creativestone • Marble • Reconstituted Stone • Granite

8 My Renovation | May, 2016

8.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:05:13 AM


Imagine... NO

MORE MAINTENANCE

Choose either Australian Powdercoated Aluminium or COLORBOND® Steel. All screens and gates are custom designed to suit your needs.

bedroom ensuite that is like a wet room without walls. Plus, the ceiling to floor cupboards in the kitchen which act like a locker, and keep everyone’s things off the kitchen benches. Q. What do you love about renovating? A. Being able to change a space and create an area that you love to be in. Also the opportunity it offers to financially get ahead.

Craig and Bec’s tip: Do your sums, don’t overspend, which is very easy to do, and if it’s a job you can do yourself, don’t pay someone else to do it, get in and do it yourself.

• Awnings • Louvres • Shutters • Fencing & Gates • Insect & Security Screens

DIY FRIENDLY OR INSTALLED • CALL FOR A FREE MEASURE & QUOTE P. 5438 2866 or Mark 0424 984 785 9 Newing Way, Caloundra (off Mark Rd at Daniel St roundabout) www.superiorscreens.com.au E. mark@superiorscreens.com.au

Superior Screens ®

From the timeless beauty of timber to the contemporary textures of bamboo, decorate from the floor up with our exclusive Plantino or Genero Collections and #zoneit with a free rug of your choice!

Choices Flooring Maroochydore 3/32 Wises Road 5443 6280 choicesflooring.com.au with minimum purchase*

O N LY AVA I L A B L E AT

product featured *Offer valid from 24 April – 28 May 2016. Terms and conditions apply, see in-store for details.

My Renovation | May, 2016 9

9.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:06:13 AM


KITCHEN // Timber trends White and wood are a match made in interior design heaven. This timber splashback is the ideal example of how to achieve a contemporary and functional kitchen.

Blinding white Timeless, classic and clean – a white kitchen is everything the renovator and new home buyer look for in design. It’s guaranteed not to date, but there are a few things to consider before taking the plunge. Keeping white cabinets and benchtops sparkling can take some effort so keep that in mind. Other things to consider before making a decision include: do you like a gloss or matte finish? Marble or plain white countertop? Should you inject colour into the kitchen with an interesting splashback? Talk to your local kitchen expert to figure out what will work for you.

RENOVATE Cost effective solutions for every budget.

DON’T MOVE...

GET THE LOOK We love this white Lovehate Australia sitting planter. It’s from Cranmore Home and retails for $60.

RE NEW RANGE INSTO from $ $150 NEW RANGE RANG Designer D i Sink Mixes

BEFORE

FREE UPGRADE

Vanities Designer x 1200mm om fr m 900m

Soft closing drawer system Conditions Apply.

KITCHENS • VANITIES • SHELVING • OFFICE

FINANCE OPTION AVAILABLE

$799

Bathrooms - Doors - Kitchens - Shutters - Blinds - Screens - Awnings

askin cabinets 4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

Free Standing & Wall Hung Vanities

BSA 742429

2/21 Trinder Avenue, Maroochydore P (07) 5451 1160 M 0408 872 081 Email: info@renowarehouse.com.au Website: www.renowarehouse.com.au

10 My Renovation | May, 2016

10.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:38:22 AM


[

H O M E - R E N O VAT I O N - E X T E N S I O N

DESIGN

[

Traditional and trendy Black and white is a traditional colour combination that has stood the test of time. Opt for a black splashback or countertop. It will add a boldness and refreshing depth of colour to your kitchen.

AFFORDABLE - MODERN SOLUTIONS

Your design, our experience, brings your dreams to life! We design to suit your: ✓ block ✓ lifestyle ✓ budget and save you money when you build.

Fresh ideas Citrus, including various tones of yellow, lime and orange, will lift and brighten the kitchen. Bowls of fruit, plants, herbs and vases are a great way to add a burst of colour.

Call us to ask about our latest design offer.

Sarah and AJ

PHONE 0468 633 686 milnerconstructiongroup.com.au QBCC# 1318289

TILE & GROUT CLEANING • Tile & Grout Cleaning • Grout Colour Sealing • Shower Regrout • Bathroom Makeovers • Silicone Replacement BEFORE

AFTER

1300 795 539

www.strictlygrout.com.au

Contact us today

Strictly Grout My Renovation | May, 2016 11

11.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:08:44 AM


STYLE //

Round or square Measure your dining room and draw a floor plan before you start decorating. This way you know what shape and size table will work best. Do you want to go with a four-seater or an eightseater? Round, square or rectangle? This Marseille round table is available from Dare Gallery.

DISH IT UP

PRETTY AS CELAIN PORCELAIN

TIP

Do you find yourself eating dinner on the couch more often than not? My Renovation is here to help you create a beautiful dining room with these simple tips and ideas. We promise that you’ll never want to eat anywhere else again…

Sleek style If you like a sleek and sophisticated style, keep your dining room simple. Choose a classic table, simple pendant and neutral paint. Add a rug, such as this chevron one from Dare Gallery, to inject a little flair.

There is more to choosing table linen than selecting a pretty colour. When choosing a cloth consider the style you are trying to achieve – traditional linen will give your room a distinguished feel while standard cotton is more relaxed and easy to clean.

Update your dining set to suitt your theme. This S&P marble-look et features a dinner set creative finish and is om porcelain. crafted from ilable from It’s available mayne. Domayne.

WE LOVE! The Chelsea table cloth is 100 per cent cotton and made in India. The attractive diamond floral print in subtle dove tones with a lively yellow border is perfect for any modern indoor or outdoor setting. It’s available from Linen and Moore. Check out local stores to find a similar style.

12 My Renovation | May, 2016

12.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:09:33 AM


Creating a better way to live, inside and out.

All year round Extend your living space and make it usable during winter and summer.

FREE COUNCIL VALUED AT $600 Available to the first 10 customers only

ROOM EXTENSIONS

Glass, screen or insulated wall rooms.

OPENING ROOFS

Automated waterproof patios – the best of both worlds.

TIMBER DECKING

CARPORTS

Hardwood or modwood decking areas.

Custom made to suit any vehicle and home.

Call NOW for your FREE on-site consultation and quote by one of our qualified builders

$

Interest FREE Finance also available

Phone 5444 4666 www.eclipsepatios.com.au Building in and around the Coast for over 25 years

13.indd 1

S Watson Pty Ltd T/A Eclipse Patios & Extensions

QBCC Lic No. 1167957

22/04/2016 10:10:51 AM


BATHROOM //

Rainfall relaxation Create your own rain in the shower with the Nikles Pure Blade LED overhead shower. It features airdrop technology, two spray patterns and a sleek and modern design. Visit reece.com.au/bathrooms

Italian design This Italian made mosaic pattern is inspired by the modular design of wallpaper, with the pattern structure translated into 2 x 2cm mosaic modules designed to bring colour and texture to your walls. The Trend Wild 2 wallpaper mosaic tile is available from Domayne.

Bathe in luxury Soft towels, a huge sunken bath, expansive marble counters and rain showers – these are the things that take a bathroom from everyday living to everyday luxury. In reality, most of us will never have a bathroom with views like this one but we can dream. And, while you are at it, inject a little opulence into your home and create a lavish bathroom with these ideas…

UP TO

90% LESS CLEANING An invisible simple to apply coating for shower screens, windows, glass pool fences which repels water, soap scum and grime reducing cleaning time by up to 90%

Makes cleaning a breeze! With just a once only application.

UNTREATED GLASS

TREATED GLASS

10 year guarantee on new glass and 3 year on existing glass and all stainless steel, tiles and grout. It’s like water off a duck’s back! k!

Also protects against corrosion, etching and reduces mould and algae build up. Professional application of EnduroShield with commercial strength product by local applicators.

Give your Concrete a Colour It Australia Makeover N& COME I UGE RH SEE OU AREA Y DISPLA • stamp • stencil • topcrete • sealers • epoxy coatings • colour in the mix for domestic & commercial applications

Ask about our glass scratch and hard water stain removal too! Call to find out more 1300 253 271 or 1300 CLEAR 1 www.scratchlessglass.com.au

24hr display: 20 Endeavour Dr, Kunda Park

PHONE: 07 5445 2399 E: sales@ciaconcrete.com.au www.ciaconcrete.com.au

14 My Renovation | May, 2016

14.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:11:54 AM


Fire up The luxurious bathroom is all about the finer details such as ornate furniture, wall prints, an occasional chair and fireplace. An indoor fireplace will introduce warmth and comfort into your bathroom. Talk to your local experts about the best option for your home.

TIP

Encourage natural light, and lots of it. Try to incorporate plenty of glass with large windows, clear showers and big mirrors.

*

WIN A GARAGE FLOOR EPOXY CONCRETE COATING

CARPET | TIMBER | VINYL | BAMBOO LAMINATE | CARPET TILES Suppliers of quality floor coverings to the Sunshine Coast and surrounding areas

P: 5443 1295 73-79 WISES ROAD, MAROOCHYDORE www.impactfloorsqld.com.au

GIVE YOUR GARAGE FLOOR A FACELIFT

• RESIDENTIAL

• INDUSTRIAL

• COMMERCIAL

Name .............................................................................................................................................. Address .......................................................................................................................................... Phone ................................................................Mobile ................................................................. Drawn: June 30, 2016

Email ...............................................................................................................................................

DROP YOUR ENTRY INTO CUSTOMFLEK’S NEW SHOWROOM 19 Daniel St, Caloundra P: 5438 9338 or Mike 0487 999 902 www.customflek.com.au or at CIA Concrete Showroom 20 Endeavour Drive, Kunda Park

COLOUR IT AUSTRALIA Decorative Concrete Products

*Terms and conditions apply. Each entrant shall be entitled to make one (1) entry into the giveaway only and the entry must be an original copy obtained from My Renovation magazine. CustomFlek’s decision is final with respect to all matters relating to awarding of the promotional prize and shall not be subject to review or appeal by any entrant or by any third party. All entry form information will be kept private and confidential though your participation in the giveaway is considered your agreement that CustomFlek may contact you. The prize is neither transferable nor can be exchanged for money and must be used in 12 months from day of draw. The prize is to be used on one (1) property and must be located on the Sunshine Coast. Concrete must be already existing and in good condition. CustomFlek reserves the right to disclose winner’s name and identity. Winner will be notified by phone/email. QBCC Licence #1275579.

My Renovation | May, 2016 15

15.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:13:03 AM


PAINT //

How to: PAINT THE HOUSE EXTERIOR

H

ere is some advice from the experts at Taubmans on how to prep your house to paint the exterior correctly. For more information on painting and products, visit taubmans.com.au • Wash walls with a sponge, then hose down and allow time to dry • Bleach any walls that have mould • Check the walls for surface damage or bumps and scrape off any loose or flaking paint • Use a pre-mixed grade filler to fill dents or nail holes in the walls • For cracks or gaps, use acrylic

PROTECT your pride and joy

Skillion - Gable - Fly-over Proudly 20+ years local QBCC# 1242525

Unit 1/32 Premier Cct, Warana | Phone: 5437 9525 | www.coastalpatios.com.au

gap sealants that are paintable • Once the fillers and sealers have set, sand down the areas • Spot prime the filled areas with a sealer prime undercoat • To finish, apply painter’s masking tape to fittings such as trims, windows and doors.

TIP Don’t forget to remove pot plants, garden hoses and other items located near the house

LOOKING FOR FLOOR & WALL COVERINGS? Refresh your home with a modern look at a competitive price

DIRECT IMPORTERS OF TILES, STONE, CARPET, TIMBER & BAMBOO FLOORING SUPPLY AND INSTALL - PERSONAL SERVICE - EXPERT ADVICE

Open Monday to Friday from 8am

NORM EVANS FLOORS

PH: 5476 6022

Your builders preferred supplier

1-9 ENDEAVOUR DR, KUNDA PARK

16 My Renovation | May, 2016

16.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:14:05 AM


Into the mix No two tins of paint are exactly the same so it’s important to think ahead when painting a large area of your home. If you require more than one tin, mix the quantities together in a large bucket. This will ensure there are no slight inconsistencies in colour.

WHAT’S NEW? According to its developers, the new Dulux Wash&Wear sets a new standard in performance for stain resistance and toughness. It’s available in a wide range of types including low sheen, super matt, super tough and super hide.

My Renovation | May, 2016 17


DON’T GOING...

MISS

OUT

HUGE

FLOORSTOC

CLEARANCE PRICE

NOW

$2,249

7 SAVE $74

Craigeburn i b 3pc Casual Setting RRP $1,499

CLEARANCE PRICE

NOW

$1,249

0 SAVE $25

CLEARANCE PRICE

Sonoma Corner Lounge RRP $2,996

18.indd 1

Sunrise/Atlantis 9pc Dining RRP $1,599

NOW

$1,099

0 SAVE $50

22/04/2016 11:14:46 AM


.

GOING...

OCK SALE CLEARANCE PRICE

NOW

Solarmax Umbrella RRP $2,499 Sofia 4pc Lounge RRP $2,196

CLEARANCE PRICE

NOW

$1,649

7 SAVE $54

$1,799

0 SAVE $70

Fantasy Daybed RRP $1,699

NOW

$1,349

0 SAVE $35

Whatever your space, taste and lifestyle talk to the Specialists today and Save! MAROOCHYDORE 5452 7833 Maroochydore Homemaker Centre 55 Maroochy Boulevard ASPLEY 3263 8666 FORTITUDE VALLEY 3252 2077 JINDALEE 3279 3522

19.indd 1

CLEARANCE PRICE

tofs.com.au

22/04/2016 11:15:38 AM


TIPS //

FRESH COAT The front door is the entry point to your home. Freshen it up with a coat of paint. It’s a quick job that will brighten up your property instantly.

TIP Dress the windows Don’t dismiss your windows as they can be an interesting interior focal point. With the right blinds or curtains they can add to the aesthetic style of your home.

Before you begin your renovation project, remove and put away any valuables. Remodelling is a big project that can be dusty and create clutter. You don’t want to be worried about damaging any of your valuable items.

Flat packs made easy! We design and customise your flatpack kitchen Our point of difference from large hardware stores is that we perfectly design and manufacture your kitchen to your needs. You no longer have to compromise with a one size fits all product. Let Cut N Edge prove that we can make your kitchen, save you money and give you a kitchen you will be proud to show off for years to come. • Quality craftsmanship made with the material you want • A price difference you just won’t beat when compared to a custom fitted kitchen • Our team of specialists will even come and install it! CUSTOM SHELVING SERVICING THE COAST FOR 20 YEARS

Buy direct from the factory

 Kitchen makeovers  Replacement doors  Replacement benchtops  Flat pack  Kitchens  Vanities  Laundries  Wardrobes  Assembled units  TV entertainment units  Complete installation service

INSTALLATIONS ONSITE

COME AND SEE US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION AND QUOTE 1/11 Machinery Ave, Warana P. 5493 4577 www.cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au Email: info@cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au 20 My Renovation | May, 2016

20.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:20:46 AM


Wonderwall When hanging wallpaper ensure that the first piece is straight. If the first one is placed on the wall crooked, it will set the entire pattern and you’ll be stuck with a wonky finish.

DID YOU KNOW? It’s best to lay laminate flooring on a cooler day.

Forward planning Before you begin renovating, take the time to think about each room and what it is used for. Identifying its specific uses and the things you like, and don’t like, will assist in the planning and design process.

SPRUCE UP YOUR OLD CONCRETE And add real value to your home • STYLISH • DURABLE • SEAMLESS • CLASSIC LIVING

BUY 4 LITRES AND RECEIVE A $15 CARD 10 LITRES A $25 CARD 15 LITRES A $30 CARD REWARD YOURSELF

Stencil Pattern Concrete

We will help you combine colours and patterns to create an appeal that will optimise your settings • All decorative products • Safety gear & environmental products • All your major brands commercial & domestic

• Epoxy seamless floors • Comprehensive range of tools • Extensive range of pigments • Joint Flex • Construction Grouts

Unit 1/28 Technology Drive, Warana Ph: 5493 2022 www.evergardcw.com.au

• Water Proofing • Curing Compounds • Steel Mesh & Accessories • Repair Grout & Epoxies • Concrete Machinery

21 Trinder Avenue Maroochydore T: 5443 7744 Corner Coora Crescent & Nicklin Way Currimundi T: 5439 2033 *Retail offer only. Full terms at haymesrewards.com.au. Offer open for eligible purchases 9am AEDST 10/3/16, close 5pm AEST 8/5/16. Claims must be received by 5pm AEST 30/6/16. Simply Woodcare products excluded. Limit 4 gift cards per household. Promoter: Henry Haymes Pty Ltd ABN 14 004 201 638. NSW Permit No. LTPS/16/00127, SA Licence No. T16/23.

My Renovation | May, 2016 21

21.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:22:06 AM


INSTAGRAM //

DESIGN LIFESTYLE

WE LOVE Bed linen, sheet sets, quilts and cushions – Adairs will have you set to snooze and also help you create a bedroom paradise. Check out their Instagram account for great products and design ideas.

Green Cathedral’s bespoke furniture is beautiful, unique and created in Noosa. Furniture designer and maker Tim Scarce creates everything from bedframes to benches and stools.

Found + Finish is an iinterior t ior design firm based in Nashville, New York City and Los Angeles specialising in commercial and residential design. The Instagram account is a great place to source inspiration and ideas for your own project.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation

FULL BATHROOM RENOVATIONS Suitable for every budget

Jerry offers a wide range of tiling services. Specialising in supply and installation. INDOORS • OUTDOORS • BATHROOMS LOUNGE ROOMS • BEDROOMS POOLS FEATURE WALLS • PATIOS FENCES & more!! Drop into our showroom and speak to our friendly team about a free quote 2/5 Premier Circuit Warana

5437 8582 www.jerryandthetilemakers.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8-4.30pm, Sat 8.30-1pm

TILEMAKERS

22 My Renovation | May, 2016

22.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:23:09 AM


// NEW PRODUCT

Get your message across with th

What’s new? PRODUCT: Miami Al Fresco bath fill BUY: rainware.com.au Do you dream of lying in an outdoor bath looking up at the night sky or relaxing under the shade of a tree? If so, this freestanding bath fill is for you. Elegant, modern and beautifully designed, the extended height and long reach of the bath spout enables you to fill a bath of any size. It features a hot and cold mixer tap, 10 year warranty and an unrestricted flow outlet.

RENOVA TION

55,000 COPIES

PRO JEC

TS | DES IGN | PRO DU

CTS

from only

$

315

ISSUE 49

| MARCH

DIGITAL EDITI

HANDY H

EDITION

ONS & MOR

E >> MYW

AVOIDING

2016

EEKLYPREV

IEW.COM.A

U

ELP

RENOVA PITFALLS TION

per month

RENOVATION The renovation industry on the Sunshine Coast is big business, accounting for the majority of residential building activity in 2015. Published monthly, and the only publication of its type on the Coast, My Renovation is inserted in My Weekly Preview and distributed to 55,000 homes. It is a must if your business is targeting the many thousands of home renovators across the region.

Contact Bethan Eaton

Proudly produced by

0413 958 196 beaton@myweeklypreview.com.au www.myweeklypreview.com.au

Helping you to

TAKE YOUR LANDSCAPING IDEAS THROUGH TO COMPLETION • Pavers • Retaining Wall Blocks • Natural stone • Wall Cladding

• Living Walls • Paver & Masonry sealers • Living turf & synthetic grass • Garden edging

iLandscape.com.au is your first click in landscaping. iLandscape Sunshine Coast can assist you with everything you need to get the job done right, from quality landscaping products to choosing the correct contractor, we are here to assist you with your every landscaping requirement. As about our price match guarantee.

200 Nicklin Way, Warana. Phone 5493 5975. www.ilandscape.com.au My Renovation | May, 2016 23

23.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:25:17 AM


OUTDOOR //

STEP OUT OF THE KITCHEN

W

hen it comes to cooking great tasting barbecue food, it helps to have a few tricks up your sleeve. Having a good selection of barbecue accessories at hand can lift your barbecue entertaining skills, say experts. Here are the top barbecuing tips from BeefEater Barbecues to ensure your outdoor entertaining area is terrific... TOOL SET It’s worth investing in a good quality tool set that can handle the high temperatures, oil and fat from the barbecue. Barbecue tools, unlike kitchen implements, need to have extra long handles for safety purposes.

ROASTING EQUIPMENT Roasting a whole bird or joint of meat on the barbecue is easier than you think with the right equipment. Opt for a high quality roasting dish such as the BeefEater BUGG Enamel Baking Dish which is especially made to withstand high barbecue temperatures. Use it with a roast holder to cradle your meat as it cooks. PIZZA STONE SET Enjoy the authentic taste of pizza cooked on the barbecue, then served to eager diners with the right equipment for the job. Pizza stone sets are easy to use. Visit beefeaterbbq.com

Create your own private haven... with a designer fence system • High impact resistance • Will never crack or leach, no efflorescence • Increased street appeal • Highly adaptable to all sites • Unlimited design possibilities • Design service available • Sunshine Coast manufacturers • A network of qualified contractors • Patent pending

FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL 0416 158 045 sales@greenblocksystem.com.au | www.greenblocksystem.com.au au u 24 My Renovation | May, 2016

24.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:26:22 AM


SUPA CHEAP CARPETS & INTERIORS

Hide away If your budget doesn’t stretch to including a complete outdoor area for your barbecue, like this one from BBQ and Fireplace Centre, construct a custom-built hutch. It will enclose your barbecue and protect it from the weather, plus it looks great.

FOR

“CALL NOWOTE!” U

A FREE Q

NICE AND NATURAL An entertainment area will benefit from an injection of colour. When choosing plants for potting, or for nearby gardens, include some citronella. The vibrant green is pretty but the plant will also aid in keeping mosquitoes away.

The carpet store with more! CARPETS, TILES, VINYL PLANKS, SYNTHETIC GRASS, BLINDS, AWNINGS, ADVICE

Unit 2/4 Waterview St Warana Phone 5493 7780

www.supacheapcarpets.com.au

THE kitchen & bathroom makeover SPECIALISTS Our Trend Surfaces engineered stone can be fitted directly over existing surfaces in as little as 1 day, with no demolition required. Heat, scratch, stain and impact resistant covered with a 10 year warranty. We specialise in kitchen makeovers, new kitchens, bathrooms and laundries.

‘The best kitchen renovation I’ve ever had was with Granite Transformations’

Fit your new kitchen directly over your existing surface

Ita Buttrose - Brand Ambassador

PHONE 5446 4548 3/4 Access Crescent, Coolum Beach www.granitetransformationsqld.com.au

BSA 1012813

My Renovation | May, 2016 25

25.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:27:37 AM


finishing touches Advice and ideas to turn your renovation into a home

WE LOVE

BLUE MOOD The colour blue is calming yet playful. Bring it into your décor in various tones ranging from denim to sky blue. It works well with timber flooring and furniture to develop a coastal feel, which is perfect for our lifestyle. We think this outdoor room is great inspiration for the renovator. The tones of green, bamboo and blue work together perfectly.

Spoil Mum... with artt and homewares

This quirky chair comes from Innovative Furnishings and Décor. Phone 5452 6885.

COASTAL REFLECTION Patterned cushions should be teamed with plain and textured pillows. The different elements will work together nicely on couches or beds. This pretty cushion is from Go Arty.

TRANSFORM

your wardrobe storage

• Glass splashbacks • Robe Interiors • Shower Screens • Walk In Wardrobes • Wardrobe Doors • Walk in Pantry • Linen Cupboard

Create a personalised masterpiece or choose from our range

• Frameless Mirrors

Let Mum create her own artwork with one of our art classes or workshops. We have a huge range of homewares and retail art plus, Gift Vouchers available.

• Home Office

Retail art & homewares • Commissioned art • Art classes/workshops

goarty Gallery Classes Homeware

7 Norval Crt, Maroochydore | Phone 5451 1445

23 Enterprise St, CALOUNDRA P. 5491 7567

Open Mon-Fri 9-5pm & Sat 9-2pm | goarty.com.au | facebook.com/goingarty

www.hillswardrobes.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8.30-5pm Sat 9-12pm

26 My Renovation | May, 2016

26.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:28:50 AM


RUGS AND THROWS

PRETTY AS A PICTURE

With winter fast approaching now is the time to scout around to find soft throws and blankets to suit your interior design. Updating these items is an inexpensive way to spruce up your living room or bedrooms.

This painting is sure to brighten up any room. It will look great in a living room, bedroom or even in the bathroom to create a unique style. It’s available from Go Arty. Phone 5451 1445.

STORE IT When looking for storange options, think outside the square. Opt for unusual baskets, cubes and bowls that can hold everyday items to assist in keeping your kitchen bench or hall table clear of clutter. This small blue dipped belly basket is from Raw Sunshine Coast. Phone 0413 111 595.

FURNITURE, DECOR & MORE!

 l 

I N S T O R E N O W. . .

$699

$

Burn Finish Teak Console Assorted Styles

599 5 Round Ro R o Staggered Display Unit D

From $ $ $

Designer De esigner es sigg er Can signe Cane Chair hair

From $

Round Beach Wash Dining Setting

59

Jute Floor Rugs

Was $399

1499

Was $1999

79

Birds Nest Lantern Large/Small

$1399 $1595

O‫פ‬n 7

299

Was $1995

Ornamental Solid Buffet

From $

15

Assorted Pillows

Chunky Rattan Settee Tan Lounge

sales@innovativefurnishings.com.au • 100 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba • 5452 6885

$

1299

Was $1499

Natural Wax Day Bed

Innovative Furnishings & Decor My Renovation | May, 2016 27

27.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:31:42 AM


finishing touches

TAKE A SEAT Chairs – every home has them and everyone needs them. When selecting chairs for your home, be sure to spend time searching for the right ty type in regards to comfort, colour and style. From low stools to stoo and all the way in between, you will find chairs in an array bar stools of fabrics, materials and patterns to suit any home…

TIMBER This small, timber stool is from Innovative Furnishings & Décor. It will look great tucked into a bare corner of the living room or it can be used as a side table. Phone 5452 6885.

FABRIC It’s loud and proud and this floral number from Go Arty will iinject j tb bold ld personality lit into any room. Phone 5451 1445.

BRASS This beautiful brass metal stool not only makes for a stunning feature but provides extra seating when entertaining. It’s available from Domayne.

Custom Furniture crafted right here on the Sunshine Coast, using locally sourced materials. Stockists of a unique and eclectic range of homewares.

COME IN AND SEE OUR SHOWROOM 1-2/45 WISES RD MAROOCHYDORE OPEN FROM 6.30AM 6 30AM Located inside Things of Metal and Wood

0407 011 772 THINGSOFMETALANDWOOD.COM.AU MON-TUES 9-3PM, WED-FRI 9-4PM, SAT 9-1PM

28 My Renovation | May, 2016

28.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:33:30 AM


PLASTIC Dining chairs don’t need to be dull. Check out the bright blue Ask design from Dare Gallery. Made from polypropylene it features solid oak legs and a polyurethane cushion. It comes in a range of colours.

Huge range of curtains and fabrics to suit

METAL The use of metal and steel in dining room chairs is on the rise and numerous furniture stores now stock them. Steel grey looks terrific but you will also find a wide variety of colours if you scout around. This one is from Domayne.

Our talented design team can help you create beautiful home interiors. Our showrooms offer an extensive range of fabrics, window treatments and soft furnishings, together with a wide selection of exclusive furniture, one-off design pieces and original works. Proudly servicing the Sunshine Coast for 40 years.

Re-upholstery - Curtains & Blinds - Furniture - Shutters - Cushions

Phone 5444 2412 117 Brisbane Road Mooloolaba

Rob Larson’s CURTAINS INTERIOR DECOR

&

WE HAVE THE HEATER FOR YOU WHILE STOCKS LAST

$

1695

SPECIAL! BLAZE FS500LE Including a FREE flue kit (RRP $495) and FREE Tool set. FEATURES A 3 SPEED FAN AND CAN HEAT UP TO 180 m2!!

FS500LE*

* Picture is for illustration purposes only and installation is not included

We have the Coast covered and can organise all your installation needs Wood • Gas • Electric • Ethanol

DON’T BUY TILL YOU TRY THE BBQ & FIREPLACE CENTRE - NOW IN 3 GREAT LOCATIONS! MAROOCHYDORE Shop 4/125 Sugar Road 5443 7275 BIRTINYA Home Central, 566 Kawana Way 5493 3744 NOOSAVILLE 1/1 Gateway Drive 5473 0023 www.bbqandfireplace.com My Renovation | May, 2016 29

29.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:34:50 AM


JUST ARRIVED! A TRUCK LOAD OF FULL C FLOORSTOCK ONLY MEANS YOU CAN HAVE A NEW LO Bargain of the Year

LAST 2 LEFT! DON’T PAY $3800

Sale Price

$2200

2 Seater du dual recliner and 2 recliner chairs. Manual action. Full cowhide leather. Available in beige or coffee colour.

One off bargain!

Absolutely Ridiculous

DON T PAY $4500 DON’T

STUNNING! Made in Italy qu Sale Price

DON’T PAY

$3900

Italian leather. 3 seater, d du plus 1 x single electric rec recl arm chair. Neutral colou

Full storage chaise lounge

Gre

DON’T PAY $1950

4m

Sale Price

$2200 4 seater coffee lounge clipped in the middle.

Sale Price

$1490

ONLY 1 LEFT! DON’T PAY $3500

Full cowhide leather. Available in black only.

Australian Label Mattresses

2 Seater Leather Sofas

Sale Price

$750 each

First in best dressed! Available in grey or chocolate. Full cowhide leather.

30.indd 1

QUEEN PILLOWTOP (imported only)

$299

$299

SB KSS DB (double sided fabric) QB ensemble

FAMOUS QUALITY BRANDS

* All pictures for illustration purposes only.

QUEEN SIZE (double sided fabric)

Sale Price Contemporary style teal fabricc lounge. Full storage facility.

JUST

1 OF EACH STYLE AVAILABLE

Sale Price

$495

Smaller style handle action. Larger style trigger action.

Stunning Recliner Lounge DO DON’T PAY PA $1590 $1

Sale Price each

2 Seater dual manual recline

Single leather recliner barga

$149 $165 $260 $650

White Cowhide Leather Storage Ottoman

$99

$875

Sale Price

ONE ONLY!

$695

2RR Black cowhide leather. Electric El t i action. ti

2 individual pieces in a One set only. Available

LOUNGES 22/04/2016 10:35:52 AM


L COWHIDE LEATHER LOUNGES

PLUS LOTS, LOTS MORE!!

LOUNGE STRAIGHT AWAY! y quality!

L shaped leather bargain

2 seater dual electric recline recliner

3 seater q qualityy leather look ONE ON ONLY! ONL

ONE ONLY! Sale Price

$1990 PAY $10,000+ ater, d dual electric recliner ric rec recliner and 1 x single l colour. Oozes quality.

DON’T PAY SINGLE ELECTRIC RECLINER, NER $2900 RATCHET ACTION HEADRESTS. Black “cowhide leather”.

Sale Price

Sale Price

$1300DON’T PAY $2850

$990

l coffee colour leather One only

Duall electric recliner. D

(Image for illustration purposes only)

Best Buy! 2 For the Price of 1!

Great for Small Spaces

Contemporary styled chaise lounge

LAST ONE!

DON’T PAY $4000+

Sale Price

$2200 DO DON’T ON’T PAY $4500 al recliner + 2 single recliners. Available in coffee or beige. Full cowhide leather.

The epitomy of comfort with all electric ctric aaction ction

argains

DON’T PA PAY $1900

Sale Price

DON’T PAY $2500

$1350 for both

Sale From

AS PICTURED 2 seater + 2 chaise $2500

2 + 3 Seater set. Full cowhide whide leather. leather Available in beige. (Cushions for display purposes only).

$1900

2 seater and right or left hand chaise in beige and white.

5 piece Corner Lounge Sale Price

$2490 Sale Price

Bei cowhide leather. 2 x manual Beige recliners with one on the RHF chaise. recli

2 seater and right hand facing chaise. 2 matching single recliners. Plum colour only.

Sale Price

$1390 es in a neutral colour. Quality. vailable in contemporary grey.

TRADING HOURS Thursday 10-3.30pm

Sunday 10.30-1pm

Friday 10-3.30pm

Monday 10-3.30pm

Saturday 9.30-1pm

Wednesday 10-3.30pm

CLOSED TUESDAY CLOSED ALL PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

WE ARE NOW HERE

Technology Drive

Waterview St Super A-mart

Nicklin Way

DO DON’T PAY $2950 $

Production Ave

Tandem Ave

Contemporary styled fabric

(Image for illustration purposes only)

Texile Ave

$495

DON’T PAY $7900

$2900 DO DON’T PAY $6800

Kawana Way

Sale Price

Main Drive

20 Technology Drive, Warana Phone John 0437 717 780 (rear of Super Amart)

31.indd 1

22/04/2016 10:36:56 AM


GRAND OPENING

:HDUHRSHQLQJDQHZVWRUH DQGDOOVWRUHVDUHFHOHEUDWLQJ

20

to

60

% off

#

6DYLQJV$FURVVDOO6WRUHV .$:$1$

+RPH&HQWUDO.DZDQD .DZDQD:D\%LUWLQ\D RSSRVLWH6SRWOLJKW

)UHH&DOO

32.indd 1

22/04/2016 11:40:52 AM

Myreno51  
Myreno51