Page 1

RENOVATION PROJECTS | DESIGN | PRODUCTS

HANDY HELP AVOIDING RENOVATION PITFALLS ISSUE 49 | MARCH EDITION 2016 DIGITAL EDITIONS & MORE >> MYWEEKLYPREVIEW.COM.AU

1.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:06:03 AM


EDITOR’S NOTE & CONTENTS //

What’s inside

14 A better way to build Hebel is your 21st century alternative of the traditional brick and mortar construction method when building or renovating. Hebel provides the look and solid feel of masonry and then adding comfort, environmental and acoustic benefits that only a home built out of Hebel can deliver. • Speedy construction process • Fire resistant • Lightweight yet still tough and strong • Sound proof qualities • Thermal properties - great insulator Suppliers to the Sunshine Coast & hinterland regions Qualified licensed installers Call to arrange quotation for supply only and or install 0410 633 947

QEBS Quick Easy Building Solutions

FLOORING

The Renovation Specialists! CARPET | TIMBER | LAMINATE | RUGS | VINYL

HUGE RANGE OF QUALITY FLOORING

Editor’s note R

enovation. It’s a word that can send a shiver of fear down your spine, and rightly so. Taking on a renovation project is not a decision that is made lightly. It takes a lot of work, a lot of time and a lot of patience. But the rewards are endless and the sense of pride at the completion of your project will make it all worth it. To gut and rebuild a home from scratch is a pretty special thing. It is also a huge learning curve and often brings the start of a thing we like to call “the renovation bug’’. If you have a renovated property that you are proud of, let us know. We’d love to share your stories. Whether it’s an entire house, an outdoor area or specific room, My Renovation wants to showcase your work. Contact me via email at cholznagel@myweeklypreview.com.au In the meantime, we’ve got plenty to offer in this month’s mag. Our cover story has some nifty tips and tricks to get your started on your project and we are sure you’ll become a renovating enthusiast in no time. Happy reading!

Hard flooring from only $17m2

(Product only)

MAROOCHYDORE Maroochydore Homemaker Centre Maroochy Boulevarde 5452 1580 Harvey Norman® stores are operated by independent franchisees.

www.harveynorman.com.au/flooring

Cover story ........................ 4 Avoid renovating pitfalls

Kitchen .............................. 6 Dining and benchtops

Living .....................................8 Lighting and ceilings

Bedroom ..............................10 Creating space

Style .....................................12 Urban jungle

Changing rooms .................14 Creating a baby’s nursery

Flooring ...............................16 Best options for the kitchen

Tips ......................................18 Wallpaper, paint and light

Instagram.............................20 Best of Instagram

Outdoors .............................23 Fencing and screens

DIY ......................................24 Build a vertical garden

Finishing touches .............. 26 Products, tips and looks

AT BUILDERS PRICES

We GUARANTEE you cannot buy better!

28

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Bethan on 5444 0152. Sales: sales@myweeklypreview.com.au

2 My Renovation | March, 2016

2.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:07:12 AM


RENOVATE NOW WITH

48 MONTHS INTEREST FREE*

IT NOW W Y U

B

H IT

48 MONTH

Interest

VISIT OUR SHOWROOM ROOM 112 NICKLIN CKLIN WAY, WARANA

Ends 30

S

f r e e*

/04/16

Y NT RA

RRANTY WA

WARRANTY

Apollo Patios Sunshine Coast

YEAR

WARRANTY † WA R

CALL US NOW FOR YOUR PERSONALISED DESIGN ADVICE & RECEIVE YOUR COMPLIMENTARY QUOTATION:

WARRANTY W AR

WARRANTY

FREE DESIGN SERVICE | ADD VALUE TO YOUR HOME | LARGE VARIETY OF STYLES & DESIGNS | 2 CHOICES OF ROOF SHEETING

15

TY AN

Y NT RA

Apollo Patios can design an outdoor addition with your lifestyle in mind. Call today for an obligation free design consultation and see how you can start building a better lifestyle. Patios • Carports • Decks • Screen Enclosures • Patio Accessories • Shutters • Aluminium Louvres & Slats

WA RR

Apollo really helped us improve our lifestyle. Scan the QR Code below to see how they can help you.

See how our customers are enjoying their Apollo outdoors lifestyle

Ph: 07 5437 8124 or visit us at apollopatios.com.au *Approved applicants only on a Once Agile Visa card. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply including a $99 Annual Fee charged on the account open date and annually on the anniversary of the account open date. Minimum finance amount applies and is based on the promotional term. Interest, currently 19.95% p.a., is payable on any balance outstanding after the interest free period. Ask in store for details. Finance provided by Once Credit Pty Limited ABN 99 112 319 632, Australian Credit Licence Number 386194.48 Months Interest Free Offer. Minimum purchase $1,700. Offer ends 30/04/2016. Not available at all Apollo Patios Dealers. Apollo Durasheen paint finish with 15 year warranty. Photos are indicative only – Apollo Home Additions are individually designed and may vary from the photo. Construction by Freedom Patios Pty Ltd. QBCC Licence No: 1008851. FPA6121B.

FPA6121 RenovateNow indd 2 3.indd 1

16/02/16 9:50 AM 19/02/2016 10:59:13 AM


SUPA CHEAP CARPETS & INTERIORS

COVER STORY //

FOR

“CALL NOWOTE!” U

A FREE Q

The carpet store with more! CARPETS, TILES, VINYL PLANKS, SYNTHETIC GRASS, BLINDS, AWNINGS, ADVICE

Unit 2/4 Waterview St Warana Phone 5493 7780

www.supacheapcarpets.com.au Affordable 2 pack Buy direct from the manufacturer Ki Kitchens, Vanities & Robes a available in 2 Pack Gloss, Satin, Metallic finishes, and Melamine Various door designs Doors without handles

CUSTOMISED C USTOMISED DIY FLAT PACK KITCHEN SPECIALISTS

Cabinets pre-drilled for easy assembly Installation can be arranged

ColorVogue Kitchens is a family owned and operated business and has been established for 20 years on the Sunshine Coast. Open: Monday - Friday 8am-4pm, Saturday - By appointment

Phone: 5493 2566 Visit our display room at 14 Bearing Avenue, Warana (Off Main Dr) www.colorvogue.com.au E: info@colorvoguedoors.com.au

HINT When taking measurements, whether it’s for flooring, roofing or walls, be sure to double and triple check the figures.

TIPS AND TRICKS Follow My Renovation’s guide to avoiding renovating pitfalls.

A

nyone who has renovated at least one property will tell you it takes patience, commitment and a lot of hard work. There are many steps involved in converting your budget buy to the house of your dreams. Renovating involves everything from planning, budgeting, designing to ripping up floors and knocking down walls.

The good news though is that it’s worth all the blood, sweat and tears. These days there are so many great products available and dozens of experts in a range of fields who can help you complete the project. And, if you follow our list of mistakes to avoid, and tips to make it a breeze, you’ll become a renovating enthusiast.

4 My Renovation | March, 2016

4.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:07:48 AM


OVERALL PROJECT Underestimating costs This is a big one as you don’t want to start your project and run out of money before it’s completed. Be aware if your debt starts to increase. TIP TIP: IP: Th The k key iis to t plan. l The Th more thorough your planning nning and research is, the less likely you are to e a big mistake on your cost projections. projec make Source urce and d compare quotes t for f tradesmen t d and d m materials. Disproportionate budgets Make sure to do a thorough cost breakdown for each individual room. There is no point in committing to spend $20,000 on the bathroom and only $10,000 for the kitchen. TIP D TIP: Do your research h and d spend your money where ere it is needed. As a general rule of thumb, ng into consideration ation the size of your yo taking property, roperty your priorit priorities should be the kitchen, bathrooms and outdoor entertainment area/deck. ba Location If you are renovating for investment and plan to sell the house for a profit, make a wise choice when purchasing your property.

KITCHEN Space Have you ever owned a home that didn’t have enough kitchen bench space? Chances are, you have. Well, here’s your chance to correct the problem. When designing your kitchen include enough work space because it’s not a mistake that’s easily corrected.

TIP: Find a suburb that has real estate potential.. An n area that has room r for growth is a good choice. hoice Talk T lk to t agents agent and d research h market k t re reports.

TIP: P: Try to have at least two decent sized working workin n areas as in the kitchen. We p promise that you’ll appreciate ppreciate it once o tthe work is done.

Education Educate yourself. You can’t go into a renovation project blind. That’s when mistakes will happen. Read magazines, speak to people who have completed their own projects and seek advice from experts in each field including construction, design, flooring, kitchen, bathroom and electrical.

T Trendy vs traditional Many will agree that when it comes to the kitchen, it’s smart to keep cabinets and counter tops modern and practical. While you might want to make a statement, be practical about your theme and colours. Kitchens are expensive and you don’t want a style that will date.

TIP: If you know someone who has completed a renovation enovation novation project, projec invite them for coffee and spend end time going over their project. What W did d they hey learn? What would they change if they had had tthe time over again?

TIP: P: Keep colours neutral in tones of white, beige, beige grey, y, taupe and black. ck. Add colour and pattern patterned e design in the spla splashback or with your décor.

Cutting corners Whatever you do during your renovation, don’t cut corners. If you come across a problem, don’t ignore it but fix it before you continue. Otherwise, it might come back to haunt you further down the track. TIP: If you aren’t able to fix an issue, hire competent mpetent tradespeople who know what they are doing.

Design dilemma Visit kitchen display centres and homes to get a feel for layouts that are smart and flow smoothly. Think about how you cook in your kitchen and design the kitchen around your preferences. TIP Thi TIP: Think hi k twice i about b installing i an island sink. hile they y look nice, it can look untidy if you While leave ve even one or two wo dirty dishes there. the You ou may also so fall into the trap of using the area as a storage space for unopened mail and keys. st

BATHROOM Ventilation Do not overlook the importance of good ventilation in a bathroom, unless you want to regularly be removing mould from sinks and showers. Install an exhaust fan and have at least one window in your bathroom – even if it’s a small one. TIP: IP: Ensure the door or panels of your shower are e open and d do d nott enclose ose the unit. This will w provide id a way ffor ste steam to escape the shower. Keep the tub Removing the bath tub from your main bathroom is a real estate no-no, particularly if you are renovating to sell. It could possibly limits potential buyers. TIP: P: If you have a ssmall bathroom, consider installing nstalling lling a combine combined d shower h and d bathtub. bathtub b th Waterproofing You do not want water issues in your bathroom. Not only is it costly but it can be difficult to fix. Hire a plumber who can waterproof the bathroom correctly. TIP: If possible, hire a tradesmen who holds a certifi fied waterproofi p ng g licence,, this way y you y are confident the job o ha has been done properly. My Renovation | March, 2016 5

5.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:08:35 AM


KITCHEN //

Be bold Renovating the kitchen? Don’t forget the humble dining room in your plans. Brighten up the room with a splash of paint. We love this look. The blue paint teamed with the off-white rug and timber furniture is a match made in heaven. Use lighting, such as a chandelier, to complete the room.

Smooth finish If your budget doesn’t allow for a full overhaul of your kitchen you need to prioritise. One of the most visible and main elements of any kitchen is the benchtop. Therefore, your number one priority should be in investing in quality surfaces. There are numerous materials to choose from but for a lasting look choose clean, smooth lines in neutral tones.

TIP When looking at benchtop options consider cost, design, ease of cleaning and maintenance.

THE kitchen & bathroom makeover SPECIALISTS Our Trend Surfaces engineered stone can be fitted directly over existing surfaces in as little as 1 day, with no demolition required. Heat, scratch, stain and impact resistant covered with a 10 year warranty. We specialise in kitchen makeovers, new kitchens, bathrooms and laundries.

‘The best kitchen renovation I’ve ever had was with Granite Transformations’

Fit your new kitchen directly over your existing surface

Ita Buttrose - Brand Ambassador

PHONE 5446 4548 3/4 Access Crescent, Coolum Beach www.granitetransformationsqld.com.au

BSA 1012813

6 My Renovation | March, 2016

6.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:09:42 AM


Take note More often than not, a family’s activity centres around the kitchen. It’s the perfect place for to-do lists and job boards. Install a narrow built-in blackboard that can be used for reminders, messages and fun quotes. It is useful and adds a quirky, personalised touch.

Imagine... NO

MORE MAINTENANCE

Choose either Australian Powdercoated Aluminium or COLORBOND® Steel. All screens and gates are custom designed to suit your needs.

Safety first For a kid friendly kitchen install the oven off the ground and place the cooktop in an area that is not in the main thoroughfare.

• Awnings • Louvres • Shutters • Fencing & Gates • Insect & Security Screens

DIY FRIENDLY OR INSTALLED • CALL FOR A FREE MEASURE & QUOTE P. 5438 2866 or Mark 0424 984 785 9 Newing Way, Caloundra (off Mark Rd at Daniel St roundabout) www.superiorscreens.com.au E. mark@superiorscreens.com.au

Superior Screens ®

l i v i ng

er

Discover. Create. Live. with Inspiring Choices 2016 – out now! From entrances to the outdoors, Inspiring Choices 2016 features over 100 pages of the latest flooring trends, as well as decorating advice from your favourite interior writers and stylists - to help you discover, create and live your style.

Choices Flooring Maroochydore 3/32 Wises Road, Maroochydore

5443 6280 choicesflooring.com.au ONLY AVAILABLE AT

Visit our showroom to collect your free copy of Inspiring Choices 2016.

My Renovation | March, 2016 7

7.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:10:05 AM


LIVING //

SHINE A LIGHT

Custom colour This stunning room comes from Bronwyne Poole, the owner and founder of interior design company Touch Interiors which has offices in Sydney and Los Angeles. The custom made rug and artwork adds a pop of colour to the otherwise neutral space. Visit touchinteriors.com

Lighting is a key element of any comfortable space. We love this copper and teak Lane Lamp from Andrew’s Light Up. Floor lamps are also a great option. Visit lightup.com.au

Look up Talk to your architect about the possibility of constructing a unique vaulted ceiling. It creates a feeling of space and has a striking appeal.

RENOVATING OR BUILDING? YOU COULD WIN A MASSIVE $100,000 CASH* Just by spending $200 or more on genuine COLORBOND® steel for your home.

There is also $2,000* to be won in every state, every month, so the sooner you enter, the more chances you have to win! Come in and see the team at Metroll today.

Metal roofing • COLORBOND® fencing • Custom flashings • All rain water goods • Engineered patio & shed kits • Translucent sheeting ®

DIRECT TO THE TRADE AND THE PUBLIC, PHONE TODAY 5493 7872. 10 Bearing Avenue Warana. E: northcoast@metrollqld.com.au www.metroll.com.au

Metroll BETTER SERVICE • BETTER BUILDING SOLUTIONS

*Starts 12.00am AEST 1/9/15. Ends 11.59pm AEDST 29/2/16. Open to Aust. resident homeowners 18+ who spend min. $200 on COLORBOND® steel product/s for residential property they own b/w 1/5/15 – 29/2/16. Strict eligibility req. apply for purchase/s incl. roof purchases, see T&Cs. Keep receipt/s. Max 1 entry/person. Draws at 2pm, B6, 41-43 Bourke Rd, Alexandria, NSW 2015. Major Draw: 1/3/16. Major Draw Prize - $100K. 1 draw for each State/Territory (8 total) each promo. mth (“State Mthly Draws”). State Mthly Draws: 1st Tues. each month Oct ‘15 – Mar ‘16. State Mthly Draw Prize (1 per draw): $2K. Winners in The Australian 11/3/16 (Major Draw Winners); & 3rd Friday after each State Mthly Draw (State Mthly Draw Winners). Full terms at COLORBOND.COM/GENUWIN/TERMS. NSW LTPS/15/05606. ACT TP15/06610. SA T15/1212. COLORBOND® is a registered trade mark of BlueScope Steel Limited. GEN-U-WIN™ is a trade mark of BlueScope Steel Limited.© 2015 BlueScope Steel Limited. L11/120 Collins St, Melb., VIC 3000. ABN 16 000 011 058. All rights reserved.

8 My Renovation | March, 2016

8.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:10:31 AM


THINK BIG Are you a book lover, or enjoy quite time? If you don’t have the space to dedicate an entire room to a library, create a reading nook. Attach slimline shelves to a living room wall, or use a narrow bookcase. Add an occasional chair and lamp into the mix and you’ve got yourself a comfortable reading corner.

RENOVATE Cost effective solutions for every budget.

DON’T MOVE...

BEFORE

FREE UPGRADE Soft closing drawer system Conditions Apply.

KITCHENS • VANITIES • SHELVING • OFFICE

Natural elements A terrific living room should have lots of big, open windows. Keep the blinds open through the day to let the sun inside. The natural light will make the room bright and airy.

FINANCE OPTION AVAILABLE

askin cabinets 4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

BSA 742429

Lifetime Timbers Supermarket Everything for your DIY project and more! • Cypress now in store • Fencing • Decking & stains • Materials for pergolas • Gate frames made to order • Sleepers • F14 Hardwood • Kiln dried Merbau • Hardware to suit most jobs

For timber that will last a lifetime... *MENTION THIS AD AND WE’LL DELIVER LOCALLY FOR 1/2 PRICE! CORNER OF PRODUCTION AND BEARING AVE WARANA. PHONE: 5493 8022 WWW.LIFETIMETIMBERS.COM.AU

Life Time TIMBERS My Renovation | March, 2016 9

9.indd 1

22/02/2016 9:42:07 AM


BEDROOM //

Creating space Renovating a bedroom can be tricky especially if you are limited with space. Here are some tips on making the most of the area…

TIP

Smart storage If you are working with a small space and don’t have the luxury of extending the bedroom, be smart about storage. Use built-in cupboards and take advantage of the wall space around your bedhead or the doorway to install cupboards or shelves.

Instead of a dressing table, place a small unit of shelves or a chest at the foot of your bed.

Easy and affordable Does your bedroom have old cupboards that need updating? To keep costs down buy flatpack built-in robes or rip out the old shelving in existing cupboards and use simple rails and wire shelving. Rails are easy to install and are affordable too.

From concept to completion...we will make your dream kitchen a reality

RENOS, MAKE OVERS & NEW KITCHENS | LOCAL CUSTOM MADE JOINERY | FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED

Come and visit our showroom and meet with one of our qualified colour consultants and designers. Phone 5491 6999 | 7a Industrial Avenue Caloundra | www.kitchenshop.com.au Open Monday-Thursday: 8am-4pm, Fri: 8am-3pm, Sat: 8am-12noon.

QBCC #723287

10 My Renovation | March, 2016

10.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:11:08 AM


SPRUCE UP YOUR OLD CONCRETE Grab and go We love this idea from furnishing mega house Ikea. Place a few door knobs on the outside of your closet to hang the next day’s outfit so it’s ready to grab and go. It will save you time sorting through your closet.

And add real value to your home • STYLISH • DURABLE • SEAMLESS • CLASSIC LIVING

Stencil Pattern Concrete

We will help you combine colours and patterns to create an appeal that will optimise your settings Light space Knock into a wall and create a recessed space above the bed to store books and place an overhead lamp.

• All decorative products • Safety gear & environmental products • All your major brands commercial & domestic

• Epoxy seamless floors • Comprehensive range of tools • Extensive range of pigments • Joint Flex • Construction Grouts

• Water Proofing • Curing Compounds • Steel Mesh & Accessories • Repair Grout & Epoxies • Concrete Machinery

Unit 1/28 Technology Drive, Warana Ph: 5493 2022 www.evergardcw.com.au

NEED A FRESH NEW LOOK? It’s easier than you think with Impact Floors

CARPET | BAMBOO | TIMBER | VINYL | LAMINATE | CARPET TILES

Visit our showroom and our flooring experts will help you make the right selection every time.

73-79 WISES ROAD, MAROOCHYDORE P: 5443 1295 www.impactfloorsqld.com.au My Renovation | March, 2016 11

11.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:11:33 AM


STYLE //

Go green Potted greenery is a great way to introduce natural elements and light to any room. This Boston fern looks terrific in its white pot and will work well in a bathroom or living space. It’s available from Domayne. Visit domayne.com.au

URBAN JUNGLE

G loud Get Embrace the vibrant colours and patterns of the jungle and brighten plain walls with a mural, print or wallpaper that is sure to b grab the attention of visitors. g

Be bold and welcome the tropical trend into your home. It’s a style that’s going the mile. From cushions to throws and through to art work and décor there are endless ways to create an urban jungle.

Twinkle, twinkle Tealight candles don’t always have to be white and plain. Use them as a feature on your kitchen bench, shelf or dining table. Tealights look great in displays of three. Check out this palm tree ceramic tealight set from Milly and Eugene. They measure around 11cm tall and 7cm in diameter. You can buy them from Things of Metal and Wood. Phone 0407 011 772.

Rest and relax Create a tropical paradise in your bathroom by incorporating lots of plants, wicker and stone art work. Complete the look with crisp white and lime green bath towels.

WE LOVE Call on the colours of the wild when decorating. Introduce greens, blues and yellows with accent pieces such as this Art narrow vase in matte green from Domayne.

Little or a lot If you are unsure about going the whole hog with the tropical theme, work your way up to it. Use scatter cushions such as the Budgie SQ multi cushion from Kas Australia. Cushions are an inexpensive way to introduce a new theme into your home. They are easy to replace when you tire of the look.

12 My Renovation | March, 2016

12.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:12:03 AM


H C R MADNESS MA F F O 20L % S T C U PROD AL *

Some

tio nd condi a s n o i t p exce

. ns apply

Support local small business

VISIT OUR SHOWROOM TO SEE OUR RANGE & MEET OUR EXPERIENCED, FRIENDLY AND DEDICATED STAFF

>> CUSTOM MADE BLINDS >> READYMADE BLINDS >> SHUTTERS >> AWNINGS >> SECURITY >> CURTAINS

CALL NOW FOR A FREE MEASURE AND QUOTE 20 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore 5475 4199 | Shop 9/70 Redland Bay Rd, Capalaba 3823 1388 *Sale ends 31 March 2016.

13.indd 1

www.theblindsplace.com.au 19/02/2016 11:04:31 AM


CHANGING ROOMS //

Sweet dreams Nine months seems like a long time to be pregnant but you’ll be surprised just how quickly time flies. To ensure you don’t leave nursery planning until the last minute, My Renovation has some great ideas to help you achieve a beautiful space for your new bub…

TIP

We love This nursery design by Sunshine Coast-based business Winnie Dot Label is nothing short of beautiful. The rose gold cot and splashes of pale pink teamed with white work brilliantly together. You can check out their range of handcrafted, bead garlands and bunnies at winniedot.com.au

When choosing a theme – whether it features characters, animals or simply a colour – stick with it. It will create a cohesive design that is calming to bub. Interesting art will also stimulate baby’s brain and senses.

Safety first Don’t forget to bolt furniture, such as dressing tables and bookshelves, securely to walls to keep your baby safe. You can purchase furniture wall safety strap kits from hardware stores. They are easy to use – just follow the instructions on the packet.

Tiles and bathrooms from around the world... on your doorstep Come into our showroom today and see our new shabby chic Italian porcelain tile collection. 110 Sugar Rd, Maroochydore Open Monday - Friday 8.30am - 5pm Saturday 9am - 1pm

P: 5479 5779

www.naturaltile.com.au

Shabby Chic Natural Tile

14 My Renovation | March, 2016

14.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:12:25 AM


Dreaming of enjoying your SUMMER OUTSIDE?

The new black Keep on trend and decorate in pastels - the new black when it comes to nursery design. Having a girl? Use varying shades of pink and cream. For boys, stick with tones of blue, grey and cream. Gender neutral colours that look great are soft lime, taupe and grey. Check out this nursery from spotthepenguin.blogspot.co.uk for inspiration.

Upcycle Don’t want to spend a thousand dollars on a cot? Buy a secure, second-hand one that you can clean up. Painting a cot is like anything. Sand it back, apply a primer and then use two coats of your chosen paint. Be sure to let the cot completely dry and air out so that there are no lingering paint fumes before moving it into the nursery.

Ask the Fly-Over Specialists!

QBCC# 1242525

Unit 1/32 Premier Cct, Warana | Phone: 5437 9525 | www.coastalpatios.com.au

Get your message across with

RENOVA TION

55,000 COPIES from only

PR O JE CT

S | DE SI GN

| PR O DU CT

S

$

315

per month

RENOVATION

The renovation industry on the Sunshine Coast is big business, accounting for the majority of residential building activity in 2015. Published monthly, and the only publication of its type on the Coast, My Renovation is inserted in My Weekly Preview and distributed to 55,000 homes. It is a must if your business is targeting the many thousands of home renovators across the region.

ISSUE 49 DIGITAL

| MARCH

EDITIONS

HANDY H

EDITION

& MORE >>

Contact Bethan Eaton

AVOIDIN G

2016

MYWEEK

LYPREVIE

W.COM.AU

ELP

RENOVA PITFALLS TION

Proudly produced by

0413 958 196 beaton@myweeklypreview.com.au www.myweeklypreview.com.au My Renovation | March, 2016 15

15.indd 1

22/02/2016 12:16:03 PM


FLOORING // Considering the kitchen Your kitchen deals with a large amount of foot traffic. It’s the room you not only prepare meals in, but it is the centre of family life and entertaining. When renovating choose floors that are hardy and easy to keep clean. Consider the kitchen’s size and select a colour, pattern and style that suits the countertops, cupboards and splashbacks. Explore these options: Hardwood – Wood floors are timeless, sophisticated and look terrific. An added bonus is that they are durable. However, they require maintenance and care. The upside is they are easy to clean by vacuuming and sweeping. Tile – This popular flooring is low maintenance and available in a wide range of colours and materials. Ensure tiles are sealed correctly after installation as this will give them a long life and make cleaning easier. Bamboo – Growing in the popularity stakes, bamboo flooring is perfect for renovators who are environmentally conscious. It’s easy to clean and available in natural and stained tones.

Create your own private haven... with a designer fence system • High impact resistance • Will never crack or leach, no efflorescence • Increased street appeal • Highly adaptable to all sites • Unlimited design possibilities • Design service available • Sunshine Coast manufacturers • A network of qualified contractors • Patent pending

FOR MORE INFORMATION CALL 0416 158 045 sales@greenblocksystem.com.au | www.greenblocksystem.com.au au u 16 My Renovation | March, 2016

16.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:13:07 AM


THE STAINLESS STEEL SPECIALISTS

Stylish choices Don’t limit yourself to plain carpet when selecting bedroom flooring. It’s a great choice as it is soft, comfortable and available in varying styles to suit every budget. A carpet’s durability depends on its fibre type and density. Fibre types can be natural such as wool, or manmade like nylon or polyester.

• Stainless Steel Kitchens • Restaurant and Kitchen Fit-outs • Commercial Exhaust Canopies • Outdoor BBQ Benches • Balustrading and Handrails • Aluminium and Steel Fabrication

WE LOVE

We love this design for a teenager’s bedroom. The flooring is neutral and easy to clean. The rug softens the look.

If you are SERIOUS about getting COLOUR perfect,

SERVICING QUEENSLAND

• Stainless Steel bench tops

D E S I G N • FA B R I C AT I O N • I N S TA L L AT I O N

ST CLAIR SHEETMETAL STAINLESS STEEL and SHEETMETAL SPECIALIST

327 MONS RD, FOREST GLEN. PHONE 5456 2711 E. admin@stclairsheetmetal.com.au www.stclairsheetmetal.com.au

WE ARE THE MASTERS OF COLOUR. ✓ Expert staff on-hand to answer your technical questions ✓ Helpful tips to complete your DIY job like a pro ✓ Easy parking right at the door ✓ Extensive range at affordable prices ✓ Plus we personalise your paint colours ✓ Latest colour forecast ✓ Extensive range of wallpaper books ✓ Free onsite colour consultancy

WE CAN SERIOUSLY HELP.

Call into our colour centre with this ad for your FREE sample pot!

21 Trinder Avenue MAROOCHYDORE 5443 7744 Corner Coora Crescent & Nicklin Way CURRIMUNDI 5493 2033 My Renovation | March, 2016 17

17.indd 1

22/02/2016 9:46:49 AM


TIPS //

DO THE RESEARCH If you are hiring builders, ask to view their work before signing them on to your project. This way you can see their quality and craftsmanship.

New look If your budget doesn’t allow for new bathroom or kitchen cupboards, paint the existing ones. Remove the handles, sand back and apply a primer. Once the primer is dry, paint the cupboards with two coats of semi-gloss acrylic.

Stay on track

Smart footprint

When renovating it is easy to get excited and caught up in the project. However, be sure to stay on track and stick to your budget and plan. Last minute changes will increase the cost.

Ensure every bit of floor space is well thought out, from the kitchen to the walk-in-robe. The aim is to reduce space wastage and utilise every nook and cranny of the house.

Quality stone has never been more affordable.

View our wide range of International stone in our showroom and be inspired. 97 Enterprise St, Kunda Park P. 5453 4401 www.creativestone.net.au

creativestone • Marble • Reconstituted Stone • Granite

18 My Renovation | March, 2016

18.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:13:55 AM


Sunshine surrounds Maximise natural light in your home as it will open up the area. Use large windows, glass doors and skylights.

Paper it Wallpaper should tell a story. Don’t think of it as something that has to work in with your furniture. Instead, build the rest of the room around your design.

LOOKING FOR FLOOR & WALL COVERINGS? Refresh your home with a modern look at a competitive price

DIRECT IMPORTERS OF TILES, STONE, CARPET, TIMBER & BAMBOO FLOORING SUPPLY AND INSTALL - PERSONAL SERVICE - EXPERT ADVICE

Open Monday to Friday from 8am

NORM EVANS FLOORS

PH: 5476 6022

Your builders preferred supplier

1-9 ENDEAVOUR DR, KUNDA PARK

My Renovation | March, 2016 19

19.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:14:22 AM


INSTAGRAM //

DESIGN LIFESTYLE

WE LOVE Pretty in Pine creates gorgeous handcrafted shelves and décor to decorate your walls and rooms. Whimsical unicorns and pastel rainbows are just some of the beautiful designs.

One Tiny Tribe is Aussie made and created for wildlings, dreamers, lovers, and adventurers the world over. Each One Tiny Tribe poster has an inspiring, fun and positive message.

E R O L A G S SPECIAL

Water Features 50 $2 from $

Sunshine Coast interior stylist Simone Barter knows what works. Follow her on Instagram for some great ideas for your home.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation

Call in today to see our extensive range of Bamboo fencing, Gazebo’s and water features to compliment any backyard pool.

statues 80 from $8 Smoked bamboo

Natural bamboo

Bamboo fencing from $70 1.8 – 2.4 heights

5 Sippy Downs Drive, Sippy Downs PHONE 5453 4655 bamboofencingqueensland.com.au | aussiegardens.com.au

20 My Renovation | March, 2016

20.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:15:15 AM


Take the plunge today... we will build a pool to suit your lifestyle and budget

Our service and quality speak for themselves and it’s something we pride ourselves on with 100’s of concrete swimming pools constructed from Brisbane ne tto oN Noosa. oosa.

HALF* PRICE SOLAR & HEAT

PUMP POOL HEATING SYSTEMS. CALL TO FIND OUT MORE TODAY!

Family owned and setting the standard Phone 5438 8046 | info@poolsbydesign.net.au | www.poolsbydesign.net.au *Conditions apply.

21.indd 1

BSA # 1169353

19/02/2016 11:10:12 AM


OUTDOOR //

Screen it Aluminium decorative screen panels are rising in popularity due to their durability and stylish design. Screens, such as this one from Protector Aluminium, look great in a pool area or alfresco dining and entertainment setting. Talk to your local fence specialist for expert advice.

Designer days Gone are the days of boring metal or wood fences. Consider installing a designer fence. Work with a company that can help you to create the right fit for your property. There are plenty of materials to choose from including traditional rendering, glass, corrugated iron, stained timber and the lightweight Greenblock rendered fencing system.

UP TO

90%

TIP

Chances are you have been running your airconditioner more than usual given the warmer weather. By shading the outside of your house, especially areas that are hit by the afternoon sun, you will reduce the inside temperature.

LESS CLEANING An invisible simple to apply coating for shower screens, windows, glass pool fences which repels water, soap scum and grime reducing cleaning time by up to 90%.

UNTREATED GLASS

TREATED GLASS

Makes cleaning a breeze! With just a once only application. Also protects against corrosion, etching and reduces mould and algae build up. Professional application of EnduroShield with commercial strength product by local applicators.

10 year guarantee on new glass and 3 year on existing glass and all stainless steel, tiles and grout.

It’s like water off a duck’s back!

Ask about our glass scratch and hard water stain removal too!

Call to find out more 1300 253 271 or 1300 CLEAR 1 www.scratchlessglass.com.au 22 My Renovation | March, 2016

22.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:16:06 AM


Give your Concrete a

Great escape Outdoor living spaces don’t have to be confined to a deck or attached patio. We love this backyard living room. Construct a roof structure or use a sturdy marquee. Add some comfortable furniture, beautiful lighting and you’ve got a great outdoor space to enjoy year round.

Colour It Australia Makeover N& COME I UGE RH SEE OU AREA Y DISPLA

Going up Vertical gardens don’t only look terrific but are a great option if you don’t have a large amount of space. They are perfect for outdoor terraces and will create a focal point in your home.

• stamp • stencil • topcrete • sealers • epoxy coatings • colour in the mix for domestic & commercial applications 24hr display: 20 Endeavour Dr, Kunda Park

PHONE: 07 5445 2399 E: sales@ciaconcrete.com.au www.ciaconcrete.com.au

Time for a new kitchen?

Wardrobes - Laundries - Bathrooms - Entertainment Units - Benchtops and Cabinetry for every room of your house Contact us now for a free no obligation consultation! Unit 1/22 Technology Dr, Warana Phone 5438 8663. www.aussiecut.com.au My Renovation | March, 2016 23

23.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:16:30 AM


DIY //

HOW TO BUILD A VERTICAL GARDEN

I

f you are limited for garden space but have a green thumb, why not consider constructing a vertical garden? This modern approach to gardening looks terrific and will spruce up any outdoor patio, balcony or entertainment area. You can use a variety of plants to achieve the look. Talk to your local gardening expert about choosing the right type of plants. Use your imagination with your vertical garden – do you want coloured pots, trays or boxes to plant your flowers? Once you have selected the location for your vertical garden it’s time to get started…

garden is installing the structure. Use a spirit level to measure up and outline on the wall where you are putting up the unit. If you don’t have a wall, use a pre-made wooden or bamboo structure that can be cemented into the ground. Step two Once you have the wall, or structure, ready, mark out where you are going to hang the pots or vertical garden unit. You can buy these units at various hardware stores. Alternatively, scout out mini crates, pots or buckets at secondhand or hardware places. Step three You need to buy wall plugs to fix the unit to the wall. Drill into the wall to create holes for your unit and then cut the plugs

Step one The first step in constructing your vertical

FULL BATHROOM RENOVATIONS Suitable for every budget

Jerry offers a wide range of tiling services. Specialising in supply and installation. INDOORS • OUTDOORS • BATHROOMS LOUNGE ROOMS • BEDROOMS POOLS FEATURE WALLS • PATIOS FENCES & more!! Drop into our showroom and speak to our friendly team about a free quote 2/5 Premier Circuit Warana

5437 8582 www.jerryandthetilemakers.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8-4.30pm, Sat 8.30-1pm

TILEMAKERS

24 My Renovation | March, 2016

24.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:16:57 AM


create organised storage space for all the rooms of your home to size and insert them into the holes. Step four To hang the frame, you will need to first screw the wall plugs into the wall. Once they are secure, add the frame and finish with hooks to hang your pots or

buckets. Step five The final step is to, of course, plant your flowers. Vertical gardens are also great for herbs. Be sure to check how much watering the plants require to ensure they remain healthy.

WE LOVE! Think outside the square and create a truly unique wall garden. This old bicycle will give your garden an old-charm kind of feel.

• Glass splashbacks

• Walk In Wardrobes

• Linen Cupboard

• Robe Interiors

• Wardrobe Doors

• Frameless Mirrors

• Shower Screens

• Walk in Pantry

• Home Office

23 Enterprise St, CALOUNDRA P. 5491 7567 www.hillswardrobes.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8.30-5pm Sat 9-12pm

My Renovation | March, 2016 25

25.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:17:18 AM


finishing touches Advice and ideas to turn your renovation into a home DESERT DESIGN Looking for a cushion that stands out from the rest? This quirky pillow is available from Innovative Furnishings & Décor. Phone 5452 6885.

WE LOVE

We want one of these vibrant I’m Watching You prints from Domayne. Visit domayne.com.au

SUMMER LOVIN’ SU No ready to say goodbye to summer? Don’t worry, neither is the Not team at My Renovation! While changing seasons usually mean a te change of style, if you love something don’t be afraid to stick with it. ch The coastal lifestyle undoubtedly influences our home environment. Th Use bright colours to bring a summer vibe into your home. Us

FURNITURE, DECOR & MORE!

 l 

I N S T O R E N O W. . .

NEW RANGE Natural Wash Hall Table

$

159

From

Was $199

$

Carved Hall Table $

1499

Was $225

Was $1999

Lantern

Round Beach Wash Dining D Din ninngg S Setting Set tti tti t

299

$

59

Jute Floor Rugs

Was $399

$

175

$

Designer De esigner es sigg er Can signe Cane Chair hair

99

$

Was W Wa a $129

Timber Tim Ti wi w i rack wine

159

Was $199

Stool/Table

$

79 Urn $

$

O‫פ‬n 7

899 Was $999

Plantation 2 Seater Sofa

From $

49

Assorted Baskets

FFrom $

15

Assorted Pillows

sales@innovativefurnishings.com.au • 100 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba • 5452 6885

1299

Was $1499

Natural Wax Day Bed

Innovative Furnishings & Decor

26 My Renovation | March, 2016

26.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:17:41 AM


CITRUS CRUSH Don’t have a large budget for décor, or looking for something a little unusual? Look to everyday objects to brighten your room or outdoor setting. Fruit such as te lemons, oranges and limes create a fun feature piece.

PRETTY PETALS DARE TO BE DIFFERENT RENT Kitchenware, including tumblers, mblers, plates and bowls, is a great way to add a splash of colour to your décor. Don’t hide your pieces away ay but display a chosen few to inject personality into the room. m. This bamboo tray is available from m Dare Gallery. Phone 1300 113 3 273.

GET THE LOOK Dark wood looks stunning against a colourful interior. The Recife coffee table is available from Recliner House. Phone 5443 6800.

Lighting is often overlooked as a way to invest in your interior design theme. However, there is a huge range of stylish lamps and shades on the market such as this one from Rob Larson’s Curtains and Interior Decor. Phone 5444 2412.

Release your creative mind...

book a workshop art class today EVENING LIFE DRAWING CLASSES - NOW AVAILABLE

Huge range of curtains and fabrics to suit

Prices are amazingly affordable depending on the size of canvas and level of technicality you decide to paint. Please contact us to reserve your seat!

Our talented design team can help you create beautiful home interiors. Our showrooms offer an extensive range of fabrics, window treatments and soft furnishings, together with a wide selection of exclusive furniture, one-off design pieces and original works. Proudly servicing the Sunshine Coast for 40 years.

Retail art & homewares • Commissioned art • Art classes/workshops

Re-upholstery - Curtains & Blinds - Furniture - Shutters - Cushions

GREAT FOR A HENS NIGHT! We offer some of the most popular Sunshine Coast Art Classes! Workshops are flexible and designed to suit your needs. Come in for half a day, a whole day, or do it over several days - we’ll fit in with your schedule.

goarty Gallery Classes Homeware

7 Norval Crt, Maroochydore | Phone 5451 1445 Open Mon-Fri 9-5pm & Sat 9-2pm | goarty.com.au | facebook.com/goingarty

Phone 5444 2412 117 Brisbane Road Mooloolaba

Rob Larson’s CURTAINS INTERIOR DECOR

&

My Renovation | March, 2016 27

27.indd 1

22/02/2016 9:39:43 AM


finishing touches

GO NATURAL

RETRO REVIVE The retro revival has crept into interior design trends in the form of fabrics, patterns and furniture styles. When going down the vintage path, think beyond the obvious colours and décor. Retro doesn’t have to be tacky – incorporate soft pastels with quirky pieces.

A natural floor mat made of jute or bamboo looks great when teamed with colourful pieces such as a funky occasional chair or wall hanging. This mat is from Raw Sunshine Coast. Phone 0413 111 595.

RE-CYCLING Have an old bike lying around? Revamp it for your garden or outdoor entertainment area. We promise that it will become a talking point among your guests. Fill the basket with flower seedlings and attach a brightly painted wooden box to the rear of the bike and plant some greenery such as a fern.

WE HAVE THE HEATER FOR YOU

We have the Coast covered and can organise all your installation needs Wood • Gas • Electric • Ethanol

DON’T BUY TILL YOU TRY THE BBQ & FIREPLACE CENTRE - NOW IN 3 GREAT LOCATIONS! MAROOCHYDORE Shop 4/125 Sugar Road 5443 7275 BIRTINYA Home Central, 566 Kawana Way 5493 3744 NOOSAVILLE 1/1 Gateway Drive 5473 0023 www.bbqandfireplace.com 28 My Renovation | March, 2016

28.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:18:50 AM


TAKE A SEAT Occasional chairs look great in the living room. Not only are they stylish, but practical. Here are two from Dare Gallery, Maroochydore.

THE OUT-THERE The Bright Lights wing chair screams retro with its mismatched, crazy patterns and bold colours.

THE TAME The Margo one seat sofa has a sophisticated, retro feel to it and will work in with most interiors.

DIRECT FROM NEW YORK AND LA

environment furniture® is now e available exclusively at Recliner House COME AND SEE THESE TIMELESS, CONTEMPORARY PIECES, WE KNOW THE PRICES WILL SURPRISE YOU With a design philosophy that respects the planet, they combine an understated elegance with rugged sophistication, by the re-use of naturally patinaed Brazilian Peroba Rosa wood and salvaged maritime shipping beams.

WALL CONSOLE 710H X 1570W X 460D MIRROR 1220D X 810W

Scandi inspired interiors

SANTOMER ROUND COFFEE TABLE 380H X 1220DIA

These functional pieces are monuments to sustainable living. Reclaimed and recycled wood, exposed to the elements for decades, creates a natural weathered look that no artificial means can recreate.

CAMPINAS END TABLES 390H X 720W X 600D & 390H X 600W X 600D SANTOMER COFFEE TABLE 405H X 1270W X 710D

LEBLON BUFFET 900H X 1400W X 500D

% INTRODUCTORY DISCOUNT

10

Mention this advertisement and we’ll give you 10% off your purchases

CUSTOM MADE FURNITURE + HOME WARES + GIFTS

Open 7 Days Ph 5443 6800

Shop 201 The Zone, 32 Wises Rd, Maroochydore 0413 111 595 www.rawsunshinecoast.com.au

Maroochydore Homemaker Centre 11-55 Maroochy Boulevard, Maroochydore info@reclinerhouse.com.au | www.reclinerhouse.com.au My Renovation | March, 2016 29

29.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:19:45 AM


JUST ARRIVED! A TRUCK LOAD OF F FLOORSTOCK ONLY MEANS YOU CAN H 3.2m

Valued at $7000 for

3.2m

ONLY 1 LEFT!

UNDER $3000!

Sale Price

$2900

5 Seater corner lounge in black full cowhide leather. 1 x Electric recliner, 1 x R/H or L/H electric chaise. Only available in black.

DON’T PAY $7000

One off bargain! DON T PAY $4500 DON’T 4m

Sale Price

$2200 4 seater coffee lounge clipped in the middle.

Swivel and footstool

Contemporary style blue fabric lounge. Full storage facility.

Full storage chaise lounge

Sale Price

$245

QUEEN SIZE

QUEEN PILLOWTOP

(double sided fabric)

(imported only)

$299

$299

SB KSS DB (double sided fabric) QB ensemble KB pillowtop

2 Seater Leather Sofas

(Picture is for illustration purposes only)

DON’T PAY $1950

DON’T PAY $990

Australian Label Mattresses FAMOUS QUALITY BRANDS

Bargain of the Year

$149 $165 $260 $650 $490

White Cowhide Leather Storage Ottoman

Sale Price

$875

Contemporary style blue fabricc lounge. Full storage facility.

2 Seater dual manual recline

Don’t Miss this Bargain

Comfort

2.9m

2.1m

Sale Price

ONLY 1 LEFT! DON’T PAY $3950

$1750

L-Shaped lounge. Available in chocolate and black. Full cowhide leather.

Quality 2 Seater Fabric Lounge unge LAST SET LEFT!

Sale Price

BUY

$1490 DON’T 2x2 seater sofas. Full co

Bargain Single Sale Price

Sale Price

$750 each

First in best dressed! Available in grey or chocolate. Full cowhide leather. * All pictures for illustration purposes only.

30.indd 1

Sale Price

$99 each

JUST

Sale Price

$850 for both

2 x 2 Seater. Quality fabric. Cushions included.

$495

2 for $950 Full cowhide leather. Availa

LOUNGES 22/02/2016 1:04:12 PM


F FULL COWHIDE LEATHER LOUNGES

N HAVE A NEW LOUNGE STRAIGHT AWAY Super comfortable leather set

ain

Sale Price

$2200 2 Seater dual recliner li and d 2 recliner ecliner chairs chairs. Manual act action. tion. Full tion. Ful cowhide leather. Available in beige or coffee colour.

$1700

DON’T PAY $3800

2 + 3 seater. Neutral colour, quality leather, great comfort!

Best Buy! 2 For the Price of 1!

Contemporary styled chaise lounge

DON’T PAY $4000+

Sale Price

$2200

s. Full cowhide leather.

Single Recliner

s

Sale Price

$3700

The epitomy of comfort with all electric ctric aaction ction

2 seater and right hand facing chaise. 2 matching single recliners. Plum colour only.

$1900

2 seater and right or left hand chaise in black, coffee, beige and white.

Absolutely Ridiculous

Sale Price

2 Seater. Right hand facing chase lounge. Matching 2 seater dual recliner and single recliner. Chocolate colour only.

$3500 DO DON’T PAY $6800

r. Available in coffee colour.

2 + 3 Seater Set. Full cowhide whide leather. leather Available in beige. (Cushions for display purposes only).

00 1 SET ONLY! DON’T PAY $6900

Sale Price

50

for both

$1490 ONLY 1 LEFT!

DON’T PAY $3500 DO

Full cowhide leather. Available in black.

TRADING HOURS Thursday 10-3.30pm

Sunday 10.30-1pm

Friday 10-3.30pm

Monday 10-3.30pm

Saturday 9.30-1pm

Wednesday 10-3.30pm

WE ARE NOW HERE

Technology Drive

Waterview St Super A-mart

Nicklin Way

ON’T PAY $2900

$1350

Brilliant value vaalue for money, mon ney, all electric action! n

mfort Plus

BUY THE SET

DON’T PAY $2500

Sale Price

AS DISPLAYED 2 seater + 2 chaise $2500

Production Ave

CLOSED TUESDAY

Tandem Ave

al recliner + 2 single recliners. Available in coffee or beige. Full cowhide leather.

Sale Price

Texile Ave

DON’T PAY $4500

DON’T PAY $3000+

Kawana Way

Great for Small Spaces

Sale Price

Main Drive

20 Technology Drive, Warana Phone John 0437 717 780 (rear of Super Amart)

31.indd 1

22/02/2016 1:05:27 PM


save

save

20%

25

%

SAVE up to

60 OFF %

*

LIGHTS + LAMPS save

60% ssave sa ave

25% save

25% .$:$1$

+RPH&HQWUDO.DZDQD .DZDQD:D\%LUWLQ\D RSSRVLWH6SRWOLJKW

)UHH&DOO

32.indd 1

19/02/2016 11:17:07 AM

Myreno49  
Myreno49