Page 1

RENOVATION PROJECTS | DESIGN | PRODUCTS

BACK TO BASICS

THE RESURGENCE OF THE BREEZE BLOCK ISSUE 77 | JULY EDITION 2018 DIGITAL EDITIONS & MORE >> MYWEEKLYPREVIEW.COM.AU

01.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:47:51 AM


EDITOR’S NOTE & CONTENTS //

What’s inside

TRANSFORM

your wardrobe storage

12

• Glass splashbacks • Robe Interiors • Shower Screens • Walk In Wardrobes • Wardrobe Doors • Walk in Pantry • Linen Cupboard • Frameless Mirrors • Home Office

23 Enterprise St, CALOUNDRA P. 5491 7567 www.hillswardrobes.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8.30-5pm Sat 9-12pm

MAKE YOUR GARAGE AMAZING WITH

EPOXY GARAGE FLOORING EPOXY DOUBLE GARAGE From $1,699

Epoxy floors are seamless and extremely abrasion resistant. Making it the ideal concrete surface treatment when durability, resistance to heavy foot traffic and minimal maintenance is important.

Editor’s note

A

ustralia is home to some of the world’s best architects. All you have to do is look around our cities and towns to see the impact and influence these men and women have on society. They create trends, inspire ideas and break down barriers with their designs. And, this month we have the pleasure to feature not one, but two of our country’s greatest in our cover story– Sally Wilson of SW. Architects and Eva-Marie Prineas of Architect Prineas. Both these award-winning women have created masterpieces from a popular product of the 1950s – breeze blocks. Once the go-to material for homes in tropical locations far and wide, from Queensland to California, breeze blocks are now being used in new ways. From internal wall features to kitchen benches, the product is fast becoming a popular building material in modern design. We have the honour of featuring the stunning Breeze Block House by Architect Prineas on the cover (image by Katherine Lu). You can read the story on page 4.

20 Cover story .............................4 Return of the breeze block

Kitchen ........................................6 From pretty pantries to shelving

Bathroom ...............................8 Renovation on a budget

Living .........................................10 New looks

Style............................................12 Velvet vibes

Expert advice............................14 With Emilia Johnston

Heating ......................................18 Adrian Ramsay’s top tips

Design inspiration...................20 Creating an envious space

Pool feature...............................22 Ideas and information

Finishing touches....................28 Advice and style tips

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation COLOUR IT AUSTRALIA Decorative Concrete Products

P: 5438 9338 or Mike 0487 999 902 19 Daniel St, Caloundra

www.customflek.com.au

If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Bethan on 5444 0152. Sales: sales@myweeklypreview.com.au

2 My Renovation | July, 2018

02.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:48:45 AM


A lifestyle built better by Apollo Patios T NOW W YI U

B

H IT

48 MONT

Interest frHS^ ee Ends 31/08 /18

APOLLO INSULATED

ROOF SHEETING & WALL PANEL NOW AVAILABLE

Patios • Carports • Decks • Screen & Glass Enclosures • Patio Accessories Blinds • Shutters • Aluminium Louvres & Slats

CALL YOUR LICENSED APOLLO PATIOS DEALER FOR AN OBLIGATION FREE DESIGN CONSULTATION:

Enjoy year round outdoor living at its best with Apollo Patios. Ask about our insulated roof sheeting and wall panel where supreme comfort, strength and style is all under the one roof. Now available with Apollo Patios.

Apollo Patios Sunshine Coast

07 5437 8124

customers are FREE DESIGN SERVICE | ADD VALUE TO YOUR enjoying their Apollo outdoors HOME | LARGE VARIETY OF STYLES & DESIGNS lifestyle 3 CHOICES OF ROOF SHEETING apollopatios.com.au See how our

apollopatios.com.au

SHOWROOM: 112 NICKLIN WAY WARANA

^ Approved applicants only on a Once Agile Visa card. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply including a $99 Annual Fee charged on the account open date and annually on the anniversary of the account open date. Minimum finance amount $1200.00. Interest is payable on any balance outstanding after the interest free period. Ask in store for details. Credit provided by Once Finance Pty Limited ABN 99 112 319 632, Australia n Credit Licence Number 386194 (Once). Once® is a subsidiary of Flexigroup Limited. Offer ends 31/08/18. †Apollo Durasheen paint finish with 15 year warranty. Photos are indicative only – Apollo Home Additions are individually designed and may vary from the photo. Construction by JTS Patio Constructions T/A Apollo Patios Sunshine Coast QBCC Licence No:15054065. JTS6176.

03.indd 1

20/06/2018 12:45:45 PM


IMAGE: AUSTRAL MASONRY

COVER STORY //

Fencing Looking for a DIY project? Get to work on constructing a fence or outdoor feature with breeze blocks. They can be painted any colour to suit the exterior of your home.

OLD KID ON THE BLOCK The benefits of breeze block • Low maintenance • Low-energy costs • Fire resistant • Strong and durable • Low environmental impact as the product is not made from precious resources • Termite resistant.

IMAGE: AUSTRAL MASONRY STAIRWELL FEATURE IN PORCELAIN

The product We love how contemporary today’s blocks are. Do your research when selecting your product as there are lots of designs, shapes and styles available and you will want to find the best eye-catching pattern for your project. Company Austral Masonry produces two designs – the 15-936 Diamond Breeze and the 15-937 Wedge Breeze available in three colours – porcelain, nickel and pewter.

IMAGE: ARCHITECT PRINEAS. PHOTOGRAPH: KATHERINE LU

The ‘it’ product of the ’50s and ’60s, breeze blocks are making their comeback in a big way. While this product has been used worldwide for decades, it is typically associated with beach houses and tropical climates, making it the perfect material for Sunshine Coast renovations.

4 My Renovation | July, 2018

04.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:50:33 AM


ER F F O L A I C E SP IMAGE: SW. ARCHITECTS. PHOTOGRAPH: DAVID SIEVERS PHOTOGRAPHY

FREE

INSTALL

SHUTTERS + BLINDS* *Conditions apply. Offer ends 31st of August 2018.

Kitchen As the base of an island bench, breeze blocks are sure to make a huge statement in your home. Paint the blocks stark white to set them off against dark bench tops. This kitchen features in SW. Architects’ Kool Haus. The front on this island adds a decorative touch to the clean-lined and minimalist space, says architect Sally Wilson. “Our client came to us with a love of textiles and the Palm Springs influence and they asked us to work this into the addition.”

Visit our showroom to see our range & meet our friendly, dedicated staff

TIP Breeze block material is susceptible to the ocean air and salt, so keep in mind that when it’s left unpainted it can deteriorate rapidly.

Inspiration Making headlines globally in the architecture and design world is Architect Prineas’ Breeze Block House. The firm transformed a 1950s Sydney bungalow with white-painted blocks. Composition of the new and old were considered together. New garden room spaces are considered as volumes so they are rooms rather than having a distinction between inside and out. The volume of the habitable outdoor room is distinct and contained by the breeze blocks. One room is connected to the family/ living space, the other to the private main bedroom. Both share a room view with the garden. The breeze block is a structural unit in itself and it was used in a direct and simple way.

Call now for a free measure and quote from our local decor consultants CUSTOM MADE BLINDS

READYMADE BLINDS

SUNSHINE COAST: 20 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore QLD 4558

SHUTTERS

BRISBANE: 9/70 Redland Bay Rd, Capalaba QLD 4157

AWNINGS

SECURITY

CURTAINS

MELBOURNE: 29/148 Chesterville Rd Moorabbin VIC 3189

www.THEBLINDSPLACE.com.au CALL NOW: 1300 340 190 My Renovation | July, 2018 5

05.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:51:05 AM


KITCHEN // Pantry perfection This pantry takes the cake. One of Instagram’s most shared pantry photos, the design comes from blogger and home organisation hobbyist, Iryna Federico. The Adelaide woman has created a pastel paradise. It’s colour-coordinated organisation at its best. Visit fromgreatbeginnings.com.

TIP

Another way to add working space to a small kitchen is by installing a pull-out bench. These benches are tucked into a drawer and can easily slide out to be used as needed.

Shelve it Short on space? Get your DIY on and install some shelves to use as extra storage. A variety of styles and sizes are readily available so you will be able to find the right fit for your kitchen. Or, for a completely different look, introduce an open-air shelving system. Keep in mind that styling and organising plays a big part in appearance. With no doors, you are unable to hide the usual pantry mess.

Flat packs made easy! We design and customise your flatpack kitchen • Quality craftsmanship made with the material you want • A price difference you just won’t beat when compared to a custom fitted kitchen • Our team of specialists will even come and install it!

Space saving wall beds now available

Buy direct from the factory

SERVICING THE COAST FOR 20 YEARS  Kitchen makeovers  Replacement doors  Replacement benchtops  Flat pack  Kitchens  Vanities  Laundries  Wardrobes  Assembled units  TV entertainment units  Complete installation service

INSTALLATIONS ONSITE

COME AND SEE US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION AND QUOTE 1/11 Machinery Ave, Warana P. 5493 4577 www.cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au Email: info@cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au 6 My Renovation | July, 2018

06.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:06:37 AM


SECURITY BLENDED Kitchen inspo We love this wraparound butler’s pantry complete with stylish mosaic tiling, stone benchtops and the white Hamptonsesque drawers. We can dream right?

Make the most of it High ceilings? Take advantage of the extra space and install cupboards that reach upwards and fill the void. Invest in a sturdy and fashionable footstool or a bamboo ladder with an installed railing that is not only a stylish element for the kitchen, but practical too.

PAGE S

We use only Australian Powdercoated Aluminium or COLORBOND® Steel. • Awnings • Louvres • Shutters • Fencing & Gates • Insect & Security Screens All screens and gates are custom designed to suit your needs.

DIY FRIENDLY OR INSTALLED • CALL FOR A FREE MEASURE & QUOTE P. 5438 2866 or Mark 0424 984 785

Superior Screens

9 Newing Way, Caloundra (off Mark Rd at Daniel St roundabout) www.superiorscreens.com.au E. mark@superiorscreens.com.au

OF

F LOOR I N G

D E SI GN

TR E N D S

&

®

INSPIR ATION

RRP $7.95 (incl GST)

1 0 0 +

with modern st yle

2018

From greeting to completing a room, view over 100 pages of flooring designs and find out the latest styling tips from Australia’s leading decorators. Featuring luscious carpets to the natural beauty of timber and bamboo, whether your style is modern, coastal, or something in-between, you’ll find it in Inspiring Choices 2018. You can collect your free copy at our showroomWRGD\

only available at

choicesflooring.com

Choices Flooring Maroochydore 3/32 Wises Rd, Maroochydore 5443 6280 choicesflooring.com.au

My Renovation | July, 2018 7

07.indd 1

22/06/2018 9:11:15 AM


BATHROOM //

Bathroom budgeting

ons Bathroom renovati st co in ry va can e enormously. The siz ct oje pr ur and style of yo ll era ov e th ct will impa n cost. Interior desig ry nd He blogger Sophie t se As ur from Yo s her Renovations share ing tips for keep sts bathroom project co down.

Do it right If you have to do it twice it will cost you more money. Too often people think they are saving money by re-using utilities such as the bath or by using acquaintances as tradesmen. There are no winners in this scenario. Using friends as tradesmen can backfire in a number of ways. As for re-using items such as a bath with a few minor chips in it, yes it will save you some money, but is it worth sacrificing an integral part of the design?

TIP Choose a great mirror that doubles as a beautiful feature while serving a practical purpose.

Retrofit Also known as a cosmetic renovation, a retrofit will always be more economical than a full bathroom refit. As soon as you make changes to the existing layout your overall costs will increase. In particular, leaving the plumbing where it is will be a huge money saver. Maintaining the placement of your existing toilet, shower and vanity waste locations allows you to achieve a more cost-effective renovation. The good news is that you can still add storage, introduce a walk-in shower and a stylish toilet to achieve a great visual impact at a lower cost.

From the living room to the outdoor entertaining area, it’s the detail and quality that adds comfort to any home. That’s why PaintRight Professionals take pride in their advice and stock everything you need, from start to finish. So, what are you waiting for? Call or visit today.

• Interior Paint PaintRight Noosa 168 Eumundi Road, Noosaville Ph: 5449 8228

• Exterior Paint PaintRight Coolum Cnr Greenoaks Drive & South Coolum Rod, Coolum Ph: 5471 7300

• Colour Matching

• Brushes/Rollers

PaintRight Maroochydore 21 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore Ph: 5443 7744

• Colour Advice

PaintRight Currimundi 1 Coora Cres, Currimundi Ph: 5493 2033

• Woodcare

PaintRight Nambour 117 Howard St, Nambour Ph: 5476 3355

• Expert Tips

• Haymes Paint

www.paintright.com.au

8 My Renovation | July, 2018

08.indd 1

22/06/2018 9:13:07 AM


Think about tiling A beautiful tile will give your bathroom a modern lift. However, if you’re renovating with budget in mind, choosing the wrong tiles could blow this out of proportion. Here are a few guidelines to follow: Extra small tiles add cost. Yes, your marble mosaic tiles will elevate your bathroom or shower wall, but they can be eye-wateringly expensive at more than $200 per metre. They also cost more in labour cost to lay. Another cost factor with small-scale tiles is that they need to be laid on a perfectly flat and even surface. Any imperfection in the surface will be amplified with small tiles. Extra large tiles add cost. Although using large tiles will make your bathroom appear larger, choosing a large dimension will incur cost as it will take two tilers to complete the job. Sticking to a standard tile should keep costs down.

DON’T MOVE...

Another way to quickly add cost to your bathroom is by choosing floor-to-ceiling tiles. This choice requires the ceiling cornice to be removed and square set. To save on costs, some people will opt to tile just the floors and wet areas like behind the bath and shower. Keep in mind that floor-to-ceiling does look great and will make an area appear larger.

RENOVATE

Where it all comes together easily

Don’t overdo it Less is more when renovating a bathroom. In such a small space, too many items will compete for attention and you will lose your impact. Not only will you save money by refraining from saying yes to every upgrade or accessory, you will create a better outcome for your project. Instead, find a focal point or main feature in your bathroom you wish to draw attention to (for example, a feature shower tile or a freestanding bath) and keep everything else to a minimum. Introduce one or two accessories like a timber stool, some luxurious towels or an indoor plant to allow your chosen feature to shine.

NORM EVANS FLOORS Personalised Service and Expert Advice

FREE UPGRADE Soft closing drawer system Conditions Apply.

BEFORE

Cost effective solutions for every budget

KITCHENS • VANITIES • SHELVING • OFFICE

FINANCE OPTION AVAILABLE

SHOP where the builders SHOP!

askin cabinets 4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

SPECIALISING IN BUILDERS AND DEVELOPERS • DIRECT IMPORTERS OF TILES • SUPPLY AND INSTALL OF VINYL PLANK, CARPET, TIMBER AND BAMBOO

QBSA 742429 HIA 956774

Call into our showroom 1-9 ENDEAVOUR DR, KUNDA PARK Open Monday to Friday from 8am PH: 5476 6022 My Renovation | July, 2018 9

09.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:07:02 AM


LIVING ROOM //

New look Renovating a living room can be overwhelming – matching paint, furnishings and flooring is a big ask. Here are some tips to get you on the right track.

The wow factor Looking for something different? Go the extra mile and incorporate classic décor accents such as ceiling medallions, a chandelier or a panelled wall.

Blank canvas Treat your living room like a work of art. Start with a neutral base and build from there. White is stunning, but without a little colour it can appear cold and stark. Trust your instincts and add the right style and colour to suit your personal tastes.

TIP Plan, plan, plan. Don’t dive into a living room renovation without thinking each aspect through. Our go-to tool? Designing a moodboard with all of our ideas.

DESIGNER POLISHED CONCRETE FLOORS We transform new or existing concrete floors into modern, on-trend designer masterpieces

Unique hard wearing and low maintenance flooring solution Adds years to existing concrete floors and helps save on energy costs Consistent results by certified contractors with 30+ years of experience End to end service - avoid unnecessary costs Warranty with certified systems Take advantage of our on-site sample service

Phone: 0406 086 566 www.ultimatefloors.com.au 10 My Renovation | July, 2018

10.indd 1

22/06/2018 9:14:08 AM


AUSTRALIA’S MOST AFFORDABLE SHUTTERS & BLINDS

THERMOSHIELD INTERNAL SHUTTERS

100% LIFETIME

WARRANTY

LOUVRESHIELD ALUMINIUM SHUTTERS ROLLER BLINDS SUNSCREENS TIMBER VENETIANS

THERMOSHIELD is made from 100% polyresin material - NOT PVC. Created to look & feel like wood, they will never fade, crack, chip or peel & never need painting. Our Thermoshield Shutters are fire retardant, UV stabilized to avoid discolouration, durable, energy efficient to save money & will last longer than any other shutter.

Have you visited our showroom yet? You owe it to yourself to come & compare quality & price like 1000s of other satisfied customers have

BRISBANE 2/908 Kingsford Smith Dr Eagle Farm Phone: 3268 5699 GOLD COAST 35/38 Kendor St, Arundel Phone: 5563 7440

www.cosmopolitanshutters.com.au

11.indd 1

QBCC# 1201499

SUNSHINE COAST 1/10 Premier Cct, Warana Phone: 5493 8900

20/06/2018 12:51:31 PM


STYLE //

tip Own dark-coloured velvet? Keep it out of the direct sunlight as it could fade over time. Balancing act Finding the right balance in any interior design project is important, especially so with a material as opulent as this. If you opt for a statement piece, leave it at that. Alternatively, add small touches of velvet such as throws or occasional pieces of furniture. niture.

VELVET VIBES

Start small Hesitant to go all in? That’s okay. are plenty of simple ways There ar to add a touch of velvet to your The Peacock Multi square home. Th features a handpainted cushion fe watercolour design. Visit waterc kasaustralia.com.au. kasa

The interior design world’s latest trend proves that what’s old is definitely new again. gain. In ove it, a ’70s revival, velvet has once again found its way into our homes and to say we love is an understatement. Synonymous with luxury and elegance, this plush material is here to stay.

WE LOVE! The Mercer + Reid Ariel velvet chair in teal. Visit adairs.com.au.

Mixed materials Velvet and metals such as gold and brass are a match made in style heaven. The Home Republic Torino Luxe ottoman in rose pink and gold is from Adairs.

Bedroom beauty Bedheads are getting bigger, bolder and more luxurious. The larger the better. A neutral colour will look terrific against a deep teal or ocean-blue wall. Alternatively, if you opt for a dark bedhead keep the wall behind it neutral.

12 My Renovation | July, 2018

12.indd 1

20/06/2018 2:40:35 PM


s r e m r a W r Winte SAVE 20%

FLOORING SUNSHINE COAST

20% VINYL CARPET

SAVE UP TO FROM

UNDR O IT VSHIS OWROOM A

FROM

$19.99m2 $26m2

COMPARE!

Installed, including underlay

BATHROOMS

20%

Monday to Friday 8.00am to 4.00pm Saturday 8.30am - 12noon

ON

29 Commercial Rd, MAROOCHYDORE Phone 5326 3915 ANS ROAD

COMPLETE KITCHENS PACKAGES FISHERM

FROM

$

6322.55 Installation not included - supply only.

13.indd 1

COMMERCIAL

End Fou eavo nda ur tion

ROAD

Find us here

MA IN

Includes cabinetry, laminate bench top, appliances and accessories. Visit our showroom to see how we can customise your kitchen package

SC Council Treatment Pla nt

SUNSHINE MO TORWAY

UP TO

RO AD

SAVE

Package includes Hafele Box Canopy 90cm Range Hood, Hafele 60cm Electric Cook Top, Hafele 7 Function 60cm Oven

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

www.qebs.com.au 22/06/2018 9:17:01 AM


EXPERT ADVICE //

RENO BUDGET GUIDELINES

H

aving completed your design due diligence to determine your reno needs it is now time to grab the calculator and start preparing your reno budget. Establishing your budget, estimating the cost of your renovation and tracking your expenditure are all vital to a successful renovation. Your reno budget will depend largely on your finances. Your reason for renovating will determine the extent of works required which must adapt to meet your finances. It is better to prioritise the improvements you would like to include as part of the reno rather than working out what you can afford and then trying to fit all your dreams into that budget. A checklist prioritising areas you want to change will ensure you stay on track and achieve your aims in a

Home talk with Emilia Johnston Emilia Johnston is the owner of Coast Store, 67 The Esplanade, Cotton Tree Visit coaststore.com.au

PUT A

JUMBO IN YOUR YARD $ Garden waste to demolition and building

3m3 to 8m3 skip bins*

Best price every time

Talk to our expert, friendly staff

Book online or by phone

SKIP BINS PTY LTD

*Sizes subject to availability

Family owned and operated | Servicing Sunshine Coast and Moreton Bay

Phone 0499 44 33 12 | jumbobins.com.au

14 My Renovation | July, 2018

14.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:51:40 AM


measured way and within budget. Unless you are doing a major reconfigure, a rough guide for a renovation budget is about five to nine per cent of the purchase price of the property. This ensures you do not over capitalise. To keep your expenses in check, it’s a good idea to divide your total budget into the different home areas. For example, allow 25 per cent for a bathroom, 25 per cent for the kitchen, 15 per cent for two bedrooms, 10 per cent for laundry and include a 10 per cent contingency fund. In prioritising your budget, experts believe these improvements offer the best return: painting done tastefully (return up to 200 per cent), kitchen remodelling (70 to 100 per cent), bathroom addition or remodel (70 to 100 per cent), window and door replacement (50 to 90 per cent) and

deck addition or expansion (65 to 90 per cent). Adding a pool and work office offers the least return. In all cases though you need to design and spend wisely. Throwing money at a new kitchen will not

“To keep your expenses in check, divide your total budget into the different areas” necessarily attract a higher return than if you did a kitchen facelift by just adding new surfaces, painting and appliances. The aim for any reno is to increase the value of your property so determine your return on investment

prior to finalising the budget. To do this, multiply the cost of the renovation by 10 per cent to calculate the profit you should make. For example, if you spend $65,000 then you should gain $71,500 in profilt. If you bought the property for $707,000, spent $65,000 in renovations, you then want to resell that property at $843,500. Before finalising your plans you need to work out if this resale value is achievable in your area and within your turn around time. If not, adjust your reno budget and plans accordingly. For example, if you are planning a $65,000 renovation on a house bought for $350,000 in a neighbourhood where the average price is $300,000, you need to consider if you are exceeding the resell ceiling for your area.

If renovating to resell, before finalising your budget consult with a property valuer to see how much market value they feel your renovation will add to your property. Understanding the market value of your property will help finalise the proportions of your reno budget. For instance, experts advise a kitchen reno, which may cost between $5000 to $50,000 depending on the work and fixtures, should equal about five per cent of the value of your property. So, on property worth $555,000 your kitchen budget should be $27,750. Having applied some of the big picture budget guidelines you can then start to tackle the more intricate costings in your budget and analyse where to spend and where to save, which we will address in closer detail next column.

s t s i l a i Spec

STONE BENCHTOP

Engineered Stone, Marble, Granite and Porcelain Benchtops for Kitchens, Bathrooms and Alfresco Quick Lead times Free Quotes Travel to All Areas

Phone: 5442 2133 | info@stoneeffectsqld.com.au | 84 Sandalwood Lane, Forest Glen | www.stoneeffectsqld.com.au My Renovation | July, 2018 15

15.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:52:08 AM


G N I R O FLO

S L A DE

YBRID | RUGS | VINYL H | E AT N I M A L | R E B M I T CARPET |

CARPET

2

$25m

50 16.indd 1

Fully Laid

MONTHS  NO DEPOSIT  NO INTEREST INTEREST FREE

*1

with 50 equal monthly payments until July 2022. Minimum financed amount $750. Apply in store/online. Available for in store and selected online purchases. Approved applicants only. Fees & charges apply. Interest applies if you do not comply with terms and conditions

22/06/2018 1:32:10 PM


T O G E V ’ WE D E R E V O C YOU ID | RUGS | VINYL R B Y H | E AT N I M A L | R E B CARPET | TIM

ALL RUGS UP TO

60% OFF

Available in store only.

17.indd 1

VINYL PLANKS 2

$59m

Fully Laid

22/06/2018 1:33:00 PM


HEATING //

Winter warmers

A

s the weather cools down and winter rolls in, people are starting to look at the best ways to heat their homes and to enjoy time outside in the cooler months. Leading interior designer Adrian Ramsay of Adrian Ramsay Design House says heating can become more efficient if we use the correct materials when insulating. “While reverse airconditioning and underfloor heating is popular, I will always choose wood fires for a more eco-friendly and economic option,’’ he says. “If you’re looking for the most energy efficient solution to heating, glass-fronted fireplaces are more efficient than open fire “Wood fires in Queensland help to combat issues that coincide with humidity and mould spores because they emit a dry heat. They are also a beautiful way to create ambience and in the world of TV that we live in, they are a way to build another space for the family to gather around and connect with one another.” For more information, visit ardesignhouse.com.

Give your Concrete a Colour It Australia Makeover N& COME I UGE RH SEE OU AREA Y DISPLA • stamp • stencil • topcrete • sealers • epoxy coatings • colour in the mix for domestic & commercial applications

Adrian’s top picks for outdoor heating Firepit orbs or open fireplaces These are romantic, tell a story, generate massive amount of heat and have the added bonus of a visual display creating drama around the fire. Open-wood fires are hot burning, high combustible heating solutions. As only dead wood is used, no forests are being cut down for firewood and hardwood creates a hot burn with very little material.

DID YOU KNOW?

Double- and triple-glazed windows and thermal break windows and doors don’t allow for heat or chill to transfer through the materials and create mass efficiency.

RENOVATING???

WE DO IT ALL KITCHENS INTERNAL AND EXTERNAL DOORS WARDROBE DOORS AND FIT OUTS SHUTTERS RETRACTABLE FLYSCREENS BATHROOM FITTINGS AND MORE. DOORS KITCHENS BATHROOMS SHUTTERS & MORE

24hr display: 20 Endeavour Dr, Kunda Park

PHONE: 07 5445 2399 E: sales@ciaconcrete.com.au www.ciaconcrete.com.au

2/21 Trinder Avenue, Maroochydore P (07) 5451 1160 Email: info@renowarehouse.com.au Website: www.renowarehouse.com.au

18 My Renovation | July, 2018

18.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:52:44 AM


Advertise your business RENOVA TION

54,000 COPIES

PRO JEC

TS | DES IGN

| PRO DU

CTS

from only

$

395

Adrian’s top picks for indoor heating French hanging or glass-fronted fireplaces French-hanging fireplaces are great for transferring heat from all angles while creating a natural thermal shift around them. They are highly energy efficient as well as having all the senses stimulated. You can hear, see and smell the wood burning because it is a safe open flame for indoors. Glass-fronted fireplaces are generally a more budget-friendly option for an indoor fireplace. When partnered with ducted air vents in the floors or wall grates these products become an efficient and economic heating tool. Pic credits: 1. Focus Fireplaces, 2. Regency Fire, AUS

ISSUE 74

| APRIL EDIT

DIGITAL EDITI

01.indd

ONS & MOR

DOWN TI ME OW

THE LOWD

ION 2018

E >> MYW

N ON FLO

ORING

EEKLYPRE VIEW.COM .AU

1

per month

23/03/201

8 8:55:29 AM

RENOVATION The renovation industry on the Sunshine Coast is big business, accounting for the majority of residential building activity since 2016. Published monthly, and the only publication of its type on the Coast, My Renovation is inserted in My Weekly Preview and distributed to 54,000 homes. It is a must if your business is targeting the many thousands of home renovators across the region.

Call us today

Proudly produced by

5444 0152 sales@myweeklypreview.com.au www.myweeklypreview.com.au

Queensland’s Leading Importer of Quality European Tiles Sunshine Coast’s largest tile showroom with over 40 displays & Winners of Best Showroom

10% OFF Voucher to be produced at time of order. Terms & conditions apply. VALID UNTIL August 2018.

P: 5479 5779

www.naturaltile.com.au info@naturaltile.com.au

Open Monday - Friday 8.30am - 5pm Saturday 9am - 1pm

Natural Tile My Renovation | July, 2018 19

19.indd 1

22/06/2018 1:40:56 PM


DESIGN INSPIRATION //

Creating an envious space

cking warmth If your home is la room envy by this winter create ple styling following these sim rniture’s Fu on s tips from Focu elissa M t lis sty op interior pr Gullifer.

Layer Just as we add layers of clothing to our bodies during winter, layering textures and fabrics in any room will provide extra warmth and comfort. Use cushions, throws and decorative pillows.

1 2

Colours By introducing deep colours to your décor, you can create an inviting space. Add rich tones to living areas – think dark timbers, and mix them up with black or rustic tones. Add soft greys and dark blue tones to bedrooms to create a cosy and relaxed mood. Of course, don’t be afraid to inject contrasting tones.

Natural Stone Specialists

• Marble, Granite and Reconstituted Stone • Kitchen and Vanity Tops • Domestic and Commercial Projects + MUCH MORE.

Ask about our offcuts, cut to size!

Patios | Decks | Carports Phone: 5437 9525

Established on the Coast for over 20 years. Come in and see the reno specialists today 40 FISHERMANS RD, MAROOCHYDORE P: 5479 4033 E: info@lifetimestone.com.au

PTY LTD

QBCC# 15048228

Unit 1/32 Premier Cct, Warana | www.coastalpatios.com.au

20 My Renovation | July, 2018

20.indd 1

20/06/2018 2:41:09 PM


5

3

4 Rug up Rugs provide comfort and insulation in the cooler months, especially if your home has tiles or wooden floorboards. Opt for a shaggy rug, flat weave or a thick wool pile.

Patterns Adding patterns to interior spaces will provide personalised style and add drama and interest to the furnishings in a room. Patterns on cushions look great and are a quick way to jazz up any room. Choosing warm patterns with pops of on-trend winter colours will create visually appealing spaces and serious room envy.

Light up Extra lighting can warm up a cool space. Lighting sets the mood in a room and can instantly transform your space. Floor and table lamps can be inexpensive and are easy to move around as required.

Follow us

My Renovation | July, 2018 21

21.indd 1

20/06/2018 2:41:45 PM


POOLS // Lap The common width of a lap pool is anywhere between two and two-anda-half metres while the length is generally either 12, 15, 20 or 25 metres. They are perfect for swimming laps, and for narrow spaces.

tip

The right choice

When identifying the best location for your pool, consider the natural environment. What impact will the position of the sun have on the pool? Is there too much or too little shade from surrounding trees?

There are many types of pools from above ground to concrete or fibreglass. Start your research, talk to the experts and be sure you find the right option for your property.

WE LOVE! The Panama lap pool features a functional and practical design. It has double-entry steps and a child safety ledge around the perimeter. It is available as a mineral or saltwater pool. It’s from Narellan Pools.

Deck it RIGHT The First Time with composite decking

LARGEST SUPPLIER OF

GLASS POOL FENCING ON THE SUNSHINE COAST

• Fully-frameless and Semi-frameless options • Huge range of glass panels in stock and ready to go

15 year warranty Eco friendly Direct to the public Lowest price guarantee

WE ALSO STOCK • Aluminium panels

BULK BUYING WELCOME

• Privacy slat screens & gates • Aluminium sliding gates

Aluminium fencing Outdoor screening

EXCELLENT QUALITY AND SERVICE AT THE LOWEST PRICES

1300 481 664 britedecking.com.au

Ph: 07 5493 9779

Unit 2, 5 Dual Avenue, Warana QBCC 1283627

www.blitzglass.com.au

22 My Renovation | July, 2018

22.indd 1

22/06/2018 1:41:51 PM


Freestanding From traditional to luxurious, above-ground pools come in all shapes and sizes. They cost significantly less than an inground variety as they are generally prefabricated so they are easy to install. Keep in mind that above-ground pools do have a shorter life span than other types. Pictured is the Madeira 8 from Narellan Pools.

Fibreglass Low-maintenance and affordable are two of the benefits of installing a fibreglass pool. They are available in a range of shapes, sizes and colours and because of this are becoming increasingly popular. Plus, they are quicker to install than other varieties.

Concrete Square, rectangular, freeform, tiles, pebblecrete – concrete pools can be made to suit your likes and requirements. They are poured directly into the site, so it’s worth noting that they do take longer to install.

Holiday at home all year round CALL NOW

07 5446 8255

MULTI-AWARD WINNER

2015 2013 2012 Narellan Pools

Narellan Pools

FCA State Multi Unit Franchise

Symphony 12 in MarbleGlass Finish 12x4m pool with negative edge, in-built spa, magnesium water filtration, travertine surround paving and side entry step with bench seating.

narellanpools.com.au

Servicing the Sunshine Coast and surrounds since 1999. QBCC 1176177

My Renovation | July, 2018 23

23.indd 1

20/06/2018 2:42:31 PM


POOLS // Heat pumps Relatively new to the market, heat pumps use similar technology as that used in airconditioning and refrigeration. They operate similar to a fridge, but in reverse. SPASA says that heat pumps are extremely energy efficient as they consume small amounts of electricity to operate.

Warm water Here in Queensland we are blessed with warm weather for the majority of the year. But, if you want to achieve a consistent temperature then heating is the way to go. The Swimming Pool and Spa Association (SPASA) provides an array of fact sheets on the various types of pool heating.

The size of the heat pump you require will depend on your location, the pool position, its size and also your preferred temperature.

Gas heating This type of heating can quickly and efficiently heat your pool to a comfortable temperature. Selecting the right size heater depends on the size of your pool and your preferred temperature. Also worth taking into consideration is if the heater will be used to warm both the pool and a spa. SPASA also recommends that gas heaters are fitted with thermostatic controls. Keep in mind that heaters connected to spas must have a thermostatic control with a maximum temperature set to 40 degrees Celsius. Gas pool and spa heaters are cost efficient and assist in keeping running costs down. Talk to your local expert about safety requirements and if this option is the best for your pool.

GIVE YOUR POOL A

MAKEOVER Coast-Wide Pool & Spa Service offers a one-stop shop for all your pool renovation needs to get your pool sparkling again. • We renovate all types of pool interiors including – pebbles, fully tiled, liners and fibreglass • We also offer the latest in filtration technology - energy efficient pumps, chlorinators and sand or cartridge filters • Speak to us about our pre-purchase and pre-sale pool condition reports

BEFORE

NOW IS THE TIME TO GET YOUR POOL READY FOR SUMMER

COASTWIDE POOL & SPA SERVICE

“Our reputation holds a lot of water”

AFTER

PHONE: 5446 8475

coast-wide.com.au | 4 Old Gympie Road, Yandina

24 My Renovation | July, 2018

24.indd 1

22/06/2018 10:55:35 AM


DID YOU

know?

Solar heating This is the most popular type of pool heating, and for good reason – it’s inexpensive and environmentally friendly. This type of heating can increase the use of your pool by up to three or four months. There are many different types of solar heating including strip or rigid panels. Talk to your local pool expert about which one works best for your situation.

SPASA says the ideal temperature for leisure swimming is around 24 to 26 degrees Celsius, while the optimal temperature for exercise is 28 degrees Celsius.

Pool covers Wanting to save money? Try a thermal blanket or cover.

ECLIPSE F O O R G N I OPEN Follow the shade or sun all day or set them to draw in the breezes on those hot summer days and nights.

Aluminium opening roof and insulated patio specialist servicing South East Queensland for over 26 years.

15 Yeaalsr

Materi g & Buildin Warranty

Lockable, waterproof blades when closed

5444 4666 eclipsepatios@bigpond.com www.eclipsepatios.com.au

CREATING YOUR PERFECT POOL AND LANDSCAPE The Sunshine Coast’s most awarded pool and landscape builders.

S Watson Pty Ltd T/A Eclipse Patios & Extensions

QBCC Lic No. 1167957

• Creative all-inclusive 3D design. • Detailed and itemised quotes without hidden extras. • Quality equipment and finishes on every project. • Professional project management and communication. • Personal service from concept to completion with our unique 6 tier guarantee. • Celebrating 40 years in business on the Sunshine Coast. • Build with the industry professionals and let us show you the future of pool building. • Contact us today for a free onsite design consultation for your project.

Family Pool Package

Entertainer Pool + Landscape Package

Resort Pool Package

poolfab.com.au 07 5451 1000

QBCC 1204348

See our full pool package range online at poolfab.com.au

My Renovation | July, 2018 25

25.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:00:06 AM


POOLS //

le Design and styw pool, no You’ve got the final it’s time for the olside po om touches. Fr r vases, oo td ou to furniture dless. en the options are

Sunlounger Traditional, practical, and promoting relaxation, a sunlounge is a must. The Italian-made Nardi Atlantico sunlounge may look sleek, but it is also comfortable. Visit daydreamleisure.com.au.

Set seating When planning your pool project, it’s important to factor final furnishings into the budget. This way your new or refurbished outdoor area will not only look great, but it will be equally comfortable. For pool owners who want to splurge a little, you can’t go past ast an outdoor dining setting such as the five-piece Blanca collection from Out on the Patio. atio.

Helping you to

TAKE YOUR LANDSCAPING IDEAS THROUGH TO COMPLETION • Pavers • Retaining Wall Blocks • Natural stone • Wall Cladding

• Living Walls • Paver & Masonry sealers • Living turf & synthetic grass • Garden edging

iLandscape.com.au is your first click in landscaping. iLandscape Sunshine Coast can assist you with everything you need to get the job done right, from quality landscaping products to choosing the correct contractor, we are here to assist you with your every landscaping requirement. As about our price match guarantee.

49 Caloundra Rd, Caloundra. Phone 5493 5975. www.ilandscape.com.au 26 My Renovation | July, 2018

26.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:00:40 AM


For style and strength choose COLORBOND® Steel

Lighting It’s easy to forget the simple things such as lighting. Don’t settle on a last-minute selection. Do your research and find ideas that will enhance your outdoor pool area. String twinkling fairy lights above the surface of the pool, install contemporary solar lights or light up a feature wall with downlights. This Accent outdoor copper 240 volt halogen is an adjustable spotlight. It’s from Andrew’s Light Up.

1

2

3

Cushions Create a welcoming outdoor space by introducing soft furnishings, colour and décor accents. Cushions are a must. Here are three of our favourite outdoor offerings. 1. Kas Australia, Lilito, $49.95 RRP. Visit kasaustralia.com.au for local stockists. 2. United Interiors, Aqua Stratis, $79 RRP. Visit united-interiors.com.au. 3. Domayne, Refresh, $31.46. Visit domayne.com.au.

• Patios • Fencing • Metal Roofing • Guttering • Sheds

all made from versatile COLORBOND® steel

SPRUCE UP YOUR OLD CONCRETE Add new life to your pool area • STYLISH • DURABLE • SEAMLESS • CLASSIC LIVING

We will help you combine colours and patterns to create an appeal that will optimise your settings • All decorative products • Safety gear & environmental products • All your major brands - commercial & domestic • Epoxy seamless floors • Comprehensive range of tools • Extensive range of pigments • Joint Flex • Construction Grouts • Water Proofing • Curing Compounds • Steel Mesh & Accessories • Repair Grout & Epoxies • Concrete Machinery

Unit 1/28 Technology Drive, Warana Ph: 5493 2022 www.evergardcw.com.au

®

Metroll BETTER SERVICE • BETTER BUILDING SOLUTIONS

PHONE TODAY 5493 7872 - 10 Bearing Avenue, Warana www.metroll.com.au - northcoast@metrollqld.com.au COLORBOND® is a trade marks of BlueScope Steel Limited. “The colours of Australia since 1966™” is a trade mark of BlueScope Steel Limited. © 2016 BlueScope Steel Limited ABN 16 000 011 058 All rights reserved

My Renovation | July, 2018 27

27.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:01:14 AM


finishing touches

finishing touches Advice and ideas to turn your renovation into a home. A GREEN REEN TOUCH CH Exhibiting an intricate tricate yet widely-popular design, the Split Leaf monstera tera philodendron adds a natural tural charm and sculptural appeal al to e. any room. It’s from Domayne.

LIGHT AND SHADE NATURAL INSPIRATION Timber and plants go hand-in-hand so it’s no surprise to find that the combination works beautifully in the home. Green plants will bring additional style to simple, clean-line furniture pieces.

When choosing plants for your home, take into account the conditions and climate. Is the he area sun sunny? Does the plant require a mixture of light and nd sh shade? Talk to your local nursery expert for advice.

N EW SEASON STOCK HAS ARRIV ED  l 

OO‫פ‬n 7

Innovative Furnishings & Decor sales@innovativefurnishings.com.au • 100 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba • 5452 6885

28 My Renovation | July, 2018

28.indd 1

22/06/2018 9:38:58 AM


tip Looking for a particular piece of furniture? Sunshine Coast business Metal and Wood can handcraft pieces to suit your requirements and personal taste.

WE LOVE! The Still Life poster from Urban Road.

PATTERNED PERFECTION PATT This Aust Australian-made Herringbone buffet is the ideal statement piece for your living or dining room. Pair it with succulents o or sprawling plants. It’s from Harvey Norman.

DECORATIVE IDEA Create a stylish location for indoor plants with the Metro Argo large tri-leg planter from Domayne. The vibrant colour of a green plant will look beautiful against the white and timber design. Visit domayne.com.au.

LOCALLY CRAFTED FURNITURE & HOMEWARES

Custom Furniture crafted right here on the Sunshine Coast, using locally sourced materials. Stockists of a unique and eclectic range of homewares.

COME IN AND SEE OUR SHOWROOM 1-2/45 WISES RD MAROOCHYDORE OPEN FROM 6AM Located inside Things of Metal and Wood

0407 011 772 THINGSOFMETALANDWOOD.COM.AU MON-TUES 9-3PM, WED-FRI 9-4PM, SAT 9-1PM My Renovation | July, 2018 29

29.indd 1

20/06/2018 2:43:13 PM


finishing touches

WASHED AND READY This white wash console is from Innovative Furnishings & Décor. Phone 5452 6885.

PIECE OF PINEAPPLE FLOWERS AND FRINGING Bring a touch of elegance to your bedroom with the Fifi quilt cover set from Kas Australia. It features a trellised floral design, embellished fringing and soft sage, plum and pink colours.

These quirky, plantation style hooks are sure to dress up your walls. Use ornate hooks in your home’s entry or hallway.

Transform your kitchen with replacement doors, drawer fronts, benchtop and splashback.

1

SAVE - on the cost of a new kitchen by keeping existing cabinetry/layout.

2

HUGE RANGE of the latest door styles, colours, handles and benchtops

3

AUSTRALIAN MADE – doors and cabinets plus a 10 year warranty of products and workmanshipwarranty.

We can also provide amazing modern new kitchen designs BEFORE

www.dreamdoors.com.au

QBCC 15032399

A time and cost effective way to get a new kitchen with a kitchen facelift!

Find out how you can have your dream kitchen and save heaps,

Call 1800 373 263

Happy families, one kitchen at a time

30 My Renovation | July, 2018

30.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:01:48 AM


WE LOVE!

The Mainridge nine-piece rectangular dining suite from Harvey Norman.

COSY COMFORT DÉCOR WITH A DIFFERENCE The Regis features a geometric faceted aluminium bowl and a high-contrast blue finish. This quirky piece will add a pop of colour to any room. It’s from Domayne.

Stylish and contemporary, the Badi black cushion is a cosy addition for any room. It It’ss from Domayne.

SALE 50% OFF 25% OFF DECORATOR PRINTS

LAMPS & SHADES

Re-upholstery - Curtains & Blinds - Furniture - Shutters - Cushions

Phone 5444 2412 117 Brisbane Road Mooloolaba

Rob Larson’s CURTAINS INTERIOR DECOR

&

Integrate Industrial, rustic, minimalist, modern and Scandinavian styles to create your kinfolk dream interior – LOFT Furniture Noosa has it all. Custom orders welcome. Australia wide shipping. Afterpay available. See our full range online www.loftfurniturenoosa.com | info@loftfurniturenoosa.com | 0422 588 888 My Renovation | July, 2018 31

31.indd 1

22/06/2018 11:03:40 AM


Su

ns

hi

M

ot or

wa y

Su

ga

rR

d

ne

Wises Rd

e Wis sR d

70 Su ga rR d

The Zone Maroochydore

32.indd 1

Bu

de

rim

e Av

22/06/2018 9:43:14 AM

Profile for My Weekly Preview

My Renovation July 2018 issue 77  

My Renovation July 2018 issue 77