Page 1

RENOVATION PROJECTS | DESIGN | PRODUCTS

ADVICE FOR FIRST-TIME RENOVATORS

ISSUE 62 | APRIL EDITION 2017 DIGITAL EDITIONS & MORE >> MYWEEKLYPREVIEW.COM.AU

01.indd 1

23/03/2017 11:52:07 AM


MEG

PRICE D 25% OFF SHUTTERS FINAL DAYS OF SALE- MUST END APRIL 28TH

VISIT OUR SHOWROOM TO SEE OUR RANGE & MEET OUR EXPERIENCED, FRIENDLY AND DEDICATED STAFF

>> CUSTOM MADE BLINDS >> READYMADE BLINDS >> SHUTTERS >> AWNINGS >> SECURITY >> CURTAINS

CALL NOW FOR A FREE MEASURE AND QUOTE FROM OUR LOCAL DÉCOR CONSULTANTS 02.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:40:51 PM


GA

SUPPORT LOCAL SMALL BUSINESS

E DROP

20% OFF

PANEL GLIDES & ROLLER BLINDS

LARGE FABRIC RANGE! NEW STYLES ADDED EVERY WEEK

CONDITIONS ARE MINIMUM $1000 SPEND, SALE ENDS APRIL 28TH 2017.

www.theblindsplace.com.au 20 Trinder Ave, Maroochydore 5475 4199 Shop 9/70 Redland Bay Rd, Capalaba 3823 1388

03.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:43:16 PM


RE KITCHENS AND MO

EDITOR’S NOTE & CONTENTS //

What’s inside

20 Editor’s note UPDATING YOUR KITCHEN HAS NEVER BEEN EASIER Pre-assembled modular kitchens and custom flat packs We can supply and install

Call into our showroom for a free quote DOORS KITCHENS BATHROOMS SHUTTERS & MORE 2/21 Trinder Avenue, Maroochydore P (07) 5451 1160 Email: info@renowarehouse.com.au Website: www.renowarehouse.com.au

SPRUCE UP YOUR OLD CONCRETE And add real value to your home • STYLISH • DURABLE • SEAMLESS • CLASSIC LIVING

Stencil Pattern Concrete

T

o say I enjoyed putting together this month’s editorial piece on bathrooms is an understatement. Compiling our top picks for luxurious bathrooms was a fun task. Who knew the humble room could look so beautiful? There really are no boundaries when it comes to interior design of a bathroom (other than your budget, of course). The key to renovating is to trust your instincts – combine common sense and expert advice with your own loves. This applies to all aspects of the project, not only the bathroom. This edition for our cover story, journalist Sarah Morgan takes a look at the growing trend of young couples who are renovating. With land releases slowing down and house prices going up, many young people are turning to the tools to create their dream home. I’m sure you will find plenty of helpful tips for your own project. Also this month, we have lots of kitchen advice, tips and our style pages. Be sure to check out the Finishing touches section for interior design inspiration. Until next month, happy renovating!

• Epoxy seamless floors • Comprehensive range of tools • Extensive range of pigments • Joint Flex • Construction Grouts

Unit 1/28 Technology Drive, Warana Ph: 5493 2022 www.evergardcw.com.au

• Water Proofing • Curing Compounds • Steel Mesh & Accessories • Repair Grout & Epoxies • Concrete Machinery

Cover story .............................6 Tips for first-time renovators

Bathroom ...............................8 Luxurious bathrooms

Kitchen .................................10 How to incorporate timber

Style............................................12 Natural attraction

Expert advice............................15 How to choose the right tiles

Flooring .....................................18 Cool polished concrete

Changing rooms .....................20 From baby girl to big girl

DIY .............................................22 Return of picture rails

Instagram .............................24 Interior designers to follow

Outdoor.....................................26 Autumn garden trends

Finishing touches ...................28 Natural textures and timber

We will help you combine colours and patterns to create an appeal that will optimise your settings • All decorative products • Safety gear & environmental products • All your major brands commercial & domestic

28

Please dispose of this magazine responsibly, by recycling after use.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation If you would like to advertise in the next edition please contact Bethan on 5444 0152. Sales: sales@myweeklypreview.com.au

4 My Renovation | April, 2017

04.indd 1

24/03/2017 9:57:01 AM


Finally a patio for all seasons NEW

APOLLO INSULA ROOF S TED

& WALLHEETING PANEL

OW W IT N I

BU

TH

48 Y

Patios • Carports • Decks • Screen & MONTHS Interest free* Glass Enclosures • Patio Accessories Blinds • Shutters • Aluminium Louvres & Slats Ends 30/04/17

Now you can enjoy year round outdoor living at its best with Apollo Patios latest release insulated roof sheeting and wall panel. Supreme comfort, strength and style all under the one roof is now available with Apollo Patios.

CALL US NOW FOR YOUR PERSONALISED DESIGN ADVICE & RECEIVE YOUR COMPLIMENTARY QUOTATION. ALL SUBURBS: Apollo Patios Sunshineapollopatios.com.au Coast Ph: 07 5437 8124 Showroom: 112 Nicklin Way Warana

customers are FREE DESIGN SERVICE | ADD VALUE TO YOUR enjoying their Apollo outdoors HOME | LARGE VARIETY OF STYLES & DESIGNS lifestyle 3 CHOICES OF ROOF SHEETING apollopatios.com.au See how our

MEMBER

*Credit approved applicants only; fees, terms and conditions apply including a $99 Annual Fee, charged on the account open date and annually on the anniversary of the account open date. Minimum finance amount $1200.00. Interest is payable on any balance outstanding after the Interest Free term. Ask in store for details. Credit provided by Once Finance Pty Ltd ABN 99 112 319 632. Australian Credit Licence number 386194 (Once). Once® is a trademark of Once. Once is a subsidiary of FlexiGroup Limited. Offer ends 30/04/17 Apollo Durasheen paint finish with 15 year warranty. Photos are indicative only – Apollo Home Additions are individually designed and may vary from the photo. Construction by Freedom Patios Pty Ltd. QBCC Licence No: 1008851. FPA6149B_R.

05.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:44:49 PM


COVER STORY //

Don’t forget the garden! Allow for a percentage of your overall budget to be spent on landscaping to complement the work you’ve carried out internally. A big trap for renovators is forgetting the outdoor areas.

TIPS FOR FIRST-TIME RENOVATORS Ever since shows such as The Block graced our screens, many of us have daydreamed of buying a rundown home and turning it into a masterpiece. But the realities associated with such a project can be a different story. Before you start knocking down walls, here are a few tips.

Know your ABCs Once you have decided the way forward, you may need to look at lodging a Development Application (DA), particularly with a larger renovation, and a Building Application (BA). This looks at all the details around the renovation and ensures you are operating within building codes. Seek advice from your local council.

Do your sums first Before starting, make a list of what you want to achieve, seek quotes from contractors and price up materials if you are doing it yourself. When putting a budget together, make sure you add a 20 per cent buffer for each item to cover anything that might come up. Check out websites such as The Stylesmiths for ideas or connect with local suppliers.

6 My Renovation | April, 2017

06.indd 1

23/03/2017 11:54:26 AM


PRIVACY & SHADE Without Maintenance

Existing structures When planning your renovation consider your existing structures. By working with the existing plumbing you will be able to keep costs down while also avoiding expensive rebuilds.

We use only Australian Powdercoated Aluminium or COLORBOND® Steel. • Awnings • Louvres • Shutters • Fencing & Gates • Insect & Security Screens All screens and gates are custom designed to suit your needs.

DIY FRIENDLY OR INSTALLED • CALL FOR A FREE MEASURE & QUOTE P. 5438 2866 or Mark 0424 984 785

WE LOVE! APP-ly that paint. Forget the swatches and sample pots, with the Paint My Place app you can test what colour suits best.

Don’t forget the kitchen and bathroom The kitchen and bathroom are two areas that add value to your home, particularly if renovating for an investment or for resell. Make sure your kitchen includes storage, a place for a larger fridge and quality fittings.

9 Newing Way, Caloundra (off Mark Rd at Daniel St roundabout) www.superiorscreens.com.au E. mark@superiorscreens.com.au

Superior Screens ®

LOOKING FOR FLOOR & WALL COVERINGS? Refresh your home with a modern look at a competitive price

DIRECT IMPORTERS OF TILES, STONE, CARPET, TIMBER & BAMBOO FLOORING SUPPLY AND INSTALL - PERSONAL SERVICE - EXPERT ADVICE

Open Monday to Friday from 8am

NORM EVANS FLOORS

PH: 5476 6022

Your builders preferred supplier

1-9 ENDEAVOUR DR, KUNDA PARK

My Renovation | April, 2017 7

07.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:46:24 PM


BATHROOM //

FEEL inspired how to create the perfect bathroom

Luxurious Why we love it? That tub looks inviting. We also like the separation of the shower, which includes the bench seat. The mirror-lined walls create a sense of space and luxury.

Here at My Renovation we love researching and browsing images to source inspiration. And, there is plenty of fun to be had in dreaming about constructing the perfect, luxurious bathroom. So, we have put together our top six bathroom selections to help inspire you on your way to creating your own piece of paradise.

PROTECT your pride and joy

Skillion - Gable - Fly-over Proudly 20+ years local QBCC# 1242525

Unit 1/32 Premier Cct, Warana | Phone: 5437 9525 | www.coastalpatios.com.au

Minimalistic Why we love it? It’s simple, understated and yet the sharp angles give this room a modern feel. The white fittings, paint and décor are crisp and fresh.

Modern Why we love it? With those hexagon downlights and freestanding boat shaped tub, what’s not to love?

NEW OR RENOVATING? USE STEEL FOR A LASTING JOB.

COMPLETESTEELFRAMES.COM.AU Phone Brian 0408 012 033

8 My Renovation | April, 2017

08.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:47:51 PM


NEED SHADE!

Industrial Why we love it? This stark grey bathroom will appeal to people who favour the bare, pared-back industrial look. The use of concrete, open-shower and metal tub are balanced with the fresh, green potted plants.

Hamptons Why we love it? It’s simple, fresh and stunning all rolled into one. The wooden accents paired with the greenery creates a beautiful bathroom.

• Shade Sails • Outdoor Upholstery • Exterior Blinds & Awnings • Auto and Marine Coverings FREE CALL 1300 655 310 4/47 Wises Rd, Buderim

Full Installation Service also available by Fully Licenced Contractor QBCC 150 186 43

www.cooloutdoorliving.com.au

MAKE LIGHT WORK OF YOUR

Breeze 48” Ceiling Fan 17 DS 2/4/20

YS LEFT! EN ONLY 7 DA

• Great Value • 2 Year “In Home” Warranty

AEROBLADE

®

Linear “Mini” 3 in 1 Silver Exhaust Fan With LED

13W 930lm Budget LED downlight

• High extraction 480 m /hr • 3 year “In-Home” warranty

• IP44 Rating

• 3 Year Warranty

• With E27 Light • Compatible with LED and Fluoro

SKU: 66150

NOW ONLY

NOW ONLY

SAVE $110

SAVE $120

69

$

SKU: 65165

SKU: 66151

79

$

LED

SKU: 66157

NOW ONLY

NOW ONLY

SAVE $21090

HALF PRICE!

$

299

1490

$

KAWANA 2 Eden Street, Minyama (Off Nicklin Way) | MACGREGOR | WINDSOR | SUMNER PARK *FREE shipping Australia wide | OPEN 7 DAYS | Call 1300 400 112 | lightingillusions.com.au My Renovation | April, 2017 9

09.indd 1

24/03/2017 10:24:31 AM


KITCHEN //

tip Minimalist is best. Keeping lines clean and work spaces clear not only allows you to maximise your bench space, but it will also emphasise any pops of colour you choose to incorporate.

Feature areas Confine the use of timber to feature areas such as benchtops, feature panelling or open shelves, so it’s not too overwhelming in the space.

Mixed countertops When it comes to fashion-forward benchtops, a solid granite, quartz, laminate or wood option are a thing of the past. Mixing materials is the latest sought-after look.

The natural alternative Timber is one of the most natural looks you can get in the home, so it’s no surprise that wood is a timeless choice that is back in vogue. Whether you decide to use real timber or a laminate effect, the look exudes a welcoming and homely feel.

THE kitchen & bathroom makeover SPECIALISTS Our Trend Surfaces engineered stone can be fitted directly over existing surfaces in as little as 1 day, with no demolition required. Heat, scratch, stain and impact resistant covered with a 10 year warranty. We specialise in kitchen makeovers, new kitchens, bathrooms and laundries.

‘The best kitchen renovation I’ve ever had was with Granite Transformations’

Fit your new kitchen directly over your existing surface

Ita Buttrose - Brand Ambassador

PHONE 5446 4548 3/4 Access Crescent, Coolum Beach www.granitetransformationsqld.com.au

BSA 1012813

10 My Renovation | April, 2017

10.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:49:07 PM


We love Pairing timber with white gives a traditional style, but this combination of wood and sea green shows what is possible with a little imagination.

*Conditions apply

COMPLETE BATHROOM RENOVATIONS

$

INC GST

INCLUDES

TILES

900 Ceramic Top Vanity & Mirror ◆ Taps, Basin & Shower ◆ Lachlan BTW Toilet Suite ◆ Toilet Roll Holder, Towel Ring Double ◆ Towel Rail & Soap Dish

8990

*

QBCC 1087867

Red or dark wood tones Rich timber colours with reddish or darker tones can create a bold statement with a neutral splashback.

FROM

20m2 Wall & Floor Tiles in a wide variety to choose from

P: 0403 371 064

LABOUR ◆

E: info@splashbathroomsqld.com.au facebook.com/splashbathroomsqld

Experienced Licensed Builders & Renovators

Make life more comfortable with Ducted Air Conditioning My Air Premium Ducted Air Conditioning management system with up to 10 zones of individual room airflow control, all run by a control screen that doubles as a tablet.

$

10,200

*

inc GST

Afft cash back 12kw Mitsubishi 6 After zones and outlets with individual zo o temperature control. te m *Fees, Terms and Conditions Apply.

12:45 Mode

Air

Zones

Plan

MyZone is: LOUNGE

ON timer

ON

clear OFF timer

low

medium

Help

SetUp

high

22 cool

heat

fan

dry

Lic# 78877 | ARC# L119645

Call us to tailor a package to suit your needs. Phone 1300 552 514

www.warana.laserelectrical.com.au warana@laserelectrical.com.au My Renovation | April, 2017 11

11.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:50:08 PM


STYLE //

WE LOVE

Organic-look lighting, like these made of rattan, bamboo and dried water hyacinth, add an exotic dimension to any style of home.

BACK TO NATURE Natural fibres are big this season, with textured looks created by woven elements the best way to provide seamless elegance to otherwise neutral homes. These accents can be added in anything from furniture and lighting to decorative pieces.

Statement piece A well-placed bamboo table or chair can really offset an otherwise bland area of your home.

tip When sourcing woven or handmade pieces for your home, look for a fair-trade certification so you know your purchase is supporting underdeveloped countries by paying a fair price for the work by craftsmen and women.

Rugged woven textures • Reeds • Rattan • Jute • Cane • Seagrass • Bamboo

Tropical Haven If you can’t get enough of the textured look, find an unused space in your home and transform it into an exotic retreat with a mix of woven and bamboo furniture, indoor plants and flowing neutral-coloured curtains.

12 My Renovation | April, 2017

12.indd 1

23/03/2017 11:55:25 AM


e m o h r u o y to s s Add some cla WITH BEAUTIFULLY DESIGNED FURNITURE

OSLO STOOL MANNI LEATHER CHAIR

SLEIGH STOOL

BORA CHAIR

LILLY CHAIR

DORA GAS LIFT STOOL

STARKY OFFICE CHAIR

MARLI STOOL & CHAIR

Continue a sophisticated look throughout your home with matching chairs and stools.

MONACO STOOL & CHAIRS

NEBULA STOOL

BIANCA STOOL

AIR STOOL

TOY STOOL

SCORPIO STOOL

Powder coast aluminium suitable for inside and outside.

TEAL SIDE TABLE

M2 STOOL

KITCHEN • BENCH STOOLS • BAR STOOLS • TABLES • OTTOMANS AND MORE SUNSHINE COAST Cnr Maud & Sugar Road, Maroochydore Ph 5479 5502 GOLD COAST: 33 Upton Street, Bundall Ph 5592 5118

sittingaround

www.sittingaround.com.au

13.indd 1

24/03/2017 10:25:33 AM


EXPERT ADVICE //

W

hen it comes to choosing flooring for your home, it’s important to research and familiarise yourself with different options and styles. Glenda Pelleri is one person who knows flooring. She has spent 15 years in the industry and is the director of Sunshine Coast-based business, Jerry and the Tile Makers. Here, she shares her expert advice with My Renovation readers. What is your favourite thing about working in this industry? Being able to design and colour people’s homes and seeing the finished product, especially bathroom renovations as this is our specialty. I love meeting new people and making lifelong friends with my customers. I don’t like selling tiles that I don’t like. If I wouldn’t put it in

my own house, then I wouldn’t recommend it to any of my customers. What are the most popular tiles? I would have to say the 600 mm x 600 mm Lappato stone look with a rectified edge because it’s a timeless look that isn’t going to date. What are your top tips for choosing tiles? • Be willing to step out of the box. Have some idea of colours and style that you are wanting. If you have no idea, we can always help you with that. • Have a budget in mind. • Make sure the chosen tile is suitable for the area to be tiled. • The most important thing is making sure you have a qualified tiler. Ask to see their work.

REAL TIMBER DECKING WITH A MASSIVE 25 YEAR WARRANTY FROM TERMITES, BORERS AND DECAY! It will save you time and money Price

$ ✓ Impregnated LVL construction using hardwood veneers ✓ 5metre lengths helps speed up installation, reducing waste and labour costs

36 RT25

Months INTEREST FREE

REAL TIMBER

DECKING

1

✓ No tannin stain. Does not bleed ✓ Gun barrel straight pieces, every time ✓ Superior dimensional stability ✓ Supplied with an oil-based pre-sealer coating

d from

99

m2

Inc. g

st

 0% INTEREST  NO DEPOSIT with 36 equal monthly payments until April 2020. Minimum purchase $490.

Offer end 30/4/17. Apply in store/online. Available for in-store and selected online purchases. Approved applicants only. Fees & charges apply. Interest applies if you do not comply with terms and conditions.

Now available for the first time at Harvey Norman Flooring, RT25 Decking will revolutionise traditional decking and timber projects like never before. Already hugely successful worldwide this product utilises a patented method of laminated timber made from impregnatable LVL construction using hardwood veneers that displays superior benefits to normal hardwood and pine and guarantees its quality for 25 years. Compare that to any other timber product.

25 year warranty for termites, borers, structural and decay

Fully FSC Certified

Don’t buy another piece of decking timber without seeing RT25 Decking. Visit our instore display. Available at Harvey Norman Flooring Maroochydore & Rothwell stores only

MAROOCHYDORE Unit 1, Ground Level, Maroochydore Homemaker Centre 11-55 Maroochy Boulevard. 5452 1500

ROTHWELL 1/439-443 Anzac Ave, Rothwell. 3897 8800

*1. Conditions of 36 Months Instalment Interest Free until April 2020: Available to approved GO MasterCard customers on transactions made before 30/4/17 where the amount financed is $490 or more. Offer available on purchases from Harvey Norman franchisees. Offer available on advertised or ticketed price. Total amount is payable by 36 approximate equal monthly instalments (exact amounts specified in your statement). If there is an outstanding balance after the interest free period ends in April 2020, interest will be charged at 29.49%. This notice is given under the GO MasterCard Conditions of Use, which specify all other conditions for this offer. A $25.00 Establishment Fee applies to new approved applicants. Account Service fee of $4.95 per month applies. Also available to existing Creditline, Gem Visa and Buyer’s Edge customers. Refer to product websites for conditions, fees and charges. Credit is provided by Latitude Finance Australia (ABN 42 008 583 588). Australian Credit Licence 392145. See website for full terms and conditions.

14 My Renovation | April, 2017

14.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:50:59 PM


TRANSFORM

your wardrobe storage

• Glass splashbacks • Robe Interiors • Shower Screens • Walk In Wardrobes • Wardrobe Doors • Walk in Pantry • Linen Cupboard • Frameless Mirrors • Home Office

23 Enterprise St, CALOUNDRA P. 5491 7567 www.hillswardrobes.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8.30-5pm Sat 9-12pm

View our wide range of International stone in our showroom and be inspired. 97 Enterprise St, Kunda Park P. 5453 4401 www.creativestone.net.au

creativestone • Marble • Reconstituted Stone • Granite

My Renovation | April, 2017 15

15.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:52:13 PM


Travertine Stone Dining Settings ALL

30

SAVE UP TO 40%FF

%

OFF Wicker Dining Settings

ALL

25

MINIMUM

OFF

Kwilla Bar & Dining Settings 16.indd 1

35

%

%

OFF

MINIMUM % %

25 -40

Naturalstone Dining Settings OFF 23/03/2017 1:26:26 PM


END OF SEASON SALE

E D I W E R O ST

S G N I V A S

Aluminium Bar & Dining Settings

MINIMUM

20

%

Teak Bar & Dining Settings

ALL

OFF

Aluminium & Wicker Sunlounges

20

%

OFF

ALL

20

%

OFF

Whatever your space, taste and lifestyle talk to the Specialists today and Save!

MAROOCHYDORE 5452 7833 Maroochydore Homemaker Centre 55 Maroochy Boulevard All savings apply to RRP. Only while stocks last.

17.indd 1

tofs.com.au 23/03/2017 1:27:18 PM


FLOORING //

For a polished finished: CONCRETE FLOORING

GET THE LOOK Concrete flooring can also be versatile. To achieve different looks, you can stain, score in grid pattern lines or use an acrylic sealer to give it that wet look.

The days when concrete flooring was only used in commercial and industrial buildings is long gone. Now polished concrete floors have become a popular option for residential spaces thanks to their versatility, durability and sustainability. Aside from providing a trendy industrial look, this flooring option has a long list of benefits. Concrete flooring is an eco-friendly option with very low maintenance required.

tip

Polished concrete floors can last for many years with minimum maintenance as they have a strong protection against any kinds of stains and marks. Most times, sweeping and mopping are the only cleaning you will need to maintain the concrete’s high gloss. Concrete floors are easy to clean and are fire-resistant, which makes them the ideal option for high-traffic areas such as the kitchen and living area.

To achieve a seamless transition from indoor to outdoor living why not try honed concrete? Honed concrete is very similar to polished concrete, but designed for external surfaces. Honed concrete can be used as an alternative to tiles and pavers.

18 My Renovation | April, 2017

18.indd 1

24/03/2017 12:42:04 PM


Affordable 2 pack Buy direct from the manufacturer Ki Kitchens, Vanities & Robes a available in 2 Pack Gloss, Satin, Metallic finishes, and Melamine Various door designs Doors without handles

CUSTOMISED C USTOMISED DIY FLAT PACK KITCHEN SPECIALISTS

Cabinets pre-drilled for easy assembly Installation can be arranged

ColorVogue Kitchens is a family owned and operated business and has been established for 20 years on the Sunshine Coast. Open: Monday - Friday 8am-4pm, Saturday - By appointment

WE LOVE… The combination of pairing polished concrete flooring with wood. They complement each other thanks to the wood’s warmth and the concrete adds a little grit to the wood. Check out Concrete Design House for some cool designs.

Phone: 5493 2566 Visit our display room at 14 Bearing Avenue, Warana (Off Main Dr) www.colorvogue.com.au E: info@colorvoguedoors.com.au

find your style with Inspiring Choices 2017! From greeting to completing a room, view over 100 pages of flooring designs and find out the latest styling tips from Australia’s leading decorators. Featuring luscious carpets to the natural beauty of timber and bamboo, whether your style is modern, coastal, or something in-between, you’ll find it in Inspiring Choices 2017. Visit our showroom to collect your free copy.

only available at Choices Flooring Maroochydore 3/32 Wises Road, Maroochydore 5443 6280 choicesflooring.com.au

My Renovation | April, 2017 19

19.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:53:13 PM


CHANGING ROOMS //

Fit for a princess Converting a nursery into a room fit for a little girl is a fun project. From rainbows and unicorns to soft pastels, the styling options are endless.

WE LOVE!

Pretty as a picture Wallpaper and wall stickers are popular and for good reason. It’s an inexpensive and fun way to theme your room and introduce a unique element.

Daily motivation is a great thing to have in any child’s bedroom. We love this print from Domayne.

Name it We love the personalised metallic wallmounts from Sunshine Coastbased company Winnie Dot. Visit winniedot.com.au

DON’T REPLACE IT, REFACE IT! We can transform the look of your kitchen by replacing your doors, drawer fronts, benchtop and splashback.

1 LOW COST Pay a fraction of the cost of a new kitchen by keeping your existing cabinetry.

SAVE $$$$$ 2 HUGE RANGE

Choose from a huge range of the latest door styles and colours, plus handles and benchtops.

3 LOCAL BUSINESS

All doors and cabinets are made in Australia by Australian craftsmans and come with a 10 year warranty.

When an old door closes, a DREAM DOOR opens! Phone for an in-home consultation 1800 373 263

QBCC 15032399

www.dreamdoors.com.au

20 My Renovation | April, 2017

20.indd 1

24/03/2017 9:51:19 AM


It all starts with a theme Let your imagination run wild when it comes to deciding on a suitable theme for your little one’s bedroom. The rules have changed and we are no longer tied into the confines of pastel pink or purple. Blend colours and get creative. This room, styled for Domayne, is feminine and fun. It has the right balance of black, pink and white.

Create

STREET APPEAL

Featuring the Sunday bed frame in black. Visit domayne.com.au

tip Choose furniture that will grow with your child. Simple yet contemporary pieces such as desks and bedside tables can take your daughter through to her teen years.

with a

• High impact resistance • Will never crack or leach, no efflorescence • Highly adaptable to all sites • Patent pending

A sprinkle of magic Bring a little magic to your little girl’s room with these fairy door sets from Finn and Dash Toys.

ove is Sometimes the best m

Greenblock DESIGNER FENCE • Unlimited design possibilities • Design service available • Sunshine Coast manufacturers • A network of qualified contractors

For more info call 0416 158 045 sales@greenblocksystem.com.au u www.greenblocksystem.com.au

no move at all

d a e t s n i e t a v o n Re Stay at the address you love and save all the hassle and extra expense of moving. Let the highly experienced award winning team at T.M.G. Construction transform your home into something spectacular.

Quality, innovation and a commitment to excellence Renovations - New Homes - Body Corporate MULTI AWARD WINNERS

Phone Tim 5450 8887

www.tmgcon.com.au

Registered Builder QBSA# 1179913

My Renovation | April, 2017 21

21.indd 1

24/03/2017 12:41:19 PM


DIY //

how to: MAKE YOUR OWN PAINTED PICTURE RAIL

P

IMAGES: BREE LEECH & HEATHER NETTE KING FOR DULUX COLOUR TRENDS 2017 – SENTIENCE PALETTE. PHOTOGRAPHER: LISA COHEN

icture rails are making a comeback particularly in renovated properties, and we can see why. This classic look, when done correctly, can turn a dull room into a masterpiece. Whether the room is vintage-inspired or has a modern twist, incorporating a picture rail can work. When choosing colours, make sure they complement not only each other but the theme within the room. There is no hard and fast

rule about the ratio of colour – the main wall can be in a darker shade while the section above the rail can be a lighter tone, or vice versa. The paint experts at Dulux share their tips for how to achieve the perfect look. STEP ONE As with any paint job, it is important to ensure you have your usual drop sheet, quality painter’s masking tape and brushes/rollers on hand. For a DIY picture rail, you’ll also need a ladder, HB pencil, an eraser, measuring tape, putty

knife and spirit level. STEP TWO To ensure an easy paint job, paint the entire wall in your lightest colour first, allowing it to fully dry. STEP THREE Conditional to the height of your walls, measure down around 30 to 45 centimetres from the ceiling. Use your HB pencil to mark this on the walls at each corner, then along the wall use your spirit level to mark a continuous line with your HB pencil.

think kitchens... think Kauri Kitchens. $500 LED Lighting Package When you order your kitchen before April 30*

Talk to our

INTERIOR DESIGt soNmEe R

Custom built kitchen, bathrooms, cabinetry, joinery and more Full design services Huge range of products Obligation free quotes Full project management

Over 30 years on the Sunshine Coast New or renovations Appliances Uncompromising quality Domestic and Commercial Helpful, qualified service

Drop into our modern SHOWROOM Open Monday to Friday 8am - 4pm and Saturday by appointment

To ge inspirational ideas.

Unit 2/30 Enterprise St Kunda Park

Discover all your kitchen solutions in one location.

*Conditions apply. Ask instore for details

kaurikitchens.com.au

5445 8277

22 My Renovation | April, 2017

22.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:56:45 PM


Give your Concrete a STEP FOUR Now, use painter’s tape to mask this line (only if you’re creating a straight line). You may require a helping hand to hold it taut at one end as you line it up. Also ensure that your tape lines up to the outside of your pencilled line. Then press your tape with a putty knife to prevent paint bleeding through.

Colour It Australia Makeover N& COME I UGE RH SEE OU AREA Y DISPLA • stamp • stencil • topcrete • sealers • epoxy coatings • colour in the mix for domestic & commercial applications

STEP FIVE Using your brush or roller, paint the secondary coat of paint. Allow it to dry. STEP SIX Remove the tape at a 45-degree angle to prevent paint peeling. If you notice any bleeding from underneath your tape, use a fine brush to patch this up.

24hr display: 20 Endeavour Dr, Kunda Park

PHONE: 07 5445 2399 E: sales@ciaconcrete.com.au www.ciaconcrete.com.au

Life Time Timbers Supermarket Everything for your DIY Project and More ly The on rd a y r e timb g in k c o t s ber im T e Ultralif king Dec

ULTRALIFE TIMBER DECKING

• Fencing

• Made with real timber, the Ultralife Timber Decking has a 25 year warranty against, termites, borers and decay.

• Materials for Pergolas

• Guaranteed to be gun-barrel straight, which saves you time

STRONG - STRAIGHT - SUSTAINABLE

• Suitable for decks, boardwalks, fencing, furniture, domestic and commercial applications.

For timber that will last a lifetime... *MENTION THIS AD AND WE’LL DELIVER LOCALLY FOR HALF PRICE! CORNER OF PRODUCTION AND BEARING AVE WARANA. PHONE: 5493 8022 WWW.LIFETIMETIMBERS.COM.AU

• Decking & Stains

• Gate frames made to order • Sleepers • F14 Hardwood • Kiln Dried Merbau • Hardware to suit most jobs

Life Time TIMBERS My Renovation | April, 2017 23

23.indd 1

23/03/2017 9:44:36 AM


INSTAGRAM //

DESIGN WE LOVE

LIFESTYLE

Canadian interior design Jacquelyn Clark has amassed almostt 29,000 followers on Instagram thanks to her beautiful styling techniques. From food to flowers and home design, Clark has that special design touch.

The work of designers Steph and Kaz, who are based in New York City and Sydney respectively, this Instagram account is full of colour, architecture and home ideas.

Larrikins Andy and Ben featured on television series The Block in 2016 and proved popular with the Australian public. Follow them on Instagram for DIY advice and to keep up-to-date with what the boys are doing.

Follow us on Instagram at my_renovation

LARGEST RANGE OF TILES Plus we have our own highly-experienced in-house tiler that can install your tiles

To suit every budget. INDOORS • OUTDOORS • BATHROOMS • LOUNGE ROOMS • BEDROOMS POOLS • FEATURE WALLS • PATIOS FENCES & more!! Drop into our showroom and speak to our friendly team about a free quote 2/5 Premier Circuit Warana

5437 8582 www.jerryandthetilemakers.com.au Open Mon-Fri 8-4.30pm, Sat 8.30-1pm

TILEMAKERS

24 My Renovation | April, 2017

24.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:58:15 PM


FLAT PACKS MADE EASY WE DESIGN AND CUSTOMISE YOUR FLAT PACK KITCHEN Our point of difference from large hardware stores is that we perfectly design and manufacture your kitchen to your needs. You no longer have to compromise with a one size fits all  Kitchen makeovers  Replacement doors  Replacement benchtops  Flat pack  Kitchens  Vanities product. Let Cut N Edge prove that we  Laundries  Wardrobes  Assembled units  TV entertainment units  Complete installation service can make your kitchen, save you money and give you a kitchen you will be proud to show off for years to come. • Quality craftsmanship made with the material you want • A price difference you just won’t beat when compared to a custom fitted kitchen • Our team of specialists will even come and install it!

BUY DIRECT FROM THE FACTORY AND SAVE

SERVICING THE SUNSHINE COAST FOR 20 YEARS

COME AND SEE US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION AND QUOTE 1/11 Machinery Ave, Warana P. 5493 4577 www.cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au Email: info@cutnedgepanelfactory.com.au

25.indd 1

22/03/2017 1:59:17 PM


OUTDOOR //

tip

Emerging autumn garden trends • Feature walls that offer an opportunity for colour blocking or artistic designs. • Speciality lighting to enhance outdoor living spaces into the night. • Customised furniture that can transform awkward nooks and crannies in the garden. • Modern landscapes with a mix of tropical and native plants. • Replacing clunky pool gates with glass panels to create a more sophisticated look.

We may officially be in autumn, but it is best to wait until the temperatures start to cool down throughout the region before you begin to actively plant in the garden.

Veggie delight The best autumn crops to grow in your veggie garden this season include broad beans, broccoli, lettuce, onion, peas, radish, shallots, spinach, spring onion and turnip.

Helping you to

TAKE YOUR LANDSCAPING IDEAS THROUGH TO COMPLETION • Pavers • Retaining Wall Blocks • Natural stone • Wall Cladding

• Living Walls • Paver & Masonry sealers • Living turf & synthetic grass • Garden edging

iLandscape.com.au is your first click in landscaping. iLandscape Sunshine Coast can assist you with everything you need to get the job done right, from quality landscaping products to choosing the correct contractor, we are here to assist you with your every landscaping requirement. As about our price match guarantee.

200 Nicklin Way, Warana. Phone 5493 5975. www.ilandscape.com.au 26 My Renovation | April, 2017

26.indd 1

22/03/2017 2:00:06 PM


Great garden mates Companion planting is an excellent way to improve your garden. Some plants replenish nutrients lost by another one, and some combinations effectively keep pests away. Marigolds are a great companion plant in veggie gardens.

Inspiration If you have a patch of grass that consistently looks more dead than alive, transform it into a paved masterpiece that can double as an entertaining area.

For style and strength choose COLORBOND® Steel

COLORBOND® Steel fencing • Metal roofing • Custom flashings • All rain water goods • Engineered patio & shed kits • Translucent sheeting

MAKE YOUR GARAGE AMAZING WITH

EPOXY GARAGE FLOORING EPOXY DOUBLE GARAGE From $1,699

Epoxy floors are seamless and extremely abrasion resistant. Making it the ideal concrete surface treatment when durability, resistance to heavy foot traffic and minimal maintenance is important.

®

Metroll BETTER SERVICE • BETTER BUILDING SOLUTIONS

COLOUR IT AUSTRALIA Decorative Concrete Products

P: 5438 9338 or Mike 0487 999 902 19 Daniel St, Caloundra

www.customflek.com.au

PHONE TODAY 5493 7872 - 10 Bearing Avenue, Warana www.metroll.com.au - northcoast@metrollqld.com.au COLORBOND® is a trade marks of BlueScope Steel Limited. “The colours of Australia since 1966™” is a trade mark of BlueScope Steel Limited. © 2016 BlueScope Steel Limited ABN 16 000 011 058 All rights reserved

My Renovation | April, 2017 27

27.indd 1

22/03/2017 2:01:24 PM


finishing touches Advice and ideas to turn your renovation into a home.

WE LOVE The Zone Wall Clock, with its timber face and industrial feel. It’s from Domayne.

THINK OUTSIDE THE NATURAL

BEND THE RULES BE

Natural elements from the outdoors can creating interesting features and textures within your outdoor space. Think outside the box for what items can be repurposed to enhance the space. e.

Loo for natural items that Look have been crafted into hav interesting pieces of art to add inte a sp special touch to your home. The sculpture is a great example and is from Go Arty. exa

Lowe Table lamp in white marble base with brushed brass detail and black shade. WAS $149 NOW $ 75

tip

Matteo 1 light pendants in concrete with black detail. WAS $7995ea NOW $ 96 ea

PREMIUM LIGHTING DESIGN SERVICE FOR THE ULTIMATE DESIGNER LOOK

59

111

25

% FF O

Don’t be afraid to mix natural materials with splashes of colour to create a well-balanced room.

ALL LIGHTS* STOREWIDE

Maroochydore

Kawana

Noosa

Sunshine Homemaker Centre 72 Maroochydore Rd. Ph 5479 0411

2 Eden St, Minyama Ph 5478 4928

28 Eenie Creek Rd Ph 5447 1099

Southampton 1 light small exterior wall bracket in antique black with glass shade. WAS $159 NOW $ 25

119

NOW OPEN AT BEACON LIGHTING

MAROOCHYDORE

* Discounts are of RRP. Excludes fans, globes and heaters. Sale ends 30.4.17.

28 My Renovation | April, 2017

28.indd 1

24/03/2017 1:45:38 PM


SEE SHELLS LET THERE BE LIGHT This timber and linen lamp will lighten up the look of your room, available at Homeleigh House.

These baskets made of shells not only look nice and add another element of texture to your space, but they provide extra storage for all those little bits and pieces. These ones are from Coast.

BREATHE IT ALL IN Studies have shown that having plants in your living room is beneficial to your health and can lead to a better night’s sleep. Choose plants with large leaves or that are drought resistant.

A HUGE RANGE OF CHAIR S, SETTINGS, STOOLS & MORE    l

O‫פ‬n 7 

Innovative sales@innovativefurnishings.com.au • 100 Brisbane Rd, Mooloolaba • 5452 6885

Furnishings & Decor My Renovation | April, 2017 29

29.indd 1

22/03/2017 2:04:18 PM


finishing touches MIX AND MATCH Use different objects within a room to introduce gold and brass tones. This pineapple is from Coast, the fish statute from Innovative Furnishings and the door stop from Things of Metal and Wood.

LIGHT IT UP

GO FOR GOLD Gold, chrome and brass tones are huge right now. Bring these elements into your rooms through artwork, lamps, vases and cushions.

Lamps are a great way to introduce some soft, ambient light into a room. This Mid Century floor lamp is from Domayne. Visit domayne.com.au au

DON’T MOVE...

RENOVATE

Where it all comes together easily

FREE UPGRADE Soft closing drawer system Conditions Apply.

BEFORE

Cost effective solutions for every budget

KITCHENS • VANITIES • SHELVING • OFFICE

FINANCE OPTION AVAILABLE

askin cabinets 4 Industrial Ave, Caloundra 5491 2765 www.askincabinets.com.au

QBSA 742429 HIA 956774

30 My Renovation | April, 2017

30.indd 1

22/03/2017 2:07:26 PM


ART

FOR YOUR HOME COMMISSION ART You know what you want and you’ve looked everywhere for that original art that will suit your new home, office or special place perfectly ... but you just can’t find it! Frustrating isn’t it! Let us hand paint it for you and have exactly what you want.

BOLD OR BASIC

WE LOVE

Don’t settle on the elements of your room until you have considered if you want the gold tones to accentuate and offer a subtle element, or you want them to become the statement nt p pieces of your room.

ART, GIFTS & HOMEWARES Our showroom offers a vast array of decorator items, gifts, jewelley and soft furnishings. Come and browse our showroom, you’ll never know what you might find.

These vases and cushions are a perfect pair and are from Whitepepper Homewares. Phone 0488 440 626.

CLASSES & WORKSHOPS Offering classes from single day workshop to 6 week beginner and advanced classes in painting and drawing. Also group bookings for parties and hens nights.

goarty

7 Norval Crt, Maroochydore Phone 5451 1445 www.goarty.com.au

Gallery Classes Homewares

Advertise your business RENOVA TION

54,000 COPIES

PRO JEC

from only

$ The largest range of upholstery fabrics and curtains on the Sunshine Coast Our talented design team can help you create beautiful interiors. Our showrooms offer an extensive range of fabrics, window treatments and soft furnishings, together with a wide selection of exclusive furniture, one-off design pieces and original works. Proudly servicing the Sunshine Coast for 40 years.

- Re-upholstery - Curtains & Blinds - Furniture - Shutters - Cushions Phone 5444 2412 117 Brisbane Road Mooloolaba

395

TS | DES IGN

| PRO DU

CTS

WHAT’S H OT? HOME

THE 2017

ISSUE 60

| FEBRUA

DIGITAL EDITI

RY EDITION

ONS & MOR

E >> MYW

TRENDS

2017

EEKLYPRE VIEW.COM .AU

1.indd 1

per month

20/01/201

7 9:46:46 AM

RENOVATION The renovation industry on the Sunshine Coast is big business, accounting for the majority of residential building activity in 2016. Published monthly, and the only publication of its type on the Coast, My Renovation is inserted in My Weekly Preview and distributed to 54,000 homes. It is a must if your business is targeting the many thousands of home renovators across the region.

Rob Larson’s CURTAINS INTERIOR DECOR

&

Contact Bethan Eaton

Proudly produced by

0413 958 196 beaton@myweeklypreview.com.au www.myweeklypreview.com.au My Renovation | April, 2017 31

31.indd 1

24/03/2017 10:26:37 AM


Su

ns

hin

ot or

wa y

Su

ga

rR

d

eM

Wises Rd

e Wis sR d

70 Su ga rR d

The Zone Maroochydore

32.indd 1

Bu

de

rim

e Av

23/03/2017 11:45:34 AM

My reno 62 april 2017  
My reno 62 april 2017