Page 1

ZERO SR/F

TECH THROUGH TIME

PLUG-IN A AND PLAY

TWO-WHEEL INNOVATIONS

GET ON TRACK! ❯❯ BUYING TRACK KIT

❯❯ TYRE ADVICE

MODIFIED MILE-MUNCHER

MV AGUSTA F3 800

No.357 September 2019

FANCY FEATHE HERWEIGHT

VDUE 500 THE STROKER THAT BROKE BIMOTA

THINK YOU’RE

? L A I SPECCTOR

THREE BIKES, , THREE STYLES ILES ENDLESS SM

FUN FA

KT KTM690 T SMC R MT-09 ZX-6R

PLUS

❯ ❯ SHAKEY BYRNE: IT'S NOT OVER YET ❯❯ READER'S RIDE: LIVING WITH A 2011 ZX-10R ❯ ❯ OUR GUIDE TO BUYING A USED BMW S1000R

UK off-sale date – 17/09/2019

HOND DA CBR900RR CBR900R

SEPTEMBER 2019 ISSUE E 357

£4.40

ZELER COMPK ❯❯ METZ SLICK K TESTED ❯❯ UK'S FIRST 10-HOUR RACE


ISSUE 357 SEPTEMBER 2019

IT’S THE NEWS!

Upfront ........................................... 10 All the tastiest gossip.

GEARED UP!

Products.......................................... 15 All the latest, coolest and trickest products.

THE KNOWLEDGE

Used Buyer’s Guide......................... 76 Everything you need to know when buying a BMW S1000R.

Master Legal ................................. 117

How to mitigate your losses after an accident.

YOUR LIFE ON BIKES

20

Reader’s ride ...................................36 Loboo’s ZX-10R is dripping with carbon fibre and he tells us why.

SUB

Track Craft ......................................82

How to make the most of your trackday by having all the right kit – and there is a chance to win a free trackday!

RIBE C S e8 pag See etails d for

Addiction.........................................60

Malc Fox has been shopping in the bling aisle for his MT-09.

Chatter ............................................92

It’s only fair we give the best readers in the world a page of their own!

WORKSHOP

Know Your.....................................104 We take a look at bike servicing this month.

OUR LIFE ON BIKES

Staff Bikes.....................................110 •Honda CBR650R •Kawasaki ZX-6R •BMW S1000RR

•Yamaha MT-10 SP •KTM 790 Duke

Race Riot .........................................86 A 10-hour endurance race at Anglesey can’t be that hard, right?

52

RACE SECTION

Pit Pass............................................ 106

The lowdown on BSB, WSBK and MotoGP, straight from the pitlane.

COLUMNISTS

Neave twins...................................118

Zero SR/F........................................... 42

Scott Redding ................................119

Bimota V-Due .................................... 52

Gary Johnson .................................120

Smiles for miles ................................ 66

Honda rider, Tom, is making hay whilst the sun shines. The former GP racer is getting the hang of BSB. Gaz preps for the Classic TT.

Christian Iddon..............................121 Iddon talks about bouncing back from injuries.

Bruce has been smoking again, this time on Bimota’s 500cc 2-stroke GP-esque roadbike. You can have a lot of fun with 10k, fun that comes in all different shapes.

Metzeler Comp-K.............................. 94

Steve Parrish .................................122

The new trackday slick from Metzeler could be just the ticket for your track bike.

TESTS

Tech through time ............................ 46

Parrish’s take on all things bike racing.

COVER STORY How do you like yours? .................... 20 We found out what can be achieved when you get giddy with the aftermarket parts catalogue.

66

Boothy has taken the Zero’s new electric bike out for a spin to see ‘watt’ it’s all about.

FEATURES

We take a look at how tech and electronics have improved over the years.

Mugen ............................................... 98 Who are they and where have they come from? Bruce has been speaking to the head honchos to find out.


WELCOME

A bit different

I

n a world so tepid a mouse’s fart can seem offensive, a good solid blast on an audacious, barking stroker often proves just the tonic. It’s mad to think this iconic engine type is now all but extinct, unless you scratch deep enough down a dealer’s used stock aisle and take your pick of the RGVs, NSRs and RS250s that seem to make up the modern mainstay of this sector. But the chances of coming across a Bimota V-Due are up there with Boothy buying you a pint at the bar – it’s not going to happen. Considering there were only ever 500 units planned and just over 300 built, they’re a pretty rare specimen by any model’s standards. I remember seeing one years ago, listening to its burbling on tick-over and wondering how the hell a GP-esque bike like that would cut it on the roads? It was one of those rhetorical thoughts because I never imagined I’d find the answer… but then this month I did. Just like Kenny Roberts Junior’s RGV500R and the Suter MMX500 I rode before that, this bike was uniquely special, as you’ll grasp if you read my take on it. The same goes for the MV F3 and 954 ’Blade that Carl and Boothy have been blitzing around on this month, with the core difference being that both of those bikes started off mainstream and now, thanks to the enthusiasm of their owners, are anything but. I like seeing people make their bikes that bit different, and knowing there’s some tangible gain to an investment sits well with me. It’s great when you guys write in and tell us about your bike, much like reader Krystian who joined us this month to show off his carbonclad ZX-10R. While we’re on the topic of showing off, Boothy did a good job of just that on Zero’s new lean(ish), green(ish) SR/F launch. He loved the thing and even got it to do a burnout… before snapping its belt (no, that’s not a euphemism). Technology is a funny old thing; a dirty old two-stroke couldn’t be farther from the new wave of battery-powered bullets that are presumably just around the corner. Not even Mystic Meg could tell us categorically what’s coming our way next, but the main thing to remember is that without innovations we’d still be riding push bikes and making our own soundtracks. To prove that point, we set young Mr Dowds the challenge of tracking the top bits of tech that have moved the motorcycling game along in the recent past, which I’m sure will provoke a few memories when you read his wise words. With 2020’s new release announcements just a few months away, these really are interesting times.

52

Fuming good fun… Join us on Facebook:

Facebook.com/ FastBikesMagazine

Join us on Twitter:

@FastBikesMag

Download Fast Bikes:

Mortons.co.uk/FB

View Fast Bikes video content:

youtube.com/ fastbikesmag

BOSS MAN

‘Dangerous’ Bruce Wilson dangerous@fastbikes.co.uk

AD MAN

Charlie ‘The Sheriff’ Oakman coakman@fastbikes.co.uk

NEW MAN

Carl ‘Pretty Boy’ Stevens teaboy@fastbikes.co.uk

RACE MAN

Mike ‘Boothy’ Booth race@fastbikes.co.uk

TECH MAN

Rob ‘Beano’ Bean

tech@fastbikes.co.uk

page 8 for the best deals, SUBSCRIBE! See or visit classicmagazines.co.uk/fb

SEPTEMBER 2019 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM 7


CALL 01507 529529 ONLINE

LINES OPEN: 8.30am-5pm (Mon-Fri) Quote ref: FBDPS

8 BRONTE STEAM


FIVE GREAT OFFERS TO CHOOSE FROM...

A YEAR OF

£29 FROM JUST

.99

PRINT ONLY

No one likes missing out! So to prevent that, why not take advantage of this amazing offer? Get the next 13 issues from just £29.99. That’s only £2.30 per issue and guarantees that you get your fill of all the best new bikes, products, great road tests and more. Subscribe today!

Bruce Wilson

BEST OFFER

2 49 6thenissues FOR £22.49 £22.49 every six months Direct Debit » 13 issues FOR £45.49 Credit/debit card » 26 issues FOR £80 Credit/debit card »

DIGITAL ONLY

6Credit/debit issues FOR £15.99 card » 13 issues FOR £29.99 Credit/debit card »

Editor

www.classicmagazines.co.uk/fbdps

TERMS & CONDITIONS: Rates are based on UK orders only – for overseas please visit www.classicmagazines.co.uk/fb-overseas. Subscriptions will start with the next available issue. Offer closes 27/09/19. Direct debit payments will continue at the price you paid, on this offer, every 6 months thereafter unless you tell us otherwise. Full terms and conditions can be found at www.classicmagazines.co.uk/terms.

BRONTE STEAM 9


NE W S & REV IEW S PL ANET FAST BIKES – NE W ME TA L,

YAMAHA UNVEIL NEW 2020 R1 & R1M Okay, it might not be completely new, but Yamaha are the first to offer up their 2020 superbike contenders. As predicted, its evolution rather than a revolution… So, what’s new? Well, for starters, although Yamaha are keeping the same 998cc crossplane crank powerplant as before, they’ve been busy eeking out any extra advantage they can find; the biggest change being the newly designed fingerfollower rocker arms and cam lobe profiles that allow for more stable valve moments, which has in turn

upped the high-end rpm performance – something that will be incredibly handy in full-blown superbike trim. There’s also a new intake system with 10-hole Bosch fuel injectors giving a more efficient burn, and a reworked exhaust system, which will pass the evertightening Euro5 emissions laws while still keeping some solid oomph. It’s not just the engine that’s been reworked though, as Yamaha have given the R1 models a lighter and more efficient ride-by-wire throttle system, alongside a new

10 SEPTEMBER 2019 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM

wave of electronic aids, which now includes cornering ABS and a new launch control system, thanks to the bike’s six-axis IMU. The R1s will come on new Bridgestone RS11 rubber for some tasty grip from the get go, and although the brakes remain the same, Yamaha have given the 2020 model some uprated brake pads, which should hopefully make a nice difference. The standard model will come equipped with an updated 43mm Kayaba fork, damper and shock, which has all been revised slightly from the last generation, and as you can see in the pictures, an R6-esque overhaul on the aesthetics and the tank (which is aluminium, alongside the wheels) which Yamaha say gives a 5.3% increase in aerodynamic efficiency, alongside greater comfort. Prices are still to be confirmed, but expect the standard model to be around the £17k mark, and the M north of £24k. They’ll be available from September this year, so get your orders in fast…

THE R1M… If the standard R1 just doesn’t do enough for you, Yamaha have gone the extra mile on the ‘M’ once again, giving it the very latest Öhlins NPX gas forks, which is an incredibly clever piece of kit. They have a small gas cylinder integrated within the fork axle, which actually reduces the fork oil cavitation (you know, an empty bit) which happens on the rebound stroke, giving a better all-round feel on the front end. The M has also been on a serious diet, with carbon fibre front fairings, mudguard and tail section shedding some weight, alongside a set of magnesium wheels and a magnesium sub-frame for good measure. Each bike will also come with its own engraving plaque and unique production number as well.


COME AND JOIN US… ULTIMATE SPORTSBIKE 2019 – THE FINALE!

WE'LL BE SCRAPPING IT OUT ON SLICKS AT PARCMOTOR ON THE TOP THREE BIKES FROM ULTIMATE SPORTSBIKE 2019, AND WE WANT T YOU TO JOIN US. BOOK YOUR PLACE WITH NO LIMITS TRACKDAYS TODAY!

DUCATI V4S APRILIA RSV V4 1100 FACTO CTORY Y BMW S100 000RR M SPORT

WE’LL SEE YOU THERE!

■ WHEN? SEPTEMBER 6-8. ■ WHERE? PARCMOTOR, SPAIN. ■ HOW? CALL NO LIMITS TRACKDAYS ON 01525 877 087, OR BOOK ON-LINE AT WWW.NOLIMITSTRACKDAYS.COM ■ WHAT'S INCLUDED? THREE DAYS ON TRACK, THREE NIGHTS’ ACCOMMODATION AND BIKE TRANSPORT... ALL FOR JUST £529.

IN ASSOCIATION WITH

NO LIMITS TRACKDAYS


NEW S & REV IEW S PLA NET FAST BIKES – NEW METAL,

TRIUMPH PULL THE COVERS OFF THEIR DAYTONA MOTO2 LIMITED EDITION Ladies and gentlemen, finally, the news we’ve all been holding out for: Triumph officially confirm they’re building a Daytona 765 – and for starters, a limited run of Moto2 Limited Edition models. With the official launch of the 765 not until the British Grand Prix at Silverstone later on this month, specifics at the point of going to print are still a little shady, but we have managed to nab some of the juicy deets to whet your appetite. The new Daytona Moto2 765 Limited Edition will naturally be the highest ever spec’d Daytona to date, with a whole host of new rider tech and also the highest ever power and torque figures for the model – and indeed any

12 SEPTEMBER 2019 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM

production 765cc to date. It’s then been draped in a special colour scheme for good measure, and Triumph say that it will ‘share some of the key developments that they’ve found from racing in the Moto2 class’. Just the fact that it’s the first ever official Moto2 Dorna licensed machine, show that Triumph are taking things pretty seriously with the new model. There will actually be two different models unveiled, with 765 bikes being made for the Europe and Asia markets, and 765 made for the U.S.A. and Canada – all of which are individually numbered. We can’t wait.


DUCATI RELEASE THE PANIGALE V4 25° ANNIVERSARIO 916!

Can you believe it’s been 25 years since the iconic 916 was released? No? Neither can we… Either way though, we’re bloody glad it is, as Ducati have just treated us to their very own tribute: the Panigale V4 25° Anniversario 916, of which only 500 numbered models are to be made. Using a V4 S as the base, Ducati have nicked some bits of the V4R to make things that little bit tastier; it has the same cut down front frame from its winged companion, alongside that incredibly iconic dry clutch (with an open clutch cover), and the new, updated Traction Control EVO 2 electronics system. It’s not just a lovechild of the V4S and V4R though, as the Anniversario has been gifted a set of Marchesini Racing Forged magnesium wheels, a smart looking Akrapovic silencer and a Foggy-rep paint job for good measure, which is complimented by a heap of Ducati Performance parts, such as a racing screen, filler cap and grips. Each bike will be individually numbered, and if you fancy one, get your order in quick. It may set you back €41,900, but it is pretty special…

SEPTEMBER 2019 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM 13


D REV IEW ED ND BUS ED AN THE VERY BEST KI T – US ED, AB

SHARK RACE-R PRO + RICH-ART CONCEPTS PAINTJOB TESTED BY: Carlos MILES: 5000 TIME: 8 Months RRP: £589.99 + £700 WEB: www.nevis.uk.com + www.richartconcepts.co.uk

In my humble opinion, it’s silly not to wear the best and most protective kit on o the market while doing silly things at stupid speeds, and to me, there’s nothin ng more important than getting the very best protection possible for my melon. I’ve had a few different brands of lids of the years, but in all honesty, the fit of the Shark was definitely the best for my shape of head right from the off; I can genuinely say that it’s the first time I haven’t had to wear it in for a load of short distance rides to be perfectly comfy. If it isn’t quite right, Shark actually have a whole range of different thickness cheek pads for that exact reason, but I love the snug fit as standard. The Race-R Pro looks quality and thanks to its carbon construction is light as well, which means it feels incredibly well balanced on my head. It’s the first full-on race spec lid that I could happily wear all day without an n inkling of a headache, as although the internal padding is snug, it’s incredibly soft, and out of all the lids I’ve ever owned, it’s definitely the quietest as well,, which is a big bonus. It feels like a high-end lid and its components reflect tha at; the visor changing mechanism is incredibly easy and the vents are easily usable with w gloves on –- and actually work pretty well, which is nice on a hot day. To be honest, the only niggle I have is th that it would’ve been to have a slightly different ff tab to connect the strrap into once it’s done up; it’s got a little magnetic strip which can be a bit of a pain with gloves on, and I tend to be a bit old-fash hioned and prefer the old popping button. Saying that, it’s a g good lid, and I know a lot of people who’ve walked away unscathed after some monumental crashes in one of tthese things. To make things better, there’s a load of po osh-looking colour schemes on the market as well, but I’ve always been a fan of my three flag design th hat legendary helmet sprayer Richard Stevens has bestowed on this lid for me. It’s a classy way to look a b bit different, and he’s done an incredible job with the de etailing and the logos, which even includes some shiny little flakes in the paintwork. If you can swallow a spray job, do it. It looks the mutt’s nuts!

SEPTEMBER 2019 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM 15


D REVIEW ED ND BUS ED AN THE VERY BES T KIT – US ED, AB

OXFORD HD MAX LOCK TESTED BY: Carlos MILES: 0, thankfully! TIME: 4 Months RRP: £24.99 WEB: www.oxfordproducts.com

We all know that money can be a bit tight sometimes, but even so there’s some great options on the market for just about everything nowadays including safety, and more specifically, locks. I’ve said it probably a thousand times before, but in this day and age you can never be too careful where you leave your bike and what protection you leave with it, but we all know sometimes it can be hard lugging a big old lock around with you if you just need to pop down the shops. This is why Oxford’s HD Max Lock is so good; it’s not too big and chunky, fits in the pocket nice and easily and still feels pretty sturdy – especially considering the fact that it sets you back less than a round at the pub. Oh, and if you go and pre-order your tickets from the Motorcycle Live before November 15, you’ll get one absolutely free.

RIDE 3 – PS4 TESTED BY: Bruce MILES: Lots and lots TIME: 4 Months RRP: £49.99 WEB: www.ridevideogame.com

I’m not one for computer games, but Ride 3 is the exception. It’s awesome, ridiculously addictive and unbelievably realistic. I’ve lost count of how many laps of the Nurburgring I’ve completed, or how many times I’ve got airborne over Cadwell’s Mountain… or on how many occasions the better half’s told me to turn it off. The game features 30 tracks from around the world and the realism is next level, with all the bumps, cambers and layout details of the

16 SEPTEMBER 2019 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM

real deals. Boothy’s a dab hand around the Ulster and even he’s been blown away with its likeness. The same goes for all the bikes you get to ride. There are over 230 models you can chose from and they don’t just look right, they sound right, too. There’s a bit of a storyboard to game and if you win races, you unlock new challenges and the bikes to go with them. You also get to spec them up, changing everything from exhausts to

wheels, brake pads to con rods. It’s an engaging process that leaves you hooked – that would be my only warning. You can buy the game in DVD format, or download it for half the price online.


ENJOYED THIS PREVIEW? THE BEST ACTION IN TRIALS AND MOTOCROSS

DIRTb bike ke

„ VELO MAC MA S SPECIAL PECIAL „ NORTON RT RTON INTER „ AJS SCEPTRE SCEP E SPORTS! SCEPTR SPORTS POR ! PORTS

CLASSIC

#48

ISSUE

Forty-eight Autumn 2018

OCTOBER 2018

No. 330 October 2018 £4.30 UK Off-sale date 31/10/2018

MOTO MEMORIES // TECH TALK // MONTESA COTA 200 // BULTACO MATADOR

3.60

Running, Riding & Rebuilding Running, Rebuilding Real RealClassi RealC Classic C lassi Motorcycles

BOXER CKS TRIC

HOW THE LEGEEND BEGAN

SUPERMAC’S TRIUMPH DRAYTON

PRINTED IN THE UK

PLUS MOTO MEMORIES TECH TALK MONTESA COTA 200 BULTACO MATADOR AN HOUR WITH: GERRIT WOLSINK

£3.60 US$9.99 C$10.99 Aus$8.50 NZ$9.99 PRINTED IN THE UK

HOME, JAMES!

UNIVERSITY GRADUATE

#48

001 Cover_OCT.indd 1

AT THE CASTLE

DRUMLANRIG 2018 D 20

WINNER

SUPER PROFILE: ARIEL’S HT3

GREEVES ESSEX TWIN BUYING GUIDE // STRIP YOUR TWOSTROKE // BSA B31 RESTORATION // MALLE MILE // CAFE RACER CUP // SHETLAND CLASSIC // THE CLASSIC TT // MIKE HAILWOOD REPLICA

CLASSICS

65 PRE65 PRE

PRINTED IN THE UK

R 2018 ISSUE 174 „ OCTOBER

N48 2018 US$15.99 Aus$14.99 NZ$18.99 UK£5.50 UK Off-sale date 15/11/18

BUY  SELL  RIDE  RESTORE

13/09/2018 10:34:50

001 CDB Cover_048.indd 1

02/08/2018 14:53:55

001 Cover_174.indd 1

03/09/2018 10:18:26

•SINGLE ISSUES •SUBSCRIPTIONS

CLICK HERE

www.classicmagazines.co.uk


ENDOFPREVI EW

I fy oul i k ewhaty ou’ v e r eads of ar ,whynot s ubs c r i be,ort r ya s i ngl ei s s uef r om:

www. c l as s i c magaz i nes . c o. uk

Profile for Mortons Media Group Ltd

Fast Bikes - September 2019 - Preview  

See more: https://www.fastbikesmag.com/

Fast Bikes - September 2019 - Preview  

See more: https://www.fastbikesmag.com/

Advertisement