Page 1

TRIUMPH ROCKET 3

SHED-BUILT SCHWANTZ STROKER

0 IS SU E3 61

BIG BORE, BRITISH BRUTE

RGV 500 HYBRID

JA NU AR Y2

02

KTM RC8R

UK off-sale date – 07/01/2020

No.361 January 2020

£4.50

ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT BUYING AND OWNING AUSTRIA’S FINEST EXPORT

MIDDLEWEIGHT MASTER: FASTER, TER, SEXIER FASTER SMAR SMARTER,

MO OTARD MANIA:

PLUS

701 HUSQVARNA VS. DUCATI HYPERMOTARD 950 SP VS. APRILIA DORSODURO 900

❯❯ BIKE SHED FEST ❯❯ REDDING ROUNDS UP 2019 ❯❯ SKEGVEGAS – TAKING ON A BEACH (RACE) ❯❯ DUCATI V4 STREETFIGHTER: ‘IT HAD TO BE RAW, IT HAD TO BE AN ANIMAL’


ISSUE 361 JANUARY 2020 0

IT’S THE NEWS!

Upfront ........................................... 10 We take a look at some of the tastiest new bikes for 2020.

20

GEARED UP!

Products.......................................... 15 All the latest, coolest and trickest products.

THE KNOWLEDGE

Used Bike Guide.............................. 72 Everything you need to know when buying a KTM RC8.

Track Craft ......................................84 How to make the most of your trackdays, with ex BSB rider James Ellison.

Master Legal ...................................95 FB’s Legal Clinic with Andrew Dalton.

YOUR LIFE ON BIKES

Addiction.........................................56

Uncle Clive’s bird Debora shows off her RVF400, and it’s a corker.

You & Yours.....................................92 All of your latest adventures!

Chatter ............................................94 It’s only fair we give the best readers in the world a page of their own!

46

WORKSHOP

Know Your.......................................86 …Bike Servicing. What to look out for when servicing your bike.

OUR LIFE ON BIKES

Staff Bikes.....................................102 •Yamaha MT-10 SP

COVER STORY 2020 Ducati Panigale V2................... 20

Frodo has been over to Jerez to get to grips with the new middleweight Ducati.

Life’s a Beach .................................... 62 For some strange reason Bruce, Boothy and Frodo decided to enter Skegness beach race.

Café Racer Cup ................................. 78 Frodo and Boothy went to Lydden Hill to take in the annual Bike Shed Fest Café event, and had a blast.

Motard Mania ................................... 28

We’ve been acting the fool on a trio of supermotos and laughing all the way to the kart track.

Schwantz Suzuki Smoker................. 38

Oliver Lawrence has built a perfect replica of Schwantz’s ’91 RGV500… and he’s let Boothy loose on it.

IBE R C e8 pag ls e e S ai det for 2020 CALENDAR

IN ASSOCIATION

WITH

HONDA NCV35

2020 F FREE CCALENDAR

HOME-BUILD T V4 POCKE ROCKET

&

200’S 20 NEW METAL

£4.40

TESTS

BSB technician Adam Marshall shows us the best way to go about cleaning your bike.

STREETS

AHEAD! STREET

S 2020 TRIUMPH’ RS TRIPLE 765

R URN TO ACING… TH RET E O

LIV ER

9 date – 10/12/201

Steve Parrish...................................114

Parrish’s take on all things bike-racing and shares a few thoughts on Motocycle Live.

FEATURES

Ultimate Scrubber ............................ 52

UK off-sale

62

Neave Twins....................................112

Tom’s had a difficult end to a fantastically strong season He gives us the low-down on his battered body and love of hospital food.

Boothy’s been up a volcano on Triumph’s latest massive muscle bike.

2019 No.360 December

We caught up with BSB Champ Scott Redding, and the people who helped him lift the trophy.

2020 Triumph Rocket 3 R ................. 46

201 9 ISSU E 360

Redd-Hot Scott ................................. 96

The BSB season is over, but Iddon has still got plenty to do and plenty to say, having just signed for a very special team.

Christian Iddon ...............................111

EM BER

COLUMNISTS

Bruce has been chatting to Honda Racing boss about their new line-up for the 2020 season.

DEC

RACE SECTION

Honda Racing......................................88

SUBS

•Honda CBR650R •Kawasaki ZX-6R

’S NT OU M CO


WELCOME

New year, new bike?

W

hat have you got on your list for Santa? New socks? Beer tokens? Or what about a new bike? There’s something about this time of the year that gets my juices going for a new playmate (of the motorised variety), keeping me up all night as I skim through used bike ads on my phone. What do I want? That’s the big question, being up there with how much I want to spend and how on earth I’m going to get the missus to agree? The truth is there are so many brilliant options on the used market, at prices even my credit limit could afford. Right now I’m hung up between a first generation Aprilia RSV Mille, an ‘04 Fireblade and a 2005 GSX-R1000. With choices like those I guess you could say I’m something of a cliché, but all of these sub-£5k superstars float my boat. On the opposite side of the price spectrum are some brilliantly fancy new bikes. If you went to Motorcycle Live you’d have probably seen the wealth of 2020 talent on show, along with the alluring finance deals that can help you fund your next bit of fun. I had to hold myself back from signing up to a garage worth of fresh metal, with plenty of variety in the mix. Which bike won you over the most? More to the point, have you got a new bike on order for next year, or is there a used machine that’s caught your eye? Either way, let us know what it is and why you’ve bought it. Carl’s had a solid taste of Ducati’s new V2 a week ago, and it looks like his bank account is set to take a kicking. The last time I saw him so excited was after he’d eaten a bag of Jelly Babies (his mum warned us he’s not good with E-numbers). Anyway, he’s smitten, as you’ll grasp if you read his review a few pages on from here. For me, it doesn’t matter what bike we ride, what colour it is, or how much power it makes, it’s all about the enjoyment it offers. All three of us had the best of times battering our bodies on off-road bikes at Skeggy beach race this month, and the same can be said for the supermotard test you’ll also see in this issue. Neither option was the norm for us, but sometimes it pays to open your horizons and taste something a little different. Enjoy the mag and have a great Christmas.

28

Merry Christmas! Join us on Facebook:

Facebook.com/ FastBikesMagazine

Join us on Twitter:

@FastBikesMag

Download Fast Bikes:

Mortons.co.uk/FB

View Fast Bikes video content:

youtube.com/ fastbikesmag

BOSS MAN

‘Dangerous’ Bruce Wilson dangerous@fastbikes.co.uk

AD MAN

Charlie ‘The Sheriff’ Oakman coakman@fastbikes.co.uk

NEW MAN

Carl ‘Pretty Boy’ Stevens teaboy@fastbikes.co.uk

RACE MAN

Mike ‘Boothy’ Booth race@fastbikes.co.uk

TECH MAN

Rob ‘Beano’ Bean

tech@fastbikes.co.uk

page 8 for the best deals, SUBSCRIBE! See or visit classicmagazines.co.uk/fb

JANUARY 2020 WWW.FASTBIKESMAG.COM 7


SUBSCRIBE TO

13 £ 30 issues for

Subscription rates: SIX MON NTHL LY:

ON NE YEAR R:

Dirrect debit

Credit card

£15

£30 0

Benefit from: Neve er miissin ng an n issu ue of Fas st Biikes Sa aving g ove er 46 6% offf the cover price

TERMS AND CONDITIONS:

Offer only open to new subscribers. Final closing date for all orders is 10/01/20. Please allow up to six weeks for delivery, eight weeks for overseas orders. Full subscription rate for one year is £56.55 & includes p&p If the magazine ordered changes frequency per annum, we will honour the number of issues paid for, not the terms of the subscription. For enquiries and overseas rates call: +44 (0)1507 529529, or email: SUBSCRIPTIONS@MORTONS.CO.UK


2

EASY WAYS TO PAY:

Online: www.cla ass sicm mag gaziines.c co.u uk/ffb16 68 Call: 01507 52 295 529 an nd quo ote e FB B16 68

Please have your payment details ready when you call. Open Mon-Fri 8.30am-5pm Offer is available UK only and to new subscriptions. Offer expires January 10, 2020.


ENJOYED THIS PREVIEW? THE BEST ACTION IN TRIALS AND MOTOCROSS

DIRTb bike ke

„ VELO MAC MA S SPECIAL PECIAL „ NORTON RT RTON INTER „ AJS SCEPTRE SCEP E SPORTS! SCEPTR SPORTS POR ! PORTS

CLASSIC

#48

ISSUE

Forty-eight Autumn 2018

OCTOBER 2018

No. 330 October 2018 £4.30 UK Off-sale date 31/10/2018

MOTO MEMORIES // TECH TALK // MONTESA COTA 200 // BULTACO MATADOR

3.60

Running, Riding & Rebuilding Running, Rebuilding Real RealClassi RealC Classic C lassi Motorcycles

BOXER CKS TRIC

HOW THE LEGEEND BEGAN

SUPERMAC’S TRIUMPH DRAYTON

PRINTED IN THE UK

PLUS MOTO MEMORIES TECH TALK MONTESA COTA 200 BULTACO MATADOR AN HOUR WITH: GERRIT WOLSINK

£3.60 US$9.99 C$10.99 Aus$8.50 NZ$9.99 PRINTED IN THE UK

HOME, JAMES!

UNIVERSITY GRADUATE

#48

001 Cover_OCT.indd 1

AT THE CASTLE

DRUMLANRIG 2018 D 20

WINNER

SUPER PROFILE: ARIEL’S HT3

GREEVES ESSEX TWIN BUYING GUIDE // STRIP YOUR TWOSTROKE // BSA B31 RESTORATION // MALLE MILE // CAFE RACER CUP // SHETLAND CLASSIC // THE CLASSIC TT // MIKE HAILWOOD REPLICA

CLASSICS

65 PRE65 PRE

PRINTED IN THE UK

R 2018 ISSUE 174 „ OCTOBER

N48 2018 US$15.99 Aus$14.99 NZ$18.99 UK£5.50 UK Off-sale date 15/11/18

BUY  SELL  RIDE  RESTORE

13/09/2018 10:34:50

001 CDB Cover_048.indd 1

02/08/2018 14:53:55

001 Cover_174.indd 1

03/09/2018 10:18:26

•SINGLE ISSUES •SUBSCRIPTIONS

CLICK HERE

www.classicmagazines.co.uk


ENDOFPREVI EW

I fy oul i k ewhaty ou’ v e r eads of ar ,whynot s ubs c r i be,ort r ya s i ngl ei s s uef r om:

www. c l as s i c magaz i nes . c o. uk

Profile for Mortons Media Group Ltd

Fast Bikes magazine January 2020  

What have you got on your list for Santa? New socks? Beer tokens? Or what about a new bike? There’s something about this time of the year t...

Fast Bikes magazine January 2020  

What have you got on your list for Santa? New socks? Beer tokens? Or what about a new bike? There’s something about this time of the year t...

Advertisement