Page 1

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Review of the Year 2017–2018


2

Patron Her Majesty The Queen President The Rt Hon the Earl of Derby DL Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Board of Directors Professor Nigel Weatherill DL, DSc, FREng, FRSA Chairman Jon Corner Michael Eakin Mel Grodner Dr Tony Harvey FRSA (retired 5 November 2017. Dr Harvey continues as Company Secretary) Alexander Holladay Susanna Jordan (appointed 5 November 2017) Baroness Estelle Morris of Yardley (appointed 4 December 2017) Dave Nicholls Vanessa Reed Martin Richardson (retired 5 November 2017) Councillor Wendy Simon Chief Executive Michael Eakin

S

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Board of Directors

Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko


3

Foreword This Review covers 2017–2018, concluding with our performance at the BBC Proms in August. It has been a period in which the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic delivered a diverse programme of music which had reach and impact locally, nationally and internationally, always seeking to take forward our mission of enhancing and transforming lives through music. Royal Liverpool Philharmonic is a strong asset of international importance for our city, and plays a key role in making it an attractive place to visit, study, work and invest in. We have enjoyed 12 remarkable years with Vasily Petrenko as our Chief Conductor; 12 years in which the Orchestra’s reputation has reached, perhaps, an all-time high. Audiences have grown significantly; recordings have won national and international awards; and the Orchestra has undertaken return visits to China and Japan, as well as their first tour to Italy and Slovenia. And, under Vasily’s artistic leadership, we are not standing still, but continuing to strive for the highest possible artistic standards; to explore new repertoire, to commission and perform major new works; and to build on our extensive recording programme. Our musicians in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra performed in a range of ensembles, including many performances in our smaller space, Music Room. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir continued to be central to our concert seasons and we have welcomed major international artists to Liverpool across all areas of our artistic programme. We completed a major tour with the Orchestra and Bootleg Beatles, marking the 50th anniversary of The Beatles’ seminal album, Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band. We released a number of new recordings, including the second volume of Tchaikovsky’s symphonies with Vasily, and the first instalment with Vasily of a series of recordings of Stravinsky’s ballet music, beginning with the Rite of Spring. We completed the cycle of Vaughan Williams symphonies conducted by our newly announced Principal Guest Conductor Andrew Manze. Our learning team delivered perhaps the most ambitious programme of work we have ever undertaken. Our annual Schools’ Concerts in 2017 and 2018 reached 18,000 children and young people from across the North West. We have a growing number of youth ensembles including Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company, Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, Youth Choir and Children’s Choirs, Everton Children’s Orchestra and associated In Harmony

Liverpool ensembles; an adult learning programme of pre and post-concert talks, extended seminars, building tours and rehearsal visits; and a diverse learning programme across the city working with young people, people living with mental illness and many more. We have delivered our activities whilst working hard to maximise our earned and fundraised income, which now represents 70% of our annual turnover. We know we are extremely fortunate too, to enjoy outstanding support from hundreds of individual donors as well as long-standing and loyal sponsors, and a wide range of charitable trusts and foundations. Public investment remains a critical part of our overall income. We are very grateful for the support of Liverpool City Council and Arts Council England, and their belief in and endorsement of the quality and wide reach of our work. We are determined to grow our impact across Liverpool City Region. We are also focussed on ensuring that we have a sustainable business model during a period of financial and political uncertainty as we prepare for our exit from the European Union. We are very grateful to our musicians in all our ensembles, our staff and volunteers for their hard work and diligence in enabling to us to achieve so much; and to our Board of Directors, for their guidance and support. Liverpool Philharmonic means so much to so many people – audiences, participants, donors, funders, supporters – and we take our responsibility to them very seriously. We are immensely grateful for their commitment and their trust in us as we head into 2019 and beyond.

Professor Nigel Weatherill DL, DSc, FREng, FRSA Chairman

Michael Eakin Chief Executive


4

Award-Winning

BBC Music Magazine Awards 2017 The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko won two awards at the BBC Music Magazine Awards 2017 for their recording of Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies Nos. 1, 2 and 5, released in 2016 on the Onyx label. The recording took the BBC Music Magazine Awards’ most prestigious title, crowned ‘Recording of the Year’ as voted by the BBC Music Magazine Jury. The recording was also ‘Orchestral Recording of the Year’.

Vasily Petrenko Voted Gramophone Classical Music Awards Artist of the Year 2017 Our Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, who was the Gramophone Classical Music Awards ‘Young Artist of the Year’ in 2007, was voted ‘Artist of the Year’ in the Gramophone Classical Music Awards - the Oscars of the classical music world. Gramophone paid particular tribute to Vasily Petrenko’s ‘extraordinary work’ with the Orchestra on their critically acclaimed recordings of Tchaikovsky and Elgar symphonies on Onyx, which have met with universal acclaim.


5

T

Members of Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and the recording team receiving the BBC Music Magazine Awards’ ‘Recording of the Year’ and ‘Orchestral Recording of the Year’

‘A triumphant celebration of ten years since Petrenko became the youngest ever principal conductor in the Liverpool ensemble’s history, and an affirmation of a brilliant musical partnership.’

T

Vasily Petrenko receiving the Gramophone Classical Music Awards ‘Artist of the Year’ Award

‘When someone can take on two of the most performed symphonies in the repertoire (Tchaikovsky’s Nos 4 and 6, alongside the lessoften encountered No 3) and make them sound entirely new – and astoundingly original – then it’s time to sit up. Vasily Petrenko, installed in Oslo as well as with his beloved Liverpool orchestra, is certainly on the ascent, and his way with Russian repertoire remains enormously compelling.’


6

Congratulations…… To Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra violinist David Rimbault, who was awarded the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) Association of British Orchestras (ABO) Salomon Prize for orchestral musicians. At 37 years of age, he is one of the youngest recipients of the annual award, and was nominated by his colleagues in the Orchestra for his tireless commitment to the orchestra and its audiences. David is the first musician from the Orchestra to win this national prize. He was presented with the award on stage at the concert on 22 March, which was broadcast live on Radio 3. In their citation, the RPS and ABO said: ‘David Rimbault is the embodiment of what the Salomon Prize is all about – an adept and enthusiastic navigator of modern orchestral life, and a passionate advocate for the Orchestra to be as fair, inclusive, progressive and enjoyable a place to work as possible. ‘Friendly, sociable and popular, he is a great source of cohesion, morale and motivation across the organisation.’ To Emily Howard on winning a 2017 British Composer Award for Torus: Concerto for Orchestra. The work received its world premiere on 25 August 2016 at the BBC Proms with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko, and its Liverpool premiere in January 2017. The British Composer Awards are presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors, and sponsored by PRS for Music, in association with Radio 3.

Attitude is Everything Liverpool Philharmonic has been awarded Gold Status by Attitude is Everything, one of only nine music venues nationally, of which three are in the North, to have achieved this highest standard. Attitude is Everything is an organisation which aims to improve access to live music at venues and festivals for deaf and disabled people, so that they can be as independent as they want to be at live music events. They work in partnership with audiences, artists and the music industry to achieve this. In order to achieve Gold Status, Liverpool Philharmonic has implemented additional improvements to its facilities and working practices including the introduction for the first time in the Orchestra’s 2018-2019 concert season of Relaxed and Dementia-Friendly Concerts. An Access Scheme which customers with access needs are encouraged to join to ensure a smoother booking process. This is complemented by a short film that shows visitors what to expect when they arrive at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall for a concert.

‘‘It is fantastic to see Liverpool Philharmonic make great strides in accessible and inclusive information provision, partnering with local disability organisations to welcome diverse audiences. We look forward to seeing what they do next!’ Suzanne Bull MBE, Chief Executive Officer of Attitude is Everything


7


8

‘Vasily Petrenko has quite an ear for exciting young pianists – his partnerships with Simon Trpčeski and Daniil Trifonov are fast becoming legendary – and here he introduced another: the Swissborn Teo Gheorghiu (to perform Schubert’s Wanderer Fantasy) who combines the hairstyle of a Premiership footballer with the soul of a poet.’

Classical Source ‘Under Manze’s baton this was a successful group performance from the Liverpool Phil however I must remark on the ravishing playing all evening of the principal oboe and cor anglais plus the admirable horn section who excelled all evening.’

T

Violinist Ray Chen rehearsing with Vasily Pentrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

T

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra with Elim Chan conductor and Kathryn Stott piano


9

Passionate about Music

Liverpool Philharmonic delivers an ambitious programme of nearly 450 concerts and events at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall and other venues in the city.

Bachtrack ‘When these two artists (Daniil Trifonov and Vasily Petrenko) combine with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, the only response is to offer superlatives. This was music-making of real power and force, the kind you always hope to find in the concert-hall.’

It has been another outstanding period of concerts, recordings and broadcasts under the baton of Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, guest conductors and soloists, here in Liverpool, across the UK and internationally.

HHHHH

Concerts as always featured the cornerstones of orchestral and choral music as well as providing opportunities to hear new, less familiar, or rarely performed music.

‘The conductor (Andrew Manze) so good I nearly crashed my car….the greatest living interpreter of Vaughan Williams’ music and especially of his symphonies. The performances of (RVW’s) Fifth and Sixth symphonies last week in Liverpool were awesome.’

Vasily Petrenko and the Orchestra showcased their acclaimed music partnership in a wide range of repertoire, their signature surveys of Russian music and an exploration of American repertoire running through the 2017-2018 season. Screenings of films with live orchestral accompaniment continued to be hugely popular and included Casablanca, Back to the Future and Vertigo.

Simon Heffer’s Hinterland Column

The Orchestra worked with a range of major artists including Paul Lewis, Teo Gheorghiu, Anderson & Roe, Baiba Skride, Mahan Esfahani, Daniil Trifonov, Sir Andrew Davis, Simon Trpčeski, Craig Ogden, Ray Chen, Sir James MacMillan, Alexey Stadler, Sir Bryn Terfel, Julian Joseph, Boris Giltburg, Ruthie Henshall, James Ehnes, Stephen Osborne, Nathalie Forget, Nobuyuki Tsujii, Elim Chan, Kathryn Stott, Carlos Miguel Prieto, Jian Wang, Zhang Zuo, Long Yu, Anna Tsybuleva, Joshua Weilerstein, Nathalie Stutzmann, Francesco Tristano and Andrew Manze.

Classic Iconoclast ‘Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra are a great combination, truly major league.’

R

Daniil Trifonov and Vasily Petrenko


10

Artists in Residence

Sir Bryn Terfel Following his sold-out residency with Liverpool Philharmonic which included a semi-staged production of Tosca with young singers from European Opera Centre, Sir Bryn Terfel returned to Liverpool Philharmonic in 2017 as Artist in Residence. His residency included two performances of a semi-staged production of Verdi’s Falstaff with Terfel reprising one of his signature roles as Shakespeare’s eponymous fat Knight, with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Vasily Petrenko, and guest soloists and singers from the European Opera Centre, directed by Amy Lane.

W

Sir Bryn Terfel, singers from the European Opera Centre and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Vasily Petrenko perform Verdi’s Falstaff.


11

Stephen Hough As part of our focus on the piano in the 2017-2018 season, Heswall-born Stephen performed all five Beethoven Piano Concertos, gave a solo piano recital at St. George’s Hall Concert Room and performed a chamber music concert in the Music Room with musicians from the Orchestra, which included one of his own compositions, Trio for Flute, Bassoon and Piano.

‘Veteran Falstaff Bryn Terfel and a splendid cast made this concert staging of Verdi’s final opera a joyous experience. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and the European Opera Centre, also based in the city, first joined forces in 2006 for a double bill of Fleischmann and Shostakovich, and the two have collaborated regularly ever since... two performances featured Bryn Terfel as Falstaff. Rebecca Evans was Alice and Mark Stone Ford, while the other roles were taken by EOC young singers, with Vasily Petrenko conducting. It was a joyous, often exhilarating performance.’ HHHH

During his residency in Liverpool, Stephen was presented with Honorary Membership of the Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS). The presentation on stage before the concert on 31 May recognised Stephen’s long association with the Orchestra. He heard his first ever orchestral concert in the Hall at the age of 8 in 1969, with pianist John Ogden and conductor Sir Charles Groves, who was also an RPS Honorary Member. Sally Groves, daughter of Sir Charles, made the presentation.


12

Our Musicians

Our musicians in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra continue to perform at the highest level in one of the most ambitious and eclectic concert programmes of any orchestra in the UK. They are also central to the delivery of our extensive learning and education programme which is recognised nationally and internationally as a leader in the field. Many of our musicians performed as soloists or in their own ensembles in our Close Up series in the Music Room including Klezmer-ish, All Cellos, Thelma Handy and Ian Buckle, Mihkel Kerem and Luba Ulybysheva and Gethyn Jones’ Ensemble of St. Luke’s.

Honorary Graduate Thelma Handy Congratulations to our joint leader of the Orchestra, Thelma Handy, who was conferred with an Honorary Degree, Doctor of Music by the University of Liverpool in the University’s 2017 Graduations.

Welcome to.... Nina Ashton Principal Bassoon Richard Cowen Associate Principal Trumpet Minn Majoe First Violins Emily Mowbray First Violins Jamey Kenney Double Basses Laura Murphy Double Basses Ausias Garrigos Morant Bass Clarinet

Distinguished Service Cellists Hilary Browning and Ian Bracken, double bassists Nigel Dufty and Ashley Frampton, and Principal Trumpet, Rhys Owens (pictured left with Classic FM’s Bill Turnbull) all celebrated 25 years with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra in 2017. Janet Carver, Elspeth Christie, and Penny Morton celebrated 25 years singing with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir in 2017, and James Hawkins and Dyanna Swindlehurst reached the same landmark in 2018. Colin Smith marked an incredible 50 years singing with the Choir in 2017. Colin sadly passed away in 2018. Liverpool Philharmonic is fortunate to benefit from the great musicianship of our professional musicians in the Orchestra, and singers in our Choir who give their time as volunteers. All bring a love of music and great dedication to what they do.


13

T

Left to right: James Clark, David Pigott, John Hebbron and Martin Anthony Burrage

All at Liverpool Philharmonic and many of our audience members who remember them were saddened to hear of the deaths of three former members of the Orchestra in 2018. Sandy Ferguson

We said some farewells too.... At the end of 2017, we said goodbye to our joint leader, James Clark after twelve years’ joint leading the Orchestra alongside Thelma Handy. Jim joined the Orchestra in 2005 and, with Thelma, was a crucial part of our artistic growth and reaching for ever higher musical quality. In Spring 2018, David Pigott, french horn, retired after 43 years and John Hebbron, first violin, retired after the Japan tour, after 37 years playing in the Orchestra. Our longestserving player in the Orchestra, Martin Anthony Burrage, retired on 1 October after 47 years in the Orchestra. All have been great members of the organisation, through their performances with the Orchestra, and offstage including playing on our numerous recordings and delivering many aspects of our learning activities. We wish them well in their retirement, and thank them for everything they have contributed to our success over the last four decades.

Sandy played viola in the Orchestra from 1961 until 1996. He retired whilst the Orchestra were on tour in Prague with Libor Peŝek and was presented with his leaving gift by Czech President, Václav Havel. Sandy played under several Principal Conductors, from Charles Groves through to Libor Peŝek and was a font of knowledge where the history of the Orchestra was concerned. He continued to attend concerts until very recently. Our condolences to Isabel and Glyn, Richard and Mary. Alan Johnson Alan played cello in the Orchestra for 29 years, from 1979 to 2008. As well as being a professional cellist, Alan was also a talented pianist and was known to get on the piano for various parties, including a lovely evening at the British Ambassador’s Residence in Singapore when the Orchestra were on a Far East tour in 1994 under the baton of Libor Pešek. Our condolences to Alan’s widow Fiona Vella Johnson. Fiona’s late parents, Alan’s parents-in-law, were Oliver Vella, former Principal Cello with the Orchestra during the late 1940s, returning in the 1960’s until 1975, and Liverpool pianist Sheila Dixon, who first played with the Orchestra aged 17 at the invitation of Sir Malcolm Sargent. John Ward John Beith Ward, our former principal percussionist inspired many musicians including a young Simon Rattle, who he taught, and our current Principal Percussionist, Graham Johns. John was Principal Percussionist for almost 30 years. He retired from the Orchestra in 1982 and was later made an Honorary Lifetime Member of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society among many other accolades. ‘Writing about John Ward, the problem is where to start. I am anything but unbiased; when I was a small boy he was my total hero, more than any football player. He was a great teacher and one of the funniest, sweetest and most generous of men. He was of course a consummate percussionist, and I am sure his famous snare drum roll is still the ideal for generations of players. But, in fact, he played all the instruments wonderfully, in a time where one really had to play everything. He seemed to me, then and now, somehow the beating heart of the orchestra, a personality who will ever remain embedded in the walls and the memory of the Phil. I hope he realised how much he was loved and respected, and we will miss him and carry him in our hearts. Wardie, thank you….’ Sir Simon Rattle Our condolences to John’s wife Jay, his sons Steve and Phil, grandsons ‘AJ’ and Ben and granddaughter Frankie. 

R

Left to right: Sandy Ferguson, Alan Johnson and John Ward


14

It’s Liverpool Calling

Celebrating Sgt Pepper, the Mersey Sound and the 1967 ‘Summer of Love’

S

‘Celebrating the 50th anniversary of Sgt Pepper, the real band would have struggled to fake it as well as this…. it was as exhilarating as that remarkable album itself.’

Liverpool Philharmonic played our part in celebrating The Beatles’ iconic album and presented events as part of Liverpool’s 67-17: 50 Summers of Love, a season of events and performances inspired by the golden anniversary of that famous year.

HHHHH

Celebrating Sgt Pepper: Live

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and The Bootleg Beatles performing The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band at the Royal Albert Hall.

The Orchestra and the nation’s premier Beatles group, The Bootleg Beatles, teamed up to perform The Beatles’ Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band on stage with arrangements by Nigel Osborne, presented by legendary Liverpool poet and ex-member of Scaffold, Roger McGough and conducted by Richard Balcombe. Three capacity shows at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall were followed by a sell-out UK tour to venues including London’s Royal Albert Hall, Birmingham Symphony Hall, Manchester Bridgewater Hall, Nottingham Royal Concert Hall, Sage Gateshead and Portmeirion’s Festival No. 6. A final performance on 13 January 2018 at Liverpool Echo Arena marked the venue’s 10th Birthday and the start of Liverpool 2018, a year of special cultural events 10 years after Liverpool’s Year as European Capital of Culture.


15

Roger McGough with Ensemble 10/10 Summer with Monika ‘I spent the summer with Monika and Monika spent the summer with me’. Marking the 50th anniversary too of The Mersey Sound, the game-changing anthology of verse written by the Mersey Poets, Roger McGough, Brian Patten and Adrian Henri. Liverpool Philharmonic’s new music group Ensemble 10/10 presented three performances of Summer with Monika, Roger McGough’s classic sequence of love poems, (republished by Penguin in the summer, along with The Mersey Sound) with original arrangements by composer and guitarist Andy Roberts.

George Harrison Within You Without You: The Story of The Beatles and Indian Music A unique, one-off performance explored George Harrison’s discovery of Indian music and the unique impact it had on The Beatles.

And on the World Stage….. In 2017, Vasily Petrenko led the Orchestra on a highly successful four-concert tour of Italy and Slovenia with cellist Kian Soltani. 2018 has seen the Orchestra and Petrenko undertake major tours of Japan and China and perform at the BBC Proms, the world’s biggest classical music festival.

Japan was followed by the Orchestra and Petrenko’s third tour to China following tours in 2010 during which they supported the City of Liverpool’s presence at the World EXPO in Shanghai, and 2014. For the five concerts in cities including Shanghai and Beijing, the Orchestra performed different concert programmes including one featuring the music of Lennon and McCartney. The great Russian virtuoso pianist Boris Giltburg, whose recent recording of Shostakovich’s Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2 with the Orchestra and Petrenko received world-wide critical acclaim, joined the tour to perform music by Beethoven and Rachmaninov.

At the BBC Proms In August the Orchestra returned to the BBC Proms at London’s Royal Albert Hall for their fifth Prom together with Vasily Petrenko, who made his BBC Proms debut with the Orchestra during Liverpool’s Capital of Culture Year in 2008. Swedish soprano Miah Persson joined Vasily and the Orchestra to perform Ständchen, Das Bächlein, Morgen! and Zueignung by Richard Strauss; and Romanian soprano, Adela Zaharia winner of Placido Domingo’s Operalia 2017 sang the world premiere of Iain Bell’s Aurora which had been jointly commissioned by Liverpool Philharmonic and the BBC Proms. The Prom also included Elgar’s Italy-inspired overture In the South, and Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra, which the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra gave the UK premiere of under the baton of Sir Malcolm Sargent.

Two virtuoso Japanese soloists joined the Orchestra for the seven-concert tour of Japan; pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii and violinist Fumiaki Miura. This was a return visit to Japan following a triumphant first visit in 2015 with concerts in major venues including Tokyo’s legendary Suntory Hall. The violinist Fumiaki Miura performed Vaughan Williams’ Lark Ascending. With Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 and Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 5, these concert programmes bring together the Orchestra and Petrenko’s tradition of performing English music with their reputation for signature interpretations of the Russian classics.

T

Left to right: The Orchestra acknowledge the audience applause on stage during their tour of Japan; at the Bejing NCPA during the tour of China, and members of the Orchestra walking the Great Wall of China.


16

T

Miah Persson and Vasily Petrenko backstage at the Royal Albert Hall.


17

‘Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra showed why they have become one of the UK’s most compelling teams.’ HHHH

'exuberant and detailed playing' HHHH

‘What singers, what a conductor and what an orchestra!’ HHHH

‘Ravishing and exquisite’ HHHH

Bachtrack ‘….an ideal showcase for Petrenko’s mix of precision and pacing’ HHHH


18

As well as soloists performing with the Orchestra, we welcomed many internationally acclaimed artists, bands and ensembles to the Hall, Music Room and St. George’s Hall Concert Room including…. – ABC – Amy MacDonald – Caro Emerald – Robert Cray Band – Courtney Pine – Billy Ocean – The Saw Doctors – Shirley Collins – The Human League – Simple Minds – Procol Harum – Madeleine Peyroux – Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain – Jools Holland & his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra – Marc Almond – Mike and the Mechanics – Barbara Dickson – Kraftwerk – Texas – The Orchestra of Syrian Musicians, Damon Albarn and musicians of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra – The Pretenders – Collabro – Michael Kiwanuka – Alison Moyet – Van Morrison – Billy Bragg – Squeeze – Chris Rea – Echo and the Bunnymen – Everton FC The Dixies Awards

Chamber Music Liverpool Philharmonic’s Chamber Music Series in the glorious setting of St. George’s Concert featured some of the world’s greatest artists and ensembles including: – Ensemble 10/10 – Armida Quartet – Kirill Gerstein – Brodsky Quartet with Martin Roscoe piano – Garrick Ohlsson – Red Priest – ZEN Trio – Diotima Quartet – Stile Antico

S

Left to Right: Caro Emerald, Robert Cray, ZEN Trio, Texas, Chrissie Hynde, Jools Holland, The Orchestra of Syrian Musicians, Damon Albarn and musicians of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Collabro, Billy Ocean, Alison Moyet, Amy MacDonald and Diotima Quartet


19

T

Top to bottom: Kraftwerk, Ensemble 10/10 at St. George’s Hall Concert Room and Michael Kiwanuka

‘Chrissie Hynde is still every inch the bona fide rock star that she has always been…she absolutely owned the stage.’ Review of The Pretenders

‘…tonight was another level, the (Liverpool) Philharmonic with its excellent acoustics, great sound and superb atmosphere could have been made for her…. joyous … a special evening.’ Review of Alison Moyet

‘With the obvious exception of the Beatles, it’s hard to think of many acts who have had such influence on popular culture as Kraftwerk…. this show is as much a visual art presentation as a gig… a 3D craft is first pictured flying over Liverpool and then actually “lands” right outside Philharmonic Hall….. a vintage Volkswagen Beetle “drives” from the screen over the audience.’ HHHHH

‘‘Future folk-rock and soul legend Michael Kiwanuka graces the stage of Liverpool’s Philharmonic Hall and expands the list of phenomenal gigs that took place in Liverpool in 2017.’


20

Classic FM: Celebrating 25 Years

The UK’s biggest classical music brand Classic FM, with whom Liverpool Philharmonic has enjoyed an awardwinning partnership since 2001 as the ‘Classic FM Orchestra in North West England’, celebrated their 25th birthday and started our 2017-2018 concert season with a sold out concert at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall performed by the Orchestra and Choir and presented by Bill Turnbull. The concert was broadcast live on Classic FM to their 5.6 million listeners. Classic FM’s 25th Birthday concert was Liverpool Philharmonic’s first foray into live-streaming concerts. Three further concerts subsequently live streamed in partnership with Classic FM. Close to 200,000 people from around the world were watching, presenting an unprecedented platform for both partners to reach a global audience. Viewers watched from Japan, South Africa, Slovenia, America, Spain, Mexico, the Netherlands, Malta, Canada, Hungary, Brazil and the USA.

S

Classic FM’s John Brunning broadcasting live from Liverpool Philharmonic Hall during the radio station’s 25th Birthday concert.


21

On Air and Online We reach 6 million people annually through social media, streaming platforms including 200,000 listeners each month on Spotify, and for our recordings and concert broadcasts. Our Audiences Each year, 340,000 people attend 450 events presented in Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, Music Room and other venues in the city.


22

Vasily Petrenko Chief Conductor Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Our Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko is one of the most highly-regarded conductors in the world. His award-winning musical partnership with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra is now in its 13th year. Their concerts, broadcasts and recordings have attracted world-wide critical acclaim and helped build new audiences for classical music, including many young people. Highlights over 2017-2018 included a performance of Messiaen’s Turangiliîa, their signature surveys of Russian music including Shostakovich’s shattering Fifth Symphony, Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony in a concert joined by the Japanese pianist Nobujuki Tsujii who played Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini. They joined forces with Artists in Residence Stephen Hough in performances of Beethoven’s First and Second Piano Concertos; and Sir Bryn Terfel in performances of Verdi’s Requiem and comic opera, Falstaff, and gave the UK premiere of Philip Glass’ Symphony No. 11, marking the composer’s 80th Birthday. Vasily is deeply committed to providing opportunities for people to enjoy and participate in music from the earliest age. He is actively involved in our learning programme In Harmony Liverpool and Musician in Residence programme with Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust which achieve positive change within and beyond music, contributing to improving musical skills, confidence, health, education and aspirations for participants and audiences. He supports and mentors our Youth Company musicians, conductors and composers and those of the European Union Youth Orchestra where he is Chief Conductor, and as a former principal conductor of the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain

Vasily is Chief Conductor of the Oslo Philharmonic and his passion for music takes him around the globe as a guest conductor with many more of the world’s great orchestras to the benefit of both Liverpool Philharmonic and the City. Recent additions in a distinguished discography with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra include award-winning surveys of Rachmaninov’s symphonies, orchestral works and complete piano concertos with Simon Trpčeski and the complete symphonies of Shostakovich, Elgar, and Tchaikovsky’s symphonies and piano concertos which have garnered world-wide critical acclaim. The recording of Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies Nos. 1, 2 and 5, won ‘Recording of the Year’ and ‘Orchestral Recording of the Year’ at the BBC Music Magazine Awards 2017. Since he took up the baton in Liverpool in 2006, and recognising his contribution to music and public engagement, Vasily has been awarded Honorary Doctorates by the University of Liverpool, Liverpool Hope University, University of York, and an Honorary Fellowship by Liverpool John Moores University. He was admitted to the Roll of Citizens of Honour of the City of Liverpool in 2016. Vasily was the Classic BRIT Awards Male Artist of the Year 2012 and 2010, Germany’s Echo Klassik Awards Emerging Artist of the Year 2012, Gramophone Classical Music Awards ‘Young Artist of the Year’ 2007, and ‘Artist of the Year’ 2017.

‘None of Vasily Petrenko’s recordings with his Liverpool orchestra has missed its mark... Burning within: a masterclass in both intensity and orchestral colour… as impressive as any of the greats.’ HHHH CD Review: Tchaikovsky Symphonies Nos. 3, 4 &6


23

Andrew Manze Appointed Principal Guest Conductor

In May 2018, we were delighted to announce the appointment of Andrew Manze as Principal Guest Conductor – effective from September 2018. Andrew is widely celebrated as one of the most stimulating and inspirational conductors of his generation. Since he first conducted the Orchestra in November 2011, Andrew has enjoyed a fruitful relationship and critical acclaim with the Orchestra in concerts, broadcasts and recordings. ‘Andrew is in great demand around the world as a guest conductor, so we are thrilled that we can recognise the great partnership he has established with our Orchestra and our audiences over a number of years,’ said Chief Executive Michael Eakin. Andrew is also Chief Conductor of NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover.

‘The Liverpool audience is wonderful, the orchestra’s education work is utterly admirable, the management is courageous and fun, and the orchestra plays with such warmth and a spirit of collaboration that visits to Liverpool Philharmonic have become a very important part of my musical life.’ Andrew Manze


24

On the Record 12 new recordings with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Debussy Printemps Stravinsky The Rite of Spring Rachmaninov Spring Cantata

Elgar Symphony No. 2

Tchaikovsky Symphonies Nos. 3, 4 and 6

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Onyx

Onyx

Vasily Petrenko conductor Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

Prokofiev Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 3, Overture on Hebrew Themes Vasily Petrenko conductor Simon TrpÄ?eski piano Onyx

Onyx

Vaughan Williams Symphonies Vol. 1

Vaughan Williams Symphonies Vol. 2

Vaughan Williams Symphonies Vol. 3

Andrew Manze conductor

Andrew Manze conductor

Andrew Manze conductor

Onyx

Onyx

Onyx

Prokofiev Peter and the Wolf Saint-SaĂŤns Carnival of the Animals Rawsthorne Practical Cats Vasily Petrenko conductor Alexander Armstrong presenter Warner Classics


25

Beethoven Violin Concerto, Romances Schubert Rondo Andrew Manze conductor James Ehnes violin

Shostakovich Piano Concertos Nos.1 and 2 Vasily Petrenko conductor Boris Giltburg piano Naxos

Performance HHHH Recording HHHH

‘Any lover of Vaughan Williams as a symphonist will find this recording exceptionally rewarding.’ Vaughan Williams Symphonies Vol. 3

Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Musical Toronto ‘Almost faultless…. wonderfully skittish, a series of melodic in-jokes and exchanges with the orchestra — a reduced Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and its superb trumpet, Rhys Owens, conducted by Vasily Petrenko.’ HHHHH Shostakovich Piano Concertos Nos.1 and 2

Christian Lindberg conductor

Wolf-Ferrari I Quatro Rusteghi Vasily Petrenko conductor European Opera Centre Rubicon

BIS Records

Onyx

‘….this is a searing account of the Rite… there’s a visceral energy to the RLPO’s playing, the orchestra cultivating a rawness of sound.’

Bernstein On the Waterfront, West Side Story, Candide Overture, On the Town, Fancy Free

‘Petrenko draws clean and articulate playing from the Liverpool Phil and the singers respond with character and point as they make up the battle-of-the-sexes cast. Standouts from the delicious soprano of Ana James as Felice and the likable, Latin tenor of Tansel Akzeybek as Filipeto, while the best sections of the piece – like the well-known intermezzo – are light as a feather.’ HHHH Wolf-Ferrari I Quatro Rusteghi

‘It has always been an eye-opener when Russian conductors have turned to Elgar and Vasily Petrenko’s concentrated and exhaustively rehearsed performances with his Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra are exceptional…. grips early in and refuses to let go.’ HHHH Elgar Symphony No. 2

‘….persuasive mix of poetry, raw splendour and poignancy, with exceptional playing from the RLPO. HHHHH Vaughan Williams Symphonies Vol. 2

‘It sounds classy, cool…There’s plenty to admire in the gleaming textures.’ Prokofiev Peter and the Wolf

‘The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic was born in the same year as Tchaikovsky so perhaps this is a romance that was written in the stars. The orchestra’s chief conductor, Vasily has wrapped up a Tchaikovsky cycle in rip-roaring, wonderfully seductive style.’ HHHHH Tchaikovsky Symphonies Nos. 3, 4 and 6


26

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir are central to our concert programme. In 2018-19, they joined forces with the Orchestra for memorable performances of John Rutter’s The Gift of Life and Requiem, Berlioz’s Damnation of Faust, Vaughan Williams’ A Sea Symphony, Verdi’s Requiem, Mozart’s Requiem, Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms and Handel’s Messiah. With Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir they performed the annual Spirit of Christmas concerts. They recorded Rachmaniov’s Spring Cantata, and Vaughan Williams’ A Sea Symphony. Our Choir members, all amateur singers, are drawn from all walks of life. Under the leadership of Chorusmaster Ian Tracey, we are grateful for the great commitment and love of music they bring to their roles as part of one of the UK’s leading professional music organisations. We now host an annual Choir Alumni event for all those who have been a member. If you would like to know more please contact fundraising@liverpoolphil.com

‘This wonderful performance of Verdi’s mighty Requiem was a terrific team effort – orchestra, choir, international soloists and maestro Vasily Petrenko bringing it all together in one sublime and stirring 90 minutes. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir are on a roll, following a magnificent performance of The Sea Symphony 10 days ago with a bold and thrilling Requiem which saw them being applauded not just by the audience but by the soloists too.’

HHHHH


27

Commissions, Premieres and Performances of New Music Throughout our long history, Liverpool Philharmonic has supported established and emerging composers by commissioning new music for performance by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir, associated ensembles including Ensemble 10/10 and our Youth Ensembles.

19 January 2017

28 September 2017

19 October 2017

2 November 2017

Emily Howard Torus: Concerto for Orchestra Liverpool Premiere – BBC Proms and Liverpool Philharmonic 175th Anniversary Commission

Philip Glass Symphony No.11 (UK premiere)

Aaron Jay Kernis Legacy for Solo Horn, Harp and Percussion and Strings (UK premiere, co-commission with Grant Park Festival, Chicago)

Gabriela Ortiz Suite from Hominum (UK premiere)

Torus concluded our 175th anniversary commissions, 14 in total presented over two years from the end of 2014. Torus received its world premiere at BBC Proms 2016 with the Orchestra under the baton of Vasily Petrenko.

Philip Glass is a composer who defines our age. This UK premiere marked the composer’s 80th birthday year.

The Orchestra’s Principal Horn player Timothy Jackson was in the spotlight as soloist for the UK premiere of Kernis’ beautiful new work for the instrument in a concert broadcast by BBC Radio 3.

Ortiz flew in from Mexico to hear the Orchestra perform her work under the baton of her compatriot, Carlos Miguel Prieto

Emily Howard won a 2017 British Composer Award for Torus.

‘Howard’s ethereal, deliberately slowmoving piece established a slippery, infinite glissando as if running a finger around the rim of the known universe.’

HHHH

Q

Emily Howard with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra at BBC Proms.

‘It is a bit unusual for Getintothis to be reviewing a classical concert and yet we found the whole thing to be richly rewarding….something to be remembered for a very long time indeed…. magnificent music, a world-class orchestra and conductor performing in a world-class venue. We should be proud that our city has all this and we should celebrate it loudly. This is one of the most vital and life-affirming music experiences you can have. Give it a try.’


28

Supporting Young Composers

7 September 2017 Dani Howard Argentum (world premiere) Performed by Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Michael Seal conductor

5 October 2017 Jack Pepper Signal: Fanfare for Orchestra (orchestral version: world premiere) Performed by Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Vasily Petrenko conductor

The Christopher Brooks Composition Prize, supported by the Rushworth Foundation and Lancashire Sinfonietta provides a unique opportunity for a young artist/composer who writes original music to develop their talent and access guidance and support from Liverpool Philharmonic’s and a wide range of people working across the music profession. 23-year-old Richard Miller was our second prize winner in 2017. Liverpoolborn Richard sang in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir and is currently studying at the Royal College of Music. ‘As a Christopher Brooks Prize-winner, I’ve had access to so many amazing opportunities. Having a piece played by the fabulous Ensemble 10/10, an additional performance opportunity with the Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir, and one-to-one sessions with artists including Andrew Manze and Stephen Hough are just a few significant highlights.’ - Richard Miller 23-year-old Grace Evangeline Mason is the third recipient of the Christopher Brooks Composition Prize. Ensemble 10/10 will give the world premiere of a new work by Grace in autumn 2018.

11 October 2017

Dani Howard, Alexia Sloane and Jack Pepper are three of the seven young composers commissioned by Classic FM for the station’s 25th birthday who are no older than the station itself.

Richard Miller Nighthawks (world premiere) Alexia Sloane Elegy for Aylan (world premiere)

Our Rushworth Young Composers include Yasmin Al-Zuhairi (16), Bethany Jackson (17), David Noble (17), Armand Rabot (18) and Joshua Quinlan (18), all of whom will conduct their own work in Music Room, performed by members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir and Youth Orchestra.

Performed by Ensemble 10/10

All will benefit from access to mentoring and masterclasses from professional composers and musicians and will have their work performed by young musicians in Music Room.

Clark Rundell conductor

Joshua Quinlan’s piece about Liverpool, Songs of Stone, was selected to be performed at the National Music for Youth Festival in Birmingham in July this year. The piece was performed by members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company, with Joshua conducting, on the new Music Stage at the CBSO Centre in Birmingham. This is the second year that a Rushworth Young Composer’s work has been shortlisted for this event, following Yasmin Al-Zuhairi’s The Art of Colourful Emotions in 2017 , and we were thrilled to represent Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company on this national platform again this summer!

U

Clockwise from top: Grace Evangeline Mason with Vasily Petrenko, Dani Howard with Classic FM’s Bill Turnbull, Jack Pepper and Yasmin Al-Zuhairi.


29

Music Room Since opening in autumn 2015, Music Room has welcomed more than 50,000 people through its doors, and consolidated its position as one of the most important small venues in Liverpool, presenting many artists who otherwise would not be seen in the city, as well as giving a platform for some superb performances by members of the Orchestra.

‘I haven’t been to the Music Room before, but would certainly go again. It was a great, intimate atmosphere to be so close to the artists. Many thanks for your work in providing great entertainment.’ Jean. Customer Feedback Survey Feedback: Peggy Seeger

W

Left to righ: St.Luke’s Ensemble perform a Close Up concert and Connie Lush.

Music Room has enabled Liverpool Philharmonic to deepen its relationships with city-based emerging and established artists, festivals, and promoters both in the city, and across the UK. Since the venue opened in autumn 2015, it has presented more than 400 events. In 2017-2018 these included Carleen Anderson, Connie Lush, John Harle, Anderson & Roe, Miles Hunt and Erica Nockalls, Dillie Read, Mark Radcliffe, Police Dog Hogan, The Fureys, Fairport Convention, Coppe, Boyes and Simpson, My Darling Clementine, Roger McGough and Dean Friedman. Liverpool Philharmonic collaborated with many of Liverpool’s festivals in presenting their events in Music Room’s unique space including Liverpool Irish Festival, Liverpool Arabic Arts Festival, Liverpool International Music Festival, Africa Oyé, Liverpool Acoustic Festival, DaDa Fest, Writing on the Wall and Liverpool Light Night. The Close Up series features ensembles and soloists from the Orchestra and visiting guest artists who are performing with the Orchestra in their concert series in the main auditorium. It has been a vehicle to promote their virtuosity close-up in their own ensembles such as Mishima and Philharmonic Quartets, All Cellos and Klezmer-ish, alongside visiting artists including Anderson & Roe and Jesús León. Many members of our Youth Company perform in Music Room to packed houses. Our learning programme including pre and post-concert talks, children’s workshops and concerts for Under 5s, all of which sell out, are presented there.


30

X

Singers from the European Opera Centre and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Vasily Petrenko perform Verdi’s Falstaff.


31

Leap into Live Music! Leap into Live Music! is generously supported by the Paul Hamlyn Foundation to enable Liverpool Philharmonic to provide free and discounted tickets for people to experience live music events. The scheme offers a range of performances across Liverpool Philharmonic’s varied programme, from orchestral performances 2146 individuals are registered on the scheme and close to 13,000 tickets have been allocated.

‘For carers with young families it has been a great opportunity for them to spend time together away from the demands of their caring role and to watch them enjoying the performances has been extremely humbling. There has been a positive impact on each carer’s health and wellbeing following their attendance at Liverpool Philharmonic. The feedback we have had has been tremendous.’ Maureen Austin, MyTime Coordinator

‘…didn’t think that I would, as I have never had an interest in classical music but I found myself totally relaxed, a fantastic performance.’ First time attender


32

Liverpool Philharmonic’s learning programme is central to our to mission to enhance and transform lives through music

T

Members of the Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra


33

Liverpool Philharmonic provided 6,000 learning sessions for more than 80,000 children, families and adults. Each year 18,000 children from more than 200 schools from in Liverpool and the North West joined us for one of our 13 Schools’ Concerts in 2017 and 2018. This was the best experience of my life. Maybe, just maybe, one day I’ll be a musician myself.’ Pupil

‘This was our first time at the Schools’ Concert and I am very impressed with everything you did. Thank you for your teaching resources and for giving our children a happy, positive experience.’ Teacher

In Harmony Liverpool –Birthday Celebrations Young musicians of In Harmony Liverpool took to the stage in 2017 and 2018 at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall alongside musicians from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra for the annual concert celebrating Liverpool Philharmonic’s ground-breaking project in Everton and the success and musical achievements of our young musicians. We’re delighted that in 2018, 16-year-old Caitlin Doran became an associate member of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra. Since it was established in 2009, In Harmony Liverpool has presented 300 performances by young people to a total audience of 42,000 in 38 venues, including local community venues, Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, London’s Royal Albert Hall and Southbank Centre, and Sage Gateshead. Special celebrations are planned for 2019, In Harmony Liverpool’s milestone 10th birthday, marking the contribution and impact of the transformational music programme on children, families, schools and the wider community in Everton.

Family Concerts and Especially for the Under 5s

‘At Sing-along with Santa, little ones can wriggle all they want, it allows them to experience the orchestra in a way that draws the audience in with them, there is even a bit of Mozart. You leave feeling ready to make mince pies and wrap presents until Christmas Eve. ‘

HHHHH

Liverpool Philharmonic’s Family Concerts feature music designed to entertain and enthrall younger audiences. New in 2017, we introduced a series of sell-out concerts for the Under 5s, presented with musicians from the Orchestra, in the smaller setting of Music Room.


34

Music and Mental Health Programme Liverpool Philharmonic’s Musician in Residence programme in partnership with Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust supports some of the most vulnerable people in Liverpool and improves the recovery, health and wellbeing of participants through music, benefiting 10,000 service users and their families and carers since 2008. A specially commissioned report published in 2017 outlined the positive impacts of our innovative and far reaching partnership which is now in its 10th year. ‘My community mental health team recommended this to me and I’ve really enjoyed it. I found I’ve enjoyed the music and it’s helped me rediscover things that I used to enjoy which I stopped doing because I was not feeling well. I was very proud to hear my lyrics being performed and it felt as if I was giving something back. I’ve also enjoyed meeting more people and it tends to become more like a family than just a group.’ Mersey Care Service User. The commissioning of the report, researched and authored by Dr Susanne Burns, has been made possible through the generous support of Liverpool Philharmonic’s Premier Sponsor, Hill Dickinson.

Over 50 Liverpool Philharmonic musicians have provided over 3,500 sessions to more than 10,000 service users throughout Liverpool City Region.

Our vision for the next five years is to benefit a further 10,000 people, including young people living with mental health, across Liverpool City Region by 2022.

U

Liverpool Philharmonic musicians performing in Mersey Care community settings


35

Nurturing Talent – Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company performs frequently in Music Room including collaborations with Liverpool International Music Festival Academy, Youth Company on Broadway and Youth Company Big Band. The annual Music Industry Careers Day is also hosted in Music Room, featuring speakers from BBC, Live Nation, Drake Music, PRS Foundation, Royal Northern College of Music and AdLib Audio. Master classes and workshops from internationally renowned artists, including Jessica Cottis, Kathryn Stott and Roderick Williams, have given Youth Company members amazing opportunities.

Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra Great Northern Tour Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra went on tour during the summer 0f 2017 for the first time since 2008, performing across the North of England. Their Great Northern Tour included performances at Ripon Cathedral, Sage Gateshead and Lancaster University. Our talented musicians, aged 13-23 years, performed Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, Dukas’ Fanfare, Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite (1919) and Berlioz’s Marche Hongraise conducted by Liverpool Philharmonic’s Youth Ensembles Artistic Director, Simon Emery. Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to donors Robin Bloxsidge and Nick Riddle for their support of this fantastic opportunity for the Youth Orchestra.

Q

The first cohort of MA students, with University of Liverpool Music Industry Lecturer Dr. Mike Jones

Classical Music is the Business In 2017, the University of Liverpool and Royal Liverpool Philharmonic launched a new postgraduate course, the Business of Classical Music, the first in the UK, which is aimed at developing further generations of music industry professionals. The first cohort of students graduated from the course in 2018 and several have already been employed in the music industry. The MA is part of our wider partnership with the University which includes our delivering a range of activities including supporting composition students, providing lunchtime concerts, careers events, lectures, instrument demonstrations and ensembles coaching. Rod Skipp, Artistic Director of In Harmony Liverpool, conducts the University of Liverpool Symphony Orchestra. We continued our longstanding partnership with Liverpool Hope University, and our professional experience scheme with the Royal Northern College of Music.


36


37

Our Environmental Sustainability

Liverpool Philharmonic is keen to play our part in reducing the impact of our activities on the environment. In the last year, we made some positive steps forward in raising awareness amongst our colleagues, visitors and the wider public of our environmental impact and the things we do to reduce it. In 2017, we installed an electric vehicle (EV) charging point in the Caledonia Street Car Park. Information on our website and in pre-and post-concert emails now actively encourages people to consider public transport options, walking or cycling when attending our events. We are part of Julie’s Bicycle’s Creative Green Scheme, which recognises and celebrates environmental best practice of cultural organisations. The first organization in Liverpool to participate in this scheme, our initial assessment gave us 3 out of 5 stars, and we were nominated for ‘Best Newcomer’ in the Creative Green Industry Awards. We are ensuring that suppliers have strong sustainability credentials across all areas of our business, from the papers and inks we use on printed materials to containers and packaging we use for consumable goods. We have also removed disposable plastic glasses from our bars and are sourcing water in glass rather than plastic. And we are working with our neighbours and other partners to take positive action to work towards a low-carbon economy and improve our energy performance.


38

Our Supporters Liverpool Philharmonic generates over two-thirds of our income through ticket sales, fundraising, orchestral engagements, broadcasts and recording, hires of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and catering. Our existence is made possible by the continuing support of our sponsors in Liverpool’s business community, the support of major trusts and foundations and the amazing generosity of many individual donors. Individual supporters donated over £445,000 last year to support the work we do on stage and in our community. This included annual donations from our loyal membership base, plus generous support for Bryn Terfel’s residency and Love Music: From the First Note campaign, which supports school’s concerts, In Harmony Liverpool and Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company members. Thank you to our Principal Funders Arts Council England and Liverpool City Council for their investment in our artistic and learning programmes.


39

Our Principal Funders Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support

Our Principal Partners

Thank you to our Principal Partners, Investec Wealth & Investment and Liverpool John Moores University for their invaluable continued support.

Investec Wealth & Investment Following a five year extension, agreed in 2015, we enjoyed yet another year working in partnership with Investec Wealth & Investment. Investec Wealth & Investment continued to sponsor the Henry E Rensburg series of concerts in 2017, as well as the prestigious Chamber Music series in St George’s Hall Concert Room. We welcomed the firm and a number of their guests at the concert on 23 March, featuring Anderson & Roe – an exciting piano duo from America. They also brought their guests to support Andrew Manze, who conducted the Orchestra in April. Another highlight of Investec Wealth & Investment’s 2017 concerts was their support of soloist Boris Giltburg playing Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 3.

Liverpool John Moores University Building on from the Principal Partnership established in 2013, we continued to enjoy a successful partnership in 2017. We continue to work closely with the university’s Student Opportunities team to ensure as many students as possible are able to experience world-class music, orchestral or otherwise, for free. LJMU students have also been offered a behind-the-scenes experience of watching our orchestra during rehearsals.

S

Left to Right: Carl Cross, Divisional Director, Investec Wealth & Investment, Vasily Petrenko, Chief Conductor, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Michael Eakin, Chief Executive, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic

Our partnership means that Liverpool Philharmonic is a hugely important part of a student’s life in Liverpool, providing them with the opportunity to see our world class orchestra in action. Over 1,900 tickets were allocated to LJMU students in 2017, and we hope to exceed that number in 2018 as a direct result of the partnership. LJMU sponsored our Saturday concerts in 2017 – The Liverpool John Moores University Series. Highlights included our annual performance of Handel’s Messiah in the Hall and James MacMillan’s Gloria in Liverpool’s Metropolitan Cathedral.

S

Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, an LJMU Honorary Fellow, pictured with final year LJMU History students

Premier Sponsor

2017 saw us into the second year of our three year partnership with locally-based international law firm, Hill Dickinson. The firm sponsors three concerts per season and in 2017 supported Russian Superstars (2 & 3 February), Symphonie Fantastique! (6 & 7 April) and Dvořák’s Cello Concerto (21 & 22 September). Hill Dickinson also provided additional financial support towards an independent report on Liverpool Philharmonic’s Musician in Residence programme with Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust, which was completed this year (see page 34 to read more about the report).

S

Lord Mayor of Liverpool, Cllr Malcolm Kennedy, Beatrice Frankel, Chairman and Joe Rafferty, Chief Executive of Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust, Hill Dickinson, Vasily Petrenko and Liverpool Philharmonic Musicians who lead our Musician in Residence programme


40

Jerwood Charitable Foundation gives Major Award for Pioneering ‘Elite Performance in Orchestral Musicians’ Programme The Award is providing access to specialist support to enhance the artistic development and performance of Liverpool Philharmonic’s greatest asset, the 79 professional musicians in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Building on injury prevention and physiotherapy programmes run by Liverpool Philharmonic since 2015, the Elite Musicians’ Performance Programme is drawing on established practice in elite sport and performance science, to support the orchestra members in the physical demands of consistently playing at the very highest level. With Jerwood Charitable Foundation’s support, Liverpool Philharmonic will further develop its work into the psychology of performance. Performance coach Mike Cunningham works with top performers in orchestras, the wider performing arts, sport and business in the UK and internationally. He is working with our musicians to develop their mind-sets to consistently perform at their best, to grow as artists individually and collectively, and effectively manage pressure and challenges that can be part of the profession. Musicians are also able to access sports massage both on-site and off-site, and when on tour, and an Injury Prevention Screening Programme provided by a physiotherapist. Liverpool Philharmonic is working with partners including Liverpool John Moores University, Help Musicians UK and the Royal College of Music, alongside performance science experts, in delivering the programme.

On Air and On-line

Our broadcast partners Classic FM and the BBC share our music-making in Liverpool with millions of people across the UK and internationally

Our Sponsors

During 2017, in addition to our Principal and Premier Sponsors’ support, we were grateful for the support of The Rushworth Foundation, David M Robinson, Weightmans, Boodles and Maestro Travel. The Rushworth Foundation sponsored Verdi’s Requiem (19 November) and Grieg’s Piano Concerto (4 February). David M Robinson sponsored our Spirit of Christmas concerts (16-23 December). Weightmans sponsored The Birds (5 October). Boodles sponsored Eroica (8 February). Maestro! Tour Management sponsored our series of Lunchtime Concerts in Music Room.

‘I would like to thank the Trustees of Jerwood Charitable Foundation for their generous support of this initiative. An orchestra is a body of artists, artistic excellence is at the heart of what we do and this requires a high level of artistic, technical, physical and psychological skill and endurance to succeed at the highest level. ‘This is a pioneering programme in our sector and will support our individual professional development, enhance our performances and drive improvements in the artistic excellence of the Orchestra and wellbeing of our musicians.’ Thelma Handy, Leader of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra


41

W

Chloe Ellen Jones flute performs in Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company’s Recital at St. George’s Hall Concert Room, March 2018


42


43

In Memory We are grateful to all those who have made charitable bequests to Liverpool Philharmonic. They help to ensure future generations will receive as much pleasure from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra as audiences today. We are proud to honour these benefactors and also thank those who have given anonymously: With special thanks to supporters who left us an exceptional gift: Mr Anthony Brown Mrs Lillian Woodward Francis Ann Edwards Dr Michael Charles Richard Butler Thomas Nugent Alec Mackinnon Raymond Holdman Mavis Clark David Anthony Hebbert Mary Riddoch Dr A E Mussett

With thanks to supporters whose generosity has enabled us to achieve so much: Frederick and Christina Hughes Miss Ida Louise Kirby Mr J H Stowell Estate of Miss Margaret M Wethered Miss Annette Buckley Lillie and Abe Swift Miss J C Dicks Laura Elizabeth Barlow Miss L M Cunningham Miss Shelagh Cunningham Charles George Bell Dr Phyllis Marsh G H W Boam Kathleen Cromwell Miss A V Simpson Roy Kenyon Margaret Jean Bleach Edith Olwen Smith Dr Stanley Kennett Miss M A Lewis Miss Margaret Young Mckenna Mrs Marjorie Krell Jean Margaret Anderson Dr Charles Hopkins Jack Shuttleworth Joyce Edwards Miss Margaret Johnson Mrs Dorothy Agnes Hawkins

Mrs Mintose Bibby Miss Kathleen Elizabeth Sconce JAS Memorial Trust Horace Richard Bennett Dr Harold Jacob Stern Herbert Clifford Brough Barbara Cross Louisa and Walter Joseph Lello Helen Hayward The Solomon and Isabel Blankstone Charitable Trust Mrs Irene Frances Brand Mr A J Burd Mr S A Burns Miss I Lowe Mr J Birch Mrs Frances Peck Mrs Mary Macphail Mr A D Wood Mrs J Rogers Mrs F R Edwards Mr W J Armstrong Miss M N Alexander Miss K V Pollard Mrs E M Ashcroft Miss J Wallace Dr J G Foley Mr Colin Maude Mr Eddie Cross Mrs Megan Evans Miss Nan Rushton Mr G Mugridge Dr K J Cowen Mr H Coville Mr Derek A Webb Mr S E Beddoe Mrs B V Herd Mr J P Sloane Mrs D Stankley Norah Cameron Barr Barnaby Cyril Schofield Norman Kidd Mr Arthur Utley Mrs Hilda Isabella Foster Ruth Maxwell Marjorie Cutts Mr Allen V Taylor Meta Wilson

Mr Neil Ronald Lindley Thomas Ms Jessica Stuart Simpson John Stanley Moorman Phyllis Stephenson-Jones Arthur Owens Dr AH Cruickshank Melville Bernstein Miss Cynthia Stroud Kenneth Edwards Mrs Lillian Woodward George Walter Smith Albert Phythian Charles Vernon Wilson Dr David James Silvester Miss D Rathbone Father Peter Nicholson Anne Curtis Kenneth & Pamela Williams Kenneth Harry Huxley Ernest McCormick Margaret B Willett Marjorie Edith Holliday Miss Elisabeth Hickie Margaret Lewis Joseph Taylor Unsworth Peter Mountain Mrs EM Sutton Dr Mona Duggan of Ormskirk Betty Roberts Mrs Shirley Hope Mr James Richard Bell Iris Caulfield Miss Beatrice Adelaide Hough Carl & Glenys Mayl Anne Wolff Mr Gordon Dinwoodie John Alexander Weir Elsie Mary Kidd Roz Kelly Mr William Harold Spencer Mason Miss B Mcgree Miss C Tilsley Charles Elston (CHE) Dorothy Iris Clayton Mrs Phyllis Amos & Mr Frank Amos Dorothy H Gill Kathleen A Hamilton


44

Thank You Thank you to everyone who has supported Liverpool Philharmonic over the last year. Your support helps us to attract the best musicians and music to Liverpool; continue our commitment to lifelong learning and participation in music; and provide musical experiences of the highest quality for our audience and players. 1840 Circle and Gold Plus Members Ms Alexander, Michael Bates & in memory of Elizabeth Marchbank, Dr & Mrs Bayley, Bob Bell, Yvonne Bieniek, Peter & Geraldine Bounds, Robin Bloxsidge & Nick Riddle, Bill & Christina Bowley, John & Patricia Britland Horne, Mrs Angela Brodbelt, Peter & Margaret Brooks, Richard & Jenny Bryson, Mr Campbell, Austin Carty, Ms Y Charlett, Liz Christie in memory of Stuart, Michael & Jenny Coe, Mrs Valerie Connolly, Duncan & Susan Crewe, Susan Davies in memory of Iris Caulfield & Susan Rattle, Peter de Figueiredo & Julian Treuherz, Michael & Yvonne Dempsey, Dave Dixson, Michael & Kim Eakin, Christine Elliott, Mrs B Ellison, Peter Eyre, Ms Hilary Fass, MJ Feltham, Kay & Mike Fox, Dr A E Gallon, John & Tor Gillespie, WJ & SH Gilpin, John Goodsir CBE, Dr J Graham, Crosby Festival of Music and Dance, Dr S & Mrs B Grant, Victor Greenberg, Roger & Susie Greenwood, The Preston Friends, Alma Griffiths, Ms K.A. Hamilton, Mel & Delia Grodner, Michael D Handley & Edward J Davies, John Harsant, Pam & Steve Hasell, Peter Heath, Paul Herbert, Christen Herbert, Brian Higgins & in memory of Colleen, Jackie Hine, In memory of Mike Atkinson, Viv Hollinshead, Mr JR & Mrs CA Holmes, Jane & Stephen Howarth, Terence Hurst, Colin Jessop, In Memory of Mike Atkinson, Viv Hollinshead, Peter & Margaret Johnson, Tim & Julia Jones, Mr Ian Jones & Dr RK Curley, Robert & Rose Kingston, Edward & Marion Landor, David Lockwood & Laura Doyle, David & Indira Maddison, Mr & Mrs Simon Marsh, John Maxwell, Mr Bruce & Mrs Jill McGuire, Mr & Mrs JP Monaghan, Mr Richard & Mrs Diana Morris, Hugh & Juliet Morton, Bob & Anne Neate, Oswestry Concert Goers, Anne & Paul Pedley, Jorgen Petersen, Gordon & Gillan Poole, Mr & Mrs Michael Potts, Gary Pritchard, Tim & Margaret Ransome, Aldham Robarts, Mrs N Rothwell, Diana & Alan Sheridan, Mr AW Shone, Peter B & Margaret Smith, Ingrid Spiegl in memory of Fritz, Jonny & Gillian Stone, Jeffrey Taylor, Collin E Thompson in memory of Jill Carr, Maggie Tillett, Steve Valiant & Ellen Jones, NP Weatherill, Willaston Village Concert Society, Ralph & Mary Yardley, Roland Zollner & Colin Parr

Gold Members Dr & Mrs RS Ahearn, Peter Allan, Prue Ashworth, Mrs Jean Bingham, Bill & Christina Bowley, Mr Campbell, Mrs Alison Cohen, Dorothy Taylor & Jill Conlan, Andrew & Jane Cornall, Mr FI Cottrell, Brian D Crabtree, Barbara F Crellin, Duncan & Susan Crewe, Ms Crosbie, Mr D & Dr A Davidson Lund, Lorna Dobson, Sean & Diana Duncan, Kenneth & Judith Duvall, Fr Bernard Eager, Helen Favale, Mr TG Ferguson, Mrs Frazer, Mrs AV Gardner, Nigel & Tilly Gilmour QC, Mr & Mrs G Goodchild, John Telford Gorner, Vanessa & Clement Goldstone, Mr & Mrs G Goodchild, Peter & Gwen Goodhew, Mrs Elizabeth Hargreaves, Claire Hetherington, Barry & Jean Highcock, Peter Hodgson, John & Barb Ingham, Mr Eric Jennings, Mike & Joanne Jones, In memory of Winifred M Sheldon 19152012, Mr N Kelly, Mr & Mrs K Kelly, Mary Kennan, Dr WE & Mrs JM Kenyon, Tony & Jane Kwok, Anthony Knifton, Mr & Mrs SG Laing, Mr & Mrs Richard & Susan Lewis, Maureen Malkinson, Mrs J Marwing, KJA O’Brien, Jeremy PatersonFox, Dr BA Proctor, Peter & Susan Rathe, Paul Radford, Mr & Mrs J Rodgers, Howard & Sue Rogers, Martin Rogers, Jon & Sally Sheard, Mr Nigel Smith, Ingrid Spiegl in memory of Fritz, Philip Stern, Miss Carmel Stewart, P Sumption, John & Christine Sutcliffe, Mrs BM Sweetlove, Ian & Kathy Taphouse, Mr I Taylor, Dr Geoffrey Tresise, Alan Turnock, Peter Urquhart, Andrew Vaughan, CP & JM Vellenoweth, Dr John H W Whitford & Mrs K Whitford, Mr Kevin F Wilde, Jacqueline Williamson, Eric & Val Winstanley, Mr Paul Wisdell, Raymond Wood, Eric Wright FRICS

Silver Members Susan Abraham, Angela, Will & Philip in memory of Geoff Adams, Roger Ainsworth, Fred Airey, Mr J A Akroyd, Miss Alexander, Mr J Alexander, Michelle Allan, Mr Christopher Allen, Helen Allwood, Diane Anderson, Miss Anderton, Mr D Anson, Ann Ap-Thomas, John Ardrey, Miss Kate Arnold, Mr Howard Atkinson - In memory of Marie Atkinson, Dr Brian & Dr Irina Axcell, JP & GL Backwell, Prof David J Bacon, Kate Banbury, Mr Banyard, Mr John Barker, Pauline & John Barker, Miss Barton, Richard & Sheila Barton, Ian & Alison Bates, Mrs Bates, Dr Kevin Bean, Norma Beaumont, Mrs Beavers, Slyvia Bawden RLPC, Mr & Mrs JW Beckitt, Clive Beesley, Elizabeth Bell, Brian & Ruth Bennett, Jane Bennett, Timothy Biddle, Dr Michael G Birchall, Ian Birchenough, Sheila M Birkhead, John Bithell, Ken Black, Peter & Diane Blackburn, Mr & Mrs Blanchard, Mr Blomeley, Albert & Jo Bloor, Mr Boardman, Mrs K Boothroyd, Keith Bott, Michael & Valerie Bowman, Professor Michael Brada, Roy & Lyn Braithwaite, Dr & Mrs Bayley, Ms Brennan, John Brindley, Mrs Brining, JG & BP Brisco, Mr Peter Briscoe, RF Britton, David Brown, Miss Barbara Brown, Mr Brown, Mrs S Brown, Mrs P Browning, Sandie Brunnen, JD Bryant, Mrs AM Brzezicki, Anthony Buckley, Brian Bull, Revd Donald Bullen, Derek Bunting, Mrs M Burchall, W & MI Burke, John Burke, Mike Butterworth, R J Burton, Effie Cadwallader, Julie Calvert, Cambriance Cleaning, Mrs I & Mr D Campbell, Jeffrey Canter, Mrs Audrey Carr, Noel Cannon, Gaynor Cannon, Janet R Carver, Neil Carver, Maggie Casaus, Brian Case, Jo Cassidy (RIP Steve Jubb), Ms Y Charlett, Elspeth Christie, R Christie, Ian Clague, Brian Clarke, Graham Cleaver, Mrs JC Cleaver, Simon Cleaver, Dr & Mrs EJS Clifford, Ted Clement-Evans, Irene Clements, Miss Cochrane, Ms Maria Cody, Harold Cohen, Mrs Drey Cole, Sarah Cole, Andrew & Liz Collinge, Helen Collins, Marjorie Colville, Joe Connell, Mr Connell, Anthony Connell, Mrs L Conway, Mrs Katherine & Mr Nicholas Cooper, Mr DL & Mrs K Cooper, Trent Corr, Sally Cottrell, Jenny Couldrey, David Cowan, Mr Cox, Thomas Coyle, Brian & Barbara Crabtree, Vanessa Crabtree, Marcus & Paula Crompton, Jean Cross, Carl Cross, Mr & Mrs D Crumpton, Jennie Cunningham, Howard Curtis, Dr PJR Cuthbertson, Mr P Dagley, Mrs Dale, Ian Dalrymple, Ann Daniels, Mrs Eileen Daniels – In Memory of William Daniels, Mrs Patricia Daniels MBE, Mr & Mrs K Davies, Ms Angela Davies, Ms Davies, Barbara Davison, Hazel Dawes, Rod & Heidi Dawson, Laura Dean, Mr Mark Delaney, B Denton, Mr & Mrs Denye, Edward Devine, Jill Devine, RE Devonport, Peter Deyes, Mrs Netta Dixon, Mr Dodd, Ms G Dowman, Mrs P Downey, Dr P Drury, Robert Duffield, Philip Duffy, Mr Duggan, Christina Duncan, John Dunn, James Durkin, Sarah Dyas, Mr & Mrs JKP Edwards, Mr Egerton, Dr Stuart Eglin, Tony & Jenny Ensor, Rhona England, William Esplen, Mrs P Evans, Prof Rhiannon Evans & Dr Graham McLean, Jeremy Eyre, Gaynor Fass, Miss Farrell, Greta Fenney, Robert & Pamela Ferguson, John Findlow, David Finnegan, Derek Finney, Edith Firth, Prof JR & Mrs EA Fisher, Timothy Fitzsimons, Mr & Mrs J Fleming, David W Fletcher, Jeffrey Fletcher, Paul Flight, Mr Bernard Flood, Ms Caroline Fogell, Kathryn & David Formby, Michael Formby, Dr Ewen Forrest, Jill Forrest-Biggs, Mrs Sandra Foster, Mr & Mrs BW Fowler, Mrs Fox, Catherine Freeman, Dr Anne Fuller, Michael & Sue Gaffney, Joyce & Carole Gardner, Arthur William Garnett, Jayne Garrity, Noreen Garrity in memory of Ken, Joan Geldeard, Mr SA Gent, Mrs Barbara Gibbons, Peter & Rachel Giblin, David & Kathy Gibson, Lawrence Gibson, Evelyn Gilbertson, Robert & Jennifer Gill, Mr D & Mrs B Gilyard, Jean Glenn, Mrs EA Goodwin, Dr & Mrs Derek A Gould, Mr TR Gough, P&M Gray, Tony & Lynda Green, Tom Greenham, Mrs S Greenhalgh, Mr & Mrs R Greenway, Rob Gregory, The Preston Friends, Michael Griffith, Adrian & Clare Griffiths, Ms Griffiths, Jane Grimes, Sally Groves, Dr Steve & Mrs Lorraine Groves, Mat & Ann Grunnill, Mr M Gubbins, Rob Hackett, Dr Kevin Bean & Pauline Hadaway, Mrs Christine Hall, Miss Halliday, Ian Hamilton-Burke, JA & CM Hampton, Chris Hardaker & June Parkins, Ann Hardwick, Joanna Hargreaves, Dr F & Mrs S Harkins, Mr Graham Harley, Mrs Harper, Celia Harris, Mrs Harris, Mr Taran Harris, John Harris,


45

R

Supporters, Orchestra members and staff at the Annual Patrons Dinner.

Heather Harrison, Linda Harrison, Mrs Harrison, Victoria Harrison, Mrs Hartell, Mr Philip Harvard, Michael Harvey, Mrs A Hastings, Mrs Noreen Hayden, Paul & Pauline Hayward, Wendy Hazlehurst, Catherine Henthorn, Philip Hepworth, The Heswall Friends, Marilyn Heywood, Dr Garth Higginbotham, David Higginbottom, Vivienne Higgins, Gordon P Hoare, Mr Hodgson, Ros & John Hoggarth, Mr Ken Holding, Mr & Mrs NA Holladay, Barry & Lois Holland, Brian Hollis, Rod & Sally Holmes, Sara Holroyd, David Holt, Ruth & David Honour, Noel Hooker, Dr & Miss Howard & Bonnett, Mr Paul Howard, Mike Howden & Teri Holmes, Ms Maureen Howell, Rob & Val Howell, Alan Hudson, Jean Hudson, Anne Sandbalh-Hughes, Mr & Mrs David Hughes, Mrs M Hughes, Mr & Mrs D Hugo, Prof Derek Hull, John Hunter, Mrs Hyland, Mrs D Igglesden, Ms Iliff, Colin & Cally Ince, John & Barb Ingham, Mr J Ireland, Professor Monir Islam, Mrs Ann Ives, Philip Jackman, Diane Jackson, Mr & Mrs I Jackson, Mrs Jackson, Mr Jaeger, Mr Philip Jenkins, Mrs HP Jennins, Phil Jeremiah, Mrs Johnson, Dr Jones, Jan Jones, Lincoln & Bel Jones, Michelle O’Callaghan, Mr Eryl Wynne Jones & in memory of Mair, Mr & Mrs Jones, Mr Paul Jones, Sybil Anne Jones, Alan Jones, Mrs M Joynson, Mr Tom Jump, Ron Kane, Mrs Deryn Kelly, Mrs Katherine Keegan, Colin Kenyon, David Kenyon, Mr John Keogh, Linda & Walter Hepworth, Mr A J B Kidson, Phil & Cath Kightley, Martin Kime, Richard Kimpton, Mr & Mrs Kingston, Douglas & Frances Kirby, Philip Kitts, Dr & Mrs B Kneale, Stanley Knowles, Tony & Jane Kwok, Dr Walter La Frenais, Mrs C Lancashire, June Lancelyn Green MBE, Mr George Lawless, Ms Sarah Lapsley, Ronalde Le Blanc, Paul Leach, Nicola Leather, Mr & Mrs Nick Ledingham, Eileen Lee, Linda Leggett, Dr F & Mrs JM Levy, Mr Bob Lewinski, Eileen & John Lewis, Mr Hedley Lewis, Geoff Liddy, Douglas Ligertwood, Miss K Ligertwood, Michael Lind, Dr Dale Littler, Mrs Helen Lloyd, T Lockyer, Mr & Mrs Lodge, Nick & Sue Looker, Robert Lovatt, A & H Lovelady, Alison Lui, PS & SI Lucas, Mrs M Lynch, Miss PL Mackenzie, Mrs A McDonald, Mr John MacLeod, Dr Susan Main, Robin Makin, Shirley & Rex Makin, Mrs J Markham, Dr David & Mrs Katy Marsh, Mr John Marshall, Mr J & Mrs B Martin, Mrs J Martin, Mr &Mrs WE Marsden, Dr VJ Martlew, Michelle Maskell, Mrs D Mason, Alan Matthews, Ms Fiona Matthews, Dr Tom & Mrs Jo Mawdsley, Marguerita McBride, JR & IM McCann, Dr Melissa McCarthy, Chris McCormack, Mr David McCrave, John McDermott, Robert E McGrae, Bryan McDonagh, Andrew McGowan, Colin McGreary, John McIntosh, Andrew McKnight, Pam McNamara, Mrs R McNamara, Chris & Maureen McParlin, Mrs Cath McVey, Dr Pam Melding, Shevaun Mendelsohn, David H Mellows, Stephen & Maureen Mercer, Mr & Mrs Meredith-Jones, Helen & Richard Merritt, Lynsey Merryweather, Margaret Metcalf in memory of John, JE & WT Middlehurst, NG Mills, Barry Minnery, Dr & Mrs B Mintz, Mr Paul Molyneux, Jan Monkley, Robin & Ann Moor, Denise Morgan, Valerie & Elfed Morgan, Mr Morris, Anne Morris, Nancy Mortimer Rudd, P Morton, Mrs MJ Murphy, Mrs M Nathanson, Mr Newberry, Professor Emeritus Peter Newstead, Dr Cliona Ni Bhrolchain, David Nichol, David Nicholls, Alan Nixon, Rt Rev B M Noble, Sheila Nuttal, Dr F & Mrs L Nye, TF & T O’Dempsey, Bill Ogle, Mrs M O’Hare, Margaret & Stuart Osborne, Dr Olojugba, Mr & Mrs WA Owens, David & Stella Owen-Setty, Beth & Richard Parker, Jim & Monica Parkinson, Sandra Parr, Mrs D Patmore, J & B Pearson, Cynthia & Rab Peck, Margaret Pegg, Janice Perkins, Malcolm Perry, P & L Dvelt Ltd, Cornicopia, Andy Phoenix, Mr C & Mrs J Pickavance, Barbara Pickering, Alan Platt, Dr Christopher Pogson, Mary Rose Pointon & Frank Pointon, Ian & Jane Pollitt, Mrs Hazel Poole, Ms Anne Pope, Mrs Margaret Povall, Ronald Powell, Mr John Prescott, Mr Eric Preston, Mrs Susan Prime, Dudley Pritchard, Helen Pritchard, Peter Quinn, In memory of Stephanie Redmond, Barbara Reece, Vanessa Reed, Ann Rees, Malcolm & Margaret Reid, CA Reilly, Arthur Rice, Eric Rice, Joyce A Ridpath, Judith Rigby, Kari Robert, Helen Roberts, Isabel & Glyn Roberts, Jane Roberts, Mrs Sheila M Roberts, Raymond & Pamela Roberts, Mr Keith Roberts, Susan Roberts, Mrs I Roberts

Replace with most up to date when setting up for print

Bulmer, John Robertson, Mrs MF Robertson, Miss C Robinson, Ms Christine Robson, Dr L Rosenbloom, Mrs E R Rowlands, Christine Ruth, Ella Ryrie, John T Sage, Mr T Salter, Mr & Mrs Sayer, Mr & Mrs David Sayle, Claire Scholes, Natalia Schwarz, David Scott, Gaynor Scrivenger, C & M Scudamore, Mr JR Settle, Karen Segal, Jim & Barbara Shapton, Paul Sharrock, Mrs M Shellard, Mr JA Shields, Aurora Sim, In Memory of Anne Wolff, Hope and John Sills, Mr & Mrs JW Slatcher, Mr J Slater, Leonard J Smith, Mr Colin Smith, Mrs Margaret F Smith, Royston & Sarah Smith, Dominic Smith, Susan Smith, Ray Snaith, Mr Peter Somerfield & Mrs Amanda Branson, Mrs Olga South, Dennis Southwick, Carl Spurling, Mrs Stanistreet, Judy Stead, Mrs EM Stephenson, Mr & Mrs T Stevens, Mr & Mrs Stevenson, J Stopforth, Martin Strauss in memory of Valerie, Anita Sumner, Anna Sutherland, Mr & Mrs Swain, Rachel Sweeney, Mrs C Sweeney, Pam Swift, Mr John Derek Swinburn, Dyanna Swindlehurst, Martyn Harris & Michael Sykes, Dr Juliet Szestak, Adrian Tayler, Captain & Mrs Taylor, Misses MM & B Taylor, Thomas Teague, Mrs PA Temple, Professor & Mrs AB Templeman, Mr & Mrs B Thaxter, Derek Thew, Dennis Thomas, E Rosemary Thomas, Michael Thomas, Ms Helena Thomas, Edward Thomas, Paula Thomas, Drs B & R Thompson, Dr Lucy Everington, Mr N Threlfall, Mr JR & Mrs CM Thwaite, Ms J Tickridge, David Tidbury, John & Diane Tiernan, Mr & Mrs David Tilley, Mrs DE Todd, Dr E Toke, Reverend M & Mrs W A Tompkins, Mr & Mrs P Toosey, Maureen Tosson, Ms Jo Travis, Sue Tressider, Tony Tudor, Nancy M Tuke, Alistair Turner, David Turner, Tim Turner, Mr PM & Mrs M Tyler, Rosemary Urion in memory of Allan Urion, Mrs B van Beek, Mr & Mrs KF Vearncombe, Professor Julian Verbov, Mr Ben Vlies, Miss NL Wainwright, Ms Jennifer Waite, Rachel Wakerley, Barbara Wall, Mary Wall, Miss Carolyn Wall, David Walters, Joan Walters, Roy Walton, Colin Wardale, Janet Wareing, Mrs Christine V.W Warner, Gillian Marsh & David Watson, Mr & Mrs JR Watson, Professor Andrew Wawn, John Watts, Sue & Colin Weir, Angela West, Vera West, Bernard & Mary Weston, Julia Westwell, David Wetherell, Frederick Whaley, Ms Margaret Whitfield, Peter Whitfield, Claire & Marc Whiteside-Ehlen, Miss Jill Wilkinson, Mrs P Wilkinson, Colin Wilkinson, Barry Williams, Hilary Williams, Mr Terry Williams, Betty Williams, Sylvia Williams, Dr & Mrs Winter, Ruth Winterburn, Linda & Eric Winrow, Prof Neil Winterton, Canon Michael & Mrs Brenda Wolfe, Dr Geoffrey Woodcock, Alexandra Worthington, AF Wright, Andrew Wright, Mrs A Wright, N Wright, Niall Wright, Mr & Mrs Wright, Mr Paul & Mrs Ann Wynn, Mr & Mrs GR Wynne, Alan Yuill, Dr & Mrs A Zsigmond

And all donors who give anonymously and the hundreds of people who have made a donation in the last year not listed here. For a full list of our supporters, please see the display in the foyer or visit liverpoolphil.com. If you would like to support us, please call 0151 210 2921 or email fundraising@liverpoolphil.com


46

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to the following supporters IN HARMONY LIVERPOOL

PRINCIPAL FUNDERS

Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support

PRINCIPAL PARTNERS

PREMIER SPONSOR

MEDIA PARTNER

The Grodner Family | The Eric and Margaret Kinder Charitable Trust | The Oglesby Charitable Trust In Harmony Fund | The Rushworth Foundation | The Ernest Cook Trust | Robin Bloxsidge & Nick Riddle | Lord Leverhulme’s Charitable Trust | The Hemby Trust | Peter Moore Foundation | Liverpooljazz | Anonymous donors

OTHER PUBLIC FUNDERS SPONSORS

TRUSTS AND FOUNDATIONS CORPORATE MEMBERS

AFL Insurance Brokers | Andrew Collinge | Bermans | MgMaStudio/architecture |R S Clare & Co. Ltd | Sutcliffe | Tilney

HOTEL PARTNER

RESTAURANT PARTNER

HIGHER EDUCATION PARTNERS

TRAVEL PARTNER

IN-KIND SPONSORS

THE KENNETH STERN TRUST

The Leslie Bibby Fund | The Hilda Black Charitable Trust | Solomon and Isabel Blankstone Charitable Trust | The Amelia Chadwick Trust | John S Cohen Foundation | The Earl of Derby’s Charitable Trust | John Fairclough Charitable Trust | J Paul Getty Jr Charitable Trust | The Granada Foundation | Paul Hamlyn Foundation | Hemby Charitable Trust | The Eric and Margaret Kinder Charitable Trust Award | Duchy of Lancaster Benevolent Fund | The Eric and Dorothy Leach Charitable Trust | Lancashire Sinfonietta Legacy Fund | The Linbury Trust | Lord Leverhulme’s Charitable Trust | The Newstead Charity | Cecil Pilkington Charitable Trust | Sir Alastair Pilkington’s Trust | Pilkington General Charity | The Ravensdale Trust | The Rayne Foundation | The Rushworth Foundation | The J A Shone Memorial Trust | The N Smith Charitable Settlement | The Claude Ballard Southall Memorial Charity | The Standfield Charitable Trust | The Steel Charitable Trust | The Kenneth Stern Trust | The Tavener Charitable Trust | The Tung Foundation | West Lancashire Freemasons’ Charity | The Margaret Wethered Trust | Sir Donald and Lady Edna Wilson Charitable Trust And thank you to everyone who supports the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic through membership, patronage or donations, or by donating their time.


Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Liverpool Philharmonic Hall Hope Street, Liverpool, L1 9BP Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society. A company limited by guarantee. Registered in England number 88235. Registered Charity Number 230538. Stage Door 0151 210 2895 Box Office 0151 709 3789 info@liverpoolphil.com liverpoolphil.com LiverpoolPhilharmonic liverpoolphil liverpool_philharmonic

Commissioned photography Mark McNulty

Profile for Liverpool Philharmonic

Review of the Year 2017/18  

Review of the Year 2017/18  

Advertisement