Page 1

REVIEW OF THE YEAR 2016 Royal Liverpool Philharmonic


W The Greek Muses depicted on the walls of the auditorium were designed by sculptor Edmund Thompson as part of the decor for the current Liverpool Philharmonic Hall which opened in 1939.


Review of the Year 2016


Foreword

Professor Nigel Weatherill DL, DSc, FREng, FRSA Chairman

Michael Eakin Chief Executive

4|

In 2016, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, under the dynamic leadership of Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko, was at the heart of our music programme. It encompassed the cornerstones of classical music repertoire, new music and outstanding chamber music. Our wider programme featured the best in contemporary music and artists across popular, folk, jazz and diverse cultures. We are proud to present a music programme which is as wide-ranging as any presented by one organisation in the UK outside London.


We are passionate in our belief that classical music, performed by a full-scale symphony orchestra and by its smaller associated ensembles, is as thrilling and relevant an art form as it ever was, and one which speaks to us all. This Review of the Year is just a snapshot of all that we presented and achieved in 2016. The professionalism, talent and ability, energy and commitment of our musicians and our back of house team at all levels of the organisation made all this happen. Congratulations to them all on another remarkable year. Liverpool Philharmonic is fortunate to be able to attract expert and enterprising individuals to our Board to provide the dynamic leadership that will ensure that we continue to play our part in the life of our great city. Our grateful thanks to Christina Coker OBE and Jonathan Stone who both retired from the Board at the AGM in November 2016 after six years committed service to Liverpool Philharmonic. We are delighted to welcome Vanessa Reed, Chief Executive of the PRS for Music Foundation, and Liverpool-born property developer and philanthropist Mel Grodner to the Board.

Our Principal Funders, Liverpool City Council and Arts Council England, continued to provide significant investment in and support of our work. Their commitment is matched by our Principal Partners Investec Wealth & Investment, and Liverpool John Moores University, Premier Sponsor Hill Dickinson, the University of Liverpool and Hope University; by many trusts, foundations and sponsors; and by the thousands of supporters and donors who continue to be so generous to Liverpool Philharmonic.

As Vasily Petrenko frequently says: ‘If you continue to support us, we will continue to thrive.’ So on behalf of all of us at Liverpool Philharmonic, a heartfelt thank you for your confidence and commitment to us in 2016, and as we look forward to the years ahead.

Patron Her Majesty The Queen President The Rt Hon the Earl of Derby DL Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Board of Directors Professor Nigel Weatherill DL, DSc, FREng, FRSA Chairman Christina Coker OBE (retired 7 November 2016) Jon Corner Michael Eakin Mel Grodner (appointed 7 November 2016) Dr Tony Harvey FRSA Company Secretary Alexander Holladay Dave Nicholls Vanessa Reed (appointed 7 November 2016) Martin Richardson Councillor Wendy Simon Jonathan Stone (retired 7 November 2016) Chief Executive Michael Eakin Chief Conductor Vasily Petrenko

We could not do what we do without you.

Crucial to our successes and achievements is the magnificent support of our many partners, friends, audiences, and others both within and outside the organisation.

|5


LOVE MUSIC Review of the Year 2016

‘The world’s in a bit of a state but as long as there are Scousers turning out in their hundreds to listen to Beethoven’s music, there is hope…’ Brenda/Beethoven Symphony No.9 ‘Choral’

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s concerts during 2016 as always featured cornerstones of the classical music repertoire and provided opportunities to hear new, less familiar, and rarely performed music. The 2016/17 concert season began with performances of all nine Beethoven symphonies in chronological order, in four concerts over two weeks. Performed this way, these thrilling performances enabled the listener to hear these familiar and much-loved works afresh. These concerts form part of a continuing focus throughout our 2016/17 season on composers who changed music for ever – along with Beethoven, we’re surveying the music of Bach, Berlioz, Stravinsky – and The Beatles.

‘How did Vasily Petrenko’s 11th season with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic begin? With rolling thunder from the orchestra’s new acquisition, a set of baroque timpani. The orchestra’s timpanist, Graham Johns, soon stretched his muscles, puncturing the air during Beethoven’s first three symphonies — the start of a complete cycle in four chronological instalments spread over ten days. “Enjoy the revolution,” Petrenko said before lifting his baton for the Eroica. I did, and I will.’

HHHH Review for Beethoven’s Symphonies Nos. 1, 2, 3

WQ Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir, conducted by Vasily Petrenko at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall: and our musicians in the Orchestra

6|

‘I thought that this was the greatest concert of the many hundreds that I have attended at the Phil in the past 60 years.’ Thomas/Audience Survey Feedback: Beethoven Symphony No.9 ‘Choral’

‘I have never heard such stunning violin playing. All I could do afterwards was say “Wow!”’ Norman/Audience Survey Feedback: Beethoven Violin Concerto performed by James Ehnes, our Artist in Residence in the 2016/17 season


Review of the Year 2016

The performance of Mahler’s remarkable Das Klagende Lied (Song of Lamentation), a work that Vasily Petrenko had long wanted to perform in Liverpool having performed all Mahler’s symphonies, was supported by a generous gift by two of our donors.

‘Beethoven, Berlioz and the Beatles are the big hitters in Liverpool Philharmonic’s new season. So far it’s been Beethoven who has taken centre stage. If some audience members at Hope Street had a Ludwig loyalty card, they’d be within sight of a full house and a free symphony. Those who are dipping in to the series needn’t feel that they’re missing out, due firstly to the composer’s symphonies all speaking for themselves.’

HHHH Review of Beethoven’s

‘Vasily Petrenko brought fire and precision to Beethoven’s Ninth, part of a season-starting cycle to treasure. His Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra played throughout with a fierce concentration that spoke of total rapport.’

HHHH Review of Beethoven’s Symphony No.6 ‘Pastoral’

Our Artists in Residence in 2016 were violinist James Ehnes (violin), Catrin Finch (harp) and Nathalie Stutzmann (conductor and singer) and folk band The Unthanks. They performed in our main concert series and/or in recital in our Chamber Music series at St. George’s Hall Concert Room and concerts in Music Room, and took part in talks and Q&As. James Ehnes worked with Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company; and recorded a new album with the Orchestra and Andrew Manze for release in Spring 2017.

Symphony No.6 ‘Pastoral’

T During his residency, violinist James Ehnes worked with members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company during a String Quartet Workshop Day.

|7


Review of the Year 2016

Our Musicians

The musicians of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra are at the heart of everything we do.

Their love of music, great musicianship, dedication and enthusiasm is incredible. They performed another outstanding year of concerts, recordings and broadcasts in 2016 under the baton of Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, guest conductors and soloists, here in Liverpool, across the UK and internationally. Many of our musicians performed as soloists or in their own ensembles in our Close Up series in Music Room including Klezmer-ish, All Cellos, Thelma Handy & Ian Buckle, Mihkel Kerem and Luba Ulybysheva. And our musicians are central to the delivery of our extensive learning and education programme for children and adults of all ages, including concerts, workshops, talks and discussions, which is recognised nationally and internationally as a leader in the field.

R Musicians of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

8|


Review of the Year 2016

We welcomed a number of superb musicians to the Orchestra. Gwendolyn Fisher Joint Associate Principal Viola Alex Mitchell Joint Associate Principal Viola Roisin Walters Associate Principal Second Violins Benjamin Mellefont Principal Clarinet

In 2016

126

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra performed

Distinguished Service Congratulations to Margaret Smith on an incredible 50 years singing as an alto with the Choir.

concerts in Liverpool, across the UK and returned to Paris with Vasily Petrenko for their debut performance at the Philharmonie de Paris.

Elizabeth McNulty Principal Harp

S Margaret Smith with Michael Eakin

Sameeta Gahir Piccolo

To cellist Hilary Browning, double bassist Ashley Frampton, and Principal Trumpet, Rhys Owens, all of whom celebrated 25 years with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

Scott Lumsdaine No.3 Percussion Frances Evans Section Player, Second Violins Lukas Hank Section Player, Second Violins

276

They prepared for concerts in rehearsal sessions

S Top to bottom - Hilary Browning Rhys Owens / Ashley Frampton

And congratulations are also due to Neil Carver, who celebrated 25 years singing as a bass with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir.

41

And played in recording sessions

Liverpool Philharmonic is fortunate to benefit from the great musicianship of our professional musicians in the Orchestra, and singers in our Choir who give their time as volunteers. All bring a love of music and great dedication to what they do. Our thanks and best wishes to all our colleagues who left Liverpool Philharmonic during the year. |9


10 |

On 7 July 2016, a special concert celebrated Vasily Petrenko’s ten years at the helm of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and the internationally acclaimed musical partnership that they have forged together in concerts, recordings and broadcasts. And it was also the Maestro’s 40th birthday! The concert programme touched on musical highlights of their partnership so far, featuring Elgar’s In the South, Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.1 with Truls Mørk and Rachmaninov’s Symphony No.3.

‘… a fittingly fine evening, full of drama and some sumptuous melodies, a smile-provoking cascade of sound!’

HHHH Review


Review of the Year 2016

Vasily Petrenko Chief Conductor Celebrating 10 Years in Liverpool

Over ten years, Vasily has provided inspirational leadership which in turn has led to a growth in artistic quality, a broadening of the core repertoire of the Royal Liverpool Orchestra and Choir, in particular in relation to many of the great composers of the 20th Century, growth in audiences, and their interest in engaging with challenging and more modern programming, and growth in our international reach with first ever visits to China and Japan amongst many other international destinations over the last ten years. With Vasily additions to the Orchestra’s critically acclaimed recordings catalogue include Elgar’s Symphony No.1, Rachmaninov’s complete Piano Concertos and three Symphonies, and Tchaikovsky’s complete Symphonies in two volumes. The recording of Shostakovich’s Symphony No.10, part of a critically acclaimed complete symphony cycle on disc, was the Gramophone Awards Orchestral Recording of the Year 2011. In November 2016, Vasily was admitted to the Roll of Citizens of Honour of the City of Liverpool in a special ceremony at Liverpool Town Hall. His is the 28th recipient of the award and received the accolade for his commitment to music and Liverpool, and his dynamic partnership with the Orchestra which has attracted international acclaim. On receiving the honour, Vasily said ‘I’m privileged to receive this recognition from the city and I share it with all my colleagues in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir, with whom I have had the great pleasure of making music for more than ten years.

‘Liverpool is one of the world’s great music cities, and now England’s first and only UNESCO City of Music. I know, though, that these are very challenging financial times for the city, with many difficult decisions to be made. So, the belief in and support of Liverpool Philharmonic’s vision to be one of the world’s great musicmaking organisations, deeply rooted in our city, and an ambassador for Liverpool, is something that we are immensely grateful for.

‘It’s 10 years since Vasily Petrenko took up the baton as chief conductor of the orchestra and much has changed in that decade, not least the edgily confident way in which Petrenko and the orchestra explore the repertoire…to see a packed house leap to its feet almost as one at the end of the work is, indeed, unusual. It’s not difficult to see why.’ Review of Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony

T 'And I believe that this investment is repaid many times by the fantastic effect that all of Liverpool’s amazing cultural organisations have on the success of the city and their impact on its economy, on education, on health, and on people wanting to live, work, study and invest here. I am proud to play my part in making Liverpool the great city it is.’

Vasily Petrenko on stage with his family at the concert marking his 10th Anniversary with the Orchestra, and his 40th Birthday!

Since he took up the baton, Vasily has been awarded Honorary Doctorates by the University of Liverpool and Liverpool Hope University, and an Honorary Fellowship by Liverpool John Moores University. He was the Classic BRIT Awards Male Artist of the Year 2012 and 2010, Germany’s Echo Klassik Awards Emerging Artist of the Year 2012, and Gramophone Awards Young Artist of the Year 2007.

Q Vasily Petrenko is admitted to the Roll of Citizens of Honour of the City of Liverpool: L to R: Deputy Lord Mayor of Liverpool, Cllr Malcolm Kennedy; Joe Anderson OBE, Mayor of Liverpool; Vasily Petrenko, his daughter Anya, wife Evgenia and Evgenia’s mother, Mrs Chernysheva at Liverpool Town Hall

| 11


We welcomed many international artists to Liverpool to perform with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Review of the Year 2016

Many are regular visitors to Liverpool and when the Orchestra tours in the UK and internationally. They included: Darrell Ang conductor Nicola Benedetti violin James Ehnes violin Liverpool Philharmonic Artist in Residence Alexandre Bloch conductor Carl Davis CBE (Hon) conductor Sir Andrew Davis CBE conductor Liverpool Philharmonic Conductor Emeritus Ning Feng violin Catrin Finch harp Liverpool Philharmonic Artist in Residence Boris Giltburg piano Christian Lindberg conductor and trombone Ji Liu piano Niu Niu piano Tine Thing Helseth trumpet The Unthanks folk singers Liverpool Philharmonic Artists in Residence Andrew Manze conductor Patrycja Pieczara conductor Tai Murray violin Nemanja Radulovic violin FazÄąl Say piano Ksenija Sidorova accordion Kian Soltani cello Nathalie Stutzmann contralto and conductor Liverpool Philharmonic Artist in Residence Simon Trpc˘eski piano Nobuyuki Tsujii piano Alexandre Tharaud piano Esther Yoo violin Alisa Weilerstein cello

12 |


Q Accordion player Ksenija Sidorova was guest soloist in our Spirit of Christmas concerts 2016

Conductor Carl Davis CBE (Hon) celebrated a significant birthday – his 80th! And it was very special to share in his birthday celebrations here in Liverpool. Carl’s association with Liverpool Philharmonic goes back to the early 1980s and he has given us many wonderful concerts since, including his pioneering films with live orchestral accompaniment and a wonderful array of ‘pops’ concerts.

Andrew Manze has become a hugely popular guest conductor in Liverpool in recent years. In 2016, he conducted concerts with two of our Artists in Residence, harpist Catrin Finch and violinist James Ehnes in music by Rossini, Mozart, Mendelssohn, Beethoven and Vaughan Williams. And he was at the helm on the recording of the first volume of Vaughan Williams symphonies, released on the Onyx label, which attracted rave reviews.

Sir Andrew Davis CBE who accepted the honorary title of Conductor Emeritus of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra in 2015, returned to Liverpool in 2016 to bring a lifetime’s experience and understanding to an unforgettable performance of Bruckner’s powerful, soulshaking Ninth Symphony. The concert also featured Mozart’s Violin Concerto No.5 ‘Turkish’, played by Esther Yoo.

‘The playing was just magical. If Sir Andrew gets fed up with all that sun in Melbourne, can we have him more often here please?’ Colin/Audience Survey Feedback: Bruckner’s Ninth Symphony

‘Amazing concert at @liverpoolphil last night. Wish it could last longer so enjoyable it was. RLPO, Maestro & Trpčeski were as good as ever.’ Irina/Twitter

| 13


Love to Sing Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir in the Spotlight Review of the Year 2016

‘Another top class performance. The Choir almost blew me out of my seat ... they seemed to be sending a message to the audience and the rest of the community that Beethoven's vision of mankind should be heard, especially during these uncertain times. An excellent and exhilarating performance.’ Terry/Audience Survey Feedback: Beethoven Symphony No.9 ‘Choral’

Our Choir members, all amateur singers, are drawn from all walks of life. Under the leadership of Chorusmaster Ian Tracey, they bring great commitment and love of music to their roles as part of one of the UK’s leading professional music organisations.

Never Walk Alone

Highlights in 2016 with the Orchestra, Vasily Petrenko and a roll-call of fine visiting conductors and soloists included performances of Beethoven’s Symphony No.9 and Mahler’s Das Klagende Lied (Song of Lamentation) with Vasily Petrenko; Haydn’s Heiligmesse with Ton Koopman, Bach’s St Matthew Passion with Nathalie Stutzmann, and Handel’s Messiah. With Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir they performed Orff’s Carmina Burana and the annual Spirit of Christmas concerts.

650,000

On the day of the Hillsborough Inquest judgement, the Choir broke off from rehearsal to sing Ian Tracey’s arrangement of You’ll Never Walk Alone.

The film, posted on our Facebook site, has attracted more than

views from around the world.

‘The @liverpoolphil haunting version of “You'll Never Walk Alone” is profoundly moving. Illustrates what an amazing city Liverpool is’. Paul/Twitter

14 |


New Music Ensemble 10/10

The contemporary music group of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, led by Clark Rundell, is a significant asset in enabling us to showcase new music and build relationships with composers from the North West, across the UK and internationally. Highlights in 2016 included the premiere of a new work by our first Christopher Brooks Composition Prize winner Bethan MorganWilliams , smaller scale works by major twentieth and twenty-first century composers and significant British and Liverpool composers such as Kenneth Hesketh, Emily Howard, Stephen Pratt, James Wishart and the late John McCabe. Ensemble 10/10 is also central to our new 3-year partnership with the University of Liverpool, with performances in the University’s annual Open Circuit Festival.

T Ensemble 10/10 at Liverpool’s St. George’s Hall Concert Room

| 15


Review of the Year 2016

Commissions, Premieres and Performances of New Music

Throughout its history, Liverpool Philharmonic has been committed to the encouragement of new music, and has commissioned many contemporary composers. In the last ten years, we have premiered over

95 15

works by British composers and over

works by international composers.

Liverpool Philharmonic takes an eclectic approach to commissioning, including the presention of some exciting cross-genre collaborations such as working with the MercuryPrize nominated folk duo, The Unthanks. In our first collaboration with Liverpool’s iconic club Cream a night of Cream’s classic dance music anthems from the last two decades were performed as they’d never been heard before by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and guest vocalists and DJs in the stunning setting of Liverpool Cathedral.

‘3 words to describe Saturday night - Seriously Talented People. Be proud. You were on another level. When do we go again?’ Jamie: Cream Classics

Q Cream Classics at Liverpool Cathedral

16 |

‘... the (Cathedral) nave turned into a giant dancefloor, and the music from the DJ’s decks, from live vocalists – and a 60-strong Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.’

HHHH Review


Review of the Year 2016

18 February 2016

19 March 2016

Timothy Jackson Six Lancashire Folksong Settings

The Unthanks A Symphonic Adventure with the Unthanks and Orchestra – Folks Songs Old and New

World Premiere of a version for symphony orchestra

26 October

9 premieres

Bethan Morgan-Williams Mirages in Pisa

We presented

in 2016. The performance in January 2017 of Emily Howard’s Torus concluded our 175th anniversary commissions, performed across our 2015/16 and 2016/17 concert seasons.

These works were premiered by the Orchestra, and its new music group Ensemble 10/10, (we are the only orchestra in the UK with its own contemporary music ensemble).

Christopher Brooks Composition Prize Winner 2016 in association with The Rushworth Foundation. World Premiere performed by Ensemble 10/10 at Liverpool’s St. George’s Hall Concert Room 3 March 2016

Christian Lindberg ‘Robot Gardens’ Concerto for Wind, Brass and Percussion World Premiere – Liverpool Philharmonic 175th Anniversary Commission

26 May 2016

Qigang Chen Luan Tan (Variations for Orchestra) UK Premiere - Liverpool Philharmonic, Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra and Radio France Commission

10 & 11 March 2016

Ludovico Einaudi Piano Concerto ‘Domino’ World Premiere – Liverpool Philharmonic 175th Anniversary Commission

Ludovico Einaudi Wetlands UK Premiere

23 August 2016

19 January 2017

Emily Howard Torus: Concerto for Orchestra

Emily Howard Torus: Concerto for Orchestra

World Premiere at the BBC Proms at the Royal Albert Hall: BBC Proms and Liverpool Philharmonic 175th Anniversary Commission

Liverpool Premiere - BBC Proms and Liverpool Philharmonic 175th Anniversary Commission

| 17


PLAYING FOR LIVERPOOL… Review of the Year 2016

18 |


Review of the Year 2016

... in Paris

French pianist Alexandre Tharaud played the blockbuster Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2 in thrilling concerts with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko in Liverpool and Sage Gateshead in October 2016. They performed together again in an all-Rachmaninov programme in November at the stunning new Philharmonie concert hall in Paris.

‘Petrenko directs the orchestra with gestures full of grace, precise but never abrupt. The whole is fluid, well balanced; the musicians take us easily with them into the romantic universe of the Russian composer (Rachmaninov). … an exceptional concert.’

T Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and Vasily Petrenko perform at the Philharmonie de Paris

Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to the Tsukanov Family Foundation for support of our Paris concert

Q L to R: Liverpool Philharmonic’s Andrew Cornall, Michael Eakin, Vasily Petrenko with his wife Evgenia and Sandra Parr, with Natasha Tsukanova of The Tsukanov Family Foundation. The group visited the KOLLEKTSIA! exhibition at the Pompidou Centre during the Orchestra’s trip to Paris. The exhibition was supported by The Foundation.

| 19


Review of the Year 2016

SQ Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Vasily Petrenko and cellist Alexey Stadler at their sold-out BBC Prom at the Royal Albert Hall, London

... at the BBC Proms

20 |

Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko and the Orchestra made their fifth appearance together at the world’s biggest classical music festival. Prom 53 included the world premiere of Liverpoolborn composer Emily Howard’s Torus: Concerto for Orchestra (performed again in Liverpool on 19 January 2017), and the signature Russian repertoire for which Petrenko and Liverpool Philharmonic have achieved international critical acclaim: Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No.1 (for which the stunning 25year-old Russian cellist Alexey Stadler stepped in on the day to replace Truls Mørk who withdrew due to illness), and Rachmaninov’s Symphony No.3.

‘Liverpool Philharmonic shone under Petrenko’s baton in an account of Rachmaninov’s Third Symphony that displayed its blend of glamour and nostalgia.’

HHHH review

‘Ravishing night of Russian greats and young artists from the Liverpool Philharmonic.’

‘They came, they saw, they most definitely conquered… the Royal Albert Hall is a big stage, and Liverpool Philharmonic owned it.’

HHHH review


... at Liverpool International Music Festival Review of the Year 2016

Liverpool’s impressive backcatalogue of hits took centre-stage at the fourth Liverpool International Music Festival (LIMF), performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Richard Balcombe. Showcasing many of the defining songs from Liverpool that set the world alight, the Orchestra’s set list included music from John Lennon to Frankie Goes to Hollywood to Cilla Black and everything inbetween.

Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company joined forces for the first time with Liverpool artists and singer songwriters Xam Volo, Eleanor Nelly, Amique and DI/Producer Suedebrown, all members of LIMF Academy, to showcase their work across music genres and performance styles.

‘This is what the Youth Orchestra is all about, mixing traditional orchestral pieces with new youthful ideas to create something very unique.’ ‘The Orchestra was as you’d expect superb. With lush strings and crisp, punchy brass they devoured every note of the music put in front of them.’

HHHH review

R Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company perform at Liverpool International Music Festival

| 21


Review of the Year 2016

22 |


Review of the Year 2016

T Cast perform with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

| 23


Review of the Year 2016

Liverpool Philharmonic presented 359 concerts and events As well as soloists performing with the Orchestra, internationally acclaimed artists, bands and ensembles in the Hall, Music Room and St George’s Hall Concert Room included …

Adam Ant Burt Bacharach Bellowhead – farewell gig George Benson Michael Bolton Cast Mary Chapin Carpenter Elvis Costello and The Imposters Sir Ken Dodd Rebecca Ferguson John Grant Jools Holland and his Rhythm & Blues Orchestra Nigel Kennedy Beverley Knight Katie Melua Van Morrison Joanna Newsom Gregory Porter The Bootleg Beatles The Hollies The Stylistics Tindersticks John Wilson Orchestra

Chamber Music Nathalie Stutzmann contralto Inger Södergren piano Pavel Haas Quartet Nightingale Quartet Mathias Kjøller clarinet Yundi piano Vanbrugh Quartet Catrin Finch harp James Ehnes violin Ehnes Quartet Jamie Barton mezzo-soprano James Baillieu piano Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio Red Priest

24 |


Review of the Year 2016

‘Went to see @johnwgrant at @liverpoolphil tonight - if you haven't seen him play, just go - brilliant show.’ Echo & the Bunnymen/Twitter

‘@GregoryPorter It was fantastic - a smooth effortless gorgeous voice @liverpoolphil with the band - groove on!’

‘We live in a world where words like legend and icon are readily bandied about – but the accolade is rarely deserved. Three Oscars, eight Grammys, nine number ones and 49 Top 10s and still going strong at 88. The twinkle in his (Bacharach’s) eye and the skill and dexterity at the keyboard remain undimmed.’

HHHHH review of Burt Bacharach

2 Blackburne Terrace/Twitter

‘It was our first visit to the Philharmonic and we were blown away. Michael Bolton and Gabrielle were amazing and your venue was beautiful.’ Fiona & Graham/ Audience Surveyfeedback

‘Back by popular demand, Cast played the second in a run of shows celebrating debut album All Change’s 20th anniversary backed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. The addition of the ‘Phil’ was a winner. The orchestra propelled the upbeat numbers into allconsuming, stratospheric giants, and complimented others more delicately, as when framing the balladic Walkaway beautifully.’ Review of Cast with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Q Cast perform with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

| 25


Music Room Review of the Year 2016

Since opening on October 2015, Music Room has welcomed more than 15,000 people to over 160 concerts and events.

Music Room has hosted events by many of Liverpool’s finest musicians, and like the main auditorium has welcomed artists from around the world.

S T

Sahir House Fundraiser Tom Robinson Band, Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company Big Band Concert, Connie Lush and Band

26 |

Liverpool Philharmonic has collaborated with many of the city’s festivals, including Liverpool Irish Festival, Liverpool International Music Festival, Light Night, and the Acoustic Festival to present concerts in this unique space. Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra musicians and a number of guest soloists, including harpist Catrin Finch, pianist Fazıl Say and violinist Esther Yoo have performed all

kinds of music from Bach to contemporary works. Many members of our Youth ensembles have performed in Music Room to packed houses, including Youth Company Big Band and Rushworth Young Composers. And elements of our learning programme including performances by our Liverpool Youth Company Big Band, Rushworth Young Composers, and In Harmony Liverpool ensembles have enabled us to offer new youth music events from partners at Resonate Liverpool’s Music Education

Hub, Young DaDaFest and Music for Youth’s Frequencies young artist showcase. Music Room hosts our Mersey Care Living Music and Supersing sessions, our Lunchtime Learning series, In Harmony Liverpool ensembles, children’s workshops and pre and post concert talks. Music Room also hosted new youth music events with partners, Resonate Liverpool’s Music Education Hub, Young DaDa Fest and Music for Youth’s Frequencies young artists’ showcase.


Love Our Audiences Review of the Year 2016

313,000 54%

people attended our concerts and events

6 million

of audience households were new to Liverpool Philharmonic.

people were reached on social media, streaming platforms for our recordings and concert broadcasts in 2016.

AWARD WINNING Liverpool City Region Tourism Awards 2016 Entertainment Venue of the Year Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

‘We love the Phil’s Music Room, one of our favourite new spaces in the city, one of those smart interventions that makes you think, what took us so long? A place to discover really new music ... you can be exposed to more genuinely thrilling new musical experiences here than an entire month’s worth of 6Music playlists. Honestly, do yourself a favour.’

| 27


Review of the Year 2016

On the Record

7 new recordings with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. Our recordings, including our historic back-catalogue, is an important part of our international reach.

Tchaikovsky Symphonies 1, 2 and 5

Tchaikovsky Symphonies 3, 4 and 6

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Vasily Petrenko conductor (Onyx)

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Vasily Petrenko conductor (Onyx)

‘Petrenko’s Tchaikovsky is authentically Russian… fine quality of the Liverpool players in all sections of the orchestra, these are splendidly vivid performances.’ ‘… the best possible start to the projected (recording) cycle.’ Best Classical Recording of 2016

‘The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and their Russian chief conductor Vasily Petrenko have an instinctive rapport, audible in the electrifying first volume in this series (Symphonies 1, 2, 5). It’s evident again here in a reading of depth and passion.’

Vaughan Williams A London Symphony, Symphony No.8 Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Andrew Manze conductor (Onyx)

‘Manze and the Liverpool players offer not only the immaculate tuning and ensemble taken for granted nowadays from this orchestra, but also expressive and atmospheric playing such as has rarely been heard in Vaughan Williams since Adrian Boult’s heyday, all recorded in warm yet naturally detailed sound … A very special recording.’

HHHH performance HHHH recording BBC Music Magazine

28 |

Tharaud Plays Rachmaninov Alexander Vedernikov conductor Alexandre Tharaud piano (Erato)

‘… the pianist is the wonderfully gifted Alexandre Tharaud, and the orchestra is the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, and, let’s see, the conductor is the excellent Alexander Vedernikov. This might be special. So it proves.’


Boris Giltburg Shostakovich Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Vasily Petrenko conductor Boris Giltburg piano (NAXOS)

‘… a delight from start to finish. Boris Giltburg and Vasily Petrenko are a tight unit, the pianist’s dashing virtuosity and subtlety of touch matched by incisive interpolations from the Orchestra. Trumpeter Rhys Owens brilliantly characterises the satirical outbursts.’

Emily Howard Magnetite Featuring performances of Magnetite, Mesmerism and Solar by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra Andrew Gourlay conductor (NMC)

‘… delicate, detailed and rigorous.’

HHHH review

HHHHH performance HHHHH recording BBC Music Magazine

Q L to R: Vasily Petrenko, James Horner, Mari and Håkon Samuelson at the recording sessions for Collage, at Liverpool Philharmonic at the Friary

James Horner Collage – The Last Work Music by the late Oscar-winning composer, including two world premiere recordings by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, some of his mostloved film music and performances featuring Norwegian siblings Mari and Håkon Samuelsen (Decca Classics) | 29


Review of the Year 2016

Liverpool Philharmonic’s learning programme is fundamental to our mission to enhance and transform lives through music Our programme is delivered with partners including Arts Council England, Liverpool City Council, Liverpool’s Resonate Music Education Hub, SKY Music Hub (Sefton and Knowsley) Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust, and the city’s Universities. Thank you to the generous individual donrs who support our Schools’ Concerts each year.

R

First Notes Schools’ Concerts Schools’ Concerts have been performed by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra since the 1940s.

18,029

Liverpool Philharmonic welcomed

200 schools children from more than

from across Liverpool and the North West for one of our 15 Schools’ Concerts in 2016.

W Conductor and Deviser Alasdair Malloy and Presenter Cerrie Burnell in action at Schools’ Concerts 2016 at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

30 |

‘Hugely rewarding to bring our children to see you and for them to experience live orchestral music in such a wonderful building. Probably the highlight of the year and the activity which had the most impact. Thank you.’ Teacher attending Schools’ Concerts 2016

‘Our children had a unique chance to listen to a worldclass Orchestra and learn about Musical traditions from across the globe. It was presented in a fantastic and engaging style which was fun and interesting.’ Teacher attending Schools’ Concerts 2016

In Harmony Liverpool Early Years MusicMaking at Everton Nursery School and Family Centre

5,087 Liverpool Philharmonic provided

79,597

learning sessions for

children, young families and adults


W Mersey Care clients take part in the first Supersing with musicians of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

Music for Recovery and Wellbeing

Alongside our adult learning programme at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, our musicians are working across our City using music to support the recovery and wellbeing of people living with mental illness.

Today the Musician in Residence programme is now benefiting more than

Liverpool Philharmonic began working with Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust in 2008, launching a Musician in Residence programme with two lead musicians on two mental health inpatient wards in Liverpool.

Mersey Care service users

Music-making involves around 30 of our musicians and ensembles led by 7 Lead Musicians: Georgina Aasgaard (cello), Mandy Burvill (clarinet), Rachel Jones (viola), Rebecca Walters (viola), Eleanor Hudson (harp), Wendy de St Paer (violin) and Gareth Owen (voice).

2,282

During the year, we delivered music sessions to

services users within Mersey Care’s inpatient and community settings, across a wide geographical area of the Liverpool city region.

10,000

In 2016, we expanded our Mersey Care community mental health music programme launching our first SuperSing choral programme for service users at Mersey Care’s Life Rooms Walton, formerly Walton Library. The venue is now a base for Mersey Care’s Recovery College and community programme.

R Vasily Petrenko and all at Liverpool Philharmonic supported Mersey Care’s Big Brew Campaign which aims to raise awareness of mental health issues.

T Mersey Care Chair, Beatrice Fraenkel presents certificates to our Lead Musicians celebrating their contribution as part of Adult Learners Northwest Awards.

Our Living Music community programme continued a series for service users in Liverpool Philharmonic Music Room. And Mersey Care staff and service users attended rehearsal visits and concerts at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall.

AWARD WINNING

Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust Awards 2016 Health & Wellbeing Campaigner Liverpool Philharmonic Musician in Residence Programme Lead Musician Team Special Commendation Adult Learners Week North West in Health and Care 2016 Integrated Working Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust and Liverpool Philharmonic Musician in Residence Programme

| 31


Review of the Year 2016

W In Harmony Liverpool 7th Birthday Concert

In Harmony Liverpool Happy 7th Birthday Young musicians of In Harmony Liverpool took to the stage at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall alongside musicians from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra for the now annual concert celebrating Liverpool Philharmonic’s ground-breaking project in Everton and the success and musical achievements of our young musicians. A close to capacity audience for the concert included families and representatives from Everton, schoolchildren from schools in Liverpool and across the North West, and invited guests. Whilst the Labour Party Conference was in Liverpool during September, Labour Party Leader Jeremy Corbyn MP and Steve Rotheram MP visited In Harmony Liverpool at Faith Primary in Everton. They enjoyed a performance by Year 6 pupils and some instrument coaching from ten-year-olds Jessica Kelly (violin) and Billy Melia (cello).

32 |

Culture Secretary makes speech from Liverpool Philharmonic The newly appointed Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP, delivered her maiden speech from Music Room at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall on 9 August. She emphasized the necessity of ensuring that culture is available to everyone, singling out Liverpool Philharmonic’s In Harmony Liverpool for praise, describing it as ‘a gift beyond measure. That is only possible thanks to expert tuition. You can’t get better than the Liverpool Philharmonic and

their teachers and musicians have made a huge difference. A new experience that reaches someone who would not otherwise enjoy a rich cultural life changes that person’s world. That sort of experience has immeasurable value, but can also have a cumulative impact that can effect change on a local and even national scale.’

T Rt. Hon Karen Bradley MP


Review of the Year 2016

Liverpool Philharmonic was awarded a total of

£329,000

LEAP INTO LIVE IC! MUS

by Paul Hamlyn Foundation to further expand our In Harmony Liverpool programme in Everton from its current reach of over 700 young people aged 0-18 to 1,000 by 2020. Paul Hamlyn Foundation’s new commitment builds on their previous investment for In Harmony Liverpool between 2012-2015 with the Foundation now a major investor in In Harmony Liverpool, alongside Arts Council England and the Department for Education.

A report, published in 2016 by evaluation consultant Dr. Susanne Burns with input from clinical psychologist Michael Galbraith, outlined the positive impacts of In Harmony Liverpool programme on early years education. Matt Griffiths, CEO of Youth Music, who with Arts Council England supported the expansion of the programme to welcome Everton Nursery School and Family Centre, said ‘Getting involved in making music has huge benefits for young children and their families particularly if they’re facing challenging circumstances - and it’s great that these positive outcomes are demonstrated in the evaluation report. Change doesn’t happen overnight, which is why there’s a sustained programme of music-making at the heart of In Harmony Liverpool. It’ll be really interesting to see how the children progress now that their imagination and creativity has been fired up.’

Supported through a major gift from the Paul Hamlyn Foundation, Leap Into Live Music! is successfully building new audiences for live music in Liverpool. The project focusses on families and individuals who, through a variety of circumstances including economic disadvantage, access needs, or lack of confidence, would not consider visiting Liverpool Philharmonic, to hear and enjoy music-making of the highest quality in their own city. Liverpool Philharmonic has successfully established the scheme through partnerships with a number of Children’s Centres in Liverpool; housing associations and community employers including QVC, Vauxhall Ellesmere Port, and National Museums Liverpool; and health services through the Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospitals NHS Trust.

1,997 To date,

households have registered for Leap into Live Music!

4,033

tickets were distributed in 2015/16 of a total of 10,000 since the scheme began in 2013.

S Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra cellist Gethyn Jones chats with members of a Liverpool community group before a concert.

‘Thanks so much for looking after us on Friday, we thoroughly enjoyed the performance, Music is very therapeutic for those living with dementia.’ Project Officer, Helena Housing

‘That was truly awesome! Please pass on our thanks to the team! The orchestra were magnificent and my children LOVED it! Thanks again.’ Kensington Children’s Centre member.

S Star Wars Stormtroopers welcome young visitors to our Intergalactic Journey Family Concert.

| 33


Nurturing Talent – Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company Review of the Year 2016

Aiming to open up the world of music to talented young people in our youth ensembles, Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company provides a wide range of exciting opportunities led by music industry professionals.

W This page and opposite page: Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company Musicians and singers

34 |

Youth Company members are able to develop a broad portfolio of creative, performance and leadership skills that equip them to work in the music industry. In 2016, Youth Company members benefitted from working with composition mentors and musicians from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and in concerts as members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Orchestra and Choir. They took part in masterclasses, Big Band and new music workshops, chamber ensembles, supported concert visits and an industry day showcasing careers in the music industry.


Nurturing Talent Young Composers

Review of the Year 2016

24-year-old Bethan MorganWilliams set the bar high as the winner of the inaugural Christopher Brooks Composition Prize in association with the Rushworth Foundation.

Her work, Mirages in Pisa was given its world premiere performance by Ensemble 10/10 in October 2016 at Liverpool’s St George’s Hall Concert Room. At the same time, we announced 22-year-old Liverpudlian Richard Miller as our second winner of the annual competition. Richard sang in the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir, and is now studying at the Royal College of Music. He wins a cash prize, mentoring and support in his composing, a year’s complimentary membership of the British Association of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) and is commissioned to write a new work for Ensemble 10/10 which will be premiered in autumn 2017.

T Vasily Petrenko and Richard Miller, our Christopher Brooks Composition Prize Winner 2016

‘I’m incredibly excited to begin this residency with Liverpool Philharmonic’ said Richard. ‘The Orchestra played a pivotal role in the formative years of my musical education since I first heard them perform live at the age of thirteen. Before I moved to London to study at the Royal College of Music, I was also privileged to sing in the fantastic Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir for two years. To hear the musicians from the Orchestra play my music would be, without any exaggeration, a dream come true and I’m grateful to be given this wonderful opportunity by an organisation that has already given me so much.’

In an associated project, Hamish Hutson-Hill (aged 15), Ben RuttHoward (aged 16) and Tommy Geddes (aged 17) were selected for support through Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company’s inaugural Rushworth Young Composers Scheme for 14-18 year olds. Three more young composers have been selected for the second programme. Yasmin Al-Zuhairi (aged 14) sings in Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Choir and is a cellist in the Youth Orchestra: Joshua Quinlan (aged 16) plays clarinet in the Youth Orchestra and Bethany Jackson (aged 15) sings in the Youth Choir. All young composers on the scheme have access to mentoring and masterclasses from professional composers and musicians with the opportunity to have their compositions performed by members of Liverpool Philharmonic Youth Company in a public performance in Music Room. In 2017, our talented young composers will be working with Tate Collective and Young Everyman Playhouse to develop their skills and create new and ambitious music.

T L to R: Rushworth Young Composers Joshua, Bethany and Yasmin with Prof. Stephen Pratt from Liverpool Hope University, one of our Young Composer mentors.

| 35


Review of the Year 2016

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic would like to say thank you

Many individuals, organisations, businesses, trusts and foundations generously supported our music-making in and out of the concert hall and our learning programme. They are great advocates for Liverpool Philharmonic and our city, a designated UNESCO City of Music. We are grateful for the support of these partners, and so many others including our broadcast partners Classic FM and the BBC. They share our music-making in Liverpool with millions of people across the UK and internationally.

Our Principal Funders

Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support

Arts Council England and Liverpool City Council continued to make significant investment in our artistic and learning programmes. Such commitment and support enables Liverpool Philharmonic to ensure we can play our part in the artistic, educational, social and economic

growth of Liverpool, now a designated UNESCO City of Music, the North West, and as one of the UK’s premier cultural organisations. It also enables Liverpool Philharmonic to attract further investment into Liverpool from a range of public and private sources.

Thanks to the continuing support of our partners and sponsors in Liverpool’s business community, the support of major trusts and foundations and the amazing generosity of many individual donors …

Liverpool Philharmonic generates over two thirds of our total income through sources including ticket sales, fundraising, orchestral engagements, broadcasts and recordings, hires of Liverpool Philharmonic Hall, and bars and catering.

36 |


Review of the Year 2016

Perfectly Orchestrated Partnerships Thank you to our Principal Partners, Investec Wealth & Investment and Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU), for their continuing support.

Liverpool John Moores University Liverpool John Moores University’s relationship with Liverpool Philharmonic stretches back many years and in 2013, they became a Principal Partner. It started as a new approach, working with LJMU’s Student Opportunities team to provide students with the chance to experience world-class orchestral concerts for free. It resulted in students becoming regular audience members, taking advantage of our £7 ticket offer for all students. Many also take the opportunity to see ‘behind the scenes’ with rehearsal visits and observing aspects of our learning programme in action.

S Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko an LJMU Honorary Fellow pictured with final year LJMU History students. He participated in a discussion on the role of music in Russian and Soviet history.

2,000

free tickets have been allocated to LJMU students as a result of our partnership.

Our partnership means that Liverpool Philharmonic is involved in other aspects of University life. Musicians from the Orchestra and our Youth Ensembles perform at a range of LJMU events including graduation dinners. And members of our team, including Chief Conductor, Vasily Petrenko, who was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by LJMU in 2012, participate in lectures, discussions and Q & As.

‘As a modern civic university, we believe that everyone should have equal access to a rich cultural education. The continuing partnership with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, and our other cultural partners, enables us to realise our vision of delivering a lifechanging student experience, where students can experience the transformative effect of art and culture in all its forms alongside receiving a world-class education. It also enables us to deliver real benefits to the wider city community, and as such we look forward to establishing new and mutually beneficial ways of working together.’ Professor Nigel Weatherill Vice-Chancellor, Liverpool John Moores University

| 37


Review of the Year 2016

Investec Wealth & Investment

U L to R: Carl Cross, Divisional Director, Investec Wealth & Investment (recently taken over as Director of Liverpool office after Jon Seal’s retirement), Vasily Petrenko, Chief Conductor, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Michael Eakin, Chief Executive, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic.

Hill Dickinson Premier Sponsor Established in Liverpool in 1810, international law firm Hill Dickinson is inextricably linked to both the heritage and the continuing success of the city. A regular sponsor since 2011, in 2016, Hill Dickinson agreed a three-year extension to their long-standing sponsorship deal with Liverpool Philharmonic, which recognised the firm as our first Premier Sponsor. Their support includes sponsoring three concerts in the Orchestra’s 2016/17 concert season led by Vasily Petrenko, as well as providing financial support towards an independent report on the impacts of Liverpool Philharmonic’s Musician in Residence programme with Mersey Care NHS Foundation Trust, which is due for publication in 2017.

Investec Wealth & Investment have committed to their Principal Partnership until 2020, following a third extension agreed in 2015, for an unprecedented five years. The firm’s connections with Liverpool Philharmonic date back to its origins as Rensburg in the 19th century. A key element of the partnership, recognising the long history of the name Rensburg being synonymous with support of Liverpool Philharmonic and the arts in Liverpool, is the Henry E. Rensburg Concert Series named after the company’s founder. The business has also provided continuing support for Liverpool Philharmonic’s prestigious Chamber Music Series at St George’s Hall Concert Room; and core support for Liverpool Philharmonic’s music education and social change programme, In Harmony Liverpool.

David Owen, Senior Investment Director: Investec Wealth & Investment

Our Sponsors

During 2016, in addition to our Principal Partners Investec Wealth & Investment and LJMU continuing to sponsor the Henry E Rensburg and Saturday Series respectively, we were grateful for the support of… The Rushworth Foundation The Rushworth Foundation sponsored Petrenko’s Shostakovich (21 & 22 January) and are also sponsoring The Dream Team Returns in May 2017.

T David Wareing, Partner with Hill Dickinson and Vasily Petrenko with Hill Dickinson guests.

Hill Dickinson sponsored Emperor (21 & 22 April) New World (1 & 2 December) in addition to a further two concerts they are sponsoring between February and June 2017 as Premier Sponsor in the 2016/17 concert season. David M Robinson once again sponsored our Spirit of Christmas concerts (17-23 December) Weightmans sponsored Big Band Wonderland (10 & 13 December) Maestro! Tour Management sponsored Lunchtime Concerts and our Saturday morning adult learning series Discover the Classics.

38 |

‘Investec Wealth & Investment is very proud of its Liverpudlian roots and understands the great importance of businesses and cultural organisations working together to support the City’s long term goals. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra is a vital part of the Liverpool’s cultural life and under the leadership of Vasily Petrenko, is key to its continuing cultural and economic renaissance.’


Review of the Year 2016

Academic and Creative Industry Partnerships As well as our Principal Partnership with LJMU, Liverpool Philharmonic agreed a new, three-year partnership with the University of Liverpool and continued our long-standing collaborations with Liverpool Hope University. Work with both universities focusses on nurturing talent through performance opportunities and support for composers, as well as skills development for employability through work placements with our organisation. We are grateful to Liverpool Hope for support in providing a rehearsal space at their Cornerstone venue for our Youth and Children’s Choirs.

benefit from our combined industry and academic expertise, with the opportunity to become familiar with the operation, management and development of a professional symphony orchestra. Liverpool Philharmonic runs a professional experience scheme with the Royal Northern College of Music, and in 2016, became a founding industry employer of the National College for the Creative and Cultural Industries,

T Liverpool Philharmonic technician Emma Carey at work on the production desk in Music Room.

along with partners including Royal Opera House, BBC, Manchester Royal Exchange and the National Theatre. The College provides students with specialist, professional, technical education to access job and work opportunities available in the creative industry. Students will train alongside professionals who rehearse, record and film at the Backstage Centre in Thurrock.

Our new partnership with University of Liverpool has seen the launch of a new co-designed and delivered MA in the Business of Classical Music aimed at developing future generations of music industry professionals. UK and international students will

V Classic FM’s Creative Director Tim Lihoreau with Vasily Petrenko in conversation in Discover the Classics sponsored by Maestro! Tour Management

In Memory of Miss Mary Riddoch Everyone at Liverpool Philharmonic and many of our audience members and donors were deeply saddened at the passing of our dear friend Miss Mary Riddoch on 23 January 2017 aged 84. Mary attended her first concert with a friend on 28 September 1945 when she was just 13 years old, seated in the Choir Stalls with some tickets her father had given to her. The concert, commemorating Victory in Europe at the end of the Second World War, was conducted by Sir Thomas Beecham. Mary always said that it was her favourite concert experience ‘because it has had such repercussions, without it I wouldn’t be the concert-goer that I am today, or have been for many years.’

Orchestra’s season and much more, always a familiar and much-loved presence in her seat of choice, H27 in the Stalls. Mary was also a generous donor adopting Orchestra players Lesley Gwyther, Ruth Davies, Concettina Del Vecchio and Mirana Playfair. Her unique and special gift was maintaining a beautiful terrace garden over many years for the enjoyment of all at Liverpool Philharmonic, and visitors too. Mary’s garden has been recreated as part of the

recent refurbishment of the Hall, and is dedicated to her. As part of our 175th Anniversary celebrations in 2015, we interviewed Mary about her memories and enjoyment of Liverpool Philharmonic: ‘Oh, it’s a way of life’, she said. ‘The first thing I do in the New Year when I get a new diary is put in all the concert dates – I mean, it’s my hobby, almost my raison d’etre. I really, really enjoy it!’

V Mary Riddoch with Vasily Petrenko

After retiring from a distinguished nursing career, Mary became one of our ‘Marathon’ subscribers, attending every concert in the | 39


Review of the Year 2016

Thank you ...

To more than 500 individuals who made a donation to Liverpool Philharmonic’s Love Music: From the First Note campaign. Over £120,000 was raised which helped support the attendance of children to one of Liverpool Philharmonic Schools’ Concerts during 2016; as well as other parts of our learning programme including our Youth Ensembles and In Harmony Liverpool. And we thank our Donors for their support

1840 Circle and Gold Plus Members In Memory of Mike Atkinson, Michael Bates & In Memory of Elizabeth Marchbank, Dr & Mrs Bayley, Bob Bell, Yvonne Bieniek, In Memory of John Bithell, Robin Bloxsidge & Nick Riddle, Peter & Geraldine Bounds, Bill and Christina Bowley, Paul Brett, John & Patricia Britland Horne, Mrs Angela Brodbelt, Peter & Margaret Brooks, Richard & Jenny Bryson, Helen & Austin Carty, Ms Y Charlett, Liz Christie in Memory of Stuart, Michael & Jenny Coe, Mrs Valerie Connolly, Susan Davies in memory of Iris Caulfield and Susan Rattle, Peter de Figueiredo & Julian Treuherz, Michael & Kim Eakin, Mrs B Ellison, Peter Eyre, Hilary Fass, MJ Feltham, Kay & Mike Fox, Dr AE Gallon, Mr J Gillespie, WJ & SH Gilpin, Vanessa & Clement Goldstone, Peter & Gwen 40 |

Goodhew, John Goodsir CBE, Dr J Graham, Dr S & Mrs B Grant, Mr & Mrs R Greenwood, Alma Griffiths, Mel & Delia Grodner, Mr Jonathan Groves, Ken Grundy, Ms KA Hamilton, Michael D Handley & Edward J Davies, John Harsant, Dr Tony Harvey, Mr & Mrs SR Hasell, Peter Heath, Paul & Christen Herbert, Brian & Colleen Higgins, Jackie Hine, Viv Hollinshead, Mr & Mrs JR & CA Holmes, Jane & Stephen Howarth, Dr Rebecca Huggins, Terence Hurst, Mr Colin Jessop, Peter & Margaret Johnson, Mr Eryl Wynne Jones and in Memory of Mair, Mr Ian Jones & Dr RK Curley, Tim & Julia Jones, Dr WE & Mrs JM Kenyon, Robert & Rose Kingston, Mr Anthony Knifton, Edward and Marion Landor, Sheila Loyden, David & Indira Maddison, Maureen Malkinson, Mr & Mrs Simon Marsh, John Maxwell, In Memory of B McGree, Mr and Mrs Bruce and Jill

McGuire, Mr & Mrs JP Monaghan, Mr Richard & Mrs Diana Morris, Hugh & Juliet Morton, Bob & Anne Neate, In Memory of Mr Thomas Anthony Nugent, In Memory of Mr RHP Oliver, Oswestry Concert Goers, Jorgen Petersen, Mr & Mrs Michael Potts, Neville Powell, The Preston Friends, Gary Pritchard, Dr BA Proctor, In memory of Miss Mary Riddoch, Aldham Robarts, David M Robinson, Philip & Jane Rooney, Mrs Nancy Rothwell, Diana & Alan Sheridan, Mr AW Shone, C van Solkema in Memory of Roz Kelly, Peter B and Margaret Smith, Ingrid Spiegl in Memory of Fritz, Jonny & Gillian Stone, P Sumption, Mrs BM Sweetlove, Ian & Kathy Taphouse, Bill Tavener, Jeffrey Taylor, Collin E Thompson in Memory of Jill Carr, Maggie Tillett, Steve Valiant & Ellen Jones, CP & JM Vellenoweth, Robert Warnock in Memory of Nik

Armstrong, Professor Nigel & Dr Barbara Weatherill, Mr Kevin F Wilde, In Memory of Anne Wolff, Ralph & Mary Yardley, Roland Zollner & Colin Parr Gold Members Dr & Mrs RS Ahearn, Roger Ainsworth, Ms Alexander, Peter Allan, In Memory of Derek Ardern, Mrs Jean Bingham, In Memory of CHE, Jill Conlan, Mr FI Cottrell, Mr A & Mrs E Coulter, Duncan & Susan Crewe, RE Devonport, Dave Dixson, Mr D & Dr A Davidson Lund, Lorna Dobson, Sean & Diana Duncan, Fr Bernard Eager, Gaynor Fass, Helen Favale, Mr TG Ferguson, Peter & Rachel Giblin, Nigel & Tilly Gilmour QC, Mr & Mrs G Goodchild, John Telford Gorner, Mrs Elizabeth Hargreaves, Mr Gerard Harrison, Fatima Hassan, Claire Hetherington, Mike Howden & Teri Holmes, Mr Chris Kedge, Mr & Mrs K Kelly, Mary Kennan, Tony & Jane Kwok, Richard & Greer Lacey, Mr & Mrs SG Laing, Mrs Elizabeth Lanceley, Mr & Mrs Richard & Susan Lewis, Mr A Lloyd, Mrs J Marwing, RIS Meadows OBE DL, NG Mills, KJA O’Brien, Margaret & Stuart Osborne, Mr PatersonFox, Paul Radford, Peter &


Review of the Year 2016

Susan Rathe, Mr & Mrs J Rodgers, Howard & Sue Rogers, Mr Nigel Smith, Philip Stern, Miss Carmel Stewart, John & Christine Sutcliffe, Norman Swain, Dorothy Taylor, Mr I Taylor, Dr & Mrs James Thomson, Dr Geoffrey Tresise, Alan Turnock, Peter Urquhart, Vera West, Dr John HW Whitford & Mrs K Whitford, Eric & Val Winstanley, Mr Paul Wisdell, Raymond Wood, Dr Richard Woolford, Eric Wright FRICS

Silver Members Mrs Abraham, Angela, Will & Philip in memory of Geoff Adams, Fred Airey, Mr JA Akroyd, Doreen Allan, Michelle Allan, Mr Christopher Allen, Helen Allwood, Diane Anderson, Miss Anderton, Mr D Anson, Dr Antrobus, Ann ApThomas, John Ardrey, Hilary Armfield, Miss Kate Arnold, Hannah Aspinall, Margaret Atherton in Memory of Duncan Atherton, Mr Howard Atkinson in Memory of Marie Atkinson, Mr David Aubrey, Dr Brian & Dr Irina Axcell, Gwen & John Backwell, Prof David J Bacon, Maureen Balmer, Kate Banbury, Mr Banyard, Mr John Barker, Pauline & John Barker, Mr Philip Barker, Rosemary Barton, Miss Barton, Richard & Sheila Barton, Ian & Alison Bates, Mrs Bates, Sylvia Bawden RLPC, Miss Beacom, Norma Beaumont, Mrs Beavers, Mr & Mrs JW Beckitt, Elizabeth Bell, Brian

& Ruth Bennett, Jane Bennett, Dr Michael G Birchall, Ken Black, Peter & Diane Blackburn, Mr & Mrs Blanchard, Mr Blomeley, Albert & Jo Bloor, Mr Boardman, Mrs K Boothroyd, Michael & Valerie Bowman, Professor Michael Brada, Roy & Lyn Braithwaite, Nigel & Su Bramley, Ms Brennan, AW & Mrs JD Brierly, Mrs Brining, JG & BP Brisco, Mr Peter Briscoe, RF Britton, Mr Brown, David Brown, Miss Barbara Brown, Mrs S Brown, Mrs P Browning, Mrs AM Brzezicki, Brian Bull, Revd Donald Bullen, Mrs I Roberts Bulmer, Mrs M Burchall, Mrs A Burgoyne, Mr Burke, W & MI Burke, RJ Burton, Mike Butterworth, Effie Cadwallader, Mrs Caldwell, Mr Campbell, Mrs I & Mr D Campbell, Cambriance Cleaning, Dr Canter, Mrs Carr, Neil Carver, Janet R Carver, Maggie Casaus, Brian Case, Jo Cassidy (RIP Steve Jubb), Elspeth Christie, Mr Christie, Brian Clarke, Mr Cleaver, Mrs JC Cleaver, Simon Cleaver, Mr Clement-Evans, Irene Clements, Miss Cochrane, Ms Maria Cody, Mrs Alison Cohen, Harold Cohen, Mrs Cole, Mrs Drey Cole, Ms Collins, Elizabeth Collins, Marjorie Colville, Mrs L Conway, Mr DL & Mrs K Cooper, Miss Katherine Skinner, Andrew Cornall, Trent Corr, Mrs Coslett, Sally Cottrell, Jenny Couldrey, David Cowan, Mr Cox, Mrs Cox, Thomas Coyle, Vanessa Crabtree, Brian D Crabtree, Barbara F Crellin, Ms Crosbie, Jean Cross, Mr & Mrs D Crumpton, Jennie Cunningham, Howard Curtis,

Dr PJR Cuthbertson, Mr P Dagley, Mrs Dale, Mr Dalrymple, Ken & Kay Davies, Ms Angela Davies, Ms Davies, The English Speaking Union, Barbara Davison, Hazel Dawes, Mr Dawson, Laura Dean, Ms Dean, Ms de Joia, Mr Mark Delaney, B Denton, Edward Devine, Peter Deyes, Mrs Netta Dixon, Mr Dodd, Ms G Dowman, Mrs P Downey, Dr P Drury, Robert Duffield, Mr Duggan, Christina Duncan, Mr Dunn, James Durkin, Kenneth Duvall, Mrs Sarah Dyas, Miss Eastwood, Mr & Mrs JKP Edwards, Mr Edwards, Mr Egerton, Tony & Jenny Ensor, Prof Rhiannon Evans & Dr Graham McLean, Dr Lucy Everington, Gill Faragher, EJ Farr, Miss Farrell, Mrs Fenney, Robert & Pamela Ferguson, John Findlow, David Finnegan, Edith Firth, Prof JR & Mrs EA Fisher, Timothy Fitzsimons, Mr Fletcher, Ms Caroline Fogell, Michael Formby, Dr Ewen Forrest, Jill ForrestBiggs, Mrs Foster, Mr & Mrs BW Fowler, Mrs Fox, Mrs Frazer, Catherine Freeman, Ann Gardner, Joyce & Carole Gardner, Arthur William Garnett, Jayne Garrity, Noreen Garrity in memory of Ken, Peter Gayward, Joan Geldeard, Marjorie Gentle, Mrs Barbara Gibbons, David & Kathy Gibson, Lawrence Gibson, Ms Gilbertson, Dorothy H Gill, Robert & Jennifer Gill, Mr D & Mrs B Gilyard, Derek & Julia Gould, Tony & Lynda Green, Victor Greenberg, Mr & Mrs R Greenway, Robert Gregory, Michael Griffith, Adrian & Clare Griffiths, Ms Griffiths, Jane Grimes,

In memory of Mr Grisenthwaite, Sally Groves, Mat & Ann Grunnill, Mr Gubbins, Mr Anthony Hall, Mrs Christine Hall, Miss Halliday, Ian HamiltonBurke, JA & CM Hampton, John Hancock, Poppy Hannah, Chris Hardaker & June Parkins, Keith & Maureen Hardwick, Dr F & Mrs S Harkins, Mrs Harper, Mrs Harris, Celia Harris, Martyn Harris & Michael Sykes, Taran Harris, Mrs Harrison, Mr A Harrison, Heather Harrison, Linda Harrison, Mr Michael Harrison, Victoria Harrison, Mrs Hartell, Mr Harvey, Michael Harvey, Mrs A Hastings, Mr Philip Havard, Mrs Noreen Hayden, Paul & Pauline Hayward, Wendy Hazlehurst, Ms Heap, DA Hebbert, Catherine Henthorn, Mr T Hemmings, Linda & Walter Hepworth, Mr Hepworth, The Heswall Friends, Marilyn Heywood, Dr Garth Higginbotham, Barry & Jean Highcock, Gordon P Hoare, Mr Hodgson, Ros & John Hoggarth, Mr Ken Holding, Mr & Mrs NA Holladay, Barry and Lois Holland, Brian Hollis, Rod & Sally Holmes, Sara Holroyd, David Holt, Ruth & David Honour, Mr Paul Howard, Dr & Miss Howard & Bonnett, Ms Maureen Howell, Rob & Val Howell, Anne Hughes, Mr & Mrs David Hughes, Mrs M Hughes, Mr & Mrs D Hugo, Prof Derek Hull, Clare Hulme, Mr Hunter, Mrs Hyland, Mrs D Igglesden, Ms Iliff, Colin & Cally Ince, John and Barb Ingham, Mr J Ireland, Mrs Ann Ives, Mr & Mrs Izzett, Philip Jackman, Diane | 41


Jackson, Mrs Jackson, Mr Jaeger, Mr Philip Jenkins, Mrs HP Jennins, Mr Jeremiah & Ms Shearer, Mrs Johnson, Barbara Johnston, Dr Jones, Mr Gary S Jones, Jan Jones, Lincoln & Bel Jones, Mr Paul Jones, Sarah Jones, Sybil Anne Jones, Michelle O'Callaghan, Jubilee Orchestral Youth, Mr Tom Jump, Ron Kane, Mrs Katherine Keegan, Mrs Deryn Kelly, Mr Kenyon, David Kenyon, Mr John Keogh, Mr Kidson, Phil & Cath Kightley, Mr Kimpton, Douglas Kirby, Alison Knight, Mrs & Mr Kountouris, Dr Walter La Frenais, Mr Lambert, Mrs Lancashire, Mrs June Lancelyn Green, MBE, Ms Sarah Lapsley, Mr R Lavender, Mr Maura T Lawlor, Ronalde Le Blanc, Paul Leach, Nicola Leather, Mr & Mrs Nick Ledingham, Eileen Lee, Linda Leggett, Dr F & Mrs JM Levy, Mr Bob Lewinski, Eileen & John Lewis, Mrs AM Lewis, Geoff Liddy, Douglas Ligertwood, Miss K Ligertwood, Michael Lind, Dr Dale Littler, Mrs Helen Lloyd, T Lockyer, Mr Lodge, Anthony Loman, Mr Robert Lovatt, A & H Lovelady, PS & SI Lucas, Alison Lui, Mrs Lynch, Mr Michael Lynch-Bell, Miss PL Mackenzie, Mr John MacLeod, Dr Main, Jonathan Manning, Mrs J Markham, Dr David & Mrs Katy Marsh, Mrs Martin, Mr J & Mrs B Martin, Dr VJ Martlew, Michelle Maskell, In Memory of WH Mason, Alan Matthews, Ms Matthews, Dr Tom & Mrs Jo Mawdsley, Marguerita McBride, JR & IM McCann, Dr Melissa McCarthy, Chris McCormack, Mr David McCrave, John McDermott, Bryan McDonagh, Andrew McGowan, Mrs V McGraw, Mr McGreary, Mrs McGuinness,

Mr McIntosh, Mr Andrew McKnight, Pam McNamara, Mrs McNamara, Chris & Maureen McParlin, Mr McVey, Mrs Mcvey, Dr Pam Melding, Shevaun Mendelsohn, Mrs Mercer, Ms Mercer, Mr & Mrs MeredithJones, Mrs Merryweather, Margaret Metcalf in Memory of John, JE & WT Middlehurst, HJ Mills, Mr Minnery, Dr & Mrs B Mintz, Mr Paul Molyneux, Mrs Monkley, Robin & Ann Moor, Mrs Morgan, Valerie & Elfed Morgan, Mr Morris, P Morton, Mrs M Nathanson, Mrs Neophytou, Chris & Claire Newbery, Professor Emeritus Peter Newstead, Dr Ni Bhrolchain, David Nichol, Alan Nixon, Rt Rev BM Noble, Mrs Nuttall, TF & T O'Dempsey, Mr Ogle, Mrs M O'Hare, David & Stella OwenSetty, Mrs Angela Palmer, Beth & Richard Parker, Mr JD Parkinson, Jim & Monica Parkinson, Sandra Parr, Katharyn Parry, Ms Patterson, Hannah Payne, Andrew Pearce, J & B Pearson, Mr Peck, Messrs Peckham, Morris & Sons, Margaret Pegg, Janice Perkins, P & L Dvelt Ltd, Malcolm Perry, Andy Phoenix, Mr C & Mrs J Pickavance, Barbara Pickering, Alan Platt, Dr Pogson, Mary Rose Pointon & Frank Pointon, Mrs Hazel Poole, Ms Pope, Mrs Margaret Povall, Mr Powell, Ronald Powell, Mr Prescott, Mr Eric Preston, Mrs Susan Prime, Mrs Pritchard, Mr Dudley Pritchard, Peter Quinn, Romain Rabot, Catherine Wall, Lesley Smith and in Memory of Sir Harold Kroto FRS, In Memory of Stephanie Redmond, Barbara Reece, Ann Rees, Mrs Reeve, Malcolm & Margaret Reid, CA Reilly,

Arthur Rice, Eric Rice, Mr Richardson, Mr & Mrs Richardson, Joyce A Ridpath, Judith Rigby, Kari Robert, Ms BH Roberts, Helen Roberts, Isabel & Glyn Roberts, Jane Roberts, Mr Keith Roberts, Pamela Ann Roberts, Mrs Sheila M Roberts, Susan Roberts, John Robertson, Mrs MF Robertson, Dr Derek Robinson, Ms Christine Robson, Martin Rogers, Dr L Rosenbloom, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir, Nancy Mortimer Rudd, Christine Ruth, Ella Ryrie, John T Sage, Mr T Salter, Mr & Mrs David Sayle, Claire Scholes, David Scott, Gaynor Scrivenger, C & M Scudamore, Karen Segal, Mr JR Settle, Mr Setty, Mr Shankland, Mr Shapton, Jon & Sally Sheard, Mrs M Shellard, Mr JA Shields, Mrs Shrubsole, Aurora Sim, Mr & Mrs JW Slatcher, Mr J Slater, Colin Smith, Mr Colin Smith, Ms Deborah Smith, Dominic Smith, Mr Kieran Smith, Leonard J Smith, Mrs Margaret F Smith, Royston & Sarah Smith, Susan Smith, Mr T Smith, Mr Peter Somerfield & Mrs Amanda Branson, Mrs Olga South, Dennis Southwick, Mrs Stanistreet, Brian Stanley, Ms Starkey, Judy Stead, Mrs EM Stephenson, Mr D Stevens, Mr & Mrs Stevenson, Mrs Story, Martin & Valerie Strauss, Mr Sturgeon, Anita Sumner, Anna Sutherland, Rachel Sweeney, Mrs Sweeney, Revd Swift, Dyanna Swindlehurst, Dr Juliet Szestak, Stephen Tasker, Adrian Tayler, Clary Taylor, Captain & Mrs Taylor, Professor & Mrs AB Templeman, Mr & Mrs B Thaxter, Derek Thew, Mr Thomas, E Rosemary Thomas, Dennis Thomas, Geoffrey & Susan Thomas, Ms Helena Thomas, Michael

Thomas, Mr Thomas Teague, Mr N Threlfall, Mr JR & Mrs CM Thwaite, Dr E Toke, Reverend M & Mrs W A Tompkins, Mr & Mrs P Toosey, Mrs Tosson, Ms Travis, Sue Tressider, Tony Tudor, Nancy M Tuke, Mr PM & Mrs M Tyler, Mr Tyson, Rosemary Urion in Memory of Allan Urion, Mrs van Beek, Andrew Vaughan, Mr & Mrs KF Vearncombe, Professor Julian Verbov, Mr Vlies, Ms Waite, Rachel Wakerley, Mrs Waldron, Barbara Wall, Miss Carolyn Wall, Mary Wall, David Walters, Joan Walters, Mrs Walton, Roy Walton, Colin Wardale, Janet Wareing, Mrs Christine Warner, Brenda Waterson, Mrs S & W Watkinson, Mr & Mrs JR Watson, R J Watts, Professor Andrew Wawn, Mrs Weir, Mrs West, Mrs West, Bernard & Mary Weston, Julia Westwell, David Wetherell, Mr Whaley, Dr Wheatley, Miss Catherine Whitehall, Claire & Marc Whiteside-Ehlen, Mr Whitfield, Ms Margaret Whitfield, Mr FA Whittaker, Daphne Wigmore, Miss Jill Wilkinson, Hilary Williams, Mrs P Wilkinson, Barry Williams, Mr & Mrs DB Williams, Mr FC Williams, Sylvia Williams, Mr Terry Williams, Mrs Williams, Gillian Winstanley, Dr & Mrs Winter, Ruth Winterburn, Prof Winterton, Canon & Mrs Michael & Brenda Wolfe, Alexandra Worthington, Miss Wright, Mrs A Wright, AF Wright, Andrew Wright, Mr Wright, N Wright, P & S Wright, Niall Wright, Mr & Mrs Paul & Ann Wynn, Mr & Mrs GR Wynne, Joyce Yoxon, Alan Yuill, Kathleen Zimak, Dr & Mrs A Zsigmond

And our thanks to all our donors who give anonymously and the hundreds of people who have made a donation in the last year not listed here. For a full list of our supporters, please see the display in the foyer or visit www.liverpoolphil.com. – If you would like to support us, please call 0151 210 2921 or email fundraising@liverpoolphil.com 42 |


Royal Liverpool Philharmonic is grateful to the organisations, businesses, trusts and foundations who support our artistic programmes and learning and engagement activities. PRINCIPAL FUNDERS

IN HARMONY LIVERPOOL

Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support PRINCIPAL PARTNERS

PREMIER SPONSOR

MEDIA PARTNER

Austin & Hope Pilkington Trust | The Eric and Margaret Kinder Charitable Trust | The Ernest Cook Trust | The Grodner Family | The Hemby Trust | Liverpooljazz | Lord Leverhulme’s Charitable Trust | The Oglesby Charitable Trust In Harmony Fund | The Rushworth Foundation | West Lancashire Freemasons Charity | Anonymous donors

OTHER PUBLIC DONORS

SPONSORS

The Rushworth Foundation

TRUSTS AND FOUNDATIONS

CORPORATE MEMBERS

THE KENNETH STERN TRUST

AFL Insurance Brokers | Andrew Collinge |Kirwans Solicitors | MgMaStudio/architecture | O2 | Pierhead Housing Association | R S Clare & Co. Ltd | Tilney Bestinvest

IN-KIND SPONSORS

HOTEL PARTNER

DIGITAL PARTNER

RESTAURANT PARTNER

TRAVEL PARTNER

HIGHER EDUCATION PARTNERS

The Leslie Bibby Fund | The Hilda Black Charitable Trust | Solomon and Isabel Blankstone Charitable Trust | The Amelia Chadwick Trust | John S. Cohen Foundation | The Earl of Derby’s Charitable Trust | John Fairclough Charitable Trust | J Paul Getty Jr Charitable Trust | The Granada Foundation | Paul Hamlyn Foundation | Hemby Charitable Trust | The Eric and Margaret Kinder Charitable Trust Award | Duchy of Lancaster Benevolent Fund | The Eric and Dorothy Leach Charitable Trust | Lancashire Sinfonietta Legacy Fund | The Linbury Trust | Lord Leverhulme’s Charitable Trust | The Newstead Charity | Cecil Pilkington Charitable Trust | Sir Alastair Pilkington’s Trust | Pilkington General Charity | The Ravensdale Trust | The Rayne Foundation | The Rushworth Foundation | The J A Shone Memorial Trust | The N. Smith Charitable Settlement | The Claude Ballard Southall Memorial Charity | The Standfield Charitable Trust | The Steel Charitable Trust | The Kenneth Stern Trust | The Tavener Charitable Trust | The Tung Foundation | West Lancashire Freemasons’ Charity | The Margaret Wethered Trust | Sir Donald and Lady Edna Wilson Charitable Trust And thank you to everyone who supports the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic through membership, patronage or donations, or by donating their time.


PRINCIPAL FUNDERS

Thanks to the City of Liverpool for its financial support PRINCIPAL PARTNERS

MEDIA PARTNER

Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Liverpool Philharmonic Hall Hope Street, Liverpool, L1 9BP Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society. A company limited by guarantee. Registered in England number 88235. Registered Charity Number 230538. Stage Door 0151 210 2895 Box Office 0151 709 3789 info@liverpoolphil.com liverpoolphil.com Fb.com/LiverpoolPhilharmonic @Liverpoolphil

Designed by Paul Hooley Commissioned photography Mark McNulty Thanks to Gail Wroth for photographs of Cream Classics. Photograph of Burt Bacharach in concert at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall courtesy of Liverpool Echo/Trinity Mirror

Review of the year 2016  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you