Issuu on Google+

SPRING 2014

NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION


NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION, SPRING 2014 New Student Orientation introduces first-time freshmen and transfer students to the university. Areas addressed include registration, academic advisement and services found in Financial Aid, Business and Residential Life offices, along with other resource and support services.

FIRST-YEAR EXPERIENCE PROGRAM College is an exciting and challenging time. The First Year Experience Program, a unit in Undergraduate Studies, is designed to support both an academic and social transition to Jackson State University. This integrated program emphasizes academics, citizenship, leadership, service and core values. The centerpiece of FYE, a University Success course, is required of all first-time freshmen. Within the course, students focus on academic planning, critical thinking, technology and community service. The program also offers engaging co-curricular activities, academic support resources and projects designed to help make the best possible transition to college life. Components of FYE include: •New • Student Orientation •First • Year Assessment Program •First • Year Advisement Center •Comprehensive • Academic Support Services •Student • Retention Services •Transition/Transfer • Program •Summer • Intervention/Summer Bridge Program •Center • for Undergraduate Research


NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION General Session 8:30 a.m., Thursday, January 9 JSU Student Center Theater Mrs. Patricia Sheriff-Taylor, Presiding First Year Experience Greetings.......................................................................................................................................................Dr. Thomas Calhoun Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

Dr. Evelyn J. Leggette Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Presentations................................................................................................................................................... Mrs. Janieth Adams Interim Director of Undergraduate Admissions

Mrs. B.J. Moncure Director of Financial Aid

Mr. Cornelius Antwine, Bursar Business Office

Ms. Vera Jackson Director of Residence Life/Housing

Dr. Loria Brown Gordon Associate Dean W.E.B. Du Bois Honors College

Mrs. Jennifer Scott-Gilmore Transition Coordinator Transfer Students

Advisement Procedures

ADVISEMENT and REGISTRATION Charles F. Moore Bldg., Room 100

3


ACADEMIC ADVISORS Academic Advisement is vital to academic success at Jackson State University. First Year professional advisors and First Year faculty advisors assist with course selection, change of major, and referral to needed resources. If you are a freshman, sophomore, or transfer student with fewer than 59 earned hours from your transfer institution, your advisor is assigned in Undergraduate Studies.

UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES Charles F. Moore Bldg., (601) 979-2127, Dr. Evelyn J. Leggette, Dean PRIMARY TRANSFER ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Mrs. Jennifer Scott-Gilmore

CFM 214

601.979.3339

jennifer.e.scott-gilmore@jsums.edu

Mrs. Robin Marshall

CFM 110

601.979.2826

robin.r.marshall@jsums.edu

Mrs. Patricia Sheriff-Taylor

CFM 113

601.979.2320

patricia.sheriff-taylor@jsums.edu

PROFESSIONAL ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Mr. David Atkins (All 2013 Summer Bridge)

 Engineering 246

 601.979.0547

david.atkins@jsums.edu

Mrs. F. Janelle Hannah-Jefferson (G, I, M, P)

CFM 110

601.979.1356

floressa.j.hannah-jefferson@jsums.edu

Mrs. LaTonya Robinson-Kanonu (S, U)

CFM 202

601.979.1494

latonya.d.robinson-kanonu@jsums.edu

Mrs. Josie Latham (All 2013 Summer Bridge)

Engineering 246

601.979.0562

josie.h.latham@jsums.edu

Mr. Clarence Lowe (R, T, W, X)

CFM 120

601.979.3700

clarence.lowe@jsums.edu

Mrs. Shandra Thompson (B, E, J, L)

CFM 116

601.979.1301

shandra.d.fowler-thompson@jsums.edu

Ms. Kenya Washington (A, D, F, O)

CFM 110

601.979.2825

kenya.t.washington@jsums.edu

Ms. Monesa Watts (Q, V)

CFM 226

601.979.3345

monesa.watts@jsums.edu

Ms. Sonya Webster (Y, Z)

CFM 117

601.979.1251

sonya.d.webster@jsums.edu

Mr. Kafond Wilder (C, H, K, N)

CFM 110

601.979.3341

kafond.j.wilder@jsums.edu

Dr. Pamala Heard (Honors College)

CFM 105

601.979.3418

pamala.heard@jsums.edu

Ms. Venetia Miller (Honors College)

CFM 105

601.979.6970

venetia.a.miller@jsums.edu

4


COLLEGE OF EDUCATION AND HUMAN DEVELOPMENT Joseph H. Jackson College of Education and Human Development Bldg., Suite 218, (601) 979-3415, Dr. Daniel Watkins, Dean DEPARTMENT

FIRST YEAR FACULTY ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Elementary Education and Early Childhood Education

Dr. Evornia Kincaid

SEB Room 320 B

601.979.0515

evornia.kincaid@jsums.edu

Special Education

Dr. Tracy Lackey

SEB Office 109-H

601.979.8660

tracy.k.lackey@jsums.edu

Life Long Learning

Mr. Keith Riley

E.E. Thrash Univ. Center Suite 4-7

601.432.6152

keith.o.riley@jsums.edu

Health, Physical Education and Recreation

Dr. Patricia Kennedy

TB Ellis Gym (Office, Room 21)

  601.979.2771

 patricia.r.kennedy@jsums.edu

Social Cultural Studies

Dr. Alberta Yeboah

SEB Room 217-O

601.979.3407

alberta.yeboah@jsums.edu

COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS Dollye M.E. Robinson Liberal Arts Bldg., Suite 200, (601) 979-7036, Dr. Lawrence T. Potter Jr., Dean DEPARTMENT

FIRST YEAR FACULTY ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Art

Mr. Kenyatta Stewart

Johnson Hall 212

601.979.2040

kenyatta.stewart@jsums.edu

Criminal Justice and Sociology

Dr. Verna Jones (CJ)

Liberal Arts Bldg. 358

601.979.2132

verna.r.jones@jsums.edu

English/Foreign Language

Dr. Helen Crump

Liberal Arts Bldg. 405

601.979.5890

helen.j.crump@jsums.edu

History and Philosophy Ms. Bonnie Gardner

Liberal Arts Bldg. 349

601.979.2191

bonnie.b.gardner@jsums.edu

Mass Communications

Dr. Andrea Dilworth

MC 100-C (E-Center)

601.979.2873

andrea.w.dilworth@jsums.edu

Music

Mr. Lowell Hollinger

F. D. Music Hall 15

601.979.2141

lowell.a.hollinger@jsums.edu

Political Science

Mr. Len Jefferson

Liberal Arts Bldg. 150

601.979.3956

len.jefferson@jsums.edu

Psychology

Mr. Keith Hudson

Liberal Arts Bldg. 247

601.979.3383

keith.l.hudson@jsums.edu

McCoy Bldg. 105

601.979.2426

nadia.c.bodie@jsums.edu

Speech Communication Dr. Nadia Bodie-Smith and Theatre

COLLEGE OF PUBLIC SERVICE Jackson Medical Mall, 340 W. Woodrow Wilson Drive, Suite 301, (601) 979-8836, Dr. Ricardo Brown, Dean DEPARTMENT

FIRST YEAR FACULTY ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Comm. Disorders

Dr. Mary Hall

CFM 328

601.979.0436

mary.a.hall@jsums.edu

Social Work (BSW Program)

Dr. Shonda Lawrence

CFM 336

601.979.2019

shonda.k.lawrence@jsums.edu  

Health Policy and Management

Mr. Clarence Johnson

Medical Mall Suite 2301-A

601.979.8824

clarence.johnson@jsums.edu

Policy and Planning (Urban Studies)

Dr. Moe Chowdhury

CFM 328

601.432.6865

moe.n.chowdhury@jsums.edu

5


COLLEGE OF SCIENCE, ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY School of Engineering Bldg., (601) 979-2153, Dr. Richard A. Aló, Dean DEPARTMENT

FIRST YEAR FACULTY ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Mathematics

Ms. Alicia Jefferson

JSH 230

601.979.3761

alicia.k.jefferson@jsums.edu

Chemistry

Dr. Ramayer Venkatraman Dr. Troy Milliken Dr. Dalephine Davis

JAP 510 JAP 125 JAP 414

601.979.3490 601.979.2213 601.979.1525

ramayer.vekatraman@jsums. edu troymilliken@hotmail.com dalephine.e.davis@jsums.edu

Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering

Dr. Himangshu Das

Engineering Bldg. 154

601.979.3913

himangshu.s.das@jsums.edu

Computer and Communications Engineering

Dr. Shuanzhang Tu

Engineering Bldg. 244

601.979.1275

shuanzhang.tu@jsums.edu

Computer Science

Dr.Jacqueline Jackson

JAP 237

601.979.2105

jacqueline.m.jackson@jsums.edu

Physics, Atmospheric Sciences and Geosciences

Dr. Wilbur Walters Mr. Kantave Greene

JSH 327 JSH 227

601.979.7012 601.979.1293

wibur.l.walters@jsums.edu  kantave.m.greene@jsums.edu

Technology

Mr. Francis Tuluri Dr. Huiru Shi

JYW 120 JYW 107

601.979.8262 601.979.2520

francis.tuluri@jsums.edu huiru. shih@jsums.edu

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS College of Business Building, Suite 521, (601) 979-5959, Dr. Jean-Claude Assad, Interim Dean DEPARTMENT

FIRST YEAR FACULTY ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

Accounting

Mr. Donald McWilliams (A-C) Dr. Cecil Hill (D-G) Dr. Bobbie Daniels (H-K) Mr. Richard Russell (L-O) Dr. Annette K. Pridgen (P-S) Mr. Henry Thomas (T-Z)

COB 443 COB 439 COB 444 COB 453 COB 439 COB 446

601.979.2699 601.979.2703 601.979.2708 601.979.2330 601.979.2676 601.979.2707

donald.mcwilliams@jsums.edu cecil.l.hill@jsums.edu bobbie.w.daniels@jsums.edu richard.l.russell@jsums.edu annette.k.pridgen@jsums.edu henry.thomas@jsums.edu

Economics, Finance and General Business

Dr. Patricia Freeman

COB 426

601.979.2531

patricia.a.freeman@jsums.edu

Entrepreneurship and Professional Development

Dr. Mercidee Curry Ms. Jacqueline Spires

COB 317 COB 324

601.979.3311 601.979.3327

 mercidee.curry@jsums.edu jacqueline.t.spires@jsums.edu

Management and Marketing

Dr. Robert Gillon Dr. Gwendolyn Catchings

COB 376 COB 384

601.979.1298 601.979.3313

robert.l.gillon@jsums.edu gwendolyn.c.catchings@jsums.edu

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE Charles F. Moore Bldg., Room 111, (601) 979-7092, Dr. Marie O’Banner-Jackson, Associate Dean DEPARTMENT

FIRST YEAR FACULTY ADVISOR

LOCATION

PHONE NUMBER

EMAIL

University College

Mrs. Ella Moore-Boyd Dr. Shirley Burnett

CFM 118B CFM 119B

601.979.2789 601.979.1394

ella.g.moore@jsums.edu shirley.f.burnett@jsums.edu

6


2014 SPRING SEMESTER CALENDAR JANUARY 8, Wednesday, 9 a.m................................................................................................................................... Residence halls open 9, Thursday, 9 a.m................................................................................................ Orientation for freshmen, transfer students 9, Thursday......................................................................................... Academic advisement for freshmen, transfer students 9-10, Thursday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.- 4 p.m................................................................................................................. Registration 9-10, Thursday-Friday, 6-8 p.m.................................................................................................Evening, graduate registration 13, Monday, 7 a.m......................................................................................................................................................Classes begin 13, Monday.................................................................................................................................................. Late fee of $70 begins 20, Monday...................................................................................................................... Martin L. King Jr.’s birthday (holiday) 21, Tuesday................................................................................................................................................. Late fee of $105 begins 24, Friday...................................................................................................... Last day to complete registration and/or pay fees 24, Friday.................................................................................................................................................... Late fee of $145 begins 24, Friday..................................................................................................................................................Last day to add a course 24, Friday..........................................................................................................................Last day to drop a class with no grade 31, Friday......................................................................................... Evening class schedules purged for non-payment of fees FEBRUARY 18, Tuesday.......................................................................................................................Sophomore testing day (Post CBASE) 18, Tuesday...................................................................................................Undergraduate English Proficiency Examination 24-27, Monday-Thursday............................................................................................................. Academic Advisement Week MARCH 7, Friday............................................................................................... Last day to submit Graduation Clearance Application 3-8, Monday-Saturday.....................................................................................................................Mid-semester examinations 10, Monday............................................................................................................................................Mid-semester grades due 10-15, Monday-Saturday...................................................................................................................................SPRING BREAK 17, Monday, 7 a.m...................................................................................................................................................Classes resume 28, Friday...................................................................................................... Last day course may be dropped with “W” grade APRIL 7-25.......................................................................................................................................... Early registration for fall semester 18-21, Friday-Monday....................................................................................................................................HOLIDAY BREAK 22, Tuesday, 7 a.m...................................................................................................................................................Classes resume 22, Tuesday........................................................................................................................Last day to withdraw from university 22-25, Tuesday-Friday.............................................................................................................................................. Honors Week 24, Thursday..................................................................................................................................................Honors Convocation 26, Saturday....................................................................................................................................................................Classes end 26 - May 2, Saturday-Friday...........................................................................................................................Final examinations MAY 2, Friday........................................................................................................................................................................ Alumni Day 3, Saturday............................................................................................................................................................ Commencement 5, Monday................................................................................................................Grade report due in Registrar and Records

7


PRESIDENT Dr. Carolyn W. Meyers

EXECUTIVE CABINET Dr. James C. Renick.................................................................................... Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Marcus A. Chanay................................................................................................................ Vice President for Student Life Dr. Deborah F. Dent.......................................................................................... Vice President for Information Management Dr. Vivian L. Fuller....................................................................................................................................... Director of Athletics David W. Hoard.................................................................................................Vice President for Institutional Advancement Dr. William E. McHenry.................................................................... Executive Director of the Mississippi e-Center @ JSU Dr. Loretta A. Moore................................................................. Interim Vice President for Research and Federal Relations Matthew Taylor.....................................................................................................................................Interim General Counsel Michael Thomas......................................................................................................... Vice President for Business and Finance

DEANS Dr. Richard A. Al贸.......................................................................................College of Science, Engineering and Technology Dr. Jean-Claude Assad, Interim.................................................................................................................... College of Business Dr. Ricardo A. Brown........................................................................................................................... College of Public Service Dr. Melissa L. Druckery.....................................................................................................Library and Information Resources Dr. Dorris R. Robinson-Gardner..................................................................................................................... Graduate Studies Dr. Evelyn J. Leggette................................................................................................................................Undergraduate Studies Dr. Lawrence T. Potter Jr.......................................................................................................................... College of Liberal Arts Dr. Daniel Watkins.......................................................................................College of Education and Human Development

8


Notes

9


Notes

10


www.jsums.edu


New student Orientation - Spring 2014