Issuu on Google+

Volume 6, Issue 4

HANDPICKED New & Noteworthy for 2014, featuring:

Winter 2014


NEW FOR 2014 PURE BARRE

W

e are thrilled to welcome Pure Barre to Westside Provisions Distrct. Pure Barre is both a fitness studio and a unique way to work out, providing clients a fast, effective way to change their bodies for the better. Learn

more at purebarre.com!

ATLANTA WATERWORKS

O

n April 23, Atlanta Waterworks will kick off a campaign to re-open its green

space to the public. For most of the 20th century, Atlanta Waterworks (also known as the Hemphill Pumping Station, located at the corner of Huff and Howell Mill roads) offered publically accessible green space around its water resevoirs. Neighbors enjoyed the space and its walking trails, boat dock, and lodge for years, until the resevoirs were fenced off in 1996. An effort is now underway to re-open the green space while still maintaining the security of the two waterworks resevoirs. That effort will kick off on April 23rd with a fundand-awareness raising event at Monday Night Brewing Company. To learn more, follow facebook.com/AtlantaWaterworksPark.

2


THE BEEF PRESERVING PLACE

L

ast summer, Martha McMillin of Preserving Place met Ed Harris, a past winner of

Chopped, at one of our Pop-Up Chef events. She loved his Asian barbecue so much that she invited him to teach “Mystery Box” cooking classes at Preserving Place. If you’ve ever stared into your fridge wondering what to make for dinner, this is the class for you. Chef Harris invents recipes on the fly from a basket of mystery ingredients, passing along his Chopped-winning tips and techniques to class members as he cooks. Join Chef Ed March 14th for his next “Mystery Box” class, and visit preservingplace.com to learn how to can, pickle, make your own baby food, and more!

EVERYTHING BUT WATER

S

tart packing for a stylish spring getaway with designer swim-

wear, resortwear, and accessories.

Everything But Water offers an unparalleled selection of wow-worthy vacation looks, and sales associates who know how to flatter every curve. Find us on the upper level at 1170 Howell Mill Road across the street from Yeah! Burger, and shop all of our sensational spring looks online at: everythingbutwater.com.

3


HANDPICKED

Found wood and stone objets d’arte by sculptor Crash Hottman, available at Atlanta MADE.

Seed Factory loves Moon et Miel for girls and Tea Collection for boys.

Hello, 2014 As the home of “really good stuff,” we here at Westside Provisions District don’t have to look too far to find amazing products and services any time of year. But we especially love late winter when our merchants fill their shop windows with all the great stuff they’ve been saving for the new year. In this issue, we’ve handpicked a few of our special favorites for 2014. From gorgeous found wood and stone Crash Hottman sculpture at Atlanta MADE (pictured above) to must-have kids fashions from Seed Factory (pictured right), you’ll discover all kinds of really good stuff to suit your style. Explore even more of what WSPD has to offer at: westsidepd.com.

4


2014

FLOR

STAR PROVISIONS

DRAGONFLY

Animal print patterns have amazing versatil-

Master barista Enrico Leone is jazzed to be

Sylist Anna Hill is really excited to debute the

ity—from a nursery to a sophisticated living

serving Jittery Joe’s coffee at the new and

salon’s couture Balmain Hair Extensions. Add

space. It’s amazing how easily they work in so

improved Star Provisions café, open each

some drama to your ‘do in 2014.

many environments. flor.com.

morning at 8 am. starprovisions.com.

dragonflythesalon.com.

{POEM 88}

YOFORIA

JACK SPADE

Poem 88 is getting an all-new façade for 2014.

Get all the sweet with zero the sugar in 2014

Manager Chris Tidwell is loving the new Mitch-

Check out their new look when the gallery re-

with Yoforia’s favorite flavor, dark chocolate—

ell Leather vertical flap wallet, a slim take on a

opens this April with From This, a Mountain,

a low-fat, non-tart frozen yogurt made with

traditional shape crafted from all-natural, veg-

an exhibit by Ben Steel. poem88.net.

real dark chocolate and stevia. yoforia.com.

etable-dyed Italian leather. jackspade.com.

5


DISTRICT DIRECTORY F

C A

A. {poem88} 404.735.1000 poem88.net

G

D. Preserving Place 404.815.5267 preservingplace.com

D B

A. Pure Barre Westside (404) 464-7443 facebook.com/ purebarrewestside

E H

D. SimplyPut Cards and gifts 404.881.8660 simplyputpaper.com

westsidepd.com I

I

D. Seed Factory 404.355.2043 seedfactoryatlanta.com

OFFICE FASHION

I: Anthropologie 404.355.4889 anthropologie.com E: Ann Mashburn 404.350.7132 annmashburn.com D. Billy Reid 404.994.3144 billyreid.com D. Calypso St. Barth 404.685.8886 calypsostbarth.com D. Everything But Water 404.815-0929 everythingbutwater.com D. Free People 404.817.8355 freepeople.com E. G. Gilbert 404.355.3713 ggilbertatl.com D. JACK SPADE 404. 815-1551 jackspade.com C. J. Crew 404.685.0221 jcrew.com D. Kayce Hughes 404.815.0111 kaycehughes.com 6

B. Lululemon Athletica 404.898.0774 lululemon.com

D. Knoll 404.522.1835 knoll.com

D. Seed Factory 404.355.2043 seedfactoryatlanta.com

I. Kolo Collection 404.355.1717 kolocollection.com

E. Sid Mashburn 404.350.7135 sidmashburn.com

I. Peridot West 404.350.0330 simplyperidot.com

D. Steven Alan 404.857-1984 stevenalan.com

D. R HUGHES 404.277.8908 r-hughes.com

HOME

I. Anthropologie (see fashion) I. Atlanta MADE 855.ATL-MADE atlantamade.us I. Bungalow 404.351.9120 bungalowclassic.com D. Environment 404.815.1488 environmentfurniture.com A. FLOR 404.685.1601 flor.com F. Jonathan Adler 404.367.0414 jonathanadler.com

D. Room & Board 404.682.5900 roomandboard.com

FOOD

D. Abattoir 404.892.3335 starprovisions.com E. Bacchanalia Star Provisions Quinones 404.365.0410 starprovisions.com E. JCT. Kitchen & Bar 404.355.2252 jctkitchen.com E. Jeni’s Ice Creams 404-355-6050 jenis.com

D. Ormsby’s 404.968.2033 ormsbysatlanta.com H. Osteria del FIGO 404.351.3700 figopasta.com G. Taqueria del Sol G. Taqueria404.352.5811 taqueriadelsol.com A. West Egg Café 404.872.3973 westeggcafe.com B. Yeah! Burger 404.496.4393 yeahburger.com

B. Encore 678.973.2021 encore-re.com D. Fried & Bonder 404.963.9443 friedbonder.com D. GACC 404.586.6800 gaccsouth.com D. Masburn, LLC 404.551.5201 D. MeadWestvaco 404.897.7103 meadwestvaco.com D. Waypoint Homes waypointhomes.com

A. Yoforia 404.249.6700 yoforia.com

D. Westbridge Partners 404.815.1455 westbridgepartners.net

SPECIALTY

WSPD AFFILIATES

D: Dragonfly The Salon 404.815.6702 dragonflythesalon.com A. Le Jardin Français lejardinfrancais.com B. Perrine’s Wine Shop Wine & gifts 404.254.5077 perrineswine.com

Lewis & Sheron 912 Huff Road 404.351.4833 lsfabrics.com


WSPD News