Carousel 100th Anniversary Media Coverage

Page 1

GLEN ECHO PARK DENTZEL CAROUSEL 100TH ANNIVERSARY

MEDIA COVERAGE FFEBRUARY THROUGH SEPTEMBER 2021


FEBRUARY DCist February 15 “11 Virtual and IRL Things to do in DC This Week”

The MoCo Show February 16 “Glen Echo Carousel Celebrates 100 Years”

MyMCM February 17 “Glen Echo Park’s Dentzel Carousel Celebrates 100 Years”

Local DMV February 19 “The Dentzel Carousel at Glen Echo Park Turns 100”

MARCH Washington Post March 13, 2021 “That’s Random: Here’s how ....” [Carousel 100th Anniversary Oral History Stories Project in John Kelly’s column.] East City Art March 22, 2021 “Glen Echo Park Partnership Call for Entries: 100 Years in the Present”


APRIL Visit Montgomery April 6, 2021 “Three Carousels to Add to Your Montgomery County Things to Do List” https://visitmontgomery.com/blog/see-do/three-carousels-to-add-to-your-montgomery-county-things-to-do-list/

Georgetowner April 8, 2021 “Weekly Arts Round Up, April 8, 2021” https://georgetowner.com/articles/2021/04/08/weekly-arts-round-up-april-8-2021/ DCist April 12, 2021 “11 Virtual and IRL Things to Do Around D.C. This Week” https://dcist.com/story/21/04/12/dc-weekday-events-guide-april-12-yappy-hour-national-parks/ Montgomery Magazine April 23, 2021 “Whirlabout of Fun” [Cover story] https://www.montgomerymag.com/whirlabout-of-fun/ Bethesda Magazine April 26, 2021 “Best Bets” https://bethesdamagazine.com/bethesda-magazine/may-june-2021/best-bets-4/ MyMCMedia April 27, 2021 “Glen Echo Park’s Carousel Reopens for Park’s 100th Anniversary” https://www.mymcmedia.org/glen-echos-carousel-reopens-for-parks-100th-anniversary/ Bethesda Beat April 28, 2021 “Glen Echo Park’s carousel reopens for park’s 100th anniversary” https://bethesdamagazine.com/bethesda-beat/news/maryland-to-pay-11-million-to-homeowners-after-tax-error/ MoCo Show April 30, 2021 “Glen Echo Carousel Reopens Tomorrow” https://mocoshow.com/blog/glen-echo-carousel-reopens-tomorrow/ MyMCMedia April 30, 2021 “5 Things to Know Today, April 30, In Montgomery County” https://www.mymcmedia.org/5-things-to-know-today-april-30-in-montgomery-county/ NBC4 April 30, 2021 “Weekend Scene with Tommy McFly” https://www.nbcwashington.com/entertainment/the-weekend-scene-national-boba-day-in-dc-area/2657653/


MAY NBC4 May 1 Glen Echo Park Carousel Reopening/Ribbon Cutting Ceremony Story aired on Channel 4 at 6pm and 11pm WJLA/ABC7 May 1 Glen Echo Park Carousel Reopening/Ribbon Cutting Ceremony Story aired on Channel 7 at 6pm and 11pm WUSA9 May 1 Glen Echo Park Carousel Reopening/Ribbon Cutting Ceremony Story aired on Channel 9 at 6pm and 11pm Bethesda-Chevy Chase Patch May 4 “100-Year-Old Dentzel Carousel Reopens At Glen Echo Park: The Dentzel Carousel at Glen Echo Park has reopened in time for its 100th anniversary season.” https://patch.com/maryland/bethesda-chevychase/100-year-old-dentzel-carousel-reopens-glen-echo-park MyMCMedia May 3 “Carousel At Glen Echo Park Reopens For First Time Since 2019” https://www.mymcmedia.org/carousel-at-glen-echo-park-reopens-for-first-time-since-2019/ Newsbreak May 4 “Carousel at Glen Echo Park Reopens for First Time Since 2019” https://www.newsbreak.com/news/2224874048538/carousel-at-glen-echo-park-reopens-for-first-time-since-2019 DCW50 May 6 “A Centennial Celebration for Glen Echo Park’s Carousel” https://www.localdvm.com/dcw50/a-centennial-celebration-for-the-glen-echo-parks-carousel/ WTOP May 8 “Glen Echo Carousel reopens, celebrates 100th anniversary” https://wtop.com/montgomery-county/2021/05/100th-anniversary-of-a-mechanical-and-artistic-treasure/ NBC4 May 22 Glen Echo Park Carousel 100th Anniversary Mural Story aired on Channel 4 at 11pm WJLA/ABC7 May 22 Glen Echo Park Carousel 100th Anniversary Mural Story aired on Channel 7 at 11pm


M A Y CONTINUED WTOP May 23, 2021 “Montgomery Co. teens contribute to mural celebrating Glen Echo integration” https://wtop.com/montgomery-county/2021/05/montgomery-co-teens-contribute-to-mural-celebrating-glen-echointegration/ Bethesda Magazine May 24, 2021 “’Ghost Shoes’ memorialize four pedestrians .......” [Article includes Carousel Mural Project.] Montgomery Magazine May 25, 2021 “Local Teens Create Mural to Celebrate Dentzel Carousel Centennial” https://www.montgomerymag.com/local-teens-create-mural-to-celebrate-dentzel-carousel-centennial/

JUNE Washington Post June 29, 2021 “What to watch on Tuesday: ‘The Legend of the Underground’ on HBO” Includes Carousel of Memories on WHUT. https://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/tv/what-to-watch-on-tuesday-the-legend-of-the-underground-onhbo/2021/06/28/43c2ccd8-d81b-11eb-9bbb-37c30dcf9363_story.html


JULY DCist July 12, 2021 “10 Virtual and IRL Things to do Around DC This Week” Lists the Carousel Lecture by Durward Center. https://dcist.com/story/21/07/12/10-virtual-and-irl-things-to-do-around-dc-this-week-3/ WJLA/ABC7 July 21, 2021 “Kidd Around Town: 100th Anniversary of Glen Echo Park Carousel” Video https://wjla.com/news/local/kidd-around-town-100th-anniversary-of-glen-echo-park-carousel MyMCMedia July 23, 2021 “Concerts, Cinema and Carousels” https://www.mymcmedia.org/concerts-cinema-and-carousels/

AUGUST MyMCMedia August 13, 2021 “5 Things to know Today, Aug 13 in Montgomery County” Lists the Band Organ Rally. https://www.mymcmedia.org/5-things-to-know-today-aug-13-in-montgomery-county/


SEPTEMBER Washington Post September 23, 2021 “Fall Festivals, Oktoberfests, concerts, and other things to do in the D.C. area the week of Sept. 23-29” https://www.washingtonpost.com/dc-md-va/2021/09/23/best-things-do-dc-area-week-sept-23-29/ DCist September 23, 2021 “12 Virtual and IRL Things to do Around D.C. This Weekend” https://dcist.com/story/21/09/23/12-virtual-and-irl-things-to-do-around-dc-this-weekend-sept-23/ MyMCMedia September 24, 2021 “5 Things to know Today, Sept 24 in Montgomery County” https://www.mymcmedia.org/5-things-to-know-today-sept-24-in-montgomery-county/ Fox5 September 26, 2021 Carousel 100th Anniversary Final Celebration Feature with Katey Boerner interviewed in front of carousel Story aired on Channel 5 at 11pm ACB7/WJLA September 26, 2021 Carousel 100th Anniversary Final Celebration Feature story using event images and b-roll provided by GEPP Story aired on Channel 7 at 6pm and 11pm WUSA9 September 26, 2021 (morning) Carousel 100th Anniversary Final Celebration Story aired on Channel 9 at 8am