Issuu on Google+

preview

speciality & fine food fair

The big barometer If you want to gauge the mood among speciality food producers, Olympia is never a bad place to start. And at this year’s Speciality & Fine Food Fair there will also be a chance to find out how retailers are faring, with the release of new research into the state of the deli & farm shop sector.

SFFF event manager Soraya Gadelrab

More exhibitors – but perhaps on smaller, less extravagant stands. A big regional food section – but run by show organiser Fresh RM rather than the regional food groups now that government subsidies have gone. The face of the fine food trade’s biggest show is certainly changing after two or three tough trading years. But with over 600 companies lining up in Olympia’s Grand Hall, 2011’s Speciality & Fine Food Fair will still be “the largest to date, with more exhibitors than ever before”, according to event manager Soraya Gadelrab. Gadelrab has been poring over the data from recent SFFFs and says that while exhibitor numbers in a few minor food categories have taken a dip, the story generally remains one of modest growth. “Last year we had small growth in a year of recession,” she told FFD, “and this year we’re about 3% up on floorspace. It’s fair to say average stand size has decreased slightly. But if exhibitors take less space, that just means we have to get more of them in.” As the year’s biggest trade bash, Olympia is always a good place to gauge confidence. But this year, Fresh RM has joined forced with the Guild of Fine Food, FFD’s publisher, to carry out a formal research project ahead of the event. Thousands of retailers and caterers have been completing an online survey exploring everything from average margins to recruitment prospects. The results will be announced at the SFFF, giving visiting buyers the chance of a real insight into how their fellow retailers are handling a tough market. Back on the supply side, key growth categories for the SFFF have been chocolate, confectionery, non-food services and international products. The number of confectionery exhibitors, for example, has doubled in the past five years, and the space taken by chocolate brands has risen from 5% to 13% since 2008, when a Speciality Chocolate Fair was created within the show. International stands have seen a 270% growth since 2008. “Traditionally, France has

IN T PRE HIS VI • Top exhib EW: ito st

r ate o f the s on the tr p • Exh ages 33 & ade – ibit 35 newc or directo omer ry, plu s p r o starts f i l e s – page 37

taken the most space,” says Gadelrab. “Italy has never backed the show as much, partly because Italy is on holiday in August, but we’ve got regional stands from the Valle d’Aosta and Terni chambers of commerce this year, and we’re getting more independent Italian exhibitors.” There will be another strong showing from the English regions too. But where, in the past, food groups bought blocks of space and sold them on to their membership, loss of public funding means Fresh RM has partially underwritten this section to ensure a continued focus on regional food. “We’ve always worked well with the regional food groups (RFGs),” says Gadelrab. “But while they want a continued presence, they made it very clear that they have no funding now. So we came up with a model whereby we would create areas for each region that we would sell and administer, and in return the RFGs would advertise that to their members.” Two of the “more commercial” groups – Taste of the West and HEFF – have continued to buy a block of space in the old manner, while others, despite the new low-risk model, have been “less responsive”. But a distinct regional presence has been be retained. “More and more, buyers – especially from overseas – want something quintessentially British,” says Gadelrab, “ and the SFFF is always a quintessentially British show.” www.specialityandfinefoodfairs.co.uk

Tell us your brands of the year: Visit us on the Guild of Fine Food stand (759) and you can nominate your brands of the year in key categories like tea, coffee and chocolate, ahead of a special edition of FFD to be published later this year. Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

31


Jolly fine stuffings and sauces

C

M

Y

CM

MY

CY

CMY

K

Gordon Rhodes was an intrep id traveller who loved exploring the globe in search of exotic tas tes and flavours. He returned to Yor kshire full of Eastern promise - as wel l as pockets full of herbs and spi ces... These are the results. Enjoy !

For recipes or more information: Gordon Rhodes, Dalesman House, Chase Way, Bradford, West Yorkshire BD5 8HW T: 01274 758007 E: ask@gordonrhodes.co.uk

www.gordonrhodes.co.uk 30

September 2011 路 Vol.12 Issue 8


preview

speciality & fine food fair

Going beyond the hard sell Last year was tough. This year could be tougher. So HILARY ARMSTRONG asked seasoned SFFF exhibitors how they’ll be persuading buyers to open their order books at the 2011 show.

Alex Albone, director, Pipers Crisps The temptation in times of recession is to compromise quality, but that’s not the business of the speciality & fine food sector. We can’t compete with the multinationals on price so we compete on quality and service. We’ve now got four vans delivering directly to customers in our local area. We also do a lot of business by carrier. Fine food retailers want to be able to order without looking at five days lead time so we’ll offer next day delivery for orders placed by 3pm. That all creates a cost so it’s more important than ever that we highlight the unique proposition that we have over our competitors. For instance, we don’t supply the major multiples, and we only use ‘provenance’ flavours from trusted suppliers. Our biggest challenge right now is commodity prices. You try to put off price rises for as long as possible but sooner or later, you have to put them through. There’s no way of sweetening the pill. We’re minimising the effects by making the manufacturing facility as efficient as possible, watching packaging and water waste. An environmental policy is a good financial policy, I would suggest. www.piperscrisps.com

‘‘

work and using all your naive charm and boyish good looks to persuade them. There’s no silver bullet. We’re a pretty small, young company doing everything by hand and we’re growing at a rapid rate; we’ve got a good product and we’re beginning to develop a bit of a following. We can’t make the stuff fast enough. We’re up quite a lot on last year. Having said that, we have seen a couple of our customers go under so there are people out there finding it tough. www.yourpiecebakingcompany.com

’’ ‘‘

“You’ve got to take the risk out of a new brand for retailers”

Christina Baskerville, owner, Easy Bean We were the creators of this ‘meal in a pot’ which has since been copied by other brands as well as the multiples. We launched at SFFF in 2007 and are back again to show we are best placed to service the independent sector. Number one, we just launched two of our recipes as Fairtrade (statistics show people are still buying into Fairtrade). Number two, we make everything ourselves in small batches and that suits the independents’ ethos. Our health credentials are another big hook given the market for healthy convenience food. We’ve invested in our first consumer advertisement, a full page in Slimming World’s October issue. We’re being very targeted. There was a spell when everyone said people were swinging back to making their own sandwiches because of the recession. Well that hasn’t lasted very long. Any deli that’s catering for the lunchtime trade, I think, is in a good position. What we’re up against is delis and farm shops with their own kitchen. I’m trying to reach those without kitchens. www.easybean.co.uk

’’ ‘‘

Dan Connolly, director, Your Piece Baking Company You’ve got to take the risk out of a new brand for retailers so I offer some really favourable terms and will offer free sample stock for in-store tastings. Small independent shops are often owner-run and the owner is usually very, very busy, so if their selection is working OK for them, there’s no incentive to take on anything new. Once it’s in there, most people find it sells very well but getting in there is down to lots of

‘‘

Tim Came, managing director, Thursday Cottage Over the next 12 months we will have a much more proactive relationship with retailers. We are doing a little bit more advertising than we have in the past. We’re also supporting customers with free samples for tasting. It’s a nice, simple thing to do and when you encourage customers to taste the product, they’re much more likely to buy it. We’ve always been quite generous but in tough times you support your customers as best you can. So when our retail customers ask for free samples, it’s a non-issue. Compared to 12 months ago, things are more competitive, not less competitive. From a manufacturing point of view, the fact that the sugar price is at a 30-year high has made a major impact on our cost base. That’s the major issue for us but there is little doubt that people are staying loyal to premium brands in the fine food sector. Things are holding up relatively well, considering. We aren’t launching new products at Speciality but we will be announcing news of an acquisition that we have made which we hope retailers will react positively to. www.thursday-cottage.com

’’

’’

Maria Pocock, marketing coordinator, The Devon Cream Co Our extended life creams and crème fraîche are the ‘safe bet’ in the cream market. Fresh cream only lasts five days but with ours, you’ve got the whole year to use it. That’s a strong selling point. Our battle has been overcoming people’s perceptions of longlife. Our trade sales have increased year on year and, in the current climate, we’re doing really well. At the show we’ll be offering 10% off orders taken at the stand to encourage retailers to stock our products. “We started 30 years ago mainly as an export

‘‘

Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

33


Importer of local and regional French products

FRANCE

GOURMET We distribute a wide range of French speciality foods, as well as charcuterie and cheeses directly from Rungis.

Rose Petal Jam: ‘Lovely colour,flavour and texture.’

Nyons Olive Croquets: ‘Pleasing appearance, innovative product. Lovely olive flavour, crisp but not a hard texture. Great size. Very yummy and moreish.’

Our 2011 jury reviews and awards

Penja White Pepper: ‘Good fresh peppery smell, quite hot, excellent lingering after taste and authentic flavour’

Duck Rillettes: ‘Good consistency and execution. The meat is well cooked and distibuted. The balance of fat is also good. Nice flavour of pepper coming through at the end.’

Rooibos Organic Tea: ‘Good aroma, good citrus on the nose. Balance with ginger and lemon grass is good.’

Rouille Sétoise: ‘Good and well balanced flavours.’

Gluten Free Almond Cake: ‘Immediately pleasant flavour. Good almond taste and texture, not too sweet or oily.’

EXPERIENCE the speciality and fine food French importer www.francegourmet.co.uk 020 7639 1711 info@francegourmet.co.uk 30 September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8


preview company but in the last couple of years have targeted the UK a bit more. Historically we always sold by the pallet but that’s way too big for independents so we now offer a ‘trade order’ system whereby we can supply a transit outer which holds five of our retail packs. We also do an overnight service. Advertising and attendance at consumer and trade shows has contributed to people recognising the Devon Cream Co brand more. We’re working on a more consumer-focused website and building up a following on Facebook. We’re trying to pull it through as well as push it. www.coombecastle.com

’’

Edward Berry, chief operating officer, Newby Teas Our pitch is that we’re in the upper middle ground. We’re not a mass market product but we’re not seen as esoteric. We’re not frightened of teabags for example. One of the things with tea is that it’s quite a big learning curve for people. They want brands that will give them some really good reasons to buy them. We talk a lot about provenance and production and do a lot of training so hopefully we are giving our customers the knowledge to sell a better product. If someone takes our tea for the first time we offer a ‘buy four, get the fifth free’ incentive. That encourages them to give us some shelf space and allows them to take the English breakfast and Earl Grey that people want as well as something that shows more of a point of difference for us, for example our slightly lighter Indian Breakfast. The premium tea sector is very strong. People may have certain economies but they can drink a cup of tea – a good cup of tea – for 12p. www.newbyteas.com

‘‘

speciality & fine food fair business than before through our distributors (Cotswold Fayre). That’s something we’ll be flagging up at the show: we want to demonstrate our flexibility. I’m also going to start sending out half cases of products rather than just a couple of samples that may well be left on a desk unopened. That way, retailers can have a go at selling them and see how it goes. This will give them a better feel for the product and whether it works for them. The shops that seem to be growing are butchers, fish shops and farm shops. This is where people are looking for traditional, good quality food and where our product – European cooking sauces and gravies – sell well. If a deli doesn’t sell fresh meat, then our product may not be a good fit. It’s important to be upfront with buyers. www.pottspartnership.co.uk

’’

“As cash flow gets tighter, people are being more careful with stockholding”

Alan Miller, marketing manager, Union HandRoasted You can’t just say, “We’ve got a great quality product and it’s in a nice bag so people will buy it”. We’ve always taken the view that you need to inform and excite the people you’re selling to and give them the knowledge to educate and excite their customers. We do that by a number of means including retailer events and tastings around the country. This year at Speciality we’re offering a starter pack aimed primarily at new accounts through our wholesaler network. Last year we did a floor-standing display unit, fully loaded with six coffees with tasting notes for an incentivised price, and we have something similar planned for top-end stores in 2012. That kind of thing works really well as it’s attractive for the retailer, helping them get more out of the brand, and it helps us get on the shop floor. Packaging is one thing we really look at. Our purple pack has been quite iconic and we’re launching whole bean coffee in craft bags at the show. Commodity prices have impacted on us massively.

’’ ‘‘

Michelle Potts, director and co-owner, Potts Partnership The feedback we’ve had from independents is that shelf and storage space is valuable. We’ve always had quite a moderate minimum order and have always done small cases but we find some customers want to be able to ‘top up’ from distributors. As cash flow get tighter, people are being more careful with stockholding so we’re getting more

‘‘

The business is driven by the relationship with the producer, so our owners are out at origin very frequently, ensuring the strength of that relationship. We’ve put price rises through as we’re not willing to substitute lower grade coffees. Sticking to that quality mantra is essential. www.unionroasted.com

’’

Duncan Hider, joint managing director, Hider Food Imports We see SFFF as a great opportunity to allow us to meet customers and suppliers alike. We’re actively encouraging our suppliers to come on our stands so they can talk directly to our customers and meet the rest of the Hider team. We’ve over 3,000 speciality products in stock so cannot profess to be 100% knowledgeable on all products at all times and therefore work closely with suppliers, encouraging them to be available for our customers to speak to them direct. This relaxed approach helps our suppliers create products and services aimed at the independent sector. We’ve seen a good increase in turnover year on year. Christmas is looking good but with less commitment from some customers. Something that’s becoming a bigger issue is credit. Cash flow is clearly a problem for many customers. The challenges we face are the escalation of distribution costs and customers’ desire to reduce minimum order levels. The combination isn’t good. Raw material prices continue to cause a huge headache. Our customers value the fact that we have our own warehousing, distribution and production facility. As our fuel prices and overheads are increasing, we are investing heavily in technology to ensure we stay as competitive as possible. Some of our distribution fleet now use biodiesel from our cashew nut processing facility. www.hiderfoods.co.uk

‘‘

’’

“We’re actively encouraging suppliers to come on our stands to talk directly to our customers”

Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

35


Fruity or Spicy? Hand-made in the Garden of England www.thewoodenspoon.co.uk Tel: 01233 812 251

Bysel Ltd, an independent company based in Yorkshire, has been established for over 50 years manufacturing and distributing both sugar and chocolate confectionery throughout the UK, to all sectors of the industry. Specialising not only in own manufactured products, but also sourcing of product from around the world to coincide with the important seasons of Christmas, Easter, Halloween and Valentines. Bespoke manufacture and sourcing is a major part of our business. We welcome you to our stand 350 to view and discuss your potential needs

www.byselcandy.com sales@byselcandy.com Bysel Ltd Selby House, Batley Road, Heckmondwike West Yorkshire WF16 9ND Tel: 01924 403857, Fax: 01924 405368 36

September 2011 路 Vol.12 Issue 8


preview 1 Saffron...........................................................106 3 Friends Food Group.......................................650 ACEITES VALLEJO ..........................................530 Adams & Harlow..............................................646 Adams Very Clever.........................................1168 Adesso Foods.................................................1145 Agnes Rose...............................................104 Agricola De Taddeo..........................................420 Agricola Sabatini................................................420 ALPE SRL.........................................................825 Amelia Rope Chocolate............................179 Anthony Rowcliffe & Son.........................779 Antica salumeria Curti.......................................420 Antonio Mattei Biscottificio Srl...........................959 Antton Chocolatier...........................................869 Apulia Blend.............................................260 Aran Candy......................................................615 Argentine Embassy............................................233 Armajaro Holdings Ltd......................................585 Artisan Biscuits..................................................560 Ashbourne Foods Ltd........................................339 Ashers Bakery...................................................612 Asiri Foods..................................................60 Aspall Cyder.....................................................449 ATTIVA srl........................................................825 Auntieji's Kitchen LLP..........................................30 Autore Srl.........................................................288 Azienda agricola Ferruccio Iannarilli....................420 Azienda Agricola Poggio Alle Frasche...................28 AZIENDA AGRICOLA ROSSET s.s..................825 Azienda Agricola San Pietro a Pettine.................229 Azienda Agricola Santo Iolo...............................420 Ballancourt.............................................1048 Baravelli's..........................................................386 Barthouil...........................................................869 Baruzzo Ltd......................................................486 BEAR Nibbles.................................................1084 Belhaven Fruit Farm................................620

Bell and Loxton LLP...............................755/f Bells Of Lazonby Ltd.........................................838 Belvoir Fruit Farms Ltd............................648 Beneoliva............................................................10 Bespoke Foods..........................................904 Best Imports Ltd...............................................945 Biddenden Vineyards Ltd..................................543 Birdfood Ltd.......................................................40 Biscottea...........................................................908 Biscuiterie FILET BLEU.....................................804 Biscuiterie Jules Destrooper..............................269 Bizerba (UK) Ltd.............................................1075 Bloom Teas Ltd.........................................163 Bon Bons Ltd....................................................788 Bonifanti.........................................................1032 Bookham Fine Foods Ltd................................1079 Bord Bia (Irish Food Board)...................... 615, 613 Born To Be Yummy Ltd..............................34 Bramble Foods..................................................984 Bramley and Gage Ltd..........................755/d Branche d'Olive................................................413 Breckland Orchard............................................446 BRETAGNE INTERNATIONALE......................804 Britanic Commerce Ltd.....................................102 Brown Bag Crisps.............................................111 Burtree Puddings.....................................643 Burts Potato Chips Ltd......................................855 Buttermilk Confections Ltd.............................743/a Bysel Ltd...........................................................350 Calico Cottage................................................1046 California Rancher..................................1176 Calvors Brewery...............................................550 Cambus O May Cheese Company Ltd.............612 Camera di Commercio di Terni.........................420 Candiasoil...........................................................98 Capital Coffee Roasters...................................1071 Carmarthenshire County Council......................625 CARRASCO, Guijuelo......................................530

EDITE CR

R

D

Who’s at Olympia this year?

Guild of Fine Food members shown in bold type

AC

speciality & fine food fair

S U P LI E P

Cartmel Sticky Toffee Pudding Co Ltd...............637 CASTAING FOIES GRAS..................................713 Cave Direct .....................................................925 Caviar Nacarii.................................................1047 Cawston Press..................................................545 CCI Bayonne Pays Basque....................... 969, 869 CCI DU LOT...................................................821 CCS Estates......................................................612 Celtic Marches Beverages Ltd.................544 Chaat-tastic Tamarind Sauce................................44 Chancham..........................................................12 Chapman's Finest Fishcakes.......................70 Chase Distillery.................................................438 Chegworth Valley Juices.........................1146 Cheshire Farm Chips................................734 Chilled Packaging...............................................355 Chiltern Cold Pressed Rapeseed Oil.................119 Chocdock Ltd...................................................384 CHOCOLAT MATHEZ....................................713 Chocolate and Love Ltd...........................280 Chocolaterie Genaveh S.A................................372 Choi Time Teas Ltd................................1156 Churchill's Confectionery Ltd............................688 CIBELE.............................................................713 Claire Macdonald Foods....................................520 Classic Fine Foods UK Ltd.................................570 COCINAVAR S.L. . ..........................................530 Cole's Traditional Foods Ltd..............................330 Compass Spirits................................................154 Comune & Camera di Commercio di Terni......420 Conscious Food (UK) Ltd....................................86 CONSERVERIE MINERVE................................804 Consett Popcorn Company Ltd........................639 Cook Trading Ltd......................................503 Cookies and Scream...........................................64 Cooleeney Farm...............................................615

New to the show: African Biscuit Company

Breakfast beskuits The African Biscuit Company has to be one of the best prepared exhibitors at this year’s SFFF. Owner Sue Price has been working towards the show for the past 12 months, as she is using it as the official launch-pad for her beskuits, a staple found in every South African grocery store alongside rooibos tea, biltong and maize meal. “I launched the company last April on a small scale to test whether my beskuits would work in the UK,” she says. “Last year the business was fairly new and I wasn’t at a stage to support any subsequent interest that might have come out of attending a trade show.” She says she has spent the best part of this year getting her packaging up to scratch and working with a local Dorset bakery to ensure they can make her beskuits on a commercial

scale as well as she can make them in her own converted bakery. “I recognise there will be lots of leads as a result of exhibiting, so I need to be able to follow them up, turn them into orders and deliver. I’ve got one chance at launching into a growing but competitive biscuit market.” Price is also keen to raise awareness of what beskuits are – given that the majority of people in the UK have probably never heard of the South African biscuits. For the uninitiated, beskuits are a kind of sub-Saharan relative of the Italian biscotti and Dutch beschuit. They are made from flour, sugar and buttermilk and are twice-baked to create a crunchy biscuit that is ‘buttery and creamy, but not too sweet’. The range includes a beskuit for every time of day – Big Breakfast Beskuit, Posh Poppy &

Lemon, Sunny Seeds & Raisin, Delightful Date & Walnut, Plush Pecan, White Choc & Cranberry and Fruity Fruit & Spice – although Price is particularly keen to crack the breakfast market. “In South Africa we eat them at any time but they are best with that first cup of tea or coffee.” www. theafrican biscuitcompany. co.uk Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

37


A complete range of manual, semi-automatic & fully automatic slicers suitable for sausages, ham, bacon, smoked - roast - fresh & stuffed meats, parma - sarreno & other speciality hams and cheese K-Class Touchscreen scales integrate all the key retail tasks weighing, cash-till functions, advertising, printing and advising in a single solution. They follow a consistent modular concept and are available in range of models and equipment. Probably to most attractive combination of technically possible with the economically desireable.

visit us on Stand 1075 at the Speciality & Fine Food Fair 4-6 September, London Olympia Bizerba Slicers offer greater yield, quicker clean down, better quality slices time after time and give a fantastic return on investment; compared to other models on the market, Bizerba Slicers can offer a payback as quickly as year one. Bizerba’s design & build quality ensures the machines last longer added to which they are safe to operate & sleek in design with less food traps, ensuring the Bizerba Slicer is the most hygenic in the market.

38

September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8

BIZERBA (UK) Limited, Eastman Way, Hemel Hempstead, Herts, HP2 7DU Tel: 01442 240751 Fax: 01442 231328 Email: info@bizerba.co.uk Web: www.bizerba.co.uk


preview COOPERATIVA PRODUTTORI LATTE E FONTINA........................................................825 Coopérative Laitière du Pays Basque.................869 Corkers Crisps..................................................687 Corretto Suite S.r.l. socio unico.........................879 CORTIJO DE SUERTE ALTA S.L .....................530 Cotswold Fayre.........................................430 Cottage Delight Limited..........................675 Country Fare............................................737 Crazy Baker......................................................165 CRDOP PIMENTON DE LA VERA .................530 Cream O'Galloway Dairy Co Ltd...........1108 Creative Baking Co. by Holly Cupcakes..............56 Creme D'Or Ltd...............................................479 Cresson Creative..............................................642 Crush Food........................................................74 Cupboard Love..............................................1129 Curry Cuisine Ltd...................................1172 D'Issa..............................................................1010 D.O.P. DEHESA DE EXTREMADURA .............630 Darvilles of Windsor.................................507 Davenport's Chocolates....................................193 David Oliver Fine Foods.........................1082 DE PRADO .....................................................530 Delicioso UK Ltd......................................224 Delicious Fine Foods.................................781 Denhay Farms Ltd..........................................755/j

speciality & fine food fair DESTREL.........................................................821 Devon Cottage Organic Fudge............................48 Dibal UK Ltd.....................................................909 Dilmah Tea.......................................................910 Discover the Origin..........................................677 Distillerie des Terres Rouges..............................249 Diversi Foods NV.............................................360 Divine Deli Supplies Ltd....................................783 DOMAINE DU BOIS GENTIL.........................713 Dorset Farms.................................................645/d DP Connolly & Sons . ......................................615 Easy Bean................................................645/f Ecos Beverages LLC.........................................927 Elsinore Foods Ltd............................................246 EM Create Concept..........................................374 Emmett's Store.................................................548 ENCOMIENDA DE CERVERA ........................630 ENVASADOS EVA S.A. (EVA GROUP) ............530 Exportiamo...............................................247 Fairfayre............................................................787 Fairfields Farm Crisps.........................................451 FareShare.........................................................116 Farrah's of Harrogate.........................................340 Farrington's MELLOW YELLOW . .........1135 Fattoria Le Poggette..........................................420 Fattorie Umbre srl............................................420 Fauchon............................................................385

FIAB Exterior, S.L..................................... 630, 530 Filberts Fine Foods Ltd..........................1039 Findlaters Fine Foods of Linlithgow Ltd..612 Fine Food Digest......................................759 Fine Ice Cream Co...........................................447 Fish4Ever........................................................1063 Fivemiletown Creamery..................................1060 FLORA TEA COMPANY UK LTD............147 FOLKINGTON'S JUICES..................................434 Food arte..........................................................241 FoodLovers Britain Ltd......................................789 FRANCE ALIMENTAIRE...................................713 Frank's Luxury Biscuits.......................................239 Fresh Eric's Cake Co Ltd.................................1069 FROMAGERIE HAUT VAL D'AYAS...................825 FROMAGERIE XAVIER.....................................821 Fudge Kitchen...........................................433 Furniss Of Cornwall..................................845 Gadsby Basketware...........................................669 Galeta...............................................................272 Galway Bay Seafoods........................................615 Giacobazzi UK Ltd............................................839 Gilchesters Organics................................744 Gino Gelato Ltd................................................942 Giuliano Tartufi..................................................902 Glenfinlas Coffee.......................................266 Glenilen Farm Ltd....................................353

t hur sday cot tage

The Finest Preserves for a Perfect Christmas

Greengage Jam and Bitter Orange Marmalade were both awarded one Gold Star, building on the Fruit Coulis success last year. Come and see us and taste them on stand 885 at this year’s Speciality Fine Food Show in September.

01621 814529 www.thursday-cottage.com

Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

39


July2011-GMFINAL-awards_Layout 1 09/08/2011 10:20 Page 1

gold 11

gold 11

gold 11

2011

OUR AWARD WINNING FAMILY OF COFFEES gold 11

gold 11

gold 11

Great tasting coffees...and don’t just take our word for it. The Grumpy Mule family of coffees has grown and this year we are pleased to announce award winners across our Relationship, Fairtrade Organic and Micro Lot ranges.

stand 760

Come and visit us on at The Speciality & Fine Food Fair 2011. The Roastery Bent Ley Industrial Estate Holmfirth, HD9 4EP

Tel: 01484 855500 email: coffee@grumpymule.co.uk

www.grumpymule.co.uk

OUR SPE C I AL I T Y. .. Luscombe Drinks are crafted in deepest Devon with exceptional care and integrity. Be it our awardwinning Ginger Beers, Sicilian Lemonade or Apple and Pear juice, the ingredients are sourced from growers we know and trust. We never compromise and put only the best in the bottle. If you’ve not tried them before, come and see us on stand 121 at the Speciality and Fine Food Fair and taste them for yourself. Alternatively, call us for some samples of our full range.

T. 01364 64 30 36

w w w. l u s c o m b e . c o . u k

40

September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8


preview

speciality & fine food fair

Glennans...................................................790 Gluten Free Goodies Limited..............................82 Gnaw Chocolate..............................................371 GODARD-CHAMBON & MARREL.................821 Godminster Vintage..............................743/b Gordon Rhodes.........................................537 Goupie.............................................................145 Gourmet Vanilla Company..............................1155

New to the show: Agnes Rose

Gourmet''s Choice............................................620 Graces Irish Biscuits.............................................38 Gran Stead's Ginger Ltd..........................245 Green Farm Foods............................................615 Green's of Glastonbury...................................1180 Greengold..........................................................66 Grumpy Mule............................................760 Guilbert's Chocolates Ltd..................................588

Guild of Fine Food....................................759 Gustosecco.......................................................833 Hadley's Dairy...........................................448 Hames Chocolates Ltd.....................................609 Harp & Lyre..............................................641 Hawkshead Relish Company....................633 Heart Of England Fine Foods................... 544, 444 HF Chocolates..................................................686

A lil’ fruity number

Agnes Rose’s fruit vinegars are currently sold in around 20 outlets, mainly in the north west of England, and owner Naomi Darbishire is hoping that exhibiting at the SFFF will provide a platform for meeting prospective stockists. “It’s the place to be – it’s good for networking with other producers and meeting buyers. I’m hoping to get more stockists, whether hamper companies, delis or farm shops,” she says. The fair coincides with a nationwide distribution deal with Delicious Fine Foods, which Darbishire says should ensure that retailers across the country can get their hands on her vinegars. She is not, however, looking to court the multiples. “I don’t want to sell out to supermarkets,” she says. “I’m an artisan; I taste every batch before it is bottled and to make it more mechanically would lose the essence of what I’m about.”

This is, after all, a venture born out of a love of cooking. “I’ve always made chutneys, jellies and jams for gifts, then one year I had loads of blackberries left over so I dug out an old vinegar recipe of my grandmother’s and within a few weeks I had developed an entire range,” she says. “I left my job, sold my house and on May 15 last year, started production in my parents’ pantry.” The business now resides in a food production unit in Kendal, and produces red and white wine-based blackberry, damson, strawberry and blackcurrant fruit vinegars, as well as

rosemary, lemon and garlic oils. The vinegars retail at £4.30 for 100ml and £6.50 for 250ml while the oils retail at £3.60 for 100ml and £4.95 for 250ml. Darbishire is also using SFFF as an opportunity to launch four new products to the trade. “I wanted to make some vinegars that were more local and specialist,” she explains. “So I’m producing a strawberry balsamic and a damson balsamic, both using local honey, and a cider vinegar with local honey but with damsons as well for an extra edge. I’m also launching a chipotle oil.” www.agnesrose.co.uk

Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

41


42

September 2011 路 Vol.12 Issue 8


preview Hider Food Imports Ltd...........................985 Higher Nature..................................................419 Highland Spring.................................................620 Hisaki Snacks..................................................1162 Home Interiors...............................................1120 HOT DIGGIDY DOG Ltd................................625 House of Dorchester............................. 743/c House Of Sarunds....................................670 Hungarian Investment and Trade Agency (HITA) 470 Hydropac.........................................................412 I dolci di Orvieto...............................................420 I Love FY Frozen Yogurt..................................1164 Il Gelato di Ariela..............................................784 Inka Snacks.......................................................143 Inverawe Smokehouses............................620 Island Bakery Organics......................................520 J E Wilson & Sons Ltd.......................................680 J&L Grubb........................................................615 James Chocolates.............................................286 James White Drinks Ltd...........................552 Jamones Juan Pedro Domecq ..........................630 JEAN HENAFF..................................................804 Jersey Dairy......................................................800 Joe & Seph's Gourmet Popcorn........................454 JUST OIL...................................................841 Kabuto Noodles...............................................833 Karimix UK Ltd........................................690

speciality & fine food fair Kent & Fraser...........................................833 Kent's Kitchen...................................................940 Kitchen Garden Foods Ltd.......................871 Koppert Cress B.V.............................................301 K Shocolat........................................................572 Kuching Herbal...........................................14 L'Orchidee Specials Ltd.....................................169 La Bandiera Limited.................................210 La Brasserie Historique de l'Abbaye du Cateau 925 La Fromagerie..........................................153 La Mare Vineyards Ltd......................................259 La Panzanella, LLC............................................913 La Tua Pasta......................................................237 LA VALDOTAINE SRL......................................825 Lactacores, UCRL.............................................685 Lakeland Computers Systems Ltd.........1070 Lakenham Creamery Limited..................456 Lane Farm Country Foods.......................452 Larchwood Foods Ltd ......................................546 Laura's Chocolates......................................92 Lawncourt Harvest Ltd (Munchy Seeds)............549 Le Chocolate....................................................171 Le Mesurier's Ltd............................................1152 Leigh Farm............................................................1 Les 2 Marmottes.................................................09 LES BIERES DU GRAND ST. BERNARD..........825 Les Vergers d'Escoute.......................................969

Lewis & Cooper Ltd.................................534 Link Print & Packaging Ltd..................................975 Little Devil........................................................833 Little Melton Gourmet Yogurt...........................450 Little Rose Bakery Ltd.............................644 Little's Ltd.........................................................411 Lizzie''s Hand Made..........................................633 London Condiment Co. Ltd.............................156 LPV International...............................................538 Lucullus...........................................................1060 Luscombe Organic Drinks........................121 Lyme Bay Winery..................................755/k Madrona Speciality Foods..................................225 Make Us A Brew Tea Company Ltd..................939 Mamore Boucherie & Charcuterie....................620 Mangajo Drinks Company.................................638 Manor Chocolates............................................183 Maxim's de Paris SAPP......................................356 Maximacs Ltd....................................................316 Maynard House Orchards Apple Juice.............1170 Mediterranean Direct..............................262 Mellas Fudge . ..................................................615 Midfields Granola................................................88 Mileevin Fine Foods..........................................615 Monte Porrino .................................................530 Moo Free Chocolate.........................................475 Mother's Garden.........................................02

Vol.12 Issue 8 路 September 2011

43


‘Sin’ - The gluten free chocolate brownie and cake range made with passion that delivers on taste and quality. Dairy free also available. Samples and information available on Stand 82. Gluten Free Goodies Limited Tel: 020 8304 3884 / 07596 016804 www.glutenfreegoodies.co.uk

Real JerseyLuxury

SOFT MIX & SCOOP ICE CREAM

Jersey Dairy Luxury Ice Cream comes from Pedigree Jersey Cows on the Island of Jersey, free from artificial flavours and preservatives.

Now available through wholesale UK and Northern Ireland.

500ml

125ml

CMYK VERSIONS

Contact Liam Whelan, Export Sales Manager on 01534 818545 or Email: liam.whelan@jerseydairy.je • www.jerseydairy.je

44

September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8

PANTONE VERSIONS


preview

speciality & fine food fair

Mrs Heskeths....................................444, 544 Mummy's Yummies.........................................1137 Mums Exotic Sauces.......................................1182 My Cup of Tea UK Ltd......................................230 Natasha''s Living Kitchen....................................615 National Association For The Speciality Food Trade, Inc. ( N.A.S.F.T)................................................256 National Farmers' Union.................................1062

New English Teas Ltd......................................1016 New Vision Packaging Limited...........................971 New York Delhi................................................270 Newby Teas (UK) Ltd...............................876 Nisi's..........................................................139 Nudo Ltd.......................................................1045 Nutty Tarts Gifts & Goodies Ltd........................152 Odysea Ltd................................................917

Ogilvys.......................................................505 Olives Et Al............................................645/a Orchard Pig......................................................833 Orexis Fresh Foods Ltd.....................................801 Organico Realfoods......................1059, 1063 Original Beans...................................................833

New to the show: Asiri Foods

Secrets of Sri Lanka A visit to Asiri Foods’ booth will surely be an education for most visitors – Sri Lankan has to be one of the lesser known Asian cuisines in the UK. However, sauce and condiment producer Asiri Foods is on a mission to change that – it has secured a listing with its local Waitrose, made it to the finals of several business awards, won a bursary to exhibit at the BBC Good Food Show and featured in The Guardian – all since it was founded a year ago. The Malvern-based business hopes to gain exposure for its chutneys and pickles at the SFFF as well as launching a range of sauces that are ‘low fat, quick to prepare and with a very authentic flavour’. “I am therefore looking for a larger customer base and some distributors,” says Asiri Hall.

Hall is the company’s chef. Before founding Asiri Foods with her husband and two sons, she worked for a food industry multi-national. However, she says it is only since starting her own business that she’s realised what a good cook she is. There are two cooking sauces in the new range: a tomato-based sauce and a curry sauce with 68% yogurt. Both contain a blend of Sri Lankan spices and ingredients, including coriander, cumin, ginger, fennel, cinnamon, mustard seeds, cardamom, curry leaves, cloves, turmeric and garlic. The sauces will come in two jar sizes – one providing two servings and the other designed for a family of four. There are more details in our Shelf Talk section, but the RRP will be £2.50 for the smaller jar

and £3.95 for the larger one. At the SFFF, the company will also be pushing its Brinjal Pickle, Spicy Beetroot & Orange Chutney, Spicy Pineapple & Walnut Chutney and Rhubarb Date & Cranberry Chutney. www.asirifoods.co.uk

Olives Et Al eat more and live very happily

Pistachio Ice Cream

Honeycomb Crunch Ice Cream

Liquorice Ice Cream

Mandarin, Lime & Basil Sorbet

“The best bought ice cream available” James Martin featured our Honeycomb on Saturday Kitchen, declaring it to be the best bought ice cream available”

Simply Ice Cream is lovingly hand made in the heart of rural Kent, using only the very best and freshest local ingredients. The result is intensely indulgent and unlike any ice cream you will have tasted before – simply heaven on a spoon!

T 01233 720922 M 07796 653890 E info@simplyicecream.co.uk www.simplyicecream.co.uk

Visit our website to see our award-winning flavours!

gold Everything that glitters is not gold. It just might be our Olives, Nuts, Sauces, Snacks and Dressings. Come and see our 14 Great Taste Gold 2011 Award Winners at the Speciality Fine Food Fair. Find us on stand 645/A in The Taste of the West Pavilion

We’d love to talk and see what we can do to help your business succeed. After all, it’s what we do.

01258 474300 sales@olivesetal.co.uk olivesetal.co.uk

Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

45


AWARD-WINNING SINGLE-ESTATE EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL

Award Winning Wines, Liqueurs and Ciders • Great Gifts • Complex wines • Delicious Tipples • Moreish treats

The Lyme Bay Winery is proud to present four new products for Christmas 2011 and the Speciality Show – • Gooseberry Sparkling Fruit Wine – a very special wine, available in limited supply. Complex and well balanced. • Quince Wine – a delicate wine with aromas of pears, lemon and honey. • Strawberry Liqueur – delicate strawberry indulgence intermingled with brandy. • Blueberry Reserve Liqueur – handmade in small batches using handpicked whole fruit, steeped on vodka with a small amount of sugar – a truly luxurious take on a new English favourite.

Discover La Bandiera Premium Olive Oil

Connoisseurs of olive oil will delight in tasting the exceptional extra virgin olive oil from La Bandiera. This delicious olive oil is produced in the traditional wine growing area of Bolgheri on the Tuscan coast – home of the Super Tuscan vineyards of Ornellaia and Sassicaia.

The team at La Bandiera continues to use the traditional methods of selecting the best time to harvest the olives to ensure the acidity level is low thereby creating the perfect blend. The result is a smooth yet full-bodied olive oil, endorsed by the IGP in recognition of its quality and origin. A recent winner in the 2011 Great Taste Awards, La Bandiera olive oil is available for delivery throughout the UK in sizes ranging from 250ml bottles up to 5 litre cans. Visit www.labandiera.eu or call 0207 243 5150

a on Vis & t th sta it u Fi e nd s ne Sp 4 Fo eci 34 od ali Fa ty ir

The Lyme Bay Winery, Shute, Axminster, Devon EX13 7PW Tel 01297 551 355 · sales@lymebaywinery.co.uk www.lymebaywinery.co.uk

• Rapeseed Oil • Infused Oils • Stir Fry Oil • Salad Dressings • Mayonnaises • Hollandaise Sauce • Sunflower Oil

Just Oil is produced by the Froggatt Family on their farm in Hill Ridware in the heart of Staffordshire. Anthony Froggatt and his family are the fourth generation to farm at Wade Lane Farm. The farm is part of the Countryside Stewardship Scheme and it has entered into a large and diverse selection of environmental schemes, including turning a large area back into marshland.

PROVENANCE, AUTHENTICITY, QUALITY

For more information call us on (01543) 493081 or email enquiries@justoil.co.uk

Winner of numerous awards from HEFF, RASE and Guild of Fine Foods

Just Rapeseed Oil Winner of Taste Category

Mustard, Chilli & Ginger Just Salad Dressing

Just Mayonnaise with Lemon Zest

Just Cold Oak-Smoked Rapeseed Oil

Just Rapeseed Oil

Our home grown potatoes are sliced with their skins on and batch cooked in our award winning cold pressed rapeseed oil. Rapeseed oil contains 35% less saturated fat than sunflower oil. Just Crisps are the latest addition to our growing range of Just products which includes our Just Cold Pressed Extra Virgin Rapeseed Oil, recently awarded two stars in the Great Taste Awards, and is grown, farmed and cold pressed on our farm in the heart of Staffordshire as well as a range of Infused Oils, a Stir Fry Oil, Salad Dressings, a Balsamic Dipping Oil, Mayonnaises and a Hollandaise Sauce.

September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8

!

46

EW

Visit us at the Speciality & Fine Food Fair on Stand 841 Alternatively you can call us on 01543 493081 or email us at enquiries@justoil.co.uk

N

Visit our website: For more information on our products, recipe ideas and for details of your local stockists, please visit our websites at www.justoil.co.uk and www.justcrisps.co.uk

Metro Drinks Limited, The Workshop, Endlewick House, Arlington, East Sussex +44 (0) 1323 485602 · info@metrodrinks.co.uk · www.folkingtons.com


preview Ouse Valley Foods....................................329 Pandora Bell......................................................615 Pariès................................................................869 Pasta Rotini & Rubini.........................................420 Pastapiù............................................................420 Pasticceria Grilli.................................................420 Paxton & Whitfield................................ 755/c Pazzaglia Italian Pastry Shop...............................420 PEBEYRE SAS...................................................821 Pelagonia............................................................42 Pensiero Diverso Ltd......................................1127 PENTIC PRICE TICKETING....................937 Peppersmith......................................................207 Perles de Gascogne..........................................969 Perry Court Farm............................................1138 PESCADOS PCS S.L .......................................630 Peter Popple’s Popcorn..............................18 PIMENTO HILL.................................................50 Pink’s Organics...........................................62 Pipers Crisps Ltd......................................634 Plush Chocolates..............................................387 Ponteggia Winery..............................................420 Potted Game Company......................................76 Potts Partnership.............................................1144 PRECOCINADOS FUENTETAJA ....................630 Prestat..............................................................276 Primera Technology Europe..............................217

speciality & fine food fair Products from Spain Ltd..................................1017 Providence Organics Coffee............................1153 Puddings and Pies..................................755/h Pure Brazil .......................................................951 PURE Chocolate Truffles...................................190 Quex Foods......................................................547 Quick Crepes..............................................73 Quickes Traditional Ltd.........................645/e R H Packaging Ltd.............................................307 Radovan Petrovic..............................................159 RB Ceramics.......................................................54 RB Distribution Ltd...........................................117 REAL CONSERVERA ESPAÑOLA, S.L. ...........630 Red Star Chocolate...........................................181 REGIONE VALLE D'AOSTA..............................825 Reids of Caithness.............................................520 Remmerco.......................................................240 RENDEZ VOUS GASTRONOMIQUE.............804 Retail Computer Solutions.......................770 REVISAN IBERICOS ........................................630 Rhug Estate.............................................. 625, 725 Ribbons and Cakes...........................................174 Ringden Farm Apple Juice Ltd............................338 RJF Farhi Limited...............................................380 Rococo Chocolates...........................................375 Rod & Bens...............................................333 ROSE PRESSION.............................................821

ROUZAIRE SA.................................................713 Rude Health ....................................................214 S.A BRUNET....................................................821 Safety & Hygiene Management Ltd...................161 Salcombe Dairy (UK) Ltd...............................755/b Salento (UK) Ltd...............................................600 Samways Fine Food Distribution.............415 Sapphire Brands Ltd..........................................349 SARL Bardjem Import/ Export.........................1081 SAS VALETTE...................................................821 SAVEURS ET NATURE.....................................713 Scarlet Bakes.....................................................640 Scianca salami factory........................................420 Scotland Food & Drink..................... 620, 612, 520 Scrumshus Granola Ltd.......................................41 Seggiano....................................................980 Serious Pig......................................................1114 Seven Refrigeration.........................................1186 Shellfish De La Mer...........................................615 Shelton Imports..............................................1118 Sherston Tea Company..........................1133 Shetland Products.............................................620 Shire Foods East Anglia Limited.......................1004 Shortbread House of Edinburgh..............612 Simple Simons Perfect Pies................................612 Simply Distribution Ltd....................................1029 Simply Ice Cream Ltd............................1029

Add some Spanish flavour to your Christmas selections...

We smoked salmon for the state dinner at Dublin Castle on the occasion of the Queen’s visit to Ireland 2011

Delicioso offers a wide range of gourmet Spanish products, from hams and charcuterie to sweets, biscuits and some great gift ideas, with no minimum order and UK-wide delivery See us on stand 468 at the fair or contact us on 01865 340055 for more information

Speciality Importer of the Year 2008 telephone 01865 340055 | info@delicioso.co.uk | www.delicioso.co.uk

Award Winning Burren Smoked Irish Organic Salmon. Supplying Speciality Food Shops Worldwide. Visit us on Stand 288 London Speciality & Fine Food Fair. www.burrensmokehouse.ie

T: + 353 65 7074432 M: +353 87 822 4173 F: +353 65 7074303 Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

47


* Traditionally matured on spruce boards

A distinctive nutty taste with a sweet finish Suitable for vegetarians Gold Award for Hard cheese suitable for vetegarians at the International Cheese Awards, 2010 For more information, contact Jerome Reignier jreignier@entremont.com - Tel. 07929418672

Avery Berkel XT Scales incorporating ‘Dimension Pro’ Software XT is designed to provide all the functionality specialist retailers demand from a PC system scale. Coupled with ‘Dimension Pro’ software, this will provide the complete POS and back-office solution for the independent food retailer. • Invoices, Statements & Delivery Notes • Stock Control • Sales Reports & Margin Analysis • Customer Price Lists • Shelf-Edge Labelling

‘Dimension Pro’ Software

Visit u Stand 9s on 03 Contact us: South Coast Systems on 01825 732497 orders@southcoastsystems.co.uk 48

September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8


preview Slovene Food....................................................313 Snowdonia Cheese Company Ltd....625, 725 Solleys Farms Ice Cream Ltd...........................1080 Sopexa............................................ 821, 804, 713 SOPEXA...........................................................804 South Coast Systems...............................903 Speciality Breads.............................................1089 Speciality Food Magazine.................................1125

speciality & fine food fair Speciality Food Traders Ltd................................606 Spencerfield Spirit...........................................1108 Spice Mountain...................................................32 Spicentice Ltd.................................................1040 ST ROCH SRL.................................................825 Stoats Porridge Bars Ltd....................................620

Stokes Sauces (Essfoods).........................671 Subhi Jabri & Sons.............................................506 Sugargrain Free From Bakehouse......................155 Suma Wholefoods Limited.......................437 Sussex Gold......................................................841 Sweet Creations...............................................487

New to the show: I Love FY

A cool customer

tried it, their perceptions of frozen yogurt were immediately changed. “I Love FY is unlike any other frozen yogurt on the market. It’s not fat-free but it’s lower fat than ice cream. It’s almost a hybrid - a frozen yogurt with the creamy decadence of ice cream but with significantly less fat and fewer calories. It’s set to change the way that people see frozen yogurt.” Diamond believes there is a real opportunity to develop the frozen yogurt market in the UK, which, she says, is small in comparison to other European countries.

A AW RD

ud

dp

-2 010

44 j

ge

The SFFF is seen as a platform “to convince influential distributors and buyers to supplement their existing ranges with something a bit different”. I Love FY is gluten-free, suitable for vegetarians and has no artificial colours or flavourings. It is available in 100ml and 500ml tubs, with an RRP of £1.79 and £4.99. It is initially launching in four flavours: Berry Believe It, Vanilla But Thina, The Chocoholic’s Choice and The Honeycomb Effect, and they are already working on new flavours. www.ilovefy.com

S

24

Since starting up last May, frozen yogurt business I Love FY has done several consumer shows but this year’s SFFF is the first time it has taken its ‘decadent’ frozen yogurts to a trade audience. “We spent much of last summer attending festivals and fairs with the aim of gaining feedback on the taste and branding of our frozen yogurt,” says Mandy Diamond, head of business development at Somerset-based I Love FY. At these shows one of the challenges was persuading consumers who had previously tried fat-free, natural tasting frozen yogurts to sample their ‘luxury’ frozen yogurt. “People would walk past our stand, thinking they didn’t like frozen yogurt,” says Diamond. “Once they

roducts 200

1

MUSTARD SEED OILS THE HEALTHY OILTERNATIVE

65% LESS

Saturated Fat than Olive Oil

150% MORE

Omega 3 than Olive Oil TWO Award-Winning varieties High in Vitamin E High Smoke point Kosher Certified

Full details can be seen @ www.uncleroys.co.uk/brochure/index.html Or call us - 01683 221076 Or see us - SFF Stand 612/14 Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

49


Pink Salt from “the Salt Seller” Every body needs whole salt!

“the Salt Seller” is run by Lenni Smith and it is one of the most successful natural salt brands in the UK, her pink salt is now a favourite with trade buyers across the country . . . it's brand benefits are many:

Eco-friendly – paper labels and printing ink, compostable 300g bags

and it's pink too!!

the Salt Seller Ltd The Salt House, 24 Foley Estate, Hereford, HR1 2SF. Tel: 01432 355 136 Mob: 07828 046 616 sales@thesaltseller.co.uk www.thesaltseller.co.uk For Volume Food Service and Manufacturing visit: www.salariumargentum.co.uk

Handmade with passion

embellish with relish

TM

Winner of over

40 Great Taste

Awards

Speciality Producer of the Year

Suitable FOR: • vegetarians • vegans • coeliacs FREE from: • artificial flavours • colourings • preservatives • gluten • nuts

T: +44 (0)1628 520 927 E: enquiries@originalcandyco.com W: www.chocca-mocca.com

50

015394 36614 info@hawksheadrelish.com The Square, Hawkshead, Cumbria, UK LA22 ONZ

NO minimum order

www.hawksheadrelish.com

September 2011 · Vol.12 Issue 8 Fine Food World 100 x 141.5mm issue: July 2011-V12i7


preview Sweet Freedom........................................541 SweetiLicious....................................................172 Taifas SA...........................................................253 Tartuflanghe......................................................847 Taste of the West Ltd .645, 645/a, 645/c, 645/d, 645/e, 645/f, 743, 743/a, 743/b, 743/c, 743/d, 755, 755/b, . 755/c, 755/d, 755/e, 755/f, 755/g, 755/h, 755/j, 755/k Taylor Davis Ltd................................................502 Taywell Ice Creams Ltd..........................1085 Tea Ltd.............................................................931 Team Vale Sàrl..................................................185 teapigs Limited.......................................1034 TEGOLERIA ARTIGIANALE VALDOSTANA.....825 Tentazioni uk ltd................................................955 Teoni's Cookies.................................................833 Terra Natura...................................................1119 Terra Rossa.............................................1117 The Teashed.....................................................112 The African Biscuit Company Ltd.........1160 The Artisan Bakery................................1134 The Awfully Posh Snack Company..........158 The Bay Tree Food Company..................833 The Burren Smokehouse..................................615 The Carved Angel..................................1014 The Cornish Jute Bag Company........................334 The Country Victualler............................551 The Cracking Good Food Company..........46 The Dessert Depot..........................................612 The Devon Cream Company...................216 The Dorset Ginger Company........................755/g The Fine Cheese Co. ......................................560 The Fine Confectionery Company Ltd..............480 The Fresh Olive Company................................776

speciality & fine food fair The Fresh Pasta Company.......................325 The Garlic Farm.....................................1044 The Gift of Oil...........................................109 The Ginger Pig..................................................944 The Gourmet Chocolate Pizza Co....................175 The Grown Up Chocolate Company...............473 The Handmade Fudge Shop..........................645/c The Holywell Water Company Ltd...................180 The InkREADible Label Company.........1148 The Kandula Tea Company....................1166 The London Tea Company Ltd................347 The Metropolitan Tea Company Ltd.................234 The Original Candy Co...........................1025 The Original Drinks & Food Co Ltd..................314 The Pantry / Mounat Al Barakah........................771 The Patchwork Traditional Food Co.......625 The Real Champagne Company.......................114 The Tomato Stall.............................................1140 The Topping Pie Company.......................531 The Tracklement Co Ltd.......................755/e The Village Workshop.....................................1141 The Walnut Tree.............................................1159 The Wooden Spoon..................................320 THOMAS-EXPORT.........................................713 Thursday Cottage Ltd..............................885 TIANA Fair Trade Organics Ltd.........................308 Tilly Confectionery Ltd......................................520 Tini Pastries.......................................................420 Tom's Pies......................................................743/d Total Food Marketing...............................725 Totally Terroir Ltd....................................108 Treflach Farm..................................................1143 Tri River Foods Ltd............................................212

Trioni Ltd..........................................................625 Troots Ltd...........................................................72 Truffle Corner...................................................149 Truffle Hunter...................................................167 Tubby's Packaging................................................58 TUXEDOPRUGNO Ltd...................................879 Tyrrells Potato Chips................................544 Uncle Roys Comestible Concoctions.......612 Une Normande a Londres Ltd........................1076 Union Hand-Roasted Coffee..................1037 Vallebona Ltd....................................................601 Valnerina Tartufi ...............................................420 Vanillabazaar.com................................................80 Veru Truly Sicilian.......................................16 Very Food.........................................................809 Villanova Food Ltd....................................859 Virginia Health Food Ltd....................................615 Vita Coco.......................................................1084 Walkers Shortbread Ltd..........................620 WBC Ltd...................................................408 Welsh Government................................. 725, 625 Wenlock Spring.................................................544 Wicks Manor Farm............................................445 William Reed Business Media............................894 William Santus & Company Limited...................736 Willie's World Class Cacao................................279 Wimblehurst Chocolates...................................186 Your Piece Baking Company....................520 Yum Yum Bros Food Co.................................1038 ZaraMama Popcorn..................................833 Zaytoun CIC......................................................08 Zotter Schokoladen Manufaktur GmbH............586

New to the show: Galeta

Smart cookies

Don’t be fooled by the name: Galeta isn’t a Spanish biscuit maker – or a Turkish one for that matter. Cofounders Ben Stone and Joe Bevan “just liked the name”. The West London company does sell Portuguese custard tarts (‘Pastis de Nata’ and ‘Galeta Nata’), which are made for Galeta by a Portuguese chef, but the rest of its range will be more familiar to the majority of show-goers. All Galeta’s products are handmade fresh each day by a partner bakery and include eight varieties of cookies (Strawberries & Cream, Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chip & Hazelnut, Triple Chocolate, White Chocolate Chip & Cranberry, Oat & . Raisin, Toffee & Pecan and Double Chocolate), Chocolate Brownie, Chocolate Tiffin and Lemon Drizzle Cake. The business has only been going since February, so 2011 marks its first appearance at the SFFF, but Stone and Bevan are no newcomers to the industry - they both worked at the same bakery company before deciding to go it alone. “Our business started with one weekly market stall at Partridges Food Market in Chelsea,” recalls Bevan. “We now have eight markets each week including Barnes farmers’ market, Oval farmers’

market, Brunswick farmers’ market and St Katharine Docks Good Food Market. In addition to this we supply around 40 delis across London, as well as some restaurants.” By exhibiting at the Speciality & Fine Food Fair, Bevan says they are looking to increase their base of clients both inside and outside the capital. “We currently bake and deliver fresh every day, with two vans zipping in and out of London; the SFFF should give us a chance to expand on this and meet other business owners from London and further afield.” Galeta says it will be sampling freshly baked cookies and treats throughout the fair and will definitely have some new cookies and tray-bakes to show. “One of our main focuses has been developing part-baked cookies that we . are keen to demonstrate at the SFFF. These will enable us to supply customers further afield with our products, as they can be frozen and stored at their convenience,” . says Bevan. www.galeta.co.uk Vol.12 Issue 8 · September 2011

51


SFFF2011