Page 23

Football The 2012 Snow College Football Team finished with a record of 11-1 and was ranked third nationally following a 47-21 win over previously undefeated ASA College of Brooklyn, New York, in the inaugural Carrier Dome Bowl played in Syracuse, New York. The Badgers were undefeated in conference play in the Western States Football League (WSFL) for the first time since 2008. Running back Breon Allen became the first Badger to ever lead the nation in rushing with 1,632 yards, and he also led the nation with 20 rushing touchdowns. Allen was named as the WSFL’s Most Valuable Offensive Player and FirstTeam National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) All-American. He 20 1 3 | S N OW CO L L EG E M AG A ZI N E

has committed to play next year at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina. Defensive end Ofa Hautau joins Allen on the NJCAA All-American First Team and was a unanimous pick as the WSFL’s Most Valuable Defensive Player of the Year. Ofa will be playing next year for Oklahoma State University, while his brother, Siale Hautau, another standout on the Badger defensive line, will play for Oregon State University in the PAC-12. Defensive end Jake Miller (third nationally with 13 sacks) was Honorable Mention All-American, and along with the Hautau brothers, was part of the Badger defense that led the nation in sacks (67) and safeties (8). Offensive lineman Justin Manu was named NJCAA First Team All-Ameri-

can and will be heading to North Texas State in the fall. Punter Chris Van Orden finished second in the nation in punting average (40.8 yards per punt) and was named NJCAA Second Team All-American. Wide receiver Damond Powell was fourth nationally with 1,231 yards on 41 receptions (leading the nation with an average of 30.0 yards per catch) and was third nationally with 14 receiving touchdowns. Powell was named Honorable Mention All-American and has committed to play next year at the University of Iowa in the Big 10. A school record 11 Badgers were named to the WSFL All-Conference First Team, including Allen, Powell, Manu, Miller, Van Orden, Ofa Hautau, E.J. Pauni, Thomas Bryson, Nik Wolford, Kapena Clark, and Spencer Groner. Quarterback Chris-


2013 snowcollegemag 8 29 final  
2013 snowcollegemag 8 29 final  

Fall 2013 Snow College Magazine