Issuu on Google+

Annual

Review

2010 -11

www.dudleycol.ac.uk


Annual Review 2010 -11

Principal’s

Welcome In the midst of these challenging times, I’m extremely proud to report that 2010-11 has been a great year for Dudley College. We were delighted to receive a number of national awards, which highlight some of the excellent work of our learners and staff. Winning the British Colleges for Sport College of the Year 2011, Student of the Year 2011, National Growing the Game Award (football) 2011 alongside and the National Union of Students Awards 2011 for FE Students’ Union of the Year and FE Student Unionist of the Year certainly gave us cause to celebrate. Across the college learner success rates rose again, along with levels of learner satisfaction, which are the highest they’ve ever been. The quality of our work with employers was also recognised as we achieved the Training Quality Standard, a kite mark for excellence in employer partnerships and skills development. However, we are constantly looking for ways to improve the training we offer to local and regional businesses. We significantly grew the number of young people and adults following apprenticeships in the workplace. For unemployed adults, our employability programmes helped many individuals facing redundancy, or recently made redundant, back into work. I am justifiably proud of all that the college has achieved over the last year and delighted to be able to share our successes with partners, stakeholders and the local community. 2012 is going to be a very exciting year for the college with more to celebrate as we open new buildings, welcome more learners to the college and move confidently into the future.

Lowell Williams Principal

1


Annual Review 2010 -11

Chair’s

Welcome Welcome to our Annual Report outlining another successful year for the college. I must begin by congratulating the many thousands of learners who have achieved success with Dudley College over the last year, and also, of course, our dedicated staff who have worked so effectively with them. Looking forward, the future will be challenging but we are confident that Dudley College can continue to build on the high standards we have set ourselves. And, with Dudley Evolve and Dudley Sixth on track to open this September, alongside improvements to the Broadway Campus, our learners will be studying in world-class facilities. The development of the Dudley Learning Quarter is a real expression of our ambition for excellence in all that we do. As we consolidate our provision in Dudley town centre in new buildings, we will make a real contribution to the regeneration of the Borough. As well as thanking our staff for their efforts, I also recognise the contribution of the Principal and his Senior Management Team as well as my colleagues on the College’s Governing Body (the Corporation) who give so generously of their time.

John Freeman

2


Annual Review 2010 -11 About Us Welcome to this, our latest Annual Report. I hope that it gives you a clear picture of the progress and achievements that we have made over the last twelve months, as well as a true insight into life here at Dudley College.

Vision Our vision for the future is: By 2014 we will be recognised locally, regionally, nationally and internationally as a provider of high quality, successful education and skills training. Dudley College will be known as ‘a great place to study and work’. Success rates will be high and above national averages at all levels and for all ages. Teaching will be routinely good, and very often outstanding. Learners and staff alike will report high levels of satisfaction with the college, certainly above averages for the sector and in line with the ‘best in class’ in the public and private sector. Ofsted, and others, will report that Dudley College is outstanding. This vision has been enacted in our updated mission statement.

Our mission: outstanding learning which develops skills, raises aspirations and changes lives. Values In achieving our aims and in delivering our mission we will: • • • • •

Put the learner at the heart of all we do. Act with integrity and mutual respect. Communicate clearly and openly. Value each and every individual. Recognise innovation and success.

• Support and encourage team working. • Be a model of good equality and diversity practice. • Reduce the college’s impact on its environment.

3


Annual Review 2010 -11 Our five strategic priorities: To focus ourselves in taking the next steps, we have identified five key strategic priorities that underpin our mission and that will drive our operational actions. • Priority One – A culture of high expectations, high achievement. • Priority Two – Towards an outstanding college. • Priority Three – Curriculum innovation. • Priority Four – Effective employer engagement. • Priority Five – Investing in our people. Our strategic priorities translate into a set of objectives which on achievement will ensure our local community recognises Dudley as a proactive college which serves their needs and supports the economic, social and personal development of local people. Our learners will comment that our provision is welcoming and inclusive. The commitment we made in our strategic plan 2009-14 to be operating from new, inspirational buildings fit for education in the 21st Century is starting to be realised. June 2010 saw the granting of planning permission for the new vocational building ‘Evolve’ for which construction work started in June. ‘Evolve’ is the first visible sign of the creation of our new campus, the Dudley Learning Quarter.

Our plans for a dedicated 6th Form Centre are also advanced; planning permission was granted in September, and site work commenced in October. Dudley Sixth will be a new beacon of aspiration for the north, centre and west of the borough giving learners a real choice regarding A level provision. Both buildings will be open in September 2012. Employers are recognising the college as a key partner in driving their business performance and meeting their skills needs. Our services to employers are now flexible, responsive and effective and the college’s income from employer responsive provision is now a big proportion of overall income. The college has made significant progress in contributing to regeneration strategies, and champions collaborative initiatives, working to address the skills challenge in the Black Country and the wider West Midlands. We continue to work closely with our local schools, community and voluntary organisations, franchise partners and business intermediaries.

4


Annual Review 2010 -11

A Great

Year!

r us o f r a e y t a n a gre e e b s a h 1 2010-1

Key outcomes: • Success rates overall for college based learners continue their upward trend, and are above benchmark for all ages and all levels. • Teaching and assessment across the college is the best ever, with 82% of staff achieving ‘good’ or ‘outstanding’ grades. • Our Students’ Union won 2 national awards: National Student Unionist of the Year, and Student Union of the Year. • Our Sports teams won 3 national awards from British Colleges Sport (BCS): College of the Year 2010-11, Student and Volunteer of the Year 2010-11, and National Growing the Game Award (football) 2010-11. • Learner satisfaction surveys show that overall satisfaction levels have further improved and compare favourably with the top 25% of colleges in several areas. • Retention rates have further improved, especially for young people. • Ofsted awarded us a grade of ‘good with some outstanding features’ for care and support/welfare of residential learners. • We achieved the Training Quality Standard – a kite mark for quality of work with employers. • Customer Service Excellence accreditation has been maintained. • Very positive feedback from BTEC through the annual quality development review process. • Performance management arrangements are an outstanding feature of our Human Resources strategy. • All business support teams achieved (or are working towards) accreditation to customer service standards. • We provided valuable work experience for West Midlands graduates and Future Jobs Fund trainees. • Two college conferences ensured that staff have a good understanding of our priorities and the contributions they make to ensure our ambitions are realised. • Equality Impact Assessment screening of policies and procedures has proved the inclusive approach of our operations. • More learners than ever before engaged with the enrichment programme, so developing personal skills, improving health and wellbeing, and making a positive contribution to society. • Our learner recruitment strategy continues to attract more learners from a Black and Minority Ethnic background than would be expected, given our local population demographic profile. • We have strengthened our ‘safeguarding of learners’ arrangements. 5


Annual Review 2010 -11 • Work on our new vocational building ‘Evolve’ in Tower Street started, and is on target to open in September 2012. • A new Employment Hub was opened, providing a much needed resource for the local community. • A dedicated ‘Energy Training Hub’ has been launched, providing bespoke training for the construction/energy industries. • Reception and coffee shop facilities at Broadway have been completely refurbished, providing fresh and welcoming facilities for all. • Outstanding financial health has been maintained. • We met all our funding targets. • We diversified our income strands to reduce dependency on the Skills Funding Agency and the Young People’s Learning Agency funding. Our diverse curriculum has been maintained, both in terms of academic and vocational subjects, aimed at meeting the needs of both young people and adults, and employers and local communities. The curriculum was particularly strong in the areas of:

• • • •

A Levels Access Business Studies and Retail Construction and Environmental Technologies • Creative and Performing Arts • Engineering • English for Speakers of Other Languages

• • • • • • • •

Hair and Beauty Health & Social Care Humanities Public Services Skills for Life Sport Teacher Training Work Based Learning.

12 new products were developed this year to enable us to meet very specific training needs identified by local employers, adults and young people.

6


Annual Review 2010 -11 College structure Corporation The college is governed by a board of Corporation members made up of the Principal, 2 staff members, 2 learner members and 12 external members drawn from business, public sector, education and community backgrounds.The Corporation elects its own Chair and Vice Chair from among its members and had the following committees in 2010-11: Audit, Employer Responsiveness, Finance & Estates, Personnel, Remuneration, Search and Standards & Diversity.

q

Senior Management Team Lowell Williams, Principal, joined the college in March 2008. The day-to-day management of the college is organised through a Directorate, comprised of the Principal and five Directors: of Learning, Standards and Performance, Finance, Estates and Capital Projects and Personnel.

q

Academic Management The Academic Management Team is led by the Director of Learning, supported by four Assistant Directors of Learning. They are supported by seventeen Centre Managers and four Employer Programmes Managers, and together they are responsible for the delivery of teaching, learning and assessment across the whole curriculum. Staff have access to support from five Academic Mentors and eleven Subject Learning Coaches. In addition, ten Advanced Practitioners assure the quality and development of good practice in teaching and learning.

q

College Staff We directly employed around 700 teaching and business support staff. The college is fortunate in the adaptability and flexibility of this, its biggest esource. Managers had the opportunity to participate in bespoke programmes such as ‘Management in Action’. Academic staff had access to support from five Academic Mentors and eleven Subject Learning Coaches. In addition, ten Advanced Practitioners assured the quality and development of good practice in teaching and learning. The ‘Talent Recognition and Succession Planning’ programme introduced in 2009-10 has had a positive impact on staff progression.

7


Annual Review 2010 -11 Corporation members 2010-11

Mr Viv Astling Chair of the Corporation Retired Chief Executive of Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council. A former solicitor and learner of the college.

Served on: Finance & Estates Remuneration (Chair) Search Standards & Diversity (Chair) (Term of office ended 31 July 2011)

Dr Bryony Conway

Mr John Freeman

Dean of the School of Art & Design at the University of Wolverhampton. Specialist academic in Human Resource Management and Development.

Director of John Freeman Consulting Limited. Formerly Director of the React Programme for the Local Government Association.

Served on:

Audit Standards & Diversity (Deputy Chair) (Elected new Chair of the Corporation from 1 August 2011)

Finance & Estates Remuneration

Mr Peter Gardner

Mrs Sarah Heller

MBA, Chartered Manager – Chartered Management Institute. Engineering Performance Manager at Birmingham International Airport. Project Leader and Chair of St Michael's Community Project, West Bromwich. Former learner at Dudley College and engaged in lifelong learning.

Sarah is Director of Business Management for Microsoft Business Solutions Group. Previously she spent 2 years as Sales and Marketing Director for a small software and services company based in Wolverhampton.

Served on: Audit (Deputy Chair) Standards & Diversity

Served on: Employer Responsiveness (Deputy Chair) Personnel (Deputy Chair)

Served on:

Ms Kim Hughes Student Member Student Union President. Completed BTEC Level 3 Business – 2008 to 2010.

Served on: Audit Personnel Standards & Diversity

8


Annual Review 2010 -11 Corporation members 2010-11

Mr Mushtaq Hussain

Mr Ray Lambourn

Mr Tony Lucas

Manager in local government, finance department. Former elected member of Dudley Council (1990 to 2002).

Chartered Certified Accountant. Head of External Project Assurance at Birmingham City University. Formerly Head of Audit with Mutual One Limited.

Director of Advantage Early Growth Fund Limited, BLN Sponsors Limited and Lucas Interim Services Limited. Previously employed by the Nat West Group.

Served on: Personnel Search (Deputy Chair) Standards & Diversity

Served on:

Judith Moore

Ms Kate Mulleady

Internal auditor at Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council. Previously Area Manager and Internal Auditor for Post Office Counters Limited.

Runs an interim management and consultancy agency. Has over 15 years experience as a senior manager in FE colleges.

Served on:

Personnel (Chair) Search (Chair) Standards & Diversity

Audit (Chair) Remuneration (Resigned October 2011)

Audit

Served on: Employer Responsiveness (Chair) Finance & Estates (Deputy Chair) (Resigned October 2011)

Served on:

Miss Julie Payne Staff Member Appointed Staff Member (Support Staff). Hub Administrator.

Served on: Finance & Estates Personnel Search Standards & Diversity

9


Annual Review 2010 -11 Corporation members 2010-11

Mrs Christine Richards Staff Member Appointed Staff Member (Academic). Head of Centre, Sixth Form Studies and the Arts.

Served on:

Councillor Liz Walker Cabinet Member Children's Services, Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council.

Served on: Standards & Diversity

Finance & Estates Personnel Search Standards & Diversity

Mr Lowell Williams Principal Principal of Dudley College. Previously Principal of South Leicestershire College.

Served on: Employer Responsiveness Finance & Estates Personnel Search Standards & Diversity

Mr John Woodall Vice Chair of the Corporation Chartered Accountant. Previously Chief Executive of Training & Enterprise Council and Business Link, Dudley for 10 years.

Served on: Employer Responsiveness (Deputy Chair) Finance & Estates (Chair) Remuneration (Deputy Chair)

Mr David Lawson Student Member (Resigned 25.07.11)

Ms Taya Rudge-Robins Student Member (Resigned 31.10.11)

Served on:

Studying Business Administration Level 3. 2009/10 Student Union Student with Disabilities Officer.

Finance & Estates Standards & Diversity

10


Annual Review 2010 -11 Our new estate plans The college’s ambitious redevelopment plans are really underway! As the steel structure of Dudley College’s new vocational training centre, Dudley Evolve, starts to take shape, plans to establish a new Learning Quarter in Dudley Town Centre come closer to reality. Once complete Dudley Evolve will form part of a new campus in the centre of Dudley, offering learners from across the region access to unrivalled learning and skills development opportunities. Opening in September 2012, Dudley Evolve will house state of the art learning facilities for business, information technology, travel and tourism, sport, public services, performing arts, hair and beauty, media, graphics, art and design, along with a new stage school for performing arts, dance and music learners. The building will also offer the local community a range of new leisure amenities in the form of a gym, sports hall, hair and beauty salon and a theatre seating over 180 people. A further component of the Learning Quarter, also opening in September 2012, is the creation of a new dedicated A level centre, Dudley Sixth. Dudley Sixth will have an unashamed focus on academic excellence by offering level 3 and above learning opportunities for young people in fabulous new facilities, backed up by outstanding support and teaching. This development is unusual in that, whilst it is open to all post 16 learners, it is a partnership project involving five local schools who will work with the college in providing a seamless transition for learners who go on to study at A level. Dudley Sixth incorporates a specialist STEM Centre (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) which provides new facilities to support academic and vocational learning in the all important STEM subjects. Expansion of the college’s main site on the Broadway will complete the Learning Quarter, when a brand new high-specification Technology Centre with facilities for studies in construction, engineering, low carbon technologies, motor vehicle, lean manufacturing and high value engineering, opens in 2015. To find out more about Dudley College’s exciting plans visit www.dudleycol.ac.uk

11


Annual Review 2010 -11

Experience the Dudley Learning Quarter

Brand new for September 2012, Dudley Learning Quarter will create a dedicated campus for learners right at the heart of town. Packed full of great facilities, social spaces and exciting technology, it will provide the very best to inspire learning, guarantee fun and ensure goals are achieved. 12


Annual Review 2010 -11

An inspiring new college for aspiring learners.

This new part of the college will have amazing facilities, top of the range equipment and lots of surprises – all geared to make learning fun and fulfilling. The first thing you’ll spot from the outside is a mix of modern and traditional buildings, with a state-of-the-art creation sitting comfortably next to the old fire station frontage. This mix of modern and traditional design extends all the way through the learning journey. By offering the option to learn time-honoured skills or study up-to-date techniques and processes, Dudley Evolve definitely has something for everyone!

13


Annual Review 2010 -11

Stimulating Discussion

Provoking Thought

Inspiring facilities for inspired minds. Love the smell of fresh paint and new carpet? The first intake at Dudley Sixth will get to study in brand new facilities, right in the heart of the Dudley Learning Quarter.

A new adventure. Dudley Sixth is a brand new A level centre serving all learners in the area. Opening in September 2012 for bright, motivated learners, it will offer AS and A level courses in fabulous new facilities, backed up with excellent support and teaching.

Dudley Sixth will have well equipped teaching rooms and laboratories as well computer zones and quiet, study-friendly support areas – there will also be plenty of space for relaxing during breaks. Dudley Sixth learners will also be able to take advantage of the other fantastic new facilities in the Learning Quarter including a theatre, sport and fitness centre, hair and beauty salon and coffee shop.

The town centre location makes Dudley Sixth easy to access, attracting many of the brightest learners in our region. Dudley Sixth is open to all. However, it is a partnership involving five local schools and Dudley College who will work together to provide a seamless transition for learners who go on to study at A level.

14


Annual Review 2010 -11 Financial Performance 2010-11 was yet again a financially challenging but successful year for Dudley College. The college achieved its funding targets for all of its major income streams, and saw a major increase in the performance of apprenticeship provision. As a result of this performance, and by taking further cost savings measures, the college produced an underlying operating surplus of £1,112,000 (after accounting for extraordinary restructuring costs). The financial position for the coming year is likely to be more challenging however, as the effects of the Government’s public sector spending cuts take hold.

Income & Expenditure In the last financial year, we achieved the following: • Overall income reduced by £242,000, mainly as a result of a reduction in Funding Council Grants of £118,000, with a smaller reduction in tuition fees and education contracts and a small reduction in other income. • Expenditure costs relating to staff costs, reduced by slightly over £1 million and there was a minor reduction in interest costs relating to pension provision.

Fixed and Current Assets The college continues to carefully manage its investment in fixed assets. Significant investment has been made in upgrading many facilities, particularly in the remodelling and enhancement of refurbished reception and coffee shop areas at the Broadway site. In addition several areas have been remodelled to allow dedicated areas for apprenticeship workshops and job search activities to expand, as these areas continue to grow in importance within the college. Our estates strategy has continued to develop over the past year with significant progress made with regard to our new vocational centre, ‘Dudley Evolve’ in Tower Street. Building work is well underway and remains on target to be completed in readiness for September 2012 intake. Our professional design team continues to work with us to enable the other elements of the strategy to become a reality. Formal borrowing consent and planning permission has also been received for the new Dudley Sixth Form Centre, and work is due to begin on site in November 2011.

15


Annual Review 2010 -11 Our Financial Performance 2010-11 College Income 2010-2011

Balance Sheet as at 31 July

Funding Councils Education Contracts Tuition Fees Other Income Investment Income

£27,621,000 £467,000 £894,000 £1,138,000 £90,000

TOTAL INCOME

£30,210,000

College Expenditure 2010-2011 Staff Teaching Costs Non Teaching Costs Premises Costs Depreciation Interest Payable

£19,967,000 £386,000 £5,706,000 £1,510,000 £1,556,000 £647,000

TOTAL INCOME

£29,772,000

Less: FRS 17 pension cost adjustments Underlying Operating Surplus (Before Taxation)

£674,000 £1,112,000

Financial Summary – Income and Expenditure for the Years Ended 31 July 2010 and 2011 2010/11 2009/10 £'000 £'000 Income Funding Council Grants Tuition fees and education contracts Other income Expenditure Staff costs Other operating expenses Depreciation and interest payable

27,621

27,739

1,361 1,228 30,210

1,448 1,265 30,452

19,967 7,602 2,203

21,007 7,439 2,317

29,772

30,763

2011 £'000

2010 £'000

23,833 2,683 3,980 23 30,519

24,176 3,022 1,073 26 28,297

607 4,210 4,817

1,565 8,705 10,270

2,646 32,690

3,945 34,622

1 1,628 8,021

2,381 1,665 9,937

Net Assets

23,040

20,639

Deferred capital grants Revaluation Reserve General Reserve Pension Reserve

2,961 11,443 16,657 (8,021)

2,919 11,687 15,970 (9,937)

Total Reserves

23,040

20,639

Fixed Assets Land and Buildings Equipment Under construction Intangible Assets Current Assets Debtors Investments and cash Liabilities Creditors Total assets less current liabilities Long Term Liabilities Creditors after one year Provisions Net Pension Liability

16


Annual Review 2010 -11 Developing our Staff Considerable investment in the training and updating of staff was undertaken this year, both through opportunities for individuals and teams and through whole college training/development days. The professional development of staff is one of the college’s key priorities, ensuring that they are well trained and equipped with the necessary skills to undertake their individual roles effectively and efficiently. The highlights of the staff development programme include: • • • • • • • • • •

69 members of staff undertook professional qualifications for teachers, lecturers and trainers 28 members of staff undertook higher qualifications (eg Degrees, HNC/Ds) A wide range of academic and vocational qualifications and non-certified development activities Training in the effective delivery of functional skills Customised development programme for all managers Talent recognition and succession planning training programme Mentoring training Internal Verification and Quality Assurance training Equality & Diversity and Customer Care training Risk Management, Health and Safety training.

e end ches at th a o C g in n ear Subject L aining. of their tr

17


Annual Review 2010 -11 In addition to this, six new initiatives were undertaken:

1

The ‘Aspiring Managers’ programme, which was designed to provide the practical skills and tools needed for staff aspiring to become the managers of the future.

2

Child Protection/Safeguarding training. Almost all staff completed level 1 training, 245 staff completed intermediate level training. Managers were trained in ‘Safer Recruitment in Education’ practices.

3

Training in ‘Effective HE teaching’. Staff teaching on HE programmes benefited from training by the author of ‘Effective Teaching in HE’ on current good practice.

4

The ‘Aspiring Advanced Practitioner’ programme. 14 staff from a range of curriculum areas, including 3 assessors, began training to enable them to become Advanced Practitioners.

5

Subject Learning Coach training. 12 staff from a range of curriculum areas, including 2 assessors, successfully completed Subject Learning Coach qualifications.The creation of this specialist pool of staff adds further strength to the support and development available to teachers and assessors.

6

Management in Action training. The initial management training programme ended in December 2010. Following consultation with managers, a rolling development programme was agreed to provide further or continuous development. Since May 2011 managers have undertaken regular related training.

There were also two whole-college conference days. The first of these focused on key processes to improve attention to detail to ensure the momentum of overall progress was maintained. The second conference was focused around best practice in ensuring high success, achievement and retention rates for learners. In total during 2010-11, the college invested around £420,000 in staff development and training.

18


Annual Review 2010 -11 Investors In People The college continues to maintain its efforts to improve in line with the requirements of the Investors in People standard. During 2010-11 we ensured that: • A revised organisational structure was implemented to take account of emerging customer needs. • Further investment in management training took place, including succession planning and extension of the Management in action programme. • Evaluation and further development of the Performance Management system took place. • Individual performance objectives were clear and linked closely to the organisation’s strategic aims. • Increased support and development was facilitated with the appointment of academic mentors, e-mentors and an Advanced Learning Coach team. • Systematic consultation with service users was further developed in conjunction with improved measurement of impact. • A Stress Audit was conducted to assess current stress levels and measure progress against previous findings.

Internal Quality Accreditation

College staff proudly showing off their HEH A

An internal quality standard ‘High Expectations, High Achievement’ (HEHA) was developed for business support staff to enable their level of performance in customer service to be formally recognised. During 2010-11 three teams received bronze level accreditation, three teams received silver level accreditation and one team became the first in the college to receive a gold level award. Other teams will be preparing submissions during 2011-12, including the original, pilot department who will be applying for re-accreditation. accreditation

Stakeholder Feedback Learners participated in externally administered induction and end of year surveys during 2010-11. Results show that satisfaction levels increased overall compared to the previous year, and in over half of the areas surveyed, the college performance is in the top 25% of similar (grade 2) colleges who use the same survey mechanism. Employer feedback was gained as part of the accreditation process for the achievement of the Training Quality Standard (TQS) and showed a high level of satisfaction with the quality of services we provide.

19


Annual Review 2010 -11 Equality & Diversity Our commitment to equality and diversity remains unchanged. Many events raise staff and learners’ awareness, for example Faith & Cultural Awareness, anti-bullying, safeguarding, mental health and sexual equality. Many events and workshops were supported by partners such as Summit House (AIDs charity), West Midlands Community Police, Dudley & Walsall Mental Health Trust.Very effective policies and procedures continue to ensure that no group within the learner or staff body is disadvantaged and that our inclusive approach is embedded in all that we do. A rolling programme of equality impact assessment of our activities is ongoing.

20


Annual Review 2010 -11 Investing in our community 2010-2011 Employment Hub The recently constructed Employment Hub is an exciting new facility set up to help both young people and adults into employment, providing services that include CV writing, interview techniques, application completion and job search activities. Visitors to the hub also have the opportunity to find out about current job vacancies and/or apprenticeship opportunities. Since it opened in the summer of 2011, over 300 ay campus ub at The Broadw H t en m oy pl enquiries have been received from employers and Em The new more than 150 apprenticeship vacancies have been filled. More than 500 people have been referred from job centres onto the employability programme that is run from the employment hub, studying provision such as fork lift truck operation, warehousing, administration, security and domiciliary care. Some of these career paths are identified skill shortage areas and often lead to sustainable employment.

We have done much work in 2010-11 with the waste management and recycling sector, helping a range of employees to gain qualifications where previously they had none. The added value of this to the employers we worked with is that they can now put forward bids for future and new work. The construction industry has been supported by the college again this year, enabling a range of suppliers and self employed individuals to gain/retain the CSCS card. This activity has helped individuals maintain their employability levels and also assisted companies to maintain best practice and competitiveness in the industry.

Wor king with th e lo

cal Borough Cou ncil to deliver was management quali te fications

Following the decision of the government to cut financial support to school leavers (EMA), we undertook to provide support with travel costs from our own resources and introduced a free bus pass scheme in September 2011, for 16-18 year old full-time learners.

‘Success to Employment’ Programme Working alongside partners such as Dudley Council and Future Skills Dudley, the college provided ten full time placements through the Future Jobs Fund initiative, providing individuals with valuable work experience and training that they had not previously had. The placements were in areas such as Estates and Premises, Conferencing and Business Administration. 21


Annual Review 2010 -11 Working with employers Our volume of work with employers has grown year on year, fulfilling our aim to help businesses add value by developing the skills and knowledge of their staff. In 2010-11 we worked with more than 800 companies, training in excess of 7,000 employees in a range of qualifications including NVQs assessed in the workplace, Apprenticeships and Advanced Apprenticeships. Partnership working with companies such as Walter Smith (butchery), UPS (logistics) and LEAD (lean manufacturing) has successfully widened opportunities for apprenticeships in these sectors that otherwise would not have been available. New qualifications were introduced with the most popular being the Waste Management Industry Training and Advisory Board qualifications. These included awards around the sustainable recycling areas which have proved very popular. Programmes delivered to the construction industry grew significantly, through working with numerous small companies on a wide range of disciplines. Phase 2 of a major project with Carphone Warehouse was launched which involved over 100 learners. The college achieved the much coveted Training Quality Standard in February 2011, demonstrating the high standard of our approach and commitment to meet the needs of employers.

enticeship Celebrating the Appr

ent campaign 100 in 100 recruitm

22


Annual Review 2010 -11 Our Curriculum We deliver our curriculum in a variety of ways, not only through traditional full-time and part-time courses but also increasingly through apprenticeships, advanced apprenticeships and work-based NVQs. Our diverse curriculum includes:

A Levels We offer over 30 different A Level subjects including Sciences, Humanities, Business, Arts and Language subjects. Last year we successfully introduced AS Geology which is now also available at A2 level. Yet more A Level subjects will be available in September 2012 with the development of Dudley Sixth.

Access to Higher Education Our Access courses give adults who have missed out on educational opportunities earlier in life, or those who are looking to change their career, the opportunity to gain qualifications which will allow them to enter Higher Education on a degree or HND course. The varied pathways offer opportunities to move on to higher education courses at a range of universities. Last year saw a growing demand for Healthcare Science.

Accounting Our accounting courses allow learners to progress from basic book keeping and computerised accounts through to a recognised Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT) accounting qualification at Level 4. The college is an AAT assessment centre.

Administration, Secretarial & IT The administration, secretarial and IT courses we offer provide general training in a range of areas, or allow for specialisation. They are suitable for those people just starting out or for those looking to progress their careers. All of the courses lead to nationally recognised qualifications and most offer work experience. We also deliver apprenticeships, advanced apprenticeships and NVQs at levels 1-4 in Business & Administration. These are delivered in the workplace and take 6-18 months to achieve depending on the level.

Animal Care Offered at level 2 and level 3, this course, run in conjunction with Brockswood Animal Sanctuary and Dudley Zoo, is proving immensely popular.

23


Annual Review 2010 -11 Business Studies Our business courses enable learners to gain a good understanding of the business and finance industry. We run courses to suit all abilities including National and Higher Certificate/Diplomas giving learners the chance to progress on to university or join a trainee management scheme. On our full-time courses we offer work experience and run a fully functioning convenience store which retail learners incorporate into their studies.

Childcare & Early Years These full-time and part-time and courses enable learners to develop personal and professional skills in their preferred vocational area, gain work experience with local employers and also provide them with the opportunity to progress on to university or a career in the Early Years sector. Our Early Years qualifications enable learners to specialise with children of selected age groups. Learners are prepared to work in a wide variety of settings, from nursery classes and infant schools to working abroad as a nanny. Alternatively, learners may chose to follow our apprenticeship route to gain employment and qualifications within the sector.

Computing & IT Substantial investment in training and equipment has helped to raise the quality of our IT provision at the college to meet the needs of learners and employers, by offering a range of industry recognised hardware and networking qualifications, including Cisco CCNA, A+ Computer Maintenance and Installation and the HNC/D in Computing. The quality of IT provision is of a standard that allows the development of high level vocational and academic skills. Programmes on offer begin at Entry Level 3 and offer progression to HND.

Construction We offer a number of full and part time construction programmes from entry 3 to level 4, covering both practical and theoretical elements. The vocations on offer include Brickwork, Carpentry, Plumbing, Plastering, Electrical Installation, Mechanical Services, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration. Apprenticeships are offered in Plumbing, Heating & Ventilation, Refrigeration & Air Conditioning, Plastering, Brickwork and Carpentry. All learners, including local school pupils have access to specialist training workshop areas equipped with some of the latest technology.

Employability Skills Our newly built employment hub is an exciting new facility that helps anyone looking for employment. This service offers support with CV writing, interview techniques, application completion and job search activities. Individuals also have the opportunity to find out about current job vacancies and/or Apprenticeships. In addition to the employment hub, our dedicated apprenticeship brokerage service works directly with employers, matching current job outcomes, along with training needs. Individual apprentices undertake a series of temporary assignments, receiving workplace training and assessment while working towards the apprenticeship framework. 24


Annual Review 2010 -11 Engineering Engineering is one of our key curriculum areas; we offer a wide range of engineering and technology courses, staffed by highly qualified and skilled engineering practitioners. We have invested substantially in new equipment and technology resources to enhance the learning experience for our learners. We offer work-based learning and full and part-time courses in Engineering at levels 1, 2, 3 and 4 including Electrical and Electronic, Electronics and Computing, Operations and Maintenance, Manufacturing and Motor Vehicle Studies.

English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL), English As A Foreign Language (EFL) We offer a wide range of English Language courses to both international and home learners, from Entry level to English for learners who wish to go to university. Classes are offered in college in specialist accommodation and in the community. Learners can study towards Cambridge exams and develop their listening, speaking, reading and writing skills. Our EFL provision generally concentrates on developing higher level English language skills for international learners who wish to go on to university.

Environmental Technologies We have recently been approved as a regional hub as part of the National Skills Academy for Environmental Technologies. We are currently delivering a range of courses in environmental technologies including solar thermal, photovoltaics and air & ground source heat pumps.

First Aid & Food Hygiene Our First Aid courses include programmes specifically for the workplace and for those working with children. Our recognised Food Hygiene qualifications are essential if food handling is likely to be a part of a job role in any sector of the food industry.

Gap Project We have developed a new pathway for young people not in education, employment or training which encompasses a wide range of support as well as offering the opportunity to gain qualifications in Construction, Hair & Beauty or Retail plus functional skills and Personal Social Development.

Hair & Beauty We offer a full range of vocational courses in both Hairdressing and Beauty Therapy. Learners have access to fully equipped salons and treatment areas. Learners treat clients under realistic working conditions. Regular demonstrations of the latest hairdressing and beauty techniques are provided by guest presenters. 25


Annual Review 2010 -11 Health & Social Care Learners can study a range of qualifications which include NVQ levels 2 and 3, and BTEC Awards, Certificate and Diplomas at levels 1-3. We also have NVQ apprenticeships and offer an Access to Higher Education – Nursing programme.

Independent Skills For Living & Learning These programmes are for young people and adults with learning difficulties and/or disabilities. They are designed to develop communication skills and confidence levels. There are six vocational pathways offered at Entry level, such as Animal Care, Horticulture, Hair & Beauty and Construction. Support is available to meet learner needs and prepare them for both work and mainstream study.

Management & Professional Qualifications Our Management & Professional courses offer a wide range of professional qualification pathways, encompassing many business-focused subjects: Personnel and Development, Leadership and Management, Credit Management, Accounting, Marketing and Purchasing & Supply. Learners can develop skills and improve career prospects, either within an existing career path, or in an entirely new direction. We offer courses from level 3 to level 5.

Music Performance We have increased the breadth of our media programmes by offering Music Technology and Music Performance National Diploma. These are specialist programmes that prepare learners for courses in performance and composition.

Performing Arts and Art, Design & Media Our Performing Arts and Art, Design & Media courses provide learners with a range of qualification pathways from level 1 through to higher level awards. Pathways include Fashion and Textiles, Photography, Graphic Design, Theatre Design, Drama, Dance, Music, Music Technology and Musical Theatre. This year has seen the highly successful introduction of a new BTEC in Computer Game Design. Our drama and performance learners have access to good studios and workshops and working with leading experts in these fields further adds to the experience for learners from both media and performing arts disciplines. In 2009/10 we introduced a Foundation degree in Musical Theatre running in conjunction with the University of Wolverhampton which attracted a lot of interest and has now seen its first graduates.

26


Annual Review 2010 -11 Public Services Popular with 16-18 year olds, these programmes are for anyone considering a career in the emergency services or armed forces. These courses require active participation in a range of fitness and outdoor related activities as well as academic studies. Qualifications range from level 1 to level 4 and are recognised in all public services.

Retail & Customer Service Our Customer Service NVQs at Level 1, 2 and 3 cover subjects such as understanding and delivering good customer service and dealing with customer complaints. Retail NVQs provide an insight into the principles and processes of retail and provide learners with an understanding of how to maximise sales and profit, good customer care, efficient stock control and merchandising. Apprenticeships at level 2 and 3 are available for both areas.

Skills For Life Skills for Life courses are for adults who would like to return to learning in order to improve their English, Maths and Study Skills. Courses are available to suit all levels of ability and learners work at their own pace in small groups. As well as general English and Maths classes, learners can join full-time level 1 and 2 pre-Access courses, which many use as a springboard to go on to Access programmes and university.

Sport The college offers an extensive range of sports related courses and through our Team Sports Programme which is affiliated to the British Colleges of Sport (BCS), learners have the opportunity to compete at a regional and national level. Our Team Sports Programme includes Basketball, Cricket, Endurance Sports, Football, Fitness, Netball, Volleyball and Racquets. Significant investment has ensured that learners have access to industry standard fitness equipment supported by fully qualified tutors.

Teacher Training We offer a range of courses for those involved in teaching and training. Courses are offered for Teaching Assistants in primary and secondary schools and for Learning Support Assistants in Basic Skills. We deliver the three latest qualifications required to teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector delivered under a partnership agreement with the University of Wolverhampton. We also run Assessor and Verifier awards.

Travel & Tourism These programmes are very popular with our 16-18 year old learners, and provide a basis for a career in the travel and tourism industry. Courses offer a broad range of skills to prepare learners for work in travel and tourism, such as ticketing, airline cabin crew and aviation. 27


Annual Review 2010 -11 Profile of our college based learners 2010-11 College based learner success rates The success rates for college based learners are calculated by the Skills Funding Agency using a nationally agreed methodology. This approach enables all training providers to be compared on a like for like basis against nationally derived success rates. For these learners, our success rates include all relevant programmes but exclude short and very short courses.

Success Rate of Young People • Success rate of young people is 81.3%. • Success rate of young people has improved steadily over the last three years. • Success rate of young people is 1.6% above the latest provider rate.

Success Rate of Adults • Success rate of adult learners is 77.3%. • Success rate of adult learners has improved by 3% since last year. • Success rate of adult learners is 0.2% above the latest provider rate.

28


Annual Review 2010 -11 What did our college based learners study? The chart below shows participation by sector subject areas based on enrolments during the 2010-11 academic year:

College based participation by subject area (Based on 2010-11 enrolments)

29


Annual Review 2010 -11 The profile of our learners College based learners – Where do they come from?

College based learners 16-18 – Where do they come from?

College based learners 19+ – Where do they come from?

College based learners – Age/gender

College based learners – Ethnicity

30


Annual Review 2010 -11 Profile of our workplace learners 2010-11 Workplace learner success rates The success rates for college based learners are calculated by the Skills Funding Agency using a nationally agreed methodology. This approach enables all training providers to be compared on a like for like basis against nationally derived success rates. For these learners, our success rates include all relevant programmes but exclude short and very short courses.

Workplace learning programmes Success Rate of Workplace Learning • Overall success rate is 88.9% (2867 leavers). • Success rate is 1.8% above last year. • Success rate is very close to the latest national rate.

Apprenticeship programmes Performance of apprenticeship programmes, overall, is above the latest published national rate for all age groups except 25+ (69 leavers) when adjusted for factors beyond the college’s control (redundancies in the main) and data errors.

Success Rate of Apprentices aged 16-18

Success Rate of Apprenticeships aged 19-24

Success Rate of Apprenticeships aged 25+

• Overall success rate is 74.6% (358 leavers). • Success rate is 0.6% above the latest published national rate.

• Overall success rate is 77.5% (111 leavers). • Success rate is 0.3% above the latest published national rate.

• Overall success rate is 73.9% (69 leavers). • Success rate is 4.9% below the latest published national rate.

31


Annual Review 2010 -11 The curriculum of our learners What do our workplace learners study? The chart below shows participation by sector subject areas based on enrolments during the 2010-11 academic year:

Workplace participation by subject area (Based on 2010-11 enrolments)

32


Annual Review 2010 -11 The profile of our learners Workplace learners – Where do they come from?

Workplace learners 16-18 – Where do they come from?

Workplace learners 19+ – Where do they come from?

Workplace learners – Age/gender

Workplace learners – Ethnicity

33


Annual Review 2010 -11 Impact Measures KEY IMPACT MEASURES 2010-11

OUTCOME 2010-11

Young people into employment.

473

Young people progressing within Further or into Higher Education.

1123

Previously unemployed adults progressing into employment.

870

Adults progressing into Further or Higher Education.

220

Number of learners with a learning difficulty or disability progressing into employment or further training.

457

Young people making a positive impact on their community through college activities (volunteering activities etc).

7280 volunteering hours recorded.

Number of young people who said they would make healthier lifestyle choices as a result of attending college.

2,125

Number of young people who felt their understanding and appreciation of other cultures has improved as a result of attending college.

1,675

Our completing learners will generate an average extra in income over their working lives as a result of attending college.

ÂŁ171m

Percentage of the new build project money spent to date with local businesses (materials or labour within the Black Country region). Capital investment in the region during the year. Brownfield disused land regenerated by the college.

69%

ÂŁ4.28m 1.38 acres

34


Annual Review 2010 -11 Celebrate with us! Read on to see some successes that we celebrated last year... Higher Education Over 240 proud family and friends joined in the celebrations at Dudley College in December 2011 to celebrate the achievements of 71 graduands who had studied high level qualifications in computing to construction, business to fashion and textiles and accounting to engineering. Danielle Hall, from Wednesbury, who works for French Connection as a Visual Merchandiser, explained “I’ve had a fantastic day. My final collection for my HND in Fashion and Textiles was based on ‘The Seven Deadly Sins & Heavenly Virtue’. I’m very proud of what I’ve achieved during my course, so graduating today was a brilliant way to celebrate.” Matt Harding from Metz Architects commented on the event from an employer’s point of view: “I was really pleased to see that higher level qualifications in construction were being celebrated. By giving people the opportunity to study locally at this advanced level, they can develop their skills and knowledge to meet employers needs. I’d like to congratulate all the successful graduands and encourage anyone who’s thinking of progressing to the next level of a qualification to do so, as high level skills are a commodity employers look for in their workforce.”

A Level Results We are absolutely delighted to report on our A level results: 97% of learners passed with a record number achieving high grades (67%). AS level results also improved, with 82% of learners who took the examination passing the qualification. A* grades were achieved in several subjects including Maths, Business Studies, Communications & Culture and Photography. 26 A level subjects had a 100% pass rate, including major subjects such as English Literature, English Language, Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Chemistry, History, Law, Communications & Culture, Fine Art, Accounts, Business, Sociology, Film Studies and Sport Studies.

Learners celebr at

ing A level resu lts

35


Annual Review 2010 -11 Celebrating Success Awards Evening Learners at Dudley College were honoured at an annual awards ceremony to celebrate their success. Over 100 learners picked up awards for their hard work and determination over the academic year and celebrated with their family, friends and tutors at a glittering ceremony held at the Broadway campus. Over 300 guests were greeted in a marquee where learners dressed as 'living tables' offered Caribbean cocktails and canapés. Invited dignitaries and guests congregated in the courtyard to be entertained by music learners and theatre design learners before taking their seats. The evening started with a vibrant Catwalk Extravaganza from the Fashion & Textile learners followed by the presentation of awards. After the formal presentations, Musical Theatre learners performed an extract from their latest production ‘Songs from a New World’. College Principal, Lowell Williams said: “The ceremony is an overwhelming demonstration of how our learners continue to achieve through difficult times and exhibit just some of the outstanding talent we have, right here in Dudley.”

ng at the ge celebrati e ll o c e th om Learners fr . her Awards ig Annual H

Lowell Williams m aking

the welcome spee ch.

Fashion sh o the event. w of learners’ work during

where arquee apés. m e h t in vent can n table’ A ‘huma re served pre-e e guests w

36


Annual Review 2010 -11 Some Sports Successes

Triple Success for Dudley College Dudley College swept the board at this year’s Annual British Colleges Sport (BCS) Awards. The college was awarded three prestigious awards by BCS. The BCS is a body which exists to encourage and enable learners aged 16-19, within the further education sector, to develop their potential by providing high quality sporting opportunities and services.

College of the Year 2011

National Growing The Game Award (Football) 2011

Awarded for outstanding sports undertaken by the college, for developing BCS Sport at a regional level.

Student of the Year 2011

Awarded for making a major impact in the development of football in the region. Top: Shelly Gudgeon (Birmingham County F.A.) with Rob Elkin (Dudley College lecturer and FESCo). Bottom: Liam Jones, Lynsey Glover, Shelly Gudgeon, Rob Elkin, Tyree Clarke and Mohammed Islam. Ross Ensor aged 17, awarded for his volunteering and coaching work this year.

37


Annual Review 2010 -11 Students’ Union win 2 top awards Dudley College Students' Union scooped a double win at the annual National Union of Students (NUS) Awards Ceremony, which took place in Leeds. The awards recognise excellence in the learner community, highlighting the achievements of students’ unions, individual learners and learner media from across the country. The Students’ Union won in the category of ‘Further Education Students’ Union of the Year’ and President, Kim Hughes, won in the category of ‘Unionist’ of the year. The students’ Union have run several high profile campaigns this year, the most prominent being ‘Save EMA’. Thousands of Dudley College learners who had not previously been interested in politics engaged in this campaign, a number of local MPs were lobbied and Kim was even mentioned in the House of Commons during a debate on the Education Maintenance Allowance. At the event Kim said: “I am absolutely thrilled that the Students’ Union and I have won. We have had a fantastic year even in the light of the challenges that we have faced. The executive team worked extremely hard and were absolutely inspirational; this motivated me to continually strive to do more for the Union. At the heart of all we do are the learners and I know none of this would have been possible without them. These awards were down to them, they are the real winners.”

38


Annual Review 2010 -11 The Carphone Warehouse Story

The Carphone Warehouse, founded in 1989, started out in a rented London flat and now, only 22 years later, is a multi-billion pound company operating across the United Kingdom and Europe. In 2006 they introduced the ‘Geek Squad’ – providing customers with 24 hour technical support via telephone and e-mail. At a local level, CPW have a large distribution and repair centre in Wednesbury employing around 400 people. The business challenge: The company needed to raise the skill levels of staff to carry out increasingly complex product repairs and to meet increased levels of business. There was also a need for managers/supervisors to more effectively mange their teams in order to raise overall levels of performance. The training solution: The college designed a programme for around 100 repair staff, through which they would acquire accreditation of an NVQ in Performing Manufacturing Operations, with particular emphasis on inspection and testing. A BTEC National Diploma in electrical engineering was also delivered to 15 staff and management and team leader training to several others. Impact of training: As a result of the training and upskilling, CPW report a massive 10% reduction in repair turn-around times. Production Manager Paul Harris, Learning and Development Advisor said “The benefits to us as a company have been substantial, as ours is a very competitive industry. Individual staff have benefited too, with the acquisition of formally recognised qualifications. As a result of the training, we haven’t had to do any external recruitment of technical staff and the improved capacity of our staff has meant that we haven’t had to turn any work away”. He went on “I’d thoroughly recommend Dudley College and the Performing Manufacturing Operations NVQ to any business looking to improve productivity and profitability”.

39


Annual Review 2010 -11 Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council (Planning Department)

Dudley MBC Planning Dept had decided to undertake a complete overhaul of their procedures and processes with a view to cost savings and improved services to its customers. Having made a start they quickly realised that a structured approach with some external support was needed. Following discussions the college agreed to implement a programme of Business Improvement Techniques (NVQ 2 + 3). This project would involve all staff including the Head of Planning, Team Leaders and Planning Officers. All staff would undertake an NVQ in Business Improvement Techniques at the appropriate level and the main focus would be on process mapping. Each planning team identified a specific task which reflected their part in the overall strategic plan. The project involved: • A series of workshops run in-company • One-to-one assessment • Group discussions • Use of the college’s blackboard system. The project ran for around 12 months with just over 70 planning staff achieving a qualification.

Business Impact Time savings were immense with an annual saving of over 2,500 hours and a cost saving of over £67,000.

40


Dudley College The Broadway, Dudley, West Midlands DY1 4AS 01384 363 363 www.dudleycol.ac.uk


Annual Review 2010 - 2011