Monitor Mag Jan 2023 CSW preview

Page 1

Superintendent: Catholic Schools Week an opportunity to ‘see, hear, experience’

When it comes to celebrating faith-based learning, the observance of Catholic Schools Week nationwide brings the tremendous qualities of a Catholic education to the forefront of the dioceses and communities in which Catholic schools serve.

Entering its 49th year, the national observance of Catholic Schools Week will take place this year Jan. 29 – Feb. 4, under the theme “Catholic Schools: Faith. Excellence. Service.” Since 1974, the National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA) has hosted CSW for both elementary and secondary schools in the United States.

Dr. Vincent de Paul Schmidt, superintendent of Catholic schools for the Diocese of Trenton, believes the most important benefits of Catholic Schools Week are threefold.

“First, we celebrate the fact that our Catholic schools are where Christ is alive in our buildings,” he pointed out. “Second,

it’s an opportunity for the greater community to understand the role that Catholic schools play – in individual children, in their families and in communities themselves. And third, it’s a chance to have fun in our Catholic schools in unique ways.”

During Catholic Schools Week, Masses and prayer services, open houses and other special events are held to showcase the value of Catholic schools in the community and in the life of the Church. This year, weekly themes include – Sunday: Celebrating Your Parish; Monday: Celebrating Your Community; Tuesday:  Celebrating Your Students; Wednesday: Celebrating the Nation; Thursday: Celebrating Vocations; Friday: Celebrating

Bishop David M. O’Connell, C.M., poses joyfully with a group of students from St. Jerome School, West Long Branch, following the school’s 2020 Catholic Schools Week Mass. Rich Hundley photo

40 THE MONITOR MAGAZINE  January 2023 Catholic Schools Week
 For special Catholic Schools Week coverage, be sure to check out the February issue of The Monitor Magazine and TrentonMonitor.com.

Faculty, Staff and Volunteers, and Saturday: Celebrating Families.

Dr. Schmidt noted that while no one-size-fits-all for each school’s celebratory choice, he hoped that planning for maximum impact would “make sure that Christ comes through in everything we do, that it’s a true celebration” of Christ’s presence in every Catholic school.

Emphasizing the festive aspect, he encouraged schools to enjoy their Catholic Schools Week activities, and “the fact that our Catholic schools are here, fully functioning and living the mission.”

Parishes, too, play a significant role in spreading the Catholic school message, encouraging parishioners to consider a Catholic education for their children.

“I think it’s understood that all the pastors in the Diocese of Trenton realize the impact and importance of Catholic schools to the ministry of overall parish life,” Dr. Schmidt said. “During Catholic Schools Week, it is a real opportunity for pastors to have an extended presence in the [school] building, to witness, participate in and enjoy the ministry that directly deals with the youth of their parish.”

In the weeks leading up to Catholic Schools Week, he continued, “My hope and prayer … is that the pastors and schools get all that’s going on in Catholic schools in front of the parents in the pews … so they can hear about, see and experience what a wonderful opportunity it is to have a Catholic school in their future.”

January 2023  THE MONITOR MAGAZINE 41
A C C R E D I T E D P K - 8 T H C A T H O L I C S C H O O L D E D I C A T E D , H I G H L Y Q U A L I F I E D , N J S T A T E C E R T I F I E D T E A C H E R S F O C U S O N L I B E R A L A R T S I N T E G R A T E D C U R R I C U L U M S T U D E N T C H R O M E B O O K S - K - 8 T H S T J O H N V I A N N E Y O P E N H O U S E w w w h c a r u m s o n o r g 7 3 2 - 7 0 8 - 3 1 1 3 S U N D A Y , J A N U A R Y 2 9 1 1 : 0 0 A M - 1 : 0 0 P M H I G H S C H O O L A C C E P T A N C E S A L L F A M I L I E S A N D P R O S P E C T I V E S T U D E N T S A R E I N V I T E D T O J O I N O U R S T U D E N T S , S T A F F , A N D A D M I N I S T R A T I O N F O R A P E R S O N A L I Z E D T O U R O F O U R S C H O O L C O M M U N I T Y T U I T I O N A S S I S T A N C E A V A I L A B L E E D U C A T I N G T H E N E X T G E N E R A T I O N O F C A T H O L I C L E A D E R S S I N C E 1 9 4 1 . 4 0 R u m s o n R o a d R u m s o n CSW OPEN HOUSE VISIT US! www.saintannschool.org Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023 10:00 AM-1:00 PM 3:00 PM-7:00 PM Register at Catholic Schools Week Saint Ann School Celebrates January 29-February 4, 2023 Contact us: www.saintannschool.org Admission: (609)882-8077, xt. 220 afallon@st-ann-school.org Enrolling Grades PreK-8 Grade 2023/2024  STEAM Curriculum Preschool-8th grade  School Wide Character Development Program  Microsoft Tablets Provided for all Fifth through Eighth Grade Students  2, 3, and 5-day Preschool Programs  Extended Day and After School Care Available  Back to Back U.S. Department of Education National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence  State of the Art STEAM Wing  STEAM Curriculum Preschool - 8th Grade  Positivity Project Character Development Program  Microsoft Tablets Provided for All Middle School Students Saint Leo the Great School Over 50 Years of Academic Excellence  Full Day Kindergarten 2, 3, and 5-day Preschool for 3 and 4 year olds Extended Day and Afterschool Care Available 550 Newman Springs Road, Lincroft 732-741-3133 ext. 225 www.SaintLeoTheGreatSchool.com TOURS AVAILABLE BY APPOINTMENT PLEASE CALL: 732-741-3133 Ext. 225 FOR MORE INFORMATION VISIT: www.SaintLeoTheGreatSchool.com Over 60 Years of Academic Excellence
218 Nassau Street, Princeton, NJ 08542 www spsprinceton org 609-921-7587 COME VISIT THE LITTLE MIRACLE ON NASSAU STREET. BOOK YOUR TOUR TODAY! N O W B O O K I N G P R I V A T E T O U R S P R O C L A I M I N G C H R I S T T H R O U G H E D U C A T I O N S C A N T H E Q R C O D E B E L O W www.stjoansk 8.org St. Joan of Arc School Faith, Knowledge, Service Come See the Difference! 101 Evans Rd Marlton, NJ 08053 (856)983-0774 www.stjoansk-8.org Please call to schedule a personal tour! St. Joan of Arc School Faith, Knowledge, Service Come See the Difference! www.stjoansk 8.org 101 Evans Rd Marlton, NJ 08053 (856)983-0774 www.stjoansk-8.org Please call to schedule a personal tour! A D M I S S I O N S I N F O R M A T I O N S E S S I O N T H U R S D A Y , F E B R U A R Y 2 @ 7 P M 6 T H , 7 T H & 8 T H G R A D E R S Join Us!
January 2023  THE MONITOR MAGAZINE 43 100 W W W . S R H S N J . C O M / 1 0 0 S A V E T H E D A T E F O R O U R Centennial Celebration N O V E M B E R 1 1 T H , 2 0 2 3 H A P P Y Birthday S T . R O S E H I G H S C H O O L th
BELMAR
44 THE MONITOR MAGAZINE  January 2023 Application Deadline February Regular 3 NotreDameCelebrates CatholicSchoolsWeek 601LawrenceRoad, 08648|ndnj.org Lawrenceville NJ Application Deadline February Regular 3 NotreDameCelebrates CatholicSchoolsWeek 601LawrenceRoad, 08648|ndnj.org Lawrenceville NJ Application Deadline February Regular 3 NotreDameCelebrates CatholicSchoolsWeek 601LawrenceRoad, 08648|ndnj.org Lawrenceville NJ
January 2023  THE MONITOR MAGAZINE 45
46 THE MONITOR MAGAZINE  January 2023
January 2023  THE MONITOR MAGAZINE 47 METUCHEN Virtual visits. Available at Paul VI during Catholic Schools Week. PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Open House PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Tour PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL “Meet the Coaches” Virtual visits. Available at Paul VI during Catholic Schools Week. And anytime. PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Open House PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Tour PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual visits. Available at Paul VI during Catholic Schools Week. And anytime. PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Open House PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Tour PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL “Meet the Coaches” Virtual visits. Available at Paul VI during Catholic Schools Week. And anytime. PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Open House PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL Virtual Tour PAUL VI HIGH SCHOOL “Meet the Coaches”www.pvihs.org

In the past you have provided gifts to ensure the viability of our schools for the next generation of Catholic faithful. You know the impact of a Catholic education and I would like to thank you profoundly for offering this incredible gift to others.

In the past you have provided gifts to ensure the viability of our schools for the next generation of Catholic faithful. You know the impact of a Catholic education and I would like to thank you profoundly for offering this incredible gift to others.

In the past you have provided gifts to ensure the viability of our schools for the next generation of Catholic faithful. You know the impact of a Catholic education and I would like to thank you profoundly for offering this incredible gift to others.

One way of giving during this time of the year is “Giving Tuesday.” Our school programs directly benefit 100% from all gifts during the “Giving Tuesday” campaign. The website for a Giving Tuesday gift is: www.leadinfaith.org

One way of giving during this time of the year is “Giving Tuesday.” Our school programs directly benefit 100% from all gifts during the “Giving Tuesday” campaign. The website for a Giving Tuesday gift is: www.leadinfaith.org

One way of giving during this time of the year is “Giving Tuesday.” Our school programs directly benefit 100% from all gifts during the “Giving Tuesday” campaign. The website for a Giving Tuesday gift is: www.leadinfaith.org

During COVID, support for our schools is more important than ever. We have students that need more financial support now than in past years. Our schools have had to step up spending for health-related costs due to COVID protocols. As a result budgets are tight.

During COVID, support for our schools is more important than ever. We have students that need more financial support now than in past years. Our schools have had to step up spending for health-related costs due to COVID protocols. As a result budgets are tight.

During COVID, support for our schools is more important than ever. We have students that need more financial support now than in past years. Our schools have had to step up spending for health-related costs due to COVID protocols. As a result budgets are tight.

DEAR [FIRST NAME],

Catholic Schools Have It All... and our students take it with them wherever they go. Catholic schools provide hope in a secular world that makes little room for faith. There is no substitute for the value that strong Catholic schools have to offer our Church.

Your support, will ensure our Catholic schools are here today and tomorrow. Educating the next generation. Imparting the same Gospel values that formed your life. Thank you for allowing the youngest of our Catholic family the same opportunity you had been gifted.

Your support, will ensure our Catholic schools are here today and tomorrow. Educating the next generation. Imparting the same Gospel values that formed your life. Thank you for allowing the youngest of our Catholic family the same opportunity you had been gifted.

Your support, will ensure our Catholic schools are here today and tomorrow. Educating the next generation. Imparting the same Gospel values that formed your life. Thank you for allowing the youngest of our Catholic family the same opportunity you had been gifted.

In the past you have provided gifts to ensure the viability of our schools for the next generation of Catholic faithful. You know the impact of a Catholic education and I would like to thank you profoundly for offering this incredible gift to others.

– Bishop David M. O’Connell, C.M.

Dr. Vincent Schmidt

Superintendent of Schools, Diocese of Trenton

One way of giving during this time of the year is “Giving Tuesday.” Our school programs directly benefit 100% from all gifts during the “Giving Tuesday” campaign. The website for a Giving Tuesday gift is: www.leadinfaith.org

With the impact of the coronavirus pandemic, our Catholic schools need support more than ever. Let’s work together to preserve this vital part of our Church.

TA SCITELH

“We ARE open and living our mission EVERYDAY... just as you have come to rely and expect for so many years. Our enthusiasm has never wavered, because we are a faith filled community.”

“We ARE open and living our mission EVERYDAY... just as you have come to rely and expect for so many years. Our enthusiasm has never wavered, because we are a faith filled community.”

“We ARE open and living our mission EVERYDAY... just as you have come to rely and expect for so many years. Our enthusiasm has never wavered, because we are a faith filled community.”

During COVID, support for our schools is more important than ever. We have students that need more financial support now than in past years. Our schools have had to step up spending for health-related costs due to COVID protocols. As a result budgets are tight.

Your support, will ensure our Catholic schools are here today and tomorrow. Educating the next generation. Imparting the same Gospel values that formed your life.

Thank you for allowing the youngest of our Catholic family the same opportunity you had been gifted.

48 THE MONITOR MAGAZINE  January 2023 E R V I C E — C O M M Y —
consider renewing your previous gift of
Please
Dr. Vincent Schmidt Superintendent of Schools, Diocese of Trenton Dr. Vincent Schmidt Superintendent of Schools, Diocese of Trenton
FAIT H — A C A D E M I C E X C E L L E N C E — S E R V I C E — C O M M U N I T Y — TA SCITELH
PLEASE
ANNUAL FUND
Catholic Schools
it All • 701 Lawrenceville Road • Trenton NJ 08648 • 609-403-7127 100% of donations will go to your school of choice or you can designate the Diocesan Office of Catholic Schools for broader tuition or program assistance. DONATE  PRAY  VOLUNTEER VISITWWW.LEADINFAITH.ORG
to make a gift!
GIVE GENEROUSLY.
PRE-PANDEMIC PHOTOS
Have
NEW! Text leadinfaith to 609-403-3323

Deepen

Earn your M.A. in Theology or in Pastoral Ministry. Pursue one of several graduate certificates, or simply take a graduate course.

Earn your M.A. in Theology or in Pastoral Ministry. Pursue one of several graduate certificates, or simply take a graduate course.

Earn your M.A. in Theology or in Pastoral Ministry. Pursue one of several graduate certificates, or simply take a graduate course.

NOT SURE WHICH IS THE BEST PATH FOR YOU?

NOT SURE WHICH IS THE BEST PATH FOR YOU?

NOT SURE WHICH IS THE BEST PATH FOR YOU?

Ask your questions at Seton Hall’s Graduate Open House on Saturday, February 25.

Ask your questions at Seton Hall’s Graduate Open House on Saturday, February 25.

Ask your questions at Seton Hall’s Graduate Open House on Saturday, February 25.

LEARN MORE www.shu.edu/monitor

LEARN MORE www.shu.edu/monitor

LEARN MORE www.shu.edu/monitor

Deepen your faith.
your faith.
your
Deepen
faith.
DISCOVER THE NU YOU THE INSPIRED YOU. CATHOLIC EDUCATION IN THE FRANCISCAN TRADITION College of Distinction Ranked among the best by U.S. News & World Report, Best Colleges 2022, for Social Mobility, #9 Pennsylvania and Regional Universities, North 23 NCAA DIII teams All Catholic high school students receive a $3,000/yr Catholic High School Grant www.neumann.edu/applyMM Discover our 48 Undergraduate Programs Monitor Magazine_7.5x5__January2023_v2.indd 1 12/5/22 3:56 PM January 2023  THE MONITOR MAGAZINE 49