Page 1

2012 FALL SPORTS PREVIEW SHHS football . . . . . . . . . . . . . . B2-5 SHHS volleyball . . . . . . . . . . . . . B6-7 SHHS soccer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . B8-11 SHHS cross country . . . . . . . . B12-13 SHS football . . . . . . . . . . . . . B20-23 SHS volleyball . . . . . . . . . . . . B24-25 SHS soccer . . . . . . . . . . . . . . B26-29 SHS cross country . . . . . . . . .B30-31 Pull-out schedule pages . . . . B15-18 Top teams of the past. . . . .B14, B19 a special section of


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B2

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Sherwood Wilsonville Liberty St. Helens Sandy Parkrose Putnam Milwaukie

The Lions have the athletes; whether they have enough of them is the question

13-1, 7-0 9-3, 6-1 6-5, 5-2 6-5, 4-3 4-7, 2-5 3-7, 2-5 3-7, 2-5 1-9, 0-7

Head Coach John England 10th year

SHHS Football At least one half of the line appears in place to protect new quarterback Gage Bumgardner.

Time out with Andrew Gray & Tanner Long What do you think about the way things are looking? TL: I think that we just need to start playing faster. Our tempo is really slow, kinda like JV right now. If we just step it up, get a faster pace, other than that I think we’re good. We have the right athletes, so we’ll be fine if we just step it up. What do you guys need to do to be able to step up to that level? TL: We gotta get the fear out of our minds. I think a lot of us are kinda timid to hit. Once we get that out of the way, we’ll be fine. Just flying to the ball, not caring if you get a little dinged up. Just going hard every single play. No fear. Being part of a small senior class, is that more of a challenge on you, stepping up into a leadership role? How are you approaching that? AG: I’m just doing my best. It doesn’t really change much for me. I’m just doing what I always do: Working hard, trying to be a leader through my actions. You’ve got a new quarterback with Gage (Bumgardner) back there. What do you think about the job he’s been doing? TL: I think he’s been doing good. Stepping in, he was originally a receiver for us, one of our go-to receivers. He’s been doing a good job, I think. AG: Definitely one of the hardest workers on our team. He’s definitely been putting in the effort. What kind of goals do you guys have in mind for the season ahead? AG: Playoffs. TL: Playoffs. Try to go farther than we did last year.

Returning All-Stars John England NWOC Co-COY in 2011 Andrew Gray, senior HM All-NWOC LB (2010)


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B3

Chalk talk: John England A lack of numbers is the most pressing concern for St. Helens head coach John England. With only 35 or so players out in grades 10-12, depth could become a big concern for St. Helens this fall. The good news for England and his staff, though, is the 35 players they have were impressive in fall practices. “The good thing is we got some athletes. They’re working hard,” England said after the team’s intrasquad scrimmage on Aug. 25. “We need to get more athletes out there, but at this point we don’t have the numbers. The kids we have, they’ve had a good week of practice. They’ve worked hard.” Of those 35, two are seniors returning with varsity experience: 5’10”, 215-pound lineman Joey Beggio and 5’8”, 190-pound offensive lineman/linebacker Andrew Gray. “Andrew and Joey are solid players. The good thing is they’re captains and they’re our hardest workers,” England said. The Lions have three other seniors – Nick Dummer, Nathan Reed and Matt Denakis – but each of those three is new to football. Dummer and Reed are both multi-sport athletes who will help with kicking duties. Denakis is a strong, hard worker who was a thrower on the track team in the spring. The junior class looks to be a strong point. “That junior class we have, they’re good. Real good,” England said. That class should produce several starting spots. England said Tanner Long has looked good at running back. Fellow juniors Brennan Norton, Ryan Jensen and Thomas Hughes will fight for carries as well. Entering the season, England is confident the team will be able to run the ball effectively to at least one side of the line. “We have not had this good of one side of the line in a long time. We have Beggio at center, we have Gray [at guard], (Jacob) Zartman [at tackle] and (Corey) West at tight end,” England said. Zartman is a 6’3”, 230-pound junior and West is a 6’4”, 205-pound junior. “Those four guys, they’re as strong as any we’ve had in quite a while at one side,” England said. Filling in the other guard and tackle spots will be a challenge. “If we have a couple guys step up like we think they can, that’ll be a strength – our line. That’s where it starts,” England said. The offense is shifting to a no-huddle offense this year and the players seem to be picking it up nicely. “We started in the spring, so I think that helped. We did it in Gold Beach [during a team camp in the summer]. It’s been pretty good. It makes things quicker in practice,” England said. “The great thing about it, we can get a lot of reps in practice. It’d be great to be able to do that in games, be able to tire teams out. The problem we have, of course, is the guys who are playing offense are gonna play defense.” The defensive front seems to be another strength for the Lions with West and Zartman at defensive ends and Beggio at defensive tackle. The other defensive tackle spot appears open. There is one intriguing prospect: 6’3”, 295-pound junior Andrew Sandstrom. “Andrew Sandstrom’s a big kid. Hopefully he can help us on defense,” England said. The inside linebacker positions will be manned by Gray and Long. England said the defensive scheme has changed somewhat from last year based on personnel. “We’re more like a 4-2-5, almost like a 4-4. We kind of morphed a little bit over the last year,” England said.

Defensive coordinator Cory Young takes the line through a drill.

Around the league The Sherwood Bowmen lost by a single point in last year’s state title game, falling to Mountain View, 14-13. The Bowmen return senior running back Cristian Morris, who missed all of last season with a knee injury. Morris was the NWOC champion in the 100- and 200meter sprints during the track season. The Bowmen will be challenged at the top by the Wilsonville Wildcats, led by senior skill position standouts Tanner Shipley, Ryan Walsh and Johnny Ragin. After those two teams, there figures to be somewhat of a drop-off in the league. Lions coach John England thinks his squad could end up one of the top four teams in the eight-team conference. “We’re right there in the middle. Our goal is top half of the league, which at this point is doable if we stay healthy,” England said. Sandy should be improved this year. The Pioneers return first-team All-NWOC quarterback Justin Adams. Sandy has first-team linebacker Kyle Bateman back as well. Also back off the NWOC’s first team from a year ago are Liberty running back AJ Antillon, Putnam wide receiver/quarterback Deshawn Stephens, and Wilsonville safety Johnathan Vaea.

GOOD LUCK

503-397-1012 At 6’4”, tight end Corey West is a big pass-catching target.

Power Equipment

IN

FALL SPORTS!

Tractors & Lawn Mowers C10260


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B4

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Quarterback position

FRED MEYER YER

SW HAVLIK

W JOE'S

RD

M MCDONALDS

A RIVER H COLUMBI



SEARS

D

D

R

1

WY

Junior Gage Bumgardner will handle QB duties.

30

CE

NT

UR Y2

ROAD

G HW AY

Manual Therapy Modalities Posture & Body Mechanics Therapeutic Exercise TMJ & Headache Treatment Womens Health

HI

Sports Rehabilitation Strength & Conditioning Fitness Training Injury Prevention ASTYMTM System Biomechanical Analysis Custom Orthotics

C AU ARQ TO UE PA ST RT S

Junior Ryan Jensen will break some tackles in 2012.

The St. Helens Lions were taken by surprise late in the summer. Senior Dallas Thompson, who had started at quarterback part of his sophomore season and all of last year, moved to Idaho. The Lions got the news after they had returned from team camp. On short notice, receiver Gage Bumgardner switched from being split out wide to lining up under center. “Gage is doing a tremendous job. He was a wide receiver who we needed to put there and he’s really taken to it,” said coach John England. “He’s done it whole-hearted and the kids have got behind him. I think they’re confident and he’s taking the reins. I’m really happy with what he’s done.” The 6’3”, 168-pound junior has quickly picked up the no-huddle system and should be able to guide the team nicely this season. The Lions will need to adjust their receiving corps, as Bumgardner was the top returning wideout from a year ago. Should Bumgardner need a rest, fellow junior Brennan Norton has experience quarterbacking the JV team. Norton, a 6’1”, 164-pounder, is a threat in the team’s option attack. Norton will also play running back for the Lions.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B5

Inside the Huddle: 36 Toss

St. Helens head football coach John England was kind enough to draw up one of the Lions’ running plays to help The Chronicle’s Fall Sports Preview go inside the huddle. He chose a 36 toss. This is a toss play to the running back. The 3-back will carry the ball through the 6-hole. The right guard pulls to block the ball-side linebacker and the 4-back lead blocks through the hole. Last year the team ran this play frequently with Dumitri Malnasi carrying the ball. This year, said coach John England, it will be a play used often to get the ball into the hands of junior Tanner Long.

CB

Lion running backs hope to see holes this big against NWOC opponents.

FS

LB

LB LB

LB N

RE

SS

CB

LE

SE Z

Q 3B

best of luck

4B

FALL ATHLETES

- Online registration & payment

Bella Maison

good luck!

Check opasdance.com for: - Class Schedule - OPAS Calendar - Class Descriptions

“Beautiful Home” and gifts

1847 Columbia Blvd., St. Helens 503-366-4447

C10248

TO ALL ST. HELENS AND SCAPPOOSE TEAMS...

FROM ALL YOUR FRIENDS AT

Free Classes Wed., Sept. 5th 115 Church Street St. Helens, OR 97051 4:30 1st - 5th Grade Hip Hop 5:30 1st Grade & Up 503-366-5223 Traditional Jazz opasdance.com 6:30 5th Grade & Up Hip Hop

Open Registration Wednesday, September 5th 5:00 – 9:00 p.m. at OPAS www.richardsonsfurniture.com

503-397-1329 2015 Columbia Blvd ., St Helens 97051 C10278


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B6

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Liberty Sherwood Parkrose St. Helens Wilsonville Putnam Sandy Milwaukie

21-5, 14-0 20-6, 12-2 12-9, 9-5 10-10, 8-6 9-12, 7-7 4-21, 3-11 4-16, 2-12 3-19, 1-13

Head Coach Tom Ray 12th year

Chalk talk: Tom Ray

Lions’ front line will help try to line the gym with a new state banner

SHHS Volleyball Sophomore Taylor Albertson provides height in the middle of the Lions’ lineup.

Jillian Ross, senior HM All-NWOC S (2010, ’11) Brooke Cathers, senior HM All-NWOC OH

The Ultimate TAN Formerly The Hot Spot

STUDENT SPECIAL 1 MONTH TANNING

$

29

95

Base beds only. Must show student ID to receive student special. Plus tax. With coupon only. One per customer. EXPIRES 10/31/12.

www.theultimatetanandspa.com OPEN Sundays!

503-397-9722  2298 Gable Rd (across from Wal-Mart next to Subway)

C10259

Returning All-Stars

This year’s St. Helens High School volleyball team wants to end the season playing in the state tournament at Liberty High School. Just doing so won’t satisfy the group, however. “Their expectations are to bring a trophy home,” said SHHS head coach Tom Ray. “I don’t know what the captains [Brooke Cathers and Jillian Ross] said, but they told me they want a banner. It’s a realistic goal for these guys.” To bring home a state championship banner, the team will have to live up to the mantra it chose for itself before the season started: Life’s greatest temptation is to settle for less. “Don’t settle – that’s what this team’s all about,” Ray said. The coach believes he has all the right components of a championship team. “We’ve already noticed this year different than any year we’ve had is we have better blocking. Our middles are quicker. We’re loaded in every position,” Ray said. Those middle blockers are junior Gabby Susee and sophomore Taylor Albertson. They’ll be flanked by senior outside hitters Ocean Jobanek and Cathers. “We’re loaded with Brooke and Ocean hitting outside,” Ray said. Setting up the hitters will be senior Jillian Ross and junior Kylie Reinholdt, who Ray says are “two of the best athletes that have gone through St. Helens in a long time.” Ray said seniors Madison Kaplan, Haley Mann-Miller and Megan Thompson will lock down the defense.


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B7

Time out with Jillian Ross & Brooke Cathers How has the first week gone for you guys? BC: Tryouts or camp? Can we go with camp? Camp went really, really well. We did a lot better than we thought we were going to. Killed it almost every single day. We really came together as a whole, the entire team. Once we did that we started to play even better than what we were playing. We know that going into the season that we’re going to do even better than we did in camp.

Junior Kylie Reinholdt is one of the top all-around athletes on the team, said coach Tom Ray.

Around the league

Senior Madison Kaplan will compete for the libero spot.

If the Northwest Oregon Conference pans out the way St. Helens coach Tom Ray suspects, the top four teams will look very similar to how they did last year. However, if the SHHS coach has anything to do with it, the order of those teams atop the standings will be shaken up a little bit. “I think it’s still Liberty, Parkrose, Sherwood and St. Helens. Those four teams have separated themselves,” Ray said. Each of those four teams advanced to the first round of the 2011 OSAA 5A State Championships. St. Helens and Parkrose both lost their first-round matches. Liberty and Sherwood, on the other hand, advanced to the eight-team final site tournament at Liberty High School. Liberty bowed out in the quarterfinals and Sherwood lost in the semifinals to West Albany, the same team that eliminated St. Helens. Both Sherwood and Liberty return one firstteam All-NWOC player – Jessie Koster (AA) for the Bowmen and Janessa Mast (OH) for the Falcons. Ray thinks the state playoff appearance a season ago could prove beneficial this year. He mentioned how important it is to have that biggame experience. “Sherwood lost a lot, but once you learn how to win... That’s why we’ve been successful. We compete with those teams. We just need to get over that hump,” Ray said.

When you go (to team camp) you stay in a house together for the whole week, right? JR: We got there on Saturday and then we were there all till Thursday, then the seniors stay another night. Throughout the whole camp we were always together. We were in one room till we went to bed. When we were playing, every little thing, if we made a mistake, if we had a good play we got excited about it, and we’re not down. Last year if we made a mistake we’d kind of get down and not be able to pick ourselves back up. But we stayed positive the whole time and it was a really good feeling to play that good. BC: There’s no drama, which makes us play a lot better when there’s none of that going on. JR: (I’m) just glad to have the teams set so we can just play. Take everything one step at a time: Jamboree, tournament, first game. BC: We’re not looking ahead. JR: We don’t want to overlook any teams. What are your goals or expectations for the year? JR: State. Top eight. Liberty [site of the state tournament]. Or a banner, that’d be nice too. Little things first.

Junior Gabby Susee is a force at the net.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B8

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Putnam 13-4, 7-0 Sherwood 11-4-2, 5-1-1 Liberty 7-9, 5-2 Wilsonville 7-7-2, 4-2-1 Sandy 4-8, 2-5 Parkrose 6-7-2, 1-5-1 Milwaukie 1-11-2, 1-5-1 St. Helens 5-9-1, 1-6

New coach wants team to improve its finishing ability

Head Coach Ryoma Ajisawa 1st year

Time out with Jeff Steinke & Cody Beisley How much do you think this summer has been helping you guys? JS: I’d say it turned it around from when we started. We started off playing a lot of boot ball. Now we’re controlling it more and we’re working together more as a team than we started out. So I’d say it’s better, it’s helped us a lot.

SHHS Boys Soccer Pablo Francisco will try to help the Lions get more goals on the scoreboard in 2012.

You guys had a ton of seniors last year. How easy or how hard is that gonna be to come in and pick up where they left off? JS: I’d say it’d be pretty hard but I think we’re doing a pretty good job of it. There was a lot of good seniors and a lot of people that helped influence me on playing. But coming into this season I thought we’d do a lot worse without ’em but I’m kind of being surprised at how we’re just kinda doing it.

Around the league With the 2011 Northwest Oregon Conference’s Player of the Year and Coach of the Year returning, Sherwood is the odds-on favorite to win the conference in 2012. In addition to POY Nathan Anderson, the Bowmen have two other first-team All-NWOC players back for another season. Outside of the Bowmen, the Wilsonville Wildcats and Liberty Falcons are traditionally strong. The Rex Putnam Kingsmen took the conference by storm last year, going 7-0 in NWOC play. Coach Ryoma Ajisawa, who coached the St. Helens girls team the last two years, is not very familiar with the boys side of the conference. “I’m like, ‘Neil [Ford, the former coach], who’s been stronger the last three or four years?’” Ajisawa said. “He said Wilsonville, Sherwood, Liberty are always strong. Sandy and ourselves or Parkrose are usually at the bottom. It’s kind of similar to the girls side.”

Ryoma was saying the defenders need to be a little bit more aggressive You being a defender, what’s gonna have to go through your mind to make that happen during the year? CB: We have some young defenders – some freshmen stepping up, the sophomores stepping up – so if I can wear off on ’em I guess, and get them to be more aggressive and get them to play more shielding the ball and forcing it out of bounds instead of letting people go right around ’em. I need to work with them more in practice I guess.

Has there been anyone specifically that’s been a nice surprise? CB: Pablo (Francisco) and Kaleb (Kline) have really stepped up in the midfield this year. They’ve had a little experience last year, but this year they’ve really stepped it up. It’s good to see Cody Galvin back. He helps out a lot.

Senior defender Cody Beisley will be a leader in ’12.

Do you guys have any specific goals for yourselves or for the team for the upcoming season? JS: Have a winning season, that’s my goal. CB: Make it fun for the last year. We’ve got a new coach and things look better than they were.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B9

Chalk talk: Ryoma Ajisawa After two years coaching the St. Helens High School girls soccer team, Ryoma Ajisawa is now taking over the boys program. And he wasted little time putting the guys to work. Ajisawa and assistant coach Jim Cole ran a two-day-a-week summer program with the team and had a solid turnout. “The number of participants has been good,” Ajisawa said. Specifically at the younger level. “The freshman class is really good because Kelly Kline and Curt Sweeney and those youth coaches have been doing a good job with that age group. There’s a lot of younger, promising freshmen here. Next year or the following year we’re gonna be stronger because of them,” Ajisawa said. He’s hopeful some of those freshmen will be able to improve the team’s offensive firepower. Right now the team’s strength lies in its midfield and defense. “I think we do a decent job defending and controlling the mid. But once we get to the forwards, we’re either rushing the play so we lose it right away or we’re not having an aggressive attitude to take a shot on goal,” Ajisawa said. He puts the blame for that on himself. “I need to work on finishing, shooting or

Senior Jeff Steinke adds experience to the Lions’ defense.

final third tactically. Me, as a coach, I need to give them good quality training so they can get better on the soccer field,” he said. He thinks senior Kaleb Kline will be able to help set the table for some goals. “Kaleb Kline is going to be good for us because he has a great right foot for crosses or corner kick ability,” Ajisawa said. The coach also wants his defenders to become more aggressive in terms of dribbling the ball upfield and attacking when there is a change of possession. “Our four defenders in the back, instead of just defending, they need to be more attacking,” Ajisawa said. From what he has seen so far, it doesn’t appear work ethic will be a problem with this particular group. “These guys have been giving good respect and working their A-words off. I definitely like the fact that I can just lay into them and they still wanna come here, they wanna do it without complaining too much,” Ajisawa said. “They may say stuff like ‘Oh, my body hurts,’ or ‘I need ice,’ but they’re always here. They still have a good smile on their face. I respect that from a player’s point of view. As a coach, you can’t ask for more than that,” Ajisawa said.

The

Buzz

HAIR SALON

COME TO THE BUZZ FOR YOUR BACK TO SCHOOL HAIR CARE NEEDS!

Becky Dubois, owner

Hallye Haggans, stylist

Bobbie Riggs, stylist & esthetician

JeAnne Waite, stylist & nail tech

Theresa Portuguez, bilingual stylist & esthetician

Open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Early and late appointments available.

C10246

139 N. 21st St., St. Helens • 503-397-1171 Ryoma Ajisawa wants defenders, like senior Nick Dummer, to attack this year.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B10

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Sherwood 19-0, 7-0 Wilsonville 11-6-2, 5-2 Liberty 10-4-2, 5-2 Sandy 9-5-1, 4-3 Putnam 10-6, 4-3 Milwaukie 3-11, 2-5 St. Helens 1-12-1, 1-6 Parkrose 1-13, 0-7

Talented senior and freshman classes hope to turn the program around

Head Coach Simon Date 1st year

Around the league

SHHS Girls Soccer Freshman Nicole Hamilton, left, and senior Regan Duarte hope to help the Lions improve in 2012.

Chalk talk: Simon Date This year’s group of St. Helens Lions girls soccer players is about all a new head coach could ask for: A big, strong group of seniors to lead the way and a big, talented group of freshmen to groom into future stars. First-year SHHS head coach Simon Date said his varsity team is made up of seven seniors, five freshmen, two juniors and two sophomores. Date said when he arrived, he noticed somewhat of a pecking order. “With this many young kids, we totally erased that. I don’t give a crap if you’re a freshman, get in there and play. If you can play – and I bet we have three freshman starters – right from the start I was like, ‘I don’t care what age you are, it’s gonna be the best players,’” Date said. A defense boasting plenty of All-NWOC accolades is full of seniors. That group will be pushed by freshmen Nicole Hamilton and Gabby Hora. “There’s a strong group of senior defenders, but I think one (of the freshmen) could slip in if they keep improving like they are,” Date said. Senior Regan Duarte will anchor the midfield. She’ll likely be joined by senior Chelsee Rennie and freshman Lydia Reardon as three of the five midfielders in the team’s 3-5-2 scheme. Up front Date is excited about lightning-quick freshman Ashley Giesbers. Giesbers and junior Stevie Strawn add a new element of speed to the team. “We’ve got some rocket ships,” Date said. If all those pieces mesh the way Date anticipates, he believes there will be a big improvement from last season. “Our first goal is to make playoffs,” Date said.

Freshman Ashley Giesbers will be a dangerous scorer.

The Northwest Oregon Conference flexed its muscle during the 2011 OSAA 5A Girls Soccer State Championships. Sherwood and Wilsonville went to penalty kicks in the title game, with Sherwood making all five PKs and Wilsonville making four. The Bowmen return one of their co-Players of the Year in forward Jessica Imbrie. Teammate Michayla Howes, who joined Imbrie on the first team last season, is also back for the 2012 campaign. Wilsonville had only two players on the first team. One of those Wildcats, junior goalkeeper Bess Kitzmiller, will be back between the posts again. Outside of the two state finalists, Liberty boasts a good team year-in and year-out. First-year St. Helens coach Simon Date admits he is not overly familiar with the teams in the league but expects his team to fight for a playoff berth. He has seen the other NWOC teams play while he officiated games and he is friends with several coaches on the other teams.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B11

Time out with Brie Maye

Eaton’s Tire Service Center

How have things been going for you guys so far? BM: Pretty good. Our practices and, we had a couple summer games, and we did a lot better than we did in the past years. We have a lot of freshman talent and returning senior talent. Not much to say, but we’re doing better, I think. Yeah, Simon was saying there’s a really good senior class and a really good freshman class. What are you guys as seniors doing to kinda help bring the freshmen along? BM: We’re involving them. We’re not treating them like freshmen. We’re making sure they feel welcomed. What else are we doing? Yeah, we’re making them feel welcomed and we’re not treating them like they’re little kids. We push them around, they push us back.

C10256

1780 Columbia Blvd at 18th, St. Helens • 503-397-3145 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. Monday – Friday • We Accept Credit Cards

Best of Luck Fall Athletes!

You said you guys were doing better over the summer, so what kind of expectations does that help create for the season? BM: It prepared the younger ones for high school soccer because they’ve been playing against teams that probably are not the same competition level. It helped have them play in a real game with us so they’re more comfortable. That way when we first come out and play a real game, it’s not like a big surprise. In the Liberty [summer] league, you guys play a lot of teams in your league, right? BM: Mm hmm. So how do you think you guys will stack up against them this year compared to the last couple of years? BM: I think we’ll score a lot more goals. We have one freshman that’s really good, Ashley [Giesbers]. She’s a scorer. And we have a lot better midfields, so we can maybe control the ball better and, I don’t know, give a better show than the past couple years where we’d just kinda kick it and chase.

54000 West Lane, Rd., Scappoose

503-543-3000

C10252

champions ONE AND ALL D.R. Garrison, CPA, PC 2114 COLUMBIA BLVD., ST. HELENS (503) 366-0994 WWW.DRGTAX.COM

Returning All-Stars Regan Duarte, senior HM All-NWOC D (2011), HM All-NWOC MF (2010) Tori Bair, senior HM All-NWOC D Chelsee Rennie, senior HM All-NWOC MF Katie Swanson, senior HM All-NWOC D Dana Sukau, senior HM All-NWOC GK (2010)


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B12

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 NWOC Meet (boys)

Girls in position to have great year; boys are light on numbers

Wilsonville St. Helens Sandy Milwaukie Putnam Sherwood Liberty Parkrose

2011 NWOC Meet (girls)

SHHS Cross Country Girls outnumber the boys big time on the cross country team at St. Helens High School this fall.

Head Coach Gerry Tinkle 30th year

Around the league On the girls side of the Northwest Oregon Conference, there appears to be a good battle for the top few spots. Sherwood, Wilsonville, Milwaukie and St. Helens could all clamor for one of the top spots. “Wilsonville’s always good, they’ve got numbers,” said St. Helens coach Gerry Tinkle. “Sherwood always starts off great every year,

Returning All-Star Cynthia Fenrich, junior 2nd team All-NWOC

27 47 107 117 119 129 205 205

Milwaukie Sherwood Wilsonville Sandy Putnam St. Helens Liberty Parkrose

48 52 82 101 110 144 145 Inc.

GOOD ! s e t e l h t a sport fallLUCK!

but they never get any better. We’re hoping to not be discouraged by the showing at the preview meet when they just kill everybody and then make some gains on them,” Tinkle said. After those four teams, the level of competition dips somewhat. On the boys side, Wilsonville looks to be the

clear-cut favorite. “Wilsonville should walk away with it,” Tinkle said. Where St. Helens figures into the mix among the other schools is tough to determine. “We’re pretty inexperienced right now,” Tinkle said. “Sandy looks pretty good. Nobody else, really, is that exciting.”

St. Helens 1111 Columbia Blvd., St. Helens 503-397-2288 C10249


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B13

Time out with David Sumsion How much running have you guys been doing over the summer? DS: Quite a bit. We usually go on Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays – three times a week. There’s a running camp we go to in the end of July, at Steens Mountains. We do a lot there. Could you describe what that camp is like? DS: It’s about five, six days or so. We come down Sunday but we don’t do any running that day. On Monday we do some light acclimation stuff. After that, Tuesday is the big day. It’s 28 miles total. 14 or so is hiking, seven or so is 60-60s walking and running, and another 6 miles back to camp. After that, you have various runs on the different days. There’s a cross canyon run where you run across this canyon through all this sagebrush and stuff. It’s fun. Did the whole team – boys and girls – go to that? DS: No it’s voluntary. I think we had one girl and three guys who went. It seems like you have a small number of boys this year. Is that different than what you’re used to? DS: Yeah there’s a lot less people. We really didn’t get a lot of freshmen coming in this year. It’s really not a lot of numbers as far as being on the team. It’s OK I guess. Do you think that will be much of a challenge for the season? DS: I think it will be. We don’t have nearly as much depth as we used to. So how are you going to try and overcome it? DS: Run fast. Do you have any personal goals or goals for the team this year? DS: Me, personally, I would like to run under 17 just so I can beat my brother’s PR. That’s my only goal. Senior David Sumsion is one of the team’s leaders.

What’s your PR now? DS: It’s around a 17:26 or so.

Chalk talk: Gerry Tinkle The girls cross country team at St. Helens High School is shaping up to be the best bunch the Lions have had in quite some time. “I think we’re gonna be OK in the girls. We should do pretty well this year – should be the best team we’ve had in about a decade,” said St. Helens coach Gerry Tinkle. The Lions return all but one of their top runners from a year ago. Tinkle said freshman Amy Sumsion may be vying for one of the seven varsity spots this year as well.

“We’re pretty deep – probably eight or nine runners are back,” Tinkle said. Leading the group will be junior Cynthia Fenrich, an All-NWOC runner a year ago. Tinkle said senior Megan Waite looks healthier than she has been in past years. If she is able to stay injuryfree, Waite and Fenrich could make a formidable duo. The boys team, on the other hand, is dealing with a lack of numbers. Tinkle had 10 runners out for the first week of practice. “We’ve always had at least 15 boys. I don’t ever re-

COUPON

ANY MEDIUM PIZZA*

DINE-IN OR

DELIVERY

ANY LARGE PIZZA* ANY FAMILY SIZE PIZZA*

*WITH THIS COUPON. 1 DISCOUNT PER ORDER. $1.75 DELIVERY CHARGE. OFFER GOOD THRU 9/20/12.

503-397-3211

S2124UNCOLUMBIA SHINBLVD, E PSTIZHELENS ZA

C10457

2 OFF $3 OFF $4 OFF $

member a time when we haven’t had that many,” said Tinkle, who enters his 30th year as head coach. “I’ll have to go through the hallways when school starts and see what I can get and drag out here.” Unless Tinkle is able to lure some more runners, the Lions will not be able to enter a complete JV team into meets this year. If the varsity group stays healthy, Tinkle thinks they can compete. “We have a good, solid first five. We’ll see what we’ve got after that,” Tinkle said.

Senior Nathan Reed hopes to improve on a 21stplace finish at last year’s NWOC meet.


B14

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

SHHS Fall Phenoms State champs St. Helens High School is home to two fall sports state champions: The 1992 Lions football team and the 1996 Lions football team. The ’92 squad put a thrashing on The Dalles in the title game, winning 53-7. The second title was a closer contest, as SHHS eked out a 21-20 victory over Ontario in ’96. Both teams were coached by Wes Bigham.

Wes Bigham, right, won two titles for the Lions.

St. Helens won the state football championship in 1992 and 1996.

Next in line In addition to the Lions’ two state championships in football, St. Helens has also fielded its share of second-place finishers. The 1952 St. Helens football team, coached by Dick Miller, lost to Crook County in the A-2 state final. The final score was 25-12. Two years later, St. Helens returned to the A-2 state championship game. This time the Lions were coached by Andy Knudsen. St. Helens lost to Vale, 14-7. The team’s most recent runner-up finish came in 1989. Hood River Valley edged SHHS, 15-13, in the finals. That St. Helens team was coached by Wes Bigham.


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

2012 SHHS Schedules Pull this page out and keep it all season as your reference for all St. Helens High School varsity sporting events this fall.

8/31 vs. Cleveland 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m.

7 p.m. DAVID GREENLEAF 503-438-0909 www.greenleaftreerelief.com

SHHS Football 2012 9/7 @ Wilsonville 9/14 @ Liberty 9/21 vs. Sherwood 9/28 @ Hood River Valley

We will go out on a limb for you! TREE REMOVAL large or small

TREE HEALTH ASSESSMENT TREE RISK ASSESSMENT FREE QUOTES

Testimonials

– Dr. Dan Mannen Family Vision of Oregon, PC St Helens, Oregon

"David Greenleaf of Greenleaf Tree Relief LLC was just plain terrific. He took down two large trees, removed some dangerous limbs, was careful of other nearby bushes, trees, and buildings, and then to top it off, completely cleaned up after himself. I would recommend David for any needed tree service and plan to use him again for additional pruning.

– Mark Larson Columbia River PUD

"I haven't talked to anyone who's unhappy with his work. He's always friendly and courteous with his customers."

SHRUB & HEDGE TRIMMING & REMOVALS

STUMP GRINDING

7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m.

4 p.m. TBA 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. TBA 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 8 a.m.

TREE PRUNING shade, fruit & ornamental

10/5 vs. Sandy 10/12 vs. Rex Putnam 10/19 @ Parkrose 10/26 @ Milwaukie

9/6 @ Jamboree (Liberty) 9/8 @ Hillsboro Tourn. 9/11 @ Parkrose 9/13 vs. Sandy 9/15 @ Tualatin Tourn. 9/18 vs. Milwaukie 9/20 @ Wilsonville 9/25 vs. Rex Putnam 9/27 @ Liberty 9/29 @ Parkrose Tourn. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m. 6:45 p.m.

SHHS Volleyball 2012

10/2 vs. Sherwood 10/4 vs. Parkrose 10/9 @ Sandy 10/11 @ Milwaukie 10/16 vs. Wilsonville 10/18 @ Rex Putnam 10/23 vs. Liberty 10/25 @ Sherwood

"I cannot more heartily recommend Greenleaf Tree Relief for any of your tree care concerns. David Greenleaf is a knowledgeable arborist who promptly and efficiently provides solutions for problems associated with trees. When I needed someone to take care of problems at my house, Greenleaf Tree Relief scheduled an appointment for an assessment within a matter of days. Two days later, my problems were gone, and I had a big load of future firewood to boot! When I needed tree relief, Greenleaf was there for me!" – Jeff Dickerson Columbia County Sheriff

B15


2012 SHS Schedules

7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m.

9/7 @ Estacada 9/14 @ Rainier 9/21 vs. Central 9/28 vs. Banks 10/5 @ Yamhill-Carlton 10/11 vs. Tillamook 10/19 @ Seaside 10/26 vs. Astoria

6 p.m. TBA 7 p.m. 7 p.m. TBA 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 9 a.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m.

9/6 @ Molalla 9/8 @ Cascade Tourn. 9/11 vs. Gladstone 9/13 vs. Estacada 9/15 @ N. Marion Tourn. 9/18 vs. La Salle 9/20 @ Tillamook 9/25 vs. Banks 9/27 vs. Seaside 9/29 @ C. Grove Tourn. 10/2 @ Yamhill-Carlton 10/4 @ Astoria 10/8 vs. Tillamook 10/10 @ Banks 10/16 @ Seaside 10/18 vs. Yamhill-Carlton 10/22 vs. Astoria

8/31 @ Cowapa Jamboree 1 p.m.

SHS Volleyball 2012

7 p.m.

8/31 vs. Roosevelt

SHS Football 2012

automotive needs

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

G

2175 Columbia Blvd G St Helens emmertmotors.com

G

503-397-1061

NEW CHEVROLET’S & BUICK’S G GM FACTORY CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED G USED VEHICLES G FINANCING G COLLISION REPAIR G AUTO GLASS G SERVICE G PARTS G TIRES

OF COLUMBIA COUNTY

SERVING THE

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Pull this page out and keep it all season as your reference for all Scappoose High School varsity sporting events this fall.

B16


4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 7 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 6 p.m. 4:15 p.m.

10/1 vs. Yamhill-Carlton 10/3 vs. Astoria 10/9 @ Tillamook 10/15 vs. Banks 10/17 vs. Seaside 10/22 @ Yamhill-Carlton 10/24 @ Astoria 10/30 vs. Tillamook

6:30 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 6:30 p.m. 6:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 6 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 7 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 7 p.m.

10/4 @ Trojan Relays 10/6 @ Paul Mariman Invitational (Philomath) 10/13 @ Concordia Cross Country Classic 10/25 @ Cowapa League Championships (Gearhart) 11/3 @ Oregon State Championships

8/31 @ Night Meet (Wilsonville) 9/8 @ Ultimook Invitational (Tillamook) 9/15 @ Molalla Invitational 9/22 @ 3 Course Challenge (Seaside) 9/29 @ Nike Pre-Nationals

SHS X-Country 2012

9/6 vs. Cascade 9/13 vs. Gladstone 9/18 @ Molalla 9/20 @ OES 9/24 vs. Banks 9/27 vs. Seaside 10/2 @ Yamhill-Carlton 10/4 @ Astoria 10/10 vs. Tillamook 10/16 @ Banks 10/18 @ Seaside 10/23 vs. Yamhill-Carlton 10/25 vs. Astoria 10/30 @ Tillamook

SHS Girls Soccer 2012

4:30 p.m. 6:30 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 4:15 p.m. 6 p.m. 7 p.m.

9/6 @ Roosevelt 9/13 @ Gladstone 9/18 vs. Molalla 9/20 vs. OES 9/24 @ Banks 9/26 @ Seaside

SHS Boys Soccer 2012

56821 COL. RIVER HWY., WARREN

33666 EAST COLUMBIA AVE., SCAPPOOSE

GOOD LUCK FALL SPORTS ATHLETES


9/11 vs. Dallas 9/13 @ The Dalles Wahtonka 9/18 vs. Madison 9/24 @ South Albany 9/26 vs. Hermiston 4:15 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m.

4:30 p.m. 4 p.m. 4:30 p.m. 4 p.m. 5 p.m.

SHHS Boys Soccer 2012

10/2 @ Jefferson 10/4 vs. Milwaukie 10/11 @ Wilsonville 10/16 @ Liberty 10/18 vs. Parkrose 10/23 @ Sandy 10/25 vs. Sherwood 10/30 @ Rex Putnam

9/11 @ Madison 9/13 vs.The Dalles Wahtonka 9/18 @ Lebanon 9/24 vs. South Albany 9/26 @ Hermiston 4:30 p.m. 7:30 p.m. Noon 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 4:30 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m. 7 p.m.

4:15 p.m. 4 p.m. 4:30 p.m. 5 p.m. 4 p.m.

SHHS Girls Soccer 2012

10/2 vs. Roosevelt 10/4 @ Milwaukie 10/6 @ Woodburn 10/11 vs. Wilsonville 10/16 vs. Liberty 10/18 @ Parkrose 10/23 vs. Sandy 10/25 @ Sherwood 10/30 vs. Rex Putnam

SHHS X-Country 2012 9/7 @ Bill Chapman Invitational (Hillsboro) 9/12 @ NWOC District Preview (Blue Lake Park) 9/22 @ 3 Course Challenge (Seaside) 9/26 vs. Sherwood, Milwaukie & Putnam 10/4 host Trojan Relays 10/10 @ Liberty against Milwaukie, Sandy and Liberty 10/13 @ Concordia Cross Country Classic 10/24 @ NWOC District Meet (Blue Lake Park) 11/3 @ OSAA State Championships

C10236

JUNIOR LEAGUE STARTS Sept. 8th @ 9:30 a.m.

BOYS AND GIRLS OF ALL AGES ARE WELCOME. ADULT LEAGUES FORMING ALSO. THE COST IS $7 A WEEK AND INCLUDES 3 GAMES AND SHOE RENTAL. YEARLY USBC CARD IS $17. THE USBC CARD PROVIDES A SHIRT AND AWARD RECOGNITION PATCHES THROUGHOUT THE SEASON.

OREGON TRAIL LANES 735 S Columbia River Hwy., St Helens (503) 397-1011 www.OregonTrailLanes.com and on facebook!


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B19

SHS Fall Phenoms State champs Scappoose High School has brought home five big blue trophies during the fall sports season. Three of those came during the Indians’ memorable run on the gridiron from 2000-’02. During that stretch, Scappoose beat Pleasant Hill for the 3A state title twice: 28-14 in 2000 and 48-28 in 2001. The Tribe capped its trifecta with a 28-19 win over Ontario in 2002. All three of those teams were coached by current SHS head coach, Sean McNabb. The school’s most recent title came just one year ago when the girls cross country team topped Klamath Union by a single point. Four of the top seven runners from that team, as well as coach David Harley, are back in 2012. (See Pages B30-31 for more on this year’s team.) The boys cross country team earned the Tribe’s first fall sports title back in 1981. Coach Jim Vella’s squad scored 103 points to beat second-place Toledo for the AA title. Mike Conrath’s 12thplace finish paced the Indians. Scappoose won the 2011 state cross country title.

(YL `V\ PU [OL aVUL& ,W¡V WKDW WLPH RI \HDU ZKHQ NLGV DUH EDFN LQ VFKRRO DQG SOD\LQJ IDOO VSRUWV 'ULYHUV QHHG WR EH DZDUH RI PRUH SHRSOH ZDONLQJ DQG ULGLQJ ELNHV DW DOO KRXUV RI WKH GD\ 7DNH LW VORZ LQ VFKRRO ]RQHV UHVLGHQWLDO DUHDV DQG DQ\ ZKHUH \RX VHH FKLOGUHQ &ROXPELD  HQFRXUDJHV DOO GULYHUV F\FOLVWV DQG SHGHVWULDQV WR VKDUH WKH URDG /HW¡V PDNH VXUH HYHU\RQH DUULYHV VDIHO\

*VS\TIPH  *VTT\UPJH[PVUZ +PZ[YPJ[ (S^H`Z [OLYL

P.O. Box 998 St. Helens, OR 97051 Administrative Office: (503) 397-7255 Non-emergency Dispatch: (503) 397-1521 1-800-696-7795 www.columbia911.com

Scappoose won its first football title in 2000.

Next in line To go along with the five state titles won by the Indians, Scappoose fall sports teams are the owners of four second-place trophies. Much like the championship football teams of the early 2000s, the SHS football teams of the early 1970s had their own streak. Scappoose appeared in back-to-back state championship games in 1972 and ’73. Jim Bernhardt’s team lost to Gladstone, 20-8, in ’72, and then lost a 30-6 contest to Marist in ’73. Jim Vella’s 1988 boys cross country team took second to Tillamook. Tillamook ran away with the title, scoring 49 points to Scappoose’s 108. The Indians were led by an 11th-place finish from Richard Nelson. David Harley’s girls cross country team was second to Siuslaw in 2008 by a score of 36-122. Jenny Elder finished seventh individually for the Indians.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B20

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Banks Astoria Scappoose Y-C Tillamook Seaside

Indians want to move even faster in 2012

8-2, 5-0 7-3, 4-1 6-4, 3-2 2-8, 2-3 2-6, 1-4 0-9, 0-5

Head Coach Sean McNabb 14th year

Returning All-Stars

SHS Football Senior Branden Bailey, center, figures to help anchor the Scappoose line this season.

Chalk talk: Sean McNabb Scappoose High School football coach Sean McNabb has a good number of experienced linemen returning to the varsity squad this year. That should bode well for the Indians, as they will break in a new quarterback this fall as well as three new receivers. A strong line should help protect that passer. “This year I think our strength is up front. We definitely have more starters back this year than last year. Most of them are up front on offense and up front on defense. And two of our three starting linebackers are back,” McNabb said. “Our strength is probably our front six on defense, front five on offense. “Of course having Paul Revis makes you good on both sides of the ball. Having a guy that scored 20 touchdowns back from last year, it’s nice going into the season with that guy,” McNabb said. Revis, a 5’8”, 145-pound playmaker, scored every which way last season. He is a receiver, returner and defensive back. Who’s throwing the ball to Revis is one of the big question marks heading into the season. McNabb said junior quarterbacks Lionel Sandoval and Taylor Loss have gone back and forth throughout the summer and fall practices. Finding a new QB is nothing new for the Tribe though. This will be the third straight season the Indians have had a new leader taking snaps out of the shotgun. “It’s kinda the same situation as last year. We got a new QB, gotta find three new receivers, gotta replace some guys in the defensive backfield,” McNabb said. “I feel like our kids are much more experienced as

far as that goes this year. Those guys that didn’t get a lot of varsity reps last year are picking up on things real quick.” Quickness will be key for the Indians this season. The Tribe tweaked its no-huddle offense last year to speed up the pace of the game, similar to how the Oregon Ducks operate. “In the past we had armbands. We felt that was too slow. Now everything is signaled in from the sidelines,” McNabb said. Players at the different positions have different responsibilities for which signals to read. McNabb said the team is doing a much better job of that this year. “These kids, they know it real well. All of them – freshmen all the way through – have been running this system. Having that advantage allows us to put more pressure on people,” McNabb said. Scappoose also has an added year of experience with its defensive scheme. Last year was the first year the Indians ran a 3-5 defense. McNabb said both the coaching staff and, in turn, the players have a better grasp of the defense this season. “The kids understand the 3-5 a lot better now than they did at this time last year,” McNabb said. “Having a year of that and these kids playing in that system puts us ahead of the game right now.” On the whole, McNabb likes the way things are looking for his program. “I like the fact that our effort’s been real good. Our kids are playing a little bit better every day. That’s what we’re striving to do,” McNabb said. “The kids are pretty dialed in, focused on what they’re doing.”

Matt Blaser, senior All-Cowapa DL Lionel Sandoval, junior HM LB Paul Revis, senior All-Cowapa WR


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B21

Around the league

At 5’10”, 250 pounds, junior Richie Sanchez, left, will provide depth on the line.

The Cowapa League has been strong the past few years, with a three-team hierarchy consisting of Astoria, Banks and Scappoose. Heading into this year, Banks appears to have the upper hand. “I think they’re loaded. They’ve got a lot of kids back, especially at the skill positions. They’re not real big up front, but real athletic,” said Scappoose coach Sean McNabb. Last year’s group of Braves went undefeated through the Cowapa League. Astoria has to replace its do-everything quarterback, Conor Harber, who graduated in the spring. “Astoria definitely lost probably the best player in the state in Conor Harber. But if you’ve got a kid named Poyer on the team, you’ve got a lot of opportunities to win games,” McNabb said. Jeramy Poyer is the 6’3”, 225-pound younger brother of current Oregon State Beaver cornerback Jordan Poyer. Jeramy plays quarterback and linebacker for the Fishermen. McNabb expects the other three teams in the league – Seaside, Yamhill-Carlton and Tillamook – to each be better than they have been in recent years. “Seaside is gonna be improved. They have a new coach, a new system. Tillamook and Y-C will definitely have some athletes. It’s a tough league and we’re excited about the challenge,” McNabb said. The Tribe opens league play against the Banks Braves on Sept. 28 after a very tough preseason. Scappoose plays Roosevelt, Estacada, Rainier and Central in non-league games.

Time out with Paul Revis & Michael Lohman You guys have the first official week behind you and the scrimmage coming up tomorrow. What’s the feeling like heading into it? PR: Excited. We’re on the black squad. We have the starter it looks like right now, Taylor Loss, excited to get a lot of passing in our offense. And defensively we’ll be ready to go. ML: We’ve got a running back [Zach Fry] who likes to run hard and is not really scared of anything. What can we expect to see on Friday nights from you guys this year? ML: I think this year we’ll be better at stopping the run. PR: Uptempo, fast-paced game. Try and score a lot, play some defense, definitely a lot of scoring. . The last couple of years, Astoria and Banks have been tough for you guys. What are you gonna do to finally get over that little hurdle? ML: This year I think we’ll beat Astoria pretty good, and I know Banks will be a big, tough game. It should be a good game. PR: Defensively against Banks I think we just gotta put more guys up front, get like a 5-2 or 4-3 instead of just going 3-5 at ’em, try to disrupt ’em a little bit. They lost a lot of big guys up front. Then Astoria lost Conor Harber, so that was like their offense, so I like that. I like our chances against Astoria and Banks if we can just slow that run down. We can always score. I like that idea. I think we can definitely win league if we just show up to play. Is that the goal, or expectation, is a league title? ML: Yeah. PR: League champs, state champs. If you make the playoffs anything can happen. ML: Mm hmm.

Junior Carson Davison, right, will see time at linebacker and running back for the Indians.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B22

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Running back position Carson Davison, a 5’9”, 170-pound junior, enters the season as the favorite to be the No. 1 running back on the Indians’ depth chart. He will not be without competition, however. And one of his fellow running backs competing for that top spot has proven himself to be a tremendous athlete. Zach Fry, a 5’10”, 170-pound senior, returns to football this year after two seasons away. During those two years off the gridiron, all Fry did was win two individual Cowapa League cross country championships. “Zach’s been a football player all his life until the last two years. Then he switched to cross country after his freshman year. So it’s not like he’s never played before,” said Scappoose coach Sean McNabb. McNabb said Fry has worked hard to make the adjustment from cross country to football, spending a lot of time in the weight room. “He’s put a lot of muscle on, so in turn he has a lot of power. The other thing he has that’s not easy to coach is he’s just real physical. He likes to hit,” McNabb said. “Once he figures this out, he’s gonna be on the field. He’s still got a ways to go as far as learning the game – schemes, concepts. As far as understanding how to play football, he does a pretty good job of that.” With those two leading the way, McNabb is confident the Indians have two players capable of manning the single-back position. In a pinch, senior receiver Paul Revis can also line up in the backfield. His speed and ability to make people miss makes him a threat to score just about every time he touches the ball. Outside of those three, McNabb said he has other solid players to plug in, but they fit specific situations – short yardage or third down, for example. “We have some other decent backs, I feel, but they’re certain-type backs. I think Carson and Zach can play that single-back position,” McNabb said. Davison has the upper hand in terms of experience. As a sophomore, he carried the ball 26 times for 200 yards (7.7 yards per carry) and a touchdown. He was also one of the top sprinters for the Scappoose track team last spring.

C10220

Senior Zach Fry, right, and junior Carson Davison, left, will both see time as the Tribe’s single back.

C10221


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B23

Inside the Huddle: Ironman

Scappoose head football coach Sean McNabb was kind enough to draw up one of the Indians’ option plays to help The Chronicle’s Fall Sports Preview go inside the huddle. He chose a play Scappoose calls Ironman, which is basically a variation of the triple option. This is a zone read with the quarterback reading the left defensive end. If the end cheats inside to stop the running back, the QB keeps the ball. The quarterback’s second read is on the linebacker covering the Z-receiver. If the LB tries to stop the QB, the QB passes to the receiver. If the LB goes with the Z, the QB keeps the ball and cuts upfield.

S

LB

CB

Senior Tyson Schillereff, No. 54, and sophomore Devin Ray, No. 59, will try opening holes for Tribe running backs this fall.

LB

LB

S

CB LB

RE

N

LE

X

Y H

B ERRY

BRIGHT

Z Q RB

Register NOW FALL Openings

Avenue 30

+RPH ‡ *LIW ‡ :LQH

PRESCHOOL AND KINDERGARTEN

Mention this ad $ 00 503.397.2750 10 off registration

Shop Local! C10238

WWW.BARLOWBIKES.COM

BICYCLES BICYCLE REPAIR SKATEBOARDS PARTS ACCESSORIES & APPAREL Columbia River BMX

Wine & Wine Tasting Craft Beer Home Accessories Lotions Candles Baby Pillows Blankets Furniture Greeting Cards Purses & Bags Rugs Soaps Gift Baskets Jewelry Bathrobes Art Light Fixtures Design

Pumpkin Carving & Demonstrations Saturday October 6th, 1 - 4 pm Wine Tasting 4 - 7 pm Join us and Master Pumpkin Carver PAM LENO! Pam has been on The Martha Stewart Show, Food Network, Halloween Wars and even carves for the White House! Fun for all ages! Dress for the weather, demonstrations will be in the front parking lot.

ZZZDYHQXHFRP ‡  6: &KLQRRN 3OD]D 6FDSSRRVH 25  ‡  RENTALS & BIKE REPAIR ONLY AT THIS LOCATION

Located next to Ace Hardware in Scappoose

C10233

SAINT HELENS 315 Hwy 30 503-397-4900

Hours: Tuesday - Saturday 11am - SP ‡ &ORVHG 6XQGD\ 0RQGD\


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B24

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings

Height, quickness and improved fitness has Tribe thinking big

Astoria Banks Tillamook Y-C Seaside Scappoose

23-4, 9-1 23-7, 8-2 11-7, 7-3 11-12, 4-6 6-14, 1-9 5-14, 1-9

Head Coach Mark Sprenger 7th year*

*Sprenger returns to the head job after two years away

SHS Volleyball From left, Phlycia Haigh, Brittany Catlow and Abby Kessi all return with varsity experience.

Time out with Kate Johnston How have things been going for you guys so far? KJ: Very good. I think this is the best conditioning we’ve done so far. I know Sprenger is looking forward to having a really fit and conditioned team this year. We are so far on track with everything we wanna be and I think we’re gonna do great. You’re on track for… what is it you wanna be? KJ: We wanna be very conditioned. Right now that’s our main goal so we can be conditioned and ready for whatever’s coming to us. And we had a great daily doubles last week. I think we’re staying on track, keeping up with everything. It seemed like you guys were doing a lot of running all week in the morning. Do you think that’s paying off pretty good? KJ: Yeah, it was really good. I don’t think we’ve ever done daily doubles conditioning like that before. But it was really good. We did lots of bleachers, running and testing. It was good.

Was it tough to get through? KJ: It was really tough, yeah. We had a few breakdowns, but it was good besides that. We pushed through it. We made it out good. In what ways do you think that will help you out? KJ: I think, even if we aren’t the best skill-wise, if we can still be the best fit and best in condition for ourselves as a team, it doesn’t matter. If we lose at least we know we’re hustling, we’re the most fit at the end. We can go as hard as we want for as far as we want. What kind of goals do you have for yourself and what kind of goals do you guys have for the team? KJ: For myself, well I’m a senior this year so I want to give it everything I have, go out strong. I really hope we do good in season. I know it’ll be hard to go all the way and go to state, but we haven’t been so great as a program the past three years. As long as we do a few wins and do good, I think that’s our goal right now. I think our biggest goal, like I said, is being fit through the whole season.

Returning All-Stars Brittany Catlow, junior HM S Lexine Loos, senior All-Cowapa MB


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B25

Chalk talk: Mark Sprenger Mark Sprenger was the head volleyball coach at Scappoose High School for six years and is now back after two seasons away from the top spot. He assisted the team last year. As a result, Sprenger is far more familiar with his team than most first-year head coaches. He said this year’s team is made up of mostly returning varsity players. “I think having the experience from last year will really make a big difference. And we’re going to be in way better shape than last year. I think those are two big things that’ll be difference-makers between last year and this year,” Sprenger said. The fitness level is a focal point for Sprenger this year. During daily doubles week, the Indians spent the first two-hour session each day doing conditioning drills. In the afternoon sessions, the team worked on volleyball skills. After evaluating the team during practices, Sprenger said defense looks to be one of the strengths of this group. “I think we’re gonna be quick on defense. Our blocking’s gonna be huge. We’re pretty big up front,” Sprenger said. He said the 2012 Indians are also more skilled offensively than they have been in recent seasons. “I think we’re gonna be an excellent offensive team too. We have some people who can hit the ball, which we haven’t always had,” he said. Seven of the nine players on the varsity roster made the varsity team last year as well. Five of them are seniors: Zoraida Kerley, Kate Johnston, Lexine Loos, Phlycia Haigh and Cassidy Herb. The group has Sprenger excited for the upcoming season. “We’re athletic, we’re tall, we’re fast, we’re quick. We have a lot of volleyball experience. A lot of girls have played club. I have high hopes for them,” he said.

BEST OF LUCK FALL ATHLETES!

SCAPPOOSE AUTO PARTS 51813 Col. River Hwy. 503-543-6318

Senior Zoraida Kerley will be a key defender for the Indians in 2012.

ST. HELENS AUTO PARTS 2013 Col. Blvd. 503-397-0224 C10258

Around the league With two of the top four teams in the state in 2011, the Cowapa League established itself as a volleyball powerhouse. Astoria figures to be the favorite in the league this season. The Fishermen lose only two players from last year’s team that finished fourth at the state tournament. The Banks Braves finished third at state with a large senior class. The Braves lost six of those players to graduation, but have five seniors this year who have that state experience. “It’s a tough league,” said Scappoose coach Mark Sprenger. The coach thinks he has the right pieces in place to compete with either of those two teams atop the league. Sprenger said the key for this team to make a run at the Braves and Fishermen is in its mindset. “I think the biggest thing is overcoming the mentality of the streaks and runs of volleyball games,” he said.

FREE BATON CLASS & REGISTRATION NIGHT Thursday, September 13 Call 503-397-5109 C10255


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B26

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Astoria Tillamook Seaside Y-C Banks Scappoose

New coach preaches possessing the ball on the attack

12-4, 8-2 10-3-2, 7-1-2 8-5-2, 6-3-1 3-11, 3-7 2-7-2, 2-7-1 2-11-1, 2-8

Head Coach Scott Stanton 1st year

SHS Boys Soccer Sophomore Asa Flanagan brings a year of varsity experience to the SHS soccer team.

Chalk talk: Scott Stanton

Returning All-Stars Nick Nguyen, senior All-Cowapa F Jesus Martinez, junior HM MF (2010, ‘11)

New coach Scott Stanton is bringing a new approach to the soccer pitch in Scappoose this season. The coach wants his team to focus more on possession of the ball than it has in the past. “On the attack side, the offensive side, it’s just playing to possess, support the guy with the ball. Make sure you’re not just booting the ball up the field for somebody to hopefully get,” Stanton said. “Just be patient, work it up, get confident on the ball, help support the guy with the ball.” The team has had plenty of time to adapt to this approach. Stanton started working with the players immediately after taking the job in June. His plans for tactical changes aren’t relegated strictly to the offensive side of things. The Indians have also spent plenty of time in practice learning his new defensive strategy. “A lot of teams are like ‘See the ball, get the ball,’” Stanton said. “Both guys run at the ball, the attacker runs up the middle between them.” To better keep attackers from splitting defenders, Stanton introduced a drill in which one defender slows the attacker. Once the defender’s teammate is in the proper position behind him for support, the defender is able to make a play on the ball. “This is really working for them,” Stanton said about the drill. In the few months he has worked with the team, he said there has been quite a change. “They’ve improved quite a bit,” he said. The numbers within the program have improved a lot as well. Scappoose has had a difficult time fielding both a full JV and full varsity roster the last couple of years. This season Stanton and his staff had to cut seven players. “We had a pretty big turnout. It was really nice,” he said. The Indians have five seniors on the varsity roster, which means the future should be bright as well. Stanton is excited about quite a few of the youngsters. “Trevor Smith and Asa Flanagan, two sophomores, are guys who come early, stay late, call me up on weekends and ask what they can work on,” Stanton said. Freshman defender David Bradley should also see time on the varsity squad. Fellow freshman Mark Morud looks to be on the JV team, but has shown flashes of brilliance. “Even some of the top guys on varsity have noticed how much he’s improved, how hard he tries, how bad he wants to play. I think they’re getting nervous he’s gonna start gunning for their spots,” Stanton said.

Around the league The Scappoose Indians have had a tough time in the Cowapa League the past few years. This year’s group aims to change that. “I think we’re definitely gonna surprise some people,” said coach Scott Stanton. “I don’t really know as far as the other teams in the league. I watched all the home games. Tillamook was pretty good, Seaside, Astoria – some pretty good teams in there – but I don’t know how many seniors they had. It’ll be a mystery, but I’m thinking we’re gonna surprise quite a few people.” Tillamook returns a pair of AllCowapa League players, with Goalkeeper of the Year Heriberto Barajas and midfielder Ernesto Mondragon. Astoria has two All-League midfielders and an All-League defender back this season. Offensively, the Indians should be one of the more dynamic teams in the conference. Only Scappoose, with senior Nick Nguyen, and Banks, with junior Riley Phillipi, have All-League forwards returning to their squads this season. That will hopefully help the Tribe achieve Stanton’s main goal. “To improve on last season is the biggest thing we’re looking for. A lot of the boys are really excited,” he said.


Wednesday, September 5, 2012

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B27

Time out with Nick Nguyen & Alex Lukinbeal It sounds like you have been doing a lot more work over the summertime this year. How much of a difference has that made for you? NN: It makes us more conditioned, definitely. AL: We’re a lot more prepared for our next game, our first game. NN: We’re learning a lot more than we have in past years because our coach has everything planned with our offensive attack. I think he wants us to be like Barcelona. AL: Our past coach was more worried about conditioning, but Scott is more worried about skills. He wants us to learn new skills. Yeah, it sounds like he’s putting in a whole different type of offense and different types of defense. Has that been easy to pick up? NN: It’s been a lot of fun. AL: It’s been a lot more fun, actually. . Is that increasing your expectations in terms of win-loss record

from the last few years? NN: Definitely, yeah. AL: It doesn’t really get worse than the last couple years. So what do you guys have in mind for a goal this season? NN: I’m hoping we can score more goals for sure. Maybe get more team chemistry. We’re getting more of a team this year, based off Scott’s coaching. AL: I’d say we need to win about four, five, six games. I think that’s where we should be this year. (Scott Stanton) said you guys know the league better than him, so what’s gonna be the biggest challenge in terms of Cowapa League competition? AL: Seaside and Astoria are always tough. Banks is always kinda weak. NN: Tillamook is gonna be one of the better teams this year. Seaside and Astoria are losing a lot of seniors.

Freshman Mark Morud, right, will push experienced players like senior Jadyn Harris.

Your local candy shop.

BEST OF LUCK FALL ATHLETES • Chocolates • Espresso • Gourmet Foods • • Michele’s Truffles • Garden Décor • Gifts • • Wind Chimes • Gift Certificates • Music Accessories •

BUY YOUR MUSIC ACCESSORIES HERE. THE ONLY PLACE TO BUY IN COLUMBIA COUNTY. Store hours: Mon.-Fri.: 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m. • Sat.: 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m.

Tel: 503-366-9602

2017 Columbia Blvd.

C10250

STAN’S REFRIGERATION & APPLIANCE SALES & SERVICE

Good luck local athletes! 58481 Old Portland Rd., St. Helens C10235





Mon-Fri 9-6 Sat 9-5 503-397-5510


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

B28

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Standings Scappoose Seaside Y-C Astoria Banks Tillamook

13-2-2, 9-0-1 7-7-1, 6-3-1 8-6-1, 5-4-1 7-7-1, 5-4-1 2-7-2, 2-6-2 1-12, 0-10

Head Coach

Recent success has strong senior class eying state finals

Chris Dorough 5th year

Returning All-Stars Charlie Davidson, junior All-Cowapa MF, HM MF (2010) Chris Dorough Cowapa COY (2010, ‘11) Ariel Viera, senior All-Cowapa F (2009, ‘10, ‘11) 1st team All-State (2010, ‘11) Cowapa POY (2010, ‘11)

SHS Girls Soccer Julia Grabhorn, left, and Charlie Davidson will help lead a potent offensive attack in 2012.

Chalk talk: Chris Dorough Fifth-year head soccer coach Chris Dorough has a team full of extremes this year. The varsity team is extremely heavy on seniors (nine) and extremely light on sophomores and juniors (three combined). An extremely talented freshman class looks to have five varsity contributors. “It’s a very, very strong freshman class. I think the future is well and the distance looks well in this class,” Dorough said. That group will carry on the extremely high expectations brought on by this year’s senior class. The group has reached a state semifinal and a state quarterfinal. Those deep runs create big goals. “The expectations are making the final,” Dorough said. All of the pieces appear to be in place to make that expectation a reality. University of Portland commit Ariel Viera and her 78 career goals return. Senior Cassidy Hoglund and junior Charlie Davidson will help spread the scoring responsibilities.

“Last year (Hoglund) had double-digit goals and I think she has close to 20 for her career now,” Dorough said. “We also have Charlie on the wing. She might play up front a little bit. She was our second-leading goal scorer last year.” Seniors Molly Orr and Morgan Tenney, Davidson, and freshman Lucy Davidson (Charlie’s sister) look capable of controlling the midfield. “Lucy Davidson will step in and play right away at center midfield. Distribution-wise she is going to set our team up quite well,” Dorough said. Three of the team’s four starting defenders return from a year ago with seniors Amara Templin and Meagan Peckover and sophomore Emily Muth. They’ll be pushed by freshmen Lauren Frank and Isabel Jory. They’ll try to keep the shot load light for returning goalkeepers Taylor Tull and Alix Raya. On paper, the team looks devoid of weakness. “I would say the hardest thing for us is going to be staying focused for the entire year,” Dorough said.


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B29

Time out with Molly Orr Chris (Dorough) said you were in charge of all the summer stuff. What did you guys do over the summer to get ready for the season? MO: Two times a week we got together and scrimmaged and did little drills and stuff. It was hard to get girls out because people go on vacation and stuff but we did have a lot of dedicated girls that came and it just shows how our program wants to advance. A lot of younger girls came out to show they’re ready to show Scappoose who they are. It was really good. Is that something you guys have done the last couple years? MO: We’ve done it I think three years now, or something. But it never really got going until we, like, stepped up and said OK we’ll run it. Chris can’t drive out here two times a week – he’s got things, he works. We stepped up and started doing it, I think it was two years ago. Was there anybody that has kinda made big improvements from when they first showed up to those summer workouts to tryouts this week? MO: There’s a couple freshman girls that would come every, single time. I think it helped them just getting touches on the ball. One of them’s name is Megan, she’s a freshman. A lot of the older girls would play club soccer in the summer too and a lot of the freshman girls played club soccer so they were keeping touches on the ball, so that really helped us. Freshman Lauren Frank, left, and senior Cassidy Hoglund will both play big roles this year.

Around the league If the recent past is any indication, the Cowapa League will pose very few problems to the Scappoose Indians. In the two years the Cowapa League has existed on its own, Scappoose has not lost. The Indians have outscored conference foes 129-3 in 20 matches. However, Chris Dorough quickly points out the Indians have not won all 20 matches. There was that 0-0 tie to Astoria last year. “We had one slip-up last year, where we tied Astoria,” Dorough said. Dorough said he expects the opposition to be improved in 2012 and wants to be sure his team treats every game with the intensity

needed. “Some of the teams are better. We’re still gonna be staying focused and getting the result each game,” he said. “It’s gonna be fighting to win the league so you don’t play in the play-in game this year in 4A. If we win the league, we save ourselves that play-in game and can work on things we need to work on.” Scappoose figures to be tested in the preseason. Two of the Tribe’s four non-conference games are against 2011 state champions. Coincidentally, those two champions – 3A Oregon Episcopal School and 4A Gladstone – were the only teams to beat Scappoose last year.

Chris said the expectation is the state final. What do you guys gotta do to make sure that happens this year? MO: Well, can’t really be silly in practice. We’ve done that in the past and it’s gotten us where we are, but now we can be fun, but we definitely know the goal and we know we can make it. We could have made it last year, but our last game we just played bad. We have a lot of – all of us together know we want it. We’ve been so close two times now. So now it’s really, for us seniors like Ariel [Viera] and I and Meagan [Peckover], we’ve worked since freshman year for this, for Chris. We’re doing it for him and we’re gonna do it for us, the seniors, that have worked for it. You’ve got two state champs in the preseason. How excited are you for the chance to play those two teams? MO: I’m really excited. It’s gonna be interesting. It’ll show us right off the bat what we need to work on and what we’re gonna need to do to get to the top. So that’s a really good opportunity for us and it’s gonna be fun too. Right off the bat, competitive. And show the younger players that they need to be that competitive too.

FINDERS KEEPERS CHILDREN’S CLOSET Located in Children’s Closet

HALF OFF 3 Month Storage



C10239



BEST SOIL MIXES IN TOWN CERTIFIED ORGANIC DAIRY COMPOST

NOW OPEN SUNDAYS!

 

GOOD LUCK IN FALL SPORTS

BARK NUGGETS & BARK DUST 3/4 MINUS GRAVEL

503-543-5191

Clean Quality New & Resale

Junior’s & Womens Shoes - Purses - Clothes

Children’s Sizes Preemie — Pre-Teen M-F 9:30-5:30 Sat 9:30-5:00 503-397-6059

Great selection of name brand

Jeans - Hoodies - Shirts NOW OPEN

WE L E D IVER!

53567 COLUMBIA RIVER HIGHWAY, SCAPPOOSE, OR 97056

SUNDAYS 10AM-3PM

2035 Columbia Blvd. • Saint Helens • www.JeannesChildrensCloset.com


B30

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

2011 Cowapa Meet (boys)

While girls try to repeat as state champs, young boys team may turn heads

Scappoose Astoria Tillamook Seaside Y-C Banks

49 52 64 80 93 Inc.

2011 Cowapa Meet (girls) Scappoose Banks Astoria Y-C Tillamook Seaside

SHS Cross Country Sophomore Dan Carrier, far left, is the top returning runner for the Indian boys cross country team.

Chalk talk: David Harley With a 2011 state championship under their belts, the Scappoose girls cross country team is in prime position to add another one in 2012. Tribe coach David Harley thinks his girls will be one of three teams contending for a big blue trophy come November. “They should be the clear favorite in the league, then maybe one of two or three teams in the state that has a legitimate chance to win it all,” Harley said. He named Klamath Union and Sisters as the other two likely to compete with Scappoose. The Indians will be led by senior Tia Carnahan and junior Charlie Davidson – both All-State runners in 2011. “It feels really good to know I’ve got someone like Tia and someone like Charlie that’ll probably start me off top five. Their two scores will add up to like four or something,” Harley said. The coach added Carnahan has trained hard over the summer. “She’s prepared for her senior year probably more than she’s prepared for any other season. It’ll be fun to watch what she can accomplish this fall.” Those two along with seniors Sarah Carrier and Anna Hernandez form a solid nucleus of returning state champions. “That’s a pretty good group to work with,” Harley said. “We’ll fill that out with other kids that have been on JV or some new kids.” The boys team is full of newbies. With only two returning varsity runners – sophomore Dan Carrier and senior Colby Wedgworth – there will be plenty of spots up for grabs. Harley thinks this particular group, which is sophomore-heavy, could contend for a state title in a couple years — if the athletes continue working hard. “Those guys have done such a good job this summer of getting together and working out and competing. They enjoy each other,” Harley said. Harley said junior Jim Cutrona, sophomore Steven Gift and sophomore Jacob Harley could round out the top five.

18 84 85 92 111 120

Head Coach David Harley 16th year

Returning All-Stars Tia Carnahan, senior 1st team All-Cowapa (2009, ‘10, ‘11) 1st team All-State (2010, ‘11) Cowapa Champ (2010) 3rd team All-State (2009) Charlie Davidson, junior Cowapa Champ 1st team All-Cowapa 3rd team All-State Anna Hernandez, senior 1st team All-Cowapa (2010, ‘11) Sarah Carrier, senior 2nd team All-Cowapa (2010) 3rd team All-Cowapa (2011) Dan Carrier, sophomore 2nd team All-Cowapa


THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

B31

Time out with Tia Carnahan Coming into this year as state champs, what’s the mindset like for you guys? TC: I’m pretty sure that this year we’re just trying to get top three. Most of us, we have a pretty old team. We’re just trying to get our younger kids into the program. But we’re going for top three in the state, I believe. How about you personally, after two straight fifth-place finishes? TC: This year I want to get sub-19, so I want to get under 19 minutes. And at state I want to get top three. What’s your fastest now? TC: 19:33. Have you guys been doing a lot of work over the summer? TC: Yeah, we actually just got done with Portland to Coast. How’d that go? TC: It went really well. Were you surprised by the detour? TC: Yeah, I actually ran that leg. So I was surprised at the nine-mile leg, but

I was like, “All right.”

Were you guys going for a (fast) time or was it more of a team-bonding thing? TC: Every year it seems more of a team-bonding thing. But we got a pretty good time this year. Well last year our times were messed up, just because that was messed up. You said you’ve got a pretty old team but you’re trying to get the younger kids into it... TC: Yeah, we’re trying to get more younger kids into it – more freshmen, sophomores. We have 10 girls that are graduating this year.

How Much How M Energy Eneergy is Home Wasting? YYour our H ome W a asting? Find out with a FREE Home Find Home Ener Energy rgy EEvaluation valuation* from fr om the Energy Energy g Exper Experts ts aatt CColumbia oluumbia RRiver iver PUD

That’s a big senior class. Is it gonna be a pretty good competition for those top seven spots, you think? TC: I believe so. Kathryn Taylor, one of our last placing varsity girls at state, she moved to Florida. Elise [Harley] graduated and Skylar [Fuller] graduated. Then I believe Charlie [Davidson]’s little sister is doing cross country. So that should be interesting – I’m excited.

Around the league With four runners returning after a comically low score of 18 points at the 2011 Cowapa League Championship Meet, the Scappoose High School girls must be viewed as the favorites to win another league title in 2012. The biggest question mark on the girls side of the league is which past league champion will win an individual crown this year: Tia Carnahan or Charlie Davidson? The team race should be much more interesting for the boys. “I think Tillamook, Astoria and us will be the three teams again,” said David Harley. “Based on experience, we’re probably the third team looking in. But last year going into district, I think most people were thinking we’d be third, or second at best.” This year Astoria has the deepest pool of returning talent. Seaside has the favorite for an individual title in Brett Willyard but drops off considerably after him. Scappoose did lose two-time league champ Zach Fry, who is playing running back for the Indian football team this fall.

*Available for electrically heated homes

Senior Sarah Carrier will try helping the Indians to another Cowapa League title.

Schedule YYours Schedule ours TToday! oday! (503) 36 366-5470 66-5470 eexperts@crpud.org xperts@ @crpud.org


B32

THE CHRONICLE - FALL SPORTS PREVIEW

Front cover, clockwise from bottom left: Kate Johnston; Kaleb Kline; Tia Carnahan leads the SHS cross country team; Brennan Norton. Back cover, clockwise from bottom left: Paul Revis; SHHS cross country coach Gerry Tinkle and Alyna Habel; Brooke Cathers; Emily Muth. Photos by Kyle Boggs

Wednesday, September 5, 2012


Fall Sports Preview  

Fall Sports Preview

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you