Page 1

VOLUME 5773 ISSUE 8

April 2013 Adar/Nisan 5773

www.cbistpete.org

Daven & Dine at CBI’s Kotel Friday, April 12 at 6:00pm Services & Got Shabbat? Dinner Saturday, April 13 at 9:00am Services & Israeli Breakfast Kiddush Follow us on line at www.cbistpete.org CBI Annual Meeting Women’s League Fashion Show Wizards of Ashkenaz Concert Women’s League Glitter Girls Yom Ha’atzmaut Celebration Lag B’Omer Picnic Sacred Texts Burial Daven & Dine at Kotel

5 7 8 9 17 23 26 Back Cvr

Like us on facebook Shabbat Services From Rabbi Cantor’s Notes Women’s League Men’s Club Schools Youth

2 3 3 9 9 11 12

Adult Studies A-Team Buns Family Library Family Programs Life Cycle Events Mitzvah Grams

13 13 15 18 19 21


Page 2

Shabbat Services & Candlelighting

Congregation B’nai Israel 727-381-4900 Contacts

Friday, March 29, 2013 ĂŶĚůĞůŝŐŚƟŶŐϳ͗ϮϵƉŵ Minha & Shabbat Hol Hamoed Pesah Service 6:30pm Saturday, March 30, 2013 Shabbat Hol Hamoed Pesah Services 9:00 am E Ž:ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶ Minah, Maariv & Havdala 7:30 pm Friday, April 5, 2013 ĂŶĚůĞůŝŐŚƟŶŐϳ͗ϯϮƉŵ Sephardic Shabbat Service 8:00 pm Saturday, April 6, 2013 Sedra – Shemini Shabbat Services 9:00 am :ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶϭϬ͗ϬϬĂŵ Minha, Maariv & Havdala 7:35 pm Friday, April 12, 2013 ĂŶĚůĞůŝŐŚƟŶŐϳ͗ϯϲƉŵ Musical Kabbalat Shabbat 6:00 pm Daven & Dine at the Kotel Got Shabbat? Dinner Saturday, April 13, 2013 Sedra – Tazria/Metzora Daven at the Kotel Shabbat 9:00 am April Simha Shabbat, Israeli Breakfast Kiddush Joyful Prayer Chapel 9:15am :ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶϭϬ͗ϬϬĂŵ Minyan Katan 10:45 am, Rm 9 Minha, Maariv & Havdala 7:35 pm Friday, April 19, 2013 ĂŶĚůĞůŝŐŚƟŶŐϳ͗ϰϬƉŵ Shabbat Ruach Service 8:00 pm

Saturday, April 20, 2013 Sedra – Aharei Mot/ Kedoshim Shabbat Services 9:00 am :ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶϭϬ͗ϬϬĂŵ Minha, Maariv & Havdala 7:40 pm Friday, April 26, 2013 ĂŶĚůĞůŝŐŚƟŶŐϳ͗ϰϰƉŵ Musical Kabbalat Shabbat 6:30 pm Saturday, April 27, 2013 Sedra – Emor Shabbat Services, 9:00 am :ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶϭϬ͗ϬϬĂŵ Minha, Maariv & Havdala 7:45 pm Friday, May 3, 2013 ĂŶĚůĞůŝŐŚƟŶŐϳ͗ϰϴƉŵ Carlebach Kabbalat Shabbat 6:30 pm Saturday, May 4, 2013 Sedra – Behar/Behukotai Shabbat Services 9:00 am :ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶϭϬ͗ϬϬĂŵ Minha, Maariv & Havdala 7:50 pm

CBI Website www.cbistpete.org YOU CAN DO PAYMENTS AND DONATIONS ONLINE NOW!

SPONSORSHIP OPPORTUNITIES If you are interested in sponsoring an Oneg Shabbat on Friday evening, a Seudah ^ŚůŝƐŚŝƚŽŶ^ŚĂďďĂƚĂŌĞƌŶŽŽŶ or a L’Hayim following a Morning Minyan in honor or memory of a loved one or a special occasion, please contact Synagogue office.

DAILY SERVICES Become a Minyanaire! Please Support our Daily Minyan: Sunday morning at 9:00 am Monday – Friday mornings at 7:45 am Sunday – Thursday evenings at 6:30 pm in the Chapel

ROSH HODESH NISAN Wednesday & Thursday, April 10 & 11, 2013

CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST The Mitzvah Men’s Club provides a Continental Breakfast for all worshippers on Minyan Mornings in the alcove of the Social Hall. Please join the Minyanaires for the morning Shaharit service and relax and schmooze over breakfast of bagels, cream cheese, coffee cake and coffee/tea, except during Passover.

Rabbi Jacob Luski, D.D. 727-381-4900 Ext. 207 rabbi.luski@cbistpete.org Cantor Jonathan Schultz 727-381-4900 Ext. 305 cantor.schultz@cbistpete.org Executive Director, Michael Grossman 727-381-4900 Ext. 202 execdir@cbistpete.org Pauline Rivkind Preschool Director Bonnie Halprin 727-381-4900 Ext. 211 preschool@cbistpete.org Pauline Rivkind Talmud Torah Education Director, Ilana Dayan 727-381-4900 Ext. 310 prttdir@cbistpete.org Youth & Family Program Director Sandy Brasch 727-381-4900 Ext. 209 youthdir@cbistpete.org Community Engagement, Liz Sembler 727-434-0513 Lizsembler@aol.com Torah Reader/Educator Deborah Marmon 727-381-4900 Ext. 205 dmarmon@cbistpete.org Office Manager, Pam Askin 727-381-4900 Ext. 203 officemgr@cbistpete.org Receptionist, Anita Helfand 727-381-4900 Ext. 201 receptionist@cbistpete.org Accounting, 727-381-4900 Ext.204 accounting@cbistpete.org PRTT Secretary, Patzi Gil 727-381-4900 Ext. 210 prttsec@cbistpete.org

PARTICIPATE IN ALIYOT dŚĞZŝƚƵĂůŽŵŵ ŝƩ ĞĞŽĨ ŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶ͛ŶĂŝ/ƐƌĂĞů encourages worshippers to ƉĂƌƟĐŝƉĂƚĞŝŶƐĞƌǀŝĐĞƐďLJ performing aliyot. If you would like to receive an aliyah, please call the synagogue office at 381-4900, or kindly speak to one of the ushers when you enter the sanctuary, and every effort will be made to accommodate your request. Those wishing to receive an aliyah on Shabbat morning are asked to arrive at services no later than 9:30 am. We look forward to your ƉĂƌƟĐŝƉĂƟŽŶ͘ Shalom, Morry Bornstein, Ritual Chair

President, Laurie Reiskind lauriesr@tampabay.rr.com Women’s League President, Alice Ettinger Men’s Club President, Jesse Rodman USY President, Reva Halprin Kadima President, Rachel LeVine

Bulletin Committee: Coordinators, Pam Askin, Anita Helfand B’nai Israel Review Publishes 11 times a year by Congregation B’nai Israel 300 58th Street North St. Petersburg, FL 33710 727– 381-4900 FAX 727-344-1307 www.cbistpete.org All rights reserved. No part of this document can be copied without the permission of Congregation B’nai Israel

Cover by Masha Ronay


Page 3

From the Rabbi Israel shall endure forever! As we celebrate the 65th anniversary of the State of Israel's founding, let us remember these words: “To those who ask ‘what of the future?’/ƐƟůůŚĂǀĞŽŶůLJ one answer: I believe that we will have peace with our neighbors, but I am also sure that no one will make peace with a weak Israel. If Israel is not strong there will be no peace. I have seen my five grandchildren grow up as free in a country that is their own. Let no one anywhere have any ĚŽƵďƚƐĂďŽƵƚƚŚŝƐ͗ŽƵƌĐŚŝůĚƌĞŶĂŶĚĐŚŝůĚƌĞŶΖƐĐŚŝůĚƌĞŶǁ ŝůůŶĞǀĞƌƐĞƩůĞĨŽƌ anything less.” Golda Meir, My Life (1975) Few states since the end of the Second World War have faced the kind of ůĞƚŚĂůƵŶƌĞŵŝƫ ŶŐŚĂƚƌĞĚĂŶĚƚŚƌĞĂƚƐƚŚĂƚŚĂǀĞƉůĂŐƵĞĚ/ƐƌĂĞůƐŝŶĐĞŚĞƌ ďŝƌƚŚ͘dŽĚĂLJΖƐƐƚƌƵŐŐůĞŝƐĨŽƌƚŚĞƌŝŐŚƚŽĨ/ƐƌĂĞůĂŶĚŚĞƌĐŝƟnjĞŶƐƚŽůŝǀĞŝŶ peace and dignity, secure against her relentless enemies: Hamas, , ĞnjďŽůůĂŚ͕ /ƌĂŶ ĂŶĚ ŝŶŇĂŵĞĚ ǁ ŽƌůĚǁ ŝĚĞ ĂŶƟƐĞŵŝƟƐŵ͘  dŚĞLJ ŚĂǀĞ demonstrated their willingness to employ any means available to create ŚƵƌƚ͕ƐƵī ĞƌŝŶŐ͕ĂŶĚĚĞǀĂƐƚĂƟŽŶ͘ &Žƌ/ƐƌĂĞůŝƐǁ ŚŽŚĂǀĞĨŽƵŐŚƚĂŶĚĐŽŶƟŶƵĞƚŽĮ ŐŚƚƐŽǀĂůŝĂŶƚůLJũƵƐƚƚŽƐƚĂLJ ĂůŝǀĞ͕ƚŚĞŶŽƟŽŶŽĨƉĞĂĐĞŵĂLJƐĞĞŵĂƐƚŽŽŐƌĞĂƚĂůƵdžƵƌLJƚŽďĞůŝĞǀĞŝŶ͘ /ƐƌĂĞůĂƚϲϱŵƵƐƚĐŽŶƟŶƵĞƚŽƐƚƌƵŐŐůĞĨŽƌŝƚƐĞdžŝƐƚĞŶĐĞ͘t ĞĐĞůĞďƌĂƚĞ knowing that Israel, more than just a country, is an idea that inspires millions of Jews around the world. From the ruins of Europe, from the ashes of the gas chambers, from Russia, Venezuela, Ethiopia, Egypt, Morocco, Romania, Poland, the United States, Canada and dozens of other lands, our people created a vibrant new land sustained by an ancient faith. Our greatest success is not only material but moral.

ĐŽŶƐƵŵĞĚďLJŚĂƚƌĞĚ͕ĂƩĂĐŬĞĚƵƐďĂƌďĂƌŽƵƐůLJĞǀĞŶďĞĨŽƌĞϭϵϰϴ͘zĞƚ ǁ ĞŚĂǀĞŶŽƚĂďĂŶĚŽŶĞĚŽƵƌĚĞŵŽĐƌĂƟĐǀĂůƵĞƐ͘t ĞŚĂǀĞƐĂĐƌŝĮ ĐĞĚ ŽƵƌƐŽůĚŝĞƌƐΖůŝǀĞƐŝŶŽƌĚĞƌƚŽŵŝŶŝŵŝnjĞƚŚĞƌŝƐŬŽĨWĂůĞƐƟŶŝĂŶĐŝǀŝůŝĂŶ ĐĂƐƵĂůƟĞƐŝŶĂǁ ĂLJƚŚĂƚĨĞǁ ͕ŝĨĂŶLJ͕ĚĞŵŽĐƌĂĐŝĞƐƵŶĚĞƌƐŝŵŝůĂƌ circumstances would ever consider. The days to come will be a challenge. At Israel 's 65th Independence Day, let us remember how we started, what we are today and that we have to go forward in a dynamic way, improving our work-inprogress. Looking back at what has been accomplished, we must and we should have every confidence that we will succeed. Am Yisrael Chai! At this 65th Israel Independence Day, let us remind the world that Israel is facing an enormous threat from increasing waves of Muslim ŚĂƚƌĞĚĂŶĚŐůŽďĂůĂŶƟƐĞŵŝƟƐŵ͘/ƌĂŶΖƐĂŐŐƌĞƐƐŝǀĞŶƵĐůĞĂƌĂŵďŝƟŽŶƐ and its sponsorship of Hezbollah and Hamas are looming daily threats for Israel and Jews the world over. We Diaspora Jews can stand in the front line of this conflict by lending our support and encouragement to our sisters and brothers in Israel . We must work according to our hope and belief that ‘Netzah Israel lo ishaker’ - the eternity of Israel will never falter. Join us as we celebrate at CBI’s Kotel on April 12 and 13, as well as at ŽƵƌWŝŶĞůůĂƐŽŵŵƵŶŝƚLJĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶŽŶƉƌŝůϭϲ͘, ĂŐ^ĂŵĞĂŚ͊͊ Shalom, Rabbi Jacob Luski

Our enemies,

Cantor’s Notes I’m sure that many of you have heard by now that I’m doing a concert this month. In case you haven’t… I am very pleased to be performing at CBI on Sunday, April 21 at 4:30 pm with my very good friends, Hazzanim Sidney Ezer, Yakov , ĂĚĂƐŚĂŶĚD ĂƩ ŚĞǁ <ůĞŝŶ͕ĂŬĂThe Wizards of Ashkenaz. I am very excited to reunite with my fellow Wizards for this concert, featuring Jewish music in every style from Hazzanut to jazz, barbershop and pop. &ŽƌŵŽƌĞŝŶĨŽƌŵĂƟŽŶĂŶĚƚŽƉƵƌĐŚĂƐĞƟĐŬĞƚƐ͕ƉůĞĂƐĞƐĞĞŽƵƌǁ Ğď page at www.cbistpete.org/cantor-concert. Also this month, I am giving a follow-ƵƉƉƌĞƐĞŶƚĂƟŽŶŽŶŵLJƚƌŝƉƚŽ Germany last summer with the Cantors Assembly. I am speaking about the trip on Wednesday night, April 24 at 7:00 pm in the social hall. I will go into more depth than I was able to when I spoke on a Friday night last summer, and I will also show pictures.

LJƚŚĞƟŵĞLJŽƵƌĞĐĞŝǀĞƚŚŝƐ͕WĞƐĂŚǁ ŝůůŚĂǀĞũƵƐƚĞŶĚĞĚ͘>ĂƐƚ month, I talked about Hallel and its unique place in the Maariv service on the first night of Pesah and in the Seder. This month, I would like to talk about the central figure of the Pesah service: the &ĞƐƟǀĂůŵŝĚĂŚ͘dŚĞ^ŚĂďďĂƚĂŶĚ&ĞƐƟǀĂůŵŝĚŽƚĚŝī ĞƌĨƌŽŵƚŚĞ ǁ ĞĞŬĚĂLJŵŝĚĂŚŝŶƚŚĂƚ͕ ǁ ŚĞƌĞĂƐ ƚŚĞ ŵŝĚĚůĞƐĞĐƟŽŶ ŽĨƚŚĞ weekday Amidah consists of thirteen brakhot making various ƌĞƋƵĞƐƚƐŽĨ' ŽĚ͕ƚŚĞŵŝĚĚůĞƐĞĐƟŽŶƐŽĨƚŚĞ^ŚĂďďĂƚĂŶĚ&ĞƐƟǀĂů ŵŝĚŽƚŚĂǀĞŽŶůLJŽŶĞďƌĂŬŚĂŚ͕ŽŶƚŚĞƚŚĞŵĞŽĨƚŚĞƐĂŶĐƟƚLJŽĨƚŚĞ day – K’dushat ha-Yom͘dŚĞ&ĞƐƟǀĂůK’dushat ha-Yom is the most basic form of this brakhah, and it is the form from which the ^ŚĂďďĂƚĂŶĚ, ŝŐŚ, ŽůLJĂLJĨŽƌŵƐƐƚĞŵ͘dŚĞ&ĞƐƟǀĂůK’dushat haYom covers four basic themes: God has chosen us from among the ŶĂƟŽŶƐĨŽƌ, ŝƐƐĞƌǀŝĐĞ͖, ĞŚĂƐůŽǀŝŶŐůLJŐŝǀĞŶƵƐƚŚĞ&ĞƐƟǀĂůƐ͖ ƌĞŵĞŵďĞƌŽƵƌĂŶĐĞƐƚŽƌƐĂŶĚƵƐŽŶƚŚŝƐ&ĞƐƟǀĂů͖ĂŶĚ͕ďĞƐƚŽǁ ƵƉŽŶ ƵƐƚŚĞďůĞƐƐŝŶŐŽĨz ŽƵƌ&ĞƐƟǀĂůƐ͘ B’shalom, Cantor Jonathan Schultz


Page 4

252-0123


Page 5

From the President I know it is only the beginning of April when you read this column, but I want to know where you will be on May 1, 2013? I hope the answer is-ĂƚƚŚĞ/ŶŶƵĂůD ĞĞƟŶŐ͊ This important annual event allows us all the opportunity to come together and summarize the year in CBI history that has just passed and move forward into the new LJĞĂƌďLJǀŽƟŶŐŽŶĂŶĂŶŶƵĂůďƵĚŐĞƚĂŶĚƚŚĞŶĞǁ džĞĐƵƟǀĞŽŵŵŝƩ ĞĞ and Board of Trustees. That will mean that my first complete year as President of CBI will be ending. I once again thank you for the honor ;ŵŽƐƚŽĨƚŚĞƟŵĞͿĂŶĚŚŽƉĞƚŚĂƚ/ŚĂǀĞĞĂƌŶĞĚLJŽƵƌĐŽŶĮ ĚĞŶĐĞƚŽ lead CBI for another year.

ƚŚĞŶĞǁ ǁ ĞďƐŝƚĞĂŶĚŽŶůŝŶĞĚŽŶĂƟŽŶƐͬZ^s W͛ƐĂŶĚƉĂLJŵĞŶƚƐ͘/ ŚŽƉĞLJŽƵǁ ŝůůĐŽŶƐŝĚĞƌŐŽŝŶŐƚŽD ŝŶLJĂŶĂĨĞǁ ŵŽƌĞƟŵĞƐŶĞdžƚ year- maybe strive to become a MInyanaire! There are so many ways for you to get involved in CBI. There are ƐŽŵĂŶLJƉƌŽũĞĐƚƚŚĂƚŶĞĞĚĞŶƚŚƵƐŝĂƐƟĐǀŽůƵŶƚĞĞƌƐƚŽŵĂŬĞƚŚĞŵ happen. Let me know how you want to get involved next year. Laurie Reiskind President

There have been bumps in the road, some larger than others. A lot is ĐŚĂŶŐŝŶŐŝŶŽŶƐĞƌǀĂƟǀĞ:ƵĚĂŝƐŵĂŶĚ/ĚŽƚĂŬĞƐŽŵĞĐŽŵĨŽƌƚƚŚĂƚ some of our problems such as a decreasing membership and struggling D ŝŶLJĂŶĂƌĞŶŽƚŽƵƌƉƌŽďůĞŵƐĂůŽŶĞ͘/ĚŽĨĞĞůƚŚĂƚƚŚĞdžĞĐƵƟǀĞ ŽŵŵŝƩ ĞĞĂŶĚŽĂƌĚŽĨdƌƵƐƚĞĞƐŚĂƐƚĂŬĞŶŽŶƐŽŵĞĐŚĂůůĞŶŐŝŶŐ issues and are working hard to serve your interests by moving our ĐŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶĂŶĚŽƵƌŽƌŐĂŶŝnjĂƟŽŶĨŽƌǁ ĂƌĚ͘/ŚŽƉĞLJŽƵǁ ŝůůĞŵďƌĂĐĞ ŽƵƌĐŚĂŶŐĞƐĂƐǁ ĞƚƌLJƚŽŵĞĞƚLJŽƵƌŶĞĞĚƐďĞƩ ĞƌĂŶĚďĞƉĂƟĞŶƚǁ ŚĞŶ ƚŚĞĐŚĂŶŐĞƐŚĂǀĞŐƌŽǁ ŝŶŐƉĂŝŶƐ͘/ĚŽŚŽƉĞLJŽƵĂƌĞďĞŶĞĮ ƫ ŶŐĨƌŽŵ

QUOTE Be the first to extend greetings to every human being. Be a tail to lions rather than a head of foxes.

Rabbi Mattia ben Harash

Congregation B’nai Israel of St. Petersburg OFFICIAL NOTICE OF ANNUAL CONGREGATIONAL MEETING WEDNESDAY, MAY 1st, 2013, AT 7:00 P.M. in the Benjamin Social Hall 1. Amendments to CBI By-laws

2. Election of 2013-2014 Officers and Board of Trustees

3. Approval of the Budget for 2013-2014 4. Presentation of Gail S. Warren Legacy for Leadership Award

PROPOSED SLATE OF OFFICERS & BOARD OF TRUSTEES 2013-2014 PROPOSED OFFICERS COMPRISING THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: PRESIDENT: 1st VICE PRESIDENT: 2nd VICE PRESIDENT 3rd VICE PRESIDENT

Laurie Reiskind* Alice Ettinger* Bill Marger* Ricki Lewis*

1 YEAR TERM Pam LeCompte Larry Freid Byron Kolitz Jesse Rodman MEN’S CLUB REPRESENTATIVE:

TREASURER: SECRETARY: IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT: PARLIAMENTARIAN**

PROPOSED BOARD MEMBERS 2 YEAR TERM Ed Ginsburg Gail Frye Joel Shane Dr. David Wein To be determined

Ralph Mizrahi* Sherrie Carroll* Dr. Leslie Pearlstein To be appointed by President**

3 YEAR TERM Lou Bader* Mandi Gross* Philip Redisch* Dr. Michael Slomka*

WOMEN’S LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVE: To be determined

* Indicates new term nominations requiring election at this meeting. **Parliamentarian has no Board voting rights, is appointed by the President and does not require election.

Outgoing Board Members: Susie Berman, Chana Olmstead, Cary Reich, Cindy Weisberg and Outgoing Executive Committee Members: Liz Sembler and Lorne Abrams IMPORTANT NOTE: In order to vote, all dues and obligations must be current through the 3rd Quarter of the fiscal year. Absentee Ballots must be received no later than 4:00 pm Friday, April 26, 2013. Absentee ballots become invalid if the motion for which it was intended is amended.


Page 6


Page 7

Save the Date Mother-Daughter Fashion Show Sunday, May 5th - 9:00 a.m. Stein Mart Seminole Contact Jennifer Sternberg For more information jjudysternberg@gmail.com


Page 8


Page 9

CBI WOMEN’S LEAGUE Spring is here and I want to repeat something I have already written in this column, but it is always very pertinent. How to Plant Your Garden PLANT THREE ROWS OF PEAS: 1. Peace of mind 2. Peace of heart 3. Peace of soul PLANT FOUR ROWS OF SQUASH: 1. Squash gossip 2. Squash indifference 3. Squash grumbling 4. Squash selfishness PLANT FOUR ROWS OF LETTUCE: 1. Lettuce be faithful 2. Lettuce be kind 3. Lettuce be patient 4. Lettuce really love one another NO GARDEN IS WITHOUT TURNIPS: 1. Turnip for meetings 2. Turnip for service 3. Turnip to help one another TO CONCLUDE OUR GARDEN WE MUST HAVE THYME: 1. Thyme for each other 2. Thyme for family 3. Thyme for friends WATER FREELY WITH PATIENCE AND CULTIVATE WITH LOVE. THERE IS MUCH FRUIT IN YOUR GARDEN BECAUSE YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW. Enjoy Spring. ůŝĐĞƫ ŶŐĞƌ, President

Wednesday, April 10th


Page 10


Page 11

THE PAULINE RIVKIND TALMUD TORAH

THE PAULINE RIVKIND PRESCHOOL

dŚĞŵŽŶƚŚŽĨƉƌŝůŝƐ^ƉƌŝŶŐƟŵĞĂƚWĂƵůŝŶĞZŝǀŬŝŶĚWƌĞƐĐŚŽŽů͘t ĞĂƌĞ finishing our Passover holiday and returning to Preschool on Wednesday, April 3, 2013. The children are working their vegetable/ herb and flower gardens out in the courtyard. Be sure to take a peek ƚŚĞŶĞdžƚƟŵĞLJŽƵĂƌĞĂƚƐŚƵů͘ t ĞĂƌĞŶŽǁ ĂĐƟǀĞůLJƌĞŐŝƐƚĞƌŝŶŐƐƚƵĚĞŶƚƐĨŽƌƚŚĞϮϬϭϯ-2014 school year. Pauline Rivkind Preschool has classes for children as young as one year old, all the way through VPK classes. To register for VPK a child must be four years old by September 1, 2013. We are open year round from 7:30 am – 6:00 pm every day except Friday when we close at 4:30 for Shabbat. Please contact Bonnie Halprin at 302-9668 for ŵŽƌĞŝŶĨŽƌŵĂƟŽŶ͘  ŽLJŽƵŚĂǀĞƐŽŵĞƟŵĞLJŽƵǁ ĂŶƚƚŽƵƐĞǀŽůƵŶƚĞĞƌŝŶŐĂƚWĂƵůŝŶĞ Rivkind Preschool? You can come and read to the children, work with ƐŵĂůůŐƌŽƵƉƐŽŶƉƌĞƌĞĂĚŝŶŐ͕ǁ ƌŝƟŶŐĂŶĚŵĂƚŚƐŬŝůůƐ͕LJŽƵĐĂŶĞǀĞŶ ĐŽŵĞŝŶĂŶĚƌƵďďĂĐŬƐĚƵƌŝŶŐŶĂƉƟŵĞ;ϭƉŵͿ͘dŚĞĐŚŝůĚƌĞŶƌĞĂůůLJůŽǀĞ “playing” with adults! Thank you to Judi Gordon who has started volunteering weekly in our VPK class. Thank you also to the ladies who assisted the children in ŚĂŵĞŶƚĂƐŚĞŶŵĂŬŝŶŐ͗:ƵĚŝ' ŽƌĚŽŶ͕>ŝǀŝĂt ĞŝŶ͕ĞƩ Ğ^ĐŚƌŽĞĚĞƌĂŶĚ three residents from Philip Benjamin Tower. Bonnie Halprin Preschool Director

JUNIOR CONGREGATION All B’nai Israel children, ages 9 to 13, grades 3 through 7, are ŝŶǀŝƚĞĚƚŽƉĂƌƟĐŝƉĂƚĞŝŶŽƵƌƐƉĞĐŝĂůĂŐĞ-appropriate Shabbat ^ĞƌǀŝĐĞŝŶƚŚĞŚĂƉĞů͘:ƵŶŝŽƌŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶǁ ŝůůŵĞĞƚŽŶƚŚĞ following Saturdays at 10:00 am on April 6, 13, 20 and 27th. dŚŝƐŝƐĂŐƌĞĂƚƟŵĞĨŽƌĐŚŝůĚƌĞŶƚŽƉƌĂLJǁ ŝƚŚƚŚĞŝƌĨĞůůŽǁ ƐƚƵĚĞŶƚƐ͘

HEBREW HIGH SCHOOL Nineteen students have been enjoying the Spring Semester of Hebrew High School, which completes on Wednesday, April 3, 2013.

This month we are observing 4 holidays that are significantly important during this century. We are not learning about holidays from the Torah, but as Jewish people we must look constantly at our history. 1 - Yom Ha-Shoah - Day of Remembrance of the Holocaust is on the 27th of Nisan. This was formed by the Israeli Knesset. The Holocaust was the murder by Nazi Germany of six million Jews. Most of the Jews of Europe were dead by 1945. A ĐŝǀŝůŝnjĂƟŽŶƚŚĂƚŚĂĚŇŽƵƌŝƐŚĞĚĨŽƌĂůŵŽƐƚϮ͕ϬϬϬLJĞĂƌƐǁ ĂƐŶŽ more. The survivors – one from a town, two from a host – dazed, emaciated, bereaved beyond measure, gathered the remnants of their vitality and the remaining sparks of their ŚƵŵĂŶŝƚLJ͕ĂŶĚƌĞďƵŝůƚ͘dŚĞLJŶĞǀĞƌŵĞƚĞĚŽƵƚũƵƐƟĐĞƚŽƚŚĞŝƌ tormentors –ĨŽƌǁ ŚĂƚũƵƐƟĐĞĐŽƵůĚĞǀĞƌďĞĂĐŚŝĞǀĞĚĂŌĞƌ such a crime? Rather, they turned to rebuilding: new families forever under the shadow of those absent; new life stories, ĨŽƌĞǀĞƌǁ ĂƌƉĞĚďLJƚŚĞǁ ŽƵŶĚƐ͖ŶĞǁ ĐŽŵŵƵŶŝƟĞƐ͕ĨŽƌĞǀĞƌ ŚĂƵŶƚĞĚďLJƚŚĞůŽƐƐ͘t ĞŵƵƐƚĐŽůůĞĐƟǀĞůLJŶŽƚĨŽƌŐĞƚƚŚŝƐ terrible period in our history and never forget! 2 - Yom Ha-Zikharon- Remembrance Day is in honor of those ǁ ŚŽĚŝĞĚĮ ŐŚƟŶŐfor Israel in all wars. Since this affects almost everyone in Israel, many ceremonies take place and school children of high school age realize that it is their turn to become soldiers. 3 - The wonder of living and growing up in Israel is the next day,Yom Ha-Atzma’ut- Israeli Independence Day, is on the 5th of Iyar, the Hebrew date of the founding of the State of Israel. This is celebrated by Jews all over the world! Thank God that we have a Jewish country which is now 65 years old! There will be a Shabbat Israeli-food dinner and we will have our own ƵŶŝƋƵĞĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶƐĚƵƌŝŶŐ^ƵŶĚĂLJ^ĞŵŝŶĂƌ͘ 4 - Lag B’Omer is a minor Jewish holiday that falls between Passover and ^ŚĂǀƵŽƚ͘Η>ĂŐΗŝƐĂĐŽŵďŝŶĂƟŽŶŽĨƚǁ Ž, ĞďƌĞǁ  ůĞƩ ĞƌƐ͗ůĂŵĞĚĂŶĚŐŝŵŵĞů͘ĐĐŽƌĚŝŶŐƚŽ, ĞďƌĞǁ ŶƵŵĞƌŽůŽŐLJ͕ lamed represents the number 30 and gimmel represents the number 3. These two numbers are significant, because Lag ͛K ŵĞƌŝƐĐĞůĞďƌĂƚĞĚŽŶƚŚĞϯϯƌĚĚĂLJŽĨŽƵŶƟŶŐƚŚĞK ŵĞƌ͘ t ŚŝůĞƚŚĞK ŵĞƌŝƐĂƟŵĞŽĨŵŽƵƌŶŝŶŐ͕ŽŶ>ĂŐĂΖK ŵĞƌ marriages can be performed, children are taken to parks to ƉůĂLJ͕ĂŶĚƉĞŽƉůĞŽŌĞŶŐĂƚŚĞƌĨŽƌůĂƌŐĞďŽŶĮ ƌĞƐ͕ƌĞƉƌĞƐĞŶƟŶŐ the light of the Torah. t ĞĂƌĞƉƌŽƵĚĨŽƌĂůůƚŚĞĐŽŶƟŶƵŝŶŐĂĐŚŝĞǀĞŵĞŶƚƐŽĨ/ƐƌĂĞů ĚƵƌŝŶŐƚŚŝƐƟŵĞ͊ “Avinu She-bashamayim…Bless the State of Israel!”

Todah Rabah to our teachers: Rabbi Jacob Luski, Rivy Chapman, Dr. Marc Reiskind and Sandy Brasch.

B’shalom, Ilana Dayan͕ĚƵĐĂƟŽŶ ŝƌĞĐƚŽƌ


Page 12

YOUTH DEPARTMENT

FROM THE DESK OF RABBI JACOB LUSKI

ůĞĐƟŽŶƐǁ ĞƌĞŚĞůĚĨŽƌSub Regional Board at Mercaz ^ƉƌŝŶŐ^ƵďZĞŐŝŽŶĂůŽŶǀĞŶƟŽŶ last month in :ĂĐŬƐŽŶǀŝůůĞ͘^ŝdžŽĨŽƵƌh ^zĞƌƐĂƩ ĞŶĚĞĚĐŽŶǀĞŶƟŽŶĂŶĚ represented us well. We wish the new Board “Mazal Tov!”

One the most important mitzvoth in Judaism is bikkur holim – ǀŝƐŝƟŶŐ the sick. It is the responsibility that the clergy of B’nai Israel take very seriously. When our members are ill or hospitalized, we want to know.

h ^z ĐŚĂƉƚĞƌĞůĞĐƟŽŶƐ will take place at our closing event May 18th. If you are interested in running for a Board ƉŽƐŝƟŽŶ͕/ǁ ŽƵůĚůŽǀĞƚŽƚĂůŬƚŽLJŽƵ͊^ĞƌǀŝŶŐŽŶŽĂƌĚŝƐ an ideal way to bond with other USYers and become part of the force that will drive your USY chapter 2013-2014.

/ŶƚŚĞŝŶƚĞƌĞƐƚŽĨƉƌŽƚĞĐƟŶŐĐŽŶĮ ĚĞŶƟĂůŝƚLJ͕ŚŽƐƉŝƚĂůƐƚŽĚĂLJĂƌĞĞdžͲ ƚƌĞŵĞůLJĐĂƵƟŽƵƐĂďŽƵƚƐŚĂƌŝŶŐƉĂƟĞŶƚŶĂŵĞƐ͕ĞǀĞŶǁ ŝƚŚƌĂďďŝƐ͘t Ğ need our congregants to communicate directly with us and to inform ƵƐŽĨŝůůŶĞƐƐŽƌŚŽƐƉŝƚĂůŝnjĂƟŽŶ͘WůĞĂƐĞĐĂůůWĂŵƐŬŝŶ͕Žĸ ĐĞŵĂŶĂŐĞƌ͕ at 381-3900, extension 203, so that as clergy and as a synagogue family we can be helpful in moments of difficulty or stress.

On April 14th Kadima and USY will come together for a joint event! Stay tuned for details on this awesome event. April 3rd is our last Dine and Dash of the year. We appreciate all those who provided sponsorships this year and to the Piper Family who sponsored Aprils’ Dine and Dash. &ŽƌŽƵƌƐĞŶŝŽƌƐŝƚǁ ŝůůďĞďŝƩ ĞƌƐǁ ĞĞƚĂƐƚŚĞLJĂƩ ĞŶĚ ZĞŐŝŽŶĂůŽŶǀĞŶƟŽŶ͕Ɖƌŝůϭϵ-21 in Orlando. This will be ƚŚĞŝƌůĂƐƚh ^zĐŽŶǀĞŶƟŽŶ͕ŚŽǁ ĞǀĞƌĨŽƌƚŚŽƐĞĂƩ ĞŶĚŝŶŐĂ ZĞŐŝŽŶĂůĐŽŶǀĞŶƟŽŶĨŽƌƚŚĞĮ ƌƐƚƟŵĞŝƚǁ ŝůůďĞĂƵŶŝƋƵĞ experience. Mark your calendars so you don’t miss a moment of programming! B’Shalom, Sandy Brasch Youth and Family Program Director April Calendar Wed. 4/3: ϱ͗ϬϬƉŵh ^zŽĂƌĚŵĞĞƟŶŐ 6:00 Dine and Dash 7:00 final Hebrew High & Mehina sessions Fri. 4/12:

“Got Shabbat?” dinner, USYers will serve

Sun. 4/14:

12:30 pm USY/Kadima co event

Sun. 4/28:

Lag B’Omer Picnic and BBQ

We want to thank everyone that participated in Mitzvah Day 2013 to make it a huge success. A very special Thank You goes to our sponsors that donated money or goods. And finally thanks to our committee members for all their hard work. Jackie and Helen Wertel

Mazal Tov Mazal Tov to Dr. Ruth Lebowitz and Janet Augenbraun and the rest of the Library Committee members, Esta Blaxberg, Sandy Harwood, Shoshana David and Rachel Seldin, for all their hard work to achieve national accreditation for our Buns Family Library by the National Association of Jewish Libraries. Everyone is welcome to attend the next Regional meeting of that organization on Monday, April 8th at noon. This is a lunch with guest author, Betty Grebenschikoff. Please rsvp for lunch or if you wish to become involved with the work of the library committee, contact Ruth Lebowitz at 537-0795 or by e-mail: rlebowitz@tampabay.rr.com.


Page 13

ADULT STUDIES TALMUD MADE EASY LED BY STEPHEN WEIN Wednesday, April 3rd and 17th at 7:00 pm, Tuesday, May 7th and Wednesday, May 29th in the Buns Family Library

THE DEAD SEA SCROLLS - A LIVING HISTORY Tuesday, April 9th at 4:00 pm  ƌ͘D ŽƌƌŝƐ>Ğs ŝŶĞǁ ŝůůƚĂŬĞƵƐďĂĐŬŝŶƟŵĞĂŶĚ explore the Dead Sea Scrolls.

TORAH FOR SENIORS LED BY RABBI JACOB LUSKI Tuesday, April 9th at 11:00 am ĂƚWŚŝůŝƉĞŶũĂŵŝŶdŽǁ ĞƌĐƟǀŝƟĞƐZŽŽŵ͘ LUNCH WITH THE RABBI & MISHNAH STUDY Wednesday, April 10th at 12:00 noon in the CBI Atrium. Please RSVP your deli lunch order to the synagogue office by 1:00 pm the Tuesday prior to class. JOYFUL PRAYER Saturday, April 13th, 9:15 am in the Chapel CBI - HADASSAH BOOK DISCUSSION CLUB Wednesday, April 24th at 10:00 am In the Buns Family Library To discuss: Sleeping With the Enemy: Coco Chanel’s Secret War by Hal Vaughan

/ŚĂĚƚŚĞƉƌŝǀŝůĞŐĞŽĨŚŽƐƟŶŐƚŚĞƐĞĐŽŶĚŽĨĂĨŽƵƌ-part JCRC series on Israel advocacy. Rabbi Ed Rosenthal, Director and Campus Rabbi of the Hillels of the Florida Suncoast was the ĨĂĐŝůŝƚĂƚŽƌ͘, ŝƐƚŽƉŝĐǁ ĂƐ͞/^ƉĞĂŬ&ůƵĞŶƚ/ƐƌĂĞů͗/ƐƌĂĞůĐƟǀŝƐŵŽŶ ĂŵƉƵƐ͘͟ K Ƶƌ , ĞďƌĞǁ  , ŝŐŚ ƐƚƵĚĞŶƚƐ ƉĂƌƟĐŝƉĂƚĞĚ ŝŶ ƚŚĞ discussion. This month’s column summarizes the February session. ^ŝƚƵĂƟŽŶ͗/ŵĂŐŝŶĞůŝǀŝŶŐŝŶĂǁ ŽƌůĚǁ ŚĞƌĞƚŚĞ, ŽůŽĐĂƵƐƚŝƐĂ distant memory, where being Jewish is broadly accepted, where you (and perhaps your parents) have never lived in a world without a state of Israel. This is what it’s like for today’s young adults. Rabbi Rosenthal shared with us what it’s like to ŵĂŬĞ/ƐƌĂĞůĂŶĚ:Ğǁ ŝƐŚŝĚĞŶƟƚLJƌĞůĞǀĂŶƚǁ ŚĞŶŝƚ͛ƐĞĂƐLJƚŽƚĂŬĞ for granted. , ŝůůĞů͛ƐƚŚƌĞĞƉƌŽŶŐƐŽĨ/ƐƌĂĞůĂĐƟǀŝƐŵŽŶŽƵƌůŽĐĂůĐŽůůĞŐĞ ĐĂŵƉƵƐĞƐĂƌĞ͗ŶŐĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ͖ĚƵĐĂƟŽŶ͖ĂŶĚĚǀŽĐĂĐLJ͘ ŶŐĂŐĞŵĞŶƚ ŝŶĐůƵĚĞƐ͗ ĂŶ /ƐƌĂĞů dĂďůĞ Ăƚ Ă ŵƵůƟ-cultural ĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶƐ͖ĐŽī ĞĞĚĂƚĞƚŽĚŝƐĐƵƐƐ/ƐƌĂĞůǁ ŝƚŚĂŶŝŶƚĞƌĞƐƚĞĚ ƐƚƵĚĞŶƚ͖ŚĂŶĚŝŶŐŽƵƚ/ƐƌĂĞůŝĐĂŶĚLJǁ ŝƚŚŝŶĨŽƌŵĂƟŽŶĂďŽƵƚ/ƐƌĂĞů͖ zŽŵ, ĂƚnjŵĂƵƚĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶŽŶĐĂŵƉƵƐ͖ĂŶĚdĂŐůŝƚ;ŝƌƚŚƌŝŐŚƚͿ͘ ĚƵĐĂƟŽŶ ŝŶĐůƵĚĞƐ͗ ƉƌŽŐƌĂŵƐ͖ ƐƉĞĂŬĞƌƐ͖ ŵŽǀŝĞƐ͖ ƉĞƌƐŽŶĂů encounters; Israel though holidays and culture. ĚǀŽĐĂĐLJ ŝŶĐůƵĚĞƐ͗ŚŝŐŚĞƐƚ ůĞǀĞů ŽĨ /ƐƌĂĞů ĂĐƟǀŝƐŵ͖ ƐƚƵĚĞŶƚ government; student club leaders; student newspapers. The principle of Israel advocacy is that “Israel is NOT a Jewish Issue; Israel is an AMERICAN Issue”. Student leaders, not necessarily Jewish, are sent to conferences, eg, AIPAC, and to Israel. • Hillel welcomes, partners with, and aids the efforts of ŽƌŐĂŶŝnjĂƟŽŶƐ͕ŐƌŽƵƉƐ͕ĂŶĚƐƉĞĂŬĞƌƐĨƌŽŵĚŝǀĞƌƐĞƉĞƌƐƉĞĐƟǀĞƐŝŶ ƐƵƉƉŽƌƚŽĨ/ƐƌĂĞůĂƐĂ:Ğǁ ŝƐŚĂŶĚĚĞŵŽĐƌĂƟĐƐƚĂƚĞ͘, ŝůůĞůǁ ŝůůŶŽƚ ƉĂƌƚŶĞƌǁ ŝƚŚ͕ŚŽƵƐĞ͕ŽƌŚŽƐƚŽƌŐĂŶŝnjĂƟŽŶƐ͕ŐƌŽƵƉƐ͕ŽƌƐƉĞĂŬĞƌƐ ƚŚĂƚĂƐĂŵĂƩ ĞƌŽĨƉŽůŝĐLJŽƌƉƌĂĐƟĐĞ͗ -ĚĞŶLJƚŚĞƌŝŐŚƚŽĨ/ƐƌĂĞůƚŽĞdžŝƐƚĂƐĂ:Ğǁ ŝƐŚĂŶĚĚĞŵŽĐƌĂƟĐƐƚĂƚĞ with secure and recognized borders; -ĚĞůĞŐŝƟŵŝnjĞ͕ĚĞŵŽŶŝnjĞ͕ŽƌĂƉƉůLJĂĚŽƵďůĞƐƚĂŶĚĂƌĚƚŽ/ƐƌĂĞů͖ -ƐƵƉƉŽƌƚďŽLJĐŽƩ ŽĨ͕ĚŝǀĞƐƚŵĞŶƚĨƌŽŵ͕ŽƌƐĂŶĐƟŽŶƐĂŐĂŝŶƐƚƚŚĞ State of Israel; -ĞdžŚŝďŝƚĂƉĂƩ ĞƌŶŽĨĚŝƐƌƵƉƟǀĞďĞŚĂǀŝŽƌƚŽǁ ĂƌĚƐĐĂŵƉƵƐĞǀĞŶƚƐ or guest speakers or foster an atmosphere of incivility. Byron Kolitz dŚĞĚǀŽĐĂĐLJĨŽƌ/ƐƌĂĞůŽŵŵŝƩ ĞĞ bkolitz@tampabay.rr.com


Page 14

Please patronize our advertisers

You want to place an ad? Call Pam Askin 727-381-4900 ext. 203


Page 15

BUNS FAMILY LIBRARY

YOU ARE INVITED

The ŶĞdžƚŵĞĞƟŶŐŽĨƚŚĞƌĞŐŝŽŶĂůƐƐŽĐŝĂƟŽŶŽĨ:Ğǁ ŝƐŚ>ŝďƌĂƌŝĞƐǁ ŝůůďĞŚĞůĚĂƚƚŚĞ/>ŝďƌĂƌLJŽŶD ŽŶĚĂLJ͕ April 8th͕ĂƚϭϮ͗ϬϬŶŽŽŶ͘dŚĞŐƵĞƐƚƐƉĞĂŬĞƌǁ ŝůůďĞĞƩ LJ' ƌĞďĞŶƐĐŚŝŬŽī ͕ůŽĐĂůƌĞƐŝĚĞŶƚ͕, ŽůŽĐĂƵƐƚƐƵƌǀŝǀŽƌ͕ ĂŶĚĂƵƚŚŽƌŽĨƚŚĞŬ͕͞K ŶĐĞD LJE ĂŵĞt ĂƐ^ĂƌĂ͘͟ĞƩ LJǁ ŝůůďĞƐƉĞĂŬŝŶŐĂďŽƵƚŚĞƌĞdžƉĞƌŝĞŶĐĞƐůŝǀŝŶŐŝŶ ^ŚĂŶŐŚĂŝĚƵƌŝŶŐt ŽƌůĚt Ăƌ//ĂŌĞƌŚĞƌĨĂŵŝůLJŇĞĚĨƌŽŵƚŚĞE ĂnjŝƐ͘ This event is open to everyone. Lunch will be ordered from Jo-El’s. All sandwiches are served with pickle and your choice one: potato salad, coleslaw, or macaroni salad. The following menu choices are available: Hot corned beef

$7.99

Egg salad

$5.99

Hot pastrami

$7.99

Albacore tuna salad

$6.99

Oven roasted turkey breast

$6.99

Beef tongue

$9.50

dĞĂ͕ĐŽī ĞĞ͕ĂŶĚĚĞƐƐĞƌƚǁ ŝůůďĞƉƌŽǀŝĚĞĚďLJƚŚĞ>ŝďƌĂƌLJŽŵŵŝƩ ĞĞ͘ Please respond to Ruth Lebowitz at rlebowitz@tampabay.rr.com or at 727-537-0795 with your lunch order by Friday, April 5th. CBI - HADASSAH BOOK DISCUSSION CLUB Wednesday, April 24th at 10:00 am In the Buns Family Library To discuss: Sleeping With the Enemy: Coco Chanel’s Secret War by Hal Vaughan


Page 16

Come join us! For membership information please contact: Rhoda Ross â&#x20AC;&#x201C; Membership VP rhodagr63@yahoo.com 727-548-5405

St. Petersburg Chapter


Page 17

THANK YOU TO OUR VOLUNTEERS Todah Rabah to the following volunteers who assisted with the office work and special mailings over the past month:  Marian Lustigman Rooth

Helen Kahan

 Sally Swale  Elissa Reiskind Through their efforts many tasks have been accomplished and their time and assistance are greatly appreciated. Our apologies to anyone we may have inadvertently omitted. If you would like to do volunteer work, please call the synagogue office at 381-4900.


Page 18

FAMILY PROGRAMS Although it has felt like spring for many weeks, the arrival of Pesach seems to make it official. I hope your Seders were meaningful and you have enjoyed the holiday.

Sunday, April 21 we will be entertained by The Wizards of Ashkenaz featuring our talented Cantor Jonathan Schultz.

Several weeks ago you had the opportunity to take part in a ŵŽƌŶŝŶŐŽĨůĞĂƌŶŝŶŐ͕ĞdžƉůŽƌĂƟŽŶĂŶĚĨƵŶĂƚƚŚĞƐĞĐŽŶĚĂŶŶƵĂů family Passover program. Once again Patzi Gil did an ŽƵƚƐƚĂŶĚŝŶŐũŽďĐƌĞĂƟŶŐƚŚŝƐƉƌŽŐƌĂŵĂŶĚƚŽŚĞƌǁ ĞƐĂLJ͞dŽĚĂŚ ZĂďĂŚ͊͟, ĞƌĐƌĞĂƟǀŝƚLJĂŶĚĂďŝůŝƚLJƚŽŵĂŬĞƚŚĞWĂƐƐŽǀĞƌƐƚŽƌLJ come alive is amazing.

Sunday April 28 is Lag B’Omer and our annual Lag B’Omer Picnic at Lake Seminole Park. The JCC ^ƵŶĐŽĂƐƚŚĂƐƚĞĂŵĞĚƵƉĨŽƌƚŚŝƐĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶĂŶĚ ǁ ŝůů ůĞĂĚ ŐĂŵĞƐ ĂŶĚ ĂĐƟǀŝƟĞƐ͘ dŚĂŶŬƐ ƚŽ ƚŚĞ Mitzvah Men’s Club who will prepare a yummy BBQ!

This month there are several events to enjoy with your family.  The last “Got Shabbat?” dinner of the year, April 12, 2013 ǁ ŝůůĨĞĂƚƵƌĞ/ƐƌĂĞůŝĐƵŝƐŝŶĞ͘D ĂŬĞLJŽƵƌƌĞƐĞƌǀĂƟŽŶŶŽǁ ƐŽ you can experience dining at the Kotel. 

ĞůĞďƌĂƚĞzŽŵ, Ă͛ƚnjĂŵ͛ƵƚĂƚƚŚĞĐŽŵŵƵŶŝƚLJĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶ͕ ƉƌŝůϭϲƚŚ͘^ĞĞƚŚĞŇLJĞƌŝŶƚŚŝƐďƵůůĞƟŶĨŽƌƚŚĞĚĞƚĂŝůƐ͘

www.jewishpinellas.org

Come to one or come to all! B’Shalom, Sandy Brasch Youth and Family Program Director

CBI Website www.cbistpete.org

Royal Palm Cemetery Plots For Sale 2 adjoining plots for sale in "sold out" Royal Palm Cemetery B'nai Israel Section - $2,000.00 each Contact Rita Kessler 404-580-3203 of 770- 772-5615

Please patronize our advertisers


Page 19 LIFE CYCLE EVENTS LIFE CYCLE EVENTS

Mazal Tov To:

ACHIEVEMENTS:  Eric & Judy Ludin on their new home.  Danny & Rachelle Schwartz on their new home.  Robyn Mencher ŽŶŚĞƌŶĞǁ ďƵƐŝŶĞƐƐD ŝŶƵƚĞďLJD ŝŶƵƚĞĚŝƟŶŐ and Proofreading BAR & BAT MITZVAH:

  ƌ͘D ĂƌŬΘ ĞďďŝĞ^ŽŬŽůŽǀĂŶĚD ĂƌŝĞƩ Ă ƌƵĐŬĞƌon the Bar Mitzvah of their son and grandson, Corey Nathaniel Sokolov.

We share in the sorrow of the passing of:

 Dr. David & Amy Piper and Julian & Zoe Piper on the Bat Mitzvah of their daughter and granddaughter, Emma Claire Piper. BIRTHS:  Jeffrey & Diane Hilton and Julian & Zoe Piper on the birth of their daughter and granddaughter, Alexa Sloan Hilton.

 Drs. Igor & Yana Sirotkin on the birth of their son Benjamin Liam Sirotkin.  Sidney & Phyllis Werner and Bruce & Sara Werner on the birth of their granddaughter and daughter, Tali Jordana Werner. ENGAGEMENTS:  , ĂƌŽůĚΘŚĂƌůŽƩ Ğ' ŽůĚďĞƌŐĂŶĚ ƌ͘>ĂƌƌLJ' ŽůĚďĞƌŐΘ:ĞƐƐŝĐĂ Whitcoff on Larry’s engagement to Jessica. WEDDINGS:  Dr. Sheldon & Susan Scheinert on the marriage of their son, Lawrence Scheinert to Rachel Speisman. Looking for a special way to honor your family and friends ǁ ŚŽĂƌĞĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŶŐĂƐŝŵŚĂ͍ The TREE OF LIFE is just the answer. What a joy it is for someone to walk into our shul and see a Tribute of their special birthday, anniversary or wedding. Does your child or grandchild have a Bar/Bat Mitzvah or special occasion coming up? What a great way to honor them!

BEN BUSH Father of Gayle Bush, Steve Bush, Lisa Harris & Rick Carroll Father-in-law of Joann Bush MAITLAND KNAPP Husband of Sheila Knapp Father of Dr. Richard Knapp and Stepfather of Susan Gill

NEW! You can now donate online at: www.cbistpete.org Follow us on facebook

JUDAICA SHOP HOURS Mondays: 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. & 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Tuesdays: 3:00 – 5:00 p.m. Thursdays: 1:00 – 3:00 p.m.

ůƐŽŵĂŬĞƐĂŐƌĞĂƚ͞ŐƌŽƵƉŐŝŌ͟ĨŽƌĂƐƉĞĐŝĂůŽĐĐĂƐŝŽŶ͘ Order forms are in the synagogue office and lobby.

If you need an appointment, please contact: Ellen Bernstein – 345-0237 Anita Helfand – 381-4900

D ŝŶŝŵƵŵĚŽŶĂƟŽŶΨϮϱϰ͘

Remember, we special order.

Leaves have been dedicated:

 Steve & Linda Grau’s 45th Anniversary, Love, Aaron, Sharon, Sam, Gia & Brooklyn, March 10, 2013


Page 20


Page 21

April Join us in wishing Mazal Tov! to members celebrating their birthdays, anniversaries and B’nai Mitzvah. Your good wishes can be part of their memories, while at the same time, supporting B’nai Israel’s commitment to help our schools, youth groups and Synagogue through your donations to our Mitzvah Fund.

2 Carl Rubinsky 3 Robert Warsaw 4 Lorelei Monast 5 Lillian Grau 5 Sandy Brasch 7 Sandi Rodman ϳ ƌ͘D ĂƌƟŶZŽƐĞŶďůƵŵ 7 Dr. Naomi Abel 7 Robin Eldred 8 Dr. Warren Abel 9 Joan Redisch 10 Joyce Seder 10 Marion Joseph 11 Diana Jay 12 George Sakovich 12 Barbara Karpay 13 Dr. Glen Goldfarb 14 Harry Kraff 14 Susan Turner 14 Rachel Wein 15 Jerome Rosenberg 15 Karen Leon 15 Michael Hurwitz

16 Naomi Berg 16 Dr. David H. Gross 18 Michael Frye 19 Sanders Heller ϮϬĞƩ Ğ^ĐŚƌŽĞĚĞƌ 20 Dr. Steven Shwer 20 Gerald Wiseberg 21 Janet Shapiro 22 Claire Yogman 22 Billie Bornstein 24 Meni Kanner 25 Joel Berman 25 Pearl Brook 25 Leslie Kirsner 26 Sharon Schloss 27 Roberta Tepper 27 Dennis Vorob 27 Liz Sembler 29 Teddi Robbins 29 Joanne Luski 29 Dr. Steven Warren

CELEBRATE YOUR BIRTHDAY AND ANNIVERSARY AT SIMHA SHABBAT SATURDAY, April 13, 2013 9:00 AM

5 7 9 12 13 15 26

Diane & Jeremiah Weiner Jennifer & Dr. Robert Sternberg Anita & Dr. Harold Pollack Mali & Dr. Fred Feld Liz & Greg Sembler Susan & Dr. Sheldon Scheinert Bonnie & Michael Walker

“NEW” ANNOUNCING SIMHA SHABBAT ^ŝŵŚĂ^ŚĂďďĂƚŝƐĂŶĞǁ ^ŚĂďďĂƚƉƌŽŐƌĂŵďĞŝŶŐŝŶŝƟĂƚĞĚƚŽĐŽŵďŝŶĞ our former Anniversary Shabbat and Birthday Shabbat programs into ŵŽŶƚŚůLJ ͞^ŝŵŚĂ ^ŚĂďďĂƚ͟ ĐĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶƐ͘ dŚĞ ďŝƌƚŚĚĂLJƐ ĂŶĚ anniversaries of our members will be celebrated each month and provide an opportunity for celebrants to jointly sponsor the Kiddush lunch. dŚĞĚĂƚĞƐĨŽƌƚŚĞƐĞŵŽŶƚŚůLJ^ŝŵŚĂ^ŚĂďďĂƚĞůĞďƌĂƟŽŶƐĂƌĞ͗ April 13, May 11 and June 8 (June & July observed).

In Honor of: ________________________________ Check the names of everyone to you would like to send a Mitzvah Gram. Send this form together with your check, minimum $10 donation each, to: Congregation B’nai Israel, 300 58th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33710, or donate online at www.cbistpete.org *The minimum donation per acknowledgement is $10.

Please print: Your Name: ______________________________________________ Address: _________________________________________________ City, _____________________________Zip: __________________ Telephone: ______________


Page 22

TORAH FUND DINNER, HONORING MILLIE GELFOND, A HUGE SUCCESS BY: JOANNE LUSKI, TORAH FUND VICE PRESIDENT

ON FEBRUARY 6, 2013, WE GATHERED TO HONOR THE JEWISH THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY AND MILLIE GELFOND, AS CBI WOMEN’S LEAGUE 2013 “JACKIE JACOBS WOMAN OF ACHIEVENT”. MAZEL TOV TO MILLIE ON RECEIVING THIS PRESTIGIOUS AWARD. THANKS TO MARILYN LEVINE'S EFFORTS, AS SPECIAL GIFTS CHAIR, OUR WOMEN’S LEAGUE BOASTS 1PATRON, 11 GUARDIANS AND 44 BENEFACTORS. I ENCOURAGE ALL OF YOU TO SCHEDULE A VISIT TO THE SEMINARY. WHEN YOU GO, PLEASE NOTE THE PLAQUE ON THE "WALL OF HONOR", OUTSIDE THE WOMEN'S LEAGUE SYNAGOGUE AND SEVERAL SHELVES IN THE LIBRARY FROM OUR CBI’S WOMEN’S LEAGUE. THANK YOU TO THOSE WHO MADE THE TORAH FUND DINNER SUCH A SUCCESS: HEAD CHEFS: SHERRIE CARROLL AND RICKI LEWIS FOR A DELICIOUS DINNER THEIR SOUS CHEFS: LIVIAN WEIN, CHANDYE PASTMAN, RUTH ANN MIZRAHI AND WILMA REASONER SETUP: JENNIFER STERNBERG, GAIL FRYE, PATTY ADELSON, PHYLLIS WERNER, SUSIE BERMAN, AND ALICE ETTINGER CLEANUP: JENNIFER STERNBERG, PHYLLIS WERNER, SUSIE BERMAN, JANET AUGENBRAUN, ANITA HELFAND, SHERYL SUTTON AND EILEEN RICHMAN CENTERPIECES: JENNIFER STERNBERG AND MARILYN LEVINE PROGRAM: SHERYL SUTTON INVITATIONS AND RESERVATIONS: ANITA HELFAND TORAH FUND CARDS: JENNIFER STERNBERG SPECIAL GIFTS CHAIR: MARILYN LEVINE ANTHEMS: CANTOR JONATHAN SCHULTZ BIRKAT HAMAZON: SHERRIE CARROLL AND RICKI LEWIS

BA’AL KOREI The proper definition of a Ba’al Korei is “an officiant who reads the Torah from the scroll in the synagogue with proper accentuation and cantillation.” Before the 12 th Century it was customary for each person called up to the Torah to read their own portion. The Ba’al Korei was appointed in order not to embarrass those unable to read properly and thereby worshippers were honored with an “Aliyah.” Cantillation, originally, was the term applied to the mode of chanting the Torah in public. In the beginning of the 20th Century it is used to describe the musical interpretation of the “Te’Amim” that accompany the printed text of the Torah. Ta’Am means sense, meaning or taste for Torah accentuation. The function of the accents (appearing 12-below, 1 in between and 15-above the words) is to indicate the intonations and the importance of the syllables sung to them. So where did the “trope/te’amim originate? Some scholars accept that Moses received the Torah on Mount Sinai with its proper accentuation. Another theory is that they were handed down orally from Mount Sinai and the form of accents were put down by Ezra and the men of the Great Synagogue about 450 B.C.E. Currently the accepted view is that the vowels and accents did not exist in the time of the Talmud and were developed between the 6th and 10th centuries. Aaron Ben Asher of Tiberias, the head of a family of Masoretes, is credited with finalizing the vowels and accents. Approaching this tradition is a great honor for me as it should be for all Torah readers. Debbie Marmon, Educator and Torah Reader


Page 23


Page 24

DONATIONS THROUGH MARCH 1, 2013 Adult Studies

In Memory of

Barshefsky Family

Mort Sherman

Michael H. Diamond

In Memory of

Endowment Fund Audrey & Eliot Dantowitz

:ĂĐŽďƐΖĞĂƵƟĮ ĐĂƟŽŶ&ƵŶĚ Mr. & Mrs. Robert Jacobs

Warren & Rebecca Simmons

Corey Sokolov's Bar Mitzvah

Bev Sherman

/ŶĂƉƉƌĞĐŝĂƟŽŶƚŽƌŝĂŶΘ^ƵƐĂŶ<ĂŐĂŶΘ , ĂƌŽůĚΘŚĂƌůŽƩ Ğ' ŽůĚďĞƌŐ

Millie & Lenny Gelfond

Livia & Steve Wein's Israel Bond Honor

Marilyn Benjamin

The wedding of Jennifer & Bob Sternberg's son

Mitzvah Fund

In Memory of

Vivian & Ed Lurie

Mort Sherman, Joe Elias

Frank Moss

Raela & Norman Moss

In Memory of

Eva Fuchs

David Ickowicz

Jackie Jacobs

&ƌĂŶŬΘ<ĂƚŚLJD ĞŶĚĞůďůĂƩ

Leah Blacker

Audrey Kopelman

Mort Sherman

Cara Dantowitz

Library Music Fund

In Honor of

Charles Possick

Meyer Possick

Bev Sherman & Family

Cantor Jonathan Schultz,

Marilyn Benjamin

Irwin Miller

ŝŶĂƉƉƌĞĐŝĂƟŽŶ

Joseph & Sherry Schwartz

Wendy Benstock

Mr. & Mrs. David Robbins

Dr. Robert Robbins Mort Sherman

Library Music Fund

In Memory of

Charlene Wygodski &

Anita & Arlen Helfand

Mort Sherman

Steve Bloom & Family

Happy Birthday to Livia Wein

ŚĂƌůŽƩ Ğ>ĞǀŝŶĞ

Mort Sherman

Mary Wygodski

Mort Sherman

Esta Blaxberg

Mort Sherman

Mindy Siegel

Wendy Benstock

Noreen Walter

Mort Sherman

Laurie & Marc Reiskind

Mort Sherman

Naomi Berg & Wes Sawyer

Mort Sherman

Nancy K. Landfish, M.D. &

Benny Skop

Sam & Sandy Janofsky

Mort Sherman

Edward G. Bailey Jean & Harry Kraff

Mort Sherman

Lisa Ellen Davis & Jim Harris

Mort Sherman

Dr. Howard Kay

David Kay

:ĞƌĞŵLJΘ^ŚĞůůĞLJƌŽƩ

Mort Sherman

Alan & Sharon Koenig

Gladys Koenig

Audrey Chenkin

ĂǀŝĚZ ŽƚŚďůĂƩ

Harold Wolfson

Julia Wolfson

Sandy & Steve Harwood

Mort Sherman

Joann Bush

Sidney Seidberg, Joe Elias

The Hafner Family

Mort Sherman

Mitzvah Fund

In Honor of

Millie & Lenny Gelfond

Mort Sherman

Susan & Sheldon Scheinert

CBI 90th Anniversary

Larry & Renee Salzer

Mort Sherman

:ĞĂŶt ŝƩ ŶĞƌ

dĞĚW͘t ŝƩ ŶĞƌ

Arlene LeVine

ůLJƐΘD Ădž>ĞǀŝƩ

Mr. & Mrs. F. Linn

Mort Sherman

Bevery Dikman

Happy Anniversary Bruce & Mary Ann Marger Happy Birthday Leah Sandler

ƌ͘WĂƚƌŝĐŝĂŽƩ ƌŝůůĞ

Happy Birthday Marilyn Goldberg, Bill Dolgoff, Dr. Starr Silver, Livia Wein, Dr. Mark Sokolov Happy Anniversary to Alan & Laney Kay & Jesse & Sandi Rodman

Lawrence & Jane

Livia & Steven Wein

Wein Greenwald

Helen Kahan

Harold Wolfson

Anniversary of Billie & Morry Bornstein Birth & Baby Naming of Gabrielle Rose Wolfson

Marilyn Benjamin

Pam LeCompte & Cindy Weisberg for chairing ƚŚĞďĞĂƵƟĨƵů' ĂůĂ

Bebby & Arthur Marlin

Happy Birthday to Livia Wein

Wagner Robin Perlman

Anne Perlman

Pauline Rivkind Fund

In Memory of

Audrey & Eliot Dantowitz

Cara Dantowitz

PRTT

In Honor of

Brian & Susan Kagan

/ŶĂƉƉƌĞĐŝĂƟŽŶΘƚŚĂŶŬLJŽƵĨŽƌŚĞůƉ and guidance to Ilana Dayan

Prayerbook Fund

In Honor of

Phil & Joan Redisch

Livia & Steve Wein being honored by Israel Bonds

Prayerbook Fund

In Memory of

Friends of Ellen Bernstein

Ruth Levine


Page 25

Preschool Fund

In Memory of

Steve & Linda Grau

Mort Sherman

Michael & Bonnie Walker

Mort Sherman

ĞƩ Ğ^ĐŚƌŽĞĚĞƌ

Birth of Gabrielle Rose Wolfson, daughter of Sam & Julie Wolfson 20th Wedding Anniversary of Morris &

Jennifer & Bob Sternberg

Speedy Recovery to Adele Morris

Rabbi's Fund

In Honor of

Birth of Avery Schwartz, granddaughter

Richard & Gerry Mensh

/ŶĂƉƉƌĞĐŝĂƟŽŶŽĨIllana Dayan,

of Susie & Alan Schwartz

Debbie Marmon, Shoshana David Gaye & Joel Taller

CBI's Gala

USY Fund

In Memory of

Susan Turner

Adele Morris' Speedy Recovery

Lucille Ginsburg

Mort Sherman

Shirley Sommella

Happy Birthday to Lenny Gelfond

Myrna Irwin

Fay Sonn

Dr. Warren & Naomi Abel

Steve & Livia Wein for Israel Bond Honor

Mary Ann & Bruce Marger

Herman Baum

Pam LeCompte & Cindy Weisberg for

Arlene & Frank Moss

Hortense Lasher

the Gala

Alysa Dortort

Mort Sherman

Bev Sherman & Family

/ŶĂƉƉƌĞĐŝĂƟŽŶ

Mel & Dee Dinsfriend

Jenny Dinsfriend

Jennifer & Bob Sternberg

Livia & Steve Wein for Israel Bond Honor

Mirla Kremer

Mort Sherman

Jan & Craig Sher

/ŶĂƉƉƌĞĐŝĂƟŽŶƚŽƌ͘t ĂƌƌĞŶďĞů

Myrna Irwin

Mort Sherman

Jennifer & Bob Sternberg

Birth of Drew Levine, grandson of

Anita & Harold Pollack

Louis Stromwasser

Jayne & Ronnie Weissman

Carol & Bill Marger

Mort Sherman

ĞƩ Ğ^ĐŚƌŽĞĚĞƌ

Julia Wolfson, Mort Sherman

Rabbi's Fund

In Memory of

Leah Sandler

Mort Sherman

Sam & Sandy Janofsky

Ronda Gale Janofsky, Carrie Janofsky

Abbye Perlman

Judge Edwin P. Krassner

Gaye & Joel Taller

Lillian Taller

Susan Turner

Ruth Levine

USY Pilgrimage

In Honor of

Richard & Jerry Mensh

Samuel Mensh

Shelley Lynn

D ĂƌƌŝĂŐĞŽĨ:ƵƐƟŶ^ƚĞƌŶďĞƌŐƚŽ

ŶŶĞƩ Ğt ĞŝŶƐŚĂŶŬ

Gustave Barshefsky

Susan Turner

Myron J. Kaplan

Barbara & Jerry Levin

Sidney Roberts, Mort Sherman

USY Pilgrimaage

In Memory of

ƌ͘WĂƚƌŝĐŝĂŽƩ ƌŝůůĞ

J. Leonard Azneer

Mark Gordon

Isadore Gordon

Susan Turner

Mort Sherman

Charla Fogel

Paul Fogel

Barbara & Jerry Colen

Mort Sherman

Ellen Bernstein

Carola Herschmann

Mr. & Mrs. Morris LeCompte &

dĞĚW͘t ŝƩ ŶĞƌ

Dianna Mannheim

Joseph Kauffman

Samuel Heller Green

Max Herschmann

Doris & Herschel Hochman

Mort Sherman

Susie & Ira Berman

Wendy Benstock

Dr. Harold Seder

Jean Seder

Pearl Brook

^ƚĂŶůĞLJE ĞǀĞƩ ͕^Ăŵ ƵĞů^ƚŽŶĞ

Helen Kahan

Her father

Audrey Kopelman

Dr. Harvey Kopelman &

Gail S. Warren

In Honor of

Norman & Beverly Halem

Legacy for Leadership

Florence B. Yukon

Mort Sherman

Linda & Jack Goldfarb

Bar Mitzvah of Corey Sokolov

Mr. & Mrs. Fred Greenstein

Mort Sherman

Bob & Jennifer Sternberg

Wendy Benstock

Gail S. Warren

In Memory of

Craig & Jan Sher

Wendy Benstock

Legacy for Leadership

^ŚĞůůĞLJĞŶƐƚŽĐŬ^ƚĞƩ ŶĞƌ

Wendy Benstock

Dr. Stanley Rosenberg

Dr. Hyman Rosenberg

Drs. Warren & Naomi Abel

David Halprin, Paul Abel

USY Fund

In Honor of

Sandy & Mike Slomka

Mort Sherman, Dr. Harold Stephens

ůŝĐĞΘ>ĂƌƌLJƫ ŶŐĞƌ

Bat Mitzvah of Rachel LeVine

Laurie & Marc Reiskind

Dr. Harold Stephens

Lucille Ginsburg

Bar Mitzvah of Corey Sokolov

Carol & Bruce Marger

Speedy Recovery to Janice LeVine t ŽŵĞŶŽĨŝƐƟŶĐƟŽŶ- Sandy Brasch & Laurie Reiskind


Page 26

Yom HaShoah Commemoration Florida Holocaust Museum

April 8, 2013 at 6:30 p.m.

Community Sacred Texts Burial

at Menorah Gardens Chapel Hill Memorial Park 12905 Wild Acres Road, Largo

After a commemorative ceremony marking Holocaust Remembrance Day, keynote speaker, Deborah Dwork, Ph.D. will present on "Holding on Through Letters: Jewish Families During the Holocaust." Jewish families in Nazi Europe tried to hold onto each other through letters. But wartime conditions applied. Letters were censored, and could not be sent between countries at war with each other. How to keep in contact? And, once contact was established, what to say — and about what to remain silent? In her presentation, Debórah Dwork will explain the ingenious ways people bypassed the censors. She will trace how letters became threads stitching loved ones into each other's constantly changing daily lives.” Dwork is an American historian and is the Rose Professor of Holocaust History and Director of the Strassler Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies at Clark University, Worcester, Massachusetts. Yom HaShoah is presented in partnership with the Pinellas County Board of Rabbis and the Bay Area Cantorial Association.

Sunday, April 7th, 2013 at 11:30 am The children of the Pauline Rivkind Talmud Torah, accompanied by Rabbi Jacob Luski, Cantor Jonathan Schultz and faculty, will meet with others from the Jewish community at Menorah Gardens, the Jewish section of Chapel Hill Memorial Park, to perform a very special mitzvah. The Jewish Community will join Congregation B'nai Israel in the burial of sacred texts, i.e., books, Bibles and ritual items that contain God's name that are no longer useable, to be properly buried in consecrated ground. The Service will be conducted by Rabbi Jacob Luski and Cantor Jonathan Schultz at Menorah Gardens, Chapel HillMemorial Park, 12905 Wild Acres Road, Largo. Attendees may bring their items to be buried to the cemetery that day.


Page 27


ŽŶŐƌĞŐĂƟŽŶ͛ŶĂŝ/ƐƌĂĞů B’nai Israel Review 300 -58th Street North St. Petersburg, FL 33710-7889 Tel: (727) 381-4900 Fax: (727) 344-1307 Website: www.cbistpete.org 24 Hour Telephone Voice Mail

Change Service Requested

Deadline for May Bulletin, April 1st

Non-WƌŽĮ ƚK ƌŐĂŶŝnjĂƟŽŶ U.S. Postage PAID St. Petersburg, Fl. Permit # 618

CBI Review April 2013  

CBI Review April 2013

Advertisement