Page 1

Michaelmas Term

Friday 27th September 2013

Principal’s Surgery Parents / carers are invited to attend a Principal’s Surgery on the following date

Prayer

Thursday 3 October, 4pm - 5.30pm

Lord, you are the God of Surprises. When we feel sad, Surprise us with laughter. When we expect it to rain, Surprise us with sunshine. When we feel tired, Surprise us with energy, And when we feel lost, Surprise us with You. Amen

There is no appointment system so please be prepared to wait Two Principal’s Surgeries will take place each term

Parent as Partners: Student Planners Parents are requested to check student planners regularly and sign them once weekly. Student planners are used to record homework but also as a means of communicating between College and home. We would ask parents to support us in checking homework is being recorded and checking for any messages from college staff.

Advanced Notice Languages Controlled Assessments 2013-2014 Please find below the list of dates for the languages controlled assessments. Each assessment can count for 15% of the final GCSE. Teachers will let your son/daughter know on which dates they will complete assessments. Please avoid time off both on the date and in the lessons preceding these dates. Please contact a.harrison@allhallows.org.uk with any queries. Year 11 Writing 1 Writing 2 Speaking 1 Speaking 2

11y Thursday 31 October 11g Tuesday 29 October 11y Thursday 16 January 11g Tuesday 21 January Monday/Tuesday 9/10 December Thursday and Monday 13/17 March

Year 10 Writing 1 Writing 2 Speaking 1 Speaking 2

10y Tuesday 10 December 10g Thursday 12 December 10y Tuesday 6 May 10g Thursday 8 May Tuesday/Wednesday 10/11 March Thursday/Friday 3 /4 July

Year 9 Speaking

Tuesday/Wednesday 8/9 July

Future Events Tuesday 1 October 9:30-11am, Open Morning for Parents and Year 5/6 Thursday 3 October 6-7:30pm, Year 7 Services of Welcome Monday 7 - Friday 18 October, Assessment Weeks for Students Friday 11 October 7pm PTA Quiz Night Thursday 31 October 7– 9:30pm Year 11 into Sixth Form Curriculum Evening Friday 8 November Year 7,9,11 Academic Reviews Issued Friday 8 November, Year 11 Mock Exams begin Thursday 21 November, Year 7 and 9 Parents Consultation day 9am– 7pm Thursday 21 November, Children's Takeover Day for Years 10 and 11, Opportunity to accompany relative or friend to work. Thursday 28 November, Year 7 Sex and Relationship Education Evening 7– 8pm (Information on curriculum for Parents) Monday 2 - Friday 13 December, Assessment weeks for Students Friday 6 December 6pm, PTA Disco Year 7 and 8 Thursday 12 December 7pm (Provisional), Carol Service St Albans Church Friday 13 December, PTA Christmas Party (details tbc) Wednesday 18 December 7– 9pm, Key Stage 4 and 5 Awards Evening– College Hall


Attendance Matters at All Hallows

Over the last week of College attendance was as follows Year 7 - 96.2% (down 2.3% on the previous week)

96.50%

Year 8 - 95.8% (down 0.7%)

95.50%

Year 9 - 94.8%(down 0.7%)

94.50%

Year 10 - 93.6% (down 2.5%)

93.50%

Year 11 - 93.5% (down 1.3%)

92.50%

96.00%

95.00%

94.00%

93.00%

92.00% YEAR 7

The average for the week is 94.8% (down from 96.3% last week). Since 3rd September attendance has been 96.3%. We aim for 97%.

YEAR 8

YEAR 9

YEAR 10

YEAR 11

Parents are politely reminded to avoid absence unless it is absolutely necessary. Holidays will not be authorised from 1st September 2013 under new legislation on all English schools. Requests for holidays must still be made in writing to the appropriate Key Stage leader (Mrs Garvey KS5, Mr Blades KS4 and Mr Diamond KS3), but in the vast majority of cases they will be unauthorised. Medical absence will continue to require medical proof and appointments should be made, where possible, outside of the College day. Please consider if a whole day of absence is absolutely necessary for medical appointments, or whether part of the day could be missed instead? The link between attendance and achievement is well researched and documented and students should be aiming for an attendance rate of no les than 97% over the year. Thank you for your continued support with this importance issue. Calendar

Term

College Opens to Students

College Closes to Students

Michaelmas

Tuesday 3 September 2013 (Year 7, 12 and 13 in only) Wednesday 4 September 2013 (All students in)

Friday 18 October 2013

Christmas

Monday 28 October 2013

Thursday 19 December 2013

Epiphany

Monday 6 January 2014

Friday 14 February 2014

Easter

Wednesday 26 February 2014

Friday 4 April 2014

Whitsun

Wednesday 23 April 2014

Thursday 22 May 2014

Trinity

Monday 2 June 2014

Tuesday 22 July 2014

The following are the dates for training days in 2013-14. Students are not required to attend on these days. Monday 24 February 2014 Tuesday 25 February 2014 Tuesday 22 April 2014 Friday 23 May 2014 Wednesday 23 July 2014


X.Cell welcomes all Year 7, 8 and 9 children. We are starting off this year and hoping to repeat last years very successful start with a fun night of games and the Tuck Shop in the Parish Hall. FRIDAY 4th October 2013 7.00pm — 9.00pm St Albans Parish Centre COST £1 + money for sweets and drinks !!!!!!!!!!! IMPORTANT – A new Parental Consent form is required to be completed for your child/children to attend at X.Cell Youth Group. Your consent is essential and once completed will apply to both this event and throughout the remainder of the years. Parents/ Carers please plan to take 10 minutes when you drop off your child to fill one in. If you are able to stay and help please let me know in advance by return email – thanks Children must be collected at the end of the evening, 9.00pm, no child will be allowed to leave without a parent first present in the foyer. Looking forwards to meeting you all “see you there Frank”

I love local fruit because..... The College garden goes from strength to strength and weekly fruit and veg, grown by our students, is for sale in the reception area. We have been asked by Fruitfull Schools (the people who helped us start the apple orchard section of the garden) to sign a national petition to show our support for growing local fruit. They are trying to get 100,000 signatures nationally to support locally produced fruit and veg and we have been asked to contribute. http://www.fruitfullschools.org/reasons/ is the website link. It is very easy to complete and thank for your help.

Newsletter 27 09 2013  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you