Page 1

WINTER BLUES? WIN YOURSELF A HOLIDAY IN ST LUCIA TWENTY PAGES OF NEW BOAT TESTS

THE UK’S HARDEST HITTING POWERBOAT MAGAZINE

TOP TEN

winter

RIBs HARD-CORE BOATS FOR THE

AMBITIOUS ADVENTURER

WAKEBOARD

BASICS STEP UP WITH MATT CROWHURST

London BoaT Show

EXCLUSIVE FIRST UK TEST

RADICAL NEW CAPELLI

£3.95

YOUR GUIDE TO THE UK’S WINTER BOAT SHOW

JANUARY 2011

Preview PUBLISHING EXCELLENCE THROUGH EXPERIENCE


JANUARY 2011

CONTENTS

90

TOP TEN RIBS

TOUGH BOATS FOR PROPER ADVENTURES

REGULARS 10

WORD FROM THE WATER

Sign up for the infamous Cowes to Monte Carlo Grand Prix

16

WORD FROM THE CIRCUIT

Superstock Championship in focus

18

FIFTEEN TOP ACCESSORIES

The pick of the latest boating gadgets

26

WORD FROM THE WEB

Is it time for a tow car upgrade?

88

RYA UPDATE

The big sports boating issues of 2011 8 I SB&RIB

..


WINTER

The

UK’s

t hitting hardes

magaz

boat power

ine

BLUES?

UISEIP

WIN YOUR

L CR

NTA TINE E PE

SELF A HO

AT TR ITTANY

MAGAZINE T BO THE UK’S HARDEST HITTING POWERBOAT -STYLE RFEC

CON

S GrePaECt TATION

TH

BR

TOP TEN

THE SHOW AT D TO AHEA PTON BO M KING LOO SOUTHA 2010 DGE

ST LUCIA

600HP SUPER RIB THE UK ’S

TWENTY

PAGES OF

NEW BO

AT TEST

SUBSCRIBE

S

HARD WHEEL OF THE GLORIOUS THE EST HIT BEHIND TIN

winter

EX

LIDAY IN

HUNTON 1005 G PO WE RB

OAT MA GA ZIN

YOUR FIRST THREE ISSUES FOR £1! SEE PAGE 100

E

RIBs

E IGH LIGIFE’ FLYBRI TJEHANENEHAUIN’SM‘PARRESESTILLES ST

ON TE

HARD-C

ORE BOAT AMBITIOU S ADVESNFOR THE TURER

WAKEBOA RD RST

w S K TEST U T S FIR ECLUA-£70,000-A-WEEK SHOW BREAK EXFOR LUXURY ALLLABOARD USIV S EXC R IVE FIRST UK

D ASHE UNLE RDS 0 LLI 77 TBOA U O CAPE THE NEW YOUR GUIDE TO TH AND HERE E UKRT BOAT AHA’S ALLY O ’SSWINTER BO N YAM SP FI ATIS GO ZE RADIO F THE IPPED EEL O E WH -EQU D TH E GPS BEHIN GA TH

DECEMBER 2010 £3.95

PUBLISHING EXCELLENCE THROUGH EXPERIENCE

THROUGH

EXPERIENCE

EXCELLENCE

TOP TIPS TO HELP YOU PLAN YOUR OVERSEAS ADVENTURE

8 10 14:5

27/07/20

ADIC ST TO SPICE UP YOUR TOY COLLECTION LIST BOATINGTE THE PERFECT CHRISTMAS AL NGADGETS EW C APELL I A IO G RAD SB1101

SB1012 OFC_RO_FINAL.indd 1

SB1009

t).indd

ra boa

3 (ext

OFC

1

OFC4_R.

indd

21/10/2010 14:03

1

ON TEST 36 JEANNEAU 635 DC

BOATING ABROAD

PUBLISHING

1

OWHU

2010

MATT CR

BER SEPTEM

WITH

£3.95

First-Class

JANUAR Y 201

FFROPLrIerte Cha view r STEP YOUR FIX ALL YEAR ROUND EXPERT TIPS ON GETTING UP

£3.95

tBorndAokSeICS S L r on BS ou oaT Sh o C WINTER WATERSPORTS

PUBLISHING EXCELLENCE

THROUGH

EXPERIENCE

16/11/20

10 14:5 3

42

Nordic-style sports cuddy from Jeanneau

SEALEGS 7.1

The new All-Wheel-Drive amphibious RIB

60

WIN A HOLIDAY IN ST LUCIA WORTH £2,000

OFF THE BEATEN TRACK

CHARTER BOAT BRILLIANCE IN BEIRUT

64

48

EXCLUSIVE - CAPELLI 32WA

First UK test of the radical new Capelli

FEATURES 28 LONDON BOAT SHOW PREVIEW Discover your personal highlights at the capital’s winter boat show

54

INSIDE STORY

In pursuit of the perfect boat with AMT of Finland

64

OFF THE BEATEN TRACK

. .

.

Charter boat brilliance in Beirut

70

WAKEBOARD BASICS

Step up to the next level with Matt Crowhurst

74

SIX OF THE BEST

Must-have gadgets for the savvy navigator

78

INSURANCE SPECIAL

Top tips for the ultimate insurance deal

84

ENGINE ALCHEMY

The truth behind Suzuki’s new generation of Lean Burn outboards

90

TOP TEN WINTER RIBS

.

Hard-core leisure boats for the ambitious adventurer SB&RIB I 9


42 I SB&RIB


ON THE WATER I SEALEGS 7.1 AWD

The

‘All-Black’ Sealegs With the advent of ‘all-wheel-drive’ land traction, it’s time for a fresh appraisal of the purist’s favourite amphibian. Mike Jones reports.

SB&RIB I 43


48 I SB&RIB


ON THE WATER I CAPELLI 32WA

Hard times

AHEAD

The Southampton Boat Show in September brought us the first hard boat ever to enter the UK from the famous Capelli stable. Eager to see more, Simon Everett gives the new 32WA a closer inspection.


Have you ever wondered exactly what goes into making your boat? Simon Everett visits Advanced Marine Technologies in Finland, builders of AMT sports boats, to find out . . .

54 I SB&RIB


ON THE WATER I INSIDE AMT

f someone were to ask you what was under the skin of your powerboat, the obvious answer would be resin and reinforcing mat. But believe it or not, there is an awful lot more to the construction of a modern boat than that. We went behind the scenes at AMT in Finland to see just how their boats are built and we chose this particular company because the care, attention and strength of construction are perfectly mirrored by the Honda engines that are used to drive them. Remember, it is not the glossy externals that define the strength of your boat but the stuff you cannot see.

The AMT story

Advanced Marine Technologies was founded in 1987 by Aimo Mustonen and won a contract to supply boats to Yamarin. Between 1987 and 2005, they produced over 25,000 boats and then in 2005 they developed six models of their own for the Helsinki Boat Show. Now, they have nine models in the line-up and they build about 450 boats a year. We are well accustomed to Scandinavian boats boasting enviable build quality and this same emphasis at AMT has seen them grow to become the largest GRP boat builder in Finland.

SB&RIB I 55


Burgeoning

Beirut 64 I SB&RIB


OUTWARD BOUND I BURGEONING BEIRUT

As home to the world’s oldest seaport, Lebanon might be well placed to become a leading charter destination. Craig Barnett heads off the beaten track to investigate its merits . . . Images: Courtesy of Lebanese Tourism Board & Solidere t was not by accident that Beirut earned the sobriquet of ‘Riviera of the Middle East’ during the 1950s and 60s. The city’s unique blend of Mediterranean and Arabic cultures, plus its passion for partying and its rich heritage, made it the destination of choice for influential businessmen, the Hollywood jetset and political movers and shakers. The great news is, having enjoyed a period of political stability, massive inward investment and a rejuvenation of its hotels, infrastructure and marinas, Beirut is once again swinging back into life. The Casino Du Liban in Jounieh is again bustling with high rollers, the legendary Star Bar pumps up a high-energy crowd and the city has returned to the touring roster of international A-list acts. A sortie through the popular entertainment districts of Gemmayzeh or Monot Street in the early hours will uncover a city positively buzzing with energy. Once again, people eat late, dress well and party like it’s 1999.

The boating element

The indomitable Lebanese passion for life is not solely nocturnal - and nor is it founded solely on terra firma. An ever-increasing number of residents are enjoying the benefits of taking to the sea to enjoy the spectacular coastline. In fact, a successful boat show in 2010, plus investment in marina developments and predictions of massive growth all add up to a burgeoning boat scene in Beirut. Philippe Saad of charter specialists, Eden Yachting, gestures to a full marina that bursts with activity on a Saturday afternoon and explains: “With 220km of coastline, 300 days of sun a year and a Mediterranean coastline, is it really that surprising?” All around us, families are loading their craft. Huge yachts with pumping sound systems are loading their passengers and the air is filled with jubilation as people greet each other. A picnic table and an impromptu gathering on the pontoon next to an owner’s boat is an extremely common sight.

SB&RIB I 65


SIX OF THE BEST

Colin Jones investigates six of the best chart table gadgets . . .

CHART TABLE TOOLS A good chart tool should be two things: robust and petite. With most boats having only limited flat surfaces and tight storage spaces, conveniently sized accessories matter. And given that the chart table is often subject to dampness and prone to being banged about, any gadgets that litter its surface need to be as resilient as possible. Here are six products that particularly deserve your attention . . .

1. Toughprint waterproof paper This is the real McCoy. It is 100 per cent waterproof, and is not one of these ‘water-resistant’ products, impersonating something better. Many of us plan trips at home, but navigate from an open console, where our passage notes are at risk from wind, weather and clumsy crew. A pack of A4 Toughprints is a good answer. SPECIAL FEATURE: Versatility is key. I bought mine to take enlarged photocopies of chart segments, onto which I write my own guidance notes and updates as I go along. The paper is crumple-proof, double-sided and can be wiped clean. If you need to put notices on your boat, it is also more cost-effective than laminating. I LIKE: The ability to use the paper in the office printer or photocopier is great, and I am also impressed by its faithful rendering of colours. It slices easily into A5 (or smaller) and it does not go yellow with age. I bought a box of packs (each of 25 sheets) ten years ago and am still using them for everything, from mountain biking to lightweight photographs. I DO NOT LIKE: It does not seem to be generally available ‘off-the-shelf’ and it now costs quite a hefty £15.94 a packet. SOURCE: Memory Map - 08448 110950 www.memory-map.co.uk

74 I SB&RIB


TALKING POINT I CHART TABLE TOOLS

2. Weems & plath navigation dividers with light This is one of those very ‘grabby’ gadgets, which makes an excellent gift and is a good addition to any nav station tool rack. SPECIAL FEATURES: It’s a very well engineered, serious navigator’s armoury item. Even though my chart plotters have always been very reliable, I still like to have a paper chart on display, so the dividers mean I can leave the plotter’s settings untouched in ‘now’ mode, but step off my future distances and times with mechanical aids. I LIKE: The number of uses I find for this navaid is enormous. The kit comes with an interchangeable pencil point, so the unit can be used as dividers, or as a pair of compasses. The centre adjustment mechanism makes for great precision, locked arms and one-handed use. There is a red LED in each arm, but the battery still gives 20 hours light. For use in dim light and at night, it is great. I DISLIKE: I had to shop around to find one at less than £20 (the RRP is £22.54 + P&P). The instructions are okay, but some ‘further use’ suggestions would help novice pilots. SOURCE: Marine Store, Essex - 01621 854280 www.marinestore.co.uk

3. Rocktrail hand held weather station

This is much more than the name suggests and it has a number of uses beyond the boat. In terms of value for money, you get plenty of action for your hard-earned pound. SPECIAL FEATURES: There are plenty of functions, including standard weather graphic symbols of probable trends, temp in C° or F°, barometric pressure as a dynamic bar showing present level and 12-hour history, plus digital info in a choice of measurements. There are several alarms, plus a stopwatch, numerical humidity indicator, time and date, max and min temp, altimeter and settings for several countries.

I LIKE: The huge range of functions is very enjoyable for the real gadget-freak. This is also very tough and slips into a pocket. I have given up trying to identify navigation light sequences by counting seconds aloud, so I always use the stopwatch. For a small display, the Rocktrail’s readability is very high contrast. The single 3v CR202 battery is well protected, yet easy to change and it lasts very well - mine is still going strong after two years continuous running. I DISLIKE: The not-very-user friendly handbook has 34 small pages and they are not enough to give unmistakeable step-by-step instructions for such a complex tool. SOURCES: There are several, but they are not very well publicised. Enquire at Milomex Services, Hilltop Cottage, Barton Road, Pulloxhill, Beds, MK45 5HP. The product code is Z295924 for the latest (2009) version.

SB&RIB I 75


HARD-CORE LEISURE RIBS

TOPTEN

In a world of glossy boat packages and marketing buzzwords, it is always refreshing to see a simple RIB for the serious seagoer. Here, Paul Mahy chooses ten of the very best hard-core leisure RIBs you can buy.

R

IBs have evolved to such a point that the very definition has become blurred. Some incorporate hard boat layouts and others use an inflatable collar so small and tapered that its very presence is more to do with looks than practical performance. And yet there remain some companies who still follow the original ethos of the RIB. These boats are designed to be capable in extreme conditions. They enable rapid evacuation of water, they are fast enough to overcome rapid and confused seas, they are capable of being righted and they are built to withstand the harsh impacts and stresses found in extreme marine environments. And if that sounds like a definition of a commercial boat, think again. Every one of the following ten boats is a proper sea RIB that can be on your driveway as a shiny new leisure boat . . .

90 I SB&RIB

GEMINI WAVERIDER 730 Gemini is a South African firm with a huge reputation in the Southern Hemisphere - and I particularly love the profile of the hull on this 730 model. It is a scimitar shape, familiar to those who know their all-weather hulls. She might not have the sheer mass of some of the boats in this top ten, but her resistance to wind list is very commendable. Although capable of holding standing water on deck, the 730 has generous elephant bailers to get rid of the slop and, as long as you can maintain forward motion, you should be able to shift it. This tough little boat has been thrashed in the South African surf by private buyers and pounded by the various agencies that also love them. Although not in their stock, Geminis can be bought in the UK through Zap Cat Racing . . .

ZCR 08448 157793 www.zapcat-racing.com


TALKING POINT I HARD CORE RIBS

SB&RIB I 91


IN THE FEBRUARY ISSUE . . .

THE PEOPLE’S CHAMPION Getting to grips with the famous Bayliner range

THE £40,000 CABIN RIB

All aboard the new Ribtec 740SX Riviera

TOP TEN TOW CARS

EDITOR Alex Smith E: sportsboat@gmail.com STAFF WRITER Adrian Porter E: adrian.porter@cslpublishing.com RACING CORRESPONDENT John Cooke E: cookee@btinternet.com SENIOR ADVERTISING MANAGER Katie Hawksworth E: katieh@sportsboat.co.uk SALES SUPPORT Michaela Kingshott E: michaela@cslpublishing.com

The best tow car solutions for the season ahead

STUDIO MANAGER

NEW FROM PURSUIT

COPY CONTROLLER

The latest sports fishing contender from the offshore experts

Sal Law Brittany Allen EDITORIAL DESIGNER Sarah Garland ADVERT DESIGNER Flo Terentjev MANAGING DIRECTOR Sue Baggaley CREATIVE DIRECTOR Richard Olsen E: rolsen@cslpublishing.com CONTRIBUTORS Lydia Brooks, John Cooke, Simon Everett, Tom Isitt, Mike Jones, Andrew Norton, Mike Pullen, Irving Stewart

For subscription enquiries call 01442 879097 or visit

www.sportsboat.co.uk/ subscribe PUBLISHED BY CSL Publishing Ltd, Alliance House 49 Sidney Street, Cambridge CB2 3HX Tel: 01223 460490 Fax: 01223 315960

FEBRUARY ISSUE ON SALE - 23 DECEMBER 2010 The above is a statement of intent on behalf of CSL Publishing. All proposed articles are subject to change without prior notice.

130 I SB&RIB

Sports Boat and RIB magazine is copyright CSL Publishing Ltd and none of the following pages can be reproduced in any form without the written permission of the publisher. CSL prints advertisements provided to the publisher but gives no warranty and makes no representation as to truth, accuracy or sufficiency of any description, photograph or statement. CSL accepts no liability for any loss which may be suffered by any person who relied either wholly or in part upon any description, photograph or statement contained herein. The advertiser warrants that the advertisement does not contravene any Act of Parliament nor is it in any way illegal or defamatory or an infringement of any other party’s rights or of the British Code of Advertising Practice. Other titles by CSL Publishing Ltd, the UK’s leading independent publisher of powered water sports magazines, include All At Sea, Boat Mart and Jet Skier & PW.

Sports Boat and RIB Preview  

The UK's hardest hitting powerboat magazine

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you