Page 1

June 22, 2013 - June 28, 2013, The Afro-American

Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-Md.) and former Labor Secretary Alexis Herman received president’s awards June 4 at the U.S. Dream Academy’s “Power of a Dream Gala.” Also recognized for their service were Army veteran Wes Moore, who received the Martin Luther King, Jr. Service Award, and Tanesha Bradford who was named Mentor of the Year. Corporate Partners included AMWAY, Insurance Advantage, USA Funds and Wells Fargo.


The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Service Award is presented to Wes Moore, a youth advocate, author and Army veteran by Chap. (Ret. Adm.) of the US Senate, Barry Black and William Nelsen, member, board of directors

Mentor of the year, Tanesha Bedford with presenters

DreamKids with the celebrities

Photos by Rob Roberts

Mr. and Mrs. Phipps applauding performance on stage

C. Diane Wallace Booker greeting Dr. Regina Benjamin and Alexis Herman

The DreamKids with C. Diane Wallace Booker, Cynne’ Simpson, anchor, ABC/WJLA-TV 7, and Wintley Phipps The President’s Award presented to Rep. Elijah Cummings (D-Md.) by Ayanna Turner and Wintley Phipps

Special musical performance by Lalah Hathaway

Wintley Phipps and Alexis Herman entering the gala ballroom

The President’s Award presented to the Honorable Alexis Herman

Miss America Outstanding Teen, Rachel Wyatt, U.S. Surgeon Dr. Regina Benjamin and Miss America 2013 Mallory Hytes Hagan

Corporate sponsor

Corporate sponsor

Center two: Jody Victor, Chair, board of directors, U.S. Dream Academy and C. Diane Wallace-Booker, executive director

Co-hosts, Wayne Brady and Sheryl Lee Ralph tweet live from the podium

Deltas in the house: Alexis Herman, Dr. Regina Benjamin and Sheryl Lee Ralph

Lalah Hathaway, Andrew Bertamini, gala chair, Michael Melton, Mallory Hytes Hagan, Wintley Phipps, Wayne Brady, The Honorable Alexis Herman, Dr. Regina Benjamin and Sheryl Lee Ralph

Corporate sponsor with Wintley Phipps and other program participants

Cynne’ Simpson is presented a special gift by C. Diane Wallace-Booker

Edgar Brookins, DeGloria Hallman and Michael Melton, entrepreneur extraordinaire

Corporate sponsor

Corporate sponsor with (center, standing) Lalah Hathaway, Dr. Regina Benjamin, Wintley Phipps and Sheryl Lee Ralph

Chef Huda, Edgar Brookins, Nicole White, former Miss DC USA, Andrea Young and Ron Baker, celebrity photographer Wintley Phipps with co-hosts, Sheryl Lee Ralph and Wayne Brady

Corporate sponsor with program participants and Wintley Phipps (3rd from left)

Musical performance…

The finale on stage…

Jori Hartwig, VP, Marketing, AMWAY gives welcoming remarks

June 22, 2013 - June 28, 2013, The Afro-American


Female Clergy Support Group members

Sherry Hunt of the New Shiloh Baptist Church sang “Hero” Founder of the Female Clergy Support Group Dr. Karen S. Bethea Charmeika Lewis, left, of East Baltimore’s Be Whole Ministries, led by Rev. Joyce L. England, with JaQuel Moore

Honoree Apostle Joan Sanders

Legends Rev. Leslie B Davis, Bishop Bertha Greene and Dr. Minnie Washington

Honoree Bishop Vashti McKenzie and FCSG member Lady Marlaa Reid Rev. Sandy Johnson, leader of Fresh Water Ministries, with Bernice Coles, of Restoring Life International Church

Shekinah Liturgical Dance Troupe from Set the Captives Free danced to”Finish What I Started” by Smokie Norful

The Female Clergy Support Group, founded by the Rev. Dr. Karen S. Bethea, pastor of Set the Captives Free, recently recognized those who blazed paths and cleared the way for contemporary women in ministry. The names provoke instant respect and reverence with the understanding of the struggle they endured both inside and beyond the church. The roll call is incredible and the choosing even more so. Photos by Alexis Taylor, Pink-framed pictures are Courtesy Photos

Monica Gordon and Ebony Custis of Calvary Baptist Church

Baltimore native Dr. Leah E. White, pastor, Greater Faith Baptist Church

Vendors were on hand to offer ladies a range of products

Honorees Dr. Minnie Washington, Bishop Vashti McKenzie, Rev. Leslie B. Davis, Dr. Leah White, Dr. Patricia Pender, Bishop Bertha Greene and Dr. Goldia Wright

The men of Be Whole Ministries

Mayor Stephanie Rawlings Blake

Elder Carolyn Jones of Sacred Zion Church, with Dr. Mary McLaughlin, director of education at Sacred Zion, Minister Brenda Patterson and Linda Davenport, a member for over 17 years

Sophisticated Settings Lifestyle 6 22 2013  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you