1 minute read

ORO Editions

Next Article
ORO Editions

ORO Editions

OPPOSITE LEFT: One of the oldest surviving advertisements for the Myles Standish Hotel (circa 1874) touts the location as one of the most desirable resorts for prominent Bostonians and their families.

OPPOSITE RIGHT, TOP AND BOTTOM: The hotel’s owners capitalized on a natural spring on site which the Puritans allegedly used for drinking water a century prior. They tapped the spring, producing beverages lauded for their healing qualities. These labels date to 1900.

ABOVE: Three children play at the Duxbury Bay beach with the Myles Standish Hotel in the background in this 1910 photograph.

FOLLOWING PAGES: This early photograph shows the hotel in its prime, with a porch wrapping the structure on two sides, an intact three-story center with mansard roof, and functional third floor awnings. The cannon did not survive to present day, though a lone cannonball remains.

This article is from: