What is Audit Trail in QuickBooks Desktop & the way to Use?
It is an excellent feature of QuickBooks accounting software. Sometimes you lose a transaction and you're very sure that it had been there, but you're still unable to locate it. Everyone faces this issue at just one occasion or another. If you ever face this issue, remember the Audit Trail feature in QuickBooks. it'll make this very easy for you. Read the article to understand the small print about the audit trail in QBD and learn the steps to show on the QuickBooks audit trail feature, alongside another interesting features. Click for more info- How to Turn on QuickBooks Audit Trail Report
Why can we Need QuickBooks Audit Trail? A major reason for using the QuickBooks desktop audit trail is that you simply get authority over transactions and entries made within the QB company file. This report provides you with a simple overview of old transactions or entries you'll require if there are some inconsistencies within the checking account. This tool will assist your employees to use QuickBooks accurately. Training them to use the audit trail will eventually give them a thought of the way to work properly on the QB and there'll be no further problem
Steps to show On the QuickBooks Audit Trail Feature 1. Choose the Edit menu then Preferences command. Your QuickBooks will display the panel of Preferences. 2. to vary an accounting preference the Indicate that you simply want to vary it. Select the accounting set of preferences by using the icon bar by the left corner of the preferences panel. (it’ll get on the highest of the list). then, click on the corporate Preference tab. 3. Call QuickBooks to point that you simply want to use an audit trail. You have to settle on the utilization Audit Trail check-box then click on OK for calling QuickBooks for using Audit Trail. At now, QuickBooks also keeps records of the users who make changes to your accounting file.
If you would like To Customize Report on Your Choice: From the highest of the left corner Click on the report. Now you'll see modify Report within the Audit Trail window. While opening this window you'll see 4 tabs: Display, Filters, Header/Footer and Fonts & numbers. Here below, we are discussing the varied options under these 4-tab heading:
Display: When you click on the Display tab, you'll see several options under this tab. because the report date range, you'll fescue the date ON the transaction. E.g. like Invoice date. Now, you'll see the “days entered/last modified” filter, but this filter can confuse you a touch bit if you're a replacement user. the thought of this is often all about when a transaction was modified or entered, but there's no date found on the transaction. Now you'll also see the columns options, here you'll choose what columns are shown within the report, and also from the proper of that you simply can select to point out the deleted transactions.
Filters: You can use filters to form better your look for transactions. There are a mess of filters you'll select, like name, amount, account, customer: job, vendor, etc. To use a filter, you've got to pick the choice you would like to settle on the left-hand scrollbar then within the middle input the specified information. once you select the choices, the filter is going to be applied and you'll see it within the Filter tab. If you would like to get rid of a filter then you've got to pick it by left click thereon then choose the Remove selected Filter. Click for more info- How to Turn on QuickBooks Audit Trail Report
Header/Footer: You can use this tab to edit and modify. With the assistance of this feature, you'll choose what shows up within the header and footer of the report in question. It’s all very understandable process so I don’t think that you simply need details about this tab. If you actually need a discussion thereon then you'll contact us at our QuickBooks support number and that we will provide you quality assistance.
Fonts & Numbers: It is also an easy set of selections. This tab is meant to switch the planning of the report. But if you don’t want to switch the report then it'll combat the default report settings found under Edit>Preferences>Reports & Graphs>Company Preferences> Format, but this may modify the all reports individually.