AvBuyer Magazine August 2021

Page 4

Contents JULY.qxp 21/07/2021 16:28 Page 1

Vol.25 Issue 8

Contents

2021

Market Indicators

8

Trends and Observations from Leading Business Aviation Analysts

26

Silver Linings for a Post-COVID Aerospace Industry

28 32 38 44 48

Market Insights

Interview With Don Spieth, General Aviation Services What’s the Latest on the King Air Market?

Buying & Selling Aircraft

How to Minimize BizJet Residual Value Anxiety How Not to Save Money Ahead of a BizJet Sale

Ownership

The First-Time Buyers’ Guide to Jet Cards

52

Privacy Considerations for Aircraft Owners (Part 2)

56

How to Get a Great Private Flight Experience

64

Helicopter Ownership: What are the Operating Costs?

71 76 86

Aircraft Price Guide

Turboprop Aircraft Values

Jet Comparison

Cessna Citation Longitude vs Dassault Falcon 2000S

Flight Department Management

Right-Sizing BizJets: Planning for Change

90

How to Fly Incognito in the USA

98

How to Optimize Human Performance on the Flight Deck

EDITORIAL Commissioning Editor Matthew Harris +44 (0) 20 8939 7722 editorial@avbuyer.com Editorial Contributor (USA Office) Dave Higdon dave@avbuyer.com ADVERTISING Steve Champness - Publisher Americas +1 770 769 5872 steve@avbuyer.com Ricky Gioconda Account Manager +1 919 434 1364 ricky@avbuyer.com Lise Margin Account Manager +1 703 818 1024 lise@avbuyer.com David Olcott Account Manager +1 802 233 6458 davo@avbuyer.com Maria Brabec - Account Manager EMEA & APAC Aircraft & Services Sales +420 604 224 828 maria@avbuyer.com STUDIO/PRODUCTION Helen Cavalli / Mark Williams +44 (0) 20 8939 7726 helen@avbuyer.com mark@avbuyer.com CIRCULATION Sue Brennan +44 (0) 20 8255 4000 Freephone from USA: +1 855 425 7638 sue@avbuyer.com

Avionics

Avionics 101: Breaking Open Avionics’ Complexity

AVBUYER.COM Jayne Jackson jayne@avbuyer.com

110

How to Future-Proof Your Avionics

Emma Davey emma@avbuyer.com

116

OEM News and Industry Appointments

120

Showcases

126

Marketplace

130

Advertisers’ Index

130

Aircraft for Sale Index

102

Community News

Next Month

• How to Spend on an Older Cabin Refurbishment • Bombardier Learjet Market Update

4 Vol 25 Issue 8 2021 AVBUYER MAGAZINE

MANAGING DIRECTOR John Brennan +44 (0) 20 8255 4229 john@avbuyer.com USA OFFICE 1210 West 11th Street, Wichita, KS 67203-3517 EUROPEAN OFFICE AvBuyer House, 34A High Street, Thames Ditton, Surrey KT7 0RY, UK +44 (0)20 8255 4000 Freephone from USA: +1 855 425 7638 PRINTED BY Fry Communications, Inc. 800 West Church Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055 www.AVBUYER.com