Hotline | November 2021

Page 12



President: Aaron Leavell, Bremerton President-elect: Michelle Whitney, Pasco Past president: Brian Talbott, Nine Mile Falls Secretary: Jennifer Bethman, Bethel Treasurer: Linda McKay, NCESD 171

Regions 101 105 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 123 171

Jake Dingman, Oakesdale Kevin McKay, Sunnyside Larry Francois, NWESD 189 Chrys Sweeting, Arlington Shaun Carey, Enumclaw Laurie Dent, Sumner-Bonney Lake Nathan McCann, Ridgefield Patrick Murphy, Olympia Dana Rosenbach, North Mason Wade Smith, Walla Walla John Boyd, Quincy


BPAC: Sarah Thorton, Pasco, chair; Melissa Beard, Steilacoom, chair-elect IPAC: Jennifer Bethman, Bethel, chair; Jenny Rodriguez, Yakima, chair-elect; Linda McKay, NCESD 171, past chair Principals: Matt Yarkosky, Bethel, chair Special Education: John Sander, Franklin Pierce, chair Superintendents: Jeff Snell, Vancouver, chair; James Everett, Meridian, chair-elect; Deb Clemens, North Thurston, past chair


AASA: Kevin McKay, Sunnyside; Michelle Price, NCESD 171; Nathan McCann, Ridgefield; Krestin Bahr, Peninsula Higher Ed: Marge Chow, City University OSPI: Michaela Miller PESB: Alexandra Manuel Retirees: Rick Anthony SBE: Susana Reyes, Shoreline WIAA: Doug Burge, Zillah

REGION PRESIDENTS Region 101 Travis Hanson, Deer Park Region 105 Jinger Haberer, Ellensburg Region 108 Mary Sewright, Mount Baker Region 109 Dana Geaslen, Edmonds Region 110 Ron Thiele, Issaquah Region 111 Michael Farmer, Dieringer Region 112 Mary Beth Tack, Kelso Region 113 Brian Wharton, Yelm Region 114 Marty Brewer, Port Angeles Region 123 Michelle Whitney, Pasco Region 171 John Boyd, Quincy

New WASA Members More than 40 new members have joined us since the start of the school year. Our newest class of WASA members joins nearly 2,000 members from across the state. Collectively, they represent diverse districts from every corner of our state. Please join us in welcoming: Valerie Anderson, North Kitsap Amy Archuleta, Central Kitsap Wade Barringer, Kent Christine Bell, Lake Washington Charisse Berner, Bellingham Beth Bourque, North Kitsap Rachelle Butz, Federal Way Cynthia Cantwell, Bremerton Stephanie Clark, Lake Washington Erin Curtin, Vancouver Milt Dennison, Mount Pleasant Shea Eakes, Federal Way Marc Elliott, Olympia Loren Finley, Republic Anthony Frascone, Federal Way

Hannah Gbenro, Olympia Marcel Hauser, Mukilteo Christopher Hennings, Lake Washington Luke LeCount, Vancouver Kristie Lindholm, Vancouver Jennifer Markaryan, North Kitsap Paul Marquardt, Bethel Brian Mathieson, Vancouver Ashley Murphy, Federal Way Shawn Myers, Toppenish Gina Naccarato-Keele, Spokane Sonia Nicholson, Federal Way Claire Olson, Nine Mile Falls Dennis Purcell, Federal Way Jason Rhoads, North Kitsap Kevin Rohrich, Mukilteo Natalee Saber, Federal Way Daniel Sellers, Central Kitsap Tara Slinn, Mukilteo Kalle Spear, Everett Aaron Tomyn, Sumner-Bonney Lake Israel Vela, Kent Shana Watkins, Federal Way Anali Weatherhead, Federal Way Julian Williams, Vancouver Monica Zuber, Bremerton


Initiatives During the 2021–22 school year, WASA has five initiatives. These initiatives, unlike conferences, workshops, or webinars, gather individuals or teams from districts to embrace systems learning and thinking over a period of one to four years. Each initiative has a common set of values and beliefs for building a culture within school systems that focus on a foundation of equity in reaching each student. This common foundation gives WASA members and district teams assurance that no matter what initiative “door” you go through to advance the work of student learning, the values and beliefs are consistent.

Inclusionary Practices Project

The legislature has renewed this project for years three and four with a purpose of providing school district teams an opportunity to develop a mission and vision for supporting school district staff across the system in meeting the needs of each student. This project is led by Helene Paroff.

Washington State Leadership Academy

The pandemic has supported the opportunity for WSLA to reinvent their delivery model in support teams across the state in the development of leading

strategic work in their school districts. This academy is led by Sharon Bower.

WASA Professional Learning Communities at Work

WASA PLC at Work is an opportunity for districts to come together for three years and develop, with the support of Solution Tree staff, a system of standards and assessments for staff to use in meeting the learning needs of each student. This project is led by Janel Keating and Solution Tree staff.

Instructional Leadership Network

This is a two-year project (hopefully with an extension) specifically designed to work with leaders who oversee teaching and learning in their districts. This network is led by Chris Beals.

Equity Initiative

This initiative has three prongs: Foundational Workshops, District Cohort Teams (fourpart series), and an “implementation” book study (Caste). This initiative is led by Dr. Tammy Campbell. For more information about any of the initiatives, visit our WASA website or contact Assistant Executive Director Mike Nelson.