Page 4

editor’s letter They say time flies when you’re having fun, but it really soars during a pandemic. As we reach the second half of the year, things are starting to look up and projects are getting back on track. Sai Kung has seen an influx of visitors over the past few months, sparking a wave of new development and housing products to cater to the rising number of residents. Charmaine Ng shares an update on the recent road works around the town in our cover story (page 21). This month marks the 179th anniversary of Marine East Division, from battling pirates to saving those in distress, this year has been its most eventful yet. Our local story takes a look back at some of the force’s greatness achievements (page 14). From above the surface to below, avid diver and Sai Kung resident Natasha Grabner shares her experience learning to dive in Sai Kung and exploring the hidden depths. Discover her favourite places to dive around the town in this month’s outdoor section (page 18). Wishing you a happy and safe September.

Editorial Editor-in-chief Nicole Slater, nicole@hongkongliving.com Senior Staff Writer Charmaine Ng, charmaineng@hongkongliving.com Contributing Editor Gemma Shaw, gemma@hongkongliving.com Melanie Cox, melanie@hongkongliving.com Digital Editor Apple Lee, apple@hongkongliving.com

Design Graphic Designer Vicky Lam, vicky@hongkongliving.com Yankee Tsang, yankee@hongkongliving.com

Sales & Marketing

Director of Content Hilda Chan, hilda@hongkongliving.com Head of Digital Content Isamonia Chui, isamonia@hongkongliving.com Partnership Manager Chrissie Ip, chrissie@hongkongliving.com Elaine Li, elaine@hongkongliving.com

Publisher

things we love this month... 852prints Founded by Krystal Tolani, 852prints creates quirky Hong Kong-themed clothes, accessories and greeting cards. Each item is produced in limited runs with environmentally-friendly practices in mind. 852prints.com

Matt Eaton, matt@hongkongliving.com

Founding Director

Tom Hilditch, tom@hongkongliving.com

Contact us Admin: 3568 3722 | Editorial: 2776 2773 | Advertising: 2776 2772 Published by Hong Kong Living Ltd, L1 Kai Wong Commercial Building, 222 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong Printer Apex Print Limited, 11-13 Dai Kwai Street, Tai Po Industrial Estate, Tai Po, Hong Kong

hongkongliving.com

Mooncake season is back again with weird and wonderful flavours. Keep it traditional with Rosewood Hong Kong’s mooncake gift boxes designed by local artist Frank Tang or indulge yourself with Mandarin Oriental's chocolate lava mooncakes.

Covid-19 update As Sai Kung and Clearwater Bay magazine goes to print we have done our best to keep our content as accurate and timely as possible, but if Covid-19 has taught us anything it’s that life is nothing if not unpredictable. Check with local businesses for the most up to date operation hours and services and above all, stay safe.

talk@hongkongliving.com

@hongkongliving

facebook.com/SaiKungMagazine

HONG KONG Sai Kung & Clearwater Bay Magazine is published by Hong Kong Living Ltd.This magazine is published on the understanding that the publishers, advertisers, contributors and their employees are not responsible for the results of any actions, errors and omissions taken on the basis of information contained in this publication. The publisher, advertisers, contributors and their employees expressly disclaim all and any liability to any person, whether a reader of this publication or not, in respect of any action or omission by this publication. Hong Kong Living Ltd cannot be held responsible for any errors or inaccuracies provided by advertisers or contributors. The views herein are not necessarily shared by the staff or publishers. No part of this magazine may be reproduced in any way, part or format without written permission from the publisher.

Want to write for Sai Kung Magazine? Contact talk@hongkongliving.com 2 | SAI KUNG

Photo: Matt Eaton

Mooncakes

Profile for Hong Kong Living Ltd

Sai Kung September 2020  

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded