Page 4

editor’s letter

W

elcome to the Year of The Rat! This year promises to bring progression and energy, making it the perfect time to start a new project or change up your life. Wherever your new endeavors may take you, I hope this issue can provide you with some much needed motivation for the new year. Sound Alchemist, Malbert Lee graces our cover this month as we take a look into the world of meditation. Finding peace in this ever-changing city can be a challenge, turn to page 22 to discover the most zen spots in the city. On the topic of wellness; your home is a sanctuary, a safe place to be yourself and relax. Interior Designer, Aaron Chin shares tips on how to create harmony at home, without any major renovations, find out more on page 40. Our Dining Editor, Apple Lee sat down with Todd Darling, founder of Homegrown Foods and Red Sauce Hospitality to talk about supporting local farmers and eating sustainably. Edit your shopping list to make a difference, see page 26. And how could I forget, Happy Valentine’s Day Southsiders!

Editorial Managing Editor Gemma Shaw, gemma@hongkongliving.com Editor Nicole Slater, nicole@hongkongliving.com Editorial Assistant Nicole Cooley, ncooley@hongkongliving.com Charmaine Ng, charmaineng@hongkongliving.com

Design Graphic Designer Jeramy Lee, jeramy@hongkongliving.com Alvin Cheng, alvin@hongkongliving.com Vicky Lam, vicky@hongkongliving.com

Sales & Marketing Director of Content Hilda Chan, hilda@hongkongliving.com Head of Digital Content Isamonia Chui, isamonia@hongkongliving.com Partnership Manager Joey Ho, joey@hongkongliving.com Elaine Li, elaine@hongkongliving.com

Operations Management Trainee Edwina Chan, edwina@hongkongliving.com

3 things we love this month... Pompous burgers The Grand Hyatt pride themselves on having the most outrageous burgers in town. Head to The Steakhouse, located on the first floor, before February 29 to try their unique Wagyu burger combinations which include options of foie gras and poached lobster. hongkong.grand.hyattrestaurants.com

Digital Digital Editor Apple Lee, apple@hongkongliving.com

Publisher Tom Hilditch, tom@hongkongliving.com

Thanks to Alan Shaw Adele brunner

Contact us Admin: 3568 3722 | Editorial: 2776 2773 | Advertising: 2776 2772 Published by Hong Kong Living Ltd, L1 Kai Wong Commercial Building, 222 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong

852prints Founded by Krystal Tolani, 852prints creates t-shirts, accessories and cards featuring hand drawn images of Hong Kong elements, from taxis to soy sauce. Each item is produced in limited runs and environment-friendly practices in mind. 852prints.com

Valentine's Day There’s no better time to show the ones you love just how much they mean to you than on Valentine's Day. Whether you’re with your partner, family, friends or sitting at home with your cat, check out our guide to what’s happening across the city on page 6.

2 | hongkongliving.com

HONG KONG hongkongliving.com Southside Magazine is published by Hong Kong Living Ltd. This magazine is published on the understanding that the publishers, advertisers, contributors and their employees are not responsible for the results of any actions, errors and omissions taken on the basis of information contained in this publication. The publisher, advertisers, contributors and their employees expressly disclaim all and any liability to any person, whether a reader of this publication or not, in respect of any action or omission by this publication. Southside Magazine cannot be held responsible for any errors or inaccuracies provided by advertisers or contributors. The views herein are not necessarily shared by the staff or publishers. No part of this magazine may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher.

Photo credit: Malbert Lee

Printer Apex Print Limited, 11-13 Dai Kwai Street, Tai Po Industrial Estate, Tai Po, Hong Kong

Profile for Hong Kong Living Ltd

Southside February 2020  

Southside February 2020  

Profile for saikung
Advertisement

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded

Recommendations could not be loaded