Page 28

28 - The Newtown Bee Official Guide To Newtown & Phone Directory 2016

Accredited by the National Academy of Early Childhood Programs

36 Main Street, Newtown, CT Extended days for ages 2-5 3 Additional Rooms for Science - Music - Gym !! New Mommy and Me Program !! For more information, please call: Kathy McGorty, Director...203-426-8429

EMERGENCY SERVICES (continued from page 26) needed, to alert residents of certain emergency situations via automated telephone calls. The emergency management telephone number is 203-2704370. The telephone number for the Emergency Operations Center is 203-270-4222. Newtown Underwater Search And Rescue (NUSAR) A special unit of local emergency management. Officers are: President Nick Kopcik, Vice President John Almstead, Treasurer James Hancock, Secretary Connor Rieve, Chief Mike McCarthy, Assistant Chief Brian Solt, Captain James Hanrahan, and Lieutenant Dr Mike Cassetta. Founded in 1989, NUSAR comprises divers and nondivers who do underwater rescue work, find lost objects, perform light salvage work, and do evidence recovery for police in the Newtown area. NUSAR promotes water safety. The group mainly consists of emergency service personnel, but is open to anyone who wishes to join. For information call 203-270-4390 or 203-4263764, or visit Board Of Fire Commissioners Chairman Rob Manna (Hook & Ladder), Tim Whelan (Sandy Hook), Kevin Cragin (civilian), Ronald Bolmer (Dodgingtown), Lisa Goosman (civilian), Jay Nezvesky (Botsford), Bill Brunetti, Sr (Hawleyville). The fire commissioners are appointed by the five local fire companies. The two civilians are appointed by the board. The commissioners oversee town funding for the volunteer fire companies, and also oversee the use of town-owned fire apparatus and equipment. The board appoints the town’s fire marshals. The board holds meetings on the fourth Monday of the month on a rotating basis at the various firehouses. There are no paid firefighters in Newtown; all are volunteers. The five firehouses and one substation are staffed by approximately 200 trained firefighters. There are more than 30 pieces of firefighting apparatus in Newtown, 15 of which are owned by the town. Private volunteer fire companies own the other pieces. The commission’s secretary is Terry Hennessey. The panel’s purchasing agent is Michael Burton. Fire Marshals Bill Halstead is the town fire marshal. Rich Frampton is fulltime deputy fire marshal. Part-time deputy fire marshals are Dave Ober, Jason Frank, and Steve Murphy. Nancy Schreiner is the fire marshals’ administrative assistant. The fire marshals are responsible for local enforcement of all fire safety codes and for investigating the causes of fires. The fire marshals issue permits for blasting, the removal of underground fuel storage tanks, and open burning. They also inspect gasoline filling stations. The fire marshals annually inspect all buildings, other than one-family and two-family dwellings.

Mention This Ad, Receive 15% Off Your Entire Custom Frame Job New jobs only. May not be combined with other offers

Custom Frame Design ~ All Work Done on Premises Largest Frame Selection in Fairfield County Original Artwork by Local Artists for Sale Art Conservation and Light Restoration Owned by Newtown Resident John O’Sullivan

60 Newtown Road, Danbury

(203) 748-0197 email:

Fire Companies Botsford Fire Rescue Company Inc 315 South Main Street Administrative Officers President: Jay Nezvesky Vice President: Mark Locorotondo Financial Secretary: Maritza Nezvesky Secretary: Jim Swenson Treasurer: Cindy Ciaccia Fire Commissioner: Jay Nezvesky (continued on page 29)

Guide To Newtown 2016  

Guide To Newtown 2016

Guide To Newtown 2016  

Guide To Newtown 2016