ALUMNUS Spring 2022 - Mississippi State University

Page 53

MSU Alumni Association announces student delegate officers The Mississippi State University Alumni Association is announcing four new leaders of its student organization known as the Alumni Delegates. Officers for this year include: Sophie Jones of Birmingham, Alabama, president, a junior biomedical engineering major; Logan Strietelmeier of Collierville, Tennessee, vice president of member education, a sophomore mechanical engineering major; Lauren Nichols of Vestavia Hills, Alabama, vice president of public relations, a junior anthropology major; and William “Will” Baumhauer of Pascagoula, secretary, a junior accounting major. Founded in 1980, the Alumni Delegates organization helps the university and the Alumni Association maintain strong ties with MSU students and the more than 155,000 living graduates of the land-grant institution.

MSU Alumni Delegates officers, from left: William “Will” Baumhauer of Pascagoula, secretary; Lauren Nichols of Vestavia Hills, Alabama, vice president of public relations; Logan Strietelmeier of Collierville, Tennessee, vice president of member education; and Sophie Jones of Birmingham, Alabama, president. Photo by Robby Lozano The 53-member group is often the first point of contact for graduates, friends and other special campus guests. The group also assists with tailgate gatherings, class reunions, graduation ring presentations and senior celebrations, among other events. For the past seven years, the group has distributed more than $75,000 generated

through ticket sales for a semesterly “free tuition" raffle. Members also created the MSU Alumni Delegates Endowed Scholarship in 2015, which benefits entering freshmen or transfer students. To learn more about MSU Alumni Delegates and see a complete list of current members, visit

FORMER NATIONAL PRESIDENTS Former national presidents of the MSU Alumni Association gathered in the Hunter Henry Center’s lobby as part of Former National Presidents Day on March 25. The group is collectively recognized biennially for their loyal service. Those former national presidents in attendance included: FRONT L-R:, Camille Young, Charles Cascio, Sherri Carr Smith, Karen Dugard Lawler, A.D. Hunt, William “Buddy” Twitty, and Clay McWilliams; MIDDLE L-R: Patrick White, national Alumni Association President; Jackie Ford, Joe Bryan, Steve Taylor, Lamar Conerly, Walter Becker Jr., John Correro , Executive Director Emeritus; and Robby Gathings; BACK L-R: David Jones, Gary Blair, Jeff Davis, the association’s Executive Director; Tommy Roberson, Ronnie Walton, and Brad Reeves. ALUMNUS.MSSTATE.EDU