Page 13

Fluid Power Institute™

Milestones 1958 MSOE offers first formal fluid power classes in the U.S. 1962 Fluid Power Institute (FPI) established 1967 First academic fluid power laboratory opened at MSOE 1970 FPI participates in first international testing round robin 1988 Aeroquip/Vickers Electrohydraulic Motion Control Laboratory created 1991 Demonstration facility in Aeroquip/Vickers lab received patent 1992 Jack Johnson ’62 receives NFPA’s Achievement Award 1995 Caterpillar Inc. Master Sponsored Research Agreement initiated 1996 Research lab rebuilt after major fire Jeff Insch, senior product manager for Oilgear, gave a presentation during the afternoon session. Other presenters were Matthew Blieske, director of systems development for General Compression; R. Edwin Howe, president, Enfield Technologies; and Kim Stelson, director, Engineering Research Center for Compact and Efficient Fluid Power.

2000 $5 million gift is received from Otto J. Maha estate 2006 MSOE receives five-year, multi-million dollar contract with the U.S. military 2007 MSOE launches the Otto J. Maha Pioneers in Fluid Power Award 2008 New prototype Mobile Universal Fluid Power Trainer showcased 2011 FPI leases 8,800 square feet of space at the Chase Commerce Center to expand capabilities

Student employees of the FPI were on hand to support the award winners and share in the memories. DIMENSIONS ❘ SUMMER 2012


MSOE Dimensions - Summer 2012  

Dimensions is the university news magazine published by Milwaukee School of Engineering.