Page 12

CLAD People


Winners of the 2017 Pritzker Prize for Architecture

Winning the Pritzker is a great joy and a great responsibility Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta founders RCR Arquitectes PHOTO: JAVIER LORENZO DOMÍNGUEZ


afael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta were selected as the winners of the 2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize. The Pritzker award, which is widely

regarded as architecture’s highest accolade, honours a living architect or architects “whose built work demonstrates a combination of talent, vision and commitment, and who has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment.” The three architects, originating from Olot in the Catalonian region of Spain, have worked together collaboratively since founding their firm RCR Arquitectes in their hometown in 1988. Their notable leisure projects include La Cuisine Art Center (Nègrepelisse, France, 2014), Soulages Museum (Rodez, France, 2014), La Lira Theater Public Open Space (Ripoll, Girona, Spain, 2011), Les Cols restaurant marquee (Olot, Girona, Spain, 2011) and the Tossol-Basil Athletics Track (Olot, Girona, Spain, 2000).

Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta

According to the Pritzker judges: “Their work demonstrates an unyielding commitment to place and its narrative, creating spaces that are in discourse with their respective contexts. “Harmonising materiality with transparency, Aranda, Pigem and Vilalta seek connections between the

Their work demonstrates an unyielding commitment to place and its narrative

exterior and interior, resulting in emotional and experiential architecture.” This is the first time three architects together have been honoured with the prize. “Their intensely collaborative way of

individuals for this year’s award,” the judes said. In response, Pigem said:

“Their works range from public and private spaces to cultural venues and educational institutions, and their ability to intensely relate

“It is a great joy and a

the environment specific to each site stands as

great responsibility. We are

testament to their process and deep integrity.”

thrilled that this year three

Jury chair Glenn Murcutt added: “They’ve

professionals, who work

demonstrated that unity of a material can

closely together in everything

lend such incredible strength and simplicity

we do, are recognised.”

to a building. The collaboration of these three

It is the second time that the Pritzker has

architects produces uncompromising architecture

gone to an architect from Spain, following Rafael

of a poetic level, representing timeless work that

Moneo who received the award in 1996.

reflects great respect for the past, while projecting

Tom Pritzker, chairman of Hyatt Foundation,

clarity that is of the present and the future.”

working together, where the creative process,

which sponsors the award, said: “Aranda, Pigem

The Pritzker Prize awards ceremony will take

commitment to vision and all responsibilities are

and Vilalta have had an impact on the discipline

place at the State Guest House, Akasaka Palace

shared equally, led to the selection of the three

far beyond their immediate area.

in Tokyo, Japan, on May 20, 2017.


CLAD mag 2017 ISSUE 2