Tennessee Turfgrass - December / January 2022

Page 6


Doug Ward

The Official Publication of the Tennessee Turfgrass Association, the Tennessee Valley Sports Turf Managers Association and the Tennessee Golf Course Superintendents Association



eflecting on the past two years as President of our Association, I find it difficult to imagine a more unconventional set of circumstances to navigate through leading us back to this year’s TTA conference in Murfreesboro. Undoubtably, the challenges for everyone’s personal and professional life have been significant, but I for one would like to acknowledge the solid role our advisors, Board of Directors and Executive Director have performed during this time. Without their time and input, our association would not be experiencing the forward momentum we see today. Equally as important, I must thank our membership for their steadfast support during this time. With your participation in last year’s teleconference and maintaining current membership, our association is positioned strongly as we head into this year’s conference. With that being said, I hope to see all of you in person at this year’s 56th Annual TTA Conference and Tradeshow. With several interesting additions and modifications to the traditional lineup, we hope to better educate, enlighten and increase social interaction among all attendees. Finally, as my term as President comes to a close, I would like to express my gratitude to the association for the opportunity to serve in this position. It has truly been a rewarding experience working with all those involved with the TTA and the product it provides to our profession. I must say, it’s been a memorable time that I will always be thankful for. Again, I appreciate your support and hope to see all of you at the conference on January 10th.

Doug Ward TTA President

Tennessee Turfgrass is the official publication of The Tennessee Turfgrass Association 400 Franklin Road Franklin, Tennessee 37069 (615) 928-7001 info@ttaonline.org www.ttaonline.org PUBLISHED BY Leading Edge Communications, LLC 206 Bridge Street Franklin, Tennessee 37064 (615) 790-3718 info@leadingedgecommunications.com EDITOR Dr. James Brosnan TTA OFFICERS President Doug Ward Belle Meade Country Club (615) 292-6752 Vice President Chris Sykes Tellico Village (865) 458-5408 Secretary/Treasurer Ryan Storey Vanderbilt University (615) 343-6694 Past President Jason Pooler Tri-Turf Sod Farms, Inc (731) 642-3092 Executive Director Melissa Martin Tennessee Turfgrass Assn. (615) 928-7001 TTA 2021 BOARD OF DIRECTORS Ryan Blair, CGCS Jason Bradley Bart Cash Ashley Gaskin Cal Hill Jeff Huber Brad Jean Jeff Kuhns Jason Sanderson Mark Stovall John Wagnon Jeff Wyatt TTA ADVISORY MEMBERS OF THE BOARD

The Tennessee Turfgrass Association serves its members in the industry through education, promotion and representation. The statements and opinions expressed herein are those of the individual authors and do not necessarily represent the views of the association, its staff, or its board of directors, Tennessee Turfgrass Magazine, or its editors. Likewise, the appearance of advertisers, or Turfgrass Association members, does not constitute an endorsement of the products or services featured in this, past or subsequent issues of this quarterly publication. Copyright © 2021 by the Tennessee Turfgrass Association. Tennessee Turfgrass is published bi-monthly. Subscriptions are complimentary to members of the Tennessee Turfgrass Association. Third-class postage is paid at Jefferson City, MO. Printed in the U.S.A. Reprints and Submissions: Tennessee Turfgrass allows reprinting of material. Permission requests should be directed to the Tennessee Turfgrass Association. We are not responsible for unsolicited freelance manuscripts and photographs. Contact the managing editor for contribution information. Advertising: For display and classified advertising rates and insertions, please contact Leading Edge Communications, LLC, 206 Bridge Street, Suite 200, Franklin, TN 37064, (615) 790-3718, Fax (615) 794-4524.


TENNESSEE TURFGRASS DECEMBER / JANUARY 2022 Email TTA at: info@ttaonline.org

Bill Blackburn Dr. Jim Brosnan Joe Hill Dr. Brandon Horvath Lynn Ray Jeff Rumph, CGCS Dr. Tom Samples Dr. John Sorochan Dr. Wes Totten