High-Profile: July 2017

Page 36

High-Profile Focus: Awards


July 2017

IFMA Boston Announces Winners of 2017 Awards of Excellence Boston – The Boston chapter of the International Facility Management Association (IFMA), a nonprofit association dedicated to serving the facility management profession, recently announced the winners of the 2017 Awards of Excellence.

Facilities Management Achievement Awards for Best Practices These awards are presented to the individual or team whose facility management program, project, system, innovation, or idea has had a substantial, positive effect on the success of their organization. Sustainability

Lincoln Laboratory PV-Array Carport (nominated by MIT Lincoln Laboratory) Small Project <25,000sf

Arup Boston (nominated by Dyer Brown Architects) Medium Project 25,000sf – 75,000sf

You Make it Happen Award

Ashley White, Ropes & Gray President’s Award

Exemplary End User

John Love, JL Real Estate Advisors Emerging Leader Award

Michael Clancy, Creative Office Pavilion

Kiara Torres, Wentworth Institute of Technology Student

Exemplary Service Provider Award


Douglas D. Schumann Library + Learning Commons at Wentworth Institute of Technology (nominated by Perkins+Will) and Temple Beth Shalom (nominated by Chapman Design & Construction + Fort Point Project Management)

Large Project >75,000sf

Takeda Research and Development Headquarters (nominated by Perkins+Will) People’s Choice Award

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt HQ (nominated by Structure Tone) The entire AEC community was welcome to vote online for the People’s Choice during one week in April. This year more than 3,000 people cast their votes

Carolyn Hickey, STV | DPM

AGC Massachusetts Holds Annual Safety Breakfast Boston - On June 23rd, 2017, AGC MA held its annual Safety Breakfast, sponsored by AON Construction Services Group at the Boston College Club to honor 48 members achieving excellence in safety

Record breaking attendance for AGC Massachusetts safety breakfast

National Certificate of Commendation for Excellent Safety Record Campanelli Companies, Commodore Builders, Construction Coordinators Inc., Erland Construction Inc., Ernest Guigli & Sons Inc.F.W. Madigan Company, Inc.,G Greene Construction Co Inc.,Jones Lang LaSalle,Lauring Construction Co Inc., Marc Truant & Associates Inc., SeaDar Construction, Senate Construction Corp., Tocci Building Companies, Walsh Brothers Inc., Weston & Sampson Services (WSS).


AGC MA Merit Award Winners Berkeley Building Company, Bond Brothers, C E Floyd Co. Inc., Causeway Contracting LLC, Central Ceilings Inc., Charter Contracting Co., Citywide Contracting LLC, Colantonio Inc., Columbia Construction Co., Consigli Construction Co Inc., Daniel O’Connell’s Sons Inc., Dec-Tam Corp., Dellbrook | JKS, Delphi Construction, Inc., Dimeo Construction Co., Gaston Electrical, Gilbane Building Co., John Moriarty & Associates Inc., Lee Kennedy Co. Inc., M & A Architectural Preservation, M.L. McDonald Sales Co., LLC, MD Drilling & Blasting, North Shore

Mechanical Contractors Inc., O’Connor Constructors Inc., Shawmut Design and Construction, Siena Construction Corp., Skanska USA Building Inc., Suffolk Construction Co Inc., The Hart Companies, Thomas G Gallagher Inc., Treviicos Corporation, W S Kenney Co Inc., W. T. Rich Company Inc., Clifford E. Simmons Award Mark Truant & Associates In order to qualify for a Safety Award, an AGC-member firm must participate in the AGC Safety Awards Program for three consecutive years and have either

zero lost-day incidence cases, or an average incidence case rate 25% below the average rate of all firms that participate in that particular division. The National Safety Award recognizes firms that have developed and successfully implemented industry-leading safety standards across its portfolio of work. The award program incentivizes construction firms to evaluate and improve existing safety standards. The Clifford E. Simmons Award is given to the firm that comes closest to-but not over - 100,000 of recorded hours with the Best Safety Record Under 100,000 Hours.