VIRES Spring 2021

Page 56

CLASS CLA TES SS NO NOTE S Louise Hajjar Diamond (B.A. ’87, M.S. ’89) authored the parenting book, “Creating the Balance: Parenting Through the Middle School Years.” She has been a school counselor in South Florida for 30 years.

▼ Melissa Gracey Melissa Gracey (B.S. ’87) was named to United Way of Miami-Dade’s board of directors and executive committee. Carol J. McDowell (M.M.E. ’87, Ph.D. ’98) wrote a children’s book titled, “There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Drum,” and coauthored a textbook, “Therapy Groups Using the Creative Arts, second edition.” She also serves on the editorial boards for The Missouri Journal of Research in Music Education and General Music Today.

Janet Malzone (B.S. ’89) was named incoming national managing partner of audit services at Grant Thornton LLP, effective Aug. 1, 2021.

John Crossman (B.S. ’93), a real estate executive, speaker, author and former principal of Crossman & Co., received a Best of Central Florida award from The Orlando Local News.


Michael Joseph Montgomery (J.D. ’93) joined the law firm of Davis & Ferber LLP as a plaintiff’s personal injury attorney.

Robert Hummer (M.S. ’90, Ph.D. ’93), Howard W. Odum distinguished professor of sociology and fellow of the Carolina Population Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, won the 2020 Mentoring Award from the Interdisciplinary Association for Population Health Science.

Angela Santone (B.S. ’93), senior executive vice president of human resources at AT&T, was appointed to the Jed Foundation’s board of directors.

Sean Pittman (B.S. ’90, J.D. ’94) was named one of INFLUENCE Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in Florida Politics. As a prominent lobbyist, he advocates for many organizations and local governments within Florida and advocates on their behalf. ▼ Nikki Austin-Shipp Nikki Austin-Shipp (B.S. ’94) was appointed chief executive officer of the South Florida Institute on Aging, a nonprofit dedicated to bettering the socioeconomic lives of South Florida’s aging community. ▼ Raymond E. Johnson Jr.

▼ Roger N. Casey Roger N. Casey (M.A. ’88, Ph.D. ’91) announced his plans to retire from his position as president of McDaniel College at the end of the 2020-2021 academic year. He took office as the college’s 9th president in July 2010 and is one of the longest serving college presidents in Maryland.

Raymond E. Johnson Jr. (B.S. ’92) was named division director for the Standards and Consumer Services Division of the New Mexico Department of Agriculture. He previously served as assistant division director and bureau chief.

▼ John Casey John Casey (M.A. ’94) published the second book in The Devolution Trilogy, “Evolution,” a psychological spy thriller that has been nominated for five literary awards.

Andrew J. Rutens (B.S. ’88), managing partner for Galloway, Wettermark and Rutens LLP, was confirmed as the 2020-2021 president of the Alabama Defense Lawyers Association. ▼ Jason M. Lloyd

▼ B. Dan Berger B. Dan Berger (B.S. ’89), president and CEO of the National Association of Federally-Insured Credit Unions, was named a top association lobbyist for 2020 by The Hill, a daily newspaper covering Congress and Washington, D.C.


Jason M. Lloyd (B.S. ’92) was promoted to rear admiral in the U.S. Navy. He is the Navy’s chief engineer and Naval Sea Systems Command deputy commander for Ship Design, Integration and Naval Engineering. Neil Rambana (B.A. ’92, M.A. ’96) was inducted into the Alumni Friends Hall of Fame by the Tallahassee Community College Alumni and Friends Association for his professional achievement, service to society, and service and support to the college.

▼ John F. Davis John F. Davis (B.S. ’94), executive vice president of the Orlando Regional Chamber of Commerce, was appointed secretary of the Florida Lottery by Gov. Ron DeSantis.

Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.