Page 40

education

Cambridge Arts Theatre programmes a diverse range of shows in order to supplement and support all stages of the national curriculum. We offer a variety of activities and materials designed to complement performances and provide classroom resources so that your students’ educational experience doesn’t end with the final curtain.

THE CAMBRIDGE GREEK PLAY: OEDIPUS AT COLONUS

Wednesday 16 – Saturday 19 October The triennial Cambridge Greek Play returns to the Arts Theatre. Performed in the original Greek with English surtitles, this is a rare and exciting opportunity to experience Greek theatre in the original language. Pre-show and post-show talks are available, please get in touch for more information. Suitable for ages 12+

CINDERELLA

Thursday 28 November 2019 – Saturday 11 January 2020 Last year we welcomed almost 7,000 teachers and pupils to the theatre for our school-specific performances of Aladdin. A mesmerising tale of rags to riches, Cinderella is the perfect introduction to live theatre and this year is booking up fast. This year we are delighted to offer bespoke pantomime workshops and assemblies to complement your visit. Suitable for ages 1 – 101!

OTHELLO

Wednesday 29 January – Saturday 1 February ‘I am not what I am.’ Shakespeare’s great tragedy of jealousy, Othello is performed by Cambridge University’s leading dramatic institution The Marlowe Society, returning after a string of successful productions. The perfect theatre trip for English and Drama students studying Shakespeare’s epic story of lies and deceit. Suitable for ages 12+

THE WOMAN IN BLACK

Monday 24 – Saturday 29 February Susan Hill’s acclaimed ghost story has been adapted into the most terrifying stage experience of all time; a brilliantly successful study in atmosphere, illusion and controlled horror. Perfect for KS3 English and Drama students learning about gothic tropes and theatrical devices. Age guidance 12+

AN INSPECTOR CALLS

Tuesday 17 – Saturday 21 March Winning more awards than any other play in history, this seminal production of An Inspector Calls has thrilled over 4 million people worldwide. The English and Drama curriculum makes the play vital viewing for GCSE students and its profound message is more relevant now than ever. This is a must-see for a whole new generation of theatregoers. Suitable for ages 10+

PRE-SHOW TALKS (BOOKING ESSENTIAL)

POST-SHOW TALKS

The Cambridge Greek Play The Lovely Bones Othello The Woman in Black Richard Alston Dance Company An Inspector Calls

Malory Towers The Girl on the Train The Cambridge Greek Play The Lovely Bones Othello A Monster Calls

Wednesday 16 Oct Thursday 17 Oct Friday 18 Oct Saturday 19 Oct, all at 1.30pm Tuesday 5 Nov, 6.30pm Thursday 30 Jan, 6.30pm Wednesday 26 Feb, 6.30pm Monday 2 Mar, 6.30pm Wednesday 18 Mar, 6.30pm

Friday 6 Sep, 7.45pm Wednesday 25 Sep, 7.45pm Thursday 17 Oct, 7.45pm Tuesday 5 Nov, 7.45pm Thursday 30 Jan, 7.45pm Wednesday 25 Mar, 7.45pm

If you would like to discuss the educational resources for any of the shows featured in the brochure please contact Rachel Osborne on 01223 578912 or email at rosborne@cambridgeartstheatre.com

40

BOX OFFICE: 01223 503333

www.cambridgeartstheatre.com

Profile for Cambridge Arts Theatre

CAT Autumn Season 2019  

CAT Autumn Season 2019  

Advertisement