Issuu on Google+

Physical Therapy Alumni News March 2014 Goal Achieved: Gossman Lecture to be Endowed and Held in 2014 Inside this issue: Lowman Delivers Keynote Address Graham Receives Two Honors 2 UAB Department of PT Faculty (2014) Marilynn Gossman UAB Department of PT to Celebrate 50th Anniversary Online Health Focused Patient/Client Management Certificate Program 3 PT Chapter of the UAB National Alumni Society Department of PT welcomes 50 New DPT students 4 Department of PT Graduates the UAB DPT Class of 2013 Department of PT holds Physical Therapist Pledge Ceremony 5 UAB DPT Clinical Education News 6 Loretta Boger Award Thanks to an overwhelmingly positive response to our fundraising we achieve our goal of $100,000 to endow the Marilyn Gossman Lectureship. The event is expected to be approved by the University of Alabama System Board of Trustees at the April meeting. Once approved, the lecture will be held annually; beginning in 2014. The objective of the Marilyn Gossman Lecture for the Advancement of Physical Therapy is to promote awareness of and discussion around contemporary issues affecting the future of physical therapy practice. Activities conducted by the Marilyn Gossman Lecturer will benefit UAB students, faculty, clinical instructors and the Alabama physical therapy clinical community at-large. The first Gossman Lecture will be held on Friday, May 16 at 5:30 pm at UAB’s Volker Hall, Lecture room A. See page five for more details on this story. The UAB Department of Physical Therapy wishes to thank the many alumni and friends who contributed to the campaign. Shaw Retires from PT Department Chair Position After serving as the UAB PT Department Chair since 1998, Sharon Shaw, PT, DrPH retired from UAB in November. A nationwide search is underway to hire a new Department Chair. Diane Clark, PT, DScPT, MBA is serving as Interim Chair of the Department until a new one is selected. Dr. Shaw will be missed by all of her UAB colleagues and we wish her the very best in this new phase of her life. Sharon Shaw, PT, DrPH Anniversary Celebration Invitation 7 Clark Named Program Director Diane Clark, PT, DScPT, MBA was recently named Program Director of the UAB Doctor of Physical Therapy Educational Program. In this position, Dr. Clark will oversee operation of the entry-level Doctor of Physical Therapy Program. Congratulations to Dr. Clark. Alumni Advisory Committee David Bryson (‘89) Karlie Brantley (‘08) Jonathan Delk (’99) (President, PT Chapter of the UAB National Alumni Society) Chantel Jones (‘07) Danna Kay King (‘86) Cheryl Knowles (‘82) Donald Lein (‘88) Tana Lieb (‘09) David Morris (‘90) (Faculty representative) Sonya Pearson (‘06) Reid Warren (‘10) Jenny Wilson (08’) Diane Clark, PT, DScPT, MBA UAB Department of Physical Therapy to Celebrate 50th Anniversary In 1964, a physical therapy educational program was initiated on the UAB campus. In recognition of this occasion, the UAB Department of Physical Therapy is planning several events on May 16 and 17 in Birmingham, AL. The anniversary celebration will kick off with the 1st Marilyn Gossman Lecture for the Advancement of Physical Therapy on May 16, from 5:30-7:00 pm. On May 17, the Department will sponsor a free continuing education course for UAB PT Alumni in room 640 of the School of Health Professions Building. Later that evening, the anniversary celebration will culminate with a cocktail reception will be held at 5:30 pm The Club. See invitation on page 7 for more details.

PT Alumni Newsletter, March 2014

Related publications