Issuu on Google+

Vacation!

A

Inside

Publication

PREsIDENT/ EDITOR IN cHIEF

DEBWF@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

vIcE PREsIDENT EDITORIAL/EDITOR

Jeff smith

MANAGING EDITOR

Elizabeth Edwards

cONTRIBuTING WRITER ART DIREcTOR PRODucTION DIR. GRAPHIc DEsIGNER WEB DIREcTOR WEB DEvELOPER sTAFF PHOTOGRAPHER vIDEOGRAPHER

AccOuNT ExEcuTIvEs

Traverse City

Deborah Wyatt Fellows

SMITH@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM LISSA@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

kim schneider Bob Wilcox

BOB@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Theresa Burau-Baehr

THERESA@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

claire stortz

CLAIRE@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Michael Thompson

MICHAEL@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Roger Lamb

ROGER@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Todd Zawistowski

TODD@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

kris Riley

WIN a Family Vacation at Tamarack

KRILEY@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Lodge. Enter at MyNorth.com/Tam

Jim Driver

WIN two Porterhouse Productions Platinum Passes for a year’s worth of tickets! Enter at MyNorth.com/ppp

JDRIVER@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Ann Gatrell

ANNG@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Lisa Gillespie

LGILLESPIE@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Jeff Hale

JHALE@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Jill Hayes

JHAYES@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Amy Artz Joslin

AMYJ@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

candace Morse

CMORSE@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

cyndi Ludka

LUDKA@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Drew Warner

DREW@MYNORTH.COM

MARkETING DIREcTOR

Rachel North

Whip up a string of sizzling, one-of-a-kind festivals, throw in a food and beverage scene that is turning heads around the nation, add beaches, azure water and a vineyardcovered peninsula and you have the intoxicating brew that is a Traverse city vacation. What’s more, somehow this fabulous city on the bay has managed to preserve a small town attitude that all but reaches out and wraps folks of all ages in a big, soft Midwestern hug. Play in the sun, eat your heart out then party into the night—or call it an evening under the stars. Welcome to Traverse city! —The editors of Traverse, Northern Michigan’s Magazine.

RNORTH@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

cIRcuLATION FuLFILLMENT MGR.

Jodi G. simpson

MEDIA PROJEcT cOORDINATOR

Rachel Fournier

MARkETING/EDITORIAL cOORDINATOR

Jennifer Buechel

JBUECHEL@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Lori savage

OFFIcE AssIsTANT

Dana Allen

cONTROLLER ANGELA BROWN

RACHEL@MYNORTH.COM

E-MARkETING sPEcIALIsT

OFFIcE MANAGER

P.s. check out our new On the Go mobile extras: videos, photo galleries and more!

JSIMPSON@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

LORI@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM DANA@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

Monterey Wheeler

MONTEREY@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

kirstin Gorney

KIRSTIN@TRAVERSEMAGAZINE.COM

3 5 7 9 11 13 15 17

The Good Stuff Beaches Hike, Bike Get on the Water Golf Venues, Turtle Creek Festivals Old Mission Tours

New for 2013: Mobile Extras! Editorial & Advertising Offices 148 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 Phone: 231.941.8174 Fax: 231.941.8391 E-mail: x2k9g@traversemagazine.com

MyNorth.com/vg-gt

19 Kids 21 Picnic Lunch, Breakfast 23 Microbrews, Al Fresco Dining 25 Islands, Fun 27 Interlochen Center for the Arts 29 Shopping Districts 31 Museums 33 Art Galleries 35 Wine Tasting 36 Map

©2013 Prism Publications, Inc.

MyNorth 2013 Vacation! 1


2013 MyNorth Vacation Guide! Traverse City