Page 8

8A

LONGBOAT OBSERVER

|

YourObserver.com

THURSDAY, APRIL 11, 2019

LONGBOAT

OPINION / OUR VIEW

Seek balance in red tide solutions A lack of scientific data means there are no silver bullet solutions for red tide. Let’s strive to do the best we can with common sense.

Observer “If we are to build a better world, we must remember that the guiding principle is this — a policy of freedom for the individual is the only truly progressive policy.” Friedrich Hayek

KAT HUGHES EXECUTIVE EDITOR

F

or those of you around last summer and fall, the memories of the stench and dead debris are no longer fresh, but I’ll bet they still come back readily . It’s hard to believe six months ago there were times when it was unbearable to be outside near the water; when cleaning up dead sea life from our beaches was a daily event; and when the situation was so dire it had some of us wondering if a small tropical storm might help blow the red tide bloom offshore and end it. Wishing for a storm during hurricane season? Now that’s desperation. As season began and red tide faded, officials from Mote Marine Laboratory and the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission were invited to speak at luncheon after luncheon. They made presentation after presentation to help educate people. They reminded them this natural phenomenon is nothing new for our area, and there’s still a lot left to learn. But many experts seemed squirrely on prevention, hesitating and couching answers to questions about fertilizer and coastal development with caveats about needing more research. This was unbelievable to some who believed that yes, it’s a natural phenomenon, but humans must have a role in red tide because it seems to happen more frequently and worse than in the past. They became suspicious of why scientists wouldn’t just come out and admit that. They wanted the government to step in to help control nutrients entering our waterways. They wanted aggressive pollution controls and possibly a limit on coastal development. That sparked a reaction from those on the other side of the issue. They feared a knee-jerk reaction of government power. They pointed out that red tide has been going on since the 1500s, and we don’t know enough to regulate it out of existence. They reasoned that we could potentially spend hundreds of millions in Sarasota and Manatee counties without knowing if it will be effective in stemming future red tides. We heard from many readers in both camps. Some wondered about conspiracy theories about Mote itself, claiming it either has the technology to rid us of red tide blooms but is hiding it for monetary gain, or it won’t speak

“Road to Serfdom,” 1944

against nutrient runoff because of funding it receives from phosphate companies upstream. We’ve debunked both of those theories in our pages previously — unless you believe, as some readers do, that The Observer is a shill for these organizations by reporting their research. Misinformation about the separate, blue-green algae bloom in Lake Okeechobee further fueled the fire of confusion. It seemed there was too much information and not enough, all at the same time. Why is it so confusing? Why can’t we agree on what should be done? Why do we not seem to know what’s causing this and how to stop it? As we learned from reporting this series, the answer is simple, but unsatisfying: Red tide is complicated. And despite years of studying it, there is no scientific consensus on what to do.

Editor / CEO / Matt Walsh mwalsh@yourobserver.com Vice President / Lisa Walsh lwalsh@yourobserver.com Publisher / Emily Walsh ewalsh@yourobserver.com Executive Editor / Kat Hughes khughes@yourobserver.com Managing Editor / Eric Garwood egarwood@yourobserver.com Community Editor / Katie Johns, kjohns@yourobserver.com Digital Content Producer / Brynn Mechem, bmechem@yourobserver.com Editorial Designers / Meghan Sasser, msasser@yourobserver.com; Melissa Leduc, mleduc@yourobserver.com Arts + Entertainment Managing Editor / Niki Kottmann, nkottmann@yourobserver. com Black Tie Editor / Kayleigh Omang, komang@yourobserver.com

WHY IS IT SO HARD?

To begin with, the organism responsible for it, Karenia brevis, is a bit mystifying itself. It is a single-cell phytoplankton that swims around in the ocean, waiting for conditions to start multiplying. That’s straightforward. But what scientists don’t fully understand is how it goes from a grouping of cells to a bloom that can strangle miles of coastline. A 2007 report by Mote (spurred by the 17-month-long bloom in 2004-2006), states that K. brevis reproduces at a fraction of the rate of other phytoplankton, which means other organisms should easily outcompete it in the race for nutrients. Yet, as we know, this isn’t always true. The same paper states that although many would like to point to land pollution as the cause of a growing bloom, it is difficult to make this link. For example, although red tide intensifies around inlets, which leads many to believe it’s growing in response to nutrients from land, scientists say it may instead be caused by how water density changes around inlets. This changing density may help the organism accumulate and gather in concentration in these areas, thus sparking a bloom. Further complicating the matter is that K. brevis is not a picky eater; it can make the most out of the nutrients present, even recycling them when it needs to. That means it has the ability to thrive where other organisms can’t. So not only can it survive in water with few nutrients offshore, once it comes inshore, where coastal pollution has the potential to feed it, this becomes a big problem to get rid of red tide once it has started. “If coastal pollution does nothing more than extend the duration of red tide blooms, it still remains of paramount concern because the duration of a given bloom is often the most significant factor in its overall impact on coastal communities,” the report states. Furthermore, it’s not like one pollution source is responsible. In all likelihood, it’s a variety of

This graphic from a report published by Mote Marine Laboratory in August 2007 shows how Karenia brevis grows more slowly than other phytoplankton. Scientists remain puzzled by how K. brevis is so successful in outcompeting other organisms to form red tide blooms despite this.

sources from a variety of places that all contribute nutrients. Dust from the Sahara Desert is even mentioned as a possible contributor in the report. Dust! As Africa becomes drier, more dust comes to the Gulf of Mexico via transoceanic clouds. The iron in the dust allows red tide’s friend, a blue-green algae called trichodesmium, to fix nitrogen for it, thus creating another nutrient source. In addition to dust clouds, water salinity, temperature, climate, currents and weather all are possible contributors. As the report states: “As red tides have continued to take their toll on Southwest Florida, public frustration has intensified. Coastal communities want a cause identified or a cure unveiled. “Policymakers are also frustrated. Decades of research have yielded much knowledge about Florida red tides, but the results fail to identify a primary nutrient source behind the blooms. “State and local government officials have expressed their desire to address the problem, but little consensus has emerged about the most appropriate course of action.” That was in August 2007. Sound familiar? WHAT WE CAN DO

As the scientists in the report warn, just because we don’t know what’s causing these blooms doesn’t mean we should ignore things that can contribute to their growth, longevity and impact. As you’ll read in this week’s part of the series, there are many organizations doing many things to try to combat this. First, we need more research to help our solutions be effective. Mote’s Red Tide Institute is a

start, but it will take collaboration and funding across a broad scientific community to find more answers. Most important, we cannot allow public awareness on the issue to disperse with the blooms of red tide. We need to break the cycle of only paying attention and funding solutions to this problem when it is present. Second, if science has shown us anything, in general, it’s that nature likes to be in balance. When it’s not, we usually suffer consequences until it restores equilibrium. On its most basic level, red tide is an issue of balance: One organism has gone rogue, taking over the ecosystem for its own benefit and killing nearly everything else in it. Most of the efforts you’ll read about in this week’s stories aim to maintain nature’s balance: making sure our bays and estuaries are healthy with filtering organisms such as clams and oysters; ensuring we’re not polluting our water with nutrient runoff from sewage, stormwater or fertilizers; and cleaning up environmental disasters that can contribute to that imbalance, such as the blue-green algae in Lake Okeechobee. Last, remember that complicated problems require multifaceted solutions. There’s no silver bullet to fix or prevent it; we all need to do our part. For those of you frustrated with the lack of science, take solace in common sense. Rather than getting bogged down in debate, let’s do the things we know we can do to make a difference for cleaner, healthier waterways. After all, with an economy that’s built around our water, who doesn’t want that? It just might take a little balance to get there.

Director of Advertising / Jill Raleigh jraleigh@yourobserver.com Sales Manager / Penny DiGregorio pdigregorio@yourobserver.com Digital Sales and Business Development Manager / Kathleen O’Hara, kohara@yourobserver.com Senior Advertising Executive / Laura Ritter, lritter@yourobserver.com Advertising Executives / Richeal Bair, rbair@yourobserver.com; Diane de Spirlet, ddespirlet@yourobserver. com; Chrissy Guevera, cguevara@ yourobserver.com; Beth Jacobson, bjacobson@yourobserver.com; Tina Kelly, tkelly@yourobserver.com; Linda Krysinski, lkrysinski@yourobserver.com; Bob Lewis, blewis@yourobserver.com; Toni Perren, tperren@yourobserver.com Sales Operations Manager / Susan Leedom, sleedom@yourobserver.com Sales Coordinator/Account Manager Emma Burke, eburke@yourobserver.com; Lori Downey, ldowney@yourobserver.com Classified Advertising Sales Executives/ Maureen Hird, mhird@yourobserver.com Tributes Coordinator/ Kristen Boothroyd, tributes@yourobserver.com Director of Marketing / Robin Lankton, rlankton@yourobserver.com Director of Creative Services and Information Technology / Kathy Payne, kpayne@yourobserver.com Creative Director / Caleb Stanton, cstanton@yourobserver.com Creative Services Administrator / Marjorie Holloway, mholloway@yourobserver.com Creative Services Coordinator / Christine Galan, cgalan@yourobserver.com Advertising Graphic Designers / Louise Martin, Shawna Polana, Luis Trujillo, Allison Wampole Technology & Development Manager / Adam Quinlin, aquinlin@yourobserver.com Chief Financial Officer / Laura Keisacker lkeisacker@yourobserver.com Controller / Rafael Labrin, rlabrin@yourobserver.com Office and Accounting Coordinator / Donna Condon, dcondon@yourobserver. com

Observer Media Group Inc.

is locally owned. Publisher of the Longboat Observer, East County Observer, Sarasota Observer, Siesta Key Observer, Palm Coast Observer, Port Orange Observer, Ormond Beach Observer, West Orange Times & Observer, Windermere Observer, Winter Park/Maitland Observer Business Observer, Jacksonville Daily Record, Jacksonville Record & Observer, LWR Life Magazine, Baldwin Park Living Magazine and Season Magazine.

Chairman / David Beliles Editor and CEO / Matt Walsh Vice President / Lisa Walsh

5570 Gulf of Mexico Drive Longboat Key, FL 34228 941-366-3468

YourObserver.com © 2019 The Observer Media Group Inc. All Rights Reserved

Profile for The Observer Group Inc.

Longboat Observer 4.11.19  

Longboat Observer 4.11.19